Christian Brides

hihi ebell,

I second ggjj's suggestion on Raffles Hotel's lawn.. Pretty & cozy, but will depend on the size of ur guest no.
U can also try Amara, Carlton & Grand Hyatt, not a garden setting, but poolside with lotsa greenery.. Maybe u shd browse some hotels' websites or look up for more details in wedding magazines?

If u dun mind country clubs, u might also want to try The Pines, looks lovely! Or Orchid CC..

hihi ggjj,

U're most welcome!!

U can upload ur pix to Yahoo photos i think.. But not make it a public album, only by invitation.. Heard photobucket is also gd! Do a google search for sthg easy to use.. Preferably not snapfish/kodak or ofoto, frens u invited via email are expected to register before they view, which is quite a hassle i feel..

Have used fotopic.net also, quite a lot of space for one to upload & u can restrict some albums with passwords & make others with more free access

hi c1980 & SL,
can share with me too? [email protected]

SL,
900 is a lot of photos tho! but it should be quite fun to sift through all of them still

i took back all my PS photos, but have yet to upload any of them though. got some at my blog to show my friends but it already feels so daunting to upload so many! haa..

good morning everyone!
just sent out the link to the photos to you so please tell me if you have not received it. also please do not share the link ok? thanks in advance.

in terms of recommendation for photo sharing sites, the one i use is quite good. it allows you to upload up to 100 at a go, has password protection and all the important features. perhaps you can check it out. to resize pictures, you can check the link i posted previously. it resizes as a batch so it saves you the trouble of resizing them one by one.

this helps you in loading your pix up faster too!

hope this all helps!

hi ebell: singapore has a few outdoor spots that are nice. just take into consideration the number you want to invite. that should help to narrow down the list. i remember reading about a chapel in changi. it looks so quaint. perhaps that can be another consideration?

Wow.. haven't been in here for a long time...
the thread really moves fast!!

Piepie, nice to see you here too :D It's only a few more weeks to your BIG DAY!!! Enjoy the process yah..

Gals... me getting overwhelmed with the wedding preps lately.... no wonder pple were telling me that it's normal to shake legs until the last few months... lately, things seem to be on the opposite side of the coin...

FH will tell me lots of things on the phone.. eg: the church program, the car, the MC items, the praise and worship songs, the furniture for the room, painting etc etc.... and it became my turn to listen...

The past few months, it was him listening to me blabbering on the phone... about the invitation cards, the video presentation, the dinner program, the caterers etc etc...

Now, the problem is with the caterers.. know what? My wedding is in 2 months' time and I still haven't confirmed my caterer... quite a few things cropped up....

count, can share your CJS package too?
SL, how's your experience with CDCS as a whole? Most likely settling with them

ebell, think it may be good for you to really list down what are the things not done before deciding in the change of date? cos like you, the nearer it gets to my date, the more I felt like postponing it..... but slowly, it seems that you only gets real busy during the last 3 months of your wedding preps... (just ensure that the venues are available and booked first...)

SL, enjoy your party yah.. share pics with us soon.. though I know it will really take ages to upload hehe :P

hi Teng,

More often, u dun have to book ur caterer too soon, coz u can't quite finalise ur expected no. I booked mine 1 week prior to the day, but tt was after i had confirmed tt the arrangement was okie on the part of the caterer

U shd praise God tt ur FH's quite pro-active too, help u to cover asepcts which u might have forgotten or delayed.. Press on!

Hi mehmeh,
thanks for your assurance.
feel much better.... cos been hearing caterers telling me to book with them fast and giving me deadlines somemore.... that's why eventually didn't book with them as i hate to be hurried.. and of course, I don't like the idea of hard-selling.

Ok, at least now I know I still have time to really make up my mind...

Ebell,
have you tried the Yacht Club near West Coast? It's a beautiful place and think you can arrange for transport in. Changi Village, is it the one near the beach/sea? I went there for a company function just few days ago.. beautiful location... for an outdoor wedding.. but as what you said, a bit run down at some parts...

hihi Teng,

which caterers are u considering? those which i contacted didn't hurry me or bug me to confirm the booking. I didn't want to book too early, in case there's an overestimate of guest no.

prob those who are hurrying u, want to seal the deal & get their commission.. At least tt was how I felt when i spoke to one guy fr Rasel. Was quite turned off..

hi teng,
just a word of advice. if your wedding reception is during a peak period, its advisable to check on their availability.

there are "seasonal" periods in the catering calendar too. for eg, christmas (where all the christmas parties are...), CNY... this kind of period. so it is better to give yourself some buffer.

i do catering for functions occasionally and there was one particular week it was a horror as all the regular caterers were booked out. give yourself some time to check out the caterers and settle it when you are comfortable. but try not to cut too close to the date.

hi count, take your time... :D

Hi count,
sent you an email.
mine is [email protected]
thanks in advance yah

Hi c1980,
thanks for your reminder. Will try to confirm it fast.
Can share your pics too if you don't mind?

Hi mehmeh,
agree totally with you, it must have been the commission thing... and it didn't happen to one or two. One caterer even told me to confirm by 7 days if not they will open up the slot to another couple.. and that was somewhere in august/sep and my wedding is in December.

haha... i had the same experience with that caterer too.. and i wasn't the one getting turned off, it was my FH cos he said she's like hurrying me to make up my mind on the spot.

hi Teng,

I liked Rasel at their workshops, deco & food was veryvery gd. But when i tried once at someone's wedding recep in church, the food's cold & mainly frozen food..

But c1980 has a gd point, there are days which might have been fully booked too

hi teng, perhaps because its in Dec. i saw the calendar and found some double booking for weddings, and there are quite a lot of christmas parties / functions going on. so they might be telling the truth about opening it up to others. you got to admit, december is a rather hot month. (though... aug is a bit of a stretch)

in any case, sent you the links. please do not share.

hi mehmeh, just realised i didn't show you the PS photos. you keen? (since i am sending the links out...) they aren't as nice as yours though. :D

hihi c1980,

My PS pix nicer than urs?? heheh, no lah.. U had no intention to really have 1 mah.. Suresure, send me k? I love seeing pix.. I think how the persona of the couple is captured is more impt than the MU, hairdo, flowers & blahblahblah...

really...! yours is very nice...
sending it over now.

i just came back from dropping by Founder's Day at PLMC. you were from PLMGSS too right?

hihi c1980,

thanks for ur lovely compliments.. had a bad start at work today, big boss made snide comments on needless/minor issues.. *sigh* but ur comments have lifted my spirits up again! *muacks*

I was fr PLMGSS, u too??? I was fr class of 1997 though, u? I wanted to go for the dinner, but i can't make it coz many frens aren't going, so can't form a table of 10. But will def go next year, coz it's the 90th anniversary!!

Hi c1980,

It's my first time in this thread

So what BS & banquet venue have you decided on?

I'm currently scouting around for banquet venues...havent scout for BS yet..thought that could wait a little.

hi welcome!
when are you planning for your AD?

my AD is already over...
i did it very DIY style. my WG is from Allure Charix, EG and CS from Ted Collection. PS was done by a friend as was AD's videography.

then makeup is by Jacquelyn and her husband did my hairstyling. they run a salon in Cuppage area. our banquet was at Le Meridien.

Hi c1980,

Oh I see.. I heard Allure Charix has very lovely gowns. So you only got the gown from them? I went to Ted Collection to look at their CS... very unqiue in a way.

My AD is 23 Sept 06

Hi count,

Nice to know you were from PL!

So when is your AD? Have you decided on your BS and banquet venue?

hi mehmeh and c1980,
thanks for your recommendation.. will get my bf to look into it.. that's his dept..

hi c1980,
thanks for sending me the photos.. havent see the slideshows yet.. will view over the weekend.. btw, realise that you got one album on collages and scrapbook.. is it done by you? can teach me..

hi teng,
think we are getting married on teh same day right.. those things ur fh mentioned.. i also havent look into it yet.. stress..

think u need to confirm ur caterer earlier as mentioned by c1980.. dec is a peak period and normally company will have christmas parties etc.. so the date u want may be fully booked.. i was having difficulty planning my co christmas party before cos all the caterers are booked.. my staff have to comb thr the entire yellow pages..
btw, the menu for dec should be more ex.. cos it is festive season

btw, i dunno if i asked u girls this b4, blur liao, too many threads...
after PS, is there a certain chinese tradition of giving what albums or what montage to FH's parents and to own parents? like one big one small to his parents to keep...sth like that? i heard this fr someone but i forgot abt which album need to give who liaoz.

Thanks Teng,

From the list, looks like I'm the next!!!

Seems like I've left God out during this busy period... Juggling the wedding prep, house reno, shifting & work.. Me and FH are all drained out..

Sigh...

hihi c1980,ashlady & count,

wow, we really have covered years of 96,97 & 98.. actually ashlady's my churchmate (HOPE congre) & PL classmate.. heheh

hi Ericia,

Generally the small 4R or 5R album is given to ur mum. But my mum didn't ask for it & on hindsight, i shd have traded tt in for more pix in the main album

i have received the second draft.. now ready to show the full album.. but please dont view and say nice only ok.. must provide comments for improvements.. more heads think better than 1.. esp my that bf.. very shui pian (hope i spell correctly) one.. these are still the work in progress.. not finalise one..

Hey ggjj dear, send to me if u don't mind! I'll see if can help with comments. always love to look at photos! Hee ;)

Ericia,
sent! fyi, teng and ericia, i received the email on 22 August from CJS so it shd be the most updated =)

hi ggjj, can i see too? :D [email protected] yes, i did the collages and scrapbook ones myself. the "raw" photos are in the other albums down the page. basically my package with the photographer is all the high res shots returned, 300 4R prints.

i took the soft copy and edited them to make my own coffee table book of sorts.

hi ashlady, yes, i got only the wedding gown from Allure Charix. partly because when i first got the gown their range for CS and EG were not very suitable for me. then i also signed up with Ted Collection already after. No regrets though. :D

hi count and c1980,
good morning.. i seldom wake up so early esp on a sat.. too eager to see my photos again..

anyway, u got mail..

c1980,
can teach me how to do the collages and scrapbook? thanks

c1980,
btw, i use ur recommendations to upload my pics in myphotoalbum.. find it very good and userfriendly.. just that i cant state the expiry of the sharing.. some other ones got validity of sharing ones.. u know how to remove sharing after a certain period?

Hi gals! Morning!

Thought i share something here...

In my enthusiasim abt the wedding preparation, I've been actively looking at banquet venues & liasing with the managers thru emails...making a couple of appts with them...& then sharing my findings with my bf & informing him of the appts.

well, he really appreciates it & thank me. But he also reminded me to give him some space to be involved also (which is not the same as giving him instructions on what to do).

You know, like when a person overfunctions, the other person underfunctions? hee... something on hindsight even as i start my wedding prep

Good Morning Sisters!
319926.gif

hihi ggjj,

Dun forget abt emailing to me k?? either to the one i've sent u to view the pix or to this [email protected]

hihi AshLady,

Wow, tt's really wonderful.. Pray tt the enthusiasm for both of u to sustain thru the entire preps. Rem to help ur brother (or sister) when he falls..

So going to any venue to recee today?

Hihi mehmeh,

Thanks! Sometimes it can be really stressful as well..esp discussing with parents abt traditions & customs.. & of coz money!

Today going to his cousin's baby 1 mth old celebration..then hop down to Orchard Parade Hotel to look at the Club Chinos ballroom. There is a wedding going on today & the manager said we could drop by to see the set-up

By the way, yesterday i went to the Raffles Town Club. The service & food not very gd leh. i think they are short-handed...as in 1 waiter to a few tables. i din enjoy the food...I wonder if it's a wedding it'll be different. Anyway, the ballroom is big & spacious!

hihi ggjj,

Received with thanks! viewing them right now... Gimmee awhile k?? heheheh

hihi Ashlady,

Cool! Gd opp to view the actual set-up, do rem the constraints of the tables i mentioned via email yah?

Oh, so sad to hear RTC was abit disappointing.. How many tables were down yest?? Maybe it wld be better at weddings. I had my sch's anniversary dinner at Orch Hotel prior to the wedding & the food & service really were quite disappointing, tt set me worrying. But i realised the price difference & tt i had communicated my bad experience, thus it was so much better at mine..

Have lotsa fun today!

hihi ggjj

The layout's pretty gd for the indoor shots.. Between this & the OD ones, find there's more variety in them as compared to those at Bintan (or was it Bali)? The photos 27 - 33 & a couple others had too much mirror-imaging of the background/scenerary to merge the background? A little of it for some pages may still look unique, but too much of it, brings forth a very computer-effect??

I did add a comment in the online album, to one of ur B&W shot of u in ur red CS.. Stunning pix!

Maybe u seek more opinions? I'm still quite a purist by nature (prefer full-page), coz i've seen some artwork/collage of other PS albums fr some BSs & just doesn't capture the right essence of a wedding PS. It's just like a series of pix? U know what i mean? A gd pix wld not need accompanying ones to bring out the emotions, it wld itself speak alot

hi ggjj,
your photos are wonderful! think they did a good job with the album. did you top up a lot for the photos? kaypoh here. :D the album has a lot of blending... among the recent albums i have seen, i think this one balances it quite well. not too much.

i guess i can teach but a lot of it comes from playing around with photoshop... i have been twindling with it every now and then so...

as for the album, i am not sure. i think under the settings there is a way to change. will tell you when i figure out myself.

hi ggjj,
can send me too? [email protected]

hi Ashlady,
i'm going to hav my banquet at Club Chinois, could you tell me mo abt how's it like when you go there to see today? thanks
the last time i went was quite some time ago and i heard they had some new changes to the set up or something.

got question again: as I am having church and dinner with separate guests (some invite to both; some invite to only church; some only dinner), i am wondering how should the wedding invites be handled.
for my case, i dun think church will provide wedding invitation cards for me to print; but my banquet venue will. dun think the banquet venue will give more than the no of guests i inviting to the dinner though. so that means i gotta find the additional cards for 'church only' guests myself yeh?
and how should i handle the invitation print on the cards? possible to have 3 types: invitation to church only, invitation to both and invitation to dinner only? how do u girls handle? the printer vendor will allow such thing?

hi again,
i am having church and tea and dinner all on one day. anyone having same thing as me and can email me a wedding planner I can refer to, ie by which mth before AD i must book what, plan what, prepare what...etc...
anyone also can email me an AD programme or helper programme or stuff like that? i think i gotta start doing some more detailed planning.i been lazing ard too much and my FH, sigh, too busy with work to do anyth

hi mehmeh,
thanks.. i agree that the indoor layout is better.. i also not very satisfied with the outdoor layouts.. my bf say outdoor got background so a bit hard to have unique layouts.. and outdoor got only one gown so not much variety.

my outdoors are in sg and bintan.. i also agree on the overdose on mirror image.. thanks for your feedback..

that pix u commented is my fav.. think it is the best..

i was actually toying with the idea of having one digital album and one traditional album.. but my bf insists of having all digital cos traditional album we can develop ourselves.. so he got us 2 digital albums.. which is more value for money..

however, we did discuss that if the digital layouts are not as ideal.. we will switch back to traditional pics.. now that we see the digital layouts.. we decided to stick to it cos he say that there is more value added onto the pics..

i do agree with him.. but we will definitely developing some ourselves.. if u want, will show u the individual pics when we receive the soft copy..

hi c1980,
thanks for your compliments.. we did top up a lot for the albums.. got 150 pics in total..

mmm.. why dont u send me something to read.. will find time to play with my pics after my wedding..

i tried all setting already.. dont have.. do let me know if u can alter the sharing period.. thanks

hi skye,
u got mail

hi ericia,
i also did what u are going to do.. so i got my own invites designer.. did away with my hotel invites.. my invites will be in 2 sheets.. one for banquet and one for church.. if inviting both, will send both together.. if only inviting one, will send only one..

u may want to consider doing that..

i also got all in one day.. so we engage a planner.. she did a lot of things, eg theme wedding, wedding stationery, decor, caterer, cake, etc, i only source for my bridal shop.. the rest inc videographer, photographer, etc are all done by her..

is that what u want.. or u just want a coordinator?

i got her when i book my banquet in april last yr and my wedding is in this dec..

thanks ggjj,
can tell me more abt ur invites designer? is she the same as the wedding planner or card printer?

for the wedding planner, did you hire her or is she someone u know? how much did you pay if she was hired?

sigh, i am the kind too thin skinned and paiseh to ask pple to help me. dun dare to bother or trouble any fren in case they find me a bother.

hi ericia,
i engaged my wedding planner for 3k.. then i describe to her what i want.. so she got her team to design the invites for me..

before i engaged my wedding planner - the Wedding Butler, we interviewed practically all planners, e.g. wedding entourage, wedding acts, third party, wedding concierge, etc.. found her still the best cos she is the pioneer in this line.. and she is very sincere.. we enjoy working with her..

btw, think her charges have increased.. and the 3k she quoted us was for the services.. vendors, invites etc are separately quoted.. we have no regrets so far.. she knows we have a tight budget.. so she is helping us to watch our expenses.. though i think she will be most happy if we engage the better well known bridal designer.. other than that.. we have listened and followed her advice..

hihi ggjj,

Phew.. I was so worried my msg wld have dampen ur preps spirits... PTL! When u said u & ur FH wld develop the pix on ur own, giving the traditional album look, wld u also compile into an a 15/10R album or ??

i'm very happy with my PS album, but thinking of doing a coffee table album on my own of the AD pix or a Super HUGE portrait for my new house in future..

U're the 1st person i know who engaged a wedding planner!
320032.gif
It's really cool.. I do intend & have been strongly encouraged by several frens to go into wedding planning in future... Hope i dun ruin weddings though!

hi ericia,

I was in the same situation.. Some guests strictly church or banquet only, whilst some others to both. I did use my hotel's invites & also printed my own for church.. On hindsight I shd have printed the church invites the same dimensions as the banquets, coz tt means to post, i wld only need 1 envelope, in my case, I used 2

Will fwd u this wedding preps schedule tt i am sharing in another thread.. Hmm, many clueless BTBs are also in ur situation, but found tt the preps schedule very helpful. Was based on my research fr those provided by Her World Brides, Style Weddings & observing experiences of my frens'

U can work on the AD schedule, helper's job desription much later on.. I also have fwded tt before to count & ggjj i think. But my AD schedule's quite relax, coz mine's a split-day affair