Contraceptive pill and pregnancy

flowee

hi lingeries

u r lookin 4 feedback 4 marine mandarin???
i had been there 4 weddin dinner & my company d&d was held last yr...
food taste nt bad u koe...
& its one of the hotels tat cater 9 course dinner on a wkdaz...

naturally

u r lookin 4 banquet oredi ah???
u might wana 2 consider le meridian & merchant court hotel???
merchant court is famous 4 their weddin banquet...
most of the guests wont grumble over the food serviced...

mick

hi, little foot,
felt relievd for u too. I'm facing the same worry. I've missed my period for 3 days. Mine is always a 28 days cycle. I test with prenancy test kit one day before my menses and it's negative. Hiwever, 3 days had passed, and my menses still haven't come. Must I see a gynae in order to get more accurate test? I understand that ordinary clinic using the same method as pregnacy test kit, whereas hospital can detect as early as two days' pregnacy. Last time my friend want to take xray for pre-employment, and need to declare pregnacy. She's unsure so the doctor did an urine test and diccovered that she's in her first week. I'm worried sick now cos my customary will be next march. Due to the hot weather recently, I'm always feverish and have no appetite. I got no discharge at all now. But this month, during that few "fertile" days, I got light brown dischage. This is first time encountance. I 'm really worried now. I've never visit a gynae before. Do I need to make appointment? Does anyone knows of any gynae clinic in ang mo kio? I'm wondering whether any ordinary clinic can provide accurate pregnacy test...cos one doctor actually aske my friend to wait for few more days before she can advise on whether she's pregnant, because she said a negative test with pregnacy test kit one day before the period might now be reliable......
How??

Y

yy

Need some advice from those of you who have taken contraceptive pills. Do you feel that you have "fuller" breast after having taken the pills for like a month?

Oh, for those of you who are doing the home pregnancy test kit, results will be accurate only after you have missed your period.....even for one day. No point testing before your period is due.

weiwei

Any of you been on the pill but stopped? I stopped mine last month, and spotting occurred abt 2 weeks after my last full period. Was that "spotting" considered as a period in itself? Cos my scheduled "proper" period (28 days from my last full period) is a wee bit late.

Feel quite messed up predicting my next period! When I was on the pill it was so simple and mechanical.

mick

I'm not on pill... just need a little advice from u gals...

May I know the chance of getting pregnant if having intercourse on the first day of menstrual flow??

I became quite worried cos some articles claimed that ovulation might occur during menses flow.........

Please kindly advice...

thank u!!

catz

hi weiwei,
yeah, spotting after stopping the pill is common but i think it's not counted as a period proper. after all, when you're on the pill, it's not a proper 'period' 'cos no egg is released. it's just a shedding of the lining. so don't worry! yeah, i cannot predict my periods at all since after going off the pill... quite havoc loh. wish my periods were regular!

mick, i think you can still get pregnant during your menses. the safe period (someone, please correct me if i'm wrong) is right after you finish your menstrual bleed. but pls seek advice from a doctor as every woman's natural rhythm differs. best to get a doctor/gynae's advise for family planning to prevent unwanted pregnancy.

mick

hi catz,
Thanks for your response... From what u say, I'd really taken a risk!! Do u know how's the chances to get pregnant for my case??

Do appreciate more advice from u gals...

Thank u!

catz

hi mick,

you're welcome.
better to be safe, not sorry. so take care, yah? don't forget, it's just one little sperm fertilising one little egg which can make you pregnant so pregnancy can happen quite easily!

take care!

weiwei

Hi Catz,

My thanks too, for your quick reply! So, do you remember how long it took for your period to come, after you first stopped the pill? I need to know what to expect....was it very very late, or just a bit late?

catz

hey weiwei,

no probs...

for me, it took about 1 1/2 - 2 months to have a proper period but it wasn't a heavy bleed... just some dark discharge for about a week. quite worried really 'cos the gynae warned me that i might have problems conceiving later on. *sigh* that's why i went off the pill after hearing horror stories about fertility not going back to normal after stopping the pill. so i'm 'detoxing' my body and suffering from irregular periods yet again.

but then again, it will differ between people. mine's a weird case but i read the literature with the pill, that's why i know that spotting is normal.
take care ,'k?

weiwei

Thanks Catz! I will monitor mine closely and hope that my body returns to normal soon! I'm also "detoxing", hubby says the pill is doing more harm than good to me. Which is true to a certain extent, used to be quite gaunt and pale, but after just one month of going off the pill, colour's coming back to my cheeks and I'm putting on a bit of healthy weight! I also suffered quicker heartbeats than usual and chest pains, seem to be going away too....but maybe it's all psychological? Hehehe.

catz

hi weiwei,

yeah, hubby said the same thing. you know my friend's auntie went for stomach flushing 'cos she had so much health problems and the reason that she had all those problems was 'cos all the pills she took were undigested in her stomach! so scary!!!

i find that i'm getting a very bad breakout of pimples, dunno if it's 'cos the effect of the pill has finally worn off and i'm hormonally imbalanced. sigh...

weiwei

Hi Catz,

Wah, your friend's auntie's case sounds serious! how come the pills were undigested? then the "contraceptive effect" still worked for her while she was on the pill?

Maybe after your body gets its balance back, the pimples will go away. Drink water and take Vit C!

catz

hi weiwei,

dunno how come the pills were undigested but i think it could happen to anyone! so that's why her fertility levels didn't go back to normal... don't want to take any risks like that!

yeah, i went to the doctor yesterday. he put me on 2 weeks' antibiotics and gave me some cream to apply. *fingers crossed* this hot weather isn't helping things either. *sigh*

actually, those heart pains and palpitations you mentioned could be a side effect of the pill. perhaps you were suffering from high blood pressure which got worse with pill-use. better be careful and consult a gynae before starting on the pill again, if you still intend to use the pill. i like the pill for its convenience but i'm just scared of the side-effects down the road.

weiwei

Hi Catz,

Yeap, it is convenient. But hubby says it's not worth it, so off I went! I will monitor and see if the pains are away for good now that I've stopped. Meanwhile, still waiting for my period to come! 3 days late liow!

Take care ok!

alpha

Hi Natural or any who could help...

Regarding the Natural Family Planning instructor are you talking abt?Which Teresa? Yeo or Phua.

I've managed to find out the list of centre contucting this centre and wondering which instructor should i attend.

BTW, have anyone here other than Natural attended yet? Care to share any feedback?

naturally

Hi alpha, are you asking for me?

Been a long time since i read this thread... i'm sorry i can't recall her surname, phua maybe? I have her tel no. somewhere up there, why dun u give her a ring?

Well the instructor shd be someone u're very comfortable with, it depends on the individual i guess... but the knowledge shd be the same, if i were u i would pick a centre nearest to home. Teresa did make the session very enjoyable, but i guess the other instructors shd be just as open as her

It was very enlightening for me, hope you'll also find NFP useful in your married life! *wink*

pill

Talking abt pill. I'm on Mercilon (hope i got the spelling rite).
Just want to ask anyone who knows or is taking it.
1)Is weight gain immediate ? i seem to be putting on weight or could it be bloatedness ? but sure feel fat.
2)Do you experience tender breast ? Mine's really painful in the beginning but after 2-3 wks it's ok,not so bad already.
3)constant craving of food ? My mouth always 'itchy' !
4)Do u experience spotting ? i started to spot abt 2 wks before the pills going to end.

M very afraid of putting on weight
but I still got 1 mth supply cos i need to regulate my menses.

any advise ? m i normal or not suited for the pill ?

alpha

Thks naturally....

I believe it must have been really working well for you huh? :p
Anyway, I'll get going to give one of the centre a call..

I did send an email to Dr Ian Snodgrass the one who started this program and will probably be following up with him...

joy2003

May I know where can I find out more information on Contraceptive pills?

michell

Hi Marvelon User,

can chk with u where can find the brand that u mentioned?? is it sure can lose weight?

marvelon_user

I went to tan-teoh Clinic, which is at towner road. The doc asked me whether i wanna gain weight type of pills, but i said no, and she gave me this type of pill. true enough, i'm not gaining any weight, but seems like i'm losing weight leh. when all my friends or relatives saw me, they all said i have slim down...dunno why.....and further more, i eat quite alot more than usual nowadays...There is a bit of breakout on my face, but they are not major types. I just need to do more mask then..

michell

Hi Marvelon,

Thks for ur info, chk with u again, do u have e full add for the clinics??

marvelon_user

Mudpie,
not sure whether to disclose her name here on the net. maybe you can give me your email address so that i can give you her name.

Michell(Michell79)
the full address is:
Tan-Teoh Clinic & Surgery
Blk 101 Towner Road #01-216 S(322101)

Another branch at:
Blk 302, Ang Mo Kio Ave3 #01-1846 S(560302)

Hopes it helps!
Have a good weekend gals!

jnifur

I think natural family method dun work if the ladies have irregular menses.
Sorry to splash cold water here, but for couples who are really not prepared to become parents, this method is considered the "highest risks" among all methods because the chances of getting pregnant is the highest.
Of cos for couples who planned for short term contraception, its workable, but for those who say, want to have children only after 3yrs, this method is not reliable.

jioupz

the new OC pills are low in dosage so it doesn't relly make u gain weight. Furthermore, certain type actually gives u better complexion.

Diane35 is good at it. Itz much more expensive here so I always buy a lot when i go Thailand. Itz a over-the-counter drug there. so much more cheaper. authenticity verify as i'm in the medical line.

anyone interested to get some from me to try out?

PM me

gingerschnapps

Hi Jioupz, how about Yasmin? I'm keen to try it cos it's supposed to help reduce acne at the same time? what's the general feedback abt it?

ahber

infinite, you still continuing with yasmin? anybody here who has taken yasmin for longtime, i.e. 3 years or more, share experience pls...

worrying indeed........

infinite

hi..yeah am continuing with it cos so far have not expreienced any side effects...hope i dun get any probs with it in the future...

ahber

the website that you posted... pretty worrying in that a lot of the ladies appear to be experiencing side effects when they try to go off Yasmin. Aren't you concerned?

Personally have experienced the side effects while on Diane 35... the mood swings...

infinite

ya thought about that...but my friend who is a doc said that as long as i dont experiece any side effects while on it it should be ok...will stop if i have anything...anyway not planning to be on it for long...perhaps about three years or so...

ahber

but it seems like a lot of users actually feel the side effects AFTER they got off the pills, right?

pooh_the_bear

i'm on yasmin for 2 months.. just finish my 2nd pack a couple of days ago.. but this time i din get my menses.. only a few spotting

wonder is it normal.. anyone experience the same?

cheekychick

I've been taking Yasmin since last yr Oct...so far ok leh. Menses used to last at least 5 days for me, now around 3 days liao will start to lighten...no more period pains also. Skin is less oily but still have a couple of pimples popping out before menses. I experience no mood swing so far but there was once when i forgot to take one pill so i quickly took one immediately in the day & take another one at nite. Nexy day, i actually felt nauseous the whole day...

ene

Ok, I tried Yasmin on the recommendation of my gynae and I didn't stop bleeding at the end of my period. I was losing blood for the longest time! It was terrible. I lost weight and looked pale all the time, probably from the loss of blood. I had to go back to the gynae who told me to stop taking it. I stopped and I stopped bleeding finally. It was scary and tiring!

She gave me Diane35 pills which I used to take when I was younger. That was good but I have stopped taking it for a while. Am a little nervous about starting on the Diane pills again due to the Yasmin episode.

Also, Yasmin has a lower dosage compared to Diane (according to gynae) so I find it strange that my body had such a strong reaction to Yasmin.

But I have to add that DIFFERENT people have different reactions to the different pills so don't my experience put you off Yasmin.

For now, I am off pills. Too scared to start! :\

Has anyone tried the patch?

hapict

winter - not sure.
to all - i ballooned to 10kg for the 1 year i was on Mercilon. i have stopped taking it for a year now and still the weight does not go down. i dun eat all that much, just lack of exercise but my natural weight is not so much. haiz. tried jogging but dun see weight dropping.
only good thing is that no menstrual cramps at all n period is v light but it does tend to drag.
minty - yea i noticed lowered sex drive too when on pill.

longtimemarried

to all ladies.. pls avoid all contraceptive pills the side effects may not be felt now but later in life. eg inflammation of veins.. not curable.. and many other illments breast cancers.. that's why breast cancers is on the rise..

i know that at least 9 out of 10 are on the pill or other abortifacents such as RU 486 (a self induce abortion pill)

You gyne out there of making money frm you will not tell you all the honest facts and figures on them.. (trust me when it comes to money making.. who's honest?) doctors nowadays are bizmen first then docs..

Choose NFP or Natural family planning.. (no pills, nothing at all) All natural.. no side efefcts.. If your gnye say not reliable.. pls.. think for a moment ..

mixue

i've been using yasmine for some time n stopped now as i wanna try to hv kids.. i think so so yasmin ok.. Good..! i still hv 2 extra bottle . dunnoe can wait after giving birth eat anot?

chay2

I just started taking birth control recently and I have heard that you can make yourself skip a period if you have a special occasion. I have heard that if you skip the 7 placebo pills in the pack and begin a new pack of active pills instead that you will miss your period that month. Before I try it, I just wanted to know if this worked and if it compromised the effectiveness of he pills or had bad side effects.