Conrad Centennial Singapore

hi Seval,
sorry to hear about ur bad experience too.
well, dun be upset by this.. hope u'll be able to find a venue soon
hmm.. raffles seem a good choice. the only thing is that i heard their chinese restuarant is szechuan style. will the banquet food be more to spicy then?

hi lilacblur,
weekday for 2005 is at 676+++?? .. u sure the price is correct? .. me going to faint leh (mine was $800 plus (before the triple +s).. can u share ur package with me?

Novagal,

Thanks. I'm ok already lah...

Not sure what style is Royal China. I went there before, food so so lah but very ex. So, I don't expect much frm the banquet actually. But I still haven't decide lah.

The ballrm in MM tt can accomodate my number of tables has very low ceiling leh... but i heard they r having a major renovation.

????
eh... gosh i think i said wrong thing is forum is it?? for maybe they print wrong pricing???
maybe 2005 left super limited dates??

but i won't b able to hold in 2005 la.. most prob 2006.. back to sq 1

hi gals... new here..
anyway was passing by here when i saw some confusions...

novgal
think u r right... i check the bridal magzines... the price for conrad for dinner weekday till june 2005 is 800plus++++ u got the special price lah... dun worry... after that the price for the dinner at weekday will increase...

novgal
u can check the female brides mag... they got the pricing there... it's their special rate.... only valid till june2005.

novgal
it's ok... trying to clear the clouds...
anyway u got the special rate... think it's 838+++ per table... for weekday... only rem it's 800plus bef the +++....

slowy,

me din get the special rate. it's lilablur who said the weekday rate was $676+++. anyway, i also bought the female brides mag. price still at $838+++ per table alright.

lilacblur,
where did u see this special rate?

wow finally this thread is moving so fast..
hahaha
Novgal , i also nearly fell off my chair when i saw 676
it is so unfair if they really dropped the price so low . hmphhhh , we early birds wld be so loogy

ladies,
i think maybe they got typo error la..
but most likely i'm not going to sign up with them.. gosh, some sort of service they have..since they are open for booking for 2006, i thought it's alright to call and check things out.. but the lady who spoke to me said i'm KS.. pls man! i'm a guest, and giving them business.. b it big or small.. if you think calling for 2006 is KS, then dun open for booking loh.. big deal

oh i know the lady's name.. turns out to b the same person attending to seval.. sigh..

i told my fren who was working in another hotel.. she was so shocked that the lady actually gave this kind of reply...

come to think of it, if the quotation they sent to b is really a typo mistake, then how much more can i trust them? if it's not mistake, then booking earlier will surely heart bleed jialet jialet.. difference of so much

Very unfortunate, your experience with Conrad.
So far Conrad has been accomodative and fun to work with so no complains. Alternative is for you to ask for Catheryn?? A waste to give up becoz of one employee. the ballroom was built for weddings and even have a private lift within the ballroom that takes you up to the suite when you need to change into EG! The high ceiling and the fact that the entire hotel will have only 1 wedding are plus points. Also, when you have the ballroom, you automatically have the reception area outside where you can have cocktails and photo taking before the actual banquet. Do try calling them again - my advise..

i tried going to the femalebridesonline to read Seval's comments , i cant access at all , is the website down ?
Seval - how about Hotel Intercon / 4 Seasons ?
i shortlisted these 3 b4 deciding on Conrad

Dunno leh, maybe you go Female Brides Forum mainpage and go to Conrad Thread?

Hotel intercontinental is too big for me, cant meet the min tbls. Four Seasons is too expensive leh, their std package got nothing, seat covers also need to pay.

my 1st time posting here. couldn't resist when I saw the confusion among all of u *hee hee*

Conrad's $676+++ price is special price for weekdays only in 2005. Catheryn from Conrad informed me when I met up with her in Oct for my banquet in May 2005. I was very tempted to change my original plans for a weekday banquet to weekday coz its so cheap!!! However my FH said he prefers weekends as its more convenient for everyone especially our helpers.

So sorry about your bad experience, Seval. Hope u have found another hotel by now. We had checked out several other hotels (Pan Pac, InterCon, Hyatt, Marina Mandarin) but we were thoroughly impressed by Conrad's BR and Catheryn's service. Our hearts are still aching over the price but we really really liked Conrad.

Agree abt Hyatt. The ballroom is dark and gloomy and the reception area will be shared with the guests of the other functions in the other rooms. However Cynthia the co-ordinator is quite nice and eager to help.

Pan Pac is good too but we balked as they want min 45 tables for ballroom (we found Ocean Room ceiling too low) and 50% payment 1 month before the banquet! I liked the co-ordinator Jennifer very very much too but I do find her a bit drama-mama in her PR skills. :p

hi pup pup,
sorry was bz so din check out the threads last few days.. hope it's not too late...
as for my wedding card, i went to t-dragon, one of the contacts that conrad co-ord gave us. since my card is red, we do not require inserts.. we chose to print direct on the cards.. with additional of one icon (pix).. it cost abt $260 for the printing.

hi pup pup,
me oso hvg video highlights instead of photo montage. if u keen, i send u the my videography & photographer contact. i've confirmed 1.

hi karen,
is the price correct? then i better call catheryn. mine is on a wkday in jan05 but i booked the banquet this year so the rate we confirmed is $800+. sigh, i thk since we signed the ocntract, unlikely tat we will be entitled that special price right?

karen,
omigosh! .. so the promo is for real?... me also tempting to ask conrad staff on this. early birds yet paying more. any ladies have tried their luck?

Hi seval , hmmmm.
Else what about Raffles hotel , because I also hv the same # of tables as you , I actually considered Raffles hotel before . Hotels like Westin / Marriot / Fullerton are too big for me ....
In the end i chose Conrad n now my heart is bleeding coz the discount is SO huge ......

gals
think we all tot fullerton is one of the ex hotels... infact u can hold a dinner(weekend) there at $800++ the cheapest rate they had was 700plus... it all depends on the menu... I was interested in that hotel but didn't choose that cos the menu doesn't look good unless we r willing to fork out more for a better one.... in the end I choose elsewhere...

hey ladies.. been bz with work so have been missing for a few days.

i saw some postings abt the special rate.. i'm so shocked! i dun have the special rate and my AD is in Feb 05, weekday coz i booked this year.

Duffy, think we're in the same fate... ooohh.. i'm so furious!

actually one thing abt Fullerton , they also slashed their weekday price , i think . Somewhere in Aug this yr .
Sighhhhhhhhhh ... Slowy , older folks wun know Conrad is an expensive hotel , i guess . They look at Fullerton's posh interior / exterior / history etc .....

But as Conrad can accomodate my # of tables , so i stick to her .She is also beautiful too , my coordinator was sweet too but after I signed up , nothing was heard from her . quite distant liao .
I actually considered Weekday , but at that time 800++ and 900+ + was not very significant , so i went ahead to book the weekend . ALAS ..... it dropped so much .
Seval , Raffles is a GOOOOOOD choice , quite romantic too . Good for you , u can tell Conrad to go fly a kite . I am pissed too :P

ladies, do you all think 800+++ for table of 12 is so unaffordable??

i was sort of insulted by my fren when i told her i'll b visiting Conrad to check things out...from the way she says things, it's as if she assume i cannot afford Conrad and still wanna act rich

Lilacblur - actually, dun be affected by wat other people say. I know it's hard becoz I'm also guilty of it too. My family not rich lah, we stay in HDB only lor, so to have a banquet in a five star hotel may gv some ppl the impression tt we small head wear big hat. But anyway, who cares, as long you can afford it. It's your wedding, be confident with your choice. That's why I've decided that I might be going for Raffles.

Also, most young singaporeans hold the banquet for their parents' sake, so they just want to find somewhere presentable and be able to break even for the banquet. Some of them might just be jealous, so just listen and smile lor....

Caicai, why u pissed with them too? Due to the price difference? Hehe.. tell them fly kite is too nice for what they did to me. I told them to go eat shit.. hehe ...(pardon me for the language)
But u bkd already no choice lah, just make the best out of the place. The ballroom is nice... just be careful when handling any changes in your plans with them and remember to recap everything by email. That's my advice to all brides here, better be safe than sorry. They can be nasty 1 lor, dun think you want to know how it's like.

hi lilacblur , dun bother about wat the other person says .... at the end of the day , it is your wedding n your $ . Since Conrad is fully booked for all the weekends , it doesnt mean that all the couples are rich mah . I am not rich either , just that i want to follow my heart .When i first saw Conrad , it was luv at first sight . Four Seasons was nice too , but i was really blown away with Conrad n my coordinator . so i chose her . Alot of ppl dissuaded me too , coz it is really costly for my means. But i dun wan any regrets you see. hahaha , INDULGENCE is a sin .kekeke but Marriage is once in a lifetime event .
Seval , how many tables you hving @ Raffles, is the date still open , u betta check

hi puppup,
i've called conrad, they said that the special price is only for certain dates in 2005. & as for mine, it's not applicable.. wat to do.

Hiya, everyone

Don't be so "dui" lah.....I only just heard from Catheryn when I was negotiating with her in Oct. Apparently the special pkg had only just come out then. perhaps they really want to fill up all the empty weekdays as the end of 2004 is coming already.

Let's look on the bright side. If u had booked around now, u may get the discounted rate BUT u may not get the date u want? Most impt is that u are comfortable with wat u paid and happy with the service, right?

I agree....Catheryn is really super the professional and impressive. She was able to make lots of decisions on the spot and confirm staightaway wat are the goodies she can give us and which she can't. Some of the other hotels were not able to promise straightaway and had to "check and get back to u on this". I was initially slightly intimidated by her coz she was so ultra-professional and poised but I was won over by her warm and friendly attitude :-)

I just hope she'll stick around till my May 2005 wedding! My colleague booked Amara and her wedding is in 2 weeks' time. I told her wat I found out from this forum abt the co-ordinator (Li Ping) leaving and she got very upset coz this is her 3rd co-ordinator since she booked with Amara a year back!

Besides Pan Pac and Hyatt which I mentioned earlier, I had also considered InterCon and Marina Mandarin. Not very happy with the InterCon co-ordinator Adeline as she had cancelled on my Sat afternoon appt at the last min on Fri nite 830pm!!! It practically screwed up all my plans and left a precious Sat afternoon empty when I could have arranged to view another hotel. I found out from my colleague that she also pulled the same trick on her. Now we are wondering whether she was bluffing us abt having to go for training course on a Sat?

As for Marina Mandarin, we met up with Gladys and both my FH and me got turned off by her hoity-toity attitude. Every question was answered with a half-sneer and "hao lian" tone. She even told us to get back to her asap as her hotel is very "hot". I already made my decision NOT to take MM the moment I saw the old dreary ballroom with the low ceiling. Since her MM is soooo "hot", I was very surprised at her frequent calls to 'follow up' with me. I could smell her reek of desperation (hehe) and played along. Up till last week, she was still calling me for the umpteenth time to check on whether I had confirmed my wedding date. I finally told her gleefully that I had booked with Conrad. Felt sooooooo good to show her that I am not so desperate as to go for her MM. yeah!

ya ya agree with caicai, me oso not rich but just that i fell in love with conrad when i was there for my friends' (2 of them) wedding. i thk it's more important that u like the place! everywhere is the same, there bound to be be minor hiccups... it's life.

Caicai, I completely agree with u!! tho the price is still making my heartache to this day, I resolved to follow my heart coz I felt most comfortable and happy with Conrad after chkg out the rest. Even my super stingy FH was very impressed and very happy with Conrad n strongly encouraged me to go ahead with it. He warned me to be prepared to make a loss n told me tt he's willing to since I like it so much and if it makes me happy. so sweet hor? *blush blush*

We wanted Raffles Hotel as well BUT the place is too small for us coz of my huge clan of relatives and our tons of frens....sometimes not too good to be too sociable and likeable...hahaha....

I've got a tentative booking. But I just know frm another friend that they have deadline for the booking. But the coordinator din tell me, so I dunno if she released my date. Hopefully she din.

I agree with you, a lot of my friends and also my sisters say that I shdn't spend so much, spend more on house an honeymoon but as I'm staying with my mum after marriage (husband work in Batam) and I have already set aside the $$ for a decent honeymoon, I still can afford a 5 star hotel. And also I dun fancy any other hotels, so might as well go with my heart. I want an exclusive wedding.. hehe

I'm having abt 25 tables.

Lilac - So, wat are the other hotels you short-listed? How many tables u having?

thanks ladies for all your an wei
really felt so much better after reading..

i am now considering Conrad, Sheraton.. only have 20-25 tables, so places quite restricted loh..

was thinking of Marina, but since demure says low ceiling, then i skip already.. me looking for high ceiling..

any feedback on ex-Westin?

sheraton needs 25 tbls of 12 for weekdays and 30 for weekends if I remember correctly.

Ex-westin/swissotel stamford - think u can only take the atrium ballrm with yr number of tbls. Tt ballrm got 2 pillars. I was a bit turn off with 1 of the coordinators as when I called and I told her my nbr of tbls, she told me tt I cld only consider atrium and she emphasized that there are 2 pillars. She sound like she is disuading me from the place. I still insisted on seeing the ballrm & we made an appointment 1 mth later (tt was during the ghost mth) to see the ballroom with the wedding setup. She was supposed to call me 2 recfm the appointmt but she didnt so I also cant be bothered to go dwn liao...

Marina going thr major reno leh, so it might look ok after that...

Hyatt also have low ceiling, which is the con. But come to think of it, it's not a ballrm, the smaller rooms are just very nice function rooms.

Four Seasons has one of the best ballrm for 25 tbls but it's also one of the most expensive.

Traders can also accomodate yr number of tbls but got pillars too.

If not, Meridien? Ballroom also nice but the building looks very old lor... I hate the shops but the ballroom looks grand too. It's a pity, it's a hidden pearl.

Or Raffles lah...min 20 tbls, max 25 tbls...

hmmm... that's all I can suggest at this moment...

wah...ur homework well done la.. when you getting married har? cause me in 2006.. so dun really dare to call the hotels.. most of them also not open for booking, so din arrange for viewing...

sigh... all those hotels which can cater 20-25 tables all got pillars one
wonder if fewer tables can siam the pillars anot??

oh, maybe the coordinator try to hint you the rooms at swissotel not good?

been to Meridien, i dun like the idea of guest walking pass those shops then to the ballroom

Raffles, wat's the package like huh??

haha.. i've been searching for a venue for mths already ok, i have seen most of the hotels that cld cater to my number of tables already.. my tentative date is in sept 2005

I think swissotel only interested in selling their big ballroom for wedding. My personal opinion lah..

LM - me too, the shops makes the place very cheapo looking but the ballroom is nice lah, a little bit old but still ok.

Raffles prx, PM you liao

Demure abt your Intercon experience , i also want to share .... Actually this hotel is nice too BUT tt coordinator's attitude is very bad . I am supposed to meet her , on the day itself , my ah gong was hospitalized so i need to cancel the appmt 2 visit him . Guessed what, when i called her , she was supposedly on M.C ...... Nobody infm me at all, imagine if i never called to postpone , i wld be kept waiting ?!!!!?????
Lilacblur , i agreed , 2006 is too early to book.. maybe u shd wait , look at our case , early birds dun get worms too , u may loogy !

Seval - how is Orchard Mandarin or even Regent hotel ?
Goodwood park

hi pup pup,
my AD in Jun05. guess we can only get over the heartache since contract already signed.. but still.. a bit dui

i've actually not done any homework on hotel venue cos fell in love with conrad at first sight.

been to some hotels for the dinners though. in fact, i'm just back from dinner at grand corpthone waterfront which is pretty good - with a designed landscape outside the stage. the overall decor and service is pretty good. slight drawback is the location.

will be attending another dinner at shangri-la next week. will keep u girls updated.

caicai, ya loh.. i also think it's unfair for early birds.. even if they wanna sell the unsold dates, this is not the way to do it..

seval, Raffles is 10 or 12 per pax?? i think close to Conrad leh.. hehe got hope again~

novgal~ i heard grand corpthone food not bad?? too bad can't hit their min requirement