Conrad Centennial Singapore

Kismet,

There were only 6 people that went for the testing and the portion was quite substantial then. Her menu was last year's menu... up to this day, the relatives and my parents are still complaining about the food and service (which can be annoying at times).
It really depends on individual. Some just want to have the class whereas food is only secondary. But my family is a really traditional one...

Hi abc & kismet,
that's one of my worries too... the food in hotels are generally not as good as those in restaurants..we can't have the best of both worlds...
you mention the waiters and waitresses are very young... do they seem like part-timers?and how experienced are they from the way they served you?

winkie,

put it this way. The fish was serveed without showing it to the guest first and when it was served, the guest did not even know what it was cos the skin of the fish was gone and the meat was all fragmented. Not very experienced.

Hi abc & all,

Thanks for all your comments. I'm getting a little "worried".. :p Esp about the part where the fish is served without being shown, and all fragmented.

abc - would you mind please telling me when your sis' wedding was?

I went for my food-tasting session - trying out this year's menu which has alot more interesting dishes. All the dishes were good I would say. And they gave us such a HUGE fish for 6 persons!! And perhaps cos there were only 6 of us, we got 2 big CHUNKS of fish, with skin and all. Perhaps they're experienced waiters - that's why.

I'm not sure what I can do to minimise the chances for these incidents(you mentioned) happnening.. Any advice from anyone?

Something to share...
I just had my ROM Solemnization at
Conrad(salon by the pool)last saturday(020202)
The ambience and service were excellent. Food was good.and servings were more than enough...still left a lot of food in the end :-P.My hubby and I "love" conrad so much that we even booked their ballroom for our wedding dinner!(15 dec 2002):-))

Conrad's fan
mit

Hi mit,
so glad to hear some good comments abt conrad... coz i really wnat to have my wedding there

I am having my ROM and dinner on the same day... actually still contemplating whether to have the rom at te poolside or in the suite... how's it like at the poolside? was the soleminsation held indoor in the eating area or the area outdoor?how's the service like?which sales/catering staff attended to you?

soryy hoh so many questions... just wanted to find our more esp from couples who have been thru it...

winkie

Hi Winkie & Mit,
So glad someone out there had actually had their solemnization at the poolside pavillion in conrad or consider to have. I'll be having mine there too and also the wedding dinner banquet as well.
Mit, could you share your experience with us? Did they provide any form of decoration for the solemnization area? Any mic provided, etc? Sorry for being so excited cos I'm actually really excited. hee :P

Hi winkie

No problem...would love to give you more
information :-)

1)Salon by the pool- Air-conditioned fuction room
just next to a swimming pool. I must say, it is a very nice and cosy place /location.You can enjoy the view of a pool and at the same time enjoy the comfort of the air-con. We have the soleminsation & the buffet held in the room itself.

2)Sales / Catering staff- They are very attentive and professional in their services. Catherine(sales)attended to us, she is really friendly and helpful! I do like her alot!

3)Interior- Initially, we thought we can cut down some expenses by keeping the place as it is, no decor..Guess what? To my greatest surprise,
they actually decorated the function room
with fresh flowers and ribbons!FOC! even without us asking them to do so. That was really
sweet of them.... :-)A big plus point for conrad.

Hhehee..think you should really go down to have a look at the fuction room(salon by the pool). Catherine will be most willing to assist you.

Do feel free if you want to ask me any more questions :-)

mit

Hi Nikki / Winkie,

Yes, they do provide the mics and the long table(for signing).You can even customise how you want your seating arrangements to be.

:-)
mit

Hi Mit & Nikki,
I myself is very excited abt conrad too... i am choosing between conrad & 4seasons... find conrad's ambience better

Mit you say can arrange our own sitting arrangement... is there enough space for that? enlighten pls

& Nikki- when's your wedding date? same day as ROM? you having at pool then ballroom or both at ballroom?

Thanks gals!

Hi Mit, Nikki, Winkie et. al.,

Glad to see this Conrad thread alive again!!

I'm also one of those who's going to have the solemnisation and dinner banquet at Conrad. We're planning to have the solemnisation at the Pool Pavillion, followed by dinner at the Ballroom.

Hi Mit,

Could I please find out from you - what was the seating arrangement like in Salon by the Pool? And how many seats were there? I like the Salon too(main draw is the aircon!!
), but we also want aisle seating so that there's an aisle for me to walk down.. :p So we've opted for the Pool Pavilion instead, to hold 120 chairs, aisle seating. If there's anyway to hold 120 pax with aisle seating in the Salon, I would explore the option!

Actually, I've also thought of having the solemnisation at the reception area outside the ballroom, cos i love the high ceiling...
Just another option..

I work with Catherine too, and I think she's fabulous! I must say that alot of flexibility is being exercised in Conrad and that's a huge plus point. Alot of our requests have been met.. ;)

Hi Nikki!

So you're thinking of the Pool Pavillion for your solemnisation too? When's your wedding? I've only made arrangements to have flower stands along the aisle, and two tables and microphones. I'll have 120 chairs with seat covers too. And we'll be bringing in our own keyboard for the music. I'm hoping I can also get a floral arch to be placed where we would stand during the ceremony so that pictures would be prettier..

Hi Winkie,

The Presidential Suite is big, but depending on your guest list, not too sure if it would be big enough. I find the ceiling of the suite rather low, so if you want aircon, i think the Salon is a good choice, if you're not particular about a more formal aisle seating. I was told that the guests would just sit around the Salon in no particular order, so it's quite a casual feel to the event. Perhaps Mit can comment..

Hi winkie,
My wedding date is 15 Nov. Yes, will be having solemnization and wedding banquet on the same day. Will be having the solemnization ceremony at the poolside pavilion, then banquet at their ballroom. So when's ur BIG day?

Hi Kismet,
The floral arch thingy is a great idea, sounds kinda dreamy. Won't Conrad be providing that. Maybe should check out with them. I would be expecting lesser crowd for my ceremony cos it's on a Friday evening. So only close relatives and friends will attend. When's ur big day, Kismet?

Hi Nikki,

Yeah, the floral arch is provided as part of the floral decor for the ballroom. But I was told it's rather hard to shift that up to the poolside and down again to the ballroom before dinner. So we've made arragements to move all the 8 floral stands, gotta discuss more about the arch.

My big day's drawing pretty near.. a couple of weeks away!!!! *panic!!!* ;p

Are you having yours at Salon by the Pool or the Pool Pavilion?

Hi Kismet,
I'm having mine at the poolside pavilion. Dun panick, just be a beautiful and happy bride. Everything will just go fine.
And yes, congratulations!!

Hi Kismet & Winkie

Kismet, Congratulations!!!
So glad to know that you are going to have your solemnization ceremony and dinner at Conrad.Good Choice!!
I am feeling excited for you too ...cos I just had mine last week..such a wonderul experience! The "feeling" still linger...hehehe...now looking forward to my wedding dinner this dec.

Regarding your question about the seating arrangement (Salon by the pool).
**The salon can only accommodate approximately 60 guests...we have only invited 48 guests(small function-only families and close relatives) Thus,don't think the salon can accommodate 120 guests...it will be too crowded.
Think having your solemnization held at the pool pavilion will be a better choice.

Winkie,
Q:Mit you say can arrange our own sitting arrangement... is there enough space for that?
** It really depends on the number of guests you are going to invite.Yes, we can arrange our own sitting arrangements.For eg.Where you want the Vip table to be and where you want the table(signing)to be...overall, it is more like a casual, informal style of seating arrangement. If u too,like kismet have more than 60 guests..think it is better to have it at the pool pavilion.
More grand and spacious,I guess..The salon is more cater for small and informal gatherings / functions. If you are still unsure, maybe you can give catherine a call, she will be happy to give you some advise/suggestions in getting the "Right Place" for your functions.

Gals, hope I have clarify most of your questions
and yes, Happy chinese new Year!

I am glad that so many pp have good feedback on Conrad. I am also looking at holding my wedding in Conrad in june 2003. Have tentatively book the date....By the way, it seems that the promotion of free flow of beer and the extra nite stay in no longer valid

Hi Flower,
It is valid... if you still have the advertisement from her world brides mag... and as long as you book b4 28 feb 02...

My wedding is in Dec '02, I'm entitled to the Pres. suite promotion too but earlier on, I told my co-ordinator that I want the 2 nites Centennial suite instead and now I changed my mind. Wish to have the one nite Pres. suite, do u gals think I should inform my co-ordinator early so as to avoid disappointment, in case someone has taken the suite...understand there's only one pres. suite ?

Hi Faith,
YOu better inform them as soon as you made the decision coz they have to book the one pridential suite for you in case someone else booked it... btw, how much do you have to top up for the presidential suite?

Hi winkie

Thanks, I've informed my co-ordinator already and she has blocked it for me on my wedding day. I did not top up for the pres suite cos i booked during one of their promotion last year, where you tear the page in HerWorld Bride/Female Bride which has an option of choosing 2 nites centennial suite or 1 nite Pres. suite.
If I'm not wrong, this offer expires at end July '01.

Hi ladies...

I need your advise on holding the solemnisationa and the wedding dinner at Conrad...I would like to know how much does it cost to book the function room by the pool, is there any min number of pple? how abt the food?

To save costs, what do you think of holding the solemnisation during the wedding dinner itself?

Hi Excited 26,

I didn't have my solemnisation at the Salon by The Pool(the function room), but I had mine at the open-air area beside the pool area. It was beautiful, and for some reason, it's always breezy there.. so we didn't have to worry about bringing in any fans. We had to pay $1000 for the rental of the pool area for the afternoon, plus the arrangement of 120 chairs(max), plus setting up the stage and signing register table, reception table, keyboard table, and mikes etc.

For us, there was no food served at the poolside. Right after the solemnisation that ended about 6:45pm, guests proceeded to the ballroom foyer where we cut the cake and they were served drinks, pralines and the wedding cake. The cocktail reception was followed by the usual dinner.

I personally prefer a separate venue for the solemnisation, so you have a proper aisle to walk down, and all guests are seated in theatre-style seating. Having it outdoors also adds a different feel to the entire event. I received many comments that it was a beautiful wedding. The poolside looked gorgeous after the decorations and flowers were put up. It can be quite odd to have your guests sitting in tables of 12 in the ballroom while you get solemnised. But of course some costs can be saved... Just my personal view..

Has anyone negotiated a Sat package for early-2003 with Conrad recently ? If so, pls enlighten me on the additional stuff I can ask for ?

Many thanks.

Mystify

could someone tell me wat is the min tables i have to book in Conrad?
Could the ballroom accomodate 40tables?

Hi Table

Minimum is 25 tables of 12 on weekend; weekdays 20. Maximum shld be 34 tables i.e. 408 guests.

Hope that helps.

Poohbear

P.bear&Chloe...Great Thks for your info...

i think i would have to find other places oredi...

Hi ,

Can anyone please tell me what is the price per table in Conrad? I intend to book a wedding date in either May/June 2003. Any idea whether the weekend are taken up?

I am contemplating between Conrad, Oriental & Sheraton...any thinkers?

leo

Hi leo,
Currently, it is around $938 for weekdays(12pax/table) and $1028(12 pax/table) for weekends in May/June 2002 so I should assume that the pricing will not change much.

You can call Debby at 64327172 to check....she the Director of Catering(if I remember correctly)...she a friendly, sincere and not hard sell at all person......and most importantly, she understands that all brides want their wedding to be perfect and she is practical about what to spend or to save on the banquet.

They are all 5-stars...but I would prefer either Sheraton or Conrad...Oriental too old...and service not that fantastic......Sheraton....at Newton...but near MRT...and very classy....Conrad very new and everything is also very new but got only 1 ballroom...but excellent services.

Hi! Cleo,

Dun mind me askin, your wedding also at CONRAD?
Seems like u r very satisfied with them.

I got a friend gonna get married at CONRAD. Wat she's afraid most is making losses. She has infact prepared for losses liao.
I find it rather tight for her cos' she told me she can't anyhow invite 'not so good' friends or 'far distance' relatives else lugi easily...Quite cham leh...
Does anyone who held at CONRAD make a breakeven or even profit? Mayb share your experience with me so that i can tell my friend not to be so pessimistic.

Hi Table,

Guess I was lucky.. I had my wedding at Conrad and I actually did end up with quite a bit of "excess". Generally, friends(understanding and not extremely stingy ones :p) would give enough to cover the costs; relatives would tend to be more generous, giving way more than the cost itself..

I guess if you keep it to close friends and close relatives, things can't get too bad... ;)

Hi Table,
I agreed with Kismet. Friends are more understanding and knows the standards of pricing for Conrad and will most likely give enough to cover the costs.

Relatives-wise, u have to ask your mum or mother-in-law to subtly or casually bring up to them that it is a new 5-star hotels and per table is aroud $938-$1048.

Luckily most of my and hubby's friends/collegues were supportive and indicated that they will definitely give us more than enough to cover their costs.

However, relatives seem to be unaware of the sort of hotel Conrad is but both my and hubby's relatives are quite generous. My cousins who just had their weddings at a community centre and Marina Mandarin respectively this year was given $100 per person (i.e. 5 family members-$500) by all of us. There is a sort of "standard hongbao" for relatives.

For those who are booking Conrad, you may like to know that if you are a SingaporeBrides.com card holder, you get a free upgrade from Centennial Suite to Executive Suite.

However, this offer is limited to the first twenty bookings only.

For more info, you can visit the "Card" section.

I am considering booking Conrad - The Salon by the Pool for my wedding. I intend to have my Solemnisation followed by buffet lunch. Has anyone attended or held the wedding lunch at The Salon by the Pool ? Would appreciate it if someone can share with me your experience.

Hi Chin Leng

I've booked Conrad since last year and had not applied for yr Singaporebrides.com card. My package with Conrad has the choice of choosing 2 nites Centennial Suite or 1 nite Presidential Suite, if I applied for your card, is there other upgrades ? :p

Hi Faith,

I'm sorry but the offer is only valid when you show the SingaporeBrides card when you make your booking.

Hi, I'm new here, quite interested in Conrad too. Do they also cater for small wedding, like abt 100ppl?

Hi anns

For the ballroom, min. table of 20 x 12paxs for banquet on weekdays include sunday and for saturday, is min. 25 tables x 12paxs.

For 100ppl, maybe they have the salon by the pool to offer...not very sure about this, you have to double check with the banquet sales.

Hi Chriselia,

Just came back from my honeymoon, and I had my wedding at Conrad. It was a buffet dinner at the Salon by The Pool. We had 300 guests, and everything was EXCELLENT! A lot of people said the food was good. I can't say cos I didn't get to eat that nite. Very good feedback on the excellent service too. Hubby got thrown into the pool
and the hotel staff got him towels immediately. We were at the pool close to midnite, and the staff was still there to entertain my request for some more soft drinks. The set up was everything I wanted it to be. I left the flora deco to them, just telling them I want it simple, and it was beautiful. Everyone LOVED the Salon. I haven't collected my actual day pics, so I can't share them with you. If you are going to meet with them, ask them to show you some pics. Good luck!

Hi Ryn

Wonder if you still remember me ? The last time, we chat and exchange info. in this thread....congrats to u. I'm waiting for my wedding this coming December and am hoping that Conrad also can provide good service and food for the banquet in ballroom. My very best wishes to you and hope you have a happy marriage.

Hi Faith!!!

Yes, of course I remember you!
How are things going? Thank you so much for your well wishes. Are you getting excited?
Have you got the details settled? December is a lovely time to get married. The holiday season always puts people in a special mood.

We left a lot of things till the last minute, but Debby was so helpful. And I heard from another friend today who told me he had a wonderful time.
Very happy with all the good comments.

And it was a good idea of hubby's to stay 2 nights instead of 1. We were soooo tired by the time it was all over. Not to mention we had friends who were trying to crash over. But we got rid of them abt 2am. Fell fast asleep...

Got a tip for you. Do remember to order your breakfast in your room for the next morning. We forgot, and woke up famished! All you need to do is to select what you want and hang it on the door like the "Do not disturb" card.

Have fun and enjoy every moment of it!

Hi Ryn

I've not started anything on the banquet stuff yet, rather that Debby hasn't call me yet. Guess is still early to talk about ballroom decor, seatings, food tasting etc..... It's good too, anyway I'm busy with my gowns & fittings soon, then will follow by the studio/outdoor shooting.....pretty excited to go for my 1st fitting, hopefully it look great on me.
Ya, I always love December, feel the atmosphere of the holiday seasons like Christmas & New Year, maybe becos I'm born in December. One thing great is that my English and Chinese birthday is one day after another then follow by my wedding day, 3 days in one go.....
Where did you go for your honeymoon ? Since childhood, my dream honeymoon destination has been Europe but since Dec. is a bad mth to go Europe being too cold, I'll postpone it to Mar/Apr 2003 but my friends told me that I must go somewhere after the wedding so that we will feel the sweetness of honeymoon, so maybe I'm going somewhere relaxing and romantic for a short vacation, thinking Bali. Do share with me your honeymoon romance.

Thanks for yr tips of the breakfast plan. As I've the choice of choosing either one nite Pres. Suite or 2 nites Centennial Suite, I think I'll go for the one nite Pres. Suite cos it's hard to come by, I dun think I'll spend that kind of $ to stay in Pres. Suite in future.

Hope to see you often in this thread, to offer & share with us your laughter and happiness.

I'm new to this thread and glad to hear of the +ve comments for Conrad. After my meeting with them this morning, most likely will be signing up with Conrad. They are really friendly and accomodating. I'm lucky that there's a wedding tonight and the couple is using the white/silver theme therefore I got to see the setup of the ballroom.

Hi Chin Leng,
Thks for the infor. Conrad has offered to upgrade me to a 2 night stay in the Centennial suite. I dun mind becos it's just the difference in the size of the suite.

suemay03

Hi Everyone

I am asking this on behalf of my colleague.
Can i know what is the price per table for a year 2003 wedding at Conrad?
I know that Conrad does themes (e.g Silver and white). What kind of themes are there and do we have to pay extra for these themes or are they already included in the package.

Also what makes u gals/guys choose Conrad? Any other info is also much appreciated.thanks!!!!