Conrad Centennial Singapore

Hi Vallous/Moonfairy,

Happy to read about your positive experiences at Conrad!

I've joined the "club" and signed the contract with Jeanie last Fri! Still feeling abit of a pinch cos of the price we will be paying but it sure feels good cos she gives me a feeling of assurance; that things will be great on our AD.

Now I can direct my focus to other things like finding our home, FH's suit, MUA, etc.

Hi lai,

welcome as a conrad bride. But I would say do ur part by conveying what you wan to ur coordinator. For me, its more or less settled into my marriage life. Have fun planning for your big day! Enjoy.

Lai, Vallous, Moonfairy.....

Wait, wait for me....... I am about to join you all. Meeting Eng Yan this friday night to put my thumbprint on the paper.

I am just hoping the table of 12 will not be too squeezy.

Conrad was on my consideration list as everyone said the food was good. I attended a dinner there last month and was disappointed by the food.
The service was really great and the decor was really nice.

But the food came out cold. Granted the portions are good but it would would have been better if the food had came out hot, even the lobster soup was cold. The food was also a little boring, I'm a regular to Oscar's so was expecting Conrad to have something more creative. On the contrary, the wedding dinner I had at Grand Hyatt though traditional but the chefs added twists in the sauces and condiments which made even the stir fried noodles different.

Hi moonfairy,

Tried to pm you but your pm wasn't enabled.
I like to know more about your BBQ dinner as it sounds fantastic. Is there anyway I can contact you? Thank you.

Hi Vallous, Could you share with us which dish taste good?? I am about to go for food tasting but have not select the choice of dish. My friend says the ee fu noodles is delicious. Also, how much beer was consumed during the dinner? did you comsume 1 barrel?

hi carebearz, i dun remembered that tere is a lobster soup. Conrad dinner is famous for the huge and hot individual portion of the sharks fin soup. Perhaps its more of individual's opinion. I had all of my dishes piping hot.

hi bompipi,

i really cant remember which taste good. But I tried the ee fu noodles, it was not bad. My guests didnt consumed finish 1 barrel at all. But we opened 55 bottles of wine. The amt of wine and beer varies on the type of guests you are inviting and depending if your dinner is on a weekday, sunday or weekends. Mine was on a thursday public holiday, next day needed to work..ppl tend to drink lesser. Most needed to drive so dint drink much.

pls note that food tasting is very subjective. What taste nice to your family may not be palatable to other guests. Just go with your family taste will do. Do note that there are some guests out there which will simply put off any dish that is given to them even if its cooked for the emperor. Satisfy yourself and your hubby is most impt.

That's true vallous...I think most important is that the bride, groom and key family members are happy. Good chance to caliberate the food to your liking during the food tasting such that it's suited to the general guests' taste buds. I guess cannot please everyone.

Perhaps can also ask Conrad to propose more "exotic" dishes at the same value, for example the chicken dish can be cooked and presented in different ways.

Hey peeps! I've just met Eng Yan on Thurs afternoon for a last discussion before finalising on the hotel (Conrad or Regent). I love the exclusiveness of the 1-&-only ballroom with huge foyer (for reception). I do agree that the pricing is kinda steep as compared to Regent. But the latter did not give me a "wow!" feeling when I stepped into it.

Think I'll most likely go with Conrad though they can only accomodate up to 408 guests (current guest list abt 450).

I hope they won't disappoint me.. *fingers crossed*

Just paid deposit.... $4000 poorer in exchange for the ballroom on 28/10/2009.

Actually quite lucky to get it as I was actually 3rd on the waiting list..... sort of bulldoze my way to clinch the deal =)

Congrats to yo, iamken! That was the date we wanted as well. And we planned to check out Conrad as 2 of my colleagues has held their wedding there. The feedback was good. Too bad we are really late. Just curious why you chose this date. We are thinking of postponing cos we cant decide on the venue.

Can you mail me the package you have from Conrad? my email address [email protected]

Many thanks!

hi Vallous!
Saw from the earlier threads that you took some pics during your dinner. Is it possible to share? like the theme & centennial suite? Tried to PM you but you've disabled the function.

Hi Gu.Traders

Our date was calculated by the geomancer David Tong.... his services are quite good. Anyway, we thought doing away the hassle and why not solemnize and dinner at the same day.

So we will hold a small simple solemnisation at Conrad an hour prior to the dinner.

We had shortlisted Four Seasons, Shang, Ritz, Conrad, Raffles Hotel, Capella, Hyatt, Hilton, Equinox, Mt Faber, One Rochester. After viewing them, I guess the niche foyer, exclusivity of the only ballroom, and the way they serve.... sort of individually portioned, won us over.

The package is very much the same as what they advertised.... weekday $1038++ for 12pax... free flow of beer, one night stay, and the other usual stuff.

I did not bargain at all with Eng Yan. Because I believe if you squeeze them too hard, they will not give you optimal services on actual night.

I remember telling her 'I am taking Conrad because of your reputable services and fantastic ambience. So I am not going to ask you for additional perks. But of course I will welcome any that is within your capacity'. That really make her smile, and she promise to do her best when the day comes closer. Already, they are letting me rent projectors at discounted price.

The above is just my 1 cent's worth of enlightenment.

Who is your co-ordinator? I heard there is Jeannie who is very good too. But I am happy to tag under Eng Yan. She is very responsive and polite.

You will never believe that I haven't view the suite yet. But I did heard that it is quite small compared to other hotels. But ok lah, we will probably be too drunk or busy 'making babies' to notice anything =)

Trust me.... Conrad is brilliant! Grab it fast.

Vallous,

The lobster soup was similar to Shark fin's soup. The couple had requested for lobster soup in place of the usual shark fin's soup due to their 'Save the sharks' beliefs.

Has anyone or heard of anyone who managed to get half the ballroom? Conrad advertised themselves in Style Weddings that their ballroom can be divided into 4 smaller rooms with sound-proof partitions. I went to their website and indeed, they also showed that they can divide the ballroom into smaller areas. They've got an area which is just perfect for my small party of 10tables. But their coordinator said that they prefer to sell the entire ballroom.

I'm wondering if I choose to do the banquet during off-peak period, would they be more obliging to split the ballroom?

Hi Carebearz,

I think once a person booked the ballroom, it will be the whole space. When I booked mine, the coordinator assured me that they will not sub-divide the room even if my tables aren't enough to fill the whole space. So I don't think they will sell in half sections.

Nevertheless, I never believe that those portable sound-proof partitions. I once attended a talk held at Swissotel. The other side of the partitioned wall was having a party... and the music filtered thru to my side and drowned our speaker's voice.... very embarrassing situation for the poor fella.

Most probably Conrad will suggest you take the smaller Salon rooms available near the ballroom.

If that's the case, they shouldn't have advertised on bridal magazines that couples can opt to host their banquets in small intimate setting and they explicitly stated in the advertisments that they able to divide their ballroom into 4 smaller rooms.

Even their website also indicated so. They even showed the floor plan of how the divided ball room will look like. This is rather misleading if they aren't willingly to do it.

Carebearz.... it is best that you speak to them personally to find out.

For Conrad weekday packages, you need to commit at least 20 tables out of a max 32-35 tables. After deduct stage area, serving area (side tables for food portioning), I don't think dividing half the ballroom is possible due to space constraint.

Give them a call, maybe they can find another couple with small guest-list willing share the ballroom with you.

I did..I called them up personally and they were hesitant to break up the ballroom.

The hotel link below shows that the ballroom is divided North, South, East & West. The ballroom can be configured into smaller rooms.
The East + West will be just perfect for me.

http://conradhotels1.hilton.com/ts/en/hotels/SINCICI/docs/SINCICI_meeting_brochure.pdf

I did consider poolside but I think it will be too hot. My guests are the sort who like to dress up and the men will come in suits while the women dress to the nines. So that's kinda out for us.

Guess I gotta try persuading them or find other hotels.

Oh yah.... the poolside... how can I forget. You are a genius, vallous!

Carebearz.... there is a sheltered open area by the poolside. If you are afraid of the weather, there is also a very very nicely done up room by the poolside (I forgot the name of the room). Think can accomodate 60-80pax if I am not mistaken.

I was offered to rent that room for ROM... but I turned it down as it was quite expensive for ROM purpose.

The room at the pool side can't Chinese sets, only buffet. Sighz...I would really love to have Conrad as I've spent many happy times there, unfortunately, it looks like I may have to forego Conrad.

its ok. Its ur wedding...select to your prefection lor.

I saw a poolside ROM while i had my wedding dinner in Jan 09. They had mist fans and it was quite cooling. Guests dress codes will be according to what YOU require them to wear in the stated wedding cards. I dun think they will insist on coming in tuxedos and evening gowns if you put poolside wedding : Casual! It will be super weird!

There are many hotels out there which has smaller ballrooms. I guess you still have many choices so no need to worry too much.

I suspect the reasons for not splitting the ballroom is due to revenue purposes. Go to other hotels then since Conrad cannot meet ur needs. Always find one that suit ur needs. Thats my opinion lah.

Yeah, I agree with Vallous. You have to find one to cater to your needs.

As for my case, I have to drop Conrad with utmost reluctance. Primary reason is the space constraint, i.e 408 guests only. But i have to say Eng Yan is very professional. I like her service.

Thanks very much, people, for your kind words. I guess I'll have to work out the guest list and see if I can have Conrad, otherwise I'll really have to give it up which is a great pity coz I spent many happy memories in Conrad with my SO and it was also the place that he proposed.

Keeping my fingers crossed that our parents can keep the list small enough to get the Grand Salon room!

30 tables of 12 pax is their min for their weekends. They do allow 25 tables but you have to go for the more expensive menus as they have a min revenue requirement.

Hi Bom Pi Pi,

Yep they have menu a and b, but I think they can still customise certain dishes at equivalent cost if you're not quite satisfied with the dishes in both menu. For example they changed my teriyaki chicken to pi pa chicken (my dishes might be different from the dinner menu a and b because I'm having a lunch).

Sorry Bom Pi Pi,

To ans your question, Conrad may offer higher grade dishes in the more expensive menus Carebearz was mentioning.

Frankly, I feel that the menu Conrad is offering is already much superior than many other hotels. Their dishes are so much better and unique, not the normal dishes that u'll see at wedding banquets. So far, reviews about their food have been good. I personally have tasted their food when I attended my friend's wedding in 2004, that's why I tell myself for the past 6 years I'm gonna have Conrad as my host destination.

i second bom pi pi's reviews. I felt because i am more accustomed to cantonese cuisines plus the menu is way different from the normal and usual dinner menus from other hotels. The head chef is pretty well known too. I had vegetarian dishes for a table of 12, all given good reviews.

I had made a comparison..it was between four seasons and conrad. In the end, conrad won me over cos of the service and the ballroom setting, as well as the convenient location.

But the prob with Conrad is that it is still rather low profile. A lot of my friends have not heard of Conrad or even if they heard of it, they think it's in the 4 star category like Panpac etc.

So if budget is a concern, then might have to re-think Conrad. 3 of my friends held their dinners at Conrad and all lost money as guests gave mainly $60-80 ang pows as many guests didn't know that Conrad's banquet is that expensive.

I guess when Conrad was first built about 10years ago, it also didn't expect to do so well in weddings as it was positioned as a business hotel. So up till 2005, Conrad's banquets were still rather affordable. But the price increments in the last 2 years have put it in the 6star hotel category, which unfortuantely many people's perceptions have been slow to change accordingly.

But I'm glad to see Conrad slowly building its reputation. It's my fav hotel in Singapore and held many memories for my SO & me. We even visit other Conrad hotels in other parts of the world to collect the teddy bears!

I guess one must be prepared to foot the final bill when it comes to the choice of hotel. It boils down to the atmosphere and ambience you want to create for your guests bu your choice of hotel and their settings. I feel that Conrad should really establish their profile and publicity espescially for wedding banquets.

If you all could recall , when Conrad was launched years back, it was positioned as 6-star hotel

Hope the guests know as well..kekeke

Yeah, I'm also more accustomed to Cantonese dishes (I'm Cantonese...hehe)

I guess Conrad does not do much publicity, cos I noticed in several issues of various bridal magazines that they were not featured. Great to see them featured in the latest issue of Style Weddings!

Hehehe....let's hope they do more publicity moving forward to create awareness!

I asked Jeanie once and they're a 5 star Deluxe hotel...their main competitors are Four Seasons and Shangrila.

Conrad just gives me a good feeling so I didn't ponder and search very much before deciding on Conrad for my wedding venue. The food @ Golden Peony and Oscar's is superb!

yup i agree..with bom pi pi. If couples have decided to engage a certain expensive hotel despite knowing the price, one cannot expect to
make money out of the angbaos'. one must be ready to be able to afford to pay to 'treat' the guests for the wedding dinner. Which is why the meaning of inviting guests to the wedding dinner is for in the first place. Cannot expect the guests to pay for your dinner.

For us, we have saved enough through the years to pay the final bill. What we got back, we take it as a bonus.

actually they dun need to do much publicity they are already always fully booked. For my wedding dinner, I was pushed back twice because we pondered for a day and then the ballroom was booked quickly by other couples. In the end, we got the pushed to the 1st jan instead of dec.

its nice that carebearz has fond memories of the hotel it will share more special meaning if wedding is held there. For us, our proposal place has been torn down...haha..cannot go back anymore..sigh

But I feel their wedding favor is quite boring....either pralines or Conrad bear. When I told most of my friends that they are getting bear, they say they already have tons of bears at home. So I stress.....dunno whether should buy own wedding favour or take the bear. sigh..<haiz>

Personally their wedding favours are the ones I really want! I love their chocs, really high quality. And the bears are really unique. Then again, could be just me and my obsession with Conrad bears.

yeah, I find Conrad (chocolates, fruit cake &amp; conrad bear) and Four Seasons (chocolates) favors simple yet classy and practical! ;)

Been to several weddings and they give key chains, chopsticks, stirer which we really never use in the end.

oh yes bom pi pi, you can choose a mix of pralines, fruit cakes or bears as favors right?

i'm probably gonna have bears and praline/fruit cake.

how do you mix wedding favours? Coz some will end up not getting the other. Do you have any idea what kind/quality of pralines or fruit cake?? Are Vallous, you have chosen the bear right.. what are your guests feedback on the bear? I know it's the Conrad icon. But just wonder why friends say that bears are boring and the usual stuff.