Christian Brides

hi Ebell,

Wasn't tt stressed with the preps, but a sudden thot came over me as the day drew closer & closer. Felt tt i've got to undergo alot of changes, not as much as my HB? First, change fr a Miss xxx to Mrs yyy? But guys dun have to go thru tt stage

Then inheriting another set of parents = IL, which means possibly more challenges. Silly thots such abt co-habitating & being sure tt we wun stray, coz why go thru the trouble abt signing a document?

On hindsight, dunno if these were ideas which the devil had planted in my mind. But i'm glad tt my HB walked me thru tt period & God married us! heehee

I need to dig up my softcopy of the AD programme.. Let u know if i can locate it

mehmeh i felt the same way too! in fact, i'm still adjusting to having another set of parents. it's just so weird... i think it's so much more convenient to just date coz you can call it quits when you fight. but when you are married every little squabble has to be resolved otherwise it will snowball. that terrified me coz i'm pretty non-confrontational and sometimes... i can be really stubborn! hahaha...

but like i mentioned before... it was the best decision i ever made. =) so yea... hang in there! =P

ebell... thanks. hee... *blush*... were you from my batch? i matriculated in 1999... you? and ya... i am from FCBC... so i invited my pastor to do the exhortation coz i was pretty close to her... but during the exhortation, i kena sabo'd by some tactless things she said. until today... i still feel sore about it. hee. but i guess it's more about being sore at what she said than being sore at her. so yea. trying to get over if... if ppl will stop bringing it up... long story. =)

ebell.. dont worry about having wedding on 2 days. in fact, you will get to enjoy it twice! the first day went by so fast i went to bed wondering "that's it? 9mths of prep gone by just like that?" thank god there was round 2 the next day! hee.

Hi Nicole,

Xie Xie Ni.

Angelala, *hugs*. Poor thing u must be feeling too stressed out with all the preps. Think u shd delegate some work out, and focus on what made u want to marry him in the first place! ILs may be tricky to handle, getting used to married life may be tough, but at the end of it all, I'm sure tt God had a purpose for putting ur FH in ur life! So it will all be worth it!

Mehmeh, how is Kim's work? Thinking of getting a CS from her but wondering whether it's worth it. Is the workmanship gd and will she alter FOC if u gain/lose weight near the AD? =)

hi Count,

Kim does gd work.. heheh, have done 2 CSs with her & now another gown for D&Ds. Recommended 3 other frens to go to her, guess my recommendation shd be quite reliable
*I hope*

She works/lives in Tamp, so if u're in the area then i think worth going to. Getting a CS fr her might be tricky if u're not sure of the design & material u intend to use. She will not recommend ideas, but she will improve on urs. She u need to know what u want oredi when u go see her, otherwise she wld recommend the usual looks (traditional, sleeves, sleeveless, halter) As for material u can ask for advice, but she prefers her customers to get their own. Dun worry, its fun & she wld recommend u to the right places to get the material

When do u need the CS? She needs to be given notice abt 3 mths in advance & she might oredi be packed, for all u may know. Certain times of the year wld be packed with orders,so she can reject taking in ur order when u call to enquire.

Yupz, she will alter FOC. my CS top was altered nearer to the AD & she didnt charge me, but i dunno if it's becoz i've kinda become her fren

Hi Sisters in Christ,

Praise the Lord for having such helpful sisters here.

For our church, we do not have any special policy or even our pastor. As we are told to use venue of our own. Which is the reason why I have to sort for our own venue.

Hi Carelinwen & mehmeh,

Thanks for the sharing... is helpful.

As I be holding it on two seperate day, I wouldn't be able to have our HM there, as our banquet is on a weekday whereas the HM is on a Saturday. which means this option is out.

Will still look around and leave it to His hand on the planning of it.

hihi, thanks for the replies.

According to my church, I have to hold the HM and banquet on the same day and only on Thur. No way to negiotiate further on having on separate days as we have tried. No alcoholic drinks are allowed in everything, regardless of reception or banquet dinners. If we are not willing to meet the conditions, at most we do not have a church wedding, this I was told

Mehmeh dearie, yes i shall give Kim a call. Cos i already have in mind what i want for my CS. Just need to find the fabric and ask how long she will take to do up a CS. What are her estimated charges for a mid-length CS and EG? Tot of making an EG for my sis... She sounds nice and reasonable, for doing the alterations FOC

Patek, maybe u shd see if ur hotel can make arrangements on a separate day at a cheaper price. If u're looking at churches, go for TTC. Really pretty place! Gd luck with ur venue hunting! =)

hi patek,

U're most welcome

Hi cocomybibi,

I have a strong suscpicion tt i know which church u're frm..My beautician is also fr a church which only allows weddings to be held on Thur & to combine both the service & banquet together. I dun rem her mentioning tt there alcohol is disallowed, but she did say tt the church staff helped coordinate all the aspects of the service (songs, WS leader & some other details)

Maybe u want to rethink why u want to serve alcohol? As far as i know, most couples had to serve becoz their parents wanted, but they were trying hard to turn their parents down tactfully

hi Count,

Okieokie, gdgd tt u know what u want. Please give her abt 3mths notice yah? Think for a kneelength dress, cost for a non-beaded material shd be ard $100 while longer ones can be $150 or $200 (beaded wld cost more coz she has to remove & then resew esp at the seams)

hey mehmeh... mind just posting the name of ur beautician here. Just the name u usually address her by. Think we have the same beautician.

hi Ribbons,

She's known as Liz.. Issit the same person?

hi Cocomybibi,

Maybe u & ur FH shd sit down & pray together? I dunno abt it.. Coz since u 2 are fr the church & believe in its vision, changing of church becoz of the wedding may be rather drastic

If u were to have it on Sat as per ur intention, wld the elders/Pastors still conduct the blessing for u? If yes, then i think can go ahead & book other venues..

oo.. wrong person, but i know my beautician's church also got very strict rules too.

I have never heard about churches being so strict on which days are available for solemnization. I'm sure they would rather have their members do the solemnization done in church, but how can they just disregard the couple's desire for a memorable date or a date for convenience sake?

Coco, i agree with mehmeh lah, go ask them if they are comfortable with doing it else where.. Just curious ah, what can they do if they find out there is alcohol after the solemnization is complete?

hi mehmeh,
we went to the same church for quite some time and see if we are comfortable with the church. eventually we are being baptised there. however, I feel that our spiritual life are not growing.

hi ribbons,
that is why the solemnisation and banguet have to be done on the same day to ensure that alcohol are not served at all. which is why we can't have HM on 1 day and dinner on another day

hi coco

alternatively, you can have 2 dinners? one after the solemnisation and prob one for your parents (assuming they want to serve alcohol)?

Hi Coco... i'm just asking this as a question, not directed to u or suggesting u do this, did ur church list any 'consequences' if alcohol were served?

hi patek,
If your HM is on sat, your dinner can be on a Mon, if you dont mind a day break in the middle. Have a fren who will be doing that.

hi coco_mybibi,
That puts u in the difficult position... But do both of your parents or both of you mind not having alcohol? My cousin's pastor also does not allow her to have alcohol during her wedding dinner..which i thought it's weird coz it's their wedding, not his. keke...To me, wedding dinner is like a socializing event...while the HM is more sacred & important. But some ppl really dont serve alcohol for fear that ppl might be drunk & go out of hand.

hi cocomybibi,

Hmm, i think ur situation is rather tricky. Just to find out, u mentioned tt u & ur FH were baptised at this church, but does tt include being members? I suppose if u & ur FH are now members of the church, u must have to a certain extent believed tt this church is where u wld like to grow in. I can understand what u mean by not having felt u've not grown spiritually in the church, but maybe u might want to give urself a little more time on this issue?

Was thinking if u do change a church now, u might run into difficulties finding a Pastor to bless your wedding at such short notice. Most churches wld only marry couples in their church if the couples are members. Of coz if u use another church for the wedding, u still prob turn to ur church's Pastor to conduct the blessing.

I figure as how Ashlady has put it, alcohol may be advised against due to the fact tt the banquet wld be tainted when there are drunkards. "Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit. Ephesians 5:18" We cld see it tt alcohol is not a must have for a banquet, as i've mentioned earlier, some of the sisters here are trying hard to not serve alcohol..

Maybe u cld deal with one issue at a time?
1) the date to fall on the Sat u prefer
2) the issue of alcohol..

Wld u be inviting ur Pastors to the banquet? If u aren't, wld it be an issue to serve alcohol at the banquet? Just asking to see if this might be the next best alternative...

hi mehmeh,
hee...I'm starting to have some idea of my CS already... floating around in my head. Remember to ask Kim for me k? Wont be around after service on Sun until next wed...going for a staff retreat..good lei..maybe i can forget about the wedding preps for a while!

dear sis in christs,
i know v silly of me but hv been worryin that many pple cannot make it for my wedding cos is one week b4 christmas. many might be away for holi.how?!`m i worryin too much? at first when i counted the number of guests for my banquet, it will def exceed 40 tables. but now as i think, i m afraid i cant even fulfil the 40 tables requirement cos of the above reason.

i will be hving 2 days for my weddin. sat my church weddin and sun nite my banquet dinner.how shd i invite my guests? thinking of inviting all my collegues to my church weddin and only the closer ones for dinner. will u attend both the church weddin and banquet dinner if u r invited to both?

please advice

hi weddin

i think it all boils down to the depth of ur r/s with the guests u intend to invite for church or dinner or both. Close frens/relatives will def find time to attend both events but of coz u need to do ur part & 'announce' ur wedding date so tt they can block it off

many ppl may like to go for vacations during Dec, but now they prob haven't firmed up plans, so u cld intercept & highlight to them abt ur wedding..

Do rem, there are many ppl who get married in the year-end, so some ppl, even the closer ones become selective on which weddign banquets to attend. To attend all to which they are invited may be too taxing financially for some ppl, so u may face negative RSVPs. But dun get disheartened, at least they wld have informed u in advance & u can have back-up plans.

U cld maybe make the wedding an exciting affair so tt ppl wld long to attend it? Just an idea, not sure if it's achievable or to ur preference..

God bless!

Weddin: my AD is 30th Dec 06, that is a long weekend so i'm scared my guest will go on long leave too. So am planning to do what a friend of mine did. They contacted all their guest in June/ July. (usually if they cannot go on a trip in june, they will be thinking of making it up in ec, and they'll be thinking about this after the school holidays. But its too early to plan. so i am going to 'catch' them end june and july. Just call them with a " hi, i am getting married __/__/2006 and i want to invite u. Can u make it?" If they say can, then u remind them to block out the date.
My friend did that to me and personally, i was touched too, cos i didnt just received a card. She personally called to invite (although i know what shes doing lah) but it was nice to receive a personal invitation.
Hope this helps..

hi weddin,
There are bounds to be wedding prep jitters/worries..if there's anything i've learnt even in this beginning process of preparations, is to "cast all your cares unto Jesus"! Really...i was also having some reservations abt the number of tables..for me, I dont want to exceed 30 tables..then very scared it will! Sometimes I project my anxieties onto my bf..poor him..hee..got to take my nonsense. But then, no point fretting now...commit to God & rest assured that everything will be in His control

Hi ribbons,
the church did not mention any consequences if alcohol are served. however if we are inviting our current church pastor to conduct the HM for us, the whole church staff will be involved and of course we will not serve any alcohol as we have been told beforehand. the reason why alcohol are not allowed is what AshLady has mentioned.

hi mehmeh,
the alcohol part is not my main concern actually. the thing here is that we can only hold our wedding on thur and just thur alone. the time for holding the hm is fixed by the church too and throughout the whole dinner, only christian songs will be played which are selected by a church pastor. i just feel that we have not much control over our big day, you see.

Wong: Can email me too? I like to see wed pix..hehe

Coco: Agree with Meh tat shldnt change church jus cos their rules dun suit u . Rather find out why and pray. Last time my church used to insist that wed oni in church and then all go on Sat morn for solemization and then church ceremony in the afternoon but I prayed and gues what policy changed

Speak to ur leaders about how u feel see what they say and pray if God wants to grant u the exception, He will tell them and they will obey if they r God's followers. On ur part, be willing to submit for all authorities r placed by God and honestly rem that God will not short change u. So ask HIm what He wants u to do, perhaps it is submitting to Him what u want and allowing His will to be done? Perhaps in the end there will b a bigger bonus.

Wedin: Agree with Ribons and Rem to call again nearer to the date. BUt u mus be mentally prepared cos end yr many pple jus MIA for hols especially if not v close. So one way to min problem is to call those who really matter and who really wld wanna be there.Pray. My fren didnt have a backup table and oni 2 guest failed to turn up...so possible...pray

hihi! din noe there is a site for christian brides =)

hi weddin, saw ur concern. i had my church weddin on sat n the dinner the day after too. we only invited close frens and relatives for the church n dinner. those acquiantances n not so close frens for church only. turned out to be a perfect arrangmt. we managed to fill up most of the tables at the dinner too =) my hb invited his colleagues n students (he's a teacher) for church only. dun tink it wil be a prob for ur close frens to attend both days. mine did =)

coco: i guess i would feel like u too if my church had those rules, as in, u feel u have little control over ur wedding in choice of songs and beverages, etc, but hey, prayer changes things. Cannot guarantee that results will be what u want but it will be the best outcome, so pray about it and commit it to GOd to do His work. And enjoy ur wedding!

Hi ebell,
We took the 2 days to rest, check sitting plans and my hubby edited our own church wedding video mah. Actually my church wedding was in the afternoon and I managed to bring my gown back to Sil at 6.30 pm that same evening to remove surface stains. Then after that we went makan and shopping at Raffles City!!

Sil is just OK loh, maybe cos I don't click with the designer, so I don't think that the whole experience was good.

Hi Nicole,
I re-sent you a link, maybe I did not hyperlink properly.

Carelinwen, u sound like u had a great time and could do things at ur leisurely pace over 2 days. Now i feel a tinge of regret at scheduling the church and dinner on one day. At tt time we tot it'd be better to get it over and done with! Heh. Ur wedding was beautiful - loved ur pictures and gowns!

Coco,i empathise with ur situation. Don't really know what to say but PRAY! Sometimes, when things appear to be at a dead end, u will be surprised at the fact tt God always does deliver! Just to share - we faced a less serious problem at the time too. The pastors were all away on tt weekend of my AD on a retreat, and the church declined to conduct a HM for us or allow us to bring in another pastor. Yet miraculously, after lots of prayer, the outgoing pastor actually agreed to help out! Amazing right? Be encouraged and press on sister! =)

Weddin, perhaps u could use save-the-date cards or as the other BTBs mentioned, a personal phone call to remind ur friends abt ur wedding date?

hi cocomybibi,

Take some time to pray & seek God's face & really not His hands (was reminded by a speaker one Sunday service) Here's sthg just for u to ponder abt..

Matthew 26:39
Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, "My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will."

hi ribbons,

U're welcome, though i'm not very sure how it ministered to u. I think when it comes to prep a wedding, lotsa decision makings are involved, stresses out the bride much more than a groom. Ladies being ladies are usually more finicky abt the minute details, nothing wrong with tt too.. But i think at the end of the day, u need to be clear abt the decision u make is Godly & pleasing to His eyes.

hi mehmeh

just had a speaker preaching on a similar topic yesterday at church... Wonder if you are from the same church at expo?

am kinda new here...and am looking for a church to hold my wedding in Nov. I dun really have the time to browse through the numerous threads here, so am wondering if anyone can recommend any churches to hold my HM? Yah... Should be nice and air conditioned with stained glass...dun have to be very big..abt 150-250 capacity..and preferably not too far from amk. Budget preferably less than $2000. HAve looked at amk methodist and SAM and TTC... Does anyone have any recommendations? CAn email me at [email protected] ...thanks!