Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Sweetiee</FONT>
haha, i was abt to ask the same qn as <FONT COLOR="ff6000">lyn</FONT>.

angelia - great minds think alike!

Sweetiee - we are thinking of having a 2nd one soon.
Will let nature take its course. Do keep us informed when you are pregnant!

Hee hee... Erm... ah... Ok, tell you gals a secret (oops, after I post it here... soon it won't be a secret liao
)... I'm actually someone else using another nick from the MTB thread... Lyn... think you were the one who started that thread... OOps... now more ppl will know abt my status liao...

hey, congratulations!! that's really good news.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">lyn</FONT>
maybe we'll let her keep it a secret at the moment lor... she'll disclose her "real" identity when she wants to.

oh, but they said if pregnant, better dun shift stuff and do sewing leh......
but if u not so superstitious then i guess it's ok lor

Hi angelia,

You so smart... sure it's a "wild" guess?!... Yup, Sweetiee is also expecting... hee hee...
You very bad, disclose my "real" identity first... naughty naughty... anyway it's sooner or later lah. Anyway, some know already...

Oh ya, I guess I'll let my hubby do all the leg work and inspect the reno... I'm just more concerned on colour co-ordination and things like that.

Hi Lyn,

So you know who am I liao... I probably will have a lot to learn from you...

Hi Sweetiee

Oh, now I know! Anyway, this is the 3rd thread that we're "talking" to each other. I also contributed once or twice to the JWN thread.
Seems that we've got quite a bit of similarities.

Sure, I'll share with you if I have any tips/advices regarding pregnancy/babies that you wish to know.

Will you be shifting in to your new place before your baby is born? And who will be looking after the baby for you?

Hi Everyone here,

Welcome to CCKC. One day we will bump into each other.

Just drop in and surprise to see so many of u here.

I have been staying there for abt 3 months and things have been good. You people will love the place!

Lifetime

Hi Lyn,

Hee, this forum isn't too big after all ya?

Yes, yes, pls drop by the MTB thread more often... since you started it... Hee... am glad that there's a thread for the MTB...

Yes, might shift in by next month, probably end June or latest by early Jul. My mom will be helping to take care of the little one. My dad will be helping too coz he's retiring.

Hi Lifetime,

Welcome back.
We're going to be neighbours - same block!
It is windy at night? The weather these days is driving me nuts.

bingo!! if only i buy toto or 4D so accurate!!

it's really a guess... i went to the last postings in MTM thread, then scroll upwards (didn't even really read the content), and made my guess!!

well, i guess from the way u place the

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Lifetime</FONT>
welcome back.. do drop in more often, maybe can tell us more on the facilities near there, i.e. which shops cheaper to buy stuff, how many coffeeshops nearby, which one has better food, etc....

Hi angelia,

Hee... I forgot that changing the nick doesn't change my way of expressing... ha ha... ok must change icon.. I lazy so always use "
"

Allow me to join in the conversation?I too get my 5rm flat last month in CCK Crescent.My blk no is 691B 22nd floor.I have just engaged idconnect for my home renovation.Their service very professional.For those who want to have more hassle free renovation maybe would like to consider idconnect.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">damnjian</FONT>
of cos u'r welcome.

u mind briefing describe what are included in ur reno and how much was charged? urs the squarish living/dining or L-shaped one?

Hi angelia,

Have u found a contractor for your renovation?The budget is also about 30K excluding furniture but will include a full length wardrobe for my master bedroom and designed study room..My reno includes a foyer,flooring,false ceiling,kitchen cabinets with solid surface etc.ALso include doors and a makeover bathroom/toilet and specially designed aquarium.The interior design was done by idconnect and they tendered the reno contract for me.I will visit them again tomorrow to review the tender and see how much the contractors quoted.An average of 15 contractors will tender per contract and this save me the hassle of trying to look for different contractors comparing prices.I believe the price will be quite competitive although it will not be the cheapest.I do not have to pay for the interior design consultation and will also get the reno insurance from ntuc income.
Mine is a L-shaped living/dining...looks a bit small but I prefer this to the squarish type.

nope, we hvn't contact any contractors yet. waiting for hubby to come back first.. he'll be back coming Fri, but think we'll start going ard the wkend after next cos gotta rush to m'sia to attend his brother's wedding.

huh? how come got study? and pls explain what u mean by foyer, me very "gong gong" one... my unit only got living/dining room, 3 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a store leh.

our budget oso ard 30K. but u seems to hv a lot of thing u want to do. wat u hving for ur flooring? the M.bedroom, i guess got no choice but to do built-in wardrobe due to the design (the "corridor" by the side when u open the door of the M.bedroom).

u re-doing the bathroom? we only thinking of adding shower screen and vanity top in m.bedroom's toilet leh. so, u'r also into rearing fish?

can share with me ur quotes after u got them? thx in advance.

Looks like many new neighbours in CCK.

Great! Newly weds/young couples.

Congrats Sweetiee!

hey all!

did not log on for a long while..boy! luckily i did! tot this thread has die off!!

In fact, i'm now staying at 684B, whereas my mum is staying at 686B...gotten the key for my place since mar last yr...but jus start reno in dec n finally move in in feb!!

Hi Sweetee,

Wow that is good news. Congratuation to you...

Hi Lieftime and bluz,

Welcome back... hope to hear from you folks more often...

Hi damnjian,

Welcome to this thread. My new flats also L-shape type at 692B. Have not get the keys yet (will be collecting in Jun '02). Looking at the floor plan I do agree with you that it might be a bit small for the living room and dinner hall.

Very intersted to know more about your renovation. My budget is between S30k to S40k. After getting many quotes from different ID House, but seems like yours got more items included. By the way, what tiles did you select for your flooring (Living Rm / Bed Rm / kitchen / etc? Could you advice the contact number for idconnect and who is the one you communicated with? Sincerely appreciate to hear from your info. Thanks in advance.

Below is a revise summary for "who at which blocks". Hope to hear from more neighbours...

1) regenite - regent grove
2) bluz - 684B (Welcom back - info after correction)
3) lifetime - 686C (Welcome back)
4) Elleon 686C
5) Lyn - 688C
6) Ann - 690B
7) Sweetie - 686C
8) Angelia - 692A
9) damnjian - 691b (welcome)
9) myself, Alex - 692B

Hi angelia,
My studyroom is basically one of the 3 rooms which I have converted.My unit is the same as yours lah...only 110m sq.The foyer basically was my designer's idea,which is at the entrance...with pebbles,shoe cabinet,full height partition with glass.
I use ceramic tiles.What abt u?Same as u,I have built-in wardrobe due to the design and it costs abt 1.6K.Basically I included the shower screen and vanity top in the M.bedroom's bathroom only.
Yah...I intend to set up an aquarium with full-height designer cabinet.This costs abt 3K and I will get this from Atlantis.
I just got the quotations yesterday.13 quotes total and my designer recommended 2 for me.They quoted about 24K,so about 6k lower than the estimated 30K.I will be interviewing them later today and hope to select one for my reno.

Hi Alex,

Thanks.Your 30-40K including furniture?If not,I believe the budget will be more than sufficient to do up your house nicely.How many quotes have you got so far?I believe you will get a good price when you can go for many contractors for quotations.I wanted an easier way out so I went for idconnect.Also idconnect helped me to draft out a standard tender form for the contractors to quote which I find it easier to compare their prices.You can go to their website for more info at idconnect.com.Their new showroom is at Marina Square.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Alex</FONT>
hahaha, u forgot <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Elleon</FONT> and <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Sweetiee</FONT> is the same person again.

oic.. i was thinking of partitioning a small area (outside the kitchen) to be a study room. but not so sure cos i dun really hv any idea how big that area is... maybe will hv to wait till we get the keys... hiaz...

I first impression I got when I stepped into my flat was the living/dining room really very small.So I dunno whether it will be a good idea to partition an area there.I fact ,I think my foyer occupies too much space and I cut down the area a bit.

Hi Angelia,

I am such a blur sotong. Thanks for your reminder. Appreciated

Hi damnjian,

My 30k to 40k budget includes most of the item you have. In additional to yours I prefer to add in overlay of both toilets, one TV console, both toilets with Shower screen, and the rest of the basic items for kitchen; L. Rms, 3 x B. rms, etc. Still considering whether to use compressed marble or ceramic... Budget does not includes funitures.

Total only received 3 quotes so far but all are very ex with limited items. Additional items have to increase prices. Design recommended is so so only...

I will visit the website that you have recommended.

By the way how much will you have pay for idconnect alone?

Hi Alex,

Seems like you are spending quite a lot of efforts in your home.My kitchen will be most costly,which should be quite common.My 24K quote does not include my aquarium and the cabinet that comes with it but actually include some furniture already since it includes the wardrobe and everything for my studyroom.

I do not have to pay anything to idconnect.The contractor who got the deal will pay 6% to idconnect(inclusive of 1% insurance.We need to pay them only if we got their design and decided not to sign the contract with the contractor.

hi damnjian,

Welcome to this thread.
I've visited ID connect before and find them professional. Quite a good choice. Think the rest here can consider too.

Hi Ann and Alex,

Thanks for the congratulatory messages.

Alex, I used to talk to veronica at ID connect. You can look her up too. She's rather friendly.

Hi sweetiee,

Congrats to you too.Nice to hear from you that they are quite a good choice.

For information,the time taken for me to walk from the mrt station to my block is 10min at a really slow pace.5min is avg.I used a "short cut" by passing through the car park.

Hi damnjian,

Even tho' I din sign up with them eventually, I've experienced their professionalism - So I thot they're a good choice too.

Wow,

Lots of reno ideas.

Well, my FH &amp; I are sticking to Corsini. We have gone thru the step by step design requirements and have allowed them to show us other ideas as well.

For now, can only wait for the drawings to be ready which is next week.

FH &amp; I have agreed that we are likely to take their framework suggs. As for the furnishings, we wld do it ourselves if we do not like the designer's.

We have done some shopping and have narrowed down some items (sofa, console, dining set, bed).

Think after all the houses are done, we shd jus meet up and go see all our houses

If not, since we know each other's blocks also. Jus stand downstairs and shout each other's username. Haha...

Take care all of u. I will be bz. Will try to catch up as often as possible

Hellooooo...

Where r all my Choa Chua Kangers?

BZ renovating house/wedding preps?

Yuhoooo...come back all of you :P

I'm still here!!! But the rest have been quiet...;p Yup, currently my flat is renovating... but just started only lah... so nothing much to update.

I'm here too.YAh..busy with the reno and work as well.Confirmed with contractor already but the reno will start in July.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">harlo...</FONT>
me reporting... actually been here all these while (except yesterday on MC) but got nothing to contribute cos hvn't start anything

yippeee, hubby coming back tonight.. so we can start getting busy with the sourcing of contractors next week..

hey, where's <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Alex</FONT>?? paging for <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Alex</FONT>, pls report....

Hiya dear angelia...

Yes Mdm. Alex is here!!! Heee....

Last few days very business sourcing for ID firm and also busy with my work leh...

Well I have visited idconnect. Jeffrey (Customer Care Consultant)entertained us but find him not experience. Everything also need to consult his superior... Can't answer my question eg) if I were to engage idconnect, who will be the project coordinator for the renovation? He mentioned the "owner"... I am very surpise by his reply which at first I thot it should either be idconnect or the contractor. However I will still pay a second visit to idconnect and intent to speak to their Designer or someone senior.

As for el-fa, I have contacted Joseph, but he is busy. Will wait for his call.

As for White Space Living I have not contacted them yet. Might want to find some spare time for them.

Overall quite disappointed with all the ID firms I have contacted, maybe my budget is too low for them... hmmm...

Anybody out there face such problem??? Need your advice.

Hi damnjian,

From your previous message you mentioned you took a "short cut" by passing through the car park. It took you about 10min at a really slow pace and 5min is avg timing. May I know which "car park" are you referring to? Is it the one behind 692A? Not quite familiar with that place.

This coming Sunday maybe visiting there to take a walk. if you happen to see a young fellow walking to and fro to the MRT with a stop watch, that is me lah...

Hi neighbors,

Just manage to have a bit of free time to do "bo liao" thing. Please allow me to share some information regarding the "unsold units" from our flats:\

1) regenite - regent grove (No Idea, most likely fully occupied by now)
2) bluz - 684B (4rm - 1 unit; 5rm - 20units)
3) lifetime / Sweetiee - 686C (4rm - 9 units)
4) Lyn - 688C (4rm - 3 units; 5rm - 31units)
5) Ann - 690B (EA - 49 units; 5rm - 21 units)
6) damnjian - 691b (4rm - 7 units; 5rm - 61units)
7) Angelia - 692A (4rm - 8units; 5rm - 21untis)
8) Alex - 692B (4rm - 11units; 5rm - 31units)

Infor is correct as of today 2pm only at http://www.hdb.gov.sg/bp13/ispm052p.nsf

Maybe we could help HDB to promote our location by doing some marketing. This way maybe will see more neighbors within weeks... just kidding...

Hi Alex,

Quite surprise that you encountered an inexperienced guy at idconnect.Maybe you should approach their designer direct.I believe the interior designer from idconnect is the coordinator but once the reno start,it will be mainly between you and the contractor.idconnect will step in on several occasions to inspect the work during the reno before you made the progressive payments.My experience with them so far so good...hope will maintain this way.I have shortlisted 2 contractors and interviewed them.Also viewed their workmanships and finalised one.Tomorrow will go to my flat to begin selection of tiles etc.
Its the carpark of the older flats across the road.Not sure the number though.Aiyah..you going there on Sunday?Me to tomorrow.

Hi Alex,

I selected double interior.Thinking of approaching them directly?The contractor I deal with very young(younger than me!)but I feel quite comfortable with him.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi all</FONT>
how's everyone getting along?!

hv u started ur reno? how's the progress?

what abt u? hv u decided on ur id/contractor? do share share ur ideas.

me still waiting for keys collection. was told between 3rd wk of jun - early july. meanwhile flipping thru home &amp; deco mags for ideas. still deciding whether to use parquet or homogeneous for flooring...

i juz got a unit in 684A in the recent walk in exercise. Hope to share more with all the neighbours here soon.

Will be into selecting contractor after getting our keys lor. Get a feel of the flat first. haha..

Tok to u guys another time!

Take Care!

Hi Piggy,

Welcome to CCKC club...
Trust me, you love this area.

Hi angelia,

My collection date is alost same as yours. Maybe +/- 1 to 2 weeks

This few weeks quite busy with work. Have to put renovation aside for at least 1 more week.

The quotations I got from few ID have great difference in pricing. Have not decided yet. Will keep you guys inform.

Will most likely I'll use Compressed marble for my Living/Dining, and liminate for 3 x Rooms. Just my 1 cents worth of suggestion is that unless you have spare time everyday looking after your flooring or else try not to use parquet for the whole unit. It is very difficult to maintain.

Will talk to you folks some other time. Next time I'll promise to provide with more renovation information.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Piggy</FONT>
welcome!! u selected ur unit only recently?

thx for ur advice. i oso thought so, but hubby seems keen to hv parquet for the WHOLE hse (cos his previous tenant has that and he loves it). i suggested parquet for only the 3 rms, but he said "a bit weird leh".

we're not considering laminate cos it doesn't feel as good and seems to have some "noise" when walking on it.

well, we shall see how it goes... the fact that it's the World Cup season now doesn't help much!!!

Thks, Angelia &amp; Alex..

My bf and I got the flat on the first day of the WIS in May...Kiasu...kekekeke...

Wanted to go for Ponggol flats. But CCKC will be near my future In-Laws lor...

I know nothing of renovation or even the Wedding...so jialat...like a lot of things to do le...aiyo...but we still have a lot of time to look around lor...Hope to get some good advices here!

Hi angelia,

If your hubby still prefer to use parquet, why not try "Parador" laminate. According to all my contractors that I have approached, they mentioned that it got parquet color and it is scratch/water proof. Just my 1 cents worth suggestion.

My 30k to 40k renovation is excluding furnitures; but includes many additional items. Such as TV console; fosted glass partition; full height shoe rack; Air-Con cum installation, etc. All this are additional items. Not really necessary. Might consider to drop some items to cut some cost for other purpose.

After approaching a few ID firm, they adviced me to put a side some cost for "taps, heater, Air-Con, electrical installation, Additional length of Wardrobe/kitchen Cabinet, lighting, additional cost for better material use and etc" All this can easily add up to be a few $k. A bit "KS" hor??

Need careful planning before deciding which contractor to use.

As for myself, still have some spare time before collecting my keys. Therefore rather spend some time doing more researh on the market prices.

However, this 1 to 2 weeks might not have time for renovation. Quite tight up with work and also most importantly WORLD CUP...

Been so quiet in here...

Good to have all back in the chit chat again.

I have more or less finalised my reno details.

Ceramic for living/dining/kitchen &amp; laminate for the rooms. Though it does make noise when u walk/drop things, it's more scratch resistant than parquet. The lovely thing is that it has many diff colours. Parquet is only one colour and too dark for the young and adventurous. (Just a thot

Though my FH &amp; I have picked an interior design company over just a contractor, the house design is decided by us.

Another food for thot. Don't have too many fixtures in the house. W/O too many permanent fixtures, it allows u the flexibility to move you stuff around and make your house look different all year round :P

So free hor :P

Remember all u CCK-ers. Final decision is yours and not contractors. Do not hesistate to tell them what u want for the house. U will be living in it. (some cool advice :P)

Take care.

Glad to see this thread revive again.

Hee, Ann, like you, we also choose laminated flooring for our bedroom coz I prefer the colour range. Find parquet's colour too dark as well. As for living/dining, we've homogenous tiles.

Right now we're waiting for the air con piping to be up so that they can start the paint work...

Can't wait to shift in.
ok, catch up again.

Hi all CCKC residents,

Please to check with you if there is anybody have any idea if there is any show room for furnitures at Sg Kadut which is near to our area. I have bypass a few big manufactures few days back, but wonder is it just a production area or they have show room there.

Anyone visited them before? Need your kind advice.

Hi Alex
Yes they fo have showrooms there with sales staff. Last year, I went there to select the marble top for my dining table and visited the showrooms as well.