Christian Brides

hi Ashlady,

Let u know asap abt Kim yah?
heehee
Continue to pray & pray & pray.. God is good all the time!

hi Ribbons,

My AD fell on 3 & 4th Sept 2005, 3rd was the last day of the 7th mth & 4th was apparently said to be the worst day of the year. Hmm, how much the non-Christians wld or wld not feel pan tang is entirely up to them.

My parents are very liberal & some of my more superstitious relatives didnt comment or dissuade us fr having our wedding on those dates. But i guess they've learnt to keep their supertitions beliefs to themselves & leave such decisions to us, afterall it is OUR wedding & not theirs.

In the Sept 05 thread, many brides there were disallowed by parents to do any wedding preps during the last mth, ie the 7th mth. On the otherhand, i'm truly blessed by God with parents & ILs who really took such burden off our shoulders, afterall wedding preps is no mean task. Btw, i had my food tasting abt 2+ mths ahead of the AD

Having said tt, i think u might just want to consult ur FH's family early & then plan strategically

Ribbons, yes i think u shd consult ur parents and PILs just to play safe. Try to work ard their requests if possible, so as to avoid their displeasure. At least for me lah. Cos i'll be staying in with PILs until my flat comes, so better to be on gd terms with them if possible. So far it seems tt most of the older generation is only pantang abt PS, renovation and getting married in 7th month. Don't think it extends to food tasting or printing of invites etc

But at the end of the day, the success of the marriage depends on God and the couple. Impossible tt the date of marriage is conclusive as to the success of the marriage! Hee

Hi mag, i m more or less settle on ttc cos is beautiful unless there's a nicer place and reasonable rent. is better u make appointment with the in charge Jenise. She is v friendly and helpful. the chapel is locked..so if u go on yourown, u cant get to see the chapel..only thru the full length glass window. jenise only works on weekdays. she knocks off at 5.

mehmeh,what do u personally think of ttc? do u think is one of the nicer chapels?

hi weddin,

TTC is pretty okie, a little small for a guest size above 250. So u got to work with tt constraint. I think the place is quite well lit with natural lighting, white-washed walls & the stained glass. Though the aisle for the bride is abit narrow, i think the place exudes some coziness.. It doesn't look grand, IMHO, but it is beautiful too..

I like SAM alot, but tt place is even smaller! Haven't been to many others. Holy Grace Presbyterian in East Coast is quite contemporary, so may not be what u're looking for. I've heard gd reviews of Thomson Rd Baptist Church. I've seen pix of Faith Methodist Church (this is the only one i'm unsure if they allow non-members to rent)

U want to find out abt Trueway Presbyterian from Ribbons, she has done deco there before.

Hmm, i think ultimately u & ur FH must really like the place.. God Bless!!

YY, Mehmeh and count.. thanks for the advise ladies.. Neh, was just toying with that idea about 7th month food tasting lah.. cos after that i will be more busy already so i thought if i can get one thing out of the way, i'll try lor.. I've also heard about couples not doing PS during 7th month.. y ah? Scared they'll capture a ghost on film? hee.
my future PIL aren't pan tan..me and FH agree that most of the time for most couples, its the relatives that always give their comments and add salt and vinegar one lor. So far me dont really have lah. So thank GOd..
So far they also havent mentioned any superstitious things yet.. (I think even if have, my fh turn it all down liao)

mehmeh: i'm so sorry, but couldnt help giggling when i read that ur AD fell on the worst day of the year.. not laughing at u, but i'm laughing at how the most pan tang pple will react to that lor.. but then again, its just a reaction, its still not their wedding, so they have no say. i know we here cant be bothered about pan tang lah.
If i had my way, i will hold during 7th month.. Cheap cos no one wants to get married. =)
Mag: How many guest u have? The couple at trueway for whom i did decor for had 400 guest. can sit comfortably.

YY: How was ur food tasting?

hi Ribbons,

Most welcome.. I think u can really Thank God tt ur ILs aren't pan tang either. If not one more added constraint to work ard man.. Whatever issues they bring up, u're right in letting ur FH deal with those issues, afterall they are his parents, he wld know their temperament etcetc

Hahah, no lah.. I didn't know it was the worst day of the year til some of the Sept 05 brides were told tt they can't do GDL inspite it being the 1st day of the 8th mth.. Oh well! I super dun care! But i had relatives who came before the start of the 7th to pass me the APs.

I was helping my fren do her church & car deco, then one of my best fren's who was helping me with it was told by her mum, if i were preggie or planning for a baby, i shd not be involved in these sorts of "Xi" stuff.. Coz it wld clash! hahahah, i laughed my head off, coz i wasn't planning & def not preggie then.. Moreover i dun believe in the clash! I think God will bless those who bless others too!! *wink*

Yah lor.. all this pan tang things ah, sometimes make weddings not so fun.
My best friend (who is my maid of honour) at first told me that i might not be her jie mei leh, not even maid of honour, cos i am married. if i preg, even worse, cannot be involved in wedding/ planning at all.
I was so sad u know.. to hear that my best friend (christian too) will do this just cos of superstition..
But thank God, she's getting married next year and she said i am her bridesmaid.. i'll be married by then, that she knows but she never say anything..=)

There are so many superstitions man.. i heard about some cases where some weddings cannot take place cos the zodiac signs/ animals of the couple clash..
haiyo.. all these traditions and taboo ah..sometimes makes planning hard, but some are fun.. GDL, chiang xin niang, etc..

Hi mehmeh,
thanks i hv received ur links. u look great leh... PLMC is a nice place to hold wed... a pity i cant hold mine there. btw, where u stayin? is ur CG near serangoon central?

hi Ribbons,

Pray for frens esp Christians bound by such superstitions tt they will have a break thru of such mindsets? But on the otherhand, they might be pressured by the older folks too..

Hi cocoberry,

Thanks for the kind words! Heheh, u really made my weekend ah..
I'm sure ur church wld also be a beautiful place for the HM, i think look beyond the physical aspects, consider the ppl there who wld be present to celebrate with u.. Hmm, dress up the sanctuary with ur desired floral deco & i'm sure tt adds the icing to the cake!

I'm now staying in Holland V, but my CG is in Punggol/Seng Kang

hi ribbon,

had my food tasting on thursday....food served at MM was generally good....according to comment from FH's family & mine....me not able to taste the food right cos i was sick on the day of food tasting....however i think they can do better...

MM's "Dong Kwai" duck was superb.....is roast duck with dong kwai sauce....that one i can taste it......

Hi YY, care to share with me your photos? Seems like everyone sings its praises.... my email is [email protected].

Hey gals, was wondering if anyone knows of a church that takes in non-church members for weddings? Got a galfren who would like to get married in one, but somehow, cant seem to find one.... however, she's not very keen to go thru courses, etc. Anyone can help?

Abt this 7th mth thingy this year, heard frm my coordinator that its not wise to give out invite cards during 7th mth, so which means have to give out before that.... help, tts like really far off. How do u expect the guests to remember? Then extra work to call them all to remind them? Pls enlighten.

hi weddin,

I think with 250 pax, the chapel def wun look empty.. anyway u've prob goign to get ushers to encourage guests to sit twd the altar & also nearer the centre aisle..

hi yy,

Heheh, so glad tt both families praised ur food tasting. This is prob the time tt u, ur FH & both families will get to eat properly, coz come the actual banquet, all of u maybe so bz entertaining ur guests

hi white angelz,

Hmm, if u fren is a non chuch member then who is she getting to officiate the wedding?
Anyway some churches available:
1) Trueway Presbyterian
2) Holy Grace Presbyterian
3) Thomson Rd Baptist Church

hmm.. these are the few which i can recall...

I think i gave my cards during the 7th mth.. It's up to u on this. Personally i didnt bother too much abt the 7th mth for all my preps & thank God tt none of my parents nor ILs did too.. If u're concerned abt giving the cards too early, u cld call & inform them tt u wld send their cards shortly. At least when u call, if u do know some are already unable to make it, u wun need to spend the effort addressing & posting out the card, save u a card & postage too

U also need not do the calling urself, i've had frens who were assigned to do RSVP on behalf of other couples. I guess u cld rally frens/ siblings to help u call?

Hihi Ashlady

U've got mail.. Hope both documents wld be useful to u

Hi cocoberry,

The age grp is between 24 - 31.. We used to worship as part of HOPE congregation in Punggol, but have now joined the main congregation on Sundays & every 3rd Sunday of the mth, we wld go back to Punggol Marina to worship cum reach out to some selected blocks there. Just some community blessings such as mandarin oranges, mooncakes etc..

Our CG usually takes place on Sunday afternoon, after service.. But there are also times where we might have on Sat morn. U think abt it & ask ur FH if he wld like to join us too..

wanna ask u all, any ideas on what kinda theme to use for e church wedding? some creative theme instead of the usual colour themes? me trying to figure that.

oh yeh, i cant rem if i asked u girls before but i am now trying to do up a church programme bulletin thing to print for each guest. i am trying to create my own template but dunno where to find images or graphics to put in it. is there any website or sth to download images or graphics to decorate my bulletin template? ie precious moments graphics of wedding couples etc.

wow, this thread is fast moving!

im most prob getting married in raffles hotel (just tentative booking). church-wise, shd be at clementi bible centre (my church is not available). AD Sept 06.

im quite vexed now, as i have no idea which BS to take. Photographer most prob Chris Ling.

as AD is only less than 9 mths away, all things not done yet, including house and all the mounting amt of things at work, i really need God's grace and wisdom in this. I pray that all of us will enjoy this period of planning for our big day and let our eyes be focused on Him!
and im reminded that we can never outgive Him who gives us so exceedingly and abundantly!

hey whiteangelz, have emailed the link to you....

yeah, mehmeh, think us true....food tasting is the only time the families, FH & me can actually eat the food......AD should be too busy to do anything....esp is eating....

about the wedding theme... I do decor for pple, so everyone keeps asking me what great plans i have planned (or secretly keep from other pple so that they wouldnt be copied..) ... i dont have ah.. my decor depends on.... The christmas decor that will be in the sanctuary! Its ok but i rather work with the decor and not work against. It will be horrible..
Last year they had very very colourful decor in the sancuary, christas balls with tinsels, wall got palm leaves pasted on, many many christmas wreaths, outside got manager... *shudder*.... eee.. hee.
I am seriously contemplating on volunteering to be on the decor team for this year. Although so near my AD, i take it as part of wedding planning.. and protecting myself.. hee.
I only know i want a cheery, summer-ish theme.

wah ribbons, admire ur dedication. yes, u shd take part in the deco cos it'll be fun for u esp since u enjoy deco and can bless others with ur talent. so near AD i think i'll be stressed out. hahaha. keep procrastinating abt gown design and all =(

YY, ur photos are so pretty, loved the shot with the shoes and beach. And u and hubby look so comfortable in ur poses - cool! I still remember ur BS gave u those thank u cards with the pics printed on it. Pity i had no time to look thru all cos my home computer is down and busy at work these 2 weeks. Will look thru all of them once i'm free! Haha. Or stay back late to look at all of them

haiya count... hee.. not that dedicated lah.. say till i pai seh..
kao_shy.gif

Actually, my decision to volunteer is partially selfish. I want to have nice christmas decor in church, and.. i dont want ugly christmas decor to litter the wedding memories of my guest!
i dont think i will be stressed out cos its near my AD leh.. I find it quite therapeutic leh.. (Maybe cos i love doing it lah)
And of course i wouldnt volunteer myself to be 100% in charge lah.. and my assignments for wedding decor, i take till nov only.

hi Ashlady,

I've sent u another mail
342269.gif
.. Hope it wld be of use

Hi YY,

Rem to have a time controller for ur table-shots, if u're going to have them. Reserve to do ur shots much later with tables u know are likely to tekan ur HB & urself..

Rem to have the cold dish & sharksfin soup, coz at least tt wld kinda cushion the stomach if u need to down beer/wine

i wud like to check with all of u if u all have any tea ceremony? i hv a christian fren who said she wont be kneelin for her tea ceremony and said that she oni kneel down to God. those who had went thru their ceremony, care to share?

hi cocoberry,

I wld turn 25 this year

I knelt for the tea ceremony, only for my parents. It's not a bow, but a sign of respect to my dearest parents who had brought me up well.. It's ancestor worship tt's the problem

i guess kneeling is all a mindset.. I dont mind kneeling for tea ceremony, its out of respect. Its not like i am kao taoing to them... Even if holding joss stick, its just giving something lor, if u dont think u are worshipping then ok lor.
Its all our mindset. Just like how some christians are in church, singing worship songs, praying, but is that what they are really doing? Out of their mouth might be songs of praise, but in their minds and heart is "wah lau eh, that &*(&)(@()$(@@*-* driver just now cut me ah.." or "later after church must remembe go buy 4D then to turf club"..
Its ur heart that counts and thats what GOd sees..

I am kneeling for my tea ceremony, but not holding joss stick for ancestors hor. jus in case anyone thinks i am supporting ancestoral worship.

(Actually, i think hor.. imagine a couple has to go to offer tea to their grandparents... its like offering tea to a tablet. U dont expect dead pple to drink tea right. We offer our grandparents tea as respect, so we offer joss stick as respect lor..

Just sharing my thoughts hor... i am still pro christian values, but yet i have grown up i a enviroment such as singapore.. i'm not trying to prove whos right and whos wrong.. only GOd can do that, and He sees our hearts.. (My heart still says "God, only You deserve my praise"

this link is a definition for ancestral worship:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancestor_worship

I have a book that i bought from Life Bookshop. Talking about wedding cultures and christians... Every tradition that is there, like christians all cannot do. but as the author says, we have to mindful, esp since we are not the elders in the family, and we are in an environment full of tradition.. he advises to do as ur heart tells u too.. if u are against kneeling, dont do it.. and, pray..

hi cocoberry:

hey..u mentioned that PLMC is a nice place to hold weddings. Just wondering if u mean Paya Lebar Methodist Church or Paya Lebar Chinese Methodist Church... Din know that there's a Chinese Methodist Church, so a bit confused. haha... anyway, can help? hehe

Thanks! Yah...still looking for church...

ribbons: amk methodist has been taken up for my date liao
so sad

PLMC is opened to public meh? dont think so right.. they quite strict one right?
mag: Got methodist, tamil methodist, chinese methodist... hee..

magz, ribbons is right. i think PLMC is quite strict abt the use of their sanctuary. seems that u must be a member or a member from another church, with a gd reason for using their premises. perhaps mehmeh can clarify?

btw, mehmeh, ask u - if i go shopping for fabric with kim, does that mean tt i am obliged to get her? cos i intend to use her, but afraid tt i cannot find any suitable material tt i like! btw, besides giving input on the design of the CS, does kim give opinions on what type of fabric would look best etc?

hi Count & Magz,

Yupz PLMC only rents the sanctuary only for members or member of another church, and have gd reasons to need to use another venue for the HM

Hi Count,

Yupz, generally if u're going to go shopping with Kim, u shd be her client. She does give gd advice on what materials wld suit the design, where to get the materials too. If u dun go shopping with her, she can still give gd advice on material type & source

i am trying to figure a budget for the church wedding. dunno how to set budget. er...anyone know how much approximately pple usu give in angbao for church wedding?:P heehee

hi ribbons,

i think ericia was wondering how much guests wld give? for her to calculate her budget

hi ericia,

u shd count ur overheads & then ur variables
Overheads: Rental of venue (Sthg u can't negotiate)
Variables: Reception, florist, page boy/flower girls' attire (Can search & find the best value-for-money)

Some others may include cost of PG & VG, APs to helpers & Pastor in the budget..

hello girls, just popping in for a bit while rushing some stuff.

mehmeh, thanks for ur help. feel very paiseh always asking u so many qns. yes, prob going to get kim to do my CS but must meet her soon when i'm more free

ericia, if u mean amt of ang bao i would give as a guest i would say $50 for church if the couple are just normal friends. but if gd friends, then $80-100 per person? even if i know tt this would more than cover their overheads

how much would u all give for church and/or dinner?

hihi Count!

*waves* u're most welcome abt the part on asking questions, not tt many.. I prob wld ans most of ur questions, but maybe delayed at times, or missed accidentally

Usually for a church wedding i wld give abt $30, than dinner abt $120.. But for closer frens whom i know might suffer huge losses becoz of various reasons, i might give a bigger AP. I'm so looking fwd to my best frens weddings, but not anytime to soon.. sighs

count and mehmeh: can i invite u two to my wedding? it will be such an honour to have the presence of two such generous guest.. heee....

i think most pple usually give $20 plus.. Wedding reception, i think very hard to make back one.. break even MAYBE got chance, but to cover cost, i doubt it.

hi ribbons,

hahah, i sure wun mind attending if none of my gd frens wedding wld fall on tt day too.. hahah

I usually give APs as a form of blessing, not considering how much their table costs. So usually in abundance lah, coz 2 young ppl coming together, prob not tt much savings or wld have spent alot on the wedding oredi, so must bless them financially

For my church recep & HM, i think managed to cover the rental of the venue, floral deco & even catering (though this was paid for by my MIL).. Most ppl gave at least $20 bah.. heehee

Pray tt urs wld cover cost!!

hey thanks for all e replies. yeh was implying how much guests will give me....haha. but the info on how much to give helpers is also impt cos i need that too.
hmmm i think for myself, i will give $40 if i attend wedding....but seems like many posts here say $20 is the ave. ...hmm i was initially targetting like $40 per pax kinda cost , sth more high end cos i not giving a banquet except for my relatives, but then someone remind me that may not be practical, so me revising my opinion abt too extravagant churhc wedding.

hi ericia,

Have u gotten ur church venue? I suppose u have, coz it's barely 5mths away rite?
Hmm, i think when u mean extravagant, u probably thinking along the lines of themes & the reception style?

If u book places such as Chijmes, SAM & ACM, when the venue is indicated on the card, most guests shd 'automatically' give abit more. These places are commercial places, so most ppl wld estimate tt the rental wld cost more for the couple, therefore giving more in the AP.

I also presume u shd have some savings for the wedding, and have some to deal with emergencies & situations if there are losses. U def wun make a huge loss in the church wedding k? heehee, God will bless u richly & abudantly.. Truly, His Grace is sufficient for u