hi Count,

As per ur request.. My gold CS

351234.jpg
Taken at my PS
351235.jpg
351236.jpg

Taken on AD

hi teng, where can i get the song "let love flows"?im looking for a lively song for march out.

anyone has any suggestion to what song to use for church march in? i would like to hv a song that is impactful and romantic.any one has used or planning to use the song "an answered prayer"?

hi CSY,

It cost abt $100 for the workmanship. I sourced for the materials on my own & took them to Kim

Hi Weddin,

I designed this fusion CS,the skirt was kinda inspired fr this design which Olive Suite had in one edition of Style Weddings

Pls leave ur email add here for me to send u. Anyway do make a quick decision if u want to engage her, she's very much in great demand & booked for many ppl with their upcoming weddings.

My fren used Answered Prayer for her march-in. I suppose u're referring to the one fr the wedding CD? Quite a gd choice if u want a build up of a song, this shd deliver the effect

Mehmeh,
Aiyo my fabric is with Kim already. U can ask her to show u when u go down on 18 march. Will definitely take pics during my first fitting in april!

Oh yes, i saw ur gold CS in ur PS photos. I tot it was fr ur BS. U actually designed it urself? Amazing! Very spunky and funky design. I like the skirt.

Been really busy at work so i pop in to try to relax sometimes also. Getting a little worried cos i haven't done tons of stuff. Do u have a list of the things to do/settle for the church ceremony? Seems like there's lots of stuff to do for church but i have no idea where to start!

hi csy & weddin,

shall send later today..

Hi count,

heheh, with Kim oredi ah? Then i dun want to hassle her for it lah. Shall just wait 'patiently' for ur 1st fitting

Nah, the gold CS wasn't fr my BS.. heheh, i like clothes! I think somewhat like cooking, some amt of experimentation & u get fusion stuff! I din go down to her to ask for her opinion, i just called her & ask abt everything, fr design, to colour, to material & even which shops to head to.. heheheh

I dun exactly have a list of church stuff (Along the line of order of importance).. But i cld list it here & hopefully the other sisters can add on too

1) Church coordinator - timing, making sure everyone who needs to be there is there
2) Church helpers (Ushers, receptionists, page boy & flower girl)
3) Praise & worship team (Identify the WS leader & hopefully he/she can get the team together)
4) Ring pillow/ Rings
5) Florist (Altar, pew deco)
6) Caterer
7) Songs for March-in, recession & 2nd march-in (Rev Wee emphasised must be Christian, if not Instrumental. My HB composed his own & Rev Wee never even got to hear of it till the day itself! U wld have to attend 2 one-on-one session with ur officiating Pastor, so he wld enlighten u on what are the stuff u have to do for the service)
8) Rem to book date for solemnization within 3 mths window to AD, but not less than 2 weeks
9) Once songs are approved, Pastor agreeing to the order of service, print church programme
10) Appreciation gifts/speech to parents/family
11) Organise a briefing session for all church helpers (Everyone to know who is who, & for coordinator to know who to approach for confirmation of details etc. Also gd opp to give a thank-you meal)
12) Go for rehearsal (Church will schedule an appt for u, usually the week itself of the wedding)
13) Breathe!!!

Not sure if i've left out anything.. heheh, if anything comes to mind, will let u know

huh? March in song must be christian? how about those kind of love songs? Clean, safe love songs? also cannot?

Just asking ah..

is answered prayer good for recession too? me thinking of that as recessional song.
need a second march in song? i dint know abt that. second march in is for the photoshoot is it? i feel its kinda weird, march out then march in again, will there be a time interval? how abt 2nd recessional, is it req?

hi Ericia,

Answered Prayer is better for a march-in, coz it's quite orchestratic song with a climax. For the recessional & march-in song, it cld be the same, generally u cld select a more upbeat song for this.

The 2nd march-in is for the purpose of photo-taking in the Sanctuary & also to re-welcome u 2 as Mr & Mrs xxx. The 2nd march-in is immediately after ur recession..

thanks mehmeh,
does second march-in req a song too?
i couldnt really find a suitable recessional song. anyth to recommend?
processional is much easier to find

hi csy & weddin,

U've got mail..

hi ericia,

Most welcome.. Yupz, u can either use a different song fr the recessional or use the same. I used the same. Jazzy themes or Classical cld be considered, depending on the tone u want to set

weddin: me giving favours for church wedding. Dinner favours will take whatever hotel have.

Teng: me dont wanna bun hair up leh.... but then again, i open to ideas that will make me look good.. will discuss with MUA..

mehmeh: i must have missed your CS pics... SO NICE!!! Real cool!
And u carried it off very well..

mehmeh and all,
a few questions:
1)what is the role of bridesmaids and best man? are they really nec? think can make do without them?
2)how many church wedding coordinators will be good? one main one plus a backup? need another one for caterer IC?
3) for wedding dinner at hotel, is there usu rehearsal for that?
4) after booking ROM, i saw that there is this ROM appt date given. what is it abt? a date that couples need to go down personally?

BB Queen,
Kim is a seamstress who did Mehmeh's gold coloured CS posted on this thread. She's also doing a couple of dresses for a few other girls here...

Ericia dearie
From my limited knowledge, i intend to get my jie meis to double up as receptionists and ushers for the church and dinner. They can also help me to take care of my WG and stuff cos i may have to change when going to FH's house and to church, and perhaps help out in the tea ceremony. As for best man, he will help us coordinate the entire thing and ensure things run smoothly on the AD. For e.g., ensuring tt the caterer sets up on time, paying the balance payment to the caterer, making sure tt the church is cleaned up before handing over to the church, coordinating timing for march in during dinner etc. Basically things tt we cannot do on our AD cos we'd be too busy

My hotel says tt there will only be a rehearsal sometime before the dinner itself, on the actual day. Something like at 5 plus before the dinner starts and when the full set up has been done. Hope this helps

thanks count, that means bestman is sth like overall coordinator? is just one coordinator enuf to do all these or do pple usu have one back up?
now really can feel the stress.

hi ericia,

Jie-meis can perform the roles as bridesmaids, receps & ushers. Bridesmaids are usually termed as those who walk down the aisle before the bride does... Or if u dun intend to, just allocate one jie-mei to help u adjust ur gown's train when u reach the altar & all movts thereafter

1 church wedding coordinator is gd enough. I did have a caterer IC to take charge of it, coz the coordinator wld have to make sure the timing before & during the entire service is adhered to the schedule, so better to have another person to take charge of the food.

Rehearsal for the dinner is prior to the dinner itself..

ROM date is to pick up the documents & to do a swearing in.. U must go down personally, no proxy is allowed

Hi Court

Thanks for the info. Is it possible to pass me Kim's contact? How much does she charge? How long does it take for her to finish one CS? Where is she located?

Mehmeh

That is indeed one of the most creative and prettiest CS I have come across. It fits you perfectly.

hi bb queen,

thanks for the compliments! U can always get Kim or other seamstresses to replicate, quite simple. a CS top & a 3-tier tulle skirt. All materials were bought in Arab street, now tt Ppl's park is up & running, tt's another location to go search for materials..

Kim charges abt $100 & above for CSs. If u require her to do up beading & embroidery, the charges will increase, she will inform u when u tell her ur design. But if ur material already has some beading & embroidery & no need for her to touch-up, then she wun charge tt cost to u

For one CS she can do it up quite fast, but fr the first appt of taking measurements & deciding on design, to passing/ shopping with her for materials & to the 1st fitting then collection, may take a while if u require the CS during auspicious/popular dates for weddings. Ample time, approx 3-4 mths to the time u need it, is needed to work with Kim.

She works fr home, in Tamp

hi bb queen,

thanks for the compliments! U can always get Kim or other seamstresses to replicate, quite simple. a CS top & a 3-tier tulle skirt. All materials were bought in Arab street, now tt Ppl's park is up & running, tt's another location to go search for materials..

Kim charges abt $100 & above for CSs. If u require her to do up beading & embroidery, the charges will increase, she will inform u when u tell her ur design. But if ur material already has some beading & embroidery & no need for her to touch-up, then she wun charge tt cost to u

For one CS she can do it up quite fast, but fr the first appt of taking measurements & deciding on design, to passing/ shopping with her for materials & to the 1st fitting then collection, may take a while if u require the CS during auspicious/popular dates for weddings. Ample time, approx 3-4 mths to the time u need it, is needed to work with Kim.

She works fr home, in Tamp

ok thanks meh meh.
btw the info on zen furniture, i have asked the shop owner abt the meaning of 'zen' in their pdts. he says no religious meaning at all, just a design concept. guess 'zen' is kinda the 'in' name for pple to name new pdts to attract pple to buy. like that zen mp3 player...

hi ericia,

most welcome.. gd to hear tt u can go ahead & get ur Zen furniture
I think so long as u do not stumble others & believe that u're an overcomer over all things, u need not be fearful of such conotations

hi bb queen,

no probs!

its depends on how u see it lah..
i'm searching or IDs now, and our theme is simple zen. One of the IDs suggested use water lah, on the wall can also put a pic of buddha lah.. at that point we didnt say anything.. guess we didnt, cos i scared we might giggle a bit.. to us its ok, but might be insensitive to them..

but to other IDs it just meant simple clean lines.. like contemporary but using dark wood?

hmm right. initially when i shop for furniture, i saw that those labelled as zen seem like a name for furniture which looked like traditional japan design. dint think it meant anyth, till my FH told me to be cautious abt it.
rehearsal for wedding dinner is on that same day itself huh, well i dunno if mine will have prob with that cos i am arranging my tea ceremony at bridal suite just before e dinner.

hi ericia,

My fren had her tea-ceremony in the hotel too. Tea-ceremony is usually done in half an hour, so it can be quite a chop-chop affair.

All rehearsals for the wedding dinner is held on the day itself, whichever hotel. Rehearsal is also short & sweet, just the banquet captain briefing you the order of events, ppl assisting you, trying out ur various songs for the march-ins. Also done very quickly.

i see, what time to what time is rehearsal usu planned for that day? me trying to work out a prog.
need to wear WG for church wedding rehearsal and dinner rehearsal?
What time would montage usu be played? just b4 first dish or??

sorry, i very loh soh here. i saw that in many wedding planners, stated that there are wedding stationary to buy, other than the markers and pens that pple need to sign guestbook and to sign the marriage cert, what other stationary is there? i cant think of any....

hi ericia,

Did u receive a rough order of programme fr ur coordinator? Usually ard 530pm. Call ur coordinator, every hotel may have different timing

Montages can be played before 1st & 2nd march-in. Up to couples disgression.. U cld be unique and do sthg else

Stationery wld also refer to ur invites.. It's too vague, and the term used by planners sounds more professional

Hey Ericia, i think montage is usually played midway during the dinner. But u can have a couple of "screensavers" with ur wedding pics before the dinner starts. My friend did it and we all found it very interesting and unique

Hey girls
Went down to my BS yesterday. Quite miffed cos we were told tt we had to top up $400 for embroidery along the train of my WG. And previously they had expressly said tt no top up was required. They claimed tt they forgot to tell me otherwise. Quite irritated, not cos of the $400 but cos we feel ripped off. If they had told me abt the top up earlier i would have happily paid. But they actually said no need to top up! Grrr... And they refused to even negotiate for $200 or somewhere in btw sigh

Mehmeh
The problem was tt i signed up with Heath, who has since left. But in any case, the current designer was the one who promised no top-ups when i went down during the first session. My mum, grandma and FH heard her as well. Cos i was concerned and did ask abt the need to top up. And she claimed tt no top up for embroidery on organza but for tulle must top up. But i did tell her on the very first session tt i wanted a tulle gown and never ever did suggest organza! Aiya, basically i spoke to her nicely and did tell her abt my unhappiness. But she doesn't see the pt so i guess too bad

What i'm most miffed abt was cos before mentioning the top up, she saw my invoice and said must top up $400. I suspect it may be cos i'm getting my own MUA so my package was $450 less than the std package. And when i asked her how come she forgot to tell me given tt this was my 4th appt and she had so many chances to tell me, she said she was busy designing and it slipped her mind! Grr...

FH and i have decided not to top up cos it's a matter of principle. We don't want to feel fleeced =(

Somewhat upsetting cos i feel tt i can't really "click" with my designer, and cos she took over after my original designer left...

Ah well, better now at least. Was quite irritated the whole of yesterday. But i shall not let this spoil my mood for the wkend!

So girls, do ask and double-check regarding extra and hidden costs, whether for BS or florists or other vendors. After this i'm going to ensure tt things are in black and white, even for subjective stuff such as "topping up" WG and floral deco...

Hi count,

I fully understand what you mean and how you feel cos she was my designer. Think I have spoke to you before right? I have shared here previously that I felt cheated on my EG (no standard for the price I paid)and in the end I paid extra (cheaper value somemore) and got a nicer OTR outside.

I saw all the EGs by Heath and Miah and was so jealous and upset. I felt that my designer's service to me was half-hearted. Even the kua she offered to me for photoshoot was of so poor standard and too big that I did not use it but rented my own outside.

I have warned you about her floral bouquet standards before, if you are particular about that then get your own florist outside and tell her to offset the charges for the embriodery instead. You don't be too soft hor, must insist and show her that you are upset. Best is to pop in without appointment and when there are new/other customers, then ask nicely.

Hey Carelinwen
I didn't know u were still ard. Yes, i do remember ur comments on her. I was originally with Heath also. Feel cheated cos Heath actually said max top up would be $200-300 if any. But for her, i feel very fleeced. Looks like i have to be more cautious and not pin too much hope on my gowns. Sigh. Maybe i shd actually pop in w/o appt and ask abt the embroidery... Now Heath has left and i heard Miah only does existing clients and is not taking on new clients. He will only be there if clients make appts with him. So quite sad...

Where did u get ur OTR in the end? I think floral bouquet prob have to look ard also. Sigh and to think tt i tot going to a designer BS would avoid these top up problems...

how are all of you? Long time never come in here to chat liao... so what's new on our topic list...

Btw, just wanna share a piece of good news with all of you, esp. carelinwen...

I received good news from Trueway Church and they have confirmed that their venue is available for my use on my priority wedding date... Thanks carelinwen for the contact. My hubby and I love the place a lot.

Hey mehmeh

like your CS too. can PM me the contact details of Kim? Am interested in getting her to do a CS for my mother.

Hey ggjj

love your silver shoes. can you PM me the price, if you are selling it?

btw, can I check with you about the charges of secret garden? Cos I need a florist for my additional shoot.

high on my list is Green Point, anyone has references to other cheap but quality service and floral service providers?