Christian Brides

Hi viv,

Glad that I can help. When are you planning your AD? I am preparing my service booklet now, maybe can share with you in a few weeks time.

Can confirm for you now that for service in catholic churches, you can choose your passages to exclude any mention of Mary. In fact many songs familiar to us christians could be use instead too (eh have to let priest vet thru your choices). Eg. for responsorial psalm, some couples have used the song As the deer instead.

hi mehmeh, my AD in june next yr, is it possible for the church deco for the pews to keep so long? i may not need the ringpillow though cos i getting one free fr goldheart

hi sisters, seems like many of us are going thru a diff time in the church wedding planning. lets rem to have faith in the Lord and His will be done.
ebell, sorry, when's ur AD? I cant find ur name in the table.
for myself, i went ahead with a decision that was also very painful and difficult and with many oppositions. i made this decision by putting aside my own selfish wishes and my FIL's wishes and trying to put God first. I tried to think of which venue and which type of wedding would please Him most and that will be HM at the church me and FH are attending. my selfish wish initially was to have solemnisation at a nice, more scenic venue like RCC foyer which will prob please FIL as well.. cos the church i currently attend is quite small and does not look so 'glamourous'. but now i am sorry for thinking this way.

have updated the table!
318813.gif

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 10 Oct 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Elsie's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">piepie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">1 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriot</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vincent/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PrintWorz</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest?</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Carelinwen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3 &amp; 5 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Theresa's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hyatt</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rent-A-Decor</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Captured Moments</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ggjj</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SJI Chapel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Secret Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sophia Wedding Collection</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Novex Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Carribean Cruise &amp; Florida Tour</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wedding Butler</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Angelala</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Julia Wedding News</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yew Kwang/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">flower1</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holy Grace Presbyterian</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lunch @ Marriot</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amanda Lee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond/Plush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ebell</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">12 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Moo Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bali/NZ</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Old Aiport Rd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ericia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photolanguage/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font></td></tr></table>

Hi ericia,

Hmm, i figure i ought to be able to preserve it. At the moment they are stored in proper condition, but figure tt i can't guarantee as well..

Hi flower,

I'm not exactly in-charge of the table.. Just happened to be ard &amp; a sis-in-Christ handed over. Prob might hand-over when I really get tied down in work..

hi life,

I hope ur talk with the Pastor today would help u cool down. We're usually uptight with the wedding so close &amp; the wedding being the biggest day of our lives, we wld be more concern when things go wrong?

Hmm, what do u mean the church has asked u &amp; ur FH to attend a counselling session by a psychologist?

Take a step back &amp; find out the cause.. Def no Pastor shd consider himself as a superior being, the bible clearly states, think of others better than yourself. There prob shd be a gd reason.. For all you may know, the next officiant u select or assigned is the one God wants to bless u with?

hihi Count,

U're
kao_welcome.gif

hihi Viv,

It's def possible to hold the HM outside of a church. Some have held at beach, gardens, hotels etcetc.. I strongly believe tt if u know u do not want to sign the pre-nup agreement abt the raising of Kids, then inform ur FH abt it.. Sometimes it might just be the parents wanting, but ur FH is agreeable to your way?

U might want to ask ur Pastor if he would know of any Pastor or leader (who's certified officiant) to conduct the HM for you. Alternatively a blessing &amp; a civil marriage ceremony is prob the next alternative?

hi ericia,
are you having your HM in church or at OCC? i thought that they would be able to do up the deco for you... i did my wedding in the church and still have the cloths we used to drape the pews. as mehmeh said, not sure if you would like the colour theme and style.

hi life, i understand that the stress of having your officiant say such things puts on you, especially with the wedding coming so close. perhaps you can take a step back from the rest of the preparations and calmly look at the underlying reasons why he says so. because the wedding is really just a day, an outward symbol and display but marriage is for a lifetime and I believe your pastor wants to give you a good and right start to it.

take time out to focus on the important things. yes, deco and other stuff seem oh so important to us at the moment, but if you really truly love your partner, you would want to be together forever and this extra effort is well worth it.

to everyone else... hi! :wave long time no come and chat. this thread move so FAST!

Hi c1980,

Can you show me your pew deco. My church AD has a couple using the venue before me, I may have to share deco with them but the bride told me that her florist friend is doing her deco and the pews will be using fake vines with peach!! while I am okay with her theme of ivory maroon and purple, my FH and I flinched at the mention of peach with green!

Maybe I can rent from you if suitable and just my jiemei to help change the pew deco.

hi carelinwen,
just PMed you. do tell me if you need more information. hmm, sonuds like the other bride is looking for a very floral theme!

hi mehmeh, been a little crazy doing beadwork at nights. :D hee

Life dear...

I just wanna say that ur feelings r understandable given the little time left but officiant probably have a gd reason. I wanna share a real story.

My frens were encouraged to postponed their wedding and to go for another counselling by their pastors. They refused and insisted. The marrying pastor gave in. The result. They were separated less then 6 mths after the wedding and filing for divorce now. Whose fault? Theirs? bec they r stubborn? Probably but many feel it's the pastor's fault for not doing enuff to guide His sheep.

Hope u wun b offended but here's my advice. Trust in ur leaders. I have been reading the book "Under Cover". It speaks of all authority being from God, Submit and u'll be submitting to God.Wat's with waiting for the perfect time, God's timing if God has forever for u both. Better later and perfect than at your timing but with regrets.

Hope u ain offended.

May His peace b upon u .
Ebell

Viv Babe...

Agree with MehMeh.
My Dad was a Catholic when he married my mom, a freethinker. They got married in a Catholic church too.I am thankful that they decided to give me the freedom to choose my faith. Thank God, Dad's a Christian himself today too. This has long term consequences. Pray abt it first k. Have u gone for ur Premartial counselling?

Ebell

ebell,

make me confused, so shd i go ahead with Catholic church wedding? I hv signed up to go for premarital counselling with EE (Catholic).

I seriously do not mind the pre-nup cos I think at the very basic both religion is still the same. But i coudl think of conflicts later abt which church to attend (which we hv not decided yet) and which school my children to go (Christian vs Catholic school. Am I being paranoid? I'll be living with FPIL and they are Catholics too. I wonder if there'll be spiritual warfare in the family hehehe... (maybe a bit extreme imagination here)

The other alternative , to invite another Pastor to bless the marriage, means that i hv to do extra work (which i'm pretty reluctant to do) and I couldn't imagine how disappointed his parents would be.

Mehmeh, my FH is pretty easy-going and less strict (compared to me) so he originally agreed to my request to hv it in my church before i found out that we can't.

well, i think i leave it as it is. Would pray to God that He'll make everything right in His time.

mehmeh, are the pews deco made of real flowers? can show me e pic?
thanks c1980, but why are there cloths to drape the pews? dint know covering pews are required. i having HM at my church and dinner at OCC. changed my plans liao. for church deco, i have to source for pple in my church to help me do cos renting of my church does not provide church deco.

dear all, i have tried to contact the caterers whom I am considering for my church wedding but so far there is no reply when i leave my contact in their websites or when i email them. how do you others contact your caterers? do u phone them or?I am interested in Angeli, CJS, Lavish and Elsie's kitchen.

Hi Viv.

no dear. u're not being paranoid. These are real issues that u'll have to deal with. It's good that u think about it now.

THat's it. if u go for the Catholic Pre-marital counselling, does it mean that you don't mind attend church there as well? this may be the signal u're giving to ya bf.

Not sure abt this but I think Catholic do not support contraception.

hihi Ericia,

Oh nono, the pew deco def can't be made with real flowers.. They wun last if i were to keep them. They are made fr paper &amp; shaped as a rose. Shall find a pix of it &amp; post here..

Btw, I emailed the various caterers u had mentioned except CJS.. All got back to me, between 1-3 days. Response was positive &amp; very service-oriented inspite contact only via email..

hihi Viv,

I dun &amp; I hope I'm not being presumptious here.. I believe Christianity &amp; Catholicism are 2 different religions. While there may be some Catholics who do have the faith similar to Christianiny, ie, praying to Jesus instead of to Mary, not following the Catholic rituals.. There are others who are strictly Catholics, such as not eating meat on Fridays, praying with the rosary..

As mentioned by Pinkapple, Catholics do not believe &amp; encourage the use of contraception.

I think there are more than this differences, the Holy Bible is also different. There are some books in the Catholic bible which are not found in the Christian bible, theologians find tt those books are more mythical than factual.

I'm just stating the differences &amp; not trying to convict u to select either at the moment. But i believe if u do find tt the pre-nup which wld affect the upbringing of ur children doesn't agree with u, i urge u not to submit due to his parents' compelling u 2. U &amp; ur FH are the ones who wld bring them up..

Ericia dear,
I have the proposal from CJS. Do let me know if u want me to email u. The lady took quite long to reply to my email, so it may be better for me to pass it to u since i got it a month ago only, if u want =)

Mehmeh, c1980 and Angelala
U are PLMC members right? Can i ask abt PLMC's flower arrangements? What do we have to provide for the church for the next day's service? Cos Shang's florist has offered to use my dinner flowers for the church ceremony FOC. She will only charge me $200 for transport and touch up of the flowers in between. Was wondering whether I shd take up the offer since my colour scheme for both church and dinner will probably be similar... And is it ok to use organza/drapes to block off the side of the pews directly along the red carpet? Cos my florist said tt it may cause a human jam esp if we are inviting 400 guests... Any feedback is very welcome!

hi ericia,
yes, i used the cloth to "link" the pews as mentioned. its rather visual as compared to just flowers. makes it look "bigger".

hi count,
you will need to provide for the main flowers... i believe its 3 main arrangements at the front. it can be quite an issue because if you are using it for night, then... a bit difficult.

i used drapes to block the side as well. it will be ok. i had close to 350 guests.

oops.. hi mehmeh,
yes, beadwork as a hobby.
looking at designs and copying them. too cheapskate to buy a design book!

hihi Count,

PLMC requires u to have at least the centrepiece on the altar table. I did also leave my 2 pedestal floral stands for the Sunday's service.

I think no harm in taking up Shang's offer. U might want to ask how much it would cost for them to do up the altar centrepiece.. Shdn't be more than $100 I hope.. It's a real gd offer

To use the drapes to cordon the centre aisle is gd actually.. Coz in the event ppl intend to move in &amp; out, it's not tt distracting. It def wun coz a human traffic jam if ur ushers to pack the guests twd the pew ends nearest the aisle. in fact, most guests wld seat themselves closer to the centre aisle.. Impt thing is for ur ushers to be on the ball.

While u're inviting 400 guests, like I did, not the full force will turn up, so dun worry abt the human jam k?

hihi C1980,

hahha, as a hobby is gd.. Can do &amp; bless ppl with ur creations!

hi mehmeh, hee... hand itchy lah.

hi count, maybe better to check with the church office to see what is required for sunday service. and explore with them the idea. otherwise it can get quite problematic if they take out the flowers wrongly.

need to communicate clearly both sides. the centrepiece is quite huge so i am not sure how much it will cost to do. depends a lot on the kind of flowers you will be using.

the other thing... erhmm, might be added stress because of needing to get the flowers transported to and fro.

Hi viv,

Discuss with yr fiance about all these issues such as church that you attend, about whether you will let your kids attend Catholic or Christian sunday schools etc. And tell him to let his parents know that your decisions and stand now. I don't see why they should be disappointed if you are married by a pastor, tell them it is still a marriage witnessed by God, a sacrament.

As for all the other "rules" about contraception etc, you can ask your pastor and will find out that christian churches also have the similar stand too just that they do not strictly emphasized that and "enforce" that on their believers. Because most of these have a bibical (same for both catholic and christian) background to it but were made into strict guidelines to follow by the catholics. Actually they just encourage lah it is not like if you don't they will condemn you...hee hee.

As for the extra books, my pastor told me that those were not found in the christian bible (Bible=Word of God) as it was not considered by christian scholars to be divinely inspired. However, the authors that wrote those books wrote them based on christian teachings and the happenings then too.

My pastors said that at their level, they acknowledge that we christians and catholics believe in the same God as we have the same Apostle's Creed and believe in the Holy Trinity, and proclaim the same mystery of faith.

For the other things, you decide what you can or cannot accept and choose which battles you want to fight. After all, when we accepted a catholic to be a boyfriend, we would have known that all these issues (about catholic and christianity) will arise. If you want to take the relationship up the next step, you have to sort out all these feelings, issues before your HM.

If your are staying with your PIL, anything can give rise to conflict, not only spiritual issues. You and fiance have to learn to handle and resolve them.

Speak to both pastor and priest about these issues to clarify any doubts you have. Ya, pray about it, all the best!

Hi c1980,

I had very very good news last night that the couple before will not be using the peach and fake vines for the pews. As the church renovated to air con the place, now the pews cannot be cordon off at the central aisle, (got aircon at the side pew ends). So they are changing to white nettings and fresh flowers. Thank God!!

Thanks for your offer to help.

Hi Count.
im planning for hte florist too. does PLMC have their own florist? I think should tie drapes along the the centre aisle, so that the crowd can be quite orderly as well. think you should take up shang's offer. its good.

Hi C1980, is a requirement for 3 main arrangement? 2 pieces can or not.

hi carelinwen, good to know its a non-issue.

hi angelala, i think its best to call the church office and double check. coz the sanctuary is so 'big' and the ceiling high so too small an arrangement looks funny.

thanks for the advice. I asked another pastor in my church again and basically the advice is similar to what you all hv given.

It's a tough decision, to do it my own way is too much a fight and maybe i take an easy way out, that is to hv it in his church and resigned that my kids will be brought up with his family values (since i'll be living with FPIL). Worst case scenario would be that i'll go to my own church and they (FH and FPIL &amp; kids) go to catholic church. It's not that bad although it's far from what i hope, that is to hv the same foundation/faith and grow together in the same church with my FH.

Hi c1980 and Mehmeh,
Thanks for the advice. I think I will clarify with PLMC next month when we make the booking for the church. Sorry Angelala, no idea whether PLMC has any recommended florists. U gals have any idea? I felt Shang's offer is gd, but if we have to retain the 3 centre pieces, then there would not be much to transport over to Shang? After all, I don't think I will have topiaries along the aisle cos this will take up space and block the guests' view?

Btw, Angelala, which hotel are u holding ur banquet at? U may want to ask if they have similar arrangements. I'm considering JM florist cos the lady seems quite nice and considerate towards couples' budget. And she is quite willing to give extras here and there, so it shd be gd to work with her =)

Yay! Now i can go ahead with my plans to put drapes/cordon off the aisle. Hee

hihi Count,

U're welcome.. Just a note, my fren's intending to get married in Sept 06 &amp; the church office informed her tt booking can only start in '06 itself.. Think they kinda change this policy? U might want to double-check on this

hihi viv,

It's quite impt tt u &amp; ur FH attends the same church &amp; hopefully grasp the same vision tt the church imparts. I think faith it sthg we hold strongly to, so if 2 ppl have different faiths or visions, quite hard to be as one i guess.. Not impossible, but prob harder too

Press on &amp; continue to pray for God's provision in this area

hi girls

i finally got my photos! =))) nice... brought back fond memories esp those parts where my mom hugged and cried together! =P

but was a little surprised coz initially the deal was 360photos free while every 40 pieces at $50... i thot that meant i get to choose my own photos. in the end, when i got to the shop, i discovered they printed almost 900 photos and i had to top up the difference.

i guess i didnt really minded the extra $500 i had to pay coz it did save me the trouble of sieving through almost 2000 of them... according to him, they were repeated photos so he didnt print them.

so my AD photos and service came up to almost $2k...

oh well. i'm happy anyway coz i've got a party for my helpers coming up this sat... can "show off" the photos! hahahaha...

have a good day, sisters!

i pray that God will grant you all peace and creative juices as you plan your dream wedding!

hi mehmeh / count, perhaps its because we do not know who is the PIC next year so they are holding back the bookings till then. otherwise its quite funny for him to come back and officiate and the new PIC is not the one. pros and cons against this argument but...

the church doesnt have an official florist. they have a regular pool of ladies who help with the flower arrangement, one for the sanctuary and another for Chapel. she has been doing for a period of time so is comfortable with the arrangements already.

hi SL, can share your pictures?
i know what you mean about looking at your AD photos and reliving the memories.

Ericaaaa...
YLS can try q a few church use them. They r ok. My fren's wed v gd but the last I used ok oni. Razel Fusion got super gd svc. Food ok when I tasted at their show, real ones...not sure.Razel...when I loss my venue, their sales pple tried to to me to find venues.

Viv: Can't answer u. U goto pray abt it. Fr ur comments... U seem to c the 2 as different...hmmhmm... I suggest u go for a PMC at a more neutral place. TRy the one by Touch Community Services. Specifially by Tay Seow Yong and Tay Swee Noi. Super good and committed couple. They even take the extra mile, i.e. 2 do charcter analysis and counselling for each couple.

Viv: I really really think wat u r asking now is probably a spiritual prompting as well...tok to u FH. Discuss thru else u will b carrying unresolved burdens into a marriage even b4 it starts its journey...

God Bless...
Ebell

Sisters...I considering changing my wedding date...cos wed close and alot not done...
Duno wat God thinks...any insights???

hihi SL,

u didn't do pre-wedding PS rite? I think the $2k spent on all the AD pix are really worth it, coz it captures all the different emotions &amp; aspects of the wedding.. Stuff u might not have even known.. heheh

Enjoy ur party this Sat!
Oh yeah, dun forget to share the pix k??

Hihi c1980,

Yeah, i'm figuring tt the issue is prob becoz of the change in PIC.. Wonder who's the incoming or upcoming PIC

hi Ebell,

What are sthgs u feel aren't settled? We prob can help, &amp; gotta get ur FH involved alot more.. It's the wedding of u 2, not just urs alone yah..

Btw, do u feel peaceful inspite the busyness?? God will strengthen u &amp; see u thru even thru the valley of the shadow of death, so this is nothing too much for Him to handle k? Press on!
319443.gif

Hi SL,
Share photos! Want to see! Enjoy ur party dear! =)

Mehmeh,
Delaying the booking is bad. Cos we've firmed up everything else already such as dinner, BS, PS, AD photographer already! Ugh. U mean ur friend couldn't book PLMC too? U think we shd start looking for alternative venues? Very scared tt PLMC would be booked and we want very much to get married there! Hope it works out well!

Ebell dearie,
When is ur proposed AD and what things have u not settled? Can we help u in any way, or is it sth like PG is booked for that day already or no venue? HOpe u're feeling all right. Don't be too upset if u need to postpone k? *hugs*

hihi Count,

Hmm, dun think u're the only affected k? dun worry too much... God will want couples He had put together to get married &amp; no man will put asunder yah? *hughughug*

Dun go looking for another venue, not logical at all.. Just a change in PIC &amp; booking opened at a later time, rem i told u my fren's getting married in Sept? Hers is earlier &amp; still hasn't booked yet, so dun gan jiong.. U're very much ahead of time

hi count,
don't look for another venue... there's no point. and its rather premature. i think everyone hasnt had the option to book yet so its open.

hi ebell,
i think perhaps can sit down and analyse what is undone. during the preparations, i also felt that there was a lot to do however when i actually sat myself down to do it, it was rather fast. so for close to 8 months i was sitting there "shaking leg"...

haha. i will! =)

after i have uploaded them...

i just got the hardcopy ones yday night and the cd as well. so havent got down to uploading them. =) will do so soon! =)

hey ebell, if you need help do let us know. the girls here have been very amazing. with ideas and listening ears. =)

love!

Meh, Count, SL:
Venue. Havent been zzing well. Now feeling better cos FH jus called from overseas. He on training so me been running ard alone. Suddenly at loss as to what I want. House reno oso not started . Just went to do write down a list of things God has blessed me with. NOw feeling abit better. I want a garden for HM and a ballroom for dinner so v difficult to find. May just go for Changi Village. q nice but place q "chatchat". Else may go Shangri-la..Let God lead... any advice?

hi mehmeh,
will share when i finalise my layouts.. still waiting for draft 2..

hi sl,
i got not a lot of friends who can play instruments or sing well.. so kind of limited.. but thank God, my cell members are asking their contacts to help me out on this.. my cell members are very supportive.. i got them to do my emcee, ushers, etc..

hi mehmeh,
thanks for your mail.. will discuss with bf..
my caterer is javalink

hi c1980 and sl,
pls share ur pics too.. [email protected]

where should i upload my pics to? something fast and secure..

hi ebell,
u can consider raffles or beaufort.. their lawns are nice..

hmm ebell, u try to find find and see if can decide on venue. if, when u decide on venue and wanna book, and cant book the day of ur AD, then consider changing date...i heard changi village very nice quiet romantic place. what is YLS? u have razel fusion's contact?
Geez, I dint know that catholics do not believe in contraception. How do they family plan then? Abstinence? But from what I know, I also feel catholic and christianity are 2 diff things, although dunno why but catholics seem to feel we are same as them.
Thanks ladies for the info on the pew deco. I was confused why cloth need to drape pew. haha.