Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Flooring workers on leave don't come back
lucky the ID quite friendly
by end of this week or wet work shld be completed

Hi Angelia and Adam,

Heard of geeting a universal "tap head" that you get the water from the public tap outside your . The water is directly from PUB where you get to use the water to wash thing, clean the place for FOC. I even saw neighbors using it to hand wash their cloths leh... But don't inform HDB or PUB hor... otherwise they will put a lock to it than on one can use liao.

Hi Milong and Kirin,

Welcome back to this thread. Long time no hear from you liao.

Hi Angelia,

How you An Shen. Can share share this infor??

Hi Angelia and Milong,

My wiring only take one day. Except that they will come back to do some repostioning of the switches.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
my brother oso ever suggest we get one of "those" taps, else use a spanner will do the trick.. kekeke...

as for "an shen", i oso dun hv much details, cos on that day, my parents will be going as well (then do the house shifting ritual together) so i din ask them oso lor.

but hor, was told cannot take lift, muz carry the "statue" &amp; climb all the way to ur flat!! that's when hubby says "sure or not? if like that, then u oso gotta climb with me!"

Hi Angelia,

Me siao liao... 24th floor and not 2nd floor leh… After I have climbed all the way to put my Kuan Gong, probably I die there flat flat liao…

Maybe will chose another date. Need to go for more training first. Ha ha haaaa….

This coming Sat when you An Shen, Please inform me. Maybe I’ll come over to your level and see the procedure. But of course I’ll take the lift and wait for you upstairs. Heeee… heeee..

siao liao....i did not know there..

me supposed to place a zhong kui also....20th floor leh......die lah...

just spoke to my renovation guy....if all goes well, can hand over tomorrow liao....

i dun think i want to fix the toilet tile liao...asked him to get some white cement for me and i will just "seal" the crack.....hehe...dun want any more workers to come into my place...wait they use my bathing facilities....

Hi Milong,

Me at 692B,how about yours? I'll try to update the neighboors data once i consolidate all.

Hi Discrete / Derick / Concern / Irvin and SehLin,

Long time no hear from you leh... How are you folks? May I also know which blk you are in?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">pucca,</FONT>
me is own free will.. but the date coordination &amp; things to follow (by my mum who 1 day change 1 story) is driving me so mad that last nite i told my hubby "forget it! the altar go buy 1 fish tank &amp; put!"

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam,</FONT>
me not been to farm mart. is the shuttle bus FOC?? maybe will go after settle everything lah. now impt things not in yet, how to think of kois..... anyway, i dun intent to rear fish lah, lazy to change water &amp; feed them everyday! scarly wanna go long holiday then they starved to death leh...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">angelia</FONT>

me have a water feature at the entrance mah...going to put 9 kois for fengshui...for fun in a way....the shuttle bus is FOC.

anyway, i just got the aquarium behind my workplace to get for me liao....because i need 1 pure black/brown koi lor...so more difficult to find...

tomorrow can hand over liao....so happy....all the minor rectifications can do later....hehehe

wah, water feature with 9 kois?!! hmm.. u gotta hv quite a big water feature then.. i tot <FONT COLOR="ff0000">6</FONT> is a better fengshui number?! tot i read somewhere.

so envious of u.. can takeover tmr.. guess if i go tmr, prob only clean up a bit here &amp; there lor.. dun think can takeover until Fri.. but then, after takeover sure still got things need to rectify!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Alex,</FONT>
maybe we can jio, then go visit <FONT COLOR="ff6000">adam</FONT> together.. very curious how he going to rear 9 kois leh.. kekeke..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">btw, anyone has the album <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Lonely Grill</FONT> by <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Lonestar</FONT>?? i looking for the song <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Amazed</FONT>
</FONT>

Hi Milong,

Oh I see… only 2 blks away from me and Angelia's blk. Very near lor…

Me, also Christian too but come from strong Chinese Culture Family.

Might be putting Kuan Gong for the sake of Art. Still considering.

Hi Pucca,

Me just do it for the sake of doing it on a good day. No particular reason.

Hi Adam,

I hope you are referring to (Japanese) fish. You can get them near our neighborhood at Neo Tiew Crescent (after Kranji Way – Kranji Dam). I went to look see look see before and there are many fishes, vegetables, and water features… Very interesting places…. Another place you can go to is along Lim Chu Kang area…

Hi Adam,

Are you putting the water feature directly at the centre of the entrance? Or left/right of entrance? My layout which only can put at the right, but I prefer on the left lor which is better.

Anyway just to share with you, after I shift in more than 2 weeks +++ liao, still having quite a number of small small defects here and there. Will slowly touch up by contractor lor. Can only spot here and there during cleaning.

Hi Angelia,

Provided Adam welcome us lor…

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">alex</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="119911">angelia</FONT>

sure sure, but best time is maybe after all my stuff come in lor....the water feature and kois (provided the aquarium can get them) will only come in end of next week...

so this week is cleaning time lor...

my water feature is on the left when u enter the hse lor....it is the only place where i can put as i have some wood pillars on the right.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
hehe.. think <FONT COLOR="ff6000">adam</FONT> dun mind one lah..

wanna drop my place oso can.. but be warned hor, my place what oso dun hv, except the built-in few things.. bed will be delivered 02 Nov, mattress prob get them to deliver 16/23 Nov, sofa maybe 23 Nov.. kekeke... dun wan the furnitures to come in too early.. later all dusty!!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam, alex,</FONT>
think water feature &amp; fish tank cannot put wrong side leh, else will hv "tao2 hua1 yun4/sha4"...

Hi Angelia/Adam,

Yah lor... The best place is on the left side of the main door while looking from inside of your unit. However as you know mine left side is the wall beside main door. Only left with right side.

But than hor... Can't tell which is main openning becuase all my windows directly opposite my main door have bigger surface area. This also can consider main door leh according some books. If consider Living window as main openning than it is directly at left which will be better lor... Hmmmmm..... Need some advice too.

Hi Alex/Adam/Angelia
According to my ID, water feature &amp; fish tank cannot anihow put, if u put it at a "xiong" place, it will bring u bad luck,
if u put it at a "chai" place, u will get fortune

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">then hor, then hor, i read somewhere that the best place to put plants/fish tank (living elements) is the corner diagonal to the main door!! oso dunno which is correct lah. maybe all correct, but difficult to find such location lor.
</FONT>

Hi Angelia
according to my id, he told me that every house has a "xiong" and "chai" place, is depends on how is ur house facing, the best if "xiong" is located at kitchen or bathroom...
my id study feng shui

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">milong,</FONT>
wah, then u "zhuan dao" leh.. ID cum Fengshui advisor.. hahaha...

then he'll hv told u where is ur "cai" place rite?? good lor, then time strike lottery muz give us treat leh..

hi angelia
yup...he told me
:lol:
hopefully can strike lottery
then give u a big treat
;)

Just a note on feng shui

This feng shui may or may not be applicable to everyone.

It works for me will not necessary mean it works for my neighbour.

Feng Shui tied very closely in with your "Eight Character"

Just my 2-cents comments

Agree with Netsnob, however some basic fundamentals are universal. Eg. Bed cannot be placed opp door etc...

Hi Adam,
Think Qian Hu is also another place which you can try for Kois.

At last handover liao...

all is well, except for small minor scratches on my chimney hood...going to let that off for some discounts from my last payment...

now it is the cleaning part liao...xiong..

Wow so many discussion about Feng Shui. I just came back from reservist. Hope to contribute some tips i got from some books:\

South – fame (Fire Sector)
Southwest – marital happiness and relationship (Big earth sector)
West – Children (Lesser Metal sector)
Northwest – New beginning, helpful people and mentors (Big metal sector)
North – career prospects (water sector)
Northeast – education and knowledge (Lesser earth sector)
East – family relationships and health (Big wood sector)
Southeast – wealth and prosperity (Lesser wood sector)

Good 5 element combinations
Wood ->Fire -> Earth ->Metal -> Water -> Wood -> repeat the cycle
This means you can use this combination to enhance the element. Eg Put some wood decorative item at Fire sector to enhance fame

Bad 5 element combinations
Wood -> earth -> water -> fire -> metal -> Wood -> repeat the cycle
This means if you accidental put something resemble water (eg water feature) at fire sector you will have lesser fame.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">last nite went to check the carpentry touch, but was very disappointed with some portions!!
  1. <LI>din replace what the contractor promised to replace, (the wardrobe drawer which was dented) <LI>din replace some of the "planks" inside the kitchen cabinet. almost all of our kitchen cabinet planks not in good condition (not smooth, a lot of uneven lines) but the contractor told us it's due to the stock from the supplier, but normally won't cause any problems, so we "close 1 eye". but there are a few which is real bad, &amp; he said he'll get the carpenter to replace but what they did was remove the masking we stick on then put them back into the cabinet!!</LI>
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">need to check with u all, how to determine how many layers of paint the painter had painted?? last nite we used masking tape to indicate the places we want the painter to touch up.. then got 1 place i stick wrongly, so remove the masking tape... &amp; voila... some paint came off as well.. then we can see the white wall!!

is this normal?? we went back my parents place to try, but no paint came off leh!</FONT>

angelia

carry on hounding the contractor to get the things fixed...

as for painting else...there shd be at least 2 layers...what i guess is that maybe your painter did not use any sealant for the paint before painting?

Hi Angelia,

First of all are you using emusion paint or those glossy paint to your wall. Emusion paint usually come as (wash and wear, 3 in 1, or pentalite). What I heard is wash &amp; wear or 3 in 1 for emulsion paint is the easiest to clean and maintain but also slightly more difficult to paint.

I have ever asked my ID how many layers of paint before and he answer min 2 layer. They will paint more to certain potion if it is not proportionately painted. If I insist 3 layer than I have to pay extra lor… Usually can’t tell the difference for my unit whether 3 layer or 2 layer because one of the wall is 3 layer and the rest 2 layer. However if it is not proportionately paint than under the lights at an angle it will be very obvious.

What I did is after the paint dry up for a few days, I use wet cloth to clean the wall so that the true I could see the true color. If covered by dust, this will make the wall some side darker and some lighter.

This Sat the painter also come over my unit to touch some areas too.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam, alex,</FONT>
ours oso pentalite.

think normally they'll use pentalite cos it's the easiest to paint &amp; oso the cheapest..

hehhe... <FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex,</FONT> can i ask u to try masking ur wall then see if the paint comes off??
kidding lah

btw, what is sealant?? what is its use?

sealant is something which is supposed to be used before painting, i think...i saw a few tins of that lying ard in my storeroom with the paint...

Hi Angelia,

Actually I have tried many times to paste masking tape on or near the wall or the door. This is in order to show the contractor where are the defects near the carpentry work or skirting lor… However I have not come across peeling off or paint come off problem. The only problem I have is the main gate paint. The Duro lock that I am using have not tighten properly therefore hitting to another potion which caused the paint drop lor…

I have not heard of sealant. As for the false ceiling, I am using Oil Base Sealer to prevent discoloration near the lighting. This was proposed by my ID.

Certain portion due to stubborn wall ,the paint could came off easily with masking tape .Another reason is it need a few month to dry internally and strengthen its adhesion. It doesn't matter what kind of paint you are using.

It's not sealant ,is call sealer. When I was working in those newly built building ,my company used a lot of sealer to paint bear concrete walls.

HDB has already painted sealer for all the bear concrete walls ,otherwise when you take over the house ,you will see grey colour concrete. Hope its helpful.

How much you guys on average spent for lighting?
(excluding downlight)

I need a ballpark figure so I could benchmark my expenditure whether I am paying too much

Mine is $1k includes 2 fan with lighting kit and 1 fan without lighting kit

Hi netsnob,

My lights cost me $1600/- for 15 lights (excluding the downlights as these were included with the costs of the L-box by the ID company).

Hi Adam,

ur turn to clean...enjoy!

Hi Netsnob,

If mine with downlight and halogen light is about S$1400 without is about $1000 lor... All without fans. Qty as follows:\

PLC Lighting -15pcs
Halogen Lighting with 2 dimmers -4pcs
Living Lights with dimmer -1pcs
Dining Lights with 1 dimmer -1pcs
Beds Room Lights -3pcs
M.Bed Room Entrance Light -1pcs
Kitchen Lights -2pcs
Toilets Lights -2pcs
Boom Shelter Light -1pcs

Hope this infor helps.

Hi milong,

yep yep...doing up the house can really cost...

when everything is lumped together, heart &amp; $$ goes down the drain...

but think long term...gonna live in a comfy place and for at least 5 yrs...so the $$ is well spent by all of us

hi milong,

If you intend to cut down on lighting cost , you can do without Lightbox.

With lightbox up, you need to factor into cost for an additonal 10 to 12 lighting points not to mention the downlights...

In my case since cost is a major factor, I do without lightbox for my house saved at least $1000

Hi Milong,

Lightings can be quite expensive. Majority of the cost have to depends on what kind of lightings that you chose. As what Nestnob mentioned, down light must include Light box and additional of installation cost. If the designer lights that you chose are special import from Europe or Japan will be quite ex too…

It will be better to do some budgeting and most importantly slightly cater slightly more for unknown factors.

Same as Ann, after renovation my heart and most importantly $$$ goes down deep deep into the drain.

how's ur cleaning?? me &amp; hubby last 2 days clean all windows &amp; carpentry liao.. now left the flooring &amp; mbr toilet, cos Sat we had our "an shen" &amp; "ban jia" ritual, then mummy says cannot clean floor until 3 days later (which is today). then somemore detect mbr floor a lot of rough patches (after their 2nd time polish) so get them to redo again yesterday.. &amp; was told today then can go in the mbr.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">netsnob,</FONT>
we spent abt $800+ for lightings, only 2 downlights. store room, bathrooms &amp; corridor outside bedrooms using cheap cheap lights (actually kena conned, paid $15 each for "bigger then normal" lightbulb with a light holder.. but what u see is the lightbulb cos there's no casing to cover..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">for the painting, got them to repaint 2x on Thu.. hubby was there to "supervise" them, make sure they paint 2x. me very bad hor?!</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">hv to go to new flat every evening to pray to my guan yin.. this evening will "shun bian" mop the floor.. dun think we'll scrub the living &amp; dining floors cos they did pointing, i scared later i scrub scrub, the white cement all come out, like the toilet done by HDB.. last evening scrub toilet, then the "white lines" became "black lines".. then some got big lobang.. think they din put enuff plaster in the gap..</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">anyone's toilet will "trap" water? we did a shower screen @ MBR bathroom, then hor the basin/toilet bowl section, water will flow down towards the toilet door instead to the drainage outlet leh.. jia-lat.. next time wash MBR toilet floor muz mop dry.. hiaz, now that near MBR toilet door area got water stain liao.. cos the toilet bowl the other time leak water, then the water flowed &amp; stay at the near door area for few days!!
</FONT>