Christian Brides

Thanks for your advice on the videographer. think i prob have to engage one that do fliming as a team. fabian lim and wedding paparrazi is good but they are on the high side.

count,
i just called PLMC and she say that because there is a reorg, i wont be able to know who will be the pastor that is going to solemised my wedding. They will not able to know till january. yeah, the pastor going for retreat next nov.

Hi SL,

Really nice pictures. Your EG very nice. and u are very slim, so good. no stress bout losing weight. ;)

Do you gals know whether some pastor goes outside of the church like SAM for solemnisation ? I like that place and the auditorium used to be a chapel too.

hi Angelala,

I think Pastors wld def prefer holding the HM in a church building itself, but i think each Pastor have diff opinions on holding the HM outside.. Check with the Pastor u're intending to have conduct the HM

Yupz, PLMC's going to have quite staff movement of Pastors.. So hang in there, coz if u can't book, no one else either

hi ggii,
where did u buy your Sealy mattress from? i saw this Sealy house brand "Madrid" at taka...the most comfortable one i've seen so far in the range of 2-3k.. Thinking of getting a King size one but FH feels will take up too much space. Your mattress is it the super thick ones that's quite high?

Actually, I love low beds...heh...but i cant find a nice low bed frame. Saw at Park Mall but it's way above the budget for now.

Hi everybody!

Long time never come in... Need help... Does anybody have any contacts to make dresses for bridesmaids? Or any place to recommend for off the shelf dresses? My AD is on the 17th of Dec and I've yet to get the dresses... I hope I'm not too late...

SL, can I see your photos too?

hi kat

i did a short write up for friends who were not at my wedding or could not be at parts of it...

you can view it at www.geocities.com/tinkilily/ourwedding.doc

nothing impressive... just a short write up with photos of the wedding. =)

photos taken by bro.

i actually think it's easier to upload photos onto MS Words then ont he web direct... lazy la me... sorry! =P

woah, this thread just flew even more...

i thought SEVEN was pretty steep? perhaps coz of its location and all, and not having seen it, i am not sure of the quality so a bit suspicious.

angelala,
i know that pastors of churches without a "proper" church building do it outside for their members. perhaps you can ask if the pastor can recommend someone else?

kat,
what's your budget for the dresses? i think further up the thread Mehmeh has some contacts of seamstresses. or you might want to consider the more usual Daniel Yam and group / Empire sort of places.

SL, don't be so modest lah! Ur write up was good! Liked the fact that it was unique cos there was a story in addition to photos ;)

Angelala,
Have u booked PLMC yet in any case? For us, cannot book yet. We may just check out alternative venues in case. Although we really really hope to have our ceremony at PLMC! Argh. Can't believe that the pastors have a retreat on that weekend! Not sure if pastors do HM outside their church, but i think it shd be all right cos my friend's Anglican pastor did it for her at a hotel... =)

Ashlady,
I think u can get Sealy mattresses from Robinsons. My friend said tt they can be quite cheap if there is a sale. Was looking at mattresses too cos intending to buy a bed ;)

Hi mehmeh,
thanks! will take a look
Having a car really helps! Can travel around & save time. Budget abt 3k or less for mattress & bedframe. That's why we thought of getting the Sealy bedframes coz it comes with the mattress in less than 3k. Sealy mattress alone wld cost abt >2k.

Hi count,
I think the booking for PLMC is closed until next year. That's what I'm told.. they go by the calender year.
The particular Sealy model that we want is only found at Taka...heh. Just love the feel of it..very luxurious!
If you got the Robinsons'card even better..can get more discount!

hi ashlady,

u're welcome.. hahah, when do u have to 'return' the car to WB's dad?

U & WB really splurge on a mattress huh? Heheh, Derek & I didn't think it the most impt to have a Sealy, was way above our budget as well.. I guess, coz we never slept on a branded one, felt tt there wasn't a great need to

But if u select the Sealy bedframe are there alot of variety to make ur selection from? I actually quite liked those with the suede headboard, but my parents being D&T teachers strongly discourage coz of the maintenance required & a certain smell might develop after sometime.. *sigh* Just sthg i thot of letting u know

hi c1980

I'm not the most sure of its quality either, but seemed quite positive as a whole, judging fr the comments in parts of the Forum..
Anyway MTM a pair of shoes isn't quite my cup of tea, spending alot on 1 pair just disrupts me fr getting many pairs with tt same amt of money! hahah

hihi mehmeh,
It'll be a long time b4 he returns the car...heh.

Mattress very impt to him leh...also important to me! Coz I've been sleeping on not-so-good ones & I dont feel satisfied after a night's sleep..keke. Suede is it like velvet? Very hard to dry one right?

Sealy's ones are leather types...i like the cream color ones. Very limited choices actually but i saw one not bad. The design wise ok la...not too bad. Just that it has legs...I've this thinking that something will roll underneath the bed & I'll have difficulty picking it up! of coz..very difficult to clean underneath the bed also. Haha..weird right?!

hihi ashlady,

U're at home oredi? heheh.. So gd u get to use the car for a long long while, esp useful now tt u're still running ard alot to source the wedding stuff

Mattress of coz impt! heheh.. Suede's kinda like velvet, but has more of a smoother finish. Hard to dry ah? No idea, by right the headboard shdn't get wet rite?

Yeah, have seen Sealy's leather headboards.. I prefer dark colours though, fan of dark colours.. Which explains why i selected dark wood for the MBR's furniture. Ask them to 'chop' off the legs! hahah.. I prefer to have legs though, can't sleep to near the ground, highly sensitive nose! Ur thot isn't weird lah.. Legs to short, def hard to clean. Too high, can't get onto the bed! Have fun searching..

Saw Harvey Norman's bedframes at Millenia the other time when we're searching, they have pretty nice ones

wow.. so many post in a day.. today very hectic.. went recee at marina sq, suntec, millenia walk..

found the ideal shoe at primav... not sure how to spell it... some shop in m sq.. only at 29 bucks usual price at 69.. BUT dont have my size.. sob sob.. otherwise it will be perfect.. nothing matching in walking culture, hue, nova, vnc, etc

went harvey to look at bedroom set.. got disc but not nice.. quality not good..

went picket and rail again cos got 20% storewide disc.. manage to convince bf to consider.. cos they got customise wardrobe.. if getting wardrobe, chest drawer, dressing mirror, side table.. can meet budget at around 2k.. now got 2 choice.. ikea or P&R.. which one is better? in terms of quality..

mehmeh, how much u got ur workstation for? cos we also need one..

angela, my pastor is holding the hm in a school chapel.. my church is quite easy on this.. as long as they are comfortable with the couple during counselling i think

hi ashlady,
we love beds too.. willing to spurge on high quality linen and good beds.. i did not get sealy.. was considering the crown jewel range from taka last yr.. the majesty or royalty.. but in the end bought vi-spring from park mall.. it is much better than sealy.. but the mid range vi-spring is more ex than the top of the range sealy.. the best vi-spring cost 15k.. cant afford

was comparing simmons rosehall model and sealy crown jewel at the inital stage.. in the end prefer the sealy.. but my aunt who got the rosehall think simmons is better.. we were so close to get sealy that we told the salesgirl we will buy during the add 10% disc for taka card members.. think if u getting sealy in taka.. get urself a taka dbs card.. u are entitled to add 10% during cardmembers event.. if not go imm.. we went there.. there is one shop there that sell all sealy beds.. the crown jewel model was diff from taka.. and the crown jewel bed is not as comfy as taka ones.. sorry i only research on crown jewel range.. the rest not so sure... but if u not getting crown jewel.. u can go robinson too.. the emperor model is quite good.. cheaper than crown jewel range.. it also got add disc during card events.. robinson card got 5% to 10% rebate.. all these card will come in handy.. never buy sealy bed at harvey norman.. the tiara crown jewel bed in harvey is more ex than imm..

hi kat,
ur ad same as mine.. mehmeh has left some contacts some days ago in the thread.. otherwise u can shop in daniel.. my bridesmaid dress is from there.. if u have the budget, can try olive suite... or lavendar near the stamford court

hihi ggjj,

Oh Prima Vera huh? There's another outlet at J8, opp Charles & Keith! What colour was is it in? I think i vaguely remembered tt they had some red shoes

Harvey Norman not very gd quality huh? I just thought they had pretty gd designs, but didn't examine the quality in detail.. Oops, thankfully u checked out oredi

We paid ard $240 for the combination we did out of the Jerker Series. It's rather contemporary, but we selected the darkwood-lamination to suit the room's theme

I think P&R has better quality than IKEA? No idea, just got tt impression. But my colleague who fanices P&R stuff told me tt JB's City Square has a furniture shop which customises furniture & the rates are so much better than what P&R can ever offer. Tt's of coz if u've got the time to pop over.. Think for his dining set with 6/8 chairs & some other stuff, came up to no more than $1k (hope I'm right on this)?? They also do delivery

If u're really keen on this, I will go find out the details fr him again.. Howhow? U let me know lah

hi mehmeh,
yup prima vera.. i went j8 before..didnt see the design there.. asked the salesgirl at m sq.. she say this pair is clearing so only at m sq.. only got size 4, 5 and 6.. i size 7.. saw other red ones.. but more to red colour.. i want maroon shade.. too mad lor

harvey norman is like novena quality.. very filmsy.. i prefer vhive than harvey.. think the service is poor too.. and not that cheap compare to P&R during disc

will check out ikea again this weekend.. our schedule are all pack back to back.. very tiring.. want cheap and good.. so hard to find

we are very afraid of going to jb.. my mom went there and they were robbed at the petrol kiosk.. some gangster just open the back seat door and took the bag away.. my friend's bag got snatched too.. my bf parents got intimidated by some gangsters in the traffic jam.. all these happen in the span of 2 mths.. so since then we stop going to jb.. now our families a bit phobia.. when travel to malaysia, we drove past jb without stopping.. think we dont want to take the risk lah.. thanks for your offer anyway

hi ashlady,
thanks 4 yr compliments.
yeaps,the gown is my AD gown..it was a MTM gown, so was the EG.
i also wanted something more off-shoulder but i move around too much to keep it right off-shoulder! so the designer altered it a lil bit.
yeaps it is common for brides to wear bustiers nowadays, but it doesn't suit me. chosing other styles can be quite interesting too.
are you thinking of MTM-ing yr gown or will you choose OTR?

Hi SL,
that's for sharing yr photos & thots of yr wedding day! u look radiant
heh...also gets me prepared for mine..in less than a month to go! mayb if i have the time i'll do something like that aft the wedding too.

hihi ggjj,

Oh i see.. Oops, hope u find ur ideal pair soon.

Anyway, u drive into JB ah? I wldn't do tt.. Have heard of ppl who had just as horrifying experiences as you have had. Some were threatened at gunpoint. They can recognise S'poreans easily, esp those who drive, becoz of the car registration plate

hi skye skye,
My FH likes this OTR off-shoulder gown. My package is OTR. But I always thought i wanted a bustier one with a full skirt & super long train..keke.. I'm quite small size so not all OTR gowns can be altered. As for EG, not decided...I havent tried any OTR ones. So you must be very excited abt your Big Day that's coming!

Hi count,

Think im going to have the same problem as you. I have booked PLMC for my wedding next Feb but i am not able to plan anything as i do not know who is the pastor . think cannot rehearse and proint programme right? I was told that the new pastor in charge will come in next january, then the church can advise me. Don know how now..i also like PLC very much.

I bought the sely mattress at bout 3k with bedframe. must bargain for more pillows..kekeke as they are quite obliging.

Think P&R has better quality as well. My fren bought a bedrooom set and she was telling me tat she can feel her bed shaking after 2 months.

Dear Angelala, *hugs* don't worry ok? At least u got the church venue and will definitely have a pastor. For us, still not sure how cos the pastors will be away tt weekend! Just pray and commit it to God. Was quite upset last week when i found out but now have come to realise tt we shd commit these things to God, and trust in His provision...

Where did u get ur sealy mattress? Which brand did u friend buy tt creaked? Cos I'm thinking of buying a sealy bed but must ensure tt it is not creaky! =)

Thanks count for your encouragement. Is just that i am trying not to plan anything from mid Jan onwards incase i become so stress later..kekek

Oh , i was saying that one of my fren bought an ik*a bedroom set and she say that its shaky now. I bought my sealy mattress and frame from Robinson. I think should be fine as they are the #1 brand in US..thats what they say at least.

hi angelala,
so u think p&r is better than ikea? but i not getting the bed there.. i calculate liao.. ikea one set (wardrobe, chest drawer, dressing mirror, one side table) abt 1.5k and p&r abt 2.2k.. dont know whether i should get p&r

hi mehmeh,
used to drive to jb.. until the incident.. before that already know.. but tot not so suay wont get it.. then think we are seasoned traveller so will not be targeted..

actually now i am abit disoriented.. not sure whether this is the right word to use.. have known for a few weeks that my bro and his wife are not in good terms and they are contemplating divorce.. i tot only talk only.. but now it seems quite certain.. also dont know how to describe my feelings.. i not very close to my bro.. but both my bf and i feel that the girl is not bad.. we just feel like it is a loss to my bro.. but dont know how to talk to 2 of them..

hi ggjj,

*hugs* I think u & ur BF quite lost yah? U wish u cld do sthg, but not sure if u shd & what exactly is best? Moreover, it's sthg rather personal but yet a family issue..

How close are u to ur SIL? Maybe u cld find out what was the thing tt first attracted them to each other? Sthg tt reminds them of the sweet moments & maybe use tt to help balance the negative thoughts.. Any idea what's the issue(s) which have caused the thot of divorce to surface?

Sometimes to talk it out may seem difficult.. Had a fren who when she had diasgreements with her dad, she wld write a letter to her dad to express her thoughts. I thot this is a gd way to communicate when both parties are angry, coz they may exchange nasty words if they communicate verbally. Writing a letter, usually wld mean ur more emotionally stable & gives the writer & reader time to process the words instead of verbal exchange. In ur case, u cld email both ur SIL & bro & discuss via email & it will seem less threatening?

Share ur concern & how as an outsider, u view them as a wonderful couple & list things which they might just not be aware of..

hi ggii,
Not sure how fesible it is to suggest this to your bro or SIL..but sometimes seeing a counsellor may be able to help. Though mostly things must have become quite bad b4 couples contemplate divorce & usually they wouldnt see the point of seeing a counsellor. Nonetheless, i feel that if there's a slightest bit of reconciliation hope, they shld try to resolve. A counsellor wld be able to help the couple work through marital issues & increase understanding & perhaps improve conflict resolution.

There shld be a Family Service Centre in the area your bro is staying. He & his wife can approach the FSC for counselling service. If not, there are always private counselling centres around. But wld be more expensive. If you need more info, I'd be very glad to help!

I hope it doesn't sound like a propaganda but coming from a family who has a few carpenters, it is said that ikea's quality rates very low with those in carpentry industry. If you're going for ikea, it's the packaging, price and convenience you're getting.

hi mehmeh and ashlady,
thanks for your support.. on top of my wedding preps, got this issue in our minds.. been praying for them.. i also dont know what else to say.. i think my parents are also very affected... and my bro refuses to open up to us.. my sis in law is open for discussion.. but he is just not talking.. now only hope he will not do anything foolish..

hi life,
thanks for your feedback.. we finally bought a set from picket and rail today.. stop our search already..

Hi SL,

Thanks for sharing your writeup with me... I think it's really wonderfully done... Your hubby's very lucky to have a wife like you... I hope my wedding will be as special as yours...

I love your gowns too, even the one your hubby bought from Bangkok!

C1980 and ggjj, thanks for the advice on the gowns.. will check them out...

skye skye and ggjj, can I see your photos too? My email is [email protected].

hi ggjj,

yah, got to advise ur bro to seriously consider instead of rushing into a decision... Just as marriage is a big decision, so is divorce rite?? becoz he is also accountable to the ppl he took the vows before

Hi Esiuol,

Prob thank ur parents, siblings & helpers.. Also ur guests. Most importantly the thanksgiving speech shd be heartfelt

hi Esiuol

Just to add, i did my speech impromptu, i didn't feel incline to scripting a speech, i wanted it to come fr the heart, but of coz u can jot down the important ppl u def have to Thank, becoz u might just get so excited & accidentally forget out some ppl u had intended to thank

Dear gals...

M still vexed over the wedding. I had in mind what I wanted, basically something v different but realise that it is difficult to achieve, given the many expectations especially frm older folks. Went to meet coordinator and was told my idea not like a wedding, more like a D&D. Sian man. Mayb I shld just get a church then have a chinese dinner like most pple
. I was planning for a western wedding. Maybe I am just not realistic.

Hi ebell,

I know what you mean. I wanted to do things not traditional like serving tea at the chapel or the hotel to save the running-around and time but my parents insisted that we must go back to their home to do it. I'll have to cut short my reception to accomodate this. Initially, I wanted to meet my fiance in church instead of having him fetching me, but my elder sister told my mother that we are not respecting them. It's really very sian. It's your wedding and people tell you what to do.

hi life, u know, i feel exactly the same.... my FIL are wanting me to go their place in morning for tea and gatecrash and all././....i dunno whether i can still have time for chuch wedding...

hi girls!

happy halloween! =)

dont be too discouraged ok? =) it is natural for family members to have different expectations when it comes to wedding coz it's an exciting affair and everyone wants to chip in their ideas. =) when you look back after the wedding you will realise it is not worth ruining any relationships over the wedding preparations. =)

take for example... my hubby had a very westernised aunt who is very close to him who found it absolutely strange for him to come to pick me up in th emorning and to go through the gatecrashing... she felt traditionally the couple should only meet for the first time in church! that is.. if we were ang moh's la... hahaha... i was quite surprised coz obvsiouly my parents were not that westernised and they still believed that the groom should respect the bride's parents by coming to pick their daughter up...

think he didnt want to upset his aunt... so he didnt tell her otherwise immediately. so i had the impression he was for the idea... i was very frank and firm. i told him he can skip the tea ceremony at his place if his family thinks they were too ang mo-nised for that... but he will still have to come to pick me up and serve tea to my family members. hee.

thank god... later he admitted to me that he would have preferred it the traditional chinese way so that we can involve more of our friends and have more fun in the morning... and it would have made my parents happy too... in the end we decided that we should just do as we had planned earlier and not take his aunt's suggestion...

i guess what i'm trying to say is... collaborate and discuss with your FH. for all you know, he might be on your side... and do pick your battles to fight... nto all battles are worth fighting. if you can compromise... why not? remember wedding is never meant to be a couple's affair... it's a community's affair. hahahaha... that i have found out during my preps... if that is something we cant change... why not make it a happy one for everyone? =)

hi kat...

thanks! =) i was just too lazy to upload photo by photo so thot of this idea instead coz cutting an dpasting on words document was a lot faster! =) and besides.. i'm a closet blogger! hahahaha... =P

life... i just thot of something... actually serving tea to bride's family traditionally is supposed to be 3 days after (guo san chiu)... if your parents are really that traditional they shouldnt mind you serving tea another day... work on that? then you dont have to cut short your reception... as for your hubby's how about doing it before the church wedding? it doenst take very long... =)

Thanks, SL,

They are traditional but they are also "modern" at the same time - they know that brides nowadays serve tea to both sides on the same day and I think they feel that afternoon is the "right" time to serve tea to the bride's family. When I told them "but my photographer is only going to be around till 1.30pm" for the morning session, they said,"No need photography." Really, I don't think they know what they are talking about because I'm sure when the photos come out and tea ceremony for them is not included, they'll have something to say again - "you never respect us""why you engage photographer for the groom's family and not us?""you think we're not important" blah blah blah ...

They even insist that I should ask my FIL to go to my new place for the tea ceremony because "you are supposed to serve tea at the place you stay after the wedding" and so that "your brother can put the oranges on your new bed". I don't know what my FIL are going to say to that: asking them to go to another venue just so that we can serve tea to them. And we're talking about quite early in the morning.

I suppose I'll just have to accommodate what they want on their part to avoid having my elder sister adding fuel to fire. I'm beginning to suspect that not getting married at 30 plus really does something to a female.

Ericia,

I intend to go to my fiance's side in the morning to serve tea - minus the transport time, I allocate about 30 mins to serve tea and take photos with my in-law. I intend to have a short gatecrashing. Actually, I find gatecrashing quite meaningless and childish even because we're already quite old. I feel embarrassed to have it but apparently my elder sister enjoys it. I think I'll allocate 10 mins for it.

hi ebell & life,
I feel exactly the same way as you all...like it's your wedding but you dont really have all the decision-making. I'm beginning to experience this & it's frustrating! esp when you have to respect the older folks & all their traditions & supersitions!

guess what? think i'll have to change my wedding dates!! I cant believe this...even my wedding date ppl also got so many things to say abt it. Like will clash with FH's mother la...bring bad luck to her..what nonsense is this man. Sigh...feeling quite upset abt it actually but no choice loh..dont want us to be scapegoats next time if anything happens to her. I mean, anything can happen nonetheless right? My FH also feel very torn b/w his side & me...talking abt compromising..haiz. Sometimes i feel so tired i feel like dont want to get married anymore! hee...eloping sounds wonderful to me! haha... just kidding la.

haiz... then i guess i'm pretty blessed coz generally both are parents are quite chin chai... we actually had the freedom to do anything we want as long as the usual traditional stuff are not foregone... as in gatecrashing, roast pig, tea ceremony...

do commit it to God... i'm sure the girls here can testify that when the going gets tough the only person who understands is the Lord. =)

my mommy also wanted to check almanac. but you see... my inlaws are all christian... she even wanted to me get their sheng chen ba zi. hahahaha... ask me how to open my mouth to ask for it right? the only smart thing i did was to tell God about it. hahahaha... and amazingly... my mommy actually said it herself that it was so mafan right? haiz... can i ask my inlaws to go and check the almanac? i nearly fainted!! then she laughed to herself and said... think no need la... as long as we are happy can liao... =PPPPP and the best part? we randomly choose our wedding dates and it turned out that the chinese lunar calendar said it was 8th day of the 8th month! like the best dates in the year lor! hahaha... mommy happy, i also happy. =P God is good right?! =)

cheer up ok? wedding/marriage is supposed to be the happiest day in your life! =) if need be... retreat, pray and plan again. =) i'm sure like what the bible says, God works for the good of those who loves Him. =)

oh yes... i think if you think about it.. sometimes parents/siblings throw up so many strange patterns also because they really want the best for us... even tho we dont necessarily agree with the way they do it... just like checking the almanac... i understand my mom really wanted us to have a great marraige ahead... but i didnt agree with the method. no point clashing with her... but to bring it to the Lord to change her mindset. i'm sure God has the best intent for you too. as you choose to honour Him, will He make things impossible for you?

smile! and happy holidays!

Ashlady, Ebell and the other girls,
Don't be too upset ok? I had the same problems too - FH's mother spent more than half a yr being unable to decide on the date and refusing to commit to a date. Finally, when she decided, she insisted tt we go to a shifu and find out the contacts for the shifu! When we finally settled the banquet venue, we realised tt the church was not available that particular weekend cos all the pastors would be away on retreat! Until now, we are still in a dilemma and have yet to find a church venue and pastor. Was very very upset over the past week cos i felt as if God was working against me by placing so many obstacles in our way, from the date to pastor retreat when all i really wanted was a simple church wedding! Hai~

But as SL says, we are now trusting and waiting upon the Lord to provide us with a church and pastor. We believe tt this will be a blessing in disguise, as He has greater plans for us! Take heart ok, and don't be discouraged!!

And AshLady, we did think abt eloping too! More precisely, going to Bali, getting married in a beautiful chapel there and going directly for our honeymoon! Haha! Great minds think alike! ;)

hi kat,
u got mail

hi mehmeh,
i dont really know what is in his mind.. he has been drinking every night.. my mom is worried sick.. thanks for your support anyway

hi ebell,
i also want to have a more westernised wedding.. in the end i compromised cos my parents are still very traditional.. as what sl mentioned, do pick your battles to fight.. i told my mom i will not bow down to the family altar, not even stand in front of it.. that will be my battle
our initial plan was to go to hotel and have the tea ceremony, church solemnisation,etc there.. we even booked function rooms, salons for the day events.. and we were thinking of splitting into 2 days.. but my mom dont like.. she say my parents are still alive.. and we have a home.. so the groom must come to my house to fetch me etc etc... i guess these battles are not worth fighting for..

hi ericia,
dont worry u got time for all these.. i have already worked out my timing and it looks ok.. still got time for buffet lunch, and church reception

hi count & SL, thanks for your encouragements! Somehow for wedding prep i'm struggling to trust & wait in the Lord. not sure why though...somehow it seems easier to trust & wait for other things.

But hey, I've bought some of my new furniture at Harvey Norman sale recently. A sealy mattress, Suede low bedframe, a bedside table & a wardrobe. We got the bedfeame at 50% since we were also getting the mattress from them.

After looking ard and not finding any that really "wow" us (except those at Parkmall..hee), HN was the best choice. Looking forward to decorating the room next yr!

hi ashlady,
wow.. u bought ur furniture this yr when ur ad is next yr.. i just bought my furniture from p and r.. any idea where to get cheap and nice lights? i saw some at balestier.. so many shops see until eyes blur blur..

I always get church wedding invites in postcard form on which the couple's pic is printed. I thought that was the norm until I called up a printer today. She asked me to go to a digital something ... printer. Then when I checked with a friend, she said her graphic designer friend did it for her and sent it to the printer to print. I'm quite lost. Is there any printer whom I can just give the pic to and get them to customise the wording for me? How much does that cost for a 100 pc?

hi ggjj,

Balestier doesnt exactly have cheap lightings either.. But think tt's the best place to start off. Was thinking of Jalan Beser too

hihi Ashlady,

So u going to change the dates anot? How did WB's mum know tt the wedding date will be an issue to her? Hmm...

So happy u got ur suede bed.. I like tt too, if my house is aircon the whole day, i wld like suede for my sofa.. But nah, impossible for this to happen. When will they deliver? Esp since u haven't reno WB's room & WB's going to sleep on the Sealy & all first? hahah

hi ebell,

Go with ur heart.. I think sometimes u can never satisfy everyone's opinion. It's ur wedding & so long tt's what ur FH wants too, i dun see what is the problem.

We're always bound by what others have done & tt demarcates our scope of doing things? I sure dun think so, u dun want to regret tt what u wanted cld not materialise too rite? Submit ur requests to God

Btw, what do u mean by a western wedding?? I'm all ears to hear ur exciting plans!

hi ashley

U rem my church invite? It was also done in a postcard format & had pix of myself & my HB. I did get a fren who knew graphic designing to translate what I done up in Word into the necessary format for digital printing.

U can give some printers the pix u want & the wordings u want & pay them to do the designing aspect as well. I think if u only print 100pc, it might cost quite abit though...

The printer I engaged can do the designing, but u wld have to pay the design fee, ard $30-40 i think

Hi mehmeh,

Thanks for your advice. Now I know. Actually I didn't get to see your church invite. Is it in the multiple too? I didn't notice it.

Which printer did you go to? Just abt how much are you talking abt when you say "quite abit"? Is it like $200?

Am glad that you're around. I typed my previous posting and went to take a bath. Then I saw your reply.

hi mehmeh,
ya loh..going to change the dates. his grandma told his father loh..

His room reno prob a a few mths b4 AD so the furniture can go in...Hee..ya, a bit early to get furniture hor...we are thinking of getting the furniture in at least 1 mth b4 AD. I dunno where he's going to sleep man! hee...maybe put another mattress on the floor? heh.

hi girls, long time since i posted here. all of u busy preparing ur future lovenests yeh? me also started looking into the renovation plan liao...
a lot of things to plan, where to put electric points, lighting points...so headache and had so many disagreements with FH over these...right now all we have done is only to confirm the tiles for living room! the rest still trying to sort out
hi mehmeh, i know i havent replied to you. i been too busy to do much wedding stuff preparation or planning lately. sigh too many stuff too luan also. my wedding planning mainly only venues and BS done; the rest like programme and all still not done.

sorry girls, can i ask what is the roast pig for? for the groom side to deliver to bride's house is it or the other wat round? i thot that that is very traditional right? dint know that nowadays still need to practise such stuff?