Christian Brides

Hi SL,

Actually, the main thing for me was to have the church wedding here because my home church is in Singapore and my Christian friends are all here.

And with the church wedding in Indo, it means that I am unable to be involved in it as much as I want and because my MIL is not a Christian, I am pretty sure that she will not place as much importance on the church wedding compared to the actual banquet so having a banquet here just does not do anything for me. I have already resigned to the fact that my church wedding will be in Indo so I am alright now. Thanks for your concern and suggestion.

I hope that your catering problems will be solved soon. Unfortunately, I do not know any caterer as I have not started on any planning at all.

Hi YY,

I am so sorry to hear that. I want to share with you my story. During this time of wedding preparations, it has also crossed my mind to call of the wedding. My BF is a Christian but I don't know whether in his heart, he really is devoted to God. I can say that I am a more mature Christian than him. Like you, I also wish for him to be the spritual leader, husband, father in the family so it is important to me that he is really after God's heart.

I prayed to God before accepting my BF's proposal and the answer I got was "yes". During the plannign stage, I often wondered whether I made the wrong decision, maybe I have misinterpreted God's answer and blah blah blah but God told me that it was correct.

I think that although my BF is not there spiritually, he will reach that stage and my job is to pray for him everyday and to remind him of what the Father wants him to be.

I hope that my experiences will make you feel better and I think that maybe you should not be hasty to call off the wedding but to wait a bit more and pray pray pray.
Cheer up! Everything will turn out alright as long as we live in God's grace.

Thanks SL for concern.

Thanks Limko for sharing your experience.

I feel better now but need to slow things down abit. I am greatly encourage by your experience. At least I am not alone.

Dear YY and Limko,
I am sorry to hear abt all these. Think you both should cool down calm down a bit then you will be able to think properly again and settle things the right way. For me when I exp such stuff, and feel agitated I tend to make rash decisions.
Actually I have though of quitting the wedding and r/s many times now, but I calm down and make myself rem that wedding day is just one day wheareas marriage is sth life long. Planning for wedding may be tough but making the marriage last is much more work and more impt work. Even if the wedding is fairytale kind and marriage does not last. It is no use, i rather have the opposite, very simple wedding and yet loving marriage. So when get stressed out over the planning, think of this and hopefully this helps put perspectives in order.
Limko, I am still also very disappointed that my FIL wanna make all the plans and disregards our wishes. They are not the ones getting married yet they wanna force their views. Sigh. Hence i think i understand how you feel.
SL, I also ever exp when my bf lose temper at me. For girls, we need to feel sense of security and maturity from the man and once we get sth like that, we get a shock and think of wanting out.
I am sharing my comments. Hope things will work it out for us all and we can be good marriage counsellors for future younger sisters.

Actually, I have one more thing to share. Not sure if its appropriate here for it is personal but I am feeling burdened by it and need to get some views from fellow sisters. I have an underlying med prob and may not be able to have kids in future (but not confirmed by dr as dr not sure). My bf knew this ages ago, once we attached, I told him. He had told me many times that this is not a prob. I worry his parents cant accept and I told him that but he said its okay, can one, no prob.so i kinda thot he had told them.But now i thot of it again, and thinking abt how his parents oppose our church wedding, it occurred to me to clarify this issue with him again. I now hear fr him he has yet to tell his parents. What do we do now? tell or not tell? Pastor advised us to tell parents abt baptism and not to hide anyth but for this case is it advisable because then surely his parents wun let us marry. its driving me nuts, so many prob just when we plan for marriage. I really wish I had a bf who does not have communication prob with parents like this bf of mine who doesnt tell parents anyth till last min.

hi ericia...

it seems like your FH's parents have alot of say in how the wedding will be like. are they very traditional?

you mentioned that he doesnt communicate very well with his parents.
how about doing it through his siblings? siblings can come in very handy in moments like this. esp if they are closer to the parents. my sister helped me out in many ways when i clashed with my dad.

as for your med condition, do pray about it and if you receive peace from the Lord you will know what to do. a very good friend of mine cannot conceive too. and it bothered her bf and his parents very much as he is the only son. but good news is they are still trying to overcome it together. it's a news that wont go down well with everyone initially. but that doesnt mean they will not accept it in the end. they just need time. is your FH the only son? get his support if you ever break the news to his parents. you dont have to go thru it alone and pray that the Lord will soften their hearts when they hear it. =) the Lord wont fail you. He has plans to prosper you and not to harm you. =)

take care!

hi limko

is it possible to still have the church wedding in singapore with your friends? it doesnt really matter where you solemnise the marriage right? in my church, we solemnise our marrigae at the church office before proceeding to the church to complete the formalities (church wedding). =) and some of my friends do it at ROM before proceeding to the church wedding some months later. another friend's dad wasnt around to walk her down the aisle (coz they are indonesians) so she danced herself down the aisle... very romantic and sweet. everyone remembered it til today! =)

if you dont mind the extra cost i am sure there will be many ways to celebrate the occasion in singapore. =)

hi YY... hope you are feeling better. i guess no one is perfect esp men. hahah.. that's why they need helpers like us to keep them in track. i'm sure your FH has many qualities that are worth walking the aisle with. but if there are detrimental personality/characters (potentially abusive - verbal, physical etc) then yes, you should take a step back and pray about it. marriage is a lifelong thing after all. =)

and do talk to him about your displeasures, if any. coz sometimes we have the tendency to hu si luan xiang. then before we know it things go out of hand. =)

just a thot...

btw my catering woes have been solved. they called a few times to apologize and even said they will send the food tasting items to my house at my convenience! now they even offered to decorate my church at no extra cost too! i have never pulled ranks as a customer coz i'm in the service line as well and i hate being treated badly. but after yday's episode i really understand what it means to be a customer. and how customers may not always be right but they are always impt! hee. anyway, i really thank God la. hee. =P

going to go zzz zzz... chat again tmrw. =) good night!

Dear Ericia,
Don't be disheartened. I'm sure that He has plans for u, and plans to prosper u. I have been having problems with our wedding preps as well. Me and FH are Christian but his parents are not, and we argued over picking a date. His mum insisted on going to a shifu to pick the date, and it seems like she is quite insistent on inviting every single one of her relatives, even the really young children. Sometimes I feel like I am being a bad person, in that I would strongly prefer the children not to come along. But then again, problems arise as I have yet to start earning money, and FH's parents are paying for part of the dinner. With much prayer and talking to FH, we have settled the problem of the date. Now we just hope that He will smoothen the path for us, as we proceed with other preps.

Actually, I think the main problem is that guys are by nature quite blur and do not really communicate with their parents. Often, they assume that both their fiance and parents are ok with the arrangement, or do not wish to talk about the topic. Perhaps u shd start with talking more to FH, communicating what u feel/think, and then come up with a common goal. For us, what worked was our common knowledge that we both wanted to marry each other, however tough the planning process might be. And more imptly, we trusted that God would provide, both in terms of finances and parental approval. Do pray abt it, and I will keep u in prayer =)

Thanks for your concern! I shared my problems with my small group yesterday and they proposed to me to have the actual solemnization in Singapore and still have a church blessing in Indo. I did not know that we can actually just have blessing in church. Hee Hee! So, now we just have to discuss with MIL again and see if she agrees.

Hi Ericia,

Yeah, that is the kind of feeling I get! Its not "their" wedding and yet they keep insisting on this and that but I wanna try to not think of my PIL in a bad way. I think it is hard because our PIL are not christians and I think that you are in a far worse position than me looking at your posts. Remember that the Lord is with you in good and bad times. About your difficulty in conceiving, I personally think that if your FH does not mind and he is not the only son, it should just be between the two of you so if it were me, I might not mention it to his parents. I know its sounds selfish but I think that it is better they know after the wedding or else there would be even more problems. But please do seek God's will coz my advice might not be the best!

Hi SL,

Good to know that your catering problems are solved. So happy for you!

Hi YY,

Still feeling down? I hope all the encouragements made you feel better. I agree with count that guys are sometimes just blur and insensitive so I think that your BF probably do not mean to be mad at you.

hee. seems like limko is in a happier mood today! =) yea go check it out with your MIL. i'm sure something can be worked out! =)

hello SL, Limko and the rest of the sister in christ,

God Bless All.

I am much much better after I worship my heart out to God. I think what happened is that I am thinking if my BF is the actually the ONE for me.

However, after reflecting I trust that God has a plan. From the start when God put my BF & I togther for 5 years. And now the provision of room for my banquet and sending an experience banquet coordinator to release my stress really shows me again that God is with me thru out the planning.

After my small group on Friday, I heard God saying "Rely on HIM and HE will provide" warms my heart and my mind. I felt so relax and peaceful now. Thank you all for your prayer.

Thank you God.

Limko: Do you know a coordinator (Singnang) from the BMC class? She is from my small group leh.

hi n/c

quite likely i will stick to my caterer. hee that time only saying qi4 hua4 =P

TCC = Trinity Christian Centre?

didnt know they have such a condition. interesting.

2 more months to my wedding. i'm getting jittery... how? dunno why. i had a nightmare that no one turned up for my wedding dinner!!! then another time i dreamt that no one was informed that i changed my wedding date so no one turned up! =((((

my cell leader tells me i must learn to let go or i'll end up heaping unnecessary stress on myself... =/

haiz... cant wait for the actual day to come and go!

Hi SL

Oh yes, a couple of our ADs are coming rite up. Thankfully, my work has always been tiring, so I dun have such "dreams/nightmares".. Did have them long time ago, when I still had "energy" to dream.

Agreed, must learn to let go.. Now I'm just enjoying everyday where I prepare for the wedding. Too stress, then will miss the point.. It's a joyous occasion!

What are u up to now? Mine's just under 2 mths away.. Addressing the invites now & doing up the church deco

Hi SL

Oh yes, a couple of our ADs are coming rite up. Thankfully, my work has always been tiring, so I dun have such "dreams/nightmares".. Did have them long time ago, when I still had "energy" to dream.

Agreed, must learn to let go.. Now I'm just enjoying everyday where I prepare for the wedding. Too stress, then will miss the point.. It's a joyous occasion!

What are u up to now? Mine's just under 2 mths away.. Addressing the invites now & doing up the church deco

Hi YY,

Hmm, I don't know Singnang. But then I don't know all the coordinators in BMC class. Maybe will be able to meet her some throughout the course. Btw, the marriage prep class announcement is out in the bulletin already. I think its starts in Sep?

Congrats to all whose AD in coming up. I think it must be very exciting and nerve wrecking at the same time. Hee Hee! Well, it is once in a lifetime so just relax and try to enjoy even if there are last minute problems.

hi mehmeh...

i havent printed my cards yet!!! stress again! =( i think i still got time ba... am targeting to get cards out by 8 Aug ready to be sent out. and towards end of Aug, RSVP. but we have started to verbally invite friends liao and get their commitment to attend. hahaha.. think that's more effective.

Everything else is done i suppose. loose ends to tie... like food tasting (banquet) and folks to meet to discuss dowry... working on parents' appreciation gifts now. =) and preparing a secret special item for my FH during the church wedding. =))) shhhh.. hope he doesnt read this forum! =X

pastor just 'approved' our church programme too. that's about it liao...

oh no... i'm feeling nervous again... =(

please tell me i'm normal!

hi SL

Printing can be quite fast so long u can finalise who ur printer is.
Def can ask friends if they can make it then pass them cards, at least u wun waste cards too

Get ur food tasting done soon so at the occasion ur parents can meet to discuss those GDL & dowry stuff. Better if u can ask elder sis/bro who has gotten married along too, can help if parents & ILs aren't sure on the stuff

What's ur special item? I havent given much thought, but still KIV-ing

I also gotta work on the programme soon.. Need my pastor's approval too!

Dun feel nervous.. If God is for us, who can be against us!

Thanks for all your well-wishes. Sorry I couldn't come in here to post more frequently.

Just an update, we've collected our AD photos and have uploaded them onto our website! Do go to the photo gallery to take a look!

Hi Rokko,

Heh, now that you mention that your FIL was one of our guests, we think we know who he is already. I would recommend going with the church ladies for the flowers. You can go into my website to take a look at their work for my AD. Just make sure that your choice of colours for your hand bouquet matches the theme you
picked for the church.

As for caterer, I think I prefer the food from Lavish - they are strong in both their Asian (esp Nonya stuff) and International offerings (love their swedish meatballs!).

cookie's gal,
hahaa u know who my FH is already? how come ah? issit becos my FIL mentioned that their son getting married in sept ah? heh. btw i enjoyed seeing ur photos - such a lovely wedding! and fullhouse at SAC - wow! ur little pageboy also v cute leh! he looks so serious carrying the ring-pillow!

and yep thanks for sharing ur advice with me, i think i will go with the church ladies for flowers and lavish! XIE XIE NI!

hi mehmeh,
*waves* i seldom check the forum these days, only now and then... realised u are next in line! i hvnt done much prep so a lotta things v last minute now... like designing the cards, printing the cards, etc... oops! ;p hope ur preps are going along well!

tambourine & SL,
hello ladies! *waves* we have the same AD! my church is on 10 Sept and dinner on 11 Sept, so very much like SL... hehee...

hi cookie's gal!
nice website! =)

mehmeh, i'm contemplating singing a song for my FH. steven curtis' "i will be here" very meaningful lyrics. =)

rokko, see me waving back (waves frantically!). hahaha... =) let's pace one another in our preparation ok? think i cannot cope alone not knowing if i'm behind time for preps. =)

i've finally tied up almost all loose ends. found out cards and printing costs. feel more relieve. now waiting for parents to tell us how many cards they need in order not to waste resources. =)

have you gone for food tasting at banquet? i havent. quite tough to coordinate for 2 families to make time and turn up leh. =(

cant stay in here long. gotta get back to work. chat again! =)

Hi rokko

Preps are going on fine.. just a minor hiccup on my pew deco. Everything's ok, going to make my bookings for tea reception after I get majority of my RSVPs, place my deposit with my florists.

Have already done up my AP box, ring pillow.. Just waiting & waiting for the day to come. Heehee

Hi SL

Lovely song & yes the lyrics are very meaningful. FH & I sang to my sis & BIL at their wedding last year. I have stage fright, so I think I shall give up on tt special item.. Oops

Hi Cookie's Gal

Very beautiful wedding! And u really have got a full-full house. I like the theme of your deco in church, lushes of red & green. Mine's similar too!

Will keep in mind on the bouquet & deco. Going for the same theme.. Def like it red!

mehmeh's one cool bunny! hahaa. =)

i havent done the guest signing book, havent completed my special hand made photo album of us dating, havent completed parents' appreciation gifts, bridemaid hasnt got her dress yet, havent bought the unity candles, no cards, no food tasting, honeymoon not planned yet... that's about it. actually not much hor come to think of it.

hmmm... *phew* =)

praying hard for few things: no glitches, ppl turn up for dinner, can cover costs. =) and most imptly, it will be a magical moment for all of us. =)

SL
*waves back wildly* hahaa u very cute leh... dun worry im a very slow-worker, so u r not alone if u feel u r behind time for ur preps!
can u share where u r doing ur printing and the costs? im still searching for printers leh... but i've already sort of designed the church cards and church programme liao! just waiting for my FH to approve the design... hee...

right now im trying to call/contact my frens & colleagues to confirm whether they can come for church or dinner or both, so that once the invites are ready, i can give them the invites. for some they confirmed that they cant come for church so i'll just pass them the dinner invites!

im also thinking of people to help out in the wedding, church worship team, ideas for guest sign-in book, whether to engage a wedding music band for my dinner, etc etc --> see, i've got so many details not finalised! cham cham.... ;S

i've not gone for food tasting yet, i think i'll be doing it on the sat before national day - that's one month before the AD... enuf time or not ah? for me, i just told both families that food tasting fixed on the date and to pls make time for it! i've been blessed in that both my family and FH's family have been very accommodating in our preps, they really make time to help us out in whatever way they came -- even in terms of accommodating our time

mehmeh
wahhh u sound v set for ur wedding liao - great!! may the Lord bless ur preps even as u tie up the loose ends for ur wedding! wahhh i also want to do up the angpow box and ring pillow for my wedding but no time to go down to source for materials - can i buy the materials needed from spotlight or something?

i was also thinking about decor - initially wanted romantic red with lotsa red roses --> very very nice! but then i also like white classic with lots of white/cream flowers with candles (in the hotel)... im still debating betw the two! ;p

Hi SL

I also have not booked my honeymoon stuff too, coz still undecided on whether to go cruise or Port Dickson. My Sept hols too short to consider elsewhere..

Hmm, do a week by week plan for stuff tt needs to be done? Then everything will fall into place yah? Better book a time/date for foodtasting.. At least I believe u can take leave for a day & do many things. I can only wait till Fri-Sun to do my stuff..

I initially only wanted jie-meis. But I think I want my 2 best frens out of my 5 jie-meis to be my bridesmaids! So gotta take them shopping for their gowns..

How are u intending to do up ur guest book? Mine's a simple book with black pages, shall stick the church invite on the front. Our card's theme is "Our Story, His Story".. So I figure, it suits the book just rite! Like a story book, with all our guests being part of the story

hi rokko

Yupz, u can get most of the materials fr Spotlight. Other gd places inc Arab street & Bras Basah

I love red roses.. Esp those in deep red. Wanted a mixture of red & cream, but florist recommended to keep things simple & to save on costs. No harm mixing the 2 anyway!

Hi Martha

U mean the order of service? Hmm, u can ask ur pastor for a guideline, if not can ask couples who have recently gotten married in ur church

Hi Rokko

I mis-read ur msg on decor.. Hmm, why not have red in church & white in hotel then? In this case, u get the best of both worlds!

Btw, since ur parents & ILs have always been so accomodating.. U can get them to help with maybe the ring pillow & addressing the invites? Tt's provided they've got nice handwriting & understand English, I guess..

SL & Rokko: Make sure ur parents & ILs give u the names of ur guests for both the invites & seating arrangement. I was rather exasperated when my future MIL doesn't know her invitees names, only referring them as neighbours or nick-names! I cannot imagine writing on the invite, so & so joyously invite "our neighbour".

Was thinking like, how to put down on the table arrangement & when they sign-in, it's going to be so hard for my receptionists.. Anyway I told FH to get his mum to do sthg abt it, I find it rather paiseh...Recently, I hear she's still not sure whether she wants to invite them anot.. Aiyoh

Gotta pray for patience

hi rokko

my printer going to be Tdragon's. church ones we printing ourselves. doing a simple one since ppl not likely to keep it so dont want to waste money. =P

you can check out Tdragon's here www.tdragoncards.com

martha, you can check back on the threads here. i think one of the girls listed the order in her post. =) hope that helps.

rokko and mehmeh

i outsourced angpao box making to my recepts. hee. save me headache. as for ring pillow i did my own. it's a replicate of my wedding gown. satin with baby blue bow. =)

my mom is a tour guide you see. so i cannot just tell her set aside this day for food tasting coz she normally doesnt know her schedule until the day before. =( headache... until now the moms havent met to discuss dowry coz they just cant find time to avail themselves... =(

anyway food tasting at meritus mandarin is on weekdays only. weird hor even tho my dinner package is weekend package... humph.. so inconvenient...

patience... patience.. patience. hahaha...

martha, hey i realised we both have the same BS! at silhouette! who's ur designer?
as mehmeh was asking, u mean preparing for church wedding as in order of service? actually i was q blur at first too, but the church coordinator briefed us with all the necessary info and after that we had a better idea of what needs to be done! so mebbe u need to speak with ur church coordinator?

if not, lemme know and i can post up a draft of what needs to be done for the church wedding for u here!

mehmeh, thanks for ur advice! i'll hafta think abt flower decor... actually i will get my FIL and parents to take care of their own guests --> their invites will all be in chinese while the rest will all be in english...

hey good note about the names of invitees! i know! there're all sorts of names like 'auntie mary', 'ah-girl', etc etc which i think cannot write on the invites leh! LOL! guestlist is the most 'tau tia' one... let's all pray for the Lord's favour & patience on us even as we prepare for this portion of the wedding!

mehmeh and SL, have u decided on ur helpers yet? how many helpers at recep and so on? i may not have jiemeis leh, cos im not having the morning fetch-the-bride, so may have just a maid of honour. am wondering how many to have for recep at church and wedding...

SL, wow ur recept v good in helping u do the angpow box! and ur ring-pillow sounds lovely!!! very very sweet!!!
hmmmm yah hor ur mom's schedule not fixed v hard to plan... difficult... perhaps ur FIL can try to accommodate ur mom's schedule lor... but must pray pray PRAY for a smooth planning!!! our Lord takes joy in sharing our problems, even in the smallest things!

btw thanks dear for sharing the card printing contact - i go check it out now!

SL

Totally agree, ur ring pillow is so sweet. Shd be very pretty with tt blue bow. U are so clever! Out-source.. Heehee

Mine's a light honey, but sewn on dark red silk roses for the centre.. Going to attach the ribbons for the rings soon.. Very excited!

Food tasting always on weekdays.. Guess weekends are reserved for wedding dinners/ functions. Sounds like it wld be tough to settle a time for food tasting.. Can ur mum take leave?

rokko

Tt's nice, ur ILs & parents wld do their own. Prob is my MIL still uncertain whether to invite anot, regardless church or banquet.. *Tapping toes* Leave it to my FH to peruse this matter esp since I have a huge no. of 70 colleagues to invite to church.. Phew! Just finished addressing to them

I think to not have the gate-crashing is exceptionally romantic! hahah, did i tell u this before? Anyway back to ur concern, i've sorted out who my helpers are oredi.

At the reception table when guests sign-in: 2
At banquet: 2
Ushers at church: 2
Traffic marshall: 1
Person to liase with church caterer: 1
Church main coordinator: 1
Worship team: Leave to Worship leader to decide

I think tt's pretty much..

hi mehmeh & rokko

thanks! =) i enjoy DIY-ing. =) i even DIY-d the cushions in my new home! =)

mehmeh, i was thinking if i should invite all my colleagues too but i am not really close to everyone in my dept. but guess i should right? not to invite some is like courting "death" hee.

here's my helpers' list:
church coordinator: 1 (who's my jie mei)
bestman/bridesmaid: 1ea
jie mei: 8
church recep: 2 (who's my jie mei)
(my jie mei's play multiple roles. hee.)
dinner coordinator: 1
overall helper (crowd control, sound system etc): 2
dinner recept: 4
band (church/dinner): 9
MC: 2 (+ translator)

hee. i wonder how i come up with so many ppl to help???

btw, both the moms are finally meeting up tonight to discuss the dowry!!! yay!

2 final major events: banquet food tasting & card printing!

mehmeh, woooaah!!! 70 colleagues to invite! so many! hehee... i only have about 20 colleagues (the closer ones) to invite. initially i was worried that most ppl wont want to attend dinner, preferring instead to attend church... but after checking with most of my colleagues and frens, i found that most want to come only for dinner! ;p

no gate-crashing romantic ar? hahaa... pros and cons lah - we're also making it more significant in the way that the first time he'll see me in my WG wld be when i walk down the aisle in church -- so this means no fittings together, no photoshoot, no morning fetch-the bride! not so vibrantly interesting but more significant for the both of us... but really, i think my FH secretly just wants to siam the sabo-ing! hehee

mehmeh, i think u can invite some colleagues u are closer to? if u really want to be diplomatic then mebbe can invite all for church instead of dinner (cos dinner more limited capacity mah!)

wow! exciting that the dowry discussion is today! hehee... praying for a fruitful and smooth discussion for u!! so u confirmed ur food tasting liao bor? mine gonna be on 5 aug i think ;p

hmm ok just to share my helper's list
<u>Church</u>
Church overall coordinator - 1
Recep table - 3
Food I/C - 1
Ushers - 2
Worship team - TBC
Bridesmaid - 1

<u>Dinner</u>
Recep table - 4
MC - 1
Drinks I/C - 1

hahaa u see, my helper's list v simplified... im praying that my wedding will be as fuss-free as possible! ;p

SL,

Ur list is gd... I didnt inc some of them in my list posted here. Slipped my mind.. heeheehee

It's gd to have ur jie-meis double up in other roles. Tiring it may be after the haggling at the gate-crashing, I'm sure they wld be more than willing to help in anyway!~

Have fun at ur discussion.. If both mums are simple ppl, u wld have less to worry. Dun forget to make sure they decide on the date for food tasting.

rokko,

I'm inviting all to church, but limiting the no. to dinner. Coz I realised those who are closer to me wld love to attend both, just to share my joy..

My workplace has a great variety of Muslims &amp; a no. of vegetarians. So to save me the hassle of making them sit with someone they dun really know, just dun invite lor.. Have oredi worked out the plan tt when I do distribute the dinner invites, I shall tell the invitees to not spread the word around.. They know how to zhuo ren, so I i'm not too worried. Just got to make sure they dun leave the cards lying ard

hi rokko

i'm hoping my wedding will be fuss free too!

you not taking photo shoot? me too! i thot i was the only non conformist! hee. i really splurged on the AD photography tho. those are the photos i wanna keep for a life time. =P

haiz i should have thot of the fittings together too! it's such a cool idea! =)

hey btw have you girls registered your marriage at ROM yet? as in, getting the license? is that what you call it? i wasnt advised by my PMC coordinator from FH's church. but my church friends tell me i must get the cert from ROM and produce for solemnisation on AD.

food tasting on 5 aug? MM doesnt allow fridays too... say it is weekend. i guess i will do it before 5 aug then. =)

feeling so relieve to be able to bounce things of you girls who are getting married same time! =P

PTL!

hi SL &amp; rokko

Please dun forget abt the application for the license to solemnize outside of ROM premises. The window for such an application is 3 mths - 2 weeks before AD.

If too late, u cannot solemnize during the HM.. Actually better call your pastor who's doign the solemnization to verify the latest date possible. Some couples have forgotten tt &amp; according to my pastor, he cannot solemnize their wedding.. The Registrar is rather sticky abt this..

Hi rokko
Yup, heard from my FIL that one of our guests's son was getting married in Sept this year. So put everything together and voila, deduced who you were lor! Don't worry about working with the church ladies - Monica is really nice.

My pageboy is very steady. Think he caught a lot of people's attention that day! He was so solemn and well-behaved. During the rehearsal, he was more lively and we were even afaid that he would walk too fast!

SL

That song by Steven Curtis is nice - it grows on you. When I first heard it, didn't quite like it but somehow grew to like it a lot and ended up using it for our photo montage.

mehmeh
The full-house made it a bit intimidating to march-in with that many eyes looking at me. Luckily, I didn't trip and fall (as I often do) at all - that's my worst nightmare man!

I love red too! I'm not an outgoing person by nature but dunno why, I love loud colours! hehe...

Hi martha,
I posted my order of service sometime back. For easy reference, re-posting it here:

"For those interested, my order of service is as follows. I have also indicated what is optional in a wedding service to the best of my knowledge.

Prelude
Wedding Processional – ie the march-in
Hymn 1
Introduction (for Anglican churches, we use a special prayer book for wedding services)
Prayer
Matrimonial Solemnization (exchange of vows, wedding rings &amp; unveiling of the bride)
Scripture reading (optional)
Exhortation (ie, sermon, optional)
Love dedication (ie, where your church friends sing a special piece, optional)
Hymn 2
Signing of the register (some people combine the love dedication with the signing)
Holy communion, Prayer &amp; Benediction
Recessional march"

We actually started planning for our holy matrimony by making an appointment with our pastor to go through with him the order of service. Once you meet up with your pastor, everything will become clearer. Hope this helps!

hi cookies gal, thanks so much for your info! Yeah, gotta meet up with the Pastor to discuss, but he's so busy always!!! Also, he hasn't got his certificate from ROM to be an official solemniser, but he has already put in an application more than a month ago...everyone pray for me he will get it soon! THanks

Hi cookie's gal

My dream is to have my church sancturay filled on my wedding day.. Even the circle seats! U know like Julie Andrews in Sound of Music?? So beautiful, but regardless the no. of guests, I am very blessed all of them made time to come

I also kinda worried I wld trip &amp; my father whispering nonsense.. He's so full of nonsense! Later I burst out laughing as I walk down the aisle.. Father of the Bride

Loud colours look very gd in pix, which is why though I like yam roses or pale pink peonies &amp; cymbidium orchids, I'm giving them a miss. Red is beautiful in church...

Hi girls, wanna ask sth: how much does it cost to have church wedding: book church and flower deco and all the stuff that goes into cost of only church wedding.
Sigh, as I read your msgs on ring pillow and stuff. I realise that I never think of all these things when I signed the bridal package with whitelink. Is ring pillow provided by BS or by church or by....???
I wonder what othr details I did not consider other than ring pillow? Is it necessary to have bridesmaid? someone just asked me if I have thought of who to ask to be bridesmaid and flower boy and girl etc.... Are such things required? I only think of asking my care gp leader to be the MC and the pastor to solemnise and my caregp to help to usher....wat else required?

Hi Ericia,
it depends on how much you want to spend also. for some churches booking of the church is free (for me i only had to pay, i think, $70 for the person to clear up).

i heard tink i read the Mehmeh had the flower deco done at $300, is it Mehmeh? i'm budgeting $300 for a friend to help me do it.

ring pillow...usually we get it on our own..if the bridal studio provides that would be a plus, but hardly the case i think.

bridesmaid..i think it's personal preference, or you have a good friend whom you would want to have the honour to be yr bridesmaid. i don't have one though, too many jiemeis to choose one..so i juz have a flower boy &amp; girl (cute ;P though anyone knows the significance of all these?)

others...
1) usually there will be a tea reception or buffer after the church wedding
2) songs to choose for walk in
3) gifts for helpers (optionl but as a form of appreciation)
4) Praise &amp; Worship?
5) Photo presentation of couple (it's the trend these days)

that's as much i can think of for the moment, though u can ask someone with wedding prep experience or a good friend to help be the coordinator and do this with you so you can relax and enjoy on your big day ;)

btw, when's yr wedding?

hi ericia
dont be too stressed ok? that's what the forum is for! when i first started, i didnt know i needed a ring pillow either. until a friend happened to mention. =) you can either do one yourself or buy. there are many online stores that sell locally and overseas. =)

as for church costs, if you are a member of the church you are using it's normally free or you will be required to give a love gift at most... if you are not a member of the church normally you have to pay for rental. it ranges to a few hundred to more than a thousand. Bethany Cathedral i heard is a whoopy $2K! =P the nice church in bukit timah called Church of Singapore is about $980. do watch out for the hidden costs such as using an additional room, turning the air con on earlier, love gift to cleaning auntie etc.

bridesmaid is optional. normally most couples will have flower girl and page boy. the flower girl carries the flower basket while the page boy, the ring pillow. for me, i will only have flower girl. too lazy to find a page boy. hahaha... so you will have to prepare their garbs, flower basket, ring pillow etc. for my flower girl, i prepared a hair garland for her too as an accessory. my bridesmaid will wear the same one. =) instead of flower basket i'm going to get 2 hand bouquets for my flower girl and bridesmaid. =)

i heard a friend said that the flower girl and page boy signify the couple when they are kids. not sure how true. but kinda make sense. =)

you have to think about who you want as a coordinator. coz on the actual day you want to enjoy the day and not worry about who is going to oversee the church decor, pay the caterer, usher etc...

think also who to get to help with recept. you will have to prepare guest book for signing in, door gifts and programme bulletin. or you can leave it to the recept to prepare for you (that is what i am doing... outsource! =P) all are optional. i wont have door gifts and programme sheet (coz church weddings are so common these days ppl know the flow).

then you will have to consider marching in and marching out songs, who to help as PA crew, who to give short sermon, who to solemnise the wedding, worship leader and team, MC, special items? parents' appreciation and also the tea reception. and if you are going to have video, what song to use as background?

finally, most imptly is your invitation cards! =) who to design and print? DIY?

that's basically everything i guess. haha. just noticed i'm repeating what skye said!

dont be too stressed over it ok? =) things will fall into place as you prepare for your wedding day by day...

ok girls... gotta go zzzz.

love!

Hi Ericia

Hmm, bridesmaids are def not essential. It's really a personal preference. Just gotta select ur best fren or sis to do this..

Ring pillow is usually not provided by the BS, but my fren who engaged Julia Wedding News did get a ring pillow provided.. U can always ask ur BS again. I did up my own ring pillow

Rental of church venue is dependent on ur church. Each church charges different rates.. Ask the church office for a better picture. Again deco is also highly variable.. If u want exotic &amp; expensive flowers, then of coz u can spend up to $1000+. How full the arrangement &amp; no. of species for the arrangement wld also vary the cost.

Why not set a budget &amp; search for the florist who can cater instead? There may be in-house ladies who always do up church deco for the services who can do the deco at gd rates.

Songs: Praise &amp; worship, march-in, recessional &amp; second march-in

Appreciation gifts for parents: Usually there wld be Thank You speech for parents, frens &amp; helpers. After thanking your parents, u wld present them pressies. Usually flowers for mums &amp; some gifts for dads

Reception: Is ur church wedding a lunch/dinner or tea event? Each meal will have different cost &amp; how much u intend to spend per pax

Hi Skye:

My florist is providing me the altar centerpiece &amp; 2 pedestal stands. Using only red roses with fillers thrown in.. All these for $120. I didn't manage to enquire on pew deco, coz i DIY-ed them..Not getting the arch too

Hi n/c,

So happy to find someone who's also having her wedding at TTC... You mean TTC and not TCC right? It's Trinity Theological College. I'm having mine there on the 17th of Dec... Yours is still a while away...

Are you from New Creation? I'm from there too... When you plan to go Israel? Don't intend to go with the church?

hi girls

just a curious question...

if my mommy is giving my helpers ang pao do i still need to give?

btw, i went to Tdragons to get my banquet cards printed. the lady, connie, was very very helpful, honest, friendly and patient. =) she suggested that we can also print our church wedding details on the cards to save costs but we declined coz it is held on a separate day. =) if anyone is looking for printer, do try Tdragon. =)

oh, and i finally filed for my marriage notice and marriage leave! hee. really looking forward to sept now.

also feeling a little jittery. still praying for God's favour that we can cover all costs...

oh oh... my furniture is coming in tmrw too! cant wait! =)

have a great weekend girls!

love!

Hiya Kat

Yep.. i holding at TTC.. heheh.. i love the chapel &amp; the prayer garden... so beautiful.. though the place abit out of the way.. but i simply love the place.. i tink when decorated with lotsa flowers.. the place w be most romantic looking.. hehe

Yeah Yeah i plan to go Israel for honeymoon. My AD is in April 2006.. so havent book the trip yet cos still early.. also i havnt decided yet ley.. to go with church or ownself.. wat abt u? whr u goin for honeymoon ?

Agape.

Ah.. U r also GBHFDL, NCC member.. so which pastor is doing ur HM? Mine w be Pastor Matthew..

Hi SL

Pray tt all goes well when your furniture comes in k? Rem to check when their delivery person is still ard, any prob they can still get it rectified earlier..

I think APs can still be given, but sometimes some dun mind a pressie, esp if it is useful &amp; done by urself. Sthg tt's personal wld actually be rather memorable.

U haf a great weekend too!

Hi N/C,

We're getting a pastor from my fiance's church cos NCC pastors were all fully booked when i asked at the beginning of this year.

We decided on TTC as it was a cheaper alternative to CHIJMES. I attended a wedding there once but didn't have much of an impression of it. Didn't even know there was a dining hall and prayer garden. But, you're right, the prayer garden is so beautiful... nice place to take photos... Now I'm looking for a florist to decorate the place but first waiting for Sept to go visit some weddings to be held there...

God has been really good... all the services we've engaged so far have been easy choices, good and cheap too, especially when you've so many alternatives out there...

Tintin, we're not going Israel. Actually, we haven't decided where to go for our honeymoon yet 'cos of fiance's work schedule. Will shortlist a few and decide nearer the date.

So N/C, what have you finalized for your wedding already?

Hi Kat

I have only finalised the BS, which is Thomson Wedding Design,they r great.. love their zen album.. hehe..

have confirmed with TTC.. &amp; thats all.. the rest i w wait till end of the year before i shortlist the florist for church deco &amp; also the videographer for AD.. Do share with me on which florist to choose okie..

Also, u w have using the inhouse caterer rite? I have asked winnie for a copy of their menu.. ah.. but i dont really like the starter item they indicate on the list.. "sushi maki", i wonder if we are allowed to choose something else other than sushi maki.. ?? btw how many pax are u inviting for ur HM?

Guess wat, i also considered holding my HM at Chjmes too.. but i find the place v cold &amp; commercialise liao.. so i decided not to..

I also visited the website of the Singapore Art Musuem.. saw v nice pix of the Glass Hall there.. ah, so i called them up.. &amp; guess wat reply they gave me..
the coordinator told me tat the Glass Hall's booking for 2006, they w only open from Oct 05 and charges r yet to be finalised yet.. sigh.. imagine, only in oct then they allow booking.. that's such short plannin time for me.. dont understand y they r so brides "unfriendly" ley..