Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
Wow! 2nd Anni of this thread is coming liao...thanks for the info !

19 Dec 2004 is next Fri leh, may I suggest we organize a dinner on this date to celebrate cum gathering ? We could reserve a place outside, or if one of u willing to spare ur house then can have eat-in as well . Hopefully can pull in some of the old-timers leh....many of them have disappeared from this thread ....

Thanks for the fish-tip! Is it in the Clementi central?

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
Thank u also for the lobang. Will give Alvin a call to check out his quotations.
So have u confirmed the vendor alr ? Not Alvin ?

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
went to the fountain website u sent, very nice table-top fountains!! esp those glass ones... but not sure how's the shipping charges like... and if glass scared could be broken leh...

<font color="aa00aa">Alex,</font>
haha.. lunch time only?? then ur lunch break is super duper long leh

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
if the fish shop <font color="ff6000">Alex</font> mentioned is the one i "guessed" then yes, it's near Clementi MRT. diagonally (opps how to spell?) opp NTUC (at the junction one)

ya lor.. but the items like quite easy to DIY leh.

19th i've got a dinner appt liao

<font color="0000ff">hmm... today <font color="ff6000">Dora</font> very quiet</font>

Angelia

I'm here I'm here!!! Haha today got a little bit of things to do
do statistical review for this year... also dunno do for what
... nevermind lor since I'm so free
Also did my appraisal... this is the worst appraisal I've ever done... we never discuss anything abt performance this year... my boss was asking me abt my plans, found job already or not... aiyoh so funny, where got appraisal time your boss ask if found job already or not

Alex

Seems like I'm not the only zo-bo one leh... today you also very free hor
the directions you mention is if standing inside the house looking out of the main door right? meaning the windows face south ha? sorry me a bit blur, think my FFIL did use a compass to check when we open door that time, but as usual me can't remember liao
so this direction supposed to be good ha?

AhMel
Wah got hippo in the water, must be very cute, can't wait to go to your place
The original place that I want to put waterfeature is now occupied by the bulky hi-fi speaker and subwoofer that dad bought for me... now got to re-think liao.... maybe buy a table top one

ehh... 19th I can but FH cannot leh....

Shirley

You chor lor still can act lady right? for me, cannot even visualise myself in the SIA uniform... cannot walk properly I think

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
ya lor, ur daddy really good leh...he looking for any god-son or not huh ??

Is the place u toking abt the corner just behind ur shoe-rack ? U shld just go and buy a simple compass la...very cheap and useful also. Sit south and Face north (Zuo4 Nan2 Chao2 Bei3) is the ideal direction leh...Alex has really done his recce homework when selecting his unit ..

19th not good huh....wat abt 20th huh ?

I think u spelt it correctly la

Opp to NTUC ? u mean it's not on the side of the bus interchange, but the other side of the main road ? NTUC as I remembered is at the corner of the junction rite ?

AhMel,
yup, it's not at the same side of interchange, and yes, it's the corner junction NTUC

btw, i thot pple always say zuo bei chao nan??!!

AhMel

hehe no need to buy compass lah, think FFIL have... since Alex is around so conveniently asked him lor... me so lazy

Yah lor yah lor... I also heard of zuo bei chao nan, never heard of zuo nan chao bei....good or not ha? its with respect to the main door when you are standing inside the house issit? Then Angelia would be zuo bei chao nan right? supposed to be good ha?

Daddy likes hi-fi mah....always read those hi-fi magazines and website.... so he decide for me... and also pay for me lor
Godson ah? I got brother already leh
The place I was thinking about its actually near the full length window next to the TV console... now very full liao... gotta re-look at the whole set up, the living room really very small leh

Shirley,
Not really good lar... who knows after Kuek and Angelia reading the mag and books, they become the pair master of FS leh...

You're from Mindef... oh no next time must b belly careful when mentioned about my reservist. Anyway reservist all the way.... ha ha haaa....
just kidding hor...

Dora,
Today a bit bo liao lor... My customers went on leave so very peaceful than before lor... got time to chat with Car forum... Share investor forum... FS forum.....
Maybe I have attain the highest level of Bo chap or delegation like my boss....

Yup the window facing the south where our door facing north. If your unit is really same layout same mine lor. Layout whether good or not depends on familiar Kau number... You can use the website I mentioned to find your best location...

Ahmel,
Oh yeh, have confirm liao. It is at blk 328. It is somewhere opposite of central. The other side of MRT. All 3 shops in at the same block. Only 1 shop is more outstanding than the other 2.

I have went to another one near Pasir Ris... Many fish farms there where they also sell fish. This one I totally can't remember the place or how to go there anymore.

Angelia,
Self declare one mah...

Angelia and Mel and Dora,
No model answer for fix location lar. It all depends on individual Kau number. Some zuo xi chao dong can be good for vertain people too...
Whether if it is zuo bei chao nan or zuo nan chao bei, can be quite practical as this will determine on the sun light location. Wrong direction might have too much evening sun or shining at your room wall which will be very warm in the evening at times lor.

All,
Another 15mins I'll be going off... took time off....yeh yeh yeeehhhhh....
chat with you folks next week ok? bye bye...

Alex,
wah.... really long long post b4 u go off huh??

okie, enjoy ur wkend!!!

<font color="ff0000">ps: see, u come back, this thread active again

i'm back again
so fast another page again :p

i need help!! how can i delete the pic i attached b4??

i got no photos to show yet. waiting for the photographer to contact us. the pigpig was taken by my friend.

today is not a gd day for me. scald my (3) fingers &amp; eas so painful. but managed to go to the doctor (wif ice packed in towel to lessen my pain), but the cream from the doctor made the pain worst!!! really pain till i wanna pass out. the painkillers he gave oso like not much effect.

abt after 30 - 40 mins of "torture" upon applying the cream, i was so tired from the screaming (&amp; the pain like subsided a bit) that i fell to sleep. now it's not so painful.

koalabear,
now not painful (unless pressed) but think will need couple of days b4 can use my fingers again

the surface skin already harden, think if i dun "touch" water, shld be able to heal faster (&amp; hope no blisters form)

Angelia

Are you OK? Take care....Yah remember dun touch water... get Kuek to do all the housework

The MD wants to see everybody in the plant today... my session is at 1015... siao liao... think going to officially announce the closure of the plant....now like waiting to go for execution

dora,
ya. better now.

hahaha.. ya lor, he oso dun let me do work. say i this wk is "king"!!

hahaha... maybe got different announcement leh??

All,
Ummm... Monday again. As usual very sian hor.... Tons of work waiting for us...
hope Friday will come soon...

Angelia,
Must take care hor... take this opportunity to have a good rest at home lor...

Dora,
Dun worry... Maybe someone is taking over the Co. and all will remain there leh...
or more benefit due to unexpected profit...

alex,
no lah. cannot take break liao. rushing my project.... anyway, still can type (w/out using injured fingers) so still oki elor

Alex/Angelia

No lah... my insider news very accurate lah... company closing after CNY... phase by phase... but I most prob won't be the 1st phase cos my director say still need me to help her "sweep the floor"
... but the compensation package is not bad... so still not as bad lor....

Sigh...

AhMel...

I've confirm with Alvin so maybe after the curtains are up then i take some photos then send you...

you all so nice...can come in here to post but then i can do it during lunch time and after work.sobsob...

me this whole month so busy...will still will always come in to check things out ok...

guys &amp; gals...
please don't post too much orelse i read until like siao..heehee

<font color="ff0000">Angelia, Alex</font>
Thank u for the info abt the Clementi fish shops! Will go there see-see one of these days.

Paiseh! shld be 'zuo bei chao nan' ... haha, got the directions mixed up...

Last Sat went to the flat and try to determine again directions using a compass, but very funny leh, the indications are different when I hold it in my hand vs putting it flat on the floor. hmmm...mebbe some spots have different magnetic force!

Are u having MC and log-in from home ? Glad to know u're better now .
If cannot touch water , how u bath huh ? very leh-cheh rite ?

Dun be too depressed .... at least you've got a good package. Btw, did u checkout those online job websites ? a couple of my frens located their jobs from there as well .

<font color="ff0000">wizard,</font>
So far not many pple responded leh .... only Dora and myself, plus u , and Angelia cant make it on 19th. Let's wait for more responses...

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
Thank u ! so kind of u to send me the pics. When would urs be installed ?
U using starnet rite ? too bad mindef dun allow staff to surf online on your PCs.

Hey guys, i need some help. What's there to look out for when purchasing a washing machine? I'm looking for top loading ones.

AhMel

The company is arranging for outplacement, and I'm also looking at websites also.. will see how... my boss say I'll probably be one of the last to go, cos I've got to ensure all documentation are sent to our sister company in Ireland... sian leh... see everyone go.... morale sure very low one....

And the local media really super leh... my company closure is such big news meh? everywhere also on the headlines... aiyoh... see already very sian leh... then relatives and friends keep calling to ask... so sian...

Hi Dora-san,
Aiyo... at least you won't be the first one to be out of job mah...
of cause any big organisation close down will be big news. Especially in Business Times newspaper. It will definitely affect other stock pricing within the related sector lor..

Today big news "Wyeth to close US$130 Million drug plant in S'pore; 200 jobs to be axed"

Very sad hor...
while the Government trying to extend the retirement age but did not prevent from many company forcing aged workers for earlier retirement. Eg winding down... down sizing... cut cost.... Very contradicting. Hope something can be done about it... hmmm...

Hi Meow,
Wah... so long did not come back here liao...

By the way I'm not joining Feb '04 Ex. cancel for me yeh....

Well there are a few things maybe you might want to consider to look out for.

1) Size... Make sure the WM can fit into the platform. I mean the WM platform
2) When open up the top cover make sure it does not it any obstacles. eg the tap on top for the water flow etc etc...
3) Usually nowadays there are 2 opening below for the water flow outlet. Drainage can be either on the left or right side. You can either use one for them instead going one big round. Just in case lor.
4) Capacity. It depends on whether your want to wash Queen size and above bed sheet. If yes, most likely you might need 7kg and above
5) Dry cleaning. I think more than 7Kg than have this function. Need to check it out.
6) Detergent and softener inlet. Some WM have easy access while some dun.
7) Auto... More or less the same except some are more user friendly. Especially Japanese brand
8) Lastly price. Apple to apple comparison (eg Capacity 10L or 7L or 5L etc etc...)
9) Others if any

Hope this will helps...

Hi Ahmel,
Is it b'cos you ate too much zinc....

Alex

Bingo! I never read Business Times... yah I'm one of the 200 lor...
But the feeling is really terrible... I was one of the pioneers for the plant... I was one of those who brought the plant from zero to a full manufacturing state... now I have to bring it down to zero again
really bad feeling.... \clipart sad

Meow
Sorry can't help you there cos my mum has always used front loading WM... so the only ones I looked at was frontloading...

Richard here. Me and FW just bought a flat in Oct through the WIS in Yew Tee area (Blk 685B).

Would like to find out more (i.e. got 24 hrs eatery, where got nice things to eat, the environment of the place) abt this exciting and young estate.

Hi Richard,

Warm welcome to CCKC. You will sure like this place...
Food at the Yee Tee food court not bad. Place just renovated and is very cosy there. Once a while there is basar malam too... Now adays I think quite often.

Lot 1 Shopping centre also 1 MRT away. There are shops, fast food, food court, cinema etc etc...

If you like exercise, there is an exercise corner (have different work out station) at one of the somewhere CCK park behind Lot 1. Exactly 3 km jog from CCKC.

Have not been to the stadium yet. Wonder if there is any gym...

Do come in to chat with us more often hor... many infor avail here....

wah lau eh, toto yesterday one winner and prize money is 2.7million! 'ciat bway liao ah!(cannot eat finish)'

is the winner one of us from cck gang?

epsilon

Welcome Richard...

me staying behind your block only...686D...heehee...don't know about any 24hrs makan place yet (cos haven't move in) but need time to explore cos my hubby always hungry when he's back from work...

ah...then hor...about the 19 Dec gathering how huh?? still on anot???

me trying to upload my ROM photo so you all know how i looked but then cannot leh..maybe i try again later...

Alex,
You shiok ah, can escape the exercise. Unlike me, sure kanna one. Wanna go for my actual honeymoon they also dun allow

Thanks for the pointers, but hor, my platform too small liao. Took my mum's measurement cos last time she ask me to bing it over but now change her mind.

I dun think i need the dry cleaning function lor. Also the drainage can choose one meh? Mine has been already laid by El-fa liao.

I thought detergent ir softener can jus pour some in during initial stage?

Some say front load will not spoilt the clothes as compare to top load. Is it true??

As for the Stadium, there is a gym. And i love going there too. $5 per person lor.

Welcome Richard!

I prefer the food at the 24hrs coffee shop at Lot1 jus behind the bus interchange. Dunno why, now really a lot of ppl park there. Hard to find lots now.

<font color="aa00aa">richard,</font>
welcome aboard!! pls send me ur contact (mobile no. preferred), real name, block no. so that i can update the CCKC list

the NTUC foodfare @ Yew Tee oso not too bad. the tauhuay @ CCK 24hr coffeeshop is delicious.

<font color="aa00aa">dan,</font>
me seldom buy toto (&amp; 4D too) but last Thur bought unit no. for Sat draw, then hor, consolation prize see number but no $$
the last 2 number jumble lah!!!

did u bet on ur unit no?? any winnings??

ya lor.. or ur "element" is Metal izzit??

me nvr go on MC lah. still gotta work. now alot better, but if stretch my fingers straight, will feel a bit tight, like hving a layer of wax.

<font color="aa00aa">shirley,</font>
i oso wanna see the curtains/blinds pix!!

Hi Richard

Welcome!! Yah the foodcourt near Yew Tee MRT and the NTUC foodfare is not bad.... Dun ever try the zi char opp my block... (err... Angelia any idea what's the blk number?) Its really disasterous

Angelia
Glad to know that you are feeling better. Any idea where to get bamboo poles near our place? Also how long are they ha? Thanks

Oh BTW, my roman blinds are up liao (actually a long time ago, forgot to tell you

AhMel

Yah Lor... you are ferro-magnetic issit?

dora,
hahaha.. actually i find the zi char opp our place not bad leh.. but think recently the std dropped a bit. i din remember the blk no, that's why nvr post

oh ya, we supposed to go see ur blinds installation!!

btw, i've been "observing" our neighbours staying in the opp blk (i.e. Alex's blk) &amp; realise quite a no. did grilles &amp; curtains for MBR leh.

Just came back from meeting expecting today will be as peaceful as yesterday but than so many message liao....

Meow-san,
Luckily lor... we not need to go otherwise waste time there again like last year...

Whether if the outlet is on the left or right I dun think it really matters. Actually I have been window shopping for WM (7.5~10kg type) for past 1 month and found that majority of up load WM have both side out let at the bottom. So it doesn't matter where the location of the outlet is. During the delivery, they will install for you nicely lor.

But if the platform is small and your WM have larger size, my only concern is that if it does not sit properly it might cause more vibration during washing lor...
worst case re-do the platform lor... not so eX, I think so...

Yup detergent and softener is put during initial stage but depends on some design whether if it is easy to put in or not lor. Some located at certain odd ward location. Can't remember the brand liao.

I have been using Sanyo Auto upload 4kg WM (old model but similar function) for past 7.5 years no such problem leh... maybe different brand lor... I can't really compare as I have not use front load before.. I still prefer using upload type... me very very lazy one. Just require to press 1 bottom and that’s all.

Nowadays WM can control washing type or speed too... Just check it out...

Stadium really have gym... hmmm just guess only.... from what time to what time huh?

Angelia,
Wah... you did survey by look see here look see there at our blk hug....

So hard working, got "injured" but still work. I think when you boss see this, sure got big fat bonuses for you this year.

Dan,
Dun think CCKers have high chance for the toto lor... unless they went all the way to Woodland to buy it... ha ha haaa...

Hope the coming CNY 10 Million 1st price money come to Yee Tee NTUC or 7-eleven. Than we got more chances.

hmm... tt's mean koala's hubby will be expecting seeing either alex or dan queeing to buy 4d/toto next time @ 7-11 or ntuc?? :p

actually our unit # came out few times (either 2nd or 3rd price) but always jump #!! no luck no luck!

alex,
hehehe.. i look look see see from our unit windows mah
that day saw a woman danced her way to the bedroom
so cute

wah, the CNY toto prize money so much?!!! when ah? from now on or only during CNY wk??

actually hor, after we returned from japan, my mum "consolidated" some numbers to buy toto &amp; 5 came out!!! but hor, she consolidate liao forgot to buy!!!!!!!

then hor, the JR pass number, she buy 1 wk 4D nvr buy, think last wk strike one of the top 3 prize!!! otherwise can "reimburse" the trip

Our 7-eleven outlet not too bad lah...at least let me Tio a $1 starter last month...
today just bought my 50cents Toto , mebbe got luck this coming Thurs. My unit no. also came out exact b4 (only starter/consolation, cant remember..), a few weeks after I got the number, but I didn't buy leh, though my dad bought small small... good also la!

<font color="ff0000">Richard,</font>
Welcome ! hope to see u more often here, okie?
My flat is also currently undergoing reno.
So have u started ur reno or still looking for contractors?
The Yew Tee MRT food centre really has alot of varieties, only tried a few so far. As for NTUC FuShi coffee shop, my favorites stall there are the Fish soup and ShaoLa (roast duck, char siew..) Mee .

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
For washing King size bedsheets &amp; pillow cases (excluding quilt cover) I thought just a 5 or 5.5kg WM will do ? I'm also intending to get a top-loader ard this size only leh....

i'm an 'earth' rooster leh.... where got metal element ? mebbe like wat Alex says lor...i took much iron-food alr .... hehe..

I also saw the articles on the papers.... they say ur co. got another plant in spore , didn't they try to place some of u in that plant instead ? and the last phase of the layoff could be as late as June ?

<font color="0000ff">Regarding the suggested gathering on 19 Dec, any response from those of u who have not replied yet ? </font> Angelia, u really cant make it on that day huh ?

Anyway, wish all the cck good luck in toto and 4d. who knows, maybe one of us might just be the one. never try, never know.

so is there like a x'mas gathering for the cck gang?

cheers to all

epsilon

Since the dates are so close, we should just combine the 2yrs anni and Xmas events into one gathering.
How about during the weekend of 19/20/21 Dec ? Plse state which slots u are available .... but it's really hard to find one where everybody can make it ....

going off for my tennis liao .... talk to u pple later !

Hi Ahmel,
For King size bed sheet, it was recommend by the sales promoter to have 7kg and above lor... not sure whether if it is true. Maybe they try to con me to buy lor... I have tried with my 4kg for 2 x single bed, vibrate a lot until I need to stop it. Really afraid that it will spoil the component in the WM lor...

I think it is better to check with the Sales again when intend to buy lor... For I think I might need at least 8kg above. cos in future 4 family members (hope + 1~2 more) will be staying together.

At least something different from you. My prefer place is NTUC. There, more luckier for me and my dad heee....

Hi Angelia,
For the past few years, every CNY period there is 10 Million Toto draw. Can't confirm on date. Need to check out the announcement. Heard that Yishun is the "Wang" place. I have brought there this year and last year, all number very close only.

i got another gathering on 19th Dec leh. can't change lah.

weh.. u really my kaki leh... can teach me tennis or nt?? looking for kakis to "learn" leh

erm... what happened to our CCKer badminton session huh?!!!

<font color="aa00aa">alex,</font>
wah.. u still got strike b4!! think kuek &amp; me got no such luck. must work hard at work!! hiaz....

<font color="aa00aa">dan,</font>
they're trying to hv a gathering on 19th Dec, the day when this thread is started, to mark the 2nd anniversary...