Christian Brides

hi Angel,

Suresure, hang in there. Will email u soon

hi Count,

I balloted for 4Rm at TPY.. Carelinwen's a 5-Rm. Still KIV-ing, HB thinks its rather pricey & can get a bigger & better resale unit. Still thinking right now

hi Carelinwen,

wow, ur HB's cufflinks have now somewhat a romantic touch to it! And the beautiful thing is tt it shares the 'same' design as ur wedding gown.

Oh yeah, did ur do pre-wedding PS? Do rem to share with us k?

hi Ericia,

My invites & programme sheet were all done in English. Majority of my guests were prob literate, those who were more Chinese prob cld ask their relatives for help in understanding the invites. Catering for the minority wld have been rather taxing for me

I did my invite design & programme sheet in MS Word, got my personal fren to translate into Photoshop & then sent to my printer to print them out. If u send to external printers, they usual expect at least a Photoshop format or Freehand. Will depend on ur quantity, if u do not need huge amounts, DIY wld be cheaper, coz printing outside wld be cheaper in bulk.

It also does depend if u want ur programme sheets to be in colour? I had mine in Sepia to give tt romantic touch to it & i cldn't find time to print 300+ copies, so i sent to my printer to do so. If u're printing huge quantities & want in colour, the laser color cartridge wld be pricey too.. Got also to consider if u're intending to fold ur prog sheet, coz folding can be time consuming. But all in all, things can be DIY-ed if u can outsource

God bless!

Hi Mehmeh,
Yah, i think that resale units are better and less pricy. Somemore, i think if you get those move in condition kind, u dun really have to do much, its better.

Hi Skyeskye & Carelinwen,
Congrats! Your wedding really sounds smooth and fun. Hope i will not get stress up that it affects me.

Hi MehMeh and count,
Does the PLMC package comes with the musician too? or i have to get myself. Also, do they allow every instrument ccan only be used by our members right?

Its about 2 more months to my wedding and i feel the stress now. Snapped at almost everyhting..can't wait for everything to be over soon...

hi angelala,

*breath* heheh...

the price we pay does include only the organist, if u dun require one, u just pay less accordingly. Shd be less $80. U need to source for ur own worship leader, i think prob fr there the WS leader wld source for the WS team he/she is comfy with?

The church prefers tt instruments are played by members, but if there are 1 or 2 non-members, i think u can raise it up??

Come here & share ur preps process, u can count on us to help u!

Hey angelala,
Don't stress out. Keep calm! It will all work out in the end... What other matters do u have to settle? Don't get too frazzled k? =)

hey mehmeh,
TPY flats are great in terms of location! If we didn't get duxton we would have opted for it. Is it difficult to stay with in-laws? I'm still considering whether to move in. Been praying but no reply... Ugh. Intend to look at rental flats these few months and see if God opens up doors for us. Otherwise prob have to stay in... My mum keeps telling me tt i'll have to wash my own clothes, behave myself etc if i stay in... =(

angelala... but when ur wedding day comes, at the end of it u'll be thinking to yourself "Huh? So fast finish already ah?" =)

Count: yah... i can imagine if i had to stay with my in laws, have to be on best behaviour at all times lor. Wash ur own clothes, wash ur plates when u are done, help with housework... and no privacy for the new couple! Not that there will be 24 hours of private activities lah, but still...
one requirement that i set down straight for my FH was that i did not want to stay with in laws or my parents at all..
My mum also told me that when i get married, to get out of the house to stay in a house on our own.. Hee.

Hi anyone has recommendation for church venue? My wedding is in dec 06 and now busy looking for a venue. My church on reno that's y i need to look for somewhere else. thks

hi Count,

Yesyes, the only draw of the tiny TPY flats is the location. HB & myself enjoy going to the library to borrow & browse thru books & magazines, buying wld be too much of a waste of space

I can't say generally tt staying with ILs is difficult, it really does vary according to ur temperament, level of patience & how far u want to stretch ur comfort zone? Lotsa compromise & patience required

Whether u stay with ur ILs anot, u wld still have to do ur own laundry & behave yah? hahah, unless u want to misbehave in front of ur newly found life partner? heheh..

Biblically, a man who gets married is to leave his parents & cleave to his wife, vice versa & the man shd be the head of the household. Staying with ILs thus seem to 'go against' the above 2? Coz the MIL wld still call the shots & HB may still be reliant on his parents for many things?

Having said tt, it's no grave mistake to stay with ILs. If u feel tt u dun have tt sense of peace to stay with ur ILs, then dun..

Yes Mehmeh! Agreed! Staying with ILs is tough. They are generally warm and nice but i will have to be a dutiful DIL if i stay in. Must do laundry, help with cleaning etc and cannot be so lazy! Hahah. Still considering cos of high rental costs. Some frens encourage us to move out, so tt we can get used to living tog, but others actually say tt staying with ILs is practical and saves lots of money! Argh... Let's hope tt we find the answer soon! =)

Weddin,
I think there are several recommendations in this thread, but cannot really remember them precisely. Perhaps u could try scrolling thru the posts in the last month cos i seem to recall a similar qn. Quite a common qn ;)

yes, for me, i will say, no staying with ILs. its not easy stay under one roof. pple are more tolerant towards their own son but when u are a DIL, the faults not so easy to tolerate.
dear all, can check with you whether one should start ordering invites and print invites before or after informing pple of ur wedding and finding out who's coming and who's not? if we start preparing ordering the invites only after we send out emails or sms to invite pple, will it be too late?

hi count,

always rem this.. "siang jian ru bin, siang chu nan" = it's easy to be cordial when u meet occasionally, but living together is tough. I mean even normal families squabble over lotsa stuff, what more when there are outsiders yah?

Pastor Wee ever joked.. Dun let ur ILs become 'out-laws'.. hahah, how poigant

Hi Ericia,

In US, the practice is to have 'Save-the-date' cards sent out to ensure ppl have marked their caldenders abt ur wedding & they even have to reply tt they wld attend. Afterwhich the couple wld follow up on those who have indicated positive attendance.

This is not done in S'pore, but i think we shd start this somewhere! heheh..

I did do my version of 'save-the-date', just emailing to my frens & informing my colleagues. But i didn't do so for relatives, coz it can be touchy & labelled KS & kena alot of nonsense & requiring me to do lotsa explanation.

U cld always email or SMS, collate as much as u can before sending the actual invites. Some benefits of doing so:
1) U dun send a card to someone who can't make it
2) U save urself on stamp fees
3) Someone else on the list cld be invited
4) U wun face the problem of running short of cards
5) Last min u might want to invite someone & tt 'extra' card cld def come in handy
6) With a rough gauge of no. of guests, u cld work on the aspects of catering & even start ur table arrangement early

MehMeh & Count,

Thanks for your encouragement! yah,hardly can breathe now. Work also busy, cannot afford to take tim off and stuff..nevermind, will pray and i have faith that God will see me thru.
well, now i have just gotten the invites print, have not got caterer, florist. Have not get the chruch programme yet..mehmeh, can i take a look at your programme. How many songs? just realised that printing not cheap too...

But i actuallly do like to stay with inlaws, share housework, got cooked food waiting, husband wont say go home no food and you work late. You will learn to live harmoniously with your husband, less fighting as u know in laws watching..hahahah. stay together can save more know..i very poor already.
The ironic part is that y in laws don want to stay with us..kekekek.

thanks meh meh. but my church wedding still 6 mths more, i cant email or sms them now right? usu pple wait till 2mths b4 AD then email and sms pple to invite right? by then still have time to buy invitation cards and printer etc?

hi Angelala,

yes of coz there are such benefits, but the intangible problems affect us more?
hahah, u will get by with God's strength. Same goes for me!

My programme is now in JPEG format, had 4 songs coz any more wld be 'too much' for non-Christians yah? Of coz it wld depend on the length of ur songs..

To print my 280 programme sheets in Sepia, i think it cost me $120. Tt's inclusive of the paper & folding. I got a better rate coz i went back to my invites printer & she's a sis-in-Christ too.

btw, just in case i can't locate ur email.. Please do post it here.

hi Ericia,

Of coz now being 6mth ahead, cld be rather early. U cld wait till abt 3mths?

U prob need abt 3-4 weeks to select the card, confirm the design, approve the design before the printing & then print. Not forgetting u've got to collect & then address.

So abt 3mths ahead u cld make sure tt u have the addresses of those who are able to attend, so when they have confirmed & when u get hold of the cards, all u have to do is to address the cards to them. That is to say to avoid accumulating too much nitty gritty details closer to the AD..

mehmeh,

sorry to include my email: [email protected]
What is sephia? Yesterday i went to lilart and she quote me about $2 per booklet.

Hi Ericia,
I think you can inform your frens about the wedding and ak them to save the date. i think email will be good. Then the card can come later.

hi Angelala,

Sepia is the colour in which the stuff are printed in. Wld be a whole range of vintage browns yah? U will get a better pix when i send the prog sheet to u.

If u're referring to a booklet, it's meant more for Catholic weddings. For most Christian weddings, the couple wld do up programme sheets which consist of the songs, the verse, some short thank yous. I think Catholic weddings have more rituals, so as not to make guests lost, they printed them out in a booklet.

hi weddin,
If both of you not the church member, it wld be $1400 i think. Expensive hor? I think there are cheaper alternatives...

I think my bf & I are pulling our hair regarding the banquet venue...haiz. Very hard to come to a decision which we hope we'll soon!! :P

Mehmeh,

thanks for your programme. Now i have a better idea. think i will do a 3 fold programme as well. manage to find a printer that will print for me at 1.60. is it expensive? i hve not gone comparing around yet.

hi all, so that means only need to worry abt the cards and invites 3mths b4? thanks
btw mehmeh, can tell me how much will it cost to engage the wedding planner service? will it cover booking of venues too? can email me? thanks

dear gals,
been mia so long.. seldom log into forum.. some updates from me.. my wedding is next sat and there is so much things to do.. church rehearsal is this sat.. will stop work this fri.. change my caterer from javalink to rasel..

now suddenly think i want to have a video montage.. so sourcing for cheap projector.. and toying with the idea of serving alcohol.. still very undecided.. anyone can advise me on this.. initially was very firm to have a non-alcohol

and my gf told me we must prepare 2k for the ang bao.. and oops we only budget for 1k.. anyone got any guidelines on how much to give.. to solemnizer, pastor, bridesmaid, etc?

my bf on reservist.. so i omo.. luckily got my planner and the helpers.. otherwise dont know how to cope.. now sick.. sore throat, cold, fever.. hope will recover soon

hi Ashlady,

Thot u were considering Chijmes? What happened? Ur frustration stems fr inavailablity of venues or unable to decide on one?

Do share with us yah?

hi Angelala,

Wow, $1.60 ah? I wun pay tt sort of money knowing well tt many of the guests wun keep the programme sheet. Btw, how many prog sheets are u intending to bring, as usual printing in bulk wld have better rates

hi Ericia,

If u're referring to engaging a professional wedding planner service, u might want to check with ggjj?

Rem i emailed u & told u some ways wedding planners work? Some customise package based on ur needs, others offer u a package & u coordinate the stuff outside of the package.

hi ggjj,
332955.gif

Wow, i was just looking at the table & realised tt Kat & Teng also are preparing for the last lap! U taking leave fr this fri ah? Tt's real gd, coz i only took 1 day of leave & had 2 sch hols, so in all 3 days to focus for the big day

i borrowed my congregation's portable projector, so i didn't have to spend. If u've got any frens who are teachers, u might want to ask if they can get hold of a projector for use

The issue on serving of alcohol shd be a decision u & ur BF makes yah?

Hmm, u prob got to start a list of who ur helpers are & estimate how much u want to give them. For my jie-meis, i only gave them one AP which came fr the gate-crashing. The rate is the same as per the xiong dis

For my Pastor & driver cum coordinator, we gave a little more coz we wanted to bless them for how they went thru with us.. We also gave an AP to thank my fren's parent's for loaning the car to us.

Jie-mei/Xiong Di: $18
Pastor: $68
Driver cum coordinator: $88
Boy opening car door: $18
Ushers: $18
Worship leader etc: $18
Entourage car driver cum Xiong di (Anyone who has to perform 2 duties): $28

Hmm, this shd be a gauge & not strictly adhered.. U also need to consider how much u can afford. Ur helpers are in it not becoz of the money, it shd be abt blessing u & ur FH

Do take gd care! U need to down buckets of water to recover & be a beautiful bride. Need be, i suggest going to get a jab to recover faster, u really do need the strength to look into details. God bless!

ggjj.. or maybe u can approach ur church's sound and visual ministry? They sure have portable one, just whether available or not. If u ask nice enough, i'm sure they'll lend.. my hotel's providing it, but if we cant get it, still no worries for me, cos my FH is in the sound and visual ministry.. so no problem borrowing. most of the members of the ministry woldnt complain too, cos they are also invited to the wedding! haha!
And contray to what mehmeh said, i strongly suggest u dont get the flu jab.No offence hor mehmeh.. I used to work in a restructure hospital and during SARS time was the time they came out with all these compulsory flu jabs for healthcare workers. (For me more compulsory cos i was working in the ICU at that time). Trsut me, the flu jabs only make u feel more sick. It is not a "one jab against all flus" kind of jab. If there are 10 different strains of flu viruses out there, u'll have to take 10 jabs. And cos its a vaccine, u suffer the effects of flu too. (aching joints, headaches, etc) My colleagues and i complained about this and there were a loy of MCs, so they didnt make the other vaccines compulsory after that.
Ur wedding so close, i rather u dont risk it. u might recover faster without the jab.
Guess its stress related lah. only thing u can do is to drink loads of water, lots of fruits and veges and get ample sleep lor (dont wanna use too much of the MUA's concealer to cover up eye circles too right..)

hi mehmeh
Haiz...was considering Chijmes but we both think the pillars are indeed overly obstructing & would be a bit cramp with our number of tables. It's not just a couples of pillars but 2 whole rows of them!

Anyway we went to Traders but din like the place. We also went to Swissotel the Stamford. They let the bridal couples have the presidential suite and it's absolutely gorgeous! But they arent giving much perks...not sure how much they willing to burge even after negotiation. We'll be going to M hotel to take a look as well.

I think our difficulty is finding one that we really like, within our budget & with perks. Hee..very hard to satisfy! keke... Can i ask how much was per table for your Orchard Hotel that time & if they gave you free flow of beer/free waiver of corkage for wine..etc. Thanks, gal!

hi all, would anyone know of any other place to hold church wedding other than in church and in chijmes? please help contribute. thanks.
btw how much in addition does it cost to split the dinner and church wedding into 2 days? need to book AD PG, and MUA and WG one more time means how much more cost?

hi nicole,
I've heard a lot of good comments about marina mandarin after their reno. However it's above our budget & my bf dont fancy that hotel..keke. Thanks!

hi Ericia,
If you want indoor, you can try places like Asian Civilisation Museum. I read of a couple who held theirs at Parliament House! very interesting...

hi Ericia,

I have not sent the mail as i wanted to clarify what u wanted to know in detail, I did however email u a 1-2 mths back discussing how some Wedding Planners work & all, then u were still considering engaging one (Think u might have forgotten or deleted tt email
).. Hmm refer to my last post. Do let me in on what u're particularly interested to find out. I dun do PM coz the email tt's linked to my account is one which i seldom use.

I did put together a simple list in another thread, on some churches in S'pore for rental to non-members. Will dig tt info out & post here for urself as well as weddin

hi Ribbons,

No probs.. I was just offering a suggestion & i guess u having been thru it wld give ur most honest & 1st hand experience

Hi Ashlady,

I let u in on OH this Sunday when we meet for church k? heheh

Oh, my take, dun go for M hotel. It's too squeezy if u're looking at 35 tables. I just went 2 weeks ago, not a great experience in terms of both food & sound system. The layout of the function room, which can accomodate more tables than the squarish ballroom, is quite lousy.

Hi Ericia & Weddin

So happy tt i found my post, in which i shared some stuff with another BTB. Here it goes:

Some locations u cld consider
1) Trinity Christian College at Bt Timah
2) Holy Grace Presbyterian in East Coast
3) Trueway Presbyterian in Queenstown
4) SJI Chapel along Steven's Road
5) SAM Auditorium

In any case, i think u might want to ask ur Pastors to refer u to church who do rent to outsiders.. Usually with their connections, they shd know enough to be of help. I guess preferablly u wld like to have it done in a church of the same denomination?

Hope this helps... I also hope other sisters who might know wld add on to the list

hi mehmeh and ribbon,
i got one projector from my co.. but need 2.. and my technician told me to get similiar ones cos the quality will be diff when u screen them side by side.. thanks anyway

hi ribbon,
thanks for ur advice.. know i cant take jab.. i cant even go for my regular detox program.. cos that will make me more weak..

hi mehmeh,
thanks for ur advice so far.. u've been helpful.. u still remember the shoes.. after shopping practically every other days for so long.. i finally bought one silver pair in tangs.. and that was something i saw months ago.. really waste my time in looking for maroon, gold and black ones previously..

anyway, sji chapel is only for old boys i think.. my friend also tried but think cannot have her wedding there..

hi ericia,
we got a wedding planner.. reason being we dont want a cookie cutter wedding.. so we got a theme wedding.. all the cards (invites, save the date card, menu card, ceremony card, table card, etc) are all in accordance to our theme.. if u are looking at such a wedding.. i can send u my planner details.. but u must be prepared to set aside some budget for the decor, etc.. all in all.. i spent more than 20k (pg, vg, planner, gowns, suits, decor, stationery, bands, lightings).. these exclude the banquet and honeymoon.. my planner source everything for me except my bridal boutique cos that was recommended by one of my good friends..

think someone was asking abt music.. was surfing and found this..

The prelude is the background music played before the wedding, while the guests are arriving and being seated. It is usually 15 - 30 minutes in length, depending on the wedding location and the number of guests. The prelude will set the tone for the rest of your ceremony, so it should reflect the style of your wedding. A formal church ceremony might have a more formal, all-classical music prelude, and might include hymns. In a less formal setting, the prelude might include popular love songs. Soft, romantic or contemplative music is usually appropriate in either setting.

u can refer to the link below for more details..
http://www.southcarolinabride.com/songs.htm

hi Ericia,

With regards to having the church & banquet as a split day affair & the extra costs involved, here's my breakdown fr my experience

1) AD PG/VG: I engaged Big Day Studio & they did my a huge favour by absorbing the cost the split-day affair. But there are multiple reasons, the PG is my NUS fren's church mate & i think he isn't too particular (Package offered 450 pix, he gave me 500+; my no. of hours def exceeded what was stipulated in the contract, but he waived it too)
2) MUA - Usually another $100. Check with ur BS on this. I paid the $100 to my BS who prob did pay to the MUA when they close accounts
3) WG - U ought not to have to pay for holding onto it another day. But u shd also specify tt u're going to have a split-day affair, this keeps them aware & not having the assumption tt u wld return the following day.

Hi Ashlady,

Hmm suddenly recalled, I thot u were considering Grand Plaza Park Royal? U rem Grace our 4B classmate? She's going to have her wedding this coming Boxing Day at GPPR, the BR can take up to 35 tables. Will be attending her wedding dinner, so cld give u my honest opinion of holding a dinner there.

hi ggjj,

What are u doing up so late? Hope u're feeling much better today!

U're most welcome, just some advice i gathered here & there & thru experience too. I gotta let u know this, i've seen really pretty pairs of high heels in Aldo.. Think there were gold, silver, black, fuschia pink & red. If u have the time & dun mind considering options, i think u cld pop by & check them out. But gotta emphasise, i dun rem seeing covered-toe pairs

Jia You for the final week!

hi mehmeh,
also dont know why i stay so late.. my mom just showed me all those gold jewel my aunts and her bought for me.. i really can open a gold shop.. so many necklaces.. and i dont like gold at all

not feeling well.. now still busy with the handover job.. tomorrow is my last day in off before i take my long leave.. talk until i now sore throat..

thanks for the shoes.. i got a silver open toes from tangs.. the covered one bought in paradox 1 mth ago.. aldo i see too.. but the price quite steep.. at least more than 150.. i think i have went to shoes shops at least 50 times within the last 1 mth

now trying to think of my marchin song for the banquet.. my planner want me to get something grand and majestic.. any idea? i have some in mind but still sourcing for alternatives..

Hi ggjj,
I got projector lobang, $88 only. Call 92952543 (Bluelabs). They will send to venue, set up and collect, and they have more than one for rent I think. Can consider renting both the same model from them. Wishing you all the best in your marriage and God Bless!

Hi mehmeh,
I'm even up later!!! Stressed too... During the week to my wedding I was sleeping only 5-6 hours everyday.

Very busy lately with tying up things and packing away the wedding things, do laundry. Will be leaving for honeymoon early Sat, and have not started packing yet.

hi ggjj,

Oh gosh, u're still not feeling well. I hope the weekend wld serve u well & God will provide speedy recovery for u & watch over ur every coming & going

Yeah, Aldo is pricey, but the shoes look really gd. Anyway, doesn't matter, since u've bought & pretty much like the Tangs shoes

Hmm, thot ur wedding planner wld offer u suggestions for the march-in, considering she's proposing the theme to u. What are the songs u have in mind?

Hi Carelinwen,

hahah, after the AD u're sleeping really late! U have lotsa wedding stuff to pack away? Rem, now must get ur HB to help u

Where are u headed for ur HM?

Hi Nicole

Thomson Road Baptist Church has undergone a major facelift & looks beautiful. No idea what the rates are to non-members, but the last i heard, they did rent to my fren who's attending another Baptist Church

Sorry, haven't got a clue on Bethesdal Cathedral. Give them a call?

Wah... i'm lost in all these posts man..

I went to M Hotel for a wedding once, was the ballroom. The food was good, ballroom very nice. But was a little squeezy. About 30 plus tables. everything was ok, except they had two pillars there, which caused two tables to be squeezed towards the wall and the only have one view... Very hard to explain but i really pitied the guest sitting there.

Parliment house is a nice place to hold wedding too.. Very unusual.. I think i read about the couple too, in some bridal magazine..

Hmm... shoes wise, how high are ur heels ladies? If i can, i wanna wear flats!! I dont usually wear heels, dont need to wear heels at work too.. And i can imagine the pain if i wear high heels for the whole day.. Maybe after church ceremony is over, i will take off my heels when i go mingling with friends.. I'm tall anyway, so i dont need the heels for height.. Anyone heard of bride wearing flats before?

hi mehmeh
GPPR is taken up for the dates I wanted. Anyway, WB doesnt like that place...he is very particular abt hotels...*sheesh* He must feel good about holding the wedding dinner there...keke.
Oh, i thought i remember someone said the food at M hotel is very good? hmm...anyway, their menu does look delicious u know! hee..will bear your opinions in mind. Thanks, gal!

Hi Ribbons,
I think it's ok to wear flats..or maybe you can consider really low heels? heh..I would want to wear low heels if i'm really tall! but i'm vertically challenged..keke.

Hi Ribbons,

Yup. it's fine to wear flats as most gowns don't expose your shoes anyway. but it really depends on your gown too. some gowns may need that little extra "lift". Otherwise the proportion will be werid. check with your designer.

I had a hard time finding something I like for my wedding shoes. In the end I finally found this pair which is quite high. think 2.5 to 3 inches. I wore it almost the whole day with my heavy dutchess satin gown. at the end of the day when I change and was tryin to take a shower, my shoulder hurts terribly.

hi Ribbons,

It's def fine to wear flats. Have a fren who's abt the same ht as her FH, so she opted to wear flats. Are u particular abt ht difference? If not, just go with flats. At least u can make sure u are comfy the whole day

hi Ashlady,

Hmm, discuss with u more on Sun yah? feeling awful, going to rest

thank you mehmeh and ggjj. i was kinda in a panic mood these few days cos changes seem to be happening again. but looking at the posts, think planner is quite ex and is usu for well organise weddings based on themes (which prob also means ex wedding). sigh i dunno i was just feeling like stressed i dun think i can handle anymore thats why thot of wedding planner. lets see how it goes. i hope i can settle all these decisions by end of this month.. need to pray more.

Erica:
Church wed can be done in hotels' garden. E.g. Changi Village ( Bad Service though...), Raffles, Shangri-la, even Copthorn waterfront or sentosa.It may cost about the same as a church in the end. That was my inital plan but finally decided on the zoo. We having a garden wedding then a western style reception. Some even take hotel function room (usally FOC).

My 2nd day, think will incur car rental, makeup I dun nid to pay cos the 1st day only 1 session so got extra sessions with my MUA, can split days, no charge for mine, u can check with ur BS. Foto got extra charge but waived cos we found out that they do more than one weddings per day and the main fotograher will be away for my wedding for 2 hours ( during the HM
), since we were unaware of this when we signed the contract, they waived the 2nd day charge.

But hor gals....please remember to put in black and white the fotograher u r goin to work with or else after signing contract,difficult to negotiate.

O ya and for some guest who will be invited for both days...oso cost incurred.

So Erica: how r things with the IL? better?

Erica: Actually u got alot of time. MIne in March, oso still confirming stuff, venue contract still drafting...heheh

AshLady, Wavey and mehmeh: i not vertically challenged, so i dont HAVE TO wear heels. my FH is so much taller than me, so i wear 4 inch or higher (dunoo if theres higher) i will still be shorter than him.

Hee... I was telling my jie meis, if i can wear flip flops, or my teva sandles, that will be best!!!! Comfort.... Cos i dont like how the ball of ur feet hurt if u wear heels too long..

I looking at heels not beyond 2.5inch.

no matter what my gown, i will still wear heels lah, cos on heels, it gives u a lift, and makes u look taller and slimmer.. I believe in this.. Wear a dress, look at ur self in mirror 1st with feet on floor, 2nd tip toe. Dress looks different..

Hey ericia,
Cheer up! Take ur time to plan and don't stress out! Perhaps u shd see if there are decisions tt u can outsource to gd friends as a favour, to lighten ur load

Wow! Ggjj, u got a wedding planner! Cool then less running around ;)

My BS also recommended 4 inch heels but they hurt a lot! I put them on while trying gowns and i started to ache really fast! But in any case, i think shd have some heel, even if it is very low. Somehow the illusion of height makes the gown look longer and the train becomes even more gorgeous!

Ebell,
Agreed. Had quite a number of friends who did the solemnisation outside the hotel ballroom or in a function room. Minimal cost since the hotel staff would move the flowers and things in. Although they topped up on flowers so tt the place would look nicer

btw, can i ask how does the gown designing process work? during the first meeting, just try various gowns with the designer or show him pictures and ur ideas?

Ggjj,
Just realised tt u are using kuang and staying at Pinnacle as well! Heh! hi 5! Btw, where are u going to stay after ur AD since the flat is not ready? FH and i have been popping by occasionally to check the progress of the construction. Can't wait for the house to be ready! ;)

hi ebell,
thanks for ur consolation. another prob other than IL is that my pastor also need to change our previous AD date cos he now got sth on our AD.
i was just comparing bet the ACM and SAM and think SAM is more appropriate for church wedding yeh? but i emailed them and they say those dates which my pastors are available, they already booked...so now i dunno how. ACM havent reply yet.but one concern i have is that the capacity for both ACM and SAM is only 150pax. perhaps if like this i really have to split my guests into 2(relatives only dinner and friends and colleagues only church...is this ok?)help!
i am looking more in venues which are not hotel becos of cost constraint. chijmes also ex.
help help.

I'm back from my wedding. A lot of things didn't go as I planned and my coordinator for the banquet, my timekeeper, my bridesmaid didn't do their jobs well. A lot of boo boos, but well, it's over.

I've really enjoyed preparing for my wedding. It's extremely stressful, but I'm glad I did alot of things on my own.

Angelala,
I did my programs myself. I printed the program contents out in A4 size and photocopied them, then I bought some hard papers as the covers and stuck our PS photo on it. Then I tied the programs up with thin ribbons. I was able to print 100 sets of them. The hard papers cost $15,photocopying cost me $12, ribbons cost me less than $15, and I printed our PS photos using my own photo printer. I asked my sister to help me fold the papers tho.

I had to do alot of church stuff on my own also becos it's very last min. We only finalised our program three days before the wedding.

I wanted to do a "just married" sign - I even bought the materials already, but my florist sounded unsure about putting it up, so in the end, I didn't make it. I didn't want to stress myself out over something my florist might not put up in the end.

ggjj,
Our angpows are as follow:
Pastors: $100 each (x2)
vocalist: $80
keyboardist and guitarist: $40 each
Jie meis: $120 (x2) for the main door openers + $20 for the rest (x6)
drivers: $80 each (x3)
church coordinator: $100
reception team: $40 each
pageboy: $20
Flowergirl: $20
Dinner emcees: $100 + $150
dinner coordinator: $100
MUA, PG and VG: $20 each

There're others but these are the ones I can think of offhand. Let me know the ones you'd like to know. We gave the MUA, PG and VG the least becos we paid them as professionals alr, however, I think our PG wasn't happy with the ang pow, he didn't behave very professionally after the ang pow was given.