Christian Brides

hi slgerman,

iseeisee.. Hopefully a nice BS wld rent u
I know my BS, Yvonne Creative, has a floral kua, but u may want to check if they do rental for tt..

hi micar,

seems like all the problems rolled into 1 big mess yah? take time to breathe & seek God for the issues k? Nothing is too big for our God to solve!!

I agree with lilic, how u & ur FH wld like to bear the cost of the wedding & house shd be discussed by u two.. There's no hard & fast rule to follow for things such as BS, church rental & recep to be borne by u.. But i do suspect Ping Li is supposed to be paid by ur ILs

Can feel the sentiments of ur FH, to have a place of ur own when u get married.. Afterall, we are instructed to cleave to each other when we get married, not just physically but in physical space as well. Nonetheless, there are certain circumstances which may cause us to live with our parents.. I dunno if ego is the problem for ur FH, but like u said, u're very comfortable at ur own place, but he may feel otherwise. There needs to be a lot of give & take when living with ILs.

I too stayed with my ILs for 1 year, while during which i found my lovenest & did renos.. The rationale is coz we wanted to split the costs of the wedding & renos, if not we might be debt-ridden & tt's not too ideal for newly-weds who already have to adjust to living with each other & myself with ILs, and still grapple with the renos.

Hmm, talk this out with ur FH, share with him tt u can understand his pt of view & also share ur concerns. There WILL be a way out yah?

Micar:
Like Sharon, I'm a cash-strapped bride. My FH is also a cash-strapped bridegroom.

My FH and I are also getting married in July 07, just like you. We are also presently renovating our home, of which when we first started out, we have no idea how we are going to pull through all these. Like Mehmeh, we didn't want to be debt-ridden and thus did not take up a renovation loan. Something's gotta go, so we made sacrifices, and prioritize our spending. For the past one year, we also gave up a lot in terms of personal spending. He has stopped buying his beloved computer games and I have stopped my massage, manicure and pedicure.

I can't emphasize Lilic's point enough - God will provide a way out. He will not give you anything that you or your FH cannot handle. If this has to be a trial that you and your FH has to undergo, do so with God and in a spirit which is pleasing to the Lord. And God will honour your testimony and your love for Him.

My FH and I are spliting the cost of the renovations, wedding, Ping Li 50/50. It was a choice between both of us because we are both aware of our financial situation (He had taken a huge pay cut when he left his previous job one year before our wedding). So the girls are right - sort out your expectations with your FH. Then again, expectations about who to spend what can also influenced by tradition. So don't let that bind you down!

I guess the issue is that you will have your comforts, and your preference. Your FH will have his. There has to be some sort of a compromise - of which both parties must agree upon and then bear no grudge against.

It's tough I believe. I am sure all of us here struggle with financial issues and tradition. But most girls emerge victorious after their weddings, victorious not because of physical and material blessings only, but because they have emerged with an awareness that God was with them and had blessed them mightily. I pray we both will feel this way too when we have our weddings in July 07.

Hi Micar,

I think most of us are cash-strapped brides.

Initially, whn my FH proposed to me we also consider alot of things and we dun hv much savings too... so everyday we will to God for guidance and protection in our relationship... thn whn we got the bridal pkg we settle bit by bit.. thn our wedding in Jan'07 we thank God that He is so wonderful he provides for us in a miraculous ways that we cn hv our wedding in our own way.

so remember, commit the relationship and marriage preps to God and He will do wonders.

I'm a cash strapped bride too!!

For some reasons, I can't use my CPF for buying a flat and we are not eligible for housing grant and we can only buy resale flats. That's 90% of our savings go to buying a flat!

My FH and I were calculating our finances last night and I told him we need to commit our flat buying process to God. I believe He will lead us.

God will not abandon us instead will bless bountifully.....

Have a Good Happy New Year, and may God grants each and everyone of us a good start of the new year as we embarked into our next phase of life...

Angelyn

Welcome. I am new here too.

May I check if the bride and groom need to be Anglicans (confirmed members) in order to use St Andrew's Cathedral?

Hey BB, both of you have to be members of St Andrew's Cathedral to use it. I think if your church is renovating though, they'll consider.

Hi BB Queen, i believe SAC has some guidelines on using their church for weddings on their website, do check it out.

Hi all, i think most of us have cashflow problems. was just having a discussion just now with my fiance on our wedding budget. it just seems like a huge amount of money to be spending when we can't afford it. but somehow, he said something i never expected would have come from him, "God will provide". i guess we just have to try to spend wisely and trust God to provide!

I managed to read thru 4 mths of previous threads. Took me 2 hours. The more I read, the more stressed I am. Lots of things to be done. Date hasn't been set yet so there is nothing much I can do, except to source for information on church wedding venues and hotels.

I supposed PLMC (is it the one near Serangoon/Hougang?), TTC or TCC (which is correct?), Holy Grace along Upper East Coast Road and TWP are the popular ones. Sisters who had their weddings in the first 3 locations, is it possible to send me a few pictures so that I can see if the santuary is nice? Pls also let me know how much you paid for the rental. (To keep within a budget is everyone's concerns) Anyone had their weddings at Bedok Methodist Church before? Do they have pews? Do they allow non-members to rent the place?

I am thinking of engaging Kim to custom made my tea dress and something for my mum. For those who had used her services, can you pls pls send me some pictures of the CS/dresses as well?

I am starting to feel the stress and wish I can just go ROM, sign and that's it. Need to learn how to commit this to God.

hi bbqueen,

yupz, u shd work on the venues first

a no. of us here are fr PLMC, thus we used PLMC for the HM.. However the church isn't open to non-members. Sorry abt tt

TTC is along Bukit Timah or Upper Bt Timah.. Holy Grace is opened to non-members & so is Trueway at Queenstown MRT station

The stress is def there, coz u're still in the decision making process & so many things to consider. But once each thing is more or less settled, u can heave tt sigh of relief! Press on in the strength of our Almighty God!!

Hi Everyone! Thanks!!

BB Queen, to use St Andrew's Cathedral, one person must be a member of the church and both parties must be baptised and confirmed.

Ivy- congrats on being debt free! I;m just starting on my wedding prep.. stressed up on the finances.. every day pray that God will bless us and guide us in every step..

Hello Sisiters-in-Christ,

I am truly comforted to have found this website.
After reading so many similar incidents, i really felt that i am not alone. Congratulations to Ivy for being debt free. you are very encouraging.

I think i think too much and always been in a comfort zone in my own home and own bed. And i am really anxious about starting a life with my FH. It is already not an easy task to submit to The Lord for our relationship.

My FH has always been very optimistic. He showed me his sums with me 3 times already. he kept writing it out and showing me that if we go step by step, God will take care of our finances and we must pray for wise steward in our spending. He kept reminding me not to worry and always quote the Book of Mathews to me. I really appreciate his faith despite that he is still a baby Christian. He keeps assuring me that we will work towards debt free and we will get thru this as long as we have God in our relationship.

We are still in the process of discussing which comes first. Wedding or house. For him, he wants the house becasue he is a PR. But we dunno when . Overall, he is still confident that we can go along with the renovate the house in April 07 and Church Wedding on July 2007.

I have to get in line with God again. And commit my situation to HIM. It really does not feel good being cash strapped. But i guess, like you all have mentioned. Maybe God is really putting me in a new test before the start of my marriage life.

<font color="aa00aa">Dear Ribbons</font>

God bless you &amp; S as the two of you embark on a lifetime's journey together!! Hope your wedding parties were filled with God's love &amp; rich blessings!

Hi MiCar,

I understand where your FH is coming from, as 99% of Singaporean men would not want to move in with their in-laws after marriage. It's just a culture thing.

I think ultimately, as some have mentioned above, you two need to discuss what you want for your wedding and make sure that you have the right expectations as you go ahead. It's possible to have a simple wedding and also get a home whilst working within your budget.

Take heart and commit all your plans to the Lord.

Happy new year everyone!

btw ladies.. ask u ahz.. when is the rite time to go fer food tasting?? i heard from frens usually is done 1 mth bfore the AD.. so which is which??

God is so so good on our wedding days. Allow me to share my testimony. During our wedding preparation, God has blessed us with pple to help us both physically and financially. On our wedding days, everything went smoothly. Tho dec was a rainy season, it did not rain on our wedding days. It only started raining when we got into the car, on our way to church wedding. But can u believe it, when we reached our church, the heavy rain stopped. It was so cooling for an outdoor reception afer the rain. I was so touched during the worship. I couldnt help but to thank God for his goodness and faithfulness. Many also loved the reception food i catered from Rasel fusion. On our wedding dinner the following day, i prayed that dinner to start b4 830pm and it did. With 44 tables, the dinner started at 815pm on a sunday. didnt expect cos it was raining heavily b4 the dinner. Many guests arrived early, by 7.30pm .i was at the cocktail reception to receive and mingle with the guests. praise God!! Many other things to praise God but just hv no time to pen everything down. Dear sisters, just remember God is faithful and good. I thank God for all his favor upon us. Trust God.

HI Sisters,

My FH and I have sat down over and over again to discuss our finances. Really Praise God for allowing me to relook into my savings. And i have just enough to meet the reno.

My FH's investment has grown. this means lesser to allocate to the house downpayment.

Now our main is to save for the balance of the house and the church wedding.

Really thank God that our church has now open free church booking for church members, plus we will have new place to hvae our wedding.

As for the Ping Li, because my Future IL are in Kuching and they are retirees, so the burden is upon my FH. and I will definitely not staying with my IL.

Pandalic, what place have you bought that is end of 2007 for your to move in?

Now there are many sales going on...any of u want to buy cutlery, bedsheet, plates, towels....can go taka, isetan, cktang.

<font color="0077aa">hi micar, great to hear that you resolve your problem.. =) remember no problems of ours is too difficult for our Abba Father.. =)

i got a condo which is currently under construction.. and which should be completed by 3rd qtr of this year.. =)

erm, disclaimer here.. pls dun think that i am super rich coz i got a condo.. hubby and i are just like any of you.. getting this place is really another testimony of God's goodness only.. we all are His blessed children in one way or another.. =)</font>

HI

Can someone kindly send me a to-do-list if I want to have a church wedding? How much do I have to set aside to have a church wedding, including rental of venue, flowers, food, invitation cards etc? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks.

Hi weddin/ ribbons, congrats on ur wedding. I am sure God has make wonders in each and everyone of our life...

weddin, i hv also catered for Rasel Food Fusion. I m relief to hear that they did well for your church wedding. I hope mine will be the same too.

Hi mehmeh! Can update my infos? My caterer is Rasel Food Fusion, Dinner venue is at the Arts House and my florist is Poppy Flora. Thanks~

Hi Weddin

Thank god, I'm also relief to know that Rasel did a great job for your wedding. I'm also hoping that they can keep up the standard for my wedding date.

hi weddin..

Praise God!! He really provides much more than we can imagine! heheh

hi micar,

PTL indeed.. Continue to trust in God for all your finances

hi Sharon,

Will do so.. High time i do it oredi.. kekeke

Sorry to bother all of you again. I am so stressed because I have no idea how to start in preparing for a church wedding. I would really appreciate if someone can help me by advising what are the things I need to prepare and the budget for a church wedding.

I keep telling myself if I honor God in having a church wedding, He will provide everything for me. However, it's so difficult to not worry when I don't have much time left.

haven't been to this thread for a while. but am encouraged by your testimonies of God's grace and goodness to you all during your weddings. am myself still trying to find peace and trust in God that everything will go smoothly.

hi bb queen,
am as blur as you for planning as am just starting out. but it would be good to get one of your church friends who has recently got married to give you advice, and be your coordinator. but first, you should attend pre-marriage counselling. will be starting mine after CNY. and just for your reference, here's what my pastor sent me today (hope it's useful in some way):

A TYPICAL WEDDING CEREMONY - ORDER OF SERVICE

1. WELCOME
2. PROCESSIONAL
3. OPENING PRAYER &amp; SONG
4. EXHORTATION
5. SOLEMNIZATION - EXCHANGING OF VOWS &amp; RINGS
6. SIGNING OF MARRIAGE REGISTER
7. SPECIAL SONG/VIDEO ITEM – (OPTIONAL)
8. SONG
9. BENEDICTION
10. TEA RECEPTION

wedding girl

Thanks. That was really helpful. I am new to my church and the people I know in the church have all been married for years already so I doubt they can remember much. I have already completed my wedding prep course (phew). Now I am so tempted to just go ROM and do without a church wedding but I know I shouldn't be choosing the easy way out.

<font color="0077aa">hi bb queen, this is wat my approximate expenses for the church wedding..

rental charges - 500
catering for lunch - 1800
floral deco plus bridesmaids posies and extra corsages/buttonaires for groomsmen - 500
church invite (DIY) - 30
church program - 320

coming to to-do list, you may need to look at:
-get your pastor and/or solemniser
-get his/their availability and/or date allocated by church
-attend premarital counselling sessions
-source for venue
-source for worship leaders/musicians if church cannot provide
-prepare/source church invite
-source for caterer
-source for printer for church program/booklet (this may have to be approved by church before you send for printing)
-source for florist
-get a fren to take role of church wedding coordinator
-arrange for rehearsal

hope this helps. relax and smile.. =) when in doubt, contact the support staff provided by church.. they wun leave you in a lurch! i had a coordinator from church and she is like the angel with guiding light.. =)</font>

Lilic

Thanks for taking time out to type this. Very informative.

Looking on the bright side, out of the list of things to do, I have already done the first and third one.

May I know which church you used? Do you know if Christians can use Catholic churches for weddings? I would prefer to have it in a church rather than commercial venues. Chijmes is about 2.2k and TWPC is about 1.4k. I think that is a lot to pay just for the venue itself.

pandalic can sent me a copy of ur church invites n program? wow how u do ur invites in $30....i am thinking of DIY also. Printers will charge $100 plus just for 50pcs.

<font color="0077aa">bb queen, i used Singapore Art Musuem for the church wedding.. its the old SJI chapel.

summerlce, 30 bucks is only the paper costs.. without the expensive labour costs.. kekekek..

i dun have the soft copies with me leh.. for program, the printer did the layout for me.. only provide them with the contents.. i did the 3-fold A4 size paper kind.. i splurge on the program by choosing thicker paper..

for invite, it looks something like this.. hee, this is a draft which i created for your reference with ms word since i dun have the soft copies or pics with me now.. =P

443285.jpg

basically, for the invite, i use ms word to type out the content and printed with laser printer (FOC) on white paper.. then i cut the white paper and sticked it to the blue paper.. in the middle of the invite, you see some spacing where i tie a ribbon around the invite with the bow at the centre front..the ribbon is white and personalise with blue words.. they are leftovers from my wedding favours..

i got the white paper from fancy paper opp national library.. good and cheap.. then the blue paper from papertoire from wheelock place.. this is the costly ones. hope this helps. have fun</font>

I'm married but would like to join in the conversation. I did not have a church wedding as we were not church member at that time at our church and did not think of looking for an alternative venue... We were quite sad at that time but life moves on and God is still as good as ever....

Strawberry, usu the hotel pple will advise u when to have the food tasting. Abt 1-2 months before wedding...

pandalic

your invite looks very freshing and pure looking.... I like the wording "The favor of your reply.." its really a nice way of putting it...

pandalic thanks for the info...oh why i didnt think of using ms word hehehe...i keep on thinking of using some cards software that i will type in the info then buy some thick color paper n print. Thanks for sharing with me. Now i can start to think of doing it the cheap n easy way. hehehe

ya i bought a lot of ribbons, maybe can use ur idea, if u dont mind.

hi jessica, jazol, mehmeh and pandalic,
thanks for your replies, will find out more from my caterer.

hi pandalic,
can send me the pics of your sisters' dress? how much is it?

hi jessica,
are you the one who want to see my heels? sorrie, I forgot if it is you liao.

need some advice..
i intend to get my bridemaid and ring bearer to walk down the aisle with me. Is there a sequence? the bridemaid should walk first followed by the ring bearer or the other way round?

<font color="0077aa">noscon, thanks.. hee tho the actual card looks better lar.. kekeke... but yupz.. i choose this shade of blue coz its my favourite.. managed to get the same color AP box and guest book too.. *happy*

summer, no problem.. i got the idea from foreign bridal magazines actually.. the white paper i use is 100g kind.. but still good for printers.. then the blue paper is hardier.. but both i chose textured paper so it din look so DIY lar.. kekeke =)

anyhow, some frens gave the feedback that my invites are too wordy.. kekekek, guess the western style still dun sit well with some locals..

coco, wats your email? i will try email you this weekend..

as for the sequence, think there is no hard and fuss rule leh.. usually it's flower ger, ringbearer, bridesmaids (with or without groomsmen), maid of honour then bride and father.. while groom and best man (and groomsmen if they din walk the aisle with bridesmaids) stand at the end of aisle</font>

hi bb queen, if i'm not wrong, TTC is $1500 but you have to use their appointed caterer. don't give up searching for a church; it's more meaningful to sign the register in the church. what about your own church??

pandalic, think that's a really nice DIY invite. am thinking about a DIY one too.

hi gals, tink u cn go online ms office to search for the words to be used in the wedding invitation cards they are quite nice words to be used.

<font color="0077aa">wedding girl, thanks..

micar, since you have the quantity, you may want to go to the printers.. i only did abt 50 cards.. coz my church wedding is kept to about 120 pax.. think i spent 2 weekends doing the invites coz i quite retarded in the arty area.. wahhaha.. but cutting the paper is a challenge.. =P

e-cards is good depending on your target audience.. </font>

oh but printers will be ex...cos i check with 1...they charge by per card...not like invites for banquet that change in bulk.

Last time i am also thinking of using e-cards...but i think hard to find free software need a lot of time also to search for the design u want....so i think i will do like pandalic use ms word hehehe. Any web add that i can go for this online ms words?

<font color="0077aa">summerlce, but if your quantity is big, then you may need a lot of time leh.. so may not worth it to DIY.. you can check out focal ad.. the prices are quite affordable.. my friend printed with them.. personalised design too.. =)

got quite a few US webby.. do a yahoo search on wedding invites.. you should get them.. =)</font>