Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date

Suddenly got I an idea before I knock off today hee heee heee...
Since 19 Dec is on Friday, why not we buy............ (1912) for Sat and Sun.....

Angelia

Huh? You mean the post in the "Recipes" thread issit? No choice lor.... mummy not around anymore and dad dun like outside food.... but mum was a great cook so I managed to pick up like 50% lah... next time we can cook together lor

AhMel
Got another plant, but most of the position already full mah... and they are not making pharmaceutical products, so quite different lor... anyway... I should be one of the later ones to go cos I'm not in operations... maybe in Mar or Apr...

AhMel

If you are washing King size bedsheets (esp quilt covers), its advisable to get 7kg. Dad say try not to operate machines at the max level too frequently if not they will tend to breakdown frequently.

19 Dec I'm ok... but FH already has an appointment. So on or not ha?

Dora,
ya, the recipes thread

cook together?? cannot lah, i not up to standard leh. but maybe i ask u for advise
. currently, my cooking quite "standard". only seasonings R soya sauce & sugar. muz learn how to add herbs into the cooking & how to buy them

Thanks for the useful information. Think i need to come in more often to familarise myself with yew tee and you all

Yo Alex

U into jogging ?? Maybe next time can chio me cos i sort of like jogging lahz......heheh....wana keep fit lahz

Okies.....i will try to come in more often

Hi Shirley

Same here.....we have not move in yet.....currently looking for contractors.......any gd recommendation ??

Hahahha.......same here lahz.....me also almost everytime hungry when back from you.........got to explore whether within walk distance got eatery open until very late if not open 24 hrs

U wana email us your ROM photo instead :P

Hi Meow

Got 24 hrs kopitiam within walking distance within our area.....me lazy to travel lahz....hahaha

Yo Angelia

No problem. My real name is Richard Ong, contact no is 9796 5208, Blk 685B.

Wowz......no bad harz......me and FW like tuay huay alot

Thanks Dora

I take note of the zi char.....hahah....maybe can go try cos one of my fav is zi char

Hi AhMel

No problem.

We still looking for contractors. Going for 2nd appt with catus art in Jan 04. Which contractor u use ??? Their charges ok??

Hahhah.....me also thinking of picking up tennis......can be our shi fu ??

Angelia

No prob lah... I'm no expert either... my cooking are the healthy, minimal oil, minimal salt kind... trying to get dad (and me) to lose weight... FH say he already so skinny, eat my kind of cooking he will be skin and bones soon
so a lot of steaming, boiling, soups lor... and I use a lot of herbs and spices instead... I can't do those frying stuff well
If we have a gathering, I can cook some stuff and let you try

dora,
hahaha.. we're the opp. hubby's into deep frying stuff, that's why we got a deep fryer!!

sure, sure, can't wait for the next gathering..

Wah now everyone into cooking liao... me can't cook leh, but only good eater....

Hi Richard,
Maybe you drop Angelia or myself an e-mail by clicking her nick, we will update the data and send you our contact

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
I'm thinking of getting those continental brands with tumble steel drums and hot water feature...above 5.5 kg ones are too eX ... my colleague is using the Thomson one and said it is enuff for king size bedsheets+pillow cases, but without quilt cover lor.... will ask the sales people again.

Good idea! 1912 ! thanks for the tip.... hehe..

Eh...u never reply about the proposed gathering next weekend, u can make it on which date ?

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
19th cannot huh? 20th leh ?
Mebbe I should send a mail to the others who have not been visitng here recently, and check which date is the best .

Aiyo, wat shifu ? My tennis only at beginner's stage and seldom play.
Good to know in our CCKC gang we can find many kakis to play different sports - badminton/tennis/MJ . Anyone like ping pong also ?
Talking abt badminton , we should just book one session sometime this month, mebbe in CCK stadium lor (though not easy, even online booking..) , wat say u ? But can ur 'fingers' take it ?

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
still consolidating the responses leh , as u can see. U busy again on 20th or not ?
Still got to decide whether shld have it external, or in someone's house leh...for the latter need volunteer to 'offer' their homes..
Anybody ??

<font color="ff0000">Richard,</font>
My contractor is Colorado Deco. I got to know about them through Dora, whose flat was completed by them recently.
Their price is not too eX, but not the lowest type either. Quite satisfied with their overall worksmanship so far , but main carpentry portion will only be installed next week . If u want, u are welcomed to drop by and check it out .

<font color="ff0000">Angelia, Dora,</font>
Talking abt cooking, what type of oil do u used?
Recently attended a health talk organised by our company, which was a real eye-opener for me . One section talk abt cholesterol and the types of fat used in cooking oil .
Worst type is the 'Saturated Fats' , and is highest in coconut, butter and palm oil . Avoid coconut oil at all costs! I think most common we use are palm oil, or so-called vegetable oil. Some labels claim they are 'cholesterol free' which is true, but when consumed into body, the fat will turn into cholesterol esp after frying process .
Suggested oil would be Canola or Rice Bran oil. High in monounsatured fats, which is good because it produces HDL (good cholesterol) and actually reduces amt of cholesterol in our blood.

Just sharing with all of u.

AhMel,
my fingers no problem, i hurt my left fingers, play wif right hand
anyway, badminton is more for hubby

table tennis? me oso onz!!
but looooong time nvr play, dunno still can make it or not.

as for the oil, i think Canola oil is not recommended for deep frying, stir fry is okie.

me currently using Knife Brand oil, dunno which type lah, but def not canola

AhMel

Thanks for the offer. Can arrange for a convenient day to visit yr place after i check with my FW.

Anyone into soccer also..........hehehe

<font color="ff0000">*** NeWs FlAsH ***</font>

<font color="0000ff">gathering to mark 2nd anniversary of the creation of this thread

Date : 19 Dec (or the wk/end) - <font color="ff0000">Pls cast ur vote</font>
Venue : under discussion

<font color="aa00aa">19 Dec</font>
- Dora (FH not free)
- AhMel (spouse ??)
- wizard (FH/spouse ??)
- Alex (spouse ??)
- Shirley (spouse ??)
the rest??

<font color="aa00aa">20 Dec</font>
- angelia &amp; hubby
the rest????

AhMel,
i help u "broadcast"

Angelia

Oh yah you got deep fryer hor... can borrow or not ha? Maybe I can do better with a deep fryer.. I promise I'll clean it up
20 Dec tentatively I'm ok, haven't asked FH yet. I can't volunteer my flat for that day cos I need to prepare the place for my party on x'mas eve... sorry!!

AhMel

I use canola oil. Yah it has a lower boiling temperature, so it will easily smoke up if you want to deep fry at high temperature. Note that the vegetable oil that hawkers use are normally palm oil based which is the cheapest, but also highest in saturated fats. I also have extra virgin olive oil which I use in salads and light frying for pasta. But note that olive oil has a very low boiling point, so not suitable for chinese kind of zi-char... But olive oil is actually the best

Another thing you might want to note is that even if you use the "good oil" such as canola oil, if you heat them to high temperature till they smoke up (like the zi-char), then even the good unsaturated fats will turn into trans fats, which altho unsaturated, is even more harmful than saturated fats... Aiyoh... sorry ha, am I too technical already?

alamak :p both 19 &amp; 20 koala can't attend

i got meeting on friday (unless meet u all after my meeting)and sat need to go back to m'sia and will be back on sunday..

I prefer on the 20Dec but if on the 19 must consider cos the other forum is having another gathering too but I can join you all cos you all just nearby my place n I can bring my son along too cos no one help me look after mah.
let me know at whose place lor.

Here's a preview on my son's photo.
37419.jpg

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
A very effective broadcast!

Me Ok for both 19 or 20 , no problem.
My wife would love to come, but too far away... she'll be here next mth for CNY .

So can u ask Kuek which day he wanna play badminton ?

soccer ? i like to watch , but too unfit to play ... unless it's PS2 soccer, or table soccer lor ...

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
Ooh, u got xmas eve party ?? mebbe go and gate-crash ....

Ya, olive oil is the best, but also cannot use to fry. So the only 'good' oil (highest in Mono fat) left which can use for frying is Rice Bran lor...wonder what's the taste like ....

<font color="ff0000">Richard,</font>
Good! U also into PS2 ! Alex also leh. Next time we can exchange games liao ... hehe...
I would like to try PS2 soccer, but dun have the game yet .... currently playing Fatal Frame and Final Fantasy X-2 .
Is PES3 those action type or management type ?

Yo AhMel

Great to hear that Alex and you are into PS2. I have quite a number of games (all not original lahz). Maybe can let u try PES2 b4 u play PES3. It is action type one. The game play very real life, especially PES3.

<font color="ff0000">Yo Richard</font>
Great! will definitely borrow from u once i clear some of my current games... I do buy some ori games, those classic ones which i want to collect, some are 2nd hand ori and the rest all 'friendly' ones ..

Me going off now.... tok to u tomorrow !

So many message,

Can't finished all by now. Still "fighting fire" due to too many issue. Will chat with you folks tomorrow ok.

Richard, the 24hr coffee shop is walking distant to me too. I stay at 683C mah.

Angelia, me can't make it on 19th. Got another gathering to attend, that's why didn't post. But where are we going?

missing in action for quite a while

Just to drop a note to say hi.

A merry x'mas and a happy new year to all at Yew Tee!

warmest regards

Hi Ahmel,
So sorry I can't make next week either.

Hi Ahmel and Richard,
Currently I am playing "Medal of Honour" Story base on WWII, initial stage similar to Saving Private Ryan. Have completed once before...

I have "Winning Eleven 6", "NBA 2003", "Silent Scope 2" and "Tiger Wood Golf", these are my favourite games. There are more but action type... All P games hor...

Prefer action type than RPG type. A few games can really last me for the whole year.

Me not good in soccer... maybe jogging ok lor...

Hi Pris,
Your baby so cute........

All,
Me got to go again,,, will be "fighting fire" until afternoon... chat with you folks later.

Hi Meow

Me blur blur liaoz....near our block got 24 hrs coffee shop ?? Located at which block harz .....heheheh......getting excited......got food to eat after midnight......ahhhahahaha

Yo Alex

Wowz....."Medal of Honour" sounds an interesting game........gt to check it out.........

Hhahaha.....mine also P games........tried winning eleven 6 (same style as Pro Evolution Soccer 2), Slient Scope 2 and Tiger Wood Golf. All nice game....heheh. How's NBA 2003 harz.....graphics and gameplay good ???

wow this thread really very active leh.. can't keep up with all the posting...

sorry yah.. i dun thk i can make it on 19 or 20 too, maybe going Hong Kong..

HI richard,

welcome.. me also stays at 685B..

hi Pris,
you baby boy really very cute leh....

hmm.. .1912 does sounds very good.. will go buy... ;)

Richard, i can't remember the exact blk. But hor, i always think those shop dun really open 24hrs leh. Sometimes i go there some shops are closed one.
Its very near to the school but at the other entrance jus opp. Kranji Camp.

Wah lao ah... this month pai mia... so many urgent issues... everyone expect to have solution from me within hrs... haiz......
... siao one.....

Hi Richard,
Confirm you will like Medal of Honour if you like war gaming...
NBA 2003 not bad. Graphic and game quite shiok especially you see how they slam dunk...

Is there any 24hr coffee shop? Not so sure either... But there is 7 eleven near by lor..

By the way anyone knows how to use an RCA cable. The one use for connecting TV and DVD payer. For the purpose of progressive scan. It comes with 3 plugs (red, Blue, Green)

After connecting them, do I still need to connect the original yellow one?
Do I need to switch progressive scan from TV or DVD?

Need advice as I dun see any difference after connecting the RCA cable leh...
waste money...

alex,
hahaha.. can't help u. hubby was the one connecting when we bought the DVD player

<font color="0000ff">on the 24-hr coffeeshop</font>
think i now which coffeeshop u all referring to. but hor, like not very convenient leh, the nearest bus stop is so far!!!!

Hi Netsnob,
I have connect it and also do the setting in the TV yesterday. but than hor... not much difference leh. Even DTS sound system also dun sound different. Maybe there are more setting.

All,
But thw way if DVD disk and player is DTS compatible, wonder does the wofer need to or not?

alex,
this is what hubby replied

<font color="ff6000">From what i know is in order to see the effect of progressive scan, one must
use S-video cable instead of RCA cable. Meaning must use the S-video o/p of
both DVD and TV.</font>

Hi Angelia,

What is the different between RCA cable. According to the sales they mentioned to watch progressive scan it needs red blue green cable. Please to check with you is this the one that you referring too?

What is the color of the connector of a S-video leh? hmmmm.... worst case I might have brought the wrong cable, but luckily brought at Carriefour still can refund within next week.

alex,
reply from hubby :

<font color="ff6000">black...

But ask him to confrim with shop pple ....coz i might be wrong.</font>

Priscilla

You baby is really very chubby and cute!!

AhMel

No prob lah... if you want to come on x'mas eve, just that my friends might be a bit rowdy lor
you might get a shock

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
From my understanding, normally there are 3 types of possible video connection - Component , S-video or Composite (basic yellow jack) .
The best video connection between a DVDP and TV will be component cables, the red/green/blue connectors. I assume you are using this, which means ur TV is component video ready.
Next best would be S-video, it has like a 4/5-pin type of connector which is unique, so u won't go wrong here.
The most basic then would then be the yellow composite video.

So if u alr have the component connection, u shld not use the yellow jack anymore.

Hi Ahmel and Angelia,

Sincerely thanks for your advice.
i have tried again today. Finally figure out with my friend's help. In TV1 I could see basic yellow cable output and TV2 with the red/green/blue connectors which is better video output. Have made a comparison on the both channel picture output when I freeze the DVD player. This is what I found out.

NOT WORTH IT!!!
Only very slight difference and must see very carefully than you will be able to see difference, but paying additional high price for the cable... Hmmmm....
Most likely I'll refund thru Carrierfour... heee...