Christian Brides

i got something to confess. i am one who will give $20.. so far its all my 'not too close' friends who've gotten married. my close friends havent gotten married. Out of all my close friends, i am the first one getting married..

And i think pple will give $20 for church reception leh. and like what mehmeh says, if it says chijmes, SAM.. etc, pple will give more. (I will) but if its a church venue, pple will give $20 to $30.
THats what i think lah.

reading past posting in this thread....discover something....

Mehmeh,
you are so young.....me 30 after my birthday in Feb......Oooo....

cOcObeRRy
we are the same generation.

yep. mehmeh, confirmed on the venue. there wasnt much of a choice of venue left after i settled all those 'christian' issues and disagreements with the FILs. only at ard beginning of this yr then confirmed that we can go ahead with church wedding and by then the venues i wanted are unavailable for the dates i wanted. now i know why some pple take one and half yrs to prepare for wedding, not easy to consolidate all the 'requests' and 'disagreements' and come to a consensus on how e wedding should be held.

Ericia,
Congrats on confirming ur venue! Very very happy for u cos i know tt u've been thru quite a lot in getting a church wedding and accommodating both sides' requests. Cos u actually did share ur probs in this thread with us. Be encouraged k? At least now, with ur AD coming up, u've confirmed the venue and can move on to deal with other details. Praise God for opening doors for u and ur FH! =)

hihi Ericia,

Praise God tt u & ur FH have really been able to overcome the many hurdles.. I think at the wedding, u can give thanks & share ur testimony of God's goodness & faithfulness

So where's the venue?

hi sis in christ, I need advice. dun know where to have my church wedding.I am considering Trinity theological college, SAM , chijmes and Asian civilisation museum. haven been to the latter one but seen ttc, chijmes and SAM. ttc is beautiful, very ideal but location too far. chijmes v nice but v ex, SAM not so nice looking, price and location good tho. dun know how ASM looks like. anyone has any advice. i need to book urgently.

hi nicole,
if i were u, i will choose either ttc or SAM. I wont choose ACM becos too ex and u need to put in more money for the marquee. ACM doesnt seem to have nice enough ambience for e money, not really worth it. As for chijmes, i think its nice but to be worth the price, maybe u can consider combine church wedding and dinner (kill 2 birds with one stone) then it will be worthwhile.
i was considering these places too at one time.

thanks count and mehmeh.

oh yes, sth to check with u girls:
i have fallen for zen style furniture but then i heard that zen is a somewhat religious thingy and maybe christians should not use it. is this true? what do u girls feel?
are any of the sis in christ here having tea ceremony at the bridal suite of ur dinner venue? if yes, can email me a copy of the programme of such a tea ceremony?

hi ericia,

I dun suspect tt a concept of furnishing shd mean anything religious.. But i think u might want to check ur Pastor or CG leader for more insights..

hi Nicole,

I personally prefer SAM for the location & ambience. But it's much smaller as compared to TTC & thus less guests can be invited. It has a cozy feel & more romantic than TTC

Guess at the end of the day, u shd consider who ur guests are & which wld be more impt to them? Ambience or location, but really, i think u shd go for which tugs at ur heart more & of coz ur budget

SAM has a nice courtyard, gd for photo-taking when having the recep. U can also make use of the rest of museum for photo-taking, so u can have pseudo PS there. Ur guests also get a whole day pass to tour SAM becoz of ur wedding..

Hello mehmeh....i need some help here with the ang bao....

How much do you give the Jie Mei & siong di? And the church helper, like usher, emcee & coordinator?? Is there a market rate?

Do we give angbao to pastor? How much?

*troubled*

hi Nicole..

Further discuss with ur FH & maybe a best fren/coordinator? Or other frens of ur who have gotten married recently..

hi YY,

In the forum, there are various market rates ($12-28).. Generally for jie-mei, xiong di, church usher, emcee, worship team i gave the same amt. For my church & banquet coordinator, i gave more..

Why dun u work out who are all ur wedding helpers & then look at how much budget u can spare for tt?? If u've got few helpers, u can afford to give more, then u can consider giving more. I had some jie-meis & xiong di who performed multiple roles, so for these involved, i kinda doubled the amt..

I believe ur helpers are not in it to get some money, so i think just give as a token. Have heard of others who got gifts/ thank-you meals instead of APs..

U can give an AP to the officiating Pastor too.. I gave abt $68 or was it $88

*hugs* hope u're feeling better oredi.. Give with a cheerful heart!

yeah meheh.. give according to roles and job performed lor.
If the do ultiple tasks, its only right to give more. If they only have one role, u might wanna ocnsider their role too. I will give my entourage more, ushers.. maybe slightly lesser only.
Usher i will give about $10.. jie mei.. more than that but maybe not more than $20.
Erica: i think Zen furniture is ok lah. i saw one true blue zen house before, all dark wood, even had a sculpture of buddha. ok, that is Zen. but i think simply clean lines, with aybe dark wood all around, or a totally white house wouldnt ahve any spiritual connoctation lah.

hi nicole, i havent been to ttc lei. i think maybe another way to choose is go by the no of guests. cos SAM definitely is for function with 150 (or is it 200?) guests and below but ttc can take more. so can ur guests fit into SAM? if no, then no choice but cannot choose SAM.

yeh zen furniture is all dark wood, with a kinda japanese feel. it feels very diff from usual furnitures.
i was concerned cos my FH says 'zen' is the process which the Buddha went thru before he reached nirvana. Zen mean sth like to relax the person, easier to meditate, sth like yoga, to relax u and empty ur mind or sth...anyway, will check with my CG.

Hi YY,
Actually i'm not too sure abt the market rate for AP also. But i think $20 shd be enough for jie meis? Cos i'd be treating them before AD (during the informal briefing) and after AD (as a thank you). For drivers, u may want to give slightly more to cover petrol costs. As for coordinator, prob slightly more since they will do the bulk of the work on AD...

Nicole, i think both TTC and SAM are very pretty places. But personally i would prob consider 2 factors in deciding btw them. First whether u are holding a banquet. If u aren't maybe SAM is more suitable cos it would seem more like a replacement for a banquet. TTC seems more like a church wedding only. So if ur folks want to have a banquet, u could always say tt u could have a nice function in the evening at SAM instead. Second, guest size and convenience. If using TTC will require u to travel quite long distances on AD, u may want to consider SAM instead to minimise hassle. Just my humble opinion =)

Ericia
I like zen furniture too. Hmmm... Didn't occur to me abt the fact tt it may go against our Christian values. Do let me know if u find out anything abt it k? TIA!

hi mehmeh, erica and count,

thanks for all ur advice. thank God i dun hv to make any decision liao cos just received an email from SAM that the date i wanna is taken. so i'll just go for TTC and trust God that distance will not stop pple fr attending

hihi YY,

U're most welcome.. No hard & fast rule on APs

hihi Nicole,

Praise God, i strongly believe that this is God's best plans for u! Ppl who are close to u & who want to witness the Holy Matrimony wun mind abt distance.. These are ppl who are ur true frens, save for those who really can't make it lah

hi wedding

*scratch head* i tink i'm getting old & muddle-headed oredi.. Ur other nick is nicole?? Hmmmm

Anyway i like both red & pink, but it's the shade tt matters to me.. With my skintone i can take bright red, maroon & fuschia pink. Pale or salmon pink is also lovely, but i think for my skintone i wun stand out in these colours..

Some have commented tt pale/light pinks dun stand out.. But if u select the right material (think shimmery) & embellishment (dusted with sequins, beadings & crystals) the pale pink wld also stand out

Hmm, ask ur designer & most imptly try out the various reds & pinks to know which u can carry off best. U shd look like u're glowing in tt colour..

i'm confused.. nicole and weddin sae person?

I think the colour depends on ur skin tone.. and what shade of pink or red it is...
agree with mehmeh, light pink will not stand out unless u have shimmery embroidery/ beading..

Do i need a band for teh wedding service. if not, will an organist do? or i need play CDs but with tracks only. Help! 18 more days...super stress now.

Yes Weddin, i agree with u. Prob an answer from God. TTC is a very pretty and cosy place so it's no loss that u didn't get SAM. As Mehmeh said, if pple truly want to share in ur joy, the slightly longer distance will not be a problem. But if they are not keen on coming, they will complain abt everything u can think of =)

Angelala, not too sure abt that. Tot PLMC provides an organist which should be enough?

hi angelala,

If u're making reference to the worship aspect during the HM, u cld either have a band or the organist. Generally if u're going to have hymns or songs which are less contemporary, u can engage the church organist. However if u're going to use songs which are more upbeat, i think u might want to get a worship team cum band.

I had only 1 hymn & i was serving in HOPE's worship team, i got the worship team to help me with the HM..

If u're making reference to music being played while guests are streaming in, u cld either have the worship team to play some background music or use a CD. It's ur call here..

Suggest tt u settle this fast, and PLMC only allows members to use the band instruments. If u have non-members playing, maybe some problem, though i'm not sure what there may be. Ur WS leader need not be a member though

ok count, will let u know what i found out.

i just thot of sth: regarding AP to helpers right, for jiemei, think they usu will get quite a large sum of money from e gatecrashing part so, do we still need to give them AP? just a thought. i was told, AP for jiemei during gatecrashing is usu sth like 800 bucks for them to split amongst themselves?
when i told my FH, he scared liao, he asking me can dun have jiemei or gatecrashing?:P

haiyo.. Erica ah, ur FH ah, very cute ah.
if me, i will still give them a AP lor.. personalized gratitude mah. Thar gate crashing ap is like, must force one. after a lot of work then can get..

hi Ericia,

Hmm, AP for gate crashing need not be so huge an amt.. Tt quote of $800 cld be due to the no. of jie-meis too?

For HB & myself, we gave the thank-you AP amt in the gate-crashing session.. Dun get too worried abt what ur jiemeis wld think if u didnt follow up with another AP, unless u know some of ur jiemeis are quite calculative.. I did inform my chief jie-mei tt their AP wld be fr the gate-crashing session, so i think if u communicate clearly, there shdn't be too much of a prob

Wow! Looks like the AP for gatecrashing can come up to quite a bit. Is it ok for me to do away with the $ aspect in gatecrashing? Tot of simply letting FH into the house w/o any sabo by my jie mei. So poor thing to make them suffer. Would rather just give my jie meis a thank u AP personally instead of thru gatecrashing.

U think it's ok? Or is gatecrashing a must if the groom is coming to pick the bride up?

just tell ur jie meis ur intention and convey to them that u are very serious about not having such a program as gate crashing..

hmmm was also thinking of telling that to jiemei but dunno if that will seem like too calculative? cos i was just kinda inviting someone to be my jiemei then she straight away say ok good , will ask a lot of money from my bf and will make my bf hard to enter...etc etc...she just joking lar but from what she say is like i feel very hard to tell her, no, u cant have gatecrashing...cos most pple, they enjoy the jiemei part most during the 'bullying' at gatecrashing lor.

to all BTBs here, is it ok for brides to wear flower accessories intead of the usual glittery kinda jewellery, or will wearing whiteflowers be like funeral kinda thing? was thinking of accessories which look sth like the flowerheadpiece that flowergirls wear.

Hey Ericia,
I think flower accessories are very pretty! If u can get ur MUA to incorporate fresh flowers into ur hairdo, it can look very fresh and youthful. My friend put flowers in her hair when she wore a short CS for her tea ceremony. Very pretty! In fact, i'm thinking of it too! Perhaps to ensure a cheery look, u could use more brightly coloured flowers

Yes, i also have the same prob. Think my jie meis are going to bully FH when it comes to gatecrashing. Hmmm... So don't know how. If no gatecrashing then they're just there, what do the jie meis do? But also heart pain if they bully FH. What if they make him eat sth tt causes him to have a stomach upset and he cannot enjoy the wedding? Cos FH has a weak tummy so quite worried

Anyone can advise what the role of the jie meis is, besides gatecrashing? Is it a must for them to be at the bride's place and go over to the groom's place? Or will a bridesmaid be suff to help the bride with her WG?

Am looking fwd to the marriage prep course which starts next week. Recommended by Ebell. Hope to learn more abt marriage and how to honour God in our marriage! Heh

Happy CNY to all of u! =)

hi Ericia,

Think ur fren cum present jiemei might have said tt jokingly! Dun worry tt they will def put those words into action. When it draws closer to ur AD, u prob need to organise a briefing for ur helpers, so u cld highlight to ur chief jie-mei abt not trying to ketok ur FH

I also had flowers for my church hairdo instead of a tiara.. But it wasn't the hair wreath sort tt most flower girls wld wear. Where's ur venue again? Coz the wreath wld suit a more outdoor venue than a very grandeur looking church

Here's my hairdo & followed by some floral hairdos i found off the net
345021.jpg
345022.jpg
345023.jpg

Hope this gives u ideas to play around with...

hi count,

U can avoid ur jiemeis giving ur FH sthg tt disagrees with his tummy. I firmly told my jiemeis tt my then FH has a weak tummy, so nothing tt shd appear odd to be given to him, they are to direct those items to the xiong dis

Ur jie meis shd also control timing for the whole gatecrashing, can get them to double up also as
1) Ushers
2) receptionists
3) IC of ur gown & other barang
4) Touching up of ur MU
5) Bridesmaid

Oh u aren't having the MPC in PLMC ah? Where at? Have great fun! I learnt alot & was blessed by the stories tt married couples shared!

hi Ericia,

U're most welcome.. Any details for me to update in the chart?

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 9 Jan 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Elsie's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Perth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">piepie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">1 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriot</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vincent/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PrintWorz</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Carelinwen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3 &amp; 5 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Theresa's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hyatt</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rent-A-Decor</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Captured Moments</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ggjj</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SJI Chapel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Secret Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sophia Wedding Collection</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Novex Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Carribean Cruise &amp; Florida Tour</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wedding Butler</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Angelala</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Julia Wedding News</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yew Kwang/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">flower1</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holy Grace Presbyterian</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lunch @ Marriot</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amanda Lee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond/Plush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ebell</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 &amp; 13 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Zoo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Zoo &amp; Mariott</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Moo Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bali/NZ</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Old Aiport Rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mum's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raymond Teo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Korea</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">cOcObeRRy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">28 May 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Michael's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kriston</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mr Loo/Eugene</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">HK/Perth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hotel</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ericia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ashlady</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30 Sep &amp; 1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">M Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Coralinus</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">whiteanglez</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">14 &amp; 15 Oct 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shalom BPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photography/Forest Productions</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photolanguage/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">patek</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 20 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Hyatt</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Japan/Perth</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau/East</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">tupliz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 20 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grand Plaza Parkroyal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Frens</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ribbons</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Furama Riverfront</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Valentine Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend/NA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Asia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font></td></tr></table>

hi Sisters, any details u wld like updated?

hi mehmeh, mine is on 16 and 17 dec 06. Church venue, love nest and honeymoon to be confirmed. banquet is at marina mandarin, bridal is divine couture,pg/vg is chris ling

Mehmeh and Ericia,
We're going for 2 MPCs - one recommended by ebell under TOUCH and which is Christian-based and the other by PLMC. Tot it'd be helpful to go for the TOUCH one which may have more practical skills. Hee.

The photos of flowers in hair u found are so pretty! Where do u find such pretty photos? Now i know why u're the expert already. Ah... There's so many things undone. Have yet to meet Kim, find designs for my CS, get wedding bands, decide on designs for WG and EG...

Actually hoping to do away with the gatecrashing altog. Very poor thing to make the guy suffer and puke in public from eating all kinds of weird things. While it may be memorable, i sure wouldn't want it to become memorable for the wrong reasons esp when FH has a weak tummy. Hope to convince my jie meis tho i may have a hard time

Ericia, are u going to do away with gatecrashing altog? Understand what u mean when u say tt some pple assume tt they can profit from being a jie mei. Seems like this sort of thing will show u who ur real friends are and whether they're truly happy to celebrate in ur union or out to profit and sabo the couple. Scary thought! Esp when i saw how a friend's hubby puked at her main gate after eating all kinds of weird stuff!

count,MPC is? is it the counselling premarriage?
yeh meh meh very nice flower accessories but i dunno whether my BS can provide such accessories. do u make special request to BS or?
i may wanna do away with gatecrashing...still thinking how to handle it. maybe i wun have jiemei at all, and just go from my house to church and meet FH there. anyone doing that? i wanna keep things simple lar.

hi Nicole!

No probs, will save ur updates

hi Count,

Oh 2 MPCs ah? Tt sounds gd.. Gives u &amp; FH more time to really know abt how to deal with certain realities which we might have overlooked during courtship etc..

Where i find ah? Mainly Google? haahh, tt's my favourite place to get work &amp; bridal info, has basically anything under the sun!

Heyhey, breathe yah? The designs for the WG &amp; EG shd come first.. Tt shd be easier if u can decide if prefer the conventional look or sthg advant garde... Anyway i'm sure Silhouette wld be able to fix up sthg nice for u to try after they know where ur venue is, u preference/dislikes of materials &amp; cutting.. U wld have greatgreat fun! Honestly, the real work for a wedding takes place abt 9mths ahead of the big day, prior to tt wld only be the confirmation of venues..

Hmm, my jie-meis are very reasonable ppl &amp; xiong dis are supposed to play their part, so i guess if u can't quite convince them to skip the gate crashing, u got to be a gd moderator &amp; have a jiemei who knows how to control stuff accordingly..

At the same time ur FH needs to be quite alert &amp; play along w/o really being involved.. Get the xiong dis to do work!!! hahah, tt's more interesting, those which are more personal (ie answering questions), leave to ur FH..

hi Ericia,

Hmm, for the AD my BS provided extra stalks of flowers when i picked up my bouquet, not upon my request.. Generally on the AD, ur BS shd provide u flowers. If they dun, u cld always request.. If they still dun provide, just buy fr the wet market florists. Gd choices are roses, orchids, baby's breath, geberras

ericia
PMC should be pre-marital counselling ba

Count, can tell me more abt the one from Touch? My church's PMC is kinda stagnant, so am thinking of looking for another Christian based one. The TOUCH one sounds good..can tell me more?

Hi girls, yes we're attending a marriage prep course. TOUCH community's website is http://www.tcs.com.sg/ and they have marriage prep courses. Not too sure but i think the courses for each month are conducted by a diff couple. Ours is for Feb by Tay Seow Noi, which is Christian-based. Not sure whether the other couples conduct secular or Christian-based courses. U may want to call TOUCH and ask when is the next available slot for Seow Noi. Will update u all after we go for our first session this wkend! Shd be enriching =)

Ericia, a couple of my friends their husbands directly at church so they did away with gatecrashing entirely. But if u want a tea ceremony, u may have to consider alternative venues for tea ceremony, such as hotel suite, at church, or at home after HM

Yes, mehmeh, the planning process sounds very fun. But i've been having a problem. Quite peeved abt the tot of children coming for the dinner. While i'm ok with them coming for HM, i am quite averse to the tot of them coming for dinner, running ard the place and making lots of noise. Argh. Did u invite children? Still deliberating on how to tell our parents not to invite children esp cos the no of tables is increasing and my ballroom capacity is limited =(

Am looking forward to my 2nd appt at Sil! Heh. Ericia, is ur gown design complete? When is ur PS?

hi Count,

Hmm, i did have children at my wedding dinner, but there weren't tt many. Moreover i think parents do know tt with the serving of food, it is unsafe to let their children 'roam' ard.. So i believe parents wld keep a watch over their children.

When u send out the invites, u cld address it this way:
"Mr &amp; Mrs ABC" intead of
"Mr ABC &amp; family".
Not to mention, when u RSVP just make sure u inform them tt due to space constraints u hope to only have the adults attending.. Most ppl will understand, but u also need to understand tt BBs might have to brougt along? Esp those who are still breast-fed?