Christian Brides

no lar, ribbons

me not smiling not because I not happy lar.

I thot my hb angle the camera such that my face wun appear, so i did not smile lor... no energy left... hahaha.

just felt that something was not right about the WG then... but could not put my finger to what was wrong.

when i saw the pic, then i saw that the design looked flat. but i did asked for crystals to be added, whiile i was there.

I am thinking of asking them tomorrow if they can change the thread and beads to silver.

but twinkle, as you mentioned, i think they used ivory thread embroidery leh...

hi Ivy,
Yeah..it's good to raise your concerns to them & see what they can do. The gown shld be made up to your expectations since you paid for a MTM gown.

Ivy.. i know what u mean about not smiling.. hee, in my multiply, my photoshoot gowns, i never smile at all also.. (cos tired and sick)

i think it looks flat cos of the cutting of the top.. Not eye catching, and it doesnt place any emphasis on ur neckline or shoulder. ( cos the neckline is quite high and the halter is quite thick. ) how about asking them to take the halter in abit or make the neckline a little wider? and add more crystals to the neckline? at least its a bit more 3d then compared to flat lying embroidery..then the wasit area there, ask them to put a more flamboyant item there, like a fluffy flower like the one on the back? the back of the gown looks nice, but u imagie when u walk down the aisle, u are walking towards them with ur face facing them, not ur back, so no matter how flamboyant ur back is, its the front view tat pple will 'judge' first.. makes sense?

Hi Ivy,
Couldn't see much of the details of ur WG so my comments may be a little "off" (pls pardon me if they are). I think lace appliques may be a gd option if u want a stand out effect. Alternatively, i know of brides who have gone for a more drama look and used coloured threads to sew the embroidery, which is very pretty. But i think it depends on ur personal pref and whether u're comfy with sth unusual. Silver may not set off the designs if u want it to be very striking. Perhaps one possiblity is to get them to add other coloured details to the bodice?

As for the halter, cuttign it lower may make ur "chicken wings" visible (i.e. the underarm fat bit). At least tt's what my designer told me. And there is a slightly higher risk of overexposure at the side of ur chest. So perhaps u could get it cut a little lower but not too low.

Remember dearie, what matters is tt u look radiant on tt day with happiness! Am sure u'll be the most beautiful to everyone when u walk into the church, so bear in mind tt ur disappiontment with ur WG is only a small matter in the big scheme of things *hugs* At least tt's how i try to get over disappointments in the plannign process

But that said, do reflect to the designer if u really feel tt the WG can be improved on. Cos u have paid $ for the package

<font color="0077aa">hey ivy, saw your pics..

dun be dismayed.. communicate with your designer. i am sure they can jazz up the front of your WG. i think you can go for a lower neckline.. then on the silver beadings/crystals, i am not sure if its a good idea.. coz they may look like little ants on your gown esp on pictures. if you want crystals or beadings, go with the clear ones which gives the shine with lights are on it.. or like wat count says, go for colored ones.. =)

for your EG, from the last pic, i feel that the back is a bit off coz of the creases on the fabric.. think its due to the criss cross back.. it gives the feeling that the gown is not fitted for you.. maybe you can get the BS to use hardener on the fabric.. so that it can fall nicely.. =)</font>

Hi Ivy,
Saw your pics and totally understand how you feel cos I was not happy with my MTM EG by my BS too. First consider your time frame, do you have enough time to make major changes?

I can't see well to judge whether the embroidery is perm done already or not.. but I agree with pandelic and count that you may want to ask if the neckline could be lowered. In fact I would suggest that the new neckline be left plain, while you jazz up more bottom of the bodice, and to emphasise the boning curves (so get slimming effect) and maybe up to one side of the halter. Like now your waist area left side has more embroidery, you can make the right side of the halter have embroidery that skims down. There will be more assymetrical effect than what you have now.

By keeping the neckline plain, you can opt to have glam glam blink blink drop necklace to get attention instead.

Talk to your BS, see what they can do and what options you have.

<font color="0077aa">ivy, dun be sad.. you can do the alterations after PS for AD... think of it this way, you can get pics of different look.. our daddy God will make all things good for those who love Him isnt it? smile, all will turn out well. =)</font>

Maybe you can use your ROM dress for some of the PS shots so you get a variety?

Then after PS there'll be more time to negotiate with the BS on what can be done to make the dress more like what you envisioned. Guess that's the thing with MTM, sometimes things just don't turn out as we intend it to be. But rest in the fact that what ultimately matters is the exchange of vows on the AD... everything else is just good to have but ultimately secondary.... i keep having to remind myself that too.

(aiyah, I want to paste the hug smilies that mehmeh posted above but can't save it in moving image format -- :P)

thanks for all the encouragements and ideas.

Will wait until hb returns and discuss. Cos if i really push for changes to be made, i must add $$$.

Most likely hb and I would not insist. Cos of the $$$ factor. *sigh*

hi ivy,

I was holding back my comments coz i cldnt quite scrutnize the pix properly.. But after taking some time, i was thinking u cld def go with a slightly lower neckline = abit more plunging, so tt also gives some slimming effect

Hmm, i thot the lace applique at the waistline is quite tastefully done.. In a rather unusual fashion, but striking. But i thot the way the lace applique is attached to the neckline cld be improved, might be the applique design, it caused the neckline to be heavy &amp; thickens the halter neck straps

These are just my rambling thots.. Hope it helps u in clarifying the design. Honestly, i feel if ur MTM design isn't up to expectations, u shd insist tt the BS helps u rectify it. Lace appliques can be removed more easily than embroidery, &amp; since u paid for a MTM &amp; the gown is far fr perfect, they shd do sthg abt it. U need to insist on this &amp; not let them write u off, otherwise they wld also think u can be pushed ard for other stuff. Also tell them, they wld rather a satisfied customer who wld make recommendations for having gd customer service, rather than u 2 dissuading ppl to engage them in future yah?

God bless!! Pray tt this problem will tide over for u!
382610.gif

hi Twinkle,

heheh, u have to right click on the animation &amp; save it, with the extension GIF

agree with pandalic about the EG's back.. can the BS still put in like maybe a whalebone to give it a corset feel and thus looks harder?

count: is that what that area is called? chicken wings? the piece of fat at the arm pit that is veiwable from the front? aahh... finally got a name to it..

ivy: if u dont mind, u can either take ur MTM gown for ur PS, or can u use a OTR gown for PS then keep ur MTM for AD?

agree to take the neckline down a bit.. It will divert attention away from the front area and divert it to your neck area, which u can beautify with a beautiful drop necklace?

pray about it.. miracles an happen.. i was so worried that i cannot find any gowns that i can fit into cos of my size and like it.. but thank God i found 15 gowns!! next problem was which 8 to choose.. haha...

hi girls

I spoke with my designer yesterday. She did mention that she was trying a new design with mine, so that my MTM WG would look different from the usual white / cream Gown with silver threading and beadings.

As for the neckline, she reassured me that it would look different when I dun tie so high (erm, but it was my coordinator who helped me tie one lar). She would add the silver crystals after the PS because the silver crystals would look black in the PS pics because of lighting.

She did mention that she noticed that my hb did not use flash for the pics, hence, the beadings may not have turned out correctly as a result (she was there when my hb took the pics).

As for the zip behind, she was supposed to have added some designs to camou it. Which she could not finish in time for my fitting then. Hence she assured me that the zip would be 'invisible' when i go for my next fitting before the PS.

I also asked about the EG's creases on the back. She explained that she used silk satin for my EG. Hence, though it feels comfy to wear, the downside is that it creases when it is being used for cross-back designs.

Currently these are the answers I got from the designer. What do you girls think? Satisfactory?

Neckline will be lower if u dont tie so high: quite true... (but tat would mean ur bum got more chances of being exposed?

flash photography: not bad, at least she noticed it..

zip: just make sure she produces something and not just empty talk.

EG: the crease that u are referring to is the part below the end of the cross back part right? actually i think its ok.. since u wouldnt be standing around and still enough for pple to notice? Pandalic is observant though..

at least the designer gave u answers rather than "haiya, its like that one lah.." and at least she has plans to rectify it..

<font color="0077aa">ivy, i have the following comments for your consideration..

1. neckline - suggest you go for another fitting and ask her to help to tie it the right way.. then you see the effect.
2. silver crystals - wat she said is true. personally i dun like the effect of silver beadings/crystals on the gown esp on pics.. i told my BS to change the silver crystals and beadings on my lace too.. if you are concerned, maybe you can ask her to use clear crystals and beadings. this wun affect PS pics.
3. camo for the zip - if you requesting for another fitting, then its prob safer that you see the completed work before PS.
4. silk satin is a flowy material and imho, it should not be done for cross back design.. unless you have requested for the fabric and design but again, she should have forewarned you lar.. in any case, can she propose any solution for you? i not sure if hardener will help? i am kinda sticky abt this coz my FSIL (also GHA tampines bride) had this problem as well.. hers worse coz the criss cross was in the front.. and coz of that the pics werent flattering.. </font>

hi girls

will be having another fitting on the 10th. then my PS will be on 13th. my designer promised that everything will be done up by the 10th. Will see her 'work' then decide if we should pursue the issue.

thanks ribbons for the advice~!

lilic

eh, though i did not request for the material for the EG, she did not forewarn me about the fabric too. will ask her on the 10th, if can add hardener, or what other things can help rectify.

thanks for the observation too~!

<font color="0077aa">ivy, smile. God will make all things good.
pardon me har.. what ever you want her to do, should tell her within these few days.. so she can get it done by 10th when you go down for your fitting.. dun wait till the 10th.. in case she cannot deliver before your PS.. =)</font>

yah lor... keep reminding her! cos if on the 10th, things are stil not perfect, not enough time for her to do anything..

how about spraying those starch sprays? u know, those that army boys use on their uniforms?

Ribbons,
Yes apparently the fat area is called "chicken wings"

Ivy dearie,
Ur PS is on the same day as me. Hoping for fine weather. Actually i am also a bit disappointed with my gowns but decided to just leave it at tt. Cos the effect turned out different

In any case, yes u shd go down earlier and check if the designer did truly incorporate ur feedback. How come u must pay more $ to change the gowns?

Lilic ah,
When's ur PS?

all the best for your PS, gals.

Mine is in mid-october, siao liao... trusting &amp; praying that it won't rain, though if it does, guess God is still in control and He will make all things right despite!
kao_kiss2.gif

<font color="0077aa">hey count, hows your prep? got pics to share with me?? i went for my first WG fitting on monday.. i love it except for the silver beadings.. luckily my designer only did a sample for my visualisation so in time to change.. =)divine dun allow pics until gown is done up.. =(

in case you curious, i had a ballgown for WG.. then bodice is fully laced.. then bodice will be beaded with pearls and clear beadings and more lace.. had a white kneelength cocktail dress with black tulle underlay and black sash.. my EG not decided yet.. going to see her next week to decide.. ok, end of report!

my ps is on sep 22. *excited*</font>

hi lilic,

ur WG sounds so drool-worthy oredi! heehee.. I'm sure it wld be awesome when it's all done up!

The cocktail dress also sounds equally gorgeous.. What's the material used? With the EG done later, the staggering gives u time to consider more designs before committing to one.. Which is gd, coz some ladies dun work well under pressure &amp; end up disliking their MTM designs or be fickle later on

God will bless ur PS day!!

hi Ivy,

Agree with Lilic, better call &amp; remind them of the changes, dun wait till the 10th. The fitting on 10th shd be to see the final product, rather than haggle over the details.

Call now, &amp; call again.. heheh, better to be safe than sorry &amp; upset once again

hi Twinkle,

U managed to get the emoticon up!!
God will also bless ur PS day!! It's not rainy in Oct, not till Nov *winks*

<font color="0077aa">thanks mehmeh.. its very me so i like it.. whether others like it, i dun really care.. wahhahah..

my cocktail dress is white duchess satin with black tulle underlay for skirt and black satin sash at the drop waist.. boat-neck.

yupz.. its good to take my time i guess.. but poor helan (my designer).. =P</font>

hi lilic,

the cocktail dress, as i imagine, will look elegantly flirtateous!!*ooops* Abit of playfulness.. What heels u going to wear with them?

I'm sure Helan wld also appreciate u taking ur time to finalise the EG design, than rushing into one.. It wld def be gorgeous too.. Any colours u've shortlisted? Or any designs so far?

<font color="0077aa">hey mehmeh, gonna wear them with my WG shoes.. i choose the same material for cocktail dress and WG so i can display my WG heels.. hee, mtm a pair closed toes 3.75" heels from essex walk now waiting for collection..

i wanna dark purple for EG.. but not decided on design or materials yet.. thinking of silk taffeta.. helan proposed crepe satin for a body hugging dress.. but not too me.. think i will be too conscious abt my flaws..

hows your lovenest prep coming along?</font>

hi lilic,

Great idea to 'show' ur MTM heels with the cocktail dress.. Get more mileage out of it too *winks*

I rem u being very fair! heehee, i guess u can take many colours. I daren't comment too much on colours for u, coz u know urself best! Silk tafetta is more solid than crepe satin? U're gearing twds a more structured look or a body hugging &amp; soft gown??

Preps for the lovenest is very much in the limbo stage, still waiting for the 1st appt, and i'm so clueless as to what to expect for tt day. heheheh, will have to get our agent to brief us a little more

Btw, i know i still owe u the contacts of the agents for the rental place.. Hang in there k? Will get down to it soon!

<font color="0077aa">hee, thats my intention.. else kinda waste for the shoes.. wahahha

yahz, i can take a lot of colors.. i like dark purple.. but not sure if helan can find the fabric in the shade i want.. another color which helan suggested is red.. but i rather not coz too many aunties are expected to appear in red kerbayas.. think i prefer more structured.. no figure for soft and flowy gown =p but fiance and my mum think i should go for a diff look since my WG and cocktail kinda structured..

its ok.. take your time.. must be excited to get your own place.. i cant wait to take possession of my place.. then again, it wun be so fun like wedding prep for me.. coz fiance is i/c of the house.. meaning he will do the sourcing before we discussed.. for wedding, i did all the sourcing so more kick!</font>

hi lilic,

ur fiance &amp; mum got a pt, since ur WG &amp; cocktail dress are oredi structured, can afford to try a softer gown.. My fear fr soft gowns is tt they can draw attention to the hips, usually i find tt's the problem

Now tt u mention ur aunts are going to turn up in kerbayas, i figure many wld go for the colour red.. hahah, then dark purple shd be gd. U've seen ur shade fr helan's swatch oredi?

ur fiance is i/c of the house ah? heheh, gd! U can shake leg then.. I gotta fuss over the house, coz it's so diff to get my HB's butt moving! *faint*
383059.gif
heehee

<font color="0077aa">well, thats my problem too.. wahhah.. i have decided on the EG fabric actually.. saw the swatches but not decided..

yah, we divide the tasks.. but well, still long away, maybe i do the running again.. =P</font>

Twinkle,
Don't worry. I'm sure God has His plans for ur PS. Even if it rains, ur shots will just have a diff look - more romantic loh! Hehehe. We are ok with it raining cos FH and i only met cos of a heavy thunderstorm which prevented him fr getting to his car. Only then did he finally muster up enough courage to ask me out on a date! Long story... Tt's why FH says God practically put me into his lap cos he is not the type to chase girls. Hehehe

Lilic,
I only have pics of my 1st fitting. Very raw still. Supposed to go for final fitting next wk before PS. Wahahaha. Stress man. Only managed to get FH's wingtip shirt yesterday. Still hunting for cufflinks, ties and other accessories

Ur WG and tea dress sounds interesting! Must share pics when they're ready. Cos i like tulle so esp intrigued by ur tea dress cos it sounds very unique!

Btw, are u getting Angeli ah? Are they flexible with menu changes? Cos when i spoke to them, they seem a bit rigid with it? Still can't decide whether to get them or Fost*e... What are Angeli's specialties?

twinkle.. pray lor, and ask God for good weather.. even if it rains, u can get shots of u and hubby being close together under an umbrella! and raining gives the environment a misty look..

for me, i prayed for good weather and even asked God to give us a beautiful sunset.. i didnt get my sunset cos it was so cloudy, but being cloudy meant that it wasnt hot for us.. so see, his plans, no matter which way it turns out, is for our BEST!!

pandalic: your gowns sound really nice!!

count: thats so romantic... me story not romantic..*jealous* =)

<font color="0077aa">hi count, no problem.. will share when i got pics. i like my cocktail dress coz it's God answer to my prayers.. hee, my mum actually allowed me to use black.. she is the most particular among the parents.. actually i find tulle too sweetie pie look for me.. whahaha, but i go round it by have duchess satin as the outer layer.. initial idea by helan was full tulle for skirt.. =P

i should be getting angeli.. i think they are pretty flexible.. for my last coy event, i only give them a budget and ask them to create a personal menu.. they did and it was not based on the existing ones they have.. specialties, that one i dun think so.. you can check with them.. feedback was everything is good.. kekek.. but i like the choc log cake they did for xmas.

hey, my FH said the similar thing.. so coincidental.. keke, but he said he told God to send him his wife coz he always go after the wrong one.. wahahaha

ribbons, thanks.. i am sure your gowns are nice too..</font>

hi lilic,

nvm to be undecided.. so long as u've not made the final call, hahah, the ball is still in ur courts.. Looking fwd to ur vivid description to tantalise my eyes! heehee

hi Count,

Phwa, such a romantic way for u &amp; ur HB to get together.. Can tell ur children in future! heheh

Where did u get ur wingtip collar shirt for ur HB?

pandalic.. yours are MTM right? mine OTR, so i dont think they will look as gogeous as yours.. but then again, me will need a much better figure too for the gowns to look great.. ahha.

Ribbons,
Each and every one of our love stories is romantic on its own cos God placed the right person at the right time and place in our lives. I am always amazed at how He has the foresight and wonderful plans for us! Cos FH liked me but did not dare to ask me out until that stormy day. We met at work. Hehehe

Mehmeh,
We finally found the shirt at Robinsons! Phew...

Pandalic,
I'm sure ur gowns are gorgeous cos i can tell u have done lots of research for ur gowns. Unlike me the lazy poke bride

Finally it's the weekend! TGIF!

count.. yah i agree... and His matches are the best.. like me and me HTB, he makes up for what i lack, i make up for what he lacks.. =) which is quite good cos if u leave me to do all this financial plannign for house.. haiyo... i rather stay with my family..

Hey count

I forgot to answer your question.

My coordinator said that I need to top up $$$ if I want to change the neckline. Cos they have to remove the current bodice and replace it with a new one (with the new neckline).

pinkfurry.. u talking about verse for sermon or what?

For the overall theme of wedding i have one already..

for sermon one.. very hard leh.. there are only those few verses aout marriage and coming together but i want something that is.... not like any other sermon word...

anyone got any suggestions of suitable verses for sermon?

hi Ivy,

I dun feel comfy with u having to pay more for the slight change in a neckline, i think u're not paying them a small sum for the whole package. I consider it their duty to complete the WG properly to ur satisfaction.. Otherwise u wld u cld have gone for an OTR &amp; save all these trouble. I'm sure ur MTM gown wld also be in future used as OTR for a later bride, so u're also doing them a favour by making it perfect!

hi Count,

heheh, u must be elated! Coz it's one more item off the to-do-list

hi pinkfurry,

U &amp; FH can pray together, for a verse tt speaks to u abt marriage, or what u envision ur marriage &amp; future family to be

hi ribbons,

The verse I had for the sermon is one selected for the marriage &amp; the family, "Joshua 24:15"

pink... or u can discuss with your pastor?

thanks mehmeh.. =)

hows the preparation for the house going mehmeh? My place start tiles today...

Hi Ivy,
I think mehmeh has provided a very gd suggestion.
Cos you may still not satified after the changes.
Maybe u can try to ask for replacement of photo if u finally decide to take OTR gown.
Though my package include MTM gown but still chosen from OTR since i am fine with the OTR design.

<font color="0077aa">hey ivy, i agreed with mehmeh.. dun think you should be made to pay more for the alteration.. somehow, they are obliged to produce a good delivery.. pray for favours when you speak to your BS.. God can make all things good just for you.. =)</font>

hi ribbons,

heheh, renos are far fr started.. No keys yet
But heading for 1st appt on 11 Jul, coming right up!

hi ivy,

Will pray for u too! Coz since ur neckline is to take in a little more, u shdnt be expected to top-up, it's not adding of more material or changing the whole bodice. Is simply untacking the current lace applique.. I'm thinking they are using this tactic of scaring u with more payment to deter u fr making them go thru the trouble..

Hey Ivy,
Yes pray for wisdom in dealing with ur designer. I did! Remember - i was gg thru some trouble wrt the top up and "cold" treatment fr her but it has since gotten better...

Mehmeh and all,
Yes, huge sigh of relief. Finally managed to get FH's bow tie and cummerband as well. Now to hunt for other PS stuff. Supposed to dye hair tm. For PS, are we supposed to dye or highlight our hair?

Pandalic,
We are gg with Angeli after all. Long story but short of it is tt FH's parents prefer Angeli and the other BTB is using them so easier to coordinate the turnover in btw the services... Have u cfm with them yet?

hi count,

not bad! Over a weekend, u got this settled
If i had known u had to go do up these accessories for ur FH, wld have referred u to CYC at Raffles Hotel and Personality Tailor at Peninsular. They custom-make shirts for guys, down to the cravats/bow ties &amp; i believe, cumberbands too.
Any vest to go along?

What other PS stuff are u on the search for? For PS i did both the dye + highlight.. My hair is jet black, so highlights wun look gd against it, save for red (it wasn't my preferred shade for highlights)

Congrats on settling of ur caterer!

<font color="0077aa">hey count, you are in good hands with angeli.. dun worry.. i havent confirmed with them yet.. prob arranging to talk to them in aug.. my fren's wedding in oct will confirm with them too.. eh, do you mind sharing the package details with me?

for your hair, you should check with jasmine.. coz i remember that my BS said the MUA will advise the hairlight appropriate for the hairstyles she using for PS.. =)</font>