Christian Brides

lingi....

I took their $10 per pax (for 100 pax)and i take all the std dish except i change one to Fish. Will Email to you my list if i can find it.

Get the cheap one is enth. Mum's Kitchen serving is quite big. For your case if you are not looking at BIG no. go for cheaper one

I was told mum's kitchen is not halal certified. I think only kriston and rasel are... but both could serve liquor and wines still becos they using their sister company to cater the glass for liquor and wine use.

I'm also deciding which caterer to use.

hi callas,
U could check out whether the caterer is halal certified by checking out the muis website. Other halal certified caterers are four seasons catering & smiling orchid.

SummerIce, i du think is good to have those in church reception lor...

this is bcos some church may have limited time for your recep and got no time for ppl to stand around and talk. In addition, i dun think is allowed to have those in church too....

callas: go to the muis website, they have a list of halal certified caterers.. quite a few caterers aer halal certified now..

http://www.muis.gov.sg/eServices/HalalEstbList/HalalCertEstb.aspx

Strawberries!! Old buddy old pal.. hee... remember our date ah, 29 August... everyone, let me introduce strawberries... my bridesmaid... HAha!!

Summerice: personally, i dont think alcohol should be served in church.. some churches have policies leh, better check with the church also... but what sort of reception you having? Got time for liquor meh?

Thanks ribbons and Ashlady for the muis website.

Ribbons, strawberries is your bridesmaid? You both are from the same church?

Like to just clarify on "serving liquor" is it allow?

I suppose it's dependance on whether the church you are getting marry in has that policy regarding wine/liquor. If no such policy exist in that church, then it will be your personal preference, how you want your wedding celebration to be like.

As for my case, the premises I'm having the holy matrimony does not prevent me from serving wine. And my preference is to have it as a form of celebration during the wedding tea reception.

Hope this clarify!.. :-)

Hey Ladies

My church pastor has started this sermon series on 'Making Your Marriage Work'. It has 14 lessons and currently he has stopped at the 4th lesson.

However, you can still watched the recorded video online for lessons 1-4. It speaks about Marriage in the Christian context. The most recent lessons were on the role and responsibility of both the husband and the wife.

For those who have not decided if you would like to go for PMC at your church or through the various VWO, you may like to have a look at these recorded services first.

http://www.chc.org.sg/english/video_sermons/index.cfm

The first lesson started on 22 July 2006.

Enjoy.

Thanks Ivy.

This is so timely... cos' my fiancé and I were talking about finding out where/which churches conduct the "Five language of Love" workshop. We like to sign up for ourself.

haha i was wondering mah when callas say want to have liquor glass. I thought christian are not allowed to drink then how can they allowed u to drink in church somemore.

Anyway if dont allow better...then i can save some cost and if guess ask can use this as a reason. hehe

hi summerice,

think whether to have liquor wld depend if ur church permits.. the other thing is liquor is better drunk in glasses, over melanine/plastic ware. So if u need glasses, sit down is better.. Church recep usually doesn't provide tables for sit-down makan, so quite risky to have glasses & may cause breakage

heheh, def can save costs.. Oh yah, not tt Chrisitans cannot drink liquor, but not get drunk tt's all. Rem Jesus and the miracle of changing water into wine at a wedding banquet?

agree with mehmeh

in fact, during Jesus's days, water were 'disinfected' with alcohol. God is not against us drinking, but we are not to get drunk, because drunkness numbs your senses, and we may not be as sensitive to the Holy Spirit when we are drunk.

callas

we dun have the 5 love language workshop.

Just that this series of marriage sermons have been long awaited. we have been waiting for it for more than 3 years, cos Pst Kong just did not have the time to do so.

Now that it is up and running, thought better to share with all of you here.

Another alternative is TOUCH Community Services' PMC. You can check under www.tcs.org.sg.

Hahaha, I am from CHC and working for TOUCH (but different department from the one that is running the PMC), in case you are wondering.

yes mehmeh, it's Jesus's very 1st miracle on earth, was turning water into wine at a wedding! However, I think it's perfectly alright that no alcohol is served at the wedding.

Isn't it amazing and wonderful truth to know the very 1st miracle Jesus performed is during a wedding banquet! It shows how much He wants to be right in the midst of a marriage to provide the couple everything. It pleases HIM much when we rest in His total provision!

hi ivy,

yupz, tt's right.. was in a hurry, heheh, didn't type tt out
U echo my thots!!

hi callas,

Def alright to not serve alcohol.. Up to the preference of the couple, parents expectations & of coz church. Have a fren who's fr a Bible Presbyterian church, her church was involved in organising the banquet (tt's how the church works in helping couples with their weddings) & they disallowed alcohol at her banquet. Most imptly couple, parents & church all understand each others demands/needs

Ur reminder on trusting God for His provision is a timely reminder!

I guess serving alcohol will depend on the couple lor.. if the church has no restrictions, then its up the the couple to decide.. If me, i wouldnt serve... save money, all drink fruit punch..haha.. but if it adds to the atmosphere of the whole reception, why not?
If the couple has christian friends who think christians shouldnt drink, then they dont drink lor.. Hey, i heard of some cases, even if solemnization is out of church ,if they want church pple to bless the wedding and church leaders are present, cannot serve alcohol one...

Yeah, Christians can drink but not drink they are drunk.. actually, anyone shouldnt drink till they are dead drunk anyway..

Icy: They have it on the online sermons? great! I wanted to attend but couldnt make it for the timings.. i'll watch it with FH... how long do they usually keep such videos online ah?

Calls: strawberries and I were best mates in poly... diff churches..

ribbons

for a moment, i was trying to feature out who is Icy.... hahahaha

yar, they will post the sermons as archive. but I am not sure how long they would stay up there. My advise is: if you want to watch it, either you catch the online one fast, or you want for the DVD to be out.

My cellgroup leader's wife and I were joking about it last weekend. She said that we must buy. Then if ever there's an arguement, we will play the DVD on the responsibility of the husband (which is to love the wife). hahahaha... but that will mean we must keep the Disc on the wife hidden. :P

Ivy... for a moment after reading your post, i also wondering who ICy was... hAHAHAH!! Maybe cos my office empty today and very cold..

yeah, will speak to my fh... maybe will buy DVD too...

Hi mehmeh, ribbons, callas, ivy and all!!

Ribbons: wat a nice introduction u have fer me ahz.. haha.. yeah i wun ferget the 29th.. oready requested..

ladies: as far as i noe.. some churches they dun allow to serve alcohol in church lehz.. perhaps before ur decide to can check wif ur pastors or Rev

callas: yup ribbons and i are the best of pals in poly.. a nice fren to be wif really..

mehmeh: sure u can add me in the table.. my AD is on 2nd june07 at HIA. BS is valentine and irene's creation. but m not having any church wedding.. PG/VG still sourcing.. Honeymoon.. Still deciding.. most likely in asia ba..

btw was thinking.. any VG/PG/MUA to introduce.. been doing lots of sourcing.. but i guess by word of mouth will be more convincing..

hi!!

mehmeh: yup yup HIA is Holiday Inn Atrium

weddin: so ur actual dae pics is done by him huh?? his pics not bad.. but wat the package like.. ??

hi strawberries, mine will be done by him in dec. but hv seen many of his picts besides those in his website. his price is on the high side but u are entitled to several things. most importantly,he is v nice and accomodating. just look for him for a chat. no obligation. just say u are recommended by WG. he has a new website now. check it out.

hi am blessed,

sending shortly
I had my HM followed by tea reception, so u can just tweak the working there a little to suit ur needs

hi strawberries,

okie dokie, will update!

<font color="0077aa">hi strawberries, i am using tuckys for my wedding in dec06.. you can check him out.. his style is vibrance and colorful.. kinda different from the other PGS which i see.. =) you can contact him to check out his portfolio.. his details can be found on singaporebrides.com front page i think.

hey ladies, i need some advice.. i am serving lunch after church.. is it necessary to have proper seating arrangement (i.e. tables and chairs) for the guests? i have only around 100pax for church..</font>

hi lilic,

*waves* great to hear fr u again!!

I think if ur church has the space to allow for seating, it wld be quite nice to have chairs..Or maybe get cocktail tables? How are the wedding preps getting on? Read tt ur PS was postponed

Hi Sisters,

Thank God!! And yes, mehmeh, thanks. I went to the printer you recommended, Axxa. Their service was fantastic!! I confirmed my card design with them this tues and guess what, they delivered the cards to my house yesterday!! Isnt that efficient!!! Thank God!

Will strongly recommend Axxa to anyone looking for printer. Their price are reasonable. In fact, we will be printing our church booklet with them too!!

hi h2b2b

wow, tt's real fast! U designed the card urself? heheh, do share with us
[email protected] or u can also send it to my gmail

Now u can press on with addressing the invites. The gd experience u had with Axxa shd certainly help kick start the momentum for the remaining wedding preps.. God bless!!

Just for your information: Methodist churches do not allow alcohol to be served in their premises.
I believe it might be the same for Salvation Army premises too. Both churches have strong official (whatever individuals might say) stance on alcohol.

Hey Pandalic,
Ur venue is at SAM right? The place seems like a nice place for guests to mingle after the ceremony, so i think setting up tables and chairs would be good. And also, cos there are only 100 guests, it shd be easier logistically to rent and set up seating arrangements...

How come ur PS got postponed?

Hey h2b2b,
Agree! Axxa is fantastic. I've printed my church invites with them. They were fast and efficient. Very reasonably priced too! Thanks Mehmeh for the contact

Kind of regret a little though - shd have put in more effort when designing the invites. Cos we just took a standard template. Not much time to think abt designs then. Now busy settling florist and order of service as well as GDL

Btw Mehmeh, we've confirmed the caterer already - Angeli. Printer - Axxa and Lovenest - Bukit Timah. Pls update the table

Hey Pandalic,
Ur venue is at SAM right? The place seems like a nice place for guests to mingle after the ceremony, so i think setting up tables and chairs would be good. And also, cos there are only 100 guests, it shd be easier logistically to rent and set up seating arrangements...

How come ur PS got postponed?

Hey h2b2b,
Agree! Axxa is fantastic. I've printed my church invites with them. They were fast and efficient. Very reasonably priced too! Thanks Mehmeh for the contact

Kind of regret a little though - shd have put in more effort when designing the invites. Cos we just took a standard template. Not much time to think abt designs then. Now busy settling florist and order of service as well as GDL

Btw Mehmeh, we've confirmed the caterer already - Angeli. Printer - Axxa and Lovenest - Bukit Timah. Pls update the table

strawberries.... ahhh.... indeed i am a good friend.. haha!!

I went to T Dragon yesterday wanting to see their prices.. oh man!! Its so crowded!! and we waited like maybe 20- 30mins after which they told us to wait ANOTHER 20 mins... sian liao, we went out.. will go back another time..

OK, so now i have another recommendations for printers, AXXA... how are their prices compared to other printers, say T Dragon (only one i've gone too so far..) Where is AXXA? I was planning to send next saturday to maybe like Brash Basah complex to ask around at printers... Advisable? Strawberries, free or not, wanna go with me?

hi count,

great to hear fr u again too.. See u've been busy sorting out stuff! heheh..
ashlady just confirmed her florist &amp; u're also done with ur invites, caterer &amp; lovenest. Shall udpate the table

Eh, i also want to peek at ur invites leh..

hi ribbons,

axxa can print cards fr scratch, like my church invites, for under $1. if u're looking at printing directly on the cards, Axxa can do also. Having said tt, they can also do inserts
Can't rem if they do hot-stamping though..

Before i finally settled on Axxa, they are the 1st i went to get a quote from, i went Bras Basah too.. None matched their price though. Axxa is fast &amp; Mary wld meet u at at convenient place to show u the proofs, rather then u having to ding-dong to &amp; fro

mehmeh: do they have a shop or something?

Neh, dont wanna print on the cards, cos the surface is embossed so i dont think printing on uneven surface is nice..

mehmeh: can give me the contact details?

hi ribbons,

they don't have a shop.. they have an office though..
U're referring to printing of the banquet cards yah? Then inserts wld be more ideal.. I shall email u later

Hi strawberries,
My PG is Hilarion Goh from Tri-angles. He's very good and fast and he has shoot for my rom. He's also my photographer for my pre wedding and ad too. For ad pictures, he's able to deliver all the pictures on the very next day after your wedding

Hi weddin,
Let there be light also shoot for my rom and the pictures are nice

huh????? AMKMC Above 1k for rental meh??? How come i never hear b4??

I never heard non members pay above 1k leh.. hmm.... want me to help you check again?

Hi Coco

I have engaged Let there be light for my AD photographs. =) How come you are checking out AMKMC? I thought you were going to hold your ceremony in the hotel or your FH's church?

Hi Lilic,

I was having the same headache as you - not sure to go for standing or sit-down arrangement. I agreed with count and mehmeh... it is nicer to have tables and chairs (fully dress up if budget permit)

I asked around my friends and most of them will prefer to have sit-down for eating. However, due to space constraint, I'm having half sit-down (mainly for relatives &amp; elderly) and half standing. Moreover, mine is only a tea reception so it's still not as bad.

Meh Meh,
The 2 caterers whom I've enquiry from told me to cater the exact or more than the number of expected guest becos mine is a tea reception. How much food (the ratio) did you cater for your tea reception?