Christian Brides

Hi n/c,
i am also interested in sing art museum but not sure where to get contact? can tell me the website and provide me the contacts?

Hi Ericia

Here's the info :

Singapore Art Museum

Tel: 63327989 Fax: 63365361
http://www.nhb.gov.sg/SAM/profile/facilities.htm

hi everyone, just wanted to find out if I have to discuss details with my pastor regarding the ceremony and its programme? Can i use the traditional format like most of you do? He is so busy I cant find time to meetup with him to discuss...hai...

hi mehmeh...

the furniture came and they brought the wrong bed! so sad! i wanted fabric but they brought leather instead... now gotta wait for them to custom make another one.

can i ask a question? is tea ceremony normally before church wedding? it's not unusual right?

verie,
it really depends how involved your pastor wants to be i suppose and if it is necessary for your church. some churches dont require their wedding couple to show them prog.

how about emailing? we emailed our pastor too. hee. =)

Hi SL

Oh u mean for ur headboard it was meant to be in fabric & u got leather? Not bad a deal coz leather more exp, heehee. But of coz tt wasn't ur choice ;)

Hi Veri

Agree with SL, why not trying to email or haf a phone conversation?

Harlow SL,

So when wld the RIGHT one come in? I love headboards & almost got suede, but my mum & many others adviced tt it might smell if not maintained properly..

Hmm, I'm having tea ceremony before the church wedding. Groom picks me up, bridal party wld go over to his place for tea ceremony, back at mine for tea, lunch & finally off to church

hmmm... i dunno. i forgot to ask... maybe will ask on monday when i'm back at work... =P

i thot so too. as in tea ceremony before church is common and not unusual. in fact, that;s like what almost everyone does... but it seems like my FH's family doesnt think so. haiz. long story. whatever... =/

hmm, so what does ur FH's family think the order shd be like? some ppl do tea ceremony before the banquet... coz maybe the house is too small for all the relatives to be there?

hmmm... they feel that the couple should only meet for the first time before the church wedding.

so it is not necessary to pick the bride up at the bride's house or do the tea ceremony.

Hi sisters,
Wanna ask sth: for those of us doing both church wedding and tea ceremony, both will involve the lifting of the bridal veil right? so does that mean we gotta go it two times? once in tea ceremony and once in church?

Hi SL

I find tt rather romantic.. But of coz u can always offer ur opinion, after it is your wedding & not theirs? Hope sthg gd works out for u & ur ILs

Hi Ericia,

Rather than tea ceremony, it's when the groom picks the bride up after the gate-crashing. Just like what TinTin has mentioned.

It's not a hard & fast rule. I would say tt majority do go along the way u had mention. A few brides like Rokko & another I know of wld only be meeting their groom the 1st time in church. No gate-crashing, so lifting of veil is reserved till Pastor pronounces u two as husband & wife

count: me too, like tintin, i'm gonna be meeting my FH for first time at church, and unveiling of bride only once, in church... and we're not doing PS so as to reserve the element of surprise of me in my WG!
what time is ur church wedding? if it's early, u can do tea ceremony after the church - since all ur relatives will already be congregated there, it's easier & prob faster to do the tea ceremony! but if it's a late church wedding, it mite be easier, logistically, to do tea ceremony first, so as to make sure u have time to prepare for the dinner!

ericia: yeah, it seems like usu. if the groom picks up the bride, he'll unveil the bride first... then at church he'll unveil the bride a second time! but if u only want to be unveiled once, perhaps u cld wear a CS or kua when he comes to pick u up, do the tea ceremony and then when FH has left for church, u can change into ur WG, ur parents to put the veil on u.... then there'll only be one unveiling in church!

SL: yo ger! so how? heheee... what do u prefer? tea ceremony b4 or after church? both has its advantages lor... we're doing tea ceremony after church, in the church premises itself, so it's easier since everyone is already there!

mehmeh: hey ger u have a good memory leh! still remember that im not doing tea ceremony b4 church ah? kekekeee

thanks everyone! =)

i guess for me it's becuase things have alreayd been planned so i dont like changes... i'm high C ma... =(

and i guess my parents are not christians so the church wedding is meaningless to them.

i told my FH if his family insist on after the wedding then i will go ahead with tea ceremony at my place first.

honestly for me it's just a matter of convenience. pick bride at 830 then tea ceremony then church wedding at 2pm. if there is no tea ceremony what are we going to do from 830 to 2pm?

anyway, will see how. =)

things can be worked out i suppose? i just dont want to waste my helpers' time. idling from 830 to 2 can be quite painful...

SL: hey since already decided then stick to it then!!! definitely right on the convenience part... might as well do the tea ceremony b4 church then, instead of hanging around not doing anything much!... eh btw im high-S! hahaaa

mehmeh: having the gate-crashing will be very exciting as well! def a lotta memories for both of u to look back on next time! must get a good PG or VG to catch the shots yah!
eh our AD like coming soon hor? im feeling excited already!!

thanks girls. guess i will "go one step, count one step"! =)

btw, does anyone know where to get customised car plates that read "Just Married"?

oh well i've placed deposit already so a little too late to change my mind. and so short notice, all the good photographers would have been snapped up. =)

just a little update... i'm collecting my banquet invites tmrw! =) yay!

Hi Tin Tin,

Thanks for the reply. I believe this collaboration would certainly be blessed by God as u even choose to honour Him with the name & how u want to bless couples who are looking for a photographer.

Hi Rokko,

Yupz, getting more & more excited. To me the climax wld be walking down the aisle with my dad as my FH sings a song he's going to compose & when FH & myself have our 1st dance. We're really trying to make our wedding as unique & memorable, dun want it to be like the norm?? Heehee, which is why i DIY-ed alot of stuff, did extensive research for my PS pix concepts, DIY parent's presents (recount their wedding, us as newborns & other milestones in our lives)..

I think I'm a bride who just can't sit back & relax, getting so hands-on. Wonder if I wld have withdrawal symptoms after the Big Day.. hahah

hi mehmeh!

me too! i diy-d alot of stuff! even the photo album traditionally used! that's why i didnt take photo shoots! =) i did a scrapbook album instead... i also diy-d the gifts to our parents as well... =) ring pillow, wedding cards, etc... and we will appreciate our parents at the dinner instead where all their family, friends and business associates will be. =)

our march in and out are going to be alot of fun and drama too... shhhhh... =)

we are also turning the ballroom into a dance floor after the dinner as well so that friends can have fun...

and i'm definitely not have the video thingy all wedding couples have!!! =P

trying to be as unique and as memorable as possible as well! =)

oh... we wanted to recount our parents growing up days, dating days, wedding, marriage life etc but decided too many novelties might turn out to be too might be too much for the guests to stomach... plus i'm lazy la. haha. have to collate photos... argh...

7 more weekends... hope things fall into place sui sui! =P

mehmeh... have you sent out your wedding invites? when are you targetting? i hope to send them out by next weekend... or latest, 2nd week of august. is it too late?

harlow SL,

I think its real fun to put in effort to create all these memorable & novelties. heehee.. Have fun preparing!

Hmm, I have already sent my invites out, becoz my AD's 1 week ahead of urs? When is gd depends on ur latest RSVP date? But wld recommend sending at least 1 mth before AD

oh ya... yours is on 3sept... rokko's the same as mine. =)

you have fun preparing too! =)

just incase some of you might be interested in car plates (just married etc)... you can try centrepoint "party with us" or www.mbossed.com

i havent gone to centrepoint yet. will do so this saturday! =)

SL: har???? only 7 more weekends??? aiyoh now im stressed!!! actually im q stressed over the guestlist now.... im trying as far as possible to seat people who know each other together, but most of the time i dun have 10 people sui sui together.... and im anticipating some people to not turn up for dinner even tho' they rsvp saying they'll come, then there'll be lobangs in the table... haiz...

SL & mehmeh: wow both of you very good leh! DIY so many things!!! im so out of time, i dun have time to DIY many things! heheee.... but i've been to spotlight a few times and i think there's so many things there to DIY things with!!! hehee

Hi mehmeh/SL,

Agree with Rokko, really admire you two for DIY-ing so many items....

Mehmeh,
been thinking of the PS concepts too cos don't wish to have those sit-down poses which seem more than portraits than a photoshoot.. hehe :P but can't find much info around (websites/mags) only from thoughts.. any suggestions for places to look for PS ideas?

Hi Ericia,
haha... same question as you leh... about the veil-lifting part...

Rokko,
That's my headached part too.. cos saw that when my brother got married.... arranging people into tables really takes effort....

All,
have you gals decided on a colour theme/concept?
finalising mine soon cos the jie-meis need to know the dress code in advance...

Hi Rokko,

U 7 weeks ah? I barely 5-6 weeks! hahah.. I only arranged tables by tables, hardly had the situation less than 10. Intentionally invited only in groups of 10

Harlow Teng,

Hmm surf around the websites of photographers portfolio.. I got my concepts fr a huge mariage of photographers. Chris Ling, Utopia, The Pond, Photolanguage etcetc.. Which websites did u check out?

My theme in church is in maroon/red & cream. Got my bridesmaids (x2) Daniel Yam satin long gowns in champagne. The dress is very versatile, it's a bustier which can become halter-neck, in fact when in bustier, it can be modified in several designs, same goes for the halter-neck.. Very gd buy, so much so I want to buy one myself! haahhah

I didn't standardise for the jie-meis though. Want them to be comfortable & not spend additional money, afterall they are doing me a favour..

oh i havent thot of the seating arrangements. hahaha... hmmm.. how should i start? do i do for the parents' friends as well?

rokko, my greatest fear is also that the tables cannot be filled. those who promised to come dont turn up. i had 2 nightmares already. but let's leave the unknown to the Lord! have been praying that we can cover all costs... esp the dinner banquet! =)

teng, i asked my bridal studio designer for ideas on church design to match my gown... as for banquet, i'm not so particular... will leave it to the hotel to do it.

actually i managed to diy-d so many things is because right from the beginning i already had the thought to do that. besides, i'm doing a small business creating ring pillows for sale. so it's only natural to do my own. hee.

anyway, i really cant wait for my coordinator to come back soon so that i can dump my planning onto her! am so afraid i might have missed out on something! ack! =(

Hi mehmeh...
hee... i only visited the bridal sites..
just started researching on them.. thanks for your help yah..

Ya.. initially i only thought of having a theme for my church deco and caterer but all my jiemeis preferred to have a theme from me so that they can look into what they are wearing.... so got to let them know lor....

Hi SL,
I see i see... to DIY, guess we have to start early in our planning....

Me too... not doing much for dinner.. didn't even think about it yet...hee.. so obvious my emphasis is not on the dinner....

How many jie-meis will you all be having?

hi teng

dont worry, they will crystallise as you progress in your planning. alot of things were only looked into and finalised now. =)

i will have 5 jiemeis and one bridesmaid.

Hi Teng,

U're welcome! I have 5 jie-meis, of which 2 are also my bridesmaids. If they request, then it's a really nice gesture on their part.. U're so blessed!

Gotta have a theme for the church deco, if not it might look rather haphazard.. Wld also make the wedding more beautiful when u review the pix/video in years to come

Harlow SL,

Hmm, I did not arrange my parents' frens, they arranged then I just included into my arrangement. They know their frens better to make the decision, can be a rather touchy issue. But u might want to consult their opinion on the position of their tables in the ballroom

Think I also better rem to pray tt God will bless us abundantly for the banquet. Have been praying for other stuff, but not tt! Oops, hope I'm not too late! hahah..

mehmeh

haha. i know what you mean... i was talking to a friend earlier about her wedding and she said her greatest prayer is for God's presence to fill the church! and i was like huh? hee. i didnt pray for that!

so yea, just started asking God. after all, that's what it is all about right? =)

thanks for your advice. think i will ask my parents when i pass them the cards over the weekend after i collect them! =)

i've been so slow to catch up with what's happening here! feels so exciting reading what's up with all of you & yr preps...heh..i feel slow though..doing the preps bit by bit here & there

SL, what a great thot: to pray for God's presence to fill the church! yeah...come to think of it, think it's quite impt

still, things are starting to heat up for me (mine in 19 Nov), going to Bangkok at the end of the mth with my best friend to shop for cheap stuff so may see if i can find anything good. also thinking of invites design which i'll do on my own. how are yr cards like, can take a look?

starting pre-marital counselling this tues. quite curious abt how it'll be.
how were all of yrs like?

Hi Skye

Welcome back.. Have fun at BKK. U can buy lotsa stuff. I bought flowers for my pew deco at Chatuchak, my AP box, a pair of 'Xi' candles, my wedding shoes there.. Have had a few frens who bought weddign favours there too. But I dun intend to get them, so saved my luggage space for clothes, bags & shoes.. haahaa

What's ur email add? Send u soft-copy of my church invite.

Is ur marriage prep course, MPC, a class or one-to-one with ur Pastor? I had 8 class sessions last year, followed by 2 individual sessions with Pastor recently. Session with Pastor was asking how we got to know each other, what we liked about each other, family background, family planning & discuss issues pertaining to the HM.. Quite enjoyed those sessions. The class sessions were done by couples who have had some long & short years of marriage to give various perspectives on the Christian marriage, financial planning, ILs (commonly becoming out-laws), prayer, identifying love language together & a few others, can't rem oredi

Hope u have lotsa fun at both BKK & the MPC

Hi mehmeh...

Yup, I'm indeed blessed to have such friends around.. really got to Thank God for that... just that a few still hadn't got to know HIM yet... hopefully they will in time to come...

Guess they need a theme so that they can coordinate among themselves too........

Doing my cards next... would appreciate if you can show me yours too. [email protected]..
Thanks in advance yah..

Hi SL,

Yup, thanks for your assurance :D
From my brother's wedding.. think the parents only need to discuss the allocation of the tables with you (as in the table plan). Arranging in groups of 10 will be done by themselves cos they know who to sit with who better....

Hi skye,

I am having a session with my pastor soon. The previous one I attended was with Fei Yue.. it was a group session with about 4-5 couples and a trainer.... we discussed all the topics mentioned by mehmeh above and also included a personality analysis which sort of let us know our expectations of each other etc....

Enjoy your trip in Bangkok and update us on your good buys :D

hi skye!

my mpc was a combination of both mehmeh and teng! =) i esp enjoyed the personality test we did. =)

i got my furniture from BKK too... folding screen, mirrors, vases, flowers, plates etc. =) lotsa things to buy! do go with an empty bag and be prepared to use some arm muscles!

Hi mehmeh,
yeah, great idea about the flowers, maybe i can also buy flowers at BKK too. tho i also love fresh flowers. now must not attempt to buy anything b4 i go BKK..heh. 1 mo mth to the trip!
thanks for showing the invites! my email add is [email protected]

Mehmeh, Teng & SL
the MPC is with another 2 couples who will be getting married in the coming 6 mths. i dunno if there will be individual sessions or not, but i guess i'll find out soon. few mo days to go! hope it'll be enriching!

sure i will update all of u abt wat i manage to get! though only in a mths time...feels so far away!

SL, you sure got a lot of stuff...i think i'll bring extra bag..haha!

Juz wonder anyone going for their MPC this Aug 7th (Sunday) at SJI?

I'll be there, i'm with group 1 (that was what i was told)

Man... gotta to be sitted by 8:20am that is VERY early le.. dunno can wake up or not...

hi mehmeh,
thanks for the email! yr card is really quite different!
actually the use of red is quite unique. is it a flip card or a postcard kind?

hi Dora,
hope u enjoy yr MPC! mine's also 8...but 8pm at night. they usually dun hav these classes on sundays for my church, everyone too bz le..heh. can sleep earlier on saturday ;)

haiz... i'm back... realised i didnt print enough banquet cards... hope my cell doesnt mind DIY ones. hee. =P

i'm pooped.

yday i went with my daddy to have his suit made. tonight the bed is finally making its way to my nest. tmrw, i'm meeting e banquet manager to tie loose ends (anything i should look out for/ask for?), thurs my mom's turn to have her gown designed and sat... my relatives are coming over to discuss some stuff...

haiz... every week also like that... i sure die of exhaustion one lor... when will 10/11sept come???

sorry. today so whiny... hahaha... chat again when tuesday blues go away... =P

tata!

Hi SL,

I also have insufficient banquet cards inspite having gotten 70% fr the hotel leh.. Dad kicked up a fuss, so I DIY too..

When u meet the banquet manager, confirm no. of waiter per table, deco, corkage & format of songs tt can be played.. I think tt's pretty much?

Hope ur tue blues fly by soon!

Hi mehmeh,

Thanks for sending me the soft copy of your invites. It's really nice and pretty...
It's only the back that is in red right?
cos you mentioned the front is digitally printed...

Hi teng,

Both the front & back are digitally printed. Only the back has a red background (not red paper) & the front more of a sepia tone..

Am new to this forum. and will be having wedding next year.

Just wondering how the day should be planned - like how to have church wedding, tea ceremony, and banquet in the same day.

Traditionally, first thing in morning guy picks girl up at her place to go his place for tea ceremony, then back to her place for tea ceremony.

but if we are having church ceremony in morning at around 10am, does that mean have to have tea ceremony at unearthly hour in morning? or can it be after.

*confused*

hi ~e~

welcome welcome!

this is just a suggestion...

since your church ceremony is at 10am... the groom can pick you up first, go to his place for tea ceremony then straight for church ceremony. after the ceremony, the couple can proceed to serve the bride's family tea in the church after the ceremony (my friend did that) or just before the banquet in the evening. =)

anyway, by right serving female side is supposed to be "guo san qiu (after 3 nights)" traditionally.

btw girls, my bed arrived yday!!! =)))) so pretty! i have done up my room! so exciting! i'm going to have a house blessing on 20 aug... hee. excited! =)

but the house was pretty quiet. i wonder how i'm going to survive it? the neighbourhood is quite quiet too. was asking my FH last night if we should just move in with his family! =P of course i was only kidding la! hahaha...

mehmeh, i feel better now that i'm not the only one who didnt print enough cards. i guess i will print a simple one for my closer friends. =) hope they'll understand! =)

Hi SL,

u gotta take pix of ur bed k & share k?
Where do u stay to say tt it's quiet at night? Quiet's gd.. Very gd to reflect & have quiet time with God & hubby.. heehee

I think frens will surely understand.. Dun worry, it's a small area of concern k?

Hi Kat & n/c

Sure thing! U've got mail~