Christian Brides

hi mehmeh,
heh..can la..in fact we want to go down on the 18th...i guess we could tell him we confirm want that hotel & discuss the details. But i dont think he can rush out the contract & let us sign by the 18th right? keke...WB is trying to get him.
Hey, any tips on what to look out for in the banquet contract?

hi Ribbons,
I'm actually from Orchard Rd Presbyterian but my BF from PLMC...so I'll be marrying in PLMC & transfer membership after that..hee.
Oh, your msg to ebell...i guess u r referring to Ashley & not Ashlady...hehe..got 2 ashes around

hi Ashlady,

Oh the contract can be done quite quickly.. There can be the orignial & the perks added on & signed against by the guy.

Ooh, what to look out for.. Gosh, let me think. The corkage for both hard liquor & wine part, the free flow of beer, up the % of cards & parking provided. Usually they give 60% & 20%, try to up to 70% & 30% respectively. More wld be even better

Like i mentioned, the bridal suite is really beautiful. So if he's giving only 1 night's stay, bargain for 2. Can he provide a day room FOC for helpers?

Make sure deco is fresh floral, have seen some banquets where silk floral is used, not tt nice lah. Hmm, tt's all i can think of at the moment. Anything else i wld let u know k?

Hi Ashlady,

Some hotels only provide food tasting for 6 pax (couple + both sets of parents), if u want others such as grandparents or siblings involved, see if they can provide for 10 (ur final no. can be decided closer to the date). Coz i know some hotels wld charge for additional pax

hi mehmeh,
thanks...just a qn: will u be affected if the wedding coordinator like cannot remember ur name or who u r? keke... in terms of service, how important it is as compared to cost?

hi Ashlady,

I think i might be.. But then i try to be quite specific, wld mention both mine & D's names, when our wedding's going to be, so it helps the coordinator ring a bell. I do believe tt the sales ppl really have to come into contact with many ppl, so not being able to match names to the right ppl can be common.

I wld focus on being able to deliver the results & service on the AD itself. Of coz service during the process is impt, but not as impt

hello!

hope i havent been forgotten! dropped by to say hi hi and to see how everyone is doing... hee...

ebell: you are from FCBC? me too! =P which network?

ribbons and ashlady: social workers? which batch did you grad from? me grad in 2003 with b.a. in social wk too! =PPPP

hi mehmeh..
ok..heh, I certainly hope so! After all, we are paying so much! We havent seen the bridal suite & may not be able to see it before we signed up
But shld be ok hor..since I've heard so many good comments abt it.

hi SL,
yes..u r too?? Me also from 2003 batch!! gosh...haha..such a small world! So which sector are u in?

Ash: me not originally from methodist church too. me from glad tidings church then move to amkmc cos he's there. And sorry lah, got ashley and ashlady, i confused..
and, i dunno if its good to be kiasu, dun rememeber if my contract has, but i'll ask them to state whatever they promise me verbally (can interchange some dishes on menu, etc)

And, i dont think i will be really offended if my coordinator didnt remember my name the first few times, cos they have a lot of clients mah.. Everytime i call my banquet coordinator i'll say "hi, i am ***(my name) from *** and *** (our names) getting married on ***"
hee..

Wah.. so many SWrkers here ah.. Yeah SL, which sector u in?

hahaha... well... not social work per se but i administer FA for needy students in NTU.

wah... now i'm curious to know who ashlady is! hee.

wait... i didnt grad in 2003. hahahhaa... i grad in 2002! i did my hons in jap studies til 2003! sorry sorry. =P wrong info...

anyway, happy planning for your weddings! =)

take care!

Hello SL! *waves* hope u're enjoying married life and have been well!

Both i and FH are from PLMC. FH was originally from Living Waters, but i persuaded him to come over cos my family is at PLMC, and his parents don't go to church. Heh

Ribbons, i was from amkmc kindergarten until we shifted house and moved to PLMC...

sl and ebell! i'm from fcbc too! wahahha.. are u all using fcbc as church? when's ur AD?

heh count i see u here =p

heh meow, i think u can look for many other venues yeah =) cos usually be member of church means confirm change church kind... dun think just cos of venue then do such a huge change yeah =)

Ashlady: get the free LCD. I rem alot of brides didnt get free LCD but one bride did and then the rest osos got it. Make sure u read through line by line.

I think if the coordinator cant rem u chances r the svc so so oni. I met many cannot make it coordinators. So far oni Mariott, Stephie is gd.

U jus tell them settle the contract, few days to a week if their svc is gd they can keep the promo for u. Where u taking?

Tilipz, SL: I from Linda Mak's network. U al leh?

Dear all:
Those who haben get fotograhers pls pls rem to make them write down in black and white the particular fotograher u using cos some companies mislead u into thinking u gettin a particular fotograher but they can change as and when they want cos may take up more than one wedding per day. Be v v careful.

ebell and tulipz... me from wendy kang's network. btw... i'm married already. 3 lovely months! hahaha. and no... cannot use FCBC as church. been that way for a long time... it's not open for weddings. =)))))

YES... i agree with ebell... get everything in black and white with your suppliers. i made the mistake of not doing so with my hotel and had a very very very unhappy time handling the banquet manager... in fact.. when i think about it.. i still reel in anger over it. hahahaha... must learn to let go! hee. =))))

wah SL so lucky! ahhaha =) i'm from debra's network.. heh..

oh ebell, i'm also doing my church on sat and dinner on mon =) good also mah..save money for dinner then can rest in between. btw i think TC going to open for wedding booking le. so i'm hoping to get there since it's cheaper..

sl, u had ur banquet at where?

nope. my husband is from a different church =) we havent decided whether to stay in fcbc or move out... (i made it quite clear i didnt want to join his church)

are you from fcbc too?

tulipz... you wont regret having it on 2 days. hee. i had mine on sat and sun. the sat church wedding went by in a flash and when i finally went to bed at night i turned to my husband and asked him "so that's it?" hahahahaha... thank God there was still the dinner i could bask in all the excitement again! =P not to mention you get to wear your gown and be pretty again! =))))

hi count,
wah..not bad..you managed to persuade your FH to join you! heh..my whole family & some relatives are all at ORPC...but decided to join my FH at PLMC.

hi ebell,
The person did mentioned to give us the LCD projector free...will be meeting the person on Fri to discuss the contract coz the promo ends on Sun & we have to sign by then. If everything goes well, we're taking M hotel. The coordinator is nice as a person...but my FH is affected when he cannot remember who he is! haha...Anyway, I think as long as after we signed, he remembers us & gives us good service can already.

So far, my best experience was with the coordinator from Raffles the Plaza. My FH likes her service a lot. However, it's not very cost-worthy to have it there coz not much perks. You even have to pay 50% for food tasting..the first place i've heard of! Haiz...there's no perfect place in reality!

hi Ashlady,

heheh, tell WB to wake up his idea lah, hahah. He may have certain his expectations, but at times cost is rather impt too, sometimes in a bid to clinch ur deals some sales ppl can offer the best service, but not be able to deliver the promises too.

I figure right now, the contact u wld have the hotel coordinator is quite brief, only closer to the date the lvl of r/s wld get better, coz higher freq in liaising

I guess our only hope with service is tt it wld improve after the govt is moving in this direction.. Tell WB to give ppl a chance lah

hi mehmeh,
hee...ya loh I also say! haha...so far, I havent heard any bad experiences regarding the service by other brides at M hotel..except that it's difficult to contact the coordinators.

In fact, we only met the coordinator ONCE & only for less than 30 mins...there are 101 other couples who are also going to look see...

Heh..by the way, I was baffled about the meaning of the "M" in M hotel..then i realised the hotel is under the Millenium & Corpthorne hotels group...so the M should refer to Millenium? hee...

hi Ashlady,

U're so funny! hahah, thankfully u're there to bring WB back to reality yah? Hmm, u cld actually mention to the coordinator tt u emphasise alot on service, esp during the liaison period, what are the best ways to get in touch?

I had a great time with my OH coordinator, we SMS & she gets what i need & all.. Veryvery gd. I was so upset to hear she left OH after my wedding, almost cried, coz i wanted to thank her personally & give her pressies. She actually left OH 1 week before my wedding, but she was still seeing to my wedding till the dinner itself & she came to help me out with my gown outside the Ballroom.

Hahah, i think if it refers to Millenium, it wld make most sense yah? But i'm just as clueless.. heehee

Sl, i used to be from FC and in Pastor wendy's network. just left recently to another church. Oh you and your hubby need to discuss and decide on a church to attend together. Is important and it can be an issue if not settled (direction of church). I used to hv a close friend who had similar problem too. I think if both cant come to consensus to whose church to attend, is good to try to attend another church together. ANyway, most importantly is both can grow spiritually in whichever church u choose to attend together ultimately.

I agree with Nicole. It is important for a couple to worship together. The common church focus and direction, worshipping together and spending the 'after service' time together, brings the couple together spiritually and emotionally.
Me and FH also from diff church. Me spent my whole life in my previous church, my entire family (including extended) is there. Then i met my FH and he refused to come over cos he had manay responsibilities and commitments in his church but i had my own set of commiitments and ministries too. We weighed the responsibilities too. I decided to give up my commitments in my church to move over to worship with him.
One: He set up his ministry, and i wasnt really fair to just make him drop everything just to be with me.
Two: "Wives, submit to your husbands". I know in this day and age, we practice gender equality, i'm not a push over too, but there are just some times when someone has to give way. Giving in doesnt mean u are the passive one too..
Three: Giving it a try doesnt hurt. I may grow more in a new environment (Thankfully, i did, and i still am)

I miss my church friends from my previous church, in fact, my ministry cried on my last service there!!! So touched by them, so i cried too!

B4, we also contemplated what Nicole suggested too: IF we cant decide on which church to go to, we'll go to a brand new church to start afresh. (In fact, FC was our choice if we took that route. BEcos when we were still pak toring, we wanted to very much, worhsip together and the 7pm service at FC was one when we both could attend)

SL: I know how u feel about moving out of ur church, but u've got to think of ur husband too, as a guy, how would he feel if he moves over to the girl's church just cos she didnt want to? Would he be bothered about what others think or say behind his back too?

heh... just pray lah =) yeah.. pray and let God lead.... i have a fren that both of them have been praying and fasting til now and both are persevering.. they are also trying out the girl's church cos i think the girl rather stay in her church. n guess what! hehe after a few unsuccessful attempts by the guy to come over, suddenly the door open.. n it seems like the guy found a great cell grp in her church to start =) well with all things pray, n i'm sure God will be your support!

thanks SL! i hope to enjoy it too! wahhah

wah so shiok.. i also wan M hotel but i no money heh

Hihi sisters!

I'm now at Changi Airport, departing to Perth in 1+ hours time. Heheh, this 2nd HM is to make up for the short KL HM we had due to work constraints. Hope to be able to catch up if possible when in Perth.

Will be back on 21st to catch up with all of u

HeyHey ggjj

The <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Big Day</font></font> is finally approaching.. Hope everything has been going on fine on ur side. God bless ur remaining preps &amp; tt u can have gd rest tm night. God bless all the coming &amp; going on the big day too, &amp; tt u &amp; ur FH wld enjoy each bit of the special day so dearly

Yah lah.. SL, continue to pray and ask for God to show u two what He's planned.. Me prayed lots too, and thank God He placed me in a very welcoming cell, one where i feel very at home and can grow..

Eh.. mehmeh.. i ask u ah, this HM u referring to is honeymoon or holy matrimony? I suppose its honey moon right? Hee. So confused with abbrs. Earlier on in this thread someone said HM is holy matrimony..
Well.... have fun dear!!

hi mehmeh,
Enjoy yourself!

hi ribbons,
heh..I believed this HM mehmeh is referring to her honeymoon..coz she's married liao... hee.

hi tupliz,
M hotel now having a new promo..weekday pricing for weekend dates. Do check it out if you are interested. We were so blessed to be able to have it! It's really God's timing...not too early in signing up &amp; not too late.

i have decided on my HM venue (holy matrimony). now need to find caterer. i want sth with nice food and nice tablet setup. looking at lavish, CJS, javalink, rasel, and angeli. but so far, i only managed to contact lavish. anyone has e contact person for the rest of the 4 caterers? i tried emailing from their website but no reply

<font color="0077aa">hi ericia

i have the contact for angeli.. my office like to use them for special functions.. will post it here when i back to office on monday.. =)</font>

Hey Ericia,
U can try contacting Justina from CJS. But the last time i did, she took very long to reply. Maybe u shd call her

bsproffy,
ur office uses Angeli ah? Are they good and are their portions adequately large? Have heard rave reviews abt the food and layout but have yet to try them personally. Giving them serious tot for my church reception. Which caterer are u using for ur HM at SAM? Trust ur discerning taste lah ;)
Still considering btw CJS, Angeli and Neo Garden but only tried CJS's food so far. Our parents are quite particular abt food so would actually prefer to try the food ourselves then decide but there seems to be no opportunity... Was also thinking of Elsie's Kitchen but there were some complaints abt their service in another thread

How bout CDCS or or stamford catering? I went for stamford catering workshop before and the food is reasonable. The setup was good and they have different themes for you to choose. The even throw in the church invites for i think 70% of confirmed guest. quite good perks. My colleagues went thumbs up for neo arden but im not too sure bout the set up. Any comments?

Erica: So where u hvaing ur HM?

I tried CJS at a seminar, not bad. Neo Garden food not bad but v normal spread. Heard Angeli is gd havent tried though. Stamford, I dun find them gd.CDCS, u goto have luck lah...not supoer consistent, and service heard got problem. I will take CDCs if oni going for full set up of tables and chairs cos they cheaper compared to others like Lavish, Razel etc but if u oni going for food, i.e. stand up buffet then give them a miss think got alot of caterers got better food. Elsie is not bad.

yeh i heard that CJS food is very good but the setup is quite normal? i am looking for one with good food and nice setup as well. cos i would like a formal setting. my HM place is back to square one, the place which i originally choose. haha. all e trouble for nth.
now i need to prepare for my PS.

hi ribbons,

i juz read your comments, tis juz struck a chord because i was gg thru ther same thing just a few months back &amp; i wan to share my testimony.

my FH and i came from different churches and we both served actively in ministries. he served in 2 ministries while i was a ministry head.

initially he agreed to cross over however after visiting several times, it was evident he could not flow with the church vision.

there was a lot of tension for the next 18 months, we seriously contemplated giving up the relationship yet God assured this relationship is meant to be and came through for us time and again.

finally mid of this year against better judgement and failing to listen to the HS, we decided to leave our churches and find a new place where we could start afresh.

while this decision brought both of us temporary relief, there was a lot of internal turmoil if this is the best decision. well-meaning frens will tell you it is very common to leave and find a new church, and be rid of emotional baggage for whoever crosses over.

but one thing stands true and firm for us believers. the WOG will always prevail and the Holy Spirit will come and convict you if you have made a decision which you are comfortable with or if it is the best what God has in store for you... Eph 5:22-24 is here for a very good reason.

if i wan my fiance to be the head of the household, i must treat him like one during our coutship days. we are to be our husband's helper and if he prospers spiritually, so will the household. no longer should we think only for our own spiritual growth.

as for us, after months of being in the wilderness (visiting several churches), my FH and i went back to his home church. i am still learning to find my feet there, and to flow. but i have full assurance and trust God will take care of us.

in our repentance and we believe for our obedience, God blessed us greatly with his favour. we found a beautiful place which required minimal renovations, seller is giving us the flat 2 wks after our 1st appt!, we even had favour with the HDB officer who granted us full grant even though we are not eligible.

so sister, i beseech you to seek the Lord earnestly and listen intently to what He has to say and do not harden your heart like i did.

Wow Dremin.. Very encouraged by ur testimony.. Thanks for sharing sis!
Change isnt easy, no one likes change. Initially, its hard to adjust, but just give urself some time, dont close urself up cos u think u are a new comer and no one knows u. U should open up even more!! And most importantly, ask God to be with u in this transition and also your husband. As what dremin says, dont harden ur heart.

I have been in AMKMC for alost one year liao. So fast leh.. It helped a bit that i was attending their cell group b4 i came to church.

I thought i would be bored and wouldnt have growth here cos all my friends are back at my previous church. Growth also dunno, cos i'm not froma a methodist background. But we trusted in GOd to help me thru.. Now one year down, i have more good friends here now, and i have seriously grown so much more here than i would at my previous church.

I still keep contact with my friends from the other church. They are still a part of my life.
In fact, the wedding's theme will be "Two become one": Two individuals becoming one, two families becoming one, and two churches becoming one.

Anyway, (I think i speak for dreymin too) by sharig our experiences here, we're not saying that its wrong for couples to insist on staying in their own churches. We're merely sharing our experiences of how we decided to let God decide and let go of our own thoughts and beliefs

On a lighter note, me went to my BS in JB over the weekend... Trying on gowns is tiring man!!! i didnt know a gown can be that heavy!! Didnt try that many gowns, or see any particular one that i liked cos we went unannouced. Didnt know we were suppose to call them beforehand so they can prepare. Thought they have all the gowns there.. (esp since i'm a little bigger than all of u here)

But thank God they had about 10 over gowns in the shop for me to try. All ok lah, but none that i especially like. Tried on a evening gown, dark satin blue. Only one that made me look taller and slimmer (maybe cos of embroidery. It was cascading downwards) but do u guys think dark satin blue is too dark for AD evening gown?

Was just a tad disappointed cos i didnt like any of the wedding gowns.. (also my fault lah, never inform them. And now is popular time to get married. so lots of gowns out)
I still have till Nov/ Dec 2006 to choose my gown, meanwhile pray that i'll be successful in my weight loss mission!!!

Ribbons,
We can lose weight together! I also need to do so. Been eating tons lately! Heh. Maybe u shd go down again in teh earlier half of the year to check if ur BS comes up with new gowns!

Ericia,
Stamford is under Select just tt it is a halal arm. Honestly didn't find Select tt great when we went for their catering workshop. The broccoli was uncooked, the dim sum items had a hard skin and the fish was a bit too creamy. So FH and i decided to pass on Select. Don't know if Stamford is the same in terms of quality though.

<font color="0077aa">hi ericia/count

you can call mr lee at 96688056. tell him that you are reco by his uncle, kirk lee's customer.

spoken to him once and he assured that the same qly of service (by his uncle) will be rendered under him. kirk retired liao..

my office used them for 2 xmas parties last year .. and without initial notification, kirk actually arranged for xmas deco for the food table.. my colleagues were impressed.. and coz of that, some of them went on to use angeli for their wedding.. the food portion is ok too.. best part i like abt angeli is that i dun have to stick with the usual menu.. they can customise one for your budget.. actually i dunno if other caterers can do that..

i should be using angeli for my church reception unless i manage to find some other better caterers.. i was thinking of having a real wedding cake for reception.. since i dun think i want to cut a fake cake at banquet..

hi ribbons

glad that you have fun.. remember to make appt next time before you visit them..

and by the way, weight of gowns depend on the type of fabric used.. if you can, you might want to MTM your own gown and choose a better grade fabric, so that its not too heavy for you.. afterall, if the gowns are too heavy, it can affect your body posture for the day. </font>

Count: The boss says their new shipent of gowns will come in Jan, but told me to go after CNY, in Feb. b4 CY and after CNY popular time, so gowns will be taken out again. WIll be going in feb lor. this time i will call beforehand. =)

Count: i'm sure u wouldnt need to lose as much as me. but we'll uphold each other in prayer and encourage each other k.. Me have been taking more soupy stuff for one month liao. So far lost one kg. (Quite a big feat for me. I hate soup!) Jan onwards, workplace moving to new premises, nearer my place, so i intend to walk to work. about 1/2 hrs walk. I love walking anyway.

I feel ah, that all these big name caterers, like select, stamford, CDCS, etc, are all 'branded'. Hence pple expect that they will provide good food and service.. but their food is so so lor.. Presentation is good lah.
For eg, i find CDCS presentation very good, but their food is nothing to scream about.. just my thoughts lah.

but then again, dont dare to trust those small caterers too.. i know i will not take Elsie's kitchen.. Bad service man. dont know about the food, cos the bad service prevented me from moving on..

Hey gals:
How do we pray for a theme verse ar?

I have to confess that I am v weak at the word and other than in mnay desparate moments, flipping open the bible and finding a word( I know it not the bext way), I dunno how to find one...I want something about God's timing and faithfulness, something about miracles, which is wat our r/s has been.How to go about ar?

Erica: which is what? I v confuse who getting married when.

Can the v kind sister pls post the updated wedding details again? v hard to find leh

theme verse to use at the wedding? think most pple use the ephesians one on wedding. is that what u refer to?
btw i think i put on weight liao. feeling stressed and gobbling too much snacks. my BS coordinator commented the same thing when i went for my gown fitting...argh. but good thing though, they say my FH seems to have lost weight.

can i check with u all whether u are arranging for the caterer to give dining tables and chairs at the church for them to have sitdown buffet? cos i was thinking that will be more formal than standing buffet or just buffet using loose chairs. how do u ladies handle the buffet after church wedding?

in my opinion, church receptions are usually a 'standing' affair. If want more formal, can do sit down one lor. BUt Erica, if u do sit down, it might be more cost know. And must consider if ur venue can hold the number of tables u want.

Depends on ur theme actually. I had a friend, she didnt have a wedding dinner, and so had a grand luncheon/ reception, and was sit down. I am planning for standing buffet, cos then my guest get to mingle. (And also cosd of space constraint)

Erica: agree with Ribbons. sit donw is more formal. If u toking abt the table cloth and cushion seats type and cutlery etc v expensive, lavish, razel, kriston, Cdcs the norm caterers for such dinners. If u wan jus tables and chairs like those national day dinner type then cheaper, u may wanna contact a contractor for that. Else u mgt wanna do jus standing...