Christian Brides

callas: really ah, they told you to cater more? Hmm.. i'm planning reception too, but was planning to go ahead with the usual lesser than actual attendance order.. and planing to request for smaller plates... Since its tea reception, so small plates dont look out of place and smaller plates somehow will slow down food consumption rate...

hi ribbons,
I called the contact you gave me and she told me is 1.2k. So ex. Pls help me to double check. Thanks

Hi jarbebe,
Initially I wanted to have it in the hotel. But come to think of it, the function room provided is small so also my plans for the day has changes, so like to have HM in church then.

My church doesn't really have a large reception area - it's like a tarpaulin area at the side, which could also double up as a car park sometimes.

So I'm thinking of getting the caterer (haven't decided who yet) to provide cocktail tables. Shouldn't be too difficult to stand and eat...

Was originally going with a tea reception, but in order for VG to capture the church ceremony and prepare express highlights in time for banquet broadcasting
, might need to shift church ceremony earlier, such that it's a lunch reception.

Is the VG timing a concern for you guys? My options are either to start church at 12:30pm and provide lunch at 1:30pm/1:45pm (is that too late?? ppl might be starving) or to go with the original plan to start church at 2 or 2:30pm and maybe go without videography of my banquet walk-in.

Starting church earlier would mean that morning tea ceremonies will be more rushed, but that would allow my enough time to edit and still catch the banquet march-in (dry ice effect etc) on video. HIYAH... how??

coco: my FH also quite shocked that they gave you this price.. will check again for you..

You can also consider Yio Chu Kang Chapel.. went there before, nice place, but dont know about charges and if open to non members or not..

hey, if you guys received a church invitation.. If it says 1pm you will expect lunch to be served? how about if i put 1:30, will you go have your lunch first?

hi callas,

Hmm, my friends advised me to cater slightly under.. Prob 90% of the RSVPs. Coz some ppl may have no-show due to last min reasons. At the same time, ur caterer wld provide abt 10% on top of the no. u specify..

hi Ribbons,

I think if u put 1 or 1.30, i wld still have lunch first.. hahah, but prob a light lunch

hi twinkle,

If u're going to specify lunch will be provided, most ppl wld then try to take a heavy bfast.. Dun worry abt it. 1.30/145 to have lunch is pretty alright, as long as u've informed

I think better check with the caterer, some will give more even though u cater less no of ppl. I experience once that my sis cater for the same no of ppl yet in the end it is not even enough. The quantity is very little. So better check with caterer or c if anyone try them b4 and get feedback.

I agree with mehmeh, if you put the timing there should not be a problem.

yo ladies!!

ask ur ahz...have anyone heard of Daylight photography and derrick ong's photography??

hi pandalic and Wong YY: sorry to ask.. mind if u tell me how much is the package?? erm.. if u dun mind...

my hubby wanna noe the estimated price ....

hi ribbons... how's ur dae..

hi ribbons,

If I got an invitation like yours, I will also eat something first before attending.

Like to ask you gals here, if the church wedding and banquet is on the same day, the guests will give ang baos during the church wedding or not? Do you have any special place to keep the ang baos till the ceremony is over?

hi coco_mybibi: have been to the website to view the photographs.. seems good... wat make u choose them?? btw ur AD is it going to be them too??

i've heard of caterers providing 10% more of the actual order, but i dont think this is a usual practice.. i think must ask, but then again, its up to the caterers lor..

For the card, I will indicate that a tea reception will follow after the service. so i suppose pple will know its high tea? cos by the time service finish is 2plus 3 already mah.. funny to have LUNCH then right..

coco: i think your guest who are going for church and dinner will give for both events lah.. Either they give two separate ang baos or dinner ang bao give more lor.. i think so lah..

coco - for church wedding there's usually an ang pow box too right? so keep it there till the guests have all arrived then lock it in a family members' car boot?

I think if friends are attending both church and dinner they might just give one angpow for dinner.

Hi strawberries,
They have not updated their website for quite long le. Best to meet and see their portfolio. Hilarion will be the photographer for my pre wedding and ad too. His service is excellent and most importantly, he's really fast in shooting. Once smile, he finished snapping alr. so for table to table shoot, got to prepare 2 tables in advance else too slow for him to shoot already. He makes us feel very comfortable since our initial meetup and also he's not stingy on the raws. He returns all the raw pics. If interested, can pm me for some of my rom pictures and our names as we know him very well now
Just mention recommended by us and he will treat you as well as us.

thanks all ladies. I doubt there will be separate ap too. I am thinking whether I should have a reception table or not cos the guests invited will be the same for both church and dinner.

Yes, ribbons... both caterers told me the same thing. They explained if it is a lunch/dinner menu perhaps can cater less but not for tea reception which is v light menu.

I do agreed with mehmeh, there will be no-show so perhaps it is wise to cater only 90% of the RSVP list. Got one friend married last month advised me the same thing too. Her caterer is one of them who told me to cater exact or more. However, hers is a lunch reception, she catered 85% with some no-show so there were sm food excess for her case.

So far, only 1 caterer told me they give 10% on top of the no specified for a tea reception menu.

Summerice, is it ok to share the caterer your sister used? Can email me [email protected] if it is not convenience to reveal here.

Another thing for those having food catered, are you all using the disposable ware, porcelain or melamine (cocktail ware)?

I opt for melamine (cocktail ware) for my tea reception package. So far, 2 caterers told me they will supply the 1st 100% usage, once run-out, is either I pay for subsequent @ $2.5/set or use disposable ware. Do you hv this discussion with your caterer? What wld u opt for, disposable ware or will you pay abt $600 more for cocktail ware?

For the card, I'm thinkg of being specific and state:
1.30pm to be seated. (giving 30mins allowance)
Tea reception will follow after the service at 3pm.

Hi strawberries, I almost booked HIA too. Like the coordinator, Annie and the place but in the end we opt for Arts House because of the chamber, using for HM. You are in good hands, Annie is very good. Btw, Hilarion is my PG too.

hi callas,
I'm also having melamine ware..but if it runs out, the guests would have to use the disposable ware. Dont think i'd pay extra $600 for more cocktail ware

I think how much to order also depends on the number of items u have for ur tea menu. If you have a lot, some guests may not eat all the items. If have a few items, then guests may eat all the items which mean food may run out faster.

Hmm... seems like most peeps are having their ceremonies starting at 1:30pm and later....

So you guys not having VG express highlights at banquet?

Personally, when I go for church weddings, I can't even quite remember whether the plates were plastic disposable or melanine... so personally I'd go for what my budget allows, and prob won't top up.

Thanks Ashlady and Chendol for sharing your views.

Sorry Chendol, me not having night banquet so don't know much abt the VG express highlights. Except for one wedding I was helping out, the HM was at 2pm with banquet at night. And her VG was able to deliever the day's highlight during dinner. Should talk to your VG to arrange....

hi ribbons,

Must specify tea is going to be provided, since the whole thing wld end 2-3pm.. No one shd expect lunch right? *heheh*

hi callas,

Wow, porcelain! I think tt wld be more suited if u're going to have a sit-down reception, otherwise, shd there be breakage *ooops* Melamine is gd enough & shdn't pay tt extra $2.5/set.. Coz many ppl as they mingle may leave their crockery all ard, and they wld use so many other sets barely used.

Think guests aren't particular even if u use the disposable wares.. Mine was purely disposable. Generally I find if u have melamine crockery, the service staff must be very prompt, otherwise guests wldn't know where to place the used & unwanted crockery. Tt's a point to note.. Can either get ur caterer to provide a returning point, or their staff must be quick

hi coco,

If ur banquet on same day & guests are attending both church & banquet, they tend to give during the banquet. In between church wedding & the banquet, ur AP box shd be with someone reliable. Cld be ur church coordinator who later hands it over to the receptionists/ banquet coordinator

As for recep table.. Maybe u can give the one in church a miss, since the same ppl are also attending the banquet. But u can also have it, it's all up to u

hi callas

i agree wif u.. annie makes us very comfortable.. one thing why we sign up wif her is becuz of her frenlyness.. also the place quite nice too.. btw it seems tat u too have a good review for Hilarion hmm..

hi coco_mybibi

would be nice if u could send me some of ur rom photos to c.. had saw the website but dun noe whether is it done by him not..

callas: which caterers you taking? which is the one that said they cater 10% on top of number ordered? mind sharing with me? PM me if not convenient to say here..

Summerice: can share the contact with me too? [email protected]

I will opt to take something els other than melamine cutlery.. Pple take one plate, leave it on table and talk... after a while they forget they have a plate or want new plate, go get another.. sure not enough one what... i will opt for disposable... melamine is so heavy too! mine will be a standing affiar, dont want my guest to get tired..

Thanks mehmeh. Btw, except for the first few rows of the pews which are reserved for the families, the rest are free seating right? Need to split the family & friends of the bride to sit 1 side and the groom's family & friends to sit on another side?

Hi strawberries,
can gimme your email address?

Hi callas,
I will also not topup for the cutlery. If I have the additional budget, will rather spend on better menu
So we are using the same PG, how you find him? Friendly rite?

hi coco,

Yupz, first few pews are for the familes/relatives. Generally the groom's guests wld sit on the right (facing altar) and the bride's on the left. The bride wld be on the left of her Father when she walks down the aisle, so her guests can get a 'better' glimpse of her & she also stands on the left of her groom.. hahah

Thanks sisters for all your views on the crockery options.

Seandra
Me hv nt decided the caterer yet. Likely will be kriston out of 5 short listed caterers. Personally for our case, they are slightly more accommodating to our requirements/needs. My FH and I actually conso all menu of short listed caterers into one file and sent them out to friends/relatives to vote! Surprising most popular is Kriston. I'd prefer mum's kitchen menu which is next popular to kriston

Since Callas mentioned caterers -- my office is sourcing for a caterer. We've narrowed down to these caterers cos they need to be Halal certified.

Any feedback on these? Which would get your vote? *wink*

1. De Mansion Catering
2. Fost*e
3. Four Seasons
4. Java Link Catering

Ribbons,
I think Angeli provides a 10% buffer on top of the no of pax ordered

Callas,
Actually i think disposable wares are better for a standing reception. Cos i've attended quite a no of functions where melamine ware is used and it usually becomes v messy when there is no place to leave the used utensils. Whereas for disposable wares, as long as there is suff trash bags to store the used stuff, pple tend to be quite "automatic" and throw their utensils in the bins...

Twinkle,
I think Fost*e is good. Not sure abt the others. For Fost*e, i'd go for the mango crepe and bread and butter pudding. Their desserts are yummy!

Now hunting for GDL items. Such a headache! Any of u know where to buy reasonably big mandarin oranges?

yeah... pple use finish the disposable plates they will know where to throw... but if its melamine, cannot throw away but dont know where to put..

To give a clearer picture from my previous post on the caterer my sis used. My sis did not take up the menu package provided by the caterer, she did her own combo items that cost about $9/head and she order like 5 to 10pax less.

But the quantity of the items are very little....for example the spring rolls seem like each person can only take one dont know if can take two....my sis maid have to limit the kids(own ppl) not to eat too many of those, so other guests can eat them. The rice quantity also not a lot. we even have own food like red eggs and pig trottles.

My sis did asked the caterer why the quantity so little....they reply that they only cater for 1 serving per person only and no such thing as cater more then the pax order, but i dont think the serving is a normal portion....in the end i still go outside n eat. hahaha maybe i greedy lor.

ribbons & callas u got mail

Hi Count!

Welcome back... understand you've been really busy at work.

I think for big mandarin oranges you'll have more luck at market fruit stalls than supermarkets.

hi ribbons,
yup...real busy now coz now it's the last stretch liao! :P But i still read the thread...hee.

hi count,
Glad u've settled ur recep
Now can move on to other stuff...How is it coming so far for ur florist?

Hi ribbons,

my sis heard that the caterer is good thats why she used it. What about u....u try n error or u also heard that they are good?

I am thinking of a lunch recep after church ceremony so will be catering normal lunch items, At first i was thinking of the more western long table buffet lunch, but that will be ex...almost $60/pax, plus not yet include wedding cakes and all that...my mum was telling me not to get too ex kind of packages if not i will suffer a lost. so i scrap the ex buffet idea.

My sis was suggesting that i get a hotel kind of sit down lunch like wedding dinner kind. If not the ang pao i get will definately be very little almost half of those for wedding dinner. Haiz which one will u ppl choose? coz most of the guests will be relatives (older folks).

callas -- I am using Kriston and yes, they are very popular and we went to sample the food - very good and happy, I have the $15 per pax one.

Hey Twinkle,
I heard from my BS designer tt the huge oranges cost $3 each! Provided i even manage to find them at this time of the yr. Sigh. Oh well... Hopefully the parents don't make things diffiuclt for us...

Waiting to receive my PS layout and settle the parents' album. And the order of service. Such a headache!

Ashlady,
The florist is still not cfm. Supposed to meet Woodsville then decide. Prefer Renta*eco though. Btw how much did u pay for church flowers? Can PM me if not convenient to share here? Thinking of $400 each (ie $800) but seems like the flowers are still v little...

What other things do u have left to do? Have u decided on the order of service yet?

SummerIce,
I was told that the portions nowadays are v little. When we catered for 30 pax, we got 50 fruit tarts and was told tt it is std practice to give 1.5 tarts/pax. So perhaps the quantity nowadays is v little?

hi count,
What does the $400/$800 include of? heh...i remembered last sun service's floral stand that was against the stained glass was super lush! Those big leaves sticking out...really nice

I've left quite a few things: giving out invites, songs selection, order of service, hotel deco/flavours..etc.
kao_dizzy.gif

Hi Count,

You mean $400 each cos you're sharing with the couple using the church before you right?

I think $800 is a pretty good budget for church flowers already.... if church hall not too large. Yr church hall seats around 400?

Summerice,

Which church are you using? If there's space, then definitely a sit down lunch, whether long table, or round tables is a good idea, esp if you're not having a dinner.

Personally, I think if you cater for $15-$20 per person type of buffet (e.g. Elsie's kitchen serves huge portions and v yummy -my friend used for dinner reception at church venue) then the ang pows will cover. Ppl usually give at least $20 if they attend only the church wedding, even if it's just tea reception.

count: then you never ask your caterers if they them selves when at a function, will count the number of tarts and do the maths to find out that each person entitled to 1.5 tarts and actually divide the tart into half to eat/ eat a half tart left there by someone else?

Lets see that they say..

was just thinking about album layout.. If yours is digital one and they'll add in the background and all, do we have to tell them before of what we want? I going to see my layout next week, and i am hoping they dont give me some cheena looking one.. but then again, i have not seen any cheena background pics from their albums.. my friends alsbum also dont have.. If on that day we see the layout, can tell them to change or not? or is that the final product? (I know cannot change pics lah.)

wow $800 for church flowers? i am thinking of only $350 for all the flowers for the day plus church flowers. is that possible?

I prefer to have some sit down also, coz its hard for guests to eat holding the plates, but i wont order from hotel buffet, too ex liao confirm will suffer great losses. I will have to check out the church see which one got more space to have sit down.

How long is the marriage prep coz? Suddenly this morning i realise i only got 6mths left n nothing has been confirm yet. what are the things i need to do for church wedding?

Hi Summerice,

Yup you should start calling churches cos some of the larger/more popular ones might be booked already. Cos if they have larger congregations then higher chance that someone is getting married from their congregation.

The MPC duration varies. Mine was 8 sessions and we met our pastor once every week. Sometimes when either party is busy we'll postpone. My FH travelled quite a lot, so by the time we finished everything it was about 3-4 months from start to finish.

For church wedding, most impt is to book the church. Are you going to have your pastor officiate the wedding? Is he allowed to sign the ROM register? Some pastors/elders are appointed JPs (Justice of the Peace) and authorised to sign ROM.

The other things like caterers, wedding invites, wedding programmes, worship band, friends to usher and do carpark duties, flowers etc can all be done 2-3 months nearer the wedding.

Hi Twinkle thanks for sharing. We rom-ed already so is there any thing else to sign? Worship band = wedding band?

ya talk about car park...my old church is kind of small but for the new one its big so havent decide on which one yet...will have to look at the deco.

Ribbons,
I guess no choice. Caterers nowadays are not so generous with their portions, or so my grandma said. Previously, there would be tons of leftovers cos the portions were huge but not today... They said it is worked out on teh basis of an average, not each person takes 1.5 tarts...

Hmm, not sure abt photo layouts, perhaps the others could advise? Cos my layout is the simple type to go with the album concept. So the background is the std type (i think) haven't seen mine yet...

Twinkle,
My church hall is huge. Think can seat abt 800? Not sure abt the exact capacity... So the std amt of flowers would prob look sparse. But going to stick to $400 per pax cos we'd rather spend on better food

Summerice,
My church MPC had 6 combined sessions and 2 individual sessions with the pastor

I think urs is prob a blessing service since ROM already. Maybe no need for a JP?

Am so looking fwd to the weekend. Need a break from work!

count: Yeah, caterers were more generous last time.. I always remember as a kid, after a wedding, the aunties will rope the kids in to help ta dao.. now, rarely got chance to ta pao..

My mariage prep was done at BArker Road MC, about maybe 7 sessions? plus two more with pastor, plus two with BRMC counsellor (Evaluation of test).

Hi sisters,
anyone has suggestion for an appropriate lively song to play for march out and returning to the chapel for church wedding ? me thinking of "i could sing of your love forever." any comments?