Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Hi all! I am here around here.

Myself and my wife just ROM on 13/9 and got us a flat at CCK also.

Renovation finishing soon, by end of this month.

Nebsnob,

wow, ur ID so good. Got compiled file one ar... ok, u can email to this address: [email protected]

thks v the much!

Welcome, welcome, Adam! Wow...u so fast?...got the flat from WIS one??....so, shld be moving real soon liao la...like some of us here.......

Hi piggy...yep yep, from the WIS but not on the day itself, we took the list of flats from HDB after the WIS was over and went to look look see see....then made our choice lor...

Hi Adam Teo,

Welcome to CCKC man... Which block are you in?

Hi Derick, Concern,Discrete and Irwin,

Urr.... Maybe I missed out some information. May I know which block are you in? Will try to update in CCKC list.

Hi netsnob,

You are always welcome. Hope no one in CCKC neighborhood kana bluff bluff by ID/Contractor.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">kas,</FONT>
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!

ya lor, i oso told hubby, next time he'll hv to fetch me from MRT if i go out wif frenz..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">netsnob,</FONT>
wah, u really fast leh.. can't wait to move in the new hse ah?

heater dun need permit lah.. even the renovation permit is FOC one hor.. dun get conned.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">concern,</FONT>
we ought Delizia Modello F34 (glass chimney), can see sample @ Mayer showroom @ Novena Sq..

actually can buy lah, but need to send it for cutting, which cost abt $200-$300 lor.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">piggy,</FONT>
must stay calm leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam,</FONT>
welcome to the big family...

which blk are u at?? can we go pop by one day?!

u oso super fast, we got our flat during WIS, now stil renovating.. oso hope can take over by next wkend or the next next wkend..

Hi Alex,Piggy,Angelia (angph38), Concern, Kirin and others CCKCers....

We signed up with this ID firm called Spacious this morning

Was impress the very detailed quotation with attached floor plan and some color printout on the hoods and hobs, mixer and basin to go with the kitchen cabinet.

In fact of all ID/Reno firm, they are the only one that listen to what we want and they give us a quotation on what we ask for.

We ask for roller blinds to be included in the quotation and they are the only one that give us the quote on that.

The ID/REmo firm aslo try to accomodate our deadline...1st week of Nov after getting our key on 2 Oct

Went down today to select the tiles for kitchen as well as for living/dinning/bedroom after going on site to finalise and confrim on the power point.

My only concerns is waiting for HDB to rectify the defects. (Alum window grille not able to close properly, leaking pipe in the kitchen and riser door not able to close) They told me it going to take a week! Hope they do not screw up our deadline.

hi Adam,

Welcome to CCK Crescent.

How is the renovation going on for you? Everything smooth sailing?

Do u have problems with HDB recifying the defects?

Hi all, thanks for the warm welcome...

Me staying in Blk 688B

So far, my reno is okay and quite smooth sailing.

netsnob, so far the only defect I had was the spolit tel rinser door. Fixed liao, quite fast.
P.S. Do not include the roller blinds in your quotation....wait they make another profit out of it. Try and scout ard yourself. Cheaper.

Then, my contractor go and spolit my water rinser door....hehehe....anyway, getting him to fix it for me.

Angelia, you and my wife has the same name...hahaha.

As this area is quite "quiet", always good to know some pple ard...

Hi Adam,
Welcome...to CCK.
We are staying in the same block &amp; same surname too...hahahaa...
Which floor are u at?? I'm at 20th, the last floor.

Hi Netsnob,
Happy renovation.

Hi Adam,

woah...so coincidence leh. Btw, I had a pee into your house (fm outside only) 2 weeks back and noticed tt your reno is almost done liao. May I ask wat "unique" material you are using for the flooring as I hv never seen it b4.

Hi Ann,

Now I understand what you are saying. It is very siong for initial cleaning... Both of us did the cleaning yesterday and was so tired until we lay flat there like a spider. I think got more to go...

Well still got somemore rectification work to touch up by ID.

Hi Adam and Kirin,

Wah... so good same block same level too...

Ummmm... I wonder where is my neighbor Doraelin. We same block but long time did not hear from her.

I just joked with my parents that my level like old folks level. Most of them are either old folks couple (50++) or couples with their parents/ in laws like me...

Can anyone suggest where to get lighting (celling lamp, wall lamp etc)for my unit?

Went down to Jln Besar yesterday and was not quite impress by what I saw in terms of price, value for money and design.

Lightings at Parkmall while good to look at was way beyond my budget.

Any good leads I could check out?

Thanks a million.

hmm.. agree with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">adam</FONT>, better not include roller blinds quotation cos outside will be cheaper.

u giving them 1 mth to do only?? that's quite a tight schedule leh.. they sure under pressure, hahaaha.. u gotta check on the progress very often else will easily go out of schedule since urs is so tight.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam, kirin,</FONT>
wah, so coincidental, both of u same blk, same level.. izzit juz next door?? hahaha... next time we go ur blk, can visit both together.. hahaha..

hahaha.. i getting to know more people with same name leh.. btw, is ur wife <FONT COLOR="ff6000">angelia wong</FONT>?? she came in some time ago, but now oso MIA liao..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
wah, so fast start cleaning liao ah?? everything done liao?? only left rectification of defects izzit?

Fri nite went CCK to see the solid surface &amp; my goodness!! cannot pass lah, got 2 different colors, can see clearly the "joints". will be asking them to redo.

guess we can only take over the flat 2 wks later lah.. going to change the divider glass, redo the kitchen sliding door frame, solid surface top.

the hood not up, the hob got slight problem cos now gotta connect to electricity (din realise we need to do that until the solid surface is up &amp; hod installed!!) so that hv "auto ignition". dun wanna use the "starter" lah, too leh-cheh liao..

as for the rest, shld be quite alrite lor. our fren will be helping us to install the lightings this wk.. oh, speaking of which, we very unlucky leh.. our wardrobe is open-door type, so the lights gotta get 1 that is less than 4" in thickness, (the previous one we bought, which is different from the bedrooms lights, cannot use liao lor), so we called the lighting shop to order another of the bedroom light, but hor, they told us it's <FONT COLOR="ff0000">"out of stock"</FONT> leh.. will only come in end of the year
so prob will not install the lights in 1 of the bdrms, then install the m.bdrm corridor first lor.

btw, did u shift ur mbr corridor lights a bit away from the wardrobe? else, it's too near to the wardrobe &amp; doesn't look nice leh..

i think my level oso quite a no. of uncles &amp; aunties with young couples..

we got our lights from

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Lumiere
335 Balestier Road, #01-359
Goodwill Mansion.
Tel : 6353 3188
</FONT>

when u there, maybe tell them u recommended by <FONT COLOR="119911">kwek @ CCKC..</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="ff0000">most impt, remember to ask for more disc leh</FONT>
they shld remember cos hubby juz called them yesterday to check if they still hv lights for our bedroom, but i forgot what's the boss's name.. he's a young chap.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">paul,</FONT>
hehehe.. we went Pan-Asia Exhibition yesterday &amp; bought a sofa.. cost us $1,100 leh.. so heartpain.. but no coice lah, hubby likes it so much, he so reluctant to leave.. kekeke... but it's out by his initial budget by $300 lor..

Hello Hello,

My contractor charge me cutting the stainless steel hood cost $350 n to provide service by going down to shop n measure then bring for cutting cost $250 .So total $600 .Got such thing ha ? die...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">tearz,</FONT>
glad to c u here.. so hv u shifted in to ur flat @ Yew Tee?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">sehlin,</FONT>
our contractor charging us $200 for cutting.. he said they went to a few to ask for quotations &amp; the price range from $200 - $300, then he told us he'll be sending it to the cheapest one to cut.

juz wondering...

i just received my tv over the weekend and i couldn't tune to any channels...

initially i thought is my tv fault but then i heard that we need to call SVC to activate the tv port...is it true...???

so need to pay about SGD32 for the fee....

this is daylight robbery man...

did you all have the same problem...???

thanks...

paul...

angelia,
not yet lah. will only shift after customary wedding lor

anyway ... anyone got idea where to get cheap upholstry huh? planning to upholst the 2 2 seaters sofa which my previus owner left to us ..

thanks !

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">tearz,</FONT>
ur wedding is Jne 2003 rite?? maybe u wanna join ur fellow brides here also.. http://singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/5081.html?1033961505. me active over at the Nov 2002 brides thread as well.. kekeke...

sorry, can't help u on the upholstry prob cos we juz ordered our sofa yesterday.. hvn't look around yet

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">paul,</FONT>
hmm.. dun think we'll need to pay juz to activate the port rite?? furthermore, the $32 is for "installation of set-top box". maybe can check with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">sweetiee</FONT>. i'll mail her later.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">tearz aka pucca75,</FONT>
so, u've been around to the June 2003 Brides thread oready.. kekeke... me tot u juz "cross over" only..

anyway, enjoy the peaceful moments u hv now, more bz times will come when u wedding is near..

angelia ... yalor ... use nick this better mah ... otherwise hv to keep explaining why i call myself tearz in this forum ... anyway ... i oso juz joined here last wk

sorry for MIA so long as busy preparing for my exams in end Oct and early Nov. Getting quite stressed up now with work and exams
Wedding in Dec as well.. so seldom log in nowadays. Will log in more often after my exams
Glad to see more new neighbours here
Guess we can visit each others' flats when all the neighbours start shifting in.

angelia,

adam is not my hubby
Guess our names are quite common in SB web. Saw quite a no. of fellow brides with the same name.

Paul,

dun think we pay to activate the port. We have no problems tuning in to the channels. The guys who delivered our TV tuned some of the channels for us.

angelia,
no lah ... meeting some deadline. and of coz i like to be on diet!!! but hubby opposes it ... he say exercise better.. dieting will harm my health..

btw .. how u change the font color huh?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">angelia,</FONT>
hey, long time din hear from u.. kekeke.. cos <FONT COLOR="ff6000">adam</FONT> mentioned, so i juz "causually ask" lor
.. hmm... guess our name getting more &amp; more common liao.. last time wanna find cannot find, now anyhow oso can find one.. heheehe..

thanks for clarifying on the TV tuning part..

oh, all the best for ur upcoming exams.. muz take care okie, else Dec u not "mei mei" liao...

Hi Angelia,

Really got extra M.Bed room entrance light. Looking for one leh. My got some problem... Should have know that no to buy it from The Best Light anyone...

Is your light 22W? I need one that is either 22w or 32 W for the entrance. Please give me a call if the lighting still available.

My wardrobe is a sliding type so got no problem. And yes i did shift a bit for lighting and it was proposed by Elfa.

eh, dun quite understand ur posting leh..

u mean the light u bought from The Best Light got problem?? i oso dunno how many is our bdrms' lightings.. but initially we tot of using those big round bulb for the mbr entrance to cut cost (dun think u'll like it lah cos not beri nice one). but after installing the wardrobe then our contractor told us cannot open the door. if want to, need to find those lights that does not exceed 4" in height after installation!! Damn! now then tell us..

anyway, we bought those "bulbs &amp; holders" from the contractor recommended shop &amp; realised they've overcharged us a lot.. charged us $15 per set (1 light holder + 1 bulb) &amp; dun hv casing one.. then that day i saw one with (globe) casing at our neighbouring shop &amp; it costs only $9, casing is glass somemore!!!!!! so heartpain &amp; angry!!

anyway, since we can't use the initially bulb, we quickly check if our bdrooms' lights exceeds 4", then quickly call Lumiere to place order for additional one. but too bad, they told us Out Of Stock!! hiaz..

hey, since u shifted the lighting, can tell me how u do it?? u hid the wiring beneath the cornices?? or what?? thanks.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">ps. we going CCKC tonite ard 6.45pm, if u wanna see the lights, can drop by.. can "shun bian" see our reno progress
</FONT>

Hi Angelia,

Maybe too hungry and rushing for lunch, that is why I didn’t check message before I post it lor…

Some of the lights I brought got problem. After a few time of changing also got problem. Don’t recommend anyone to buy light from The Best Light Shop anymore. I should call them “The Worst Light Shop” or “The No Light Shop”. I have decided not to change it anymore because is a waste of my time. Anyway I short of a 22W light for my M.bed room entrance and will be buying it within this 2 days.

Aiya… why always our timing not right. Tonight cannot leh… This few days got to rush for packing of my barang barang… rushing to shift in on this coming Thursday… Very rush hor… Aiya I miss calculate the handling keys date of my present house… partially also because of that “stupid” buyer who rush HDB for early date without our notice lor.
So now got to shift in without TV, curtains and sofa etc etc. Furniture will only fully come in by 2 to 3 weeks time.

Anyway, this coming Sat if you happen to drop by CCK, pls give me a call, I’ll come over

Kirin!! How can you pee into my hse...hehehe

Which flooring are u talking about?? The stone slabs? Btw, which unit are u in? Can email me lor if u dun want to announce here...hehe

Me now left the installation of all the wardrobe, kitchen cabinet and feature wall for the bomb shelter lor...

angelia
My wife is not wong...hehehe...she has a quite unique surname.
I also got my lights from lumiere...all fixed up liao...left the entrance foyer and display cabinet not yet only..

hi angelia (angph38)

Sorry for such stupid question

I buy a light for example, does it includes the lightblub? Or lightblub "sold seperately"?

Do such lighting shop provide colorful brochures?

Seems like more and more CCK neighbors active in this thread. Here is the constant update…

1) Regenite - Regent Grove
2) Charming_Tail – 559
3) Cychang (Paul) / Meow - 683A
4) Piggy / Netsnob (SS Yap) - 684A
5) Bluz - 684B
6) Anxious - 684C
7) Angelia Wong (Angie) - 685B
8) Meggie – 686A
9) Sweetiee (Elleon) / Lifetime - 686C
10) Bei Bei - 688A
11) Lonigal / Kirin / Adam Teo– 688B
12) Lyn / Wandererevo (Wai Meng) - 688C
13) Cow - 690A (not confirm, need cow's advice)
14) Ann - 690B
15) Kas / Duchass - 690C
16) Damnjian / BubbleBB’s Brother - 691B
17) Angelia Ng- 692A
18) Alex / Doraelin - 692B
19) Discrete / Derick / Concern / Pucca75 / Irvin / SehLin– (??? Block)

Hi Adam,

I meant peep...hhehehe...short of the letter "p" lah.
Yup, the colourful stone slabs which you did for your LR rite? I can't actually recall if it's the whole LR or partial only.
Your contractor left the door open and so I kpo kpo took a glance lor.
I'm at the extreme end of the corridor, u hv to walk a long way b4 reaching my unit.
Btw, when are u shifting in?? so I can go look look see see again. Of course, this time round with ur permission.

hahaha.. prob we'll go down again on Sat..

hmmm.. u mean this Thu gotta fully shift in, or juz "yi si yi si" move hse?? very rush leh..

is ur wife's surname <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Chin/Qin</FONT>?? kekeke... juz anyhow guess lah..

so co-incidental, we bought our lightings at Lumiere.. who served u? scarli we bought the same kind of lights, hahaha.. our living room lightins can only be found in Lumiere leh.. walked the whole of Balestier, can only see in Lumiere &amp; it's sister's branch \orange(Balestier Lightings). they hv another sister's branch call <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Eurostar</FONT>, but we din check that out.

hmm.. this is not a stupid qn.. it's good that u ask. cos some shops include bulb, some dun.. &amp; some give energy saving bulb, some give the normal bulb, some comes with yellow light (but they can give u (normal) white light if u dun like), whereas some will charge u if u wanna change to (normal) white light, etc..

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">i mentioned <FONT COLOR="119911">"(normal) white light"</FONT> cos there's another type of lightbulb which we refers to as <FONT COLOR="119911">"energy saving"</FONT> bulb. to change to these bulbs, the shop usu will charge u.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">Kirin</FONT>,

You are at the other corner ar? Is there 1 or 2 flat there? Never really "venture" to the other side....hehe

For the stone slabs, I got them at SBE at Bukit Timah Rd lor...hehe

Shd be some time next month. Good lor...at least now got neighbour on the same floor...the whole floor seems so quiet...which is good also...;P

So u staying at your place now? How do i address u if I drop by? I was there just this morning to check on my lights...hehe

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">angelia</FONT>
my wife surname is ngia.

I got most of my lights at Lumiere but Daniel &amp; Reme, the 2 of them served me lor...think them quite good terms with my contractor, which is why 2 of them served me and I got free drinks also...hehe

My living and dining lights, Reme brought me over to Eurostar and got them there.

<FONT COLOR="119911">netsnob</FONT>

U can try to bargain for the light bulbs one...get them to give u the osram ones. better.

Hi Angelia,

How I wish is only yi si yi si leh... But hor the only good date for shifting house before 15 Oct (2nd appointment date) left with only 9 or 10 Oct. Later than that need to compensate the number of days delay to that "stupid" buyer... Well 9 Oct too rush for us so chosen 10 to fully shift in lor...

u din put down in ur contract when is ur handing over date ah?? like that very jia-lat leh..

hmmm.. maybe 10 Oct shift a bit first, then from 11 Oct - 14 Oct move in more lor.. or try to "argue" with ur agent lah.

wah, u served by 2 persons ah? i forgot who served us liao, but seems that that fella is quite new &amp; pretty inexperience salesperson..

hmmm... if that's the case (ur contractor know them), do u get big big discounts from them?? we only got a few bucks off leh.

Yep, me got quite good discounts. But dunno real or not?
Hehehe...me got quite a few hanging lights lor.

<FONT COLOR="119911">following is from <FONT COLOR="ff6000">sweetiee</FONT> regarding the TV tuning issue</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">hi, yes, i've the same problem as well. Yet to call SCV coz we've been so
busy. It's a free service.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">hi alex,

my new place does not start with 6**, in fact mine is 78* .. its a resale flat in Yew Tee
</FONT>

Adam,

Mine is the last 5rm unit. The rest are 4rm units which are along the corridor.
Wat is SBE??

alamah, u never read the earlier thread ah? I hv not even started reno yet. Still in the midst of discussion with ID on the design...heheehe..veri slow. I'm not in a hurry lor..cos customary late next year so I take my time. But hubby will probably shift in first after the reno.

eh, then the next time we get anything from them can quote ur big name or not?? we still need to get 1 more light from them leh...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">kirin</FONT>

oh okie....so next time, u come by, can visit lor...hehehe...SBE is Sin Bee Huat, the tile wholesaler.

Which ID u using? Me used Home Success....I know some pple have bad experience with them but mine is the manager of Bukit Timah Head Office...so far so good...

quote my name lor...

Say CCK adam teo...hehehe..or look for Reme. He sure remember me one..

Anyone here during their renovation incurred extra cost? hidden cost? or cost you could have budgeted for but never occur to you at that point in time you need to?

every worry about such cost as we do not want to caught with our pants down..(so to speak)

okie, sure will quote ur name when we go again.. btw, can let us now how much disc they give u? maybe via email lor.. then we can "agar agar" noe how much to ask for disc mah..

moving of power switch!! din occur to us we need to move so many switches (abt 5). only realise when we doing that particlar section &amp; "this cannot fit in, must shift out a bit/must shift over, etc" pops up!

other then that, i think quite okie lor.. oh, pls bear in mind, only toilet accessories will be installed FOC (if ur contrator is good enuff), others like installation of lightings &amp; water heater, changing of taps, etc cost $$$$$ we were quoted $8 per light, $40 per heater, $40 per tap (dun quite remember the tap liao cos eventually we decided not to change)