Christian Brides

VIP table arrangement
350551.jpg

i love hydrangeas.. esp those lilac and baby pink ones.. was very happy when i saw the flowers.. lots of hydrangeas from secret garden.. and pink eustomas.. nicer than the pics above.. anyway gtg to sleep soon.. will see whether i got the time to upload some more..

hi ggjj,

So glad to hear fr u since ur AD.. Enjoyed ur US trip?
The decor by SG looks so elaborate & full, worth every cent u paid, i'm sure!! Hmm, ur guests tables (non-VIP) also had these topiaries, but were they left on the tables during the dinner? I rem Conrad has waiters/waitresses who wld serve the dishes to each guest, so i figure the deco can remain as the centrepiece yah?

Are the rest of ur AD pix ready to shareshare? These prelude already look so lovely, I'm sure the rest of Kuang's works wld have captured the essence of ur wedding!

angelala,
quite ex actually 170 ard there. it is becos i added lots of stuff like cushioning, leather, soft leather at the bottom of straps, platform extension at the front of the shoes, rubber heels etc etc. all for the comfort factor.

need to check sth: how much would you need to pay to top up to obtain soft copies of all the pics taken at PS? Or is this usu part of the package when first sign up?
i got kinda a shock when i realise i gotta top up quite a bit.

hi Ericia,

For most one-stop BSs, they earn thru the no. of pix u top-up either in the main album or purchase of the sot-copies. Some big name PGs give u all soft-copies FOC, but of late, for the reason of Intellectual Property, they have also gone into not returning all soft-copies FOC.

My advise, dun over spend on PS pix, often than not u wld not look at it too much after the wedding. Yes, before the wedding u, FH, relatives & frens wld be gushing over them, but post-wedding, ur focus wld be on ur AD pix which are also more significant.

Just my 2 cents worth..

Hi mehmeh,
Was mia for quite a while.. cos no internet in the new place.. and very busy with the changes.. got to run errands, do chores, etc.. I did come in the forum like once a wk or so.. but only see see.. cannot even catch up.. more regular in the Sophia thread… now that my husband is away for 1 wk.. I got more personal time to chat online..

My honeymoon was great.. mmm.. think I post a review in the Sophia thread.. must have miss out this thread.. traveled quite a few places.. but the deepest impression is the Caribbean cruise.. the places we went on the cruise is beautiful.. esp st Thomas.. we went to Magens bay.. one of the top 10 beaches in the world.. I hate sun, sand and water.. but that beach is very beautiful.. that was the only beach I ever spend more than 1 hr on it.. we also went to Bahamas where we went to visit the Atlantis.. and puerto rico.. not so special there.. the experience on cruise is very diff.. very pampered.. they even remembered that I like to drink english breakfast tea with honey and lemon and my husband liked his with lots of sugar..

as for the states.. went to san fran for 4 days, lasvegas for 10 days.. that was my third trip to lv so find it ok.. just shop, see concerts, plays and eat.. but my husband (btw, what is the short form for husband) likes it..

the tall table arrangements were for like half of the non-vip tables.. cos the ballroom ceiling is high.. so have some varieties in height to make the plc nicer.. all the table arrangements are left on the tables cos we got the silver service.. otherwise my heart will ache if they took those away.. a lot of our guests ask whether they can bring back the arrangements home after the dinner.. but the vases are very ex.. so cannot.. my friends were saying we spent so much on flowers which we cannot even take away..

actually i not very happy with my ad pics.. think I mention that kuang was sick on my wedding.. he manage to take until the church service then he left.. his replacement was more into fashion photographer.. great personality.. but think he is not into wedding.. we missed out a lot of details in the banquet.. the tall table arrangements pics are taken from my videos.. my videographer knew abt our disappointment.. he helped us to extract those pics.. the vip pics are taken by my friend.. I don’t even have a pic on our jazz band and the cocktail area table arrangement.. renee and conrad did a great job to decorate the cocktail area.. quite diff from the rest.. but these were not captured in pics..

that’s also why I was not into wedding forum for quite sometime cos no mood to talk abt the pics.. we got a shock when we receive the proofs.. the banquet pics was just a handful.. that night I couldn’t sleep.. was extremely upset.. thank god it was a wrong cd.. more pics but quite diff from kuang.. my husband show his relatives from boston during the cny.. they were very impressed with kuang’s pics.. and they can tell there is a great diff from the style in the morning and night..

think kuang will compensate us something but what we want is really the pics.. if we want someone mediocre.. we would have gotten any other photograher.. instead of paying so much..

anyway, the pics are ready to share long time ago just that I got no time to upload…. And everytime we accidentally delete the folder when we want to rearrange the album.. u got any ideas to upload pics faster?

hi, I am keen on holding my HM at armenian church, could u share with me yr experience and how much is the rental, and how to contact the church? thank you.

Ericia,
Now i understand why u were quite irritated with the caterer - cos u felt u were being shortchanged! I think perhaps u shd ask them before u remove/replace the items, whether they would reduce the price? At least this would give them less room to maneouvre and attempt to "shortchange" u by charging u the same amt?

Ggjj,
I love ur strappy shoes! Too bad i'm only a size 6 so cannot wear ur shoes.... Sigh. Ur flowers were very well done. Very lush and generous. I'm also thinking of re-using my church flowers for dinner. Is it possible to tell me how much the rough charges are for ur church deco and re-using? If not conv to post here, can PM me? Cos a rough figure would be gd to ensure we don't get over-charged! Hehehe

Dearie, don't be too upset over ur AD pics. What matters most is tt u still have pretty photos of ur HM, which to me is the most significant part of the day. And ur VG was really sweet to extract the photos for u! Could not tell tt the photos posted were from a video until u said so

Wow! Ur honeymoon sounds great! Where did u book the package from? FH and i were thinking of a villa in Bali where we'd get pampered too! Ur package sounds like u went to many exotic places, plus US! How long did u go for?

Mehmeh,
Went to Kim on Sat for measurements. First fitting will be in April! Fingers crossed tt i still can fit into the CS by then! Cos i've been eating lots. Went to The Line for buffet on Sat and had lots of junk food yesterday Hehehe ;)

Hi ggjj

Haha..... thought I was the only one in that situation. Me too... me PC access at home and at work, was rather tied up.. took a super long time to select my pics to develop.. let alone upload to share out. My relatives and friends were complaining liao... I didn't even have the time to watch my own VCD of the wedding...

Was telling mehmeh and the rest I wanted to share God's lovely blessings on our wedding but didn't even know where to start.....

Can reload your worship pic? Can't see leh... Your colour theme is purple? cos notice your hand bouquet also has a shade of purple.

Hee... here's a pic of us doing our wedding prayer at the altar and the exchange of rings....

350747.jpg

350748.jpg

Hi count,

Think it's very common... the more we don't think we should eat that much, the more we eat... but don't know why, a bride will automatically look slimmer than usual during the AD...

I didn't believe it initially till it happened.... haha... nobody has told me i slimmed down a lot till my wedding day.. even my closer jie-meis were telling me that.. (ONLY on the actual day) haha.... within a few days after it, i shot up to about 2.5 kg...

For those looking for flowers, woodsville is also worth considering. They are very accomodating and service provided is wonderful... I used them for my church deco but colour theme was mostly red and ivory.

Caterer-wise, count, i do agree with you on that.... once you have told them how much you can afford, they will try their best to maintain that price no matter what you do. Oh ya, just a word of caution, do ensure everything is written out as per contract cos on the actual day, you don't have the luxury of ensuring that what you have discussed with the caterer is given. Even though you have a coordinator to help out, there's only so much he/she knows about all your prior discussion with the caterer.......

For me, I only know a few dishes were different from my confirmed list when my mum happened to look at the items after our photo-taking at the chapel but by then, it was already too late to do anything... the only consolation was, the guests were all praising the food so at least, even though they weren't my selected dish, it was still well-received so I didn't pursue it further le....

Hi Baby doll,

the last time i asked is $600 to hold yr matrimony at the Armenian Church, if you wish to contact them, u may email: [email protected]

Hi ribbons,
i saw the yam roses u posted, but the colour dun seem very purple or lilac lei. u think there's any place where i can take a closer look at them? thought of using yam roses for deco, cos my theme is abt lilac and white... any idea how tis will look?

Hi ggjj,
didn know hydrangeas are so nice and beautiful! are they more ex than roses?

Teng.... i love the train of ur gown! I'm a sucker for elaboraet trains..

Sweet kar: They are actually quite a deep purple.. quite dark. lilac and cream/ white sound fine..

Hydrengas cost MUCH MORE than roses...

I went to get some flowers over the weekend, i tou pai some pics of the yam roses, will post it when i can. hee..

agree about the caterer. Once u tell them ur budget, they will always work around that. Unless u tell them to come up with a new quotation? Give a much lower price..

advice for BTB that havent got a caterer yet, if ur maximun budget is $15, dont tell them that ur budget is $15. they will stretch it to the max. Rather, tell them that ur budget is around$10 or $12. at least u can see what u are gettign and if u can afford to top up.. more room for negotiation..

hi ggjj,

heheh, at least u dun forget us! kekeke..
Ur HM sounds lovely.. U & ur HB really deserved it no less! Think ur entire wedding & HM, no cost were spared yah? But it's okie, it's really once in a life-time, if u can splurge & dun mind splurging, i think u wld a wedding beautiful

The bouquet of eustomas & hydrangeas are gorgeous & so full & round! Were freesias used too?

Hmm, i do think tt there's a way to upload them faster, but i dunno what programme u require. U might want to Google to find out? Prob www.download.com shd offer u what u need..

Hey, do thank God for ur VG who managed to deliver inpsite the other PG failing ur expectations. Be glad tt the significant aspects of the HM was captured by Kuang who put in his best for u 2
U did a dance rite? Wld love to view those pix!!

Hi Teng,

Share ur pix here? Prob ur pix on deco wld help some of our sisters who need some visuals to help them in their decision making.. What species were used?

Hi Count,

heheh, ur wedding is still some time away, so u can still find opp to intentionally lose wt.. heheh, in the end my trip to Kim's was for alteration of my other dresses & to accompany Ashlady, my chiffon dress ain't ready *pouts* but in 2 weeks time!

How's ur CS design going to be like?

Hi ribbons,

The train was actually an additional attachment. My gown had a unique finishing which I loved but because of the long church aisle, I thought a longer train would be better so my sisters helped me pin it on before march-in.

In the morning and during the banquet, I detached it to march in so that the guests could also see the details.

Mehmeh and the rest of the sisters,

Frankly, i don't know much about flowers and frankly again, floral deco was something I placed the least attention to cos I didn't know how to appreciate flowers myself... that's why I just told the florists what i need ie: altar stands/flowers/pew flowers/etc and that my colour theme is red, ivory and some golds.. I didn't even know what flowers were actually used... think should be roses (those very big ones) are being used for some if I'm not wrong....

Really paiseh, couldn't join in your prior discussion about "wedding flowers" cos know nothing about them.... but then, do understand that ribbons and mehmeh are the experts around here yah!

The most important part of my floral deco was a three by four feet wide centre arrangement (below the cross, not seen clearly in the pic), which served as a blessing to the church for the next day's service.. that was the most expensive part, i guess.....

By the way, can't find pics of the floral deco leh...except for this church aisle (taken very very far away.... so not that clear....) There are also 2 postal stands which can't be seen... The floral deco for the certificate signing table as well as the chair sash is also provided by woodsville as per our request.

350802.jpg

Oh ya,
think i will just do a brief description of the wedding highlights bah...(with pics here and there...) cos I think by the time i upload all, it will be half a year already :-) Paiseh hor, sisters... pardon me k.

Hi count,
Think u can still find the strappy shoes in tangs.. bought this pair like 3 days before my wedding in mid dec.. was looking for a gold one but couldnt find it.. so end up buying this..

Yup.. SG was very generous with the flowers.. even our wedding planner commented that too.. don’t really remember the breakdown of the flower quotes.. all in all we set aside abt 7k to 9k for the flowers budget.. which include the pews, flower girls bouquets, stands (reuse), altar table arrangement (reuse), recep table arrangement (reuse) and floral stands (reuse) etc.. we didn’t use any Conrad flowers at all.. it really depends on what u want, what kind of flowers u have in mind..

Thanks for your sweet words.. was very very disappointed when we see the photos.. esp when we put in so much efforts on the whole event.. I think my planner was also trying to makeup in other ways.. my dvd was actually much longer than what we paid for.. thank God I have it as a keepsake..

Honeymoon was diy.. we booked the cruise, hotels and air tickets all separately.. at first wanted to go for a Mediterranean cruise.. but such cruises don’t operate in dec.. so the second best is Caribbean.. and since we flew more than 20 hrs to go there.. we decide to stay longer in states.. think we spent more than 24 days there.. our suite in Wynn LV was a wedding gift.. so thank God for that too..

Actually if u have the budget.. u can consider taking a cruise.. ours cost around US$4k in total I think (including shopping, food and excursion but no airfare).. we got the celebrity concierge class (one class lower than suites but higher than balcony stateroom).. if normal stateroom think less than US$1.5k for both can already for a 7 nights cruise..

Hi teng,
Ur wedding date is same as mine right.. not sure why I cant upload the worship pic.. will try again.. my colour theme is lilac and baby pink.. SG uses some light and deep purple to bring out the colours..

have not even develop the photos from kuang yet.. all my relatives are asking for the copies.. where u develop them? And for how much?

Hi sweet kar,
Hydrangeas are more ex than roses.. that time when we went down to Conrad to view SG table mockup.. Conrad was having a very simple flower arrangement using sparse fuchsia pink hydrangeas.. very beautiful too.. think u can use them instead of yam roses too..

Hi mehmeh,
We saved 2 yrs for the wedding and honeymoon.. HB sold off his car for this.. all my friends say I overspent.. the entire thing can buy one Nissan sunny..

Yup got freesias I never expect SG will be so generous.... at first we went to fiore dorato.. really love their flowers décor.. very very lush.. but very very ex too.. so we didn’t expect too much from SG.. very blessed..

Will try again to upload.. we shortlist abt 200 pics to upload but every 30 pics took about 20 mins.. will tell u all once I got them in the web..

Our VG was very accommodating.. yeah must thank God for it.. our first DVD got some pics of the altar and idols in my mom place.. we told him that and he helped us to reedit it.. very thankful..

We did a foxtrot.. enrolled in a private dance class to customize the steps to the music.. but on that day we fumble at the end of the song.. forgot how to do a promenade walk.. otherwise the pics will be better
luckily no one can tell..

Talking abt kim.. remember me asking for seamstress contacts.. and u say the one u went to is very packed for my wedding.. I also asked my friend who just got married.. initially she want to tailor a evening gown too cos cant find anything suitable in Milan and her friend pass her kim’s contact which she stored in her HP.. long story short.. I got kim to make my cruise gown and my mom dress.. in fact the pink one above is the one kim did for me.. heehee

Hi ggjj,

Yes, yes, had the same wedding date as yours.... haha.. 2 of us are really slow coached...
Wow, agree that both of you must have spent really a lot on the wedding.. and so glad you all have enjoyed yourselves tremendously... esp from your honeymoon.

We only went for a short trip to relax. Going for the longer honeymoon later cos the wedding already costs us quite a lot.

I developed first half of the pics at this shop in clementi.. cheapest I can find. 20cents per copy (min. 100 copies). There is also 1 shop in Toa Payoh, with no minimum copies needed.

Hee.. Despite minor hiccups here and there esp where the catering as well as some parts of the banquet sitting arrangements, we are still thankful to the Lord for blessing us with such a memorable wedding all in all.... and frankly, I felt a wedding is indeed quite a big massive project hehe... Some descriptions below...

We had a lovely, cute red volkswagon bridal car(self-driven by Groom) but with standby brothers to help park the car & get it ready for hb to drive and move off at every destination. There were 2 following Jiemei mercedes 14-seater vans for our 11 brothers and 11 sisters. There were also 2 walkie-talkies for our 2 coordinators (1 male for the guys' side and 1 female for my side) for the day's event.

The poor groom and brothers had to go through rounds and rounds of "torture" for gate-crashing...Am really glad everyone was sporting enough to participate in everything. My creative sisters even had a "hero rescue the beauty skit" which was acted out by the groom and brothers.... and also imagine the sight of 11 guys and 1 groom dancing in 1 line at the void deck... I laughed till I almost dropped when I watched the video. It ended with the groom signing a contract with 10 promises to the bride. (hubby had to read aloud each and every rule and sign against each sentence... )

A brother in Christ, also from my hb's drug rehabilitation centre (Breakthrough Missions), also drew a gigantic oil painting of us in our wedding costume - with blessings from the home itself. This became our bedroom's photo too cos it was really big (much larger than the one given by any BS) and it holds a much greater significance to us too.

From the planning right up to the rehearsal time, we played the song "Life's greatest blessing" but in church on the actual day, I realised it was actually hubby singing as I marched in with my mum. (The aisle was L-shaped so I only saw it when I was walking in his direction)

A friend also did up a superb video presentation on my hb's life testimony and how God changed his life (how he was once detested by society, how he hurt 4 policemen and appeared on papers to how he uses his own life's experiences to counsel the young juveniles in the various homes/prisons today), excerpts of our relationship, preparations (with touching moments, pics, video shots, cartoons etc), photoshoot etc. The whole presentation ended with tears shed in the audience and I have to really thank the friend who painstakingly created this special memento for us.

For our parents' appreciation part, we presented a "Best mum in the world" award to my mum who single-handedly brought me up and I got to admit, hubby did a really wonderful job announcing the winner........, with me presenting a special custom-made trophy to her...

I had a lively song "Let love flows" for my church march-out, which indeed fits the moment perfectly cos we felt that the march out (announcing us as husband and wife) should be something happier and faster rather than a slower track.

Actual turnout in church was more than expected... about 650 guests came to give us their blessings and we were indeed touched by friends who flew in just to witness that big moment in our lives....

For the banquet, we didn't prepare a dance but my emcees, knowing me and my hb have taken social dancing for fun before still made us dance..... square rumba.. We even celebrated my hb's birthday with me bringing in the cake to him while we were on stage...

The most amazing part was, the adults started to get a big anxious when we haven't even started our photo-taking at about 9.40pm.. we already told them not to worry liao... and true enough, table photo-taking for 61 tables in total only took half an hour!!!

Due to the huge number of tables, I had wanted to forgo photo-taking altogether but in the end, dropped the idea as those who attended the dinner were mostly the older folks.. only about 30% of our church guests also came to the dinner.... (as in repeats). For church, the younger generation attended while dinner was attended by the older generation.

We were able to be on standby at the exit to take additional pics with some groups of friends as well as to thank Guests at about 10.20pm... Thanks to my lovely team of coordinators... it was amazing as you see how they coordinated the flow of the photo-taking session... super fantastic job really....

Our wedding verse was Matthew 6:33 "But seek first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you." This verse was also on the oil painting drawn for us....

True enough, with the Lord's blessings, we managed to recover our banquet and catering costs! Not to forget, knowing that my hubby and I are paying for the whole wedding ourselves, my mum also returned us all the red packets that she received..

To all sisters who are in the preparation stages, remember to seek HIM in whatever you do and your answers will come one by one...

It's natural to feel vexed towards the end but always tell yourselves, it's all worthwhile when you see everyone witnessing that beautiful union of yours at that every moment!

Enjoy your preps while it lasts yah!

hi Teng,

heheh, can't see the details, but looks like every pew is decorated. I'm sure woodsville didn't disappoint u.. I was also considering them, was esp impressesd by the fact in being so prompt in replying emails & giving gd service inspite just having email contacts

Hi ggjj,

Oh wow! u managed to get Kim afterall! God really has blessed u richly in manymany ways for the wedding.. Looks like a lovely shade of pink in empire cut yah? Soft & romantic.. Btw, what do u mean by a cruise gown? Hmm, i rem ur WG & maroon EG & the CS.. U certainly had many changes of gowns, did ur HB do so too?

Hmm, u & ur HB saved for 2 years & even sold the car? Impressive! Considering the car wld have been very hand in ur running ard to meet vendors etc.. God is good! Heheh, ur entire wedding & HM can get a Nissan ah? At most u can get transport, but still have to pay for petrol, parking, rd tax when u've a car, the money used for the wedding gives u ur ideal wedding & HM & many wonderful memories! kekeke

Promenade walk isn't tt easy, heheh, some amt of coordination & i think it's fun enough to have a dance though u guys fumbled.. So long as u had fun!

ggjj,

Haha.. we are the direct opposites, because of how we find a car handy, we bought it about 4 months to our AD... and frankly, it really helped us a lot in our wedding preps. Moreove, hubbby felt that after we are married, it's no longer a 2-persons' world liao... and when we go out with my mum or grandma etc, it would be useful to have a car... I guess it's good for me too cos I can wake up later in the mornings....hehe...

Mehmeh,
Yup, all the pews were lined....
Yes, I'm also impressed with their service... and prompt replies, that's why shortlisted them to visit.

Haha.... your recommendations seemed to be superb! From here, can see many of the brides are doing their gowns with Kim...

hi Teng,

Heheh, maybe u cld pop by the Woodsville threads & share abt ur experience with them? I'm sure ur 1st-hand account will help answer any doubts some ppl have

Oh my recommendations are superb?? No lah, it's Kim! heehee.. She's affordable & quite gd with her comments & suggestions. Which is why even though i'm on the opp end of the island, i still go back to her, Aiyah, how i wish i were still staying in the NE area *bleah*

hi teng,
20cents are very cheap.. but clementi is soooo far.. u got the address for toa payoh one?

yup wedding is so massive.. as good as another d&d.. but d&d got a committee to organise..

actually our weddings are really testimonies of God's blessings.. i am always touched when i hear how the Lord works during the preps and on the wedding..

hi mehmeh,
my gown is something similiar to what Diana Ser had worn during her wedding.. just that hers is a lime green one.. yeah pink chiffon with satin.. empire cut.. dont know whether i can still wear it.. haha..

oh.. i made it purposely for the cruise.. cos got 2 formal nights.. so think that a gown will look nice.. i also wore it in Conrad to take pics.. was thinking of wearing it during the tea reception at SJI.. but no time.. so just took some conrad pics with it.. never meet guests..

in the end i got the red CS for dancing and 2nd walkin and the maroon for sending off guests.. hb only wore his white one for first walkin and black one for his second walk in.. he got another suit but never wear.. he doesnt like to change so freq

we sold off the car after we have sourced for bridal boutique, hotel and wedding planner.. actually was deciding btw conrad and beaufort.. thank God we didnt choose beaufort.. otherwise transportation is definitely an issue.. we met other vendors thr planner or she will do the errand for us.. so transportation not so much an issue..

hi charlotte,
my gown is above.. just scroll up..

hi ggjj,

Oh i think i know which shop Teng is referring to oredi.. Hmm, if u keep a lookout in the newspapers, there's always this small little advertisements in the STs, usually found at the bottom of the page. A whole list of outlets tt develops at 20c, i think less than a certain amt, it costs 25c.

I go to the outlet in Clementi now...

Ah, i know ur design of the gown for ur cruise. My fren went Kai to remake it, but in fuschia pink. Unfortunately, becoz she's small chested & her hips slightly wider than her chest, she looked preggy. She was so upset! But i'm sure u like it alotalot! Heheh, empire cut can still be worn, even when u're preggy! Just whether u accept the width of the hips anot

The colour looks gorgeous, do rem to find an opp to wear it. Even if it's gotten tighter, Kim always gives enough allowance for loosening it.

Ah ur planner is the one who does the errands for u, tt's gd.. I think i need to be very hands-on, heheh, bride-zilla!!

hi mehmeh,
if u happen to see the ad.. can let me know the add.. cos i read st online.. no papers already..

was deciding btw soft pink and other loud colour.. soft pink not so bride like so can wear for other ppl wedding.. loud colour got limited usage.. actually think my chest is too big to wear empire.. think the gown so so only.. hb also dont really fancy it too.. but other ppl all say nice.. even strangers on the cruise asked where i got the gown..

was thinking of a gown charlize theron worn for oscar too.. but i dont think i carry satin well.. so give it a miss.. i may want to make another gown for my friend's wedding this dec.. but dont know which design.. even this diana ser one was very last min decision..

Ggjj and Teng,
Thanks for sharing! Very encouraged by how ur ADs turned out wonderful with God's blessings! And the lovely and sweet surprises tt ur friends planned for u, and ur gifts to ur parents. Very very touching *wipes away tear*

Ggjj,
Upload a couple of pics with ur pink gown by Kim? Love the strappy gold shoes u wore it with, and would like to see how the entire outfit looks with shoes!

Mehmeh,
My CS is a traditional type with cap sleeves. It'll be long and have slightly higher than usual slits along the side. Decided to follow Kim's suggestion as she felt tt a traditional cut would be more flattering on my figure. Partly also cos my EG is low back, so tot a more modest design for the CS would give a different feel for the night. So when will ur chiffon dress be ready? Feel like making more dresses with Kim already! So nice to be able to design ur own dress, shop for fabric and see it being made! Hee

hi ggjj,

OKieokie, i will let u know when i do see the ad. U must rem to come pop by this thread enough! heehee

Ah, ur chest too big for empire? Issit? heheh.. Did ur HB say what abt the gown he din like. Prob the cutting & colour & the whole look of it goes together to look gd? Hmm, which gown did Charlize Theron wear? She always look gorgeous in most gowns.. heehee. Dun use satin maybe some other material? Keep a look out, i think another round of Oscar's coming up, so more fashion galore to feast our eyes & give u ideas for the gown

Hi Count,

Traditional style with high slits eh? U must have the legs!! Indeed, if u've got a modest looking CS it wld complement the look of ur flirty EG. I think the chiffon gown shd be ready ard 18 Mar, going to see Kim then. Hahahah, now u know why i keep going back to her?? I enjoy the whole process too!

hi count,
search high and low.. no pics with the gown and shoes together.. unless i wore it and take at myself..

anyway, here is one of the fullest length pics of my gown and my mom ones to show..

hi mehmeh,
think he doesnt like empire cut.. anyway me not bother.. haha.. cos i can use this excuse to make another gown to please him..

charlize.. the midnight blue satin one with the mermaid train at the bottom.. very body hugging.. it was the same oscar which nicole kidman wore a turquiose blue satin with some feathers i think..

anyway what u think abt the pink gown?

hi ggjj,

I think the shade of pink is indeed very wearable. Hmm, i personally dun mind empire cut, but the ruching does make the chest seem fuller, this i'm not comfy with. *small is good* heheh

Maybe ask ur HB to be more specific in telling u what abt the gown he doesn't quite like? Then when u intend to make the new one, show him pix first?

Ur Mum's CS is quite pretty! The neckline & the details there is indeed unique, tapping on the existing scalloping of the organza
Well done!!

Oh for the Charlize Theron gown, u're referring to this?
351054.jpg

hi mehmeh,
that's what i tot too.. was very conscious abt the bust area.. think hb also don't like the empire cut becos of that..

credit for my mom's gown goes to my mom and kim.. mom was happily cutting CS pics from all my wedding mag.. then she saw this neckline.. kim knew what she had in mind and recommend the fabric to her.. her workmanship is very good.. there is no visible line at the shoulder joining the cap sleeves scallop to the neck organza.. the back is a deep v organza.. my mom luvs it.. i told her to alter the length after the wedding she doesnt want.. she say she want to be bury with this gown when she die.. haha..

yup that is the charlize gown i was eyeing on.. too red carpet already.. not very wearable.. then all the ppl on the cruise will know i imitate charlize.. (btw, u quite fast with ur google hor)

hi ggjj,

Prob tt's the reason.. Diana Ser has assets & quite proud of it i guess. We're more shy?? But tt's how such details at the chest wld enhance the look. Hmm, by pregnancy & post-natal, we wld also look like tt! *oops*

I must admit, the workmanship is quite gd, i'm trying to figure how Kim mananged to not show the line for the joining of the cap sleeves to the shoulder. Ur mum is so drama!! kekeke..

Abit red carpet, but if u like it a lot, then show Kim, ask how to have it less eye catching? But the colour is gorgeous, not many blues are this great! Me fast with google, heheh, my next best fren for all info i need!

a bit off the topic.. before u guys go for ur PS, would u go colour ur hair or give it a trim?
My colour is growing out liao and i'm wondering if i should leave it black or at least go colour a bit..

Hey Mehmeh,
Yes, after talking to Kim, now very very tempted to make more gowns! Hahaha. And my mummy too!

Ggjj,
I think ur pink gown and ur mum's gowns look lovely! Honestly! Empire cut looks gd on ur figure. I look terrible in such cuts - it makes me look small-chested and pregnant! Cos when i tried it in dressing rms, my friends would laugh at me! Heh

How much did u pay for workmanship and fabric for ur mum's gown? My mum is stumped for ideas cos she's quite thin and doesn't look gd in outfits tt show her bony collarbones...

Ribbons babe
Can email me the photos of yam roses? My email is [email protected]
Btw, i'm not too sure abt hair colour. But i think my MUA will recommend when and where i shd get my hair coloured. This will prob be during the trial makeup session. Tho i think diff MUAs have diff practices. But so far, i've been told tt colouring ur hair will make it look better in photos. Cos my hair is too black and they say it may look v curtainlike or stark in photos. Some colour will give a softer look

hi Count,

heheh, can make.. Just give her enough time

hi Ribbons,

Hmm, i think like what Count says, get recommendation fr ur MUA. Though i wld suggest colouring & some highlights, if not wld look flat. If u retain the black hair, it's probable they wld use temp hair spray, which usually doesn't look tt gd in pix

yah lor.. i dont wanna have totally black hair. I swore off black hair since the first time i dyed it.. hee..

Ok, when i go choose my gowns, i will ask my MUA (not sure if i got trial or not)

Hi mehmeh,
Think she attached at the scallop part.. use the scallop to hide the threads.. something like that..

I showed kim the blue dress and she says it is nice for me.. but I really no confident to carry it.. should get something less drama next time too.. what did u get from kim? Can show what are the dresses kim do for u?

Hi ribbons,
My hair was very dark shiny black.. cant bear to colour or highlight it.. but my mua ask me to highlight a bit to show some texture in photos.. so got myself a very subtle highlight for PS.. which doesn’t look too bad when the hair grows.. and a brighter highlight for AD.. so it will be more obvious in the ballroom cos no natural light..

Hi count,
Thanks for your compliments.. think my mom dress is abt 200 including workmanship cos the fabric is more ex.. like $35 per metre or so.. mine is cheap.. cheaper than one Daniel yan gown I think.. had I known kim earlier.. will get my bridesmaid and sister in law to make theirs there..

hi Ribbons,

Oh ur BS is JB one rite? I think they are quite patient, so even if u dun have a trial ur coordinators in the BS can give u the right advice..

Hi ggjj,

Hmm, prob the skirt not so drama, but keep the tight-fitting form of it? The colour is not tt loud, so shd be pretty okie to wear

Oh u've seen the 2 CSs she made? My purple & gold-fusion ones? If not, u let me know.. My next dress isn't ready, not till 2-3 weeks time

Think for a Daniel Yam long gown, at least $140 & above..

ggjj,

I don't have the address of the shop.. I was just walking past 1 day and saw the big banner (20cents per digital copy, no minimum needed). Think it's somewhere opposite the lelong ABC shop.

All the while, I developed at clementi cos it's near my workplace and it's definitely more convenient, though more restrictions... as in minimum 100 copies, no selection, full payment etc but it's really fast... I usually collect it within about an hour.

Count,

Really agree that every single thing comes from God and God indeed loves each and everyone of us greatly... there were indeed numerous surprises on my AD... From a simple thing such as the cute bridal car (i have never seen it before cos it was hb's friend who lent it to him), the vans/walkie-talkies, the video presentation, the groom's singing, the oil painting etc, I was indeed overwhelmed at how the Lord adds things into a picture to make it so perfect...

Ribbons,

I didn't dye my hair for the PS. Reason being, I made a decision too late and didn't have the time to go dye it and make-up artist was saying it's ok for photoshoot cos got those colour sprays to use. It's more necessary for the actual day.

I dyed my hair for the AD and frankly, I can feel the difference on the looks and pics, perhaps because I had very long hair..... guess it also depends on whether yours will be bunned up or let down?

ggjj/mehmeh,

Wow, that's cheap for a tailor-made gown for mothers. My mum made hers at Tanjong Katong complex about that price and I was thinking it's really reasonable liao... hers was a full lace kebaya look-alike.. very modern and unique feel too. Hee..and for a tailored gown that is cheaper than Daniel Yam's, it's definitely worth the money.

Just to share this cute little figurine that a group of friends gave...

351194.jpg

ggjj,

I don't have the address of the shop.. I was just walking past 1 day and saw the big banner (20cents per digital copy, no minimum needed). Think it's somewhere opposite the lelong ABC shop.

All the while, I developed at clementi cos it's near my workplace and it's definitely more convenient, though more restrictions... as in minimum 100 copies, no selection, full payment etc but it's really fast... I usually collect it within about an hour.

Count,

Really agree that every single thing comes from God and God indeed loves each and everyone of us greatly... there were indeed numerous surprises on my AD... From a simple thing such as the cute bridal car (i have never seen it before cos it was hb's friend who lent it to him), the vans/walkie-talkies, the video presentation, the groom's singing, the oil painting etc, I was indeed overwhelmed at how the Lord adds things into a picture to make it so perfect...

Ribbons,

I didn't dye my hair for the PS. Reason being, I made a decision too late and didn't have the time to go dye it and make-up artist was saying it's ok for photoshoot cos got those colour sprays to use. It's more necessary for the actual day.

I dyed my hair for the AD and frankly, I can feel the difference on the looks and pics, perhaps because I had very long hair..... guess it also depends on whether yours will be bunned up or let down?

ggjj/mehmeh,

Wow, that's cheap for a tailor-made gown for mothers. My mum made hers at Tanjong Katong complex about that price and I was thinking it's really reasonable liao... hers was a full lace kebaya look-alike.. very modern and unique feel too. Hee..and for a tailored gown that is cheaper than Daniel Yam's, it's definitely worth the money.

ggjj,

Count,

Ribbons,

ggjj/mehmeh,

351201.jpg

Mehmeh,
Upload some pics of ur dresses! ONly saw the purple CS... Hehehe

Ggjj,
I think u shd make the blue gown if u have a formal event/dinner coming up! Sure got wow factor. Somemore Kim says it suits u. Cos when i was deciding on CS design, i also trusted her taste. Cos Mehmeh said she has gd taste, and she was great in picking out fabric as well. After all, makking pretty dresses are a gd excuse for hubby to bring us out for a nice dinner occasionally ;)

My CS fabric also quite ex then cos i paid $35 per metre. Heh. But when we saw it, FH and i knew we wanted it!

Teng,
the figurine is so cute! Was it made of clay? And do u both really look similar to the figurines? Where are u going to place it in ur new home? Hee

hi Teng,

Wow, full-lace Kebaya ah? Kebaya is itself expensive & having it full-lace is really extravagant! God is good yah? Got u an affordable & fantastic seamstress..

Tt figuine is cute! Same qn as Count, do the the figurines resemble u & HB?

Hi Count,

heheh, share ah? Hmm, my gold CS which is a separate, CS top & 3-tiered tulle skirt, was used in my PS. I duno if i shared the pix with u anot. Let me dig the pix out k?

Think if u go fabric shopping with Kim, u get better rates. The ppl in Arab St do know her, so they do give her discounts. My mum & I went shopping for fabric for my mum's dresses, went to Bobby's (recommended by Kim), & when we mentioned her name, they gave us discounts too..

Hahha, since we're so into dress-making etc, take a pix of ur fabric? Or issit with Kim? If with Kim, rem to take pix at ur first fitting in April yah?