Conrad Centennial Singapore

Hi Snowie,
I just called Debbie this morning and told her that I would be coming down to sign the contract tomorrow..and she asked me if I had any other items to be added in the contract.
The promotion will end tomorrow and if u book by tomorrow, u will have to get in touch with Conrad today and pay the $4000 deposit(either in cash or credit card as now no time to process the cheque already) as well as sign the contract with them.
For weekdays' banquets held in 2002, you will get free flow of beer and $20nett off each table. (original price:$898 to $948)
For weekends' banquets held in 2002, u will get 1 barrel 20litre beer free and $20 nett off each table. (original price:$998 to $1048).
U require more details, just let me.
BTW, u been to Conrad already...or their July Divine show....?
THe min. nos. of table is 20 and max. 34 . (per table 12 persons).

Hi Cleo!

Uhhhh.. no wonder I didn't get the invitation for the Divine show tho I requested for tix... I'm paying $998 per table, could have saved at least $400-$500 for the tables and close to $800 for the beer!!! :p

Ayyyy... guess we should have waited.. but then again, how would we have known?? Anyway, perhaps I could still try to bargain for some more freebies..

Thanks for the details!

So are you asking for anything that's not already incldued in the contract?

Good to know that you've arrived at a decision..

Snowie,
I think the only thing that I am asking them to include in the contract is for me and hubby to have an option to choose either to use the existing type of chair cover (which is FOC by the time I hold my dinner)as Conrad is coming up with a total new set of chair cover next year.(which is chargable).
I assumed u had signed the contract. What other things did u include in?Can I ask for a waive of corkage charge for wine i.e. the lst 12 bottles etc?
BTW, how their attitude before and after u signed the contract?Who attended to u?
Hope to hear from u soon.

Snowie,
It seems that Debby can be quite accomodating to my requests for some other items I requested for:
1. to change the 20litre barrel beer to 30litre barrel beer at no extra cost as I had confirmed booking of 28 nos. of tables.
2. to have 80% invitation cards.
BTW, the new seat cover that Conrad is purchasing at the end of this yr is $4 per piece...I think should be made of gold....(hee..hee..)
My hubby is asking me to check with Debby if Conrad can waive the corkage for wine on the ground that we purchase the hard liquor for Conrad....(people nowsaday go more for wine instead of hard liquor)....not such a bad idea...
So when ur big day?coming soon?Excited...share with us....Cheers!!!

Hi Cleo,

I'ven't heard from them since I signed the contract!! So I can't judge the before and after. A bit "upset" that they left me out of the Divine show even tho I had requested for the invites..
It's like we no longer offer them any "commercial value" and are thus left out of their bridal show..

Anyway, anyway.. I didn't manage to get much into my contract. They told me that the centrepieces, and all the seat covers, and all the flower arrangements were chargeable and worth about $2000, but they were giving them to me inclusive. So we thought we were in for a good deal, only to find out later that it became a standard package! :p So naive!!

And cos of that, the number of bottles of wine "eligible" for waiver was lowered.. Will have to "negotiate" again when the day comes.. I think we had waiver for 10 bottles. Not sure if I read somewhere that food-tasting is chargeable now? We are entitled to free food-tasting for 6. And we didn't want the cards, and the anniversary voucher, and something else(can't rem..) so those items could be deducted from the final bill.

Katherine attended to us.

I'm surprised that they're so accomodating! In letting you have more beer.. You're having a weekend wedding?

Which package did you take? Seat covers included? I think I've got white ones in my package, and I don't see why they wouldn't let me use the gold ones right? Afterall, they say that the only reason why they charge is cos of laundry... so colour shouldn't matter.. Thanks for sharing an option with me...
Here's another area to practise our bargaining skills!! Did they say why gold would be chargeable but not white? And for the table runners, I think they provided that as a complimentary option.

If you want the exact details of my package, let me know.. I could mail it to you..

Big day? Barely 7 months away... Hmm.. that reminds me.. gotta get down to booking the poolside for my solemisation!!

Snowie,
Yup..me having a weekend wedding in Oct02.
I's surprise he allowed u to waive the corkage charges for the wine...me offered to switch the waive of corkage charges for hard liquor to waive of wine....that means I paid for all opened bottle of hard liquor..but they turned me down...
I think Debby is the one who make the ultimate decision and had more decision making power than Catheryn who attended to u. Maybe u can try to speak to Debby about some of the fringes u want.
I took their weekend package and seat covers are FOC as long as I choose the existing white ones. If I were to get the new ones (gold & silve on either sides which make it reversible-Debby confirmed with me when I signed the contract), then they will charge $4 per pc due to the fact that they are new, material cost, laundry cost and other unknown costs.
Well,my hubby has a friend who will be holding her wedding dinner there on 24/9/01 and I had already asked him to check with her how their services b4 and after signing of contract...and any other freebies u can ask for.... Cheers!!!

I met up with Cathryn and she is very accomodating too. I am thinking of a hi-tea cum solemisation at the ballroom. Any suggestions or advice? Anything I should look out for in the contract before i sign?

Hi Dee,

I've heard of people having the soleminsation at the function room by the poolside. It's aircon, but cos it's full-length windows all around - you get a view of the pool. It's nice..
But I think that can't hold that many people - and it would be casual seating and not aisle seating... Perhaps you could ask Cathyrn to show you the place when they've decorated it for a function? Pretty..

Hi, I noticed that the Conrad ballroom is kind of a T-shape. Did anybody noticed that?

I'm wondering whether the 4 tables at each left and right end of the T-shape able to see as the bride and bridegroom walk into the ballroom.

Hi spring
Ya, I knew that the ballroom is a T-shape but I simply dun care much cos I love the ballroom, reception area, suite, location and esp. the hotel is one of the newest. The size of the ballroom fit exactly my requirement and after much calculation, I'm glad that I'm able to afford it, so....my mind was set on Conrad.
Most important of all, u must be comfortable of the hotel and really love the place. Whether the guests at a corner can see you or not, is not so important at all, anyway there's no pillar, so dun think there's a problem.

hi faith congrats on getting ur dream hotel.

btw, do u know what they're offering as wedding favors?

how's the food and service in conrad?

we're also seriously thinking abt this.

Thanks spring.
I think they're offering chocolate pralines for wedding favours, quite nice.
Personally, I've not attended any wedding at Conrad yet but went to their show in July, they presented us 4~5 dishes, all were very nice, hoping the quality of food is equally as good during my banquet. As for service wise, they should have a standard since it's 5 star hotel but i guess you do agree that sometimes, it also very much depends on the waiters/waitresses' personal attitude and professionalism, we just have to count our luck. Of course we can complain if they've bad service but what's the use, the banquet is over by then, can never replay again.

thanks faith. hmm.. chocolate pralines kind of common. do u think it's possible to replace the favors for corkage waiver?

and btw, do u noe if we can re-decorate the stage ourselves?

how many tables will u be having. tentatively we're having 34-37 tables but i know conrad is 34 max... so...

Hi spring
As for the replacement, you may have to check with your banquet sales. I'll stick to chocolate pralines cos to me, this is not important at all. Even my friend's wedding, she gave us shaped candles wrapped nicely in organza, it's indeed a very sweet gift but i guess not much ppl really appreciate. This is just my own opinion, pls dun take it to heart.

Conrad's max is 34 tables (12 paxs/table). I've booked their min., 20 tables 1st. Thinking that I can add anytime but if I confirmed more than what needed, I can cancel it and had to pay ! So be very careful, work on min. 1st.

I think as long as you're paying it yourself, they should allow you to decorate the stage/ballroom your own way but again, better reconfirm with the banquet sales.

Hi Faith and Spring,

Can I join you gals in this discussion? I am also looking at Conrad for my wedding dinner. Have actually made a tentative booking for my date and I took the min of 20 tables. I tot I can make up 20 tables, but after some detailed counting, I am afriad that I can't meet the min now. You see, I estimated that the no of guests to invite will make up about 23 tables. But assuming that only 70% to 75% of these guests will accept the invitation, that will be less than 20 tables.

So, I am in a dilemma now. Dun know whether to give up Conrad. But i really like Conrad.

Any advice?

hi faith, thanks a lot for this advice. i think it's a good idea. i shall take note abt the min table.

so when's ur wedding?

Hi Leng
Sure of course, we welcome you here to share with us.

OK, assuming that you've only 80% confirmed guests, but you've already confirmed 20 tables, Conrad's min., so the only concern is that you've to loose some money for the empty tables and nothing got to do with Conrad, they dun care, as long as you booked 20 tables, you've to pay for it though it's not full, I think. Check with your banquet co-ordinator on this matter. If you really like Conrad so much, try to think of a way to fit in, unless after calculation, you really has to loose alot.....then, can understand the painful part of losing our hard earn money. Do you want to consider other nice hotels like Hyatt, Four Seasons & Westin which also has ballroom that fit your banquet size ?

Hi spring
My wedding is Dec'02. When's yours ?

Hi Faith,

My wedding is one month after yours, in Jan 03. Guess we can all share our experience in our wedding preparations.

Four Seasons would be my next choice after Conrad. But their prices for 2003 are not out yet. Nevertheless, I have arranged to meet them on Mon. At the same time, I will talk to Jennifer on this matter. Hope we can work out something.

Thanks for your advice. Hope we can continue to share our experiences here.

Hi Leng
Before I've confirmed with Conrad in June this year, Westin, Hyatt & Four Seasons are also in my list of choices. These few hotels are the ones that suit my banquet size too (I've around 240~260 guests). Dropped Hyatt cos my 2 good friends had their banquet there, so think it'll be abit boring to invite them & the rest to the same hotel/food. I personally think that Four Seasons is a very nice & cozy hotel for our size of banquet, there is only one ballroom, max is 28 tables. The ballroom has a very nice, cozy, private reception area, windows & interior like victoria style....very warm & cozy. Saw the suite on their website, very nice too. As for Westin, they've nice ballroom and suite too, but heard alot of bad comments on their food.....personally I've not tried the food there. Have a great time sourcing & rem to let us know the outcome. Oh yes, you've about 1 yr's time fr now to your wedding, gonna make it fast already, ppl are very kiasu. Heard many ppl having disappointment when they booked late, dates were all taken up esp. weekends. That's why I'm so kiasu, booked in this year, June, exactly 1 1/2 yrs to my wedding. :p

Hi Spring
Congratulations for your coming ROM. Though you've about 1 1/2 yrs away to your wedding, more time than Leng, but you still have to start source around for your banquet venue already. There are not many nice dates esp. weekends are limited, gonna be kiasu abit.

Hi Faith,

I am also considering Hyatt too. Having been there, how do you find the food and ambience? Is there another smaller ballroom for about 20+ tables?

Share the sentiments as you about Four Seasons. Was there for a colleague's wedding 2 months back and was really impressed by the ambience and service.

Me quite gan cheong. Want to settle the hotel as soon as possible. But as mine is on a Wed, hope the date is not that popular.

BTW, Faith and Spring, have you gals booked your bridal package, and if yes, which bridal shop? I have booked mine with Kevin Seah.

Hi Leng
Yes, definitely, Hyatt has the ballroom for 20 tables, they've couples of ballroom. One of my friend has hers in a big ballroom, the other has 15 tables in a smaller ballroom. Remember to choose one that is pillarless. Their embience is nice and food is quite ok. I mean, for me, I price embience more important than food, so as long as the food is ok, presentable, quite nice, I'm more than happy. Weekday dates wouldn't be as hot as weekends but if this is your special day, you also ought to act fast to avoid disappointment.

I booked mine with Divine Couture. Wow.., Kevin Seah has very nice & sexy laces for their gowns. Their gowns are indeed very nice but I already set my mind/eye on Divine before I get to know Kevin Seah. So, I think your gown's gonna be very dramatic type, got to choose a grand ballroom to match your gown/theme....u will definitely look gorgeous.

Hi michiko
I've not heard of any promotion going on now for Conrad's package but wonder if the free bridal suite upgrade to executive type is still on promotion ??? Maybe you can keep yourself follow up with the upcoming magazines like HerWorld Brides, Wedding, FemaleBrides etc....., if there is a promotion, they will advertise or you might want to call up the banquet sales to check out with them.

Hi Faith,

I when down to Hyatt today. The ballroom is quite alright, but I still prefer Conrad's ballroom setup. In any case, I find that Hyatt is not very flexible with certain things like beer and food tasting. Anyway, just did my guest list again, seems that I may be able to meet Conrad's min. So I may choose Conrad in the end. Really appreciate you advice. Thanks.

Yeah, the reason why I chose Kevin was bcos of his laces and beadings, and the fact that he takes the effort to painstaking sew all the details on the gown, Hope that my gown will turn out nice. Hmmm, you chose Divine. So your gown is gonna be those sexy low back ones?

Michiko, the promotion is still valid now. My wedding coordinator told me to just tear that page from the magazine and we'll get an upgrade to two nites stay in the Centennial Suite.

Hi Leng
As I say, follow where your heart's heading, I'm happy for you too......remember that this is a once in a lifetime thing. Ya, probably the low back one either for gown or evening gown, I love sexy, glamour, elegant look....me is super vainpot...haha...
Who is your banquet co-ordinator ?

Hi Michiko
Dunno which page but you will never miss it cos the whole page is in red colour.

Hi Faith,

Yeah...and my heart says Conrad.
My banquet co-ordinator is Jennifer. She is also partly why I preferred Conrad cos she is so nice and friendly and takes the effort to try to accomodate to my requests. Who's yours? After I booked with Conrad, we can then share our experience here.

Hi Leng
I wonder if I've met Jennifer, is she the short, boyish hairstyle gal or was that Joanne ??? Well, my banquet co-ordinator is Debby Setiawan. Sure, I'm glad to be here sharing with you.

Hi Faith,

Nope. Jennifer has shoulder-length hair. Just curious, have you asked for any additional stuff other than those in the standard package? The package seems quite comprehensive, just thinking if I have left out anything. The only other thing I want is free food-tasting which they offer only to those with 25 tables and above. I have requested for Jennifer to extend to us the free food-tasting and she compromised by lowering the min to 23 tables. But my fh stills want to bargain...

Hi Leng
Did you get the free white seat covers ? They suppose to give you free though they always claim that this is something exclusive. Ya, u r rite, they will only give free food tasting to 25 tables & above. I've negotiate for that but they did not compromise either, i think they only lowered it to 23 or 24 tables....anyway, their free food tasting is only for 6 paxs rite ? Actually frankly speaking, I've not ask for much also....abit regret, should ask for more......I've only managed to have corkage waived for 12 bottles of wine, 1 free day use room (12~8pm), 1 barrel of 20L beer free. I should have insist on free food tasting, 1 free superior rm for overnite at least, corkage waived for 24 bottles wine, free shuttle transport to MRT station etc.....hehe.
Now that everything is signed, dun think I've much bargaining power, so I think it's rite that your hubby asked and negotiate for whatever you want before signing the contract. Oh yes, I've a choice of choosing 1 nite presidential suite or 2 nites Centennial Suite, this is an offer during the time i signed up my package. Now the offer is Executive & Centennial Suite right ? I will go for Pres. suite, dun want to loose the chance, it may be once in a lifetime thing to stay in Pres. suite since it's given free.

Hi Faith,

Yup. I got the free white seat covers. As my wedding is on a weekday, beer is free-flow. So you din have the food-tasting? My fh was quite insistent on having the food-tasting cos he wanted to know what's the standard of the food, and if there is anything that can be improved on.

Ya, I can choose between 1 nite Executive or 2 nites Centennial. Have not decided yet cos yet to see the suites. But I was thinking of getting two nites.

Can I know what is the day use room for? Is it for my "sisters" or helpers to rest and prepare themselves for the nite?

Hi Leng

Oh yes, of course, I'll go for the food tasting and I'll have to pay S$50+++ per person if I've less than 23 or 24 tables.

For mine, I can choose whether 2 nites centennial or 1 nite pres. suite. Initially when I signed the contract with them, I've decided to take 2 nites centennial suite but later after viewing the centennial, executive & pres. suites during their July show, I've decided to go for the best - Presidential Suite. Knowing that I won't be able to afford or rather even if can afford, will not pay to stay in a Pres. Suite in future....so can't afford to slip this chance. U ought to view their suites, I find centennial suite rather small but cozy enuff for the wedding couple, in case if there will be alot of relatives crowded in your suite before the banquet starts, it will seems very cramp, executive suite is bigger and i think the furnishings are nicer. Well again, everybody may have different like, u may not agree with me. Have fun viewing.

Yes, day use rm is for our friends/co-ordinators to rest/wash up etc...before the banquet.

Just met my coordinator last week.The pricing fpr second half of 2003 is till not out,according to her.

hi damnjian, when r u going to have ur dinner?

mine is jun 2003. however, i would like to book earlier, that's why i need to know the pricing.

Hi 2003bride,

Mine likely to be Dec 2002.Not confirmed yet though.

Even though the price is not out,most likely there will be an increase in the price as my coordinator said the price for 2002 will remain till Mar/Apr 2003.Why not brought forward your wedding by a couple of months?

You confirm going for Conrad?I really like the hotel too but have some reservations on the food.Got some mixed comments.Your comments?

Hi damnjian
U gonna have banquet @ Conrad in Dec '02 ? I understand from my co-ordinator, the dates are all taken up, esp. weekends.

Hi faith,

Yah..most probably in Dec 02 but will be on weekday.Met my coordinator last week,for weekdays there are still quite a number of dates available but weekends only 2-3 days.

Hi anyone decided to book the banquet with conrad in 2003? I intend to. Mine will be in mid 2003. So, I guess I can book in early next yr.

hi ezzy

u can call them for a proposal and usually they will offer the current price to u if u book beofre the new price is out.

I am looking at a ballroom that can house 20-25 tables and thought conrad would make a great venue.. . Has anyone have any experience with Conrad? Would appreciate some advise...from their service to the food to package etc etc??

Just make sure the wedding takes place... know of a wedding which is suppose to take place on
02-02-2002... unfortunately, the couple broke up legally about 9 months ago.. sad but true. And they hv to pay Congrad 5O% of total pkge for 30 tables... quite a big amount considering the 9 months notice. 02/02/02 is SUCH a HOT date, so many couples wanted it! Such as life! Who would know how relationships can turn out? & in spore, we need to book every damn thing one yr in advance!!!

Sad to hear that......50% of total pckg is alot of $ ! But again, how can a failed relationship remain for the sake of saving this $....... :0

Hi Everyone!

I'm at the point where I need to select dishes for food-tasting. Has anyone gone through the selection or had/attended weddings at Conrad and have recommendations to make? Or dishes that are no-no's? I would appreciate any inputs from anyone!

Thanks much in advance!

winkie,

my sis just had her wedding dinner there a couple of weeks ago. My 2 cents worth is that: the food was insufficient and guests (the older ones) complained that they are still not full at the end of the dinner. Tea was not served when guests were seated and had to ask them over and over again & when questioned why, the captain said that they were busy with the serving of the first dish. To me, it's not a good excuse. When people sit down at their tables before the start of the dinner, it is essential to start to serve drinks. They can't just sit there and do nothing right? Service level needs to be improved. Good thing is that that my sis had managed to get the corkage charges waived. Another thing to consider is that many folks would be lost as not many people know where is Conrad Hotel (besides the younger generation and the working people)...

Hi abc and faith,
thanks for your comments

how was the food? i mean apart from the insufficiency thingy? was your sis wedding on a weekday or weekend?
gee.... i better take note of those points you mentioned vv impt!!

winkie,

was on a weekend. The food was ok but portion a little pathetic lor. Presentation wisw I must say is quite good. Waiters are very young... if you like it.

Hi abc,

Gee.. this is a little worrisome... I didn't know the portions are little - was the portions bigger during food-tasting and that's why you couldn't tell beforehand?

And also, was your sis having this year's new menu or last year's?