Christian Brides

Hi Nicole,

U're most welcome. Hope the other churches may meet ur budget

Hi Ericia,

It's perfectly fine to reserve the church cum Holy Matrimony solely for colleagues & friends, & dinner for relatives. U gotta rem, this is ultimately ur wedding, u shd do as much as what ur heart desires. Do not be conformed by what ur other frens have done, if not the wedding wouldn't be unique yah?

I guess u shd be in ur mid-20s to 30s, & prob lotsa ur frens are also of the marriagable age. This also means tt many of ur common frens wld have to attend their weddings too. Some ppl are actually afraid of attending too many wedding banquets as it can be costly for them, so they may actually be quite glad if they are asked to attend only the church wedding & not the banquet.

I was just at SAM auditorium yest for a wedding & i think they can house more than 150, but i think u shdn't exceed it by too much, it can get quite cramped.

Btw, i thot u were considering holding a garden HM at OCC where u're having the banquet?

Ashley,
Congrats! Glad you enjoy yourself
Its once in a lifetime. I was thinking of printing myself too. but like a lot of hassle and i don't really have a lot of time. Is your wedding on 2 days or one day? Think i need a actual day schedule.

Ericia,
have you tried the Pines. Think its quite nice. SAM and ACM will have a more colonial feel. Pines and OCC have a more garden feel. Dun Worry, you will be blessed with a perfect place for HM.

Can't wait for the wedding to be over so that i can return to the normality of life. Getting more stress as the day goes by. everyday is spent preparing for wedding and renovating house..

Wah Ashley, congrats! U sound like u had fun at ur wedding! U sound really resourceful, considering tt u virtually put tog ur wedding program from scratch. When are u going off on honeymoon?

Ericia, I think it's really all right to have diff guest lists for both events. In fact, tt is what we intend to do. Church for friends and colleagues and dinner for relatives and perhaps older bosses who would not go for church. Cos there are space constraints for banquet and also the general sentiment seems to be tt ppl are not too keen to go for banquets unless they are close friends. So far, i have seen quite a few cases where friends or colleagues complain at being invited so we would rather them not come begrudgingly. After all, with a younger crowd at church, it means tt u can have a more light hearted event and reserve more "serious" stuff for the older generation at the banquet. Hee

Angelala,
Life will go back to "normal" soon! It's just another 2 more months! So envious cos u have ur own house and can renovate it. I want our house to come soon! *pouts* Sure hope they build it fast and good

hi Ericia,
I think the parliament house is not the same as the art house. I'm not too sure abt it also..sorry. heh..does anyone know?

thanks ladies,
mehmeh, i have changed my HM plans many many times liao.... previously wanted at OCC but now changed liao.
angelala, i went to e pines before but think the garden very small and more for banquet i think in the ballroom.
thanks count, i am glad i can really split the guest list.
have more questions girls, sorry abt this. if have church wedding in places like those museums, parliament, function rm etc, will it mean not able to have musicians/band like in church? do they provide or are they able to accomodate us having? if cannot have musicians like in church, then we have to play the songs thru CDs in PA syst?

Ashley: Congrats!
haiyo... i'm appalled at how ur photographer behaved.. U've already paid them their fees, and u still gave them ang baos out of goodwill and they still like that?? U didnt even need to give them lor.. chey!

Erica: some places may not allow leh. What is ur band for? For worship or just to provide music? Some places are quite intolerant of religious stuff.. Not referring to those places that u stated, but i've heard of such things before. Must check with those places. If its a live band just providing music, i think its fine. but worship is another thing.

hi AshLady,

The current "The Arts House" was the old Parliament house. U're right, there was a wedding featured in prob a Her Worlds Brides Mag with a couple holding their HM in the Parliament room too. They had frens who danced down the aisle to reflect the both of them who love dancing. I rem tt article very well, coz i love The Arts House & how unique for them being the 1st couple using tt venue for a HM

Hi Ericia,

Ah.. It's okie to change so long as the venues are available. I guess at last resort, OCC might still call out to u & u need not worry abt ferrying ppl too much

As mentioned, the HM i attended at SAM just last Sat was a Christian wedding. They did allow the couple to bring in the band's own instruments, sounded okie there

From the article on the wedding held in The Arts House featured, I rem there were pix which showed the couple having their own band. But i guess nothing too fancy? I rem there was prob a keyboard & a guitarist, can't rem if there were drummers though

Whichever venue u're considering, i think u shd always double-check with them. We dun have 1st-hand accounts, so prob very hear-say

The Parliament House is now known as the Arts House. I guess it's bcos they no longer hold parliament meetings there. I thought it's beautiful too given the wooden feel of the seats and the quaint Blue Room for reception. I did suggest having our HM there but my husband felt that it's a place where most lies are told - you know all those jokes abt politicians, he said it's like your marriage is a big lie if you hold it there.

Ericia,
Usually, you need to engage your own musicians. I haven't known of any venues that help couples to look for musicians. Do split the events if you can, bcos two events on the same day is really very rush. I was constantly worried that we might be late for the church wedding bcos we went to his house for tea ceremony first.

Ribbons,
You'd be even more appalled if you know who this photographer is. He's one of the AD photographers from CL. I can only hope that the pictures turn out decent given the attitude he exhibited.

Count,
We haven't budgeted for a honeymoon. I'm very contented to just have a cosy and intimate wedding with my friends and relatives. The church wedding was certainly much more well coordinated as it was done by a friend who was experienced with church weddings.

<font color="0077aa">hi ericia

i am using SAM for my church wedding.. the seating capacity is at best 150...

they allow a full band in the chapel for worship.. afterall, this is a private function... so they are ok with us doing praise and worship...
for more info, you can contact Stephanie Yeow.. She is a fabulous lady.. details here: http://www.nhb.gov.sg/SAM/Information/Facilities/

oh, they only take one wedding a day regardless of the venue you choose.. so you gotta confirm with them fast.. </font>

hi Ashley!

Totally slipped my mind <font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Congratulations!!</font></font> I think no matter whether there were big or small boo-boos, i'm sure u &amp; ur HB had enjoyed urselves on tt special day.

So glad to hear u enjoyed the cosy &amp; intimate wedding with ur loved ones.

Heheh, any special item fr ur HB?

Hi anyone rented theological trinity college for your church wedding? I m interested in renting TTC for my church wedding next year.Can someone please share your experience with me.I am staying in the East. Is the location inconvenient for my guests? Are we allowed to use our own florist? How much is the catering if we use in house caterer? Is the food nice? Where do we hold the reception? How about using outside caterer? thk u so much.

Hi Nicole
I didn't rent the place but did contact Jenise to ask about the details. She strongly recommended using the in-house caterer as a surcharge would be imposed for outside caterers. There is a hall below for the reception tt is really pretty

Do give TTC a call and ask for details. the website is www.ttc.edu.sg =)

Hi count,

thks! must go down and take a look.
sorry to be kay po.why didnt you rent the place in the end? is the location inconvenient? i m sourcing around for a church venue (16 dec 06) but hving difficulty.please share with me if u hv any suggestion. thks.

Hi weddin and nicole,
Long story actually. We wanted to get married in our home church PLMC but the pastors would be away tt weekend for a retreat, so we were looking for alternative venues and pastors. TTC was our next choice cos FH went to a wedding there and said tt it was very beautiful and friends gave gd reviews as well. However, things were sorted out and our outgoing pastor kindly agreed to solemnise our marriage at PLMC. Heh! Praise the Lord for this cos we always wanted to get married in our home church!

fyi, TTC only takes bookings up to 9 months in advance. My general feel of it is tt the place is wonderful and Jenise, the coordinator, seems really nice. I emailed her a couple of weeks back for the details and she actually followed up this week on her own. Quite impressed by tt. And they seem quite flexible cos they are all right with pastors of any denomination just tt u have to bring in ur own pastor...

As for other church venues, not too sure cos we didn't check out others. Think Mehmeh listed some churches tt allow non-members to use their premises in this thread just last week or so... ;)

thanks all,
i have done some research already. think SAM is the most popular and most economical but already fully taken for the month i am looking at. i was trying to find that straits times article on weddings at all these places but think my mum had thrown the article away.

Hi mehmeh,
Thanks! Yes, big or small boo boos, I enjoyed myself. We did a brief wedding dance - we went to take a crash course on a simple slow dance.
His friend, one of the emcees, actually commented that he didn't know my husband could dance for all the years he's known him and the crowd laughed.

Weddin and Ericia,

I used TTC for the church wedding. We've to use our own florist bcos they don't provide any. The caterer is most accomodating. Remember the seat covers I was looking desperately for? She called up any and every caterer she could but felt that their pricing for the chairs alone is ridiculous. She's very helpful. Jenise is extremely nice too. I only got my florist to do up the pews and unity candle, but as a special gift, Jenise topped up for the decor at the reception and signature tables. I guess she knew of some of the rough patches we had to go thro before we got to marry in a Christian wedding, and she wanted to bless us in her special way.

On whether the place is convenient, I wouldn't say it's out of the way. It's actually near CCK or Pasir Panjang. Like what one of the brides mentioned, if they don't want to go, they wouldn't go even if the wedding's just below their flat; if they want to go, they would go even if it's in JB.

Food wise, I think it's good enough. A lot of variety. The caterer is really flexible. I believe you can request for some minor changes if you want.

SAM was my choice too bcos of its pricing and the fact that I used to be an art student. I thought it'd be meaningful to have it there. Like you, the date I wanted was taken. I've also tried the other museum, Empress Place I think, but also taken.

O yes, weddin, you hit on the right spot. I don't know if he's always got this attitude, but what I felt was he feels he could be better than just an AD photographer and he no longer has the passion for weddings. I actually sensed it before our wedding day, but my husband didn't want to lose our $500 deposit. I told myself to give him a shot despite my hunch, but I guess it's a mistake. Do give CL a miss for the actual day. Their PS is great (Kelvin, namely), but I've to say their AD photographer doesn't meet the grade. Haven't collected the pics for the actual day, but I always feel that when you're already griping abt your works, how good can they be?

Wow! Ashley ur wedding sounds very fun! Must show us pictures when they come out k? Very sweet of Jenise to top up the deco for u. Weddin and Ericia, think u shd seriously give TTC serious tot. FH said tt it was the nicest church he had been in S'pore and tt the place is very suitable for church weddings =)

Btw Ashley where did u all pick up dancing? How long did it take to learn?

I forgot to mention, I went for Bugs Media for my videographer. He's great. I just feel that I can trust him. Even my sisters like him. Thro'out the day, he was always smiling. Not once did he shake his head (like the photographer did - "for the whole day" as put in my sister's word). Even tho we got him at a promotional price, he didn't make us feel we got a cheapo price (like the photographer did), and he was great with our MTV. Above all, he's extremely humble. When others praised him for the MTV, he actually said the credit goes to us,"They are natural. I didn't do anything." I'm thoroughly thoroughly impressed. He doesn't have any big talk or heavenly promises(like the photographer has), but he delivers quality.

Girls, give him a shot. I looked at Fabian Lim's works and his works. I felt he's good enough. He doesn't churn out the exact things some self-professed professionals do for all couples. He's got what I was looking for - passion for his works.

Hi count,
I went to Dance Dynamix for our wedding dance. Thanks to one of the brides's recommendation. It's a crash course. We squeezed 4 lessons within a week. They got a website. Search under dance dynamix. The instructor, Michelle, is very young, but she's very good. And she's very nice, too!

Ashley. Wah... Ok. May check out Dance Dynamix provided we have time next year to learn! Bugs Media is good! My friend used them as well

Ashlady,
When are u doing ur marriage prep course at PLMC? Seems tt the dates are not cfm yet? What if we are overseas at tt time? Any idea if we can do the course at other Methodist churches? Are the classes led by the solemnising pastor or someone else?

hi ashley,thks for ur advice. I am still considering whether to take CL package cos i like CL work but not the actual day picts. i hv seen much nicerand cheaper ones/ but cant tell J is like tt.

hi count,
Ya..the dates are not confirmed. The last I heard was that it would be in April 06. Not too sure...heh. I'm also not sure who'll be conducting the class...shld be pastor &amp; whoever is qualified? I'm not sure how it'll turn out! I think whatever external course you take, it must be approved by PLMC.

We've submited the form for the booking of the church &amp; was told that it is approved..but we havent pay. So it is considered confirmed? When do we need to pay?

count: U can try Barker Road Methodist. Our church (AMKMC) wasnt conducting any time soon, so we got our pastor's permission to go do at other churchs (of course have to be approved by him first).
On our list of choices were St Andrews and Barker Road methodist.

St Andrew's timing didnt suit us so we took barker.

We felt so comfortable there, even though we werent from there, they participants and the facilitators were so welcoming and we felt totally at ease there. The topics taught were very appropriate and taught in a manner where everyone could catch. my counsellor was Vivian. Super duper nice lady, very motherly, non intimidating.
i do social work and someitmes have counselling sessions, even i am impressed with them.

And i think their courses quite frequent..
I think Wesley MC also have..

Wow! Both Ashlady and Ribbons do social work! Then with Mehmeh's job u girls seem to be in noble professions. Aiyo. My job seems so un-noble in comparison. Have been thinking abt how i can use my skills to serve God but no options so far. Heh

Ashlady, Not sure leh. Esther said tt she would only take the deposit 1 week before the wedding. Tot tt was quite late but she seemed very busy so I didn't press the point. So we will be in the same marriage prep class? U doing the course in April too? =)

Ribbons dearie, thanks for the reassurance. Just in case we cannot make it for the PLMC course

Weddin, IMHO CL is ok. But his prices are ex! For those prices u have quite a no of famous PGs to choose btw. Perhaps u shd look ard, do a bit more research and get what u really like. U could always do a PS with CL and hire a diff PG for AD. I and a couple of other friends have done tt =)

hi count,
Heh..looks like we'll be in the same class
When is your AD again? Mine is 30 Sept. We choose the 2.30pm slot.

I always believe that we can glorify God in whatever profession we are in. Haiz..sometimes I grumble about my work..heh...that's not very godly. keke.. :P

Count,
Trust me, no fun indoing all three togather. Wish i could do my house first, wedding later. Just that all three comes together and sometime due to time constraints, i compromise on things that i really want. didnt get to copare much too.

Ashlady,
I attended the last course in April this year. It will be confirmed but the church office will not send you an email. you can send esther an email to confirm.

Ashlady, we are also taking the 2.30pm slot on 11 Nov. Yay! Then can preview ur floral deco before i decide on mine! Heh

Angelala, be positive k? *hugs* at least u get ur own home and can do things ur style. After marriage, can bully hubby more cos MIL is not ard! kekek. Evil right? Sure u can modify stuff if u're not happy subsq, after all, homes are always works in progress. Smile k? ;)

Count: u dont need to be any specific occupation to bless others or bring glory to God... U can be a pig farmer, a banker, etc... still can lah..

Hey, mehmeh and Ashlady.. whats fields are u guys in? me working with intellectually disabled.

Ashlady: i like what u said about how grumbling isnt godly.. hee!

Count,
heh..sure! I havent decide on the theme or color for my wedding yet! have you?

Angelala,
Thanks! I better let my bf know &amp; get him to send an email to Esther then.

Ashlady, do keep me posted on the marriage prep thing and the dates too k? Cos i emailed Esther today and she said the dates for next yr are not firmed up yet. Don't know when she can cfm... Haven't decided on colour/theme yet cos i have to coordinate with another bride on the same day. But tot of using red, green and gold cos it would be ard christmas. Subject to reaching a consensus though...

Ribbons, yep i agree. Just tt my profession is sometimes seem as argumentative and pple always say tt we can convince pple to think tt black is white and vice versa cos of the gift of the gab. U shd know what profession it is now right? For me, i just try not to be too cynical cos i see so much tt makes me feel inclined to doubt the goodness of human nature =(

Have u girls decided on caterer yet? Is it worthwhile to meet up with the caterers and "bargain" with them and see what layouts they have, or will it suffice to simply collate their menus? What is the average budget for a tea reception?

hi ribbons,
I'm mainly working with families. Yours is a specific client group.. I'm sure you can guess what setting I'm in

hi count,
Wow..red, green &amp; gold sounds striking &amp; lovely! Can have red roses, green leaves &amp; gold sashes! I'd love to have sashes &amp; ribbons!

For the dates, have to be patient &amp; just wait loh..I'm also waiting to confirm if Pastor Tay can do solemnization. Apparently only 2 pastors in PLMC are licensed by ROM to do solemnization. We wouldnt know until next year.

Count: i'm doing church decor for a friend this 24th Dec and her colour theme is red, gold and green too. Will post the pics here when its ready and hope can give u some inspiration..

Ash: must be FSC lah..

count and ashlady,
you're both having your wedding at PLMC? Do you know if they allow non-members to hold weddings there? or if not, how long does it take to be a member?

Ashlady, fyi i think Pastor Tay recently got his licence. My CGL said tt Pastor Tay was ordained and tt means tt he can do baptism and marriages. It was last month i think. U really shd check with the church...

Ribbons, must post pictures! Yay! Thanks in advance! If the colour scheme is nice i will use it too!

Meow_chloe,
I think non-members can hold it there at a higher charge and if they cannot use their church for some reason. But PLMC seems quite strict abt letting non-members use their church, not too sure though. U shd call and check. U have to go through membership class (baptism class if u have not been baptised), which is held twice a year. After confirmation, u can book the church. Then marriage prep course as well... Which church are u at now? Can ur church be used? =)

hi Meow,

I'm fr PLMC too.. Generally PLMC doesn't allow non-members to rent the church for weddings. But in any case, do call the church office for more details.
Hmm, the period taken to be a member can be considered rather long, u need to attend service &amp; CG regularly &amp; then also attend baptism class 1st. After u've been baptised then can u go attend confirmation/membership class.. If u've already been baptised in another church, u can skip tt &amp; attend just the confirmation class.

A def issue is tt the couple who intends to wed in PLMC attend the MPC organised by church or under couples whom the church approve of the mentoring programme.

Hi Count,

U're so humourous.. Noble jobs are just labels, we can be in it but not carrying out noble deeds too yah? Wherever we're called, there's def tt role of salt &amp; light we can be to tt part of the world.

hi Ribbons,

Well, let's just say i'm supposed to help ppl become more intellectual

Hi Ashlady,

U dun have to worry abt when do u need to place the deposit to confirm ur booking. Esther's not too particular abt it, in fact she's very on the ball on calling u to make sure u know the dates to go down to meet the Pastor for one-to-one counselling &amp; discussion, rehearsal dates &amp; timing, who to contact, who's ur PA guy etcetc

Hi Ashley,

I think tt dance prob moved some ppl's hearts yah? I wished my dad wld have danced with me too, it has always been my childhood dream. I think i'm too romanticized by the show "Father of the Bride"

Count:
1st few times jus go try gowns, go to a few bs then u will know what u want then cfm the bs, they will let u try again tell u what suits u and what dun.

For mine, we did part by part, we started with the type of gowns, (classic, romantic etc), then the back bottom gown, followed by the back ( partly cos Divine v into the back so that was the focus for us), followed by the necklines, and the front cut, then the details ( only after the first fit).

Ya bringing some magazines help to show what u like but in the end I think if u know ur designer is gd, let them try new things, give them space to be creative, if u too fixed on what u wan, might as well get a tailor.

I just had my gown fitting today, 1st try without details...v wao...I was floating. MY frens were in awe. Gown hunting and making soo much fun

Where u looking at Count?

Ashley: wao u v generous. I only got $10 for being a driver. and another $22 for opening door:P

Dear all: is what Ash gave a norm? Looks v expensive to have helpers leh...cham lah alot of my frens wanna help out:P

hi mehmeh,

No la, what "moved ppl's hearts". They were more like "You sure or not? You can dance?" I wanted to do it to capture it on video or pic so as not to have a boring sit-down dinner altho it's mainly for my mother's relatives. It was quite funny. My mother was so happy that during the Yum seng, she only said,"seng!" after everybody had finished saying it. So everybody heard her long lasting yum seng. It made the whole crowd laughed. She also tried to be in as many group shots during the table-to-table photography as possible.

I guess it's not easy to get a Chinese father to dance as it's not conventional in our culture. It's not easy for them to pick up a dance at their age either. I've heard of a father who learnt dancing for the daughter's sake. It was very hard on the father but he pressed on and did his best at the father-daughter dance. Talk about a father's love!

Erica: SAM and Chijmes: must check with church. My church dun allow bt I know some church do.

ACM: u can put marquee. I had the same problem so gave up plus their service not v gd.

I think u should consider hotel. HOw about lunch? Take Regent. Only $558 nett. ( 4 seasons osos. REgent gd because their coordinator, Sunail, excellent and v v craetive, u can have a black and jazz theme, etc. Try having a centre stage in the ball room,and then the tables all around. I think it will be beautiful, else use their function room.

How about RSYC? I checked them v cheap only 50 over for dinner, u can choose to arrive on a yatch.

I still think hvaing 2 wed is good, do one for urself and them one for ur folks. My parents r soo super happy that they have the 2nd day dinner they way they want. I even let my Mom choose the colour of my gown for the 2nd day. Both side folks, gleaming away.

If u got budget: I intro u a free-lance designer, heard from pple he is good. $2500 4 3 MTM gowns to keep for u and ur hubby suit MTM to keep. If add to $4k, include fotos and church, car decor. Even my wed coordinator told me she tot the gowns q gd.

Hi ebell,

I told my husband to be a bit more generous with the pastors, my sisters and brothers or anything that is related to my father bcos he's very particular abt the red packets for our own family. My husband himself chose to be more generous with the drivers bcos he felt that he should absorb their petrol cost and show appreciation for their effort. I let my husband decide how much he wanted to give for the rest, but I did tell him the minimum for some, like give vocalist at least $60. We were trying to show our appreciation to them bcos we really believe we won't get to marry again, so might as well give more, once and for all.

hi ribbons,
hee..you hit the bull's eyes

hi count,
I've checked with Pastor Tay..though he's ordained, he can only do blessing of marriage (which means the couple have to be ROMed already). As for the solemnization, he needs a license from the ROM. Not sure which 2 pastor from PLMC will have that license for next year..so must wait for the new PIC to come in first.

hi mehmeh,
Thanks! Glad to hear that...more relieved..keke. By the way, we are more or less settled on M hotel. So we can finally move on!!!!!
Hee...but the offer ends on 18 Dec, which is this sun lei..but I dont think we can rush to sign the contract by then. U think they'll still give us the promo package?

hi Ashley,

Sounds like ur mum totally had lotsa fun too! I think u must have been ur mum's pride &amp; joy tt night

Well, i know the extent my dad loves me, but hahah, he's got a wood-block body &amp; 2 left feet, so i never proposed to him &amp; make him all stressed out. But my mum who thot my HB &amp; I to waltz, did however propose to him to pick up dancing for the banquet

Hi Ashlady,

Ooh, so happy to hear tt u guys are def more inclined to engaging M Hotel. U shd call the guy fr M hotel and let him know ur constraints, he might be able to work sthg out for u 2. Why can't u guys settle tt by the 18th, just out of curiousity..

Count: Ordained by church may not mean he can do solemnization. They must have license from ROM to do solemnization

Meow: I dont think PLMC allows non members to use their premises. My FH is a methodist member (me havent transfer membership yet) but dont think we were allowed to use it too.

ebell: i dont think ashlady's norm will be my norm.. I agree lah, the pple playing more important part like pastor, emcee should get bigger cos they do more work.. but ash's budget seems much much MUCH bigger than mine.

Ash: why dont u indicate to ur coordinator now that u want that certain promotional package but cannot come down in time to sign before 18. Then he can print out the contract for u, which u just sign on a later date. I 'think' can lah..

mehmeh.. i see we're both posting at the same time.. hee

Just curious, what churches are u ladies (and gentleman, if any) from?

I shall start, me from AMKMC