Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Hi Paul,

How is your cable issue? Hope HDB or SCV have settle it.

Hi Ann,

Think I'll give up cleaning liao... each time after cleaning, the next day sure gets dusty again. Maybe after shifting in tommorrow than do another round of cleaning lor...

Hi Angelia,

How is reno, still going smoothly right?

hi alex....

check with HDB...they will send their contractor down to check...see what they say first...but i took a look at the service room (both of them) but there is nothing amiss like trunking being open or break into...and i also didn't see any SCV box/trunking...maybe it is inside the telephone riser as i see some thick black cable (like antenna) and several other thinner cable (maybe for telephone) through some joint...

will update all...

paul

guess I belong to this thread
my new house at blk 691B
still under renovation

hihi...milong.

welcome welcome..

Hi netsnob,

I didn't have a mover when I shifted. Most furniture were newand so were delivered.

As for personal stuff, hubby and I have a car each and so we just dump our personal stuff into the cars, drive over & carry up to the flat on our own.

Hubby's stuff are all over. I am bringing my stuff up by batches.

Haha, think the market stall holders will run when they see the gang raiding the market. Have not gone there yet. Been shopping at NTUC at Lot 1 or Bukit Panjang Plaza.

Hi Alex,

Yep, dusty as ever. I only open my windows in the evenings. It's very hazy in the mornings. The exterior of my windows are all dust stained already. Given up wanting to clean. Maybe will after the haze is cleared.

juz started, lay flooring
shld be end by end of this month or early next month

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">milong,</FONT>
warm welcom to the big family.. so glad to see it "expanding" hahaha... all here r young couples getting married this or next yr rite? if we keep in contact after couple of yrs then bring our small ones to gathering, sure "chao si ren" hahaha...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
hmm.. last nite went to do some marking for downlight so that my fren can start fixing for us.. then realise that our divider glass not changes, kitchen sliding door not fixed yet.. solid surface removed, supposedly to be installed next monday, hood not up yet.. anything else?!?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">adam,</FONT>
agree wif <FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex</FONT>. juz inform us &amp; we'll be there to help u score points!

aiya, dun need meet at pavilion lah, can go anyone's hse lor.. we "rotate" lah. maybe start with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Ann's</FONT> place.. very eager to see her hse leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
very true leh, u shld take part since ur ID already wanted to feature ur unit in the upcoming mag.
9747.gif
we sure go support u one..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">netsnob,</FONT>
scarli the hawkers see us, all close shop for the day.. hahaha..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">rdging the cables in the riser, the day we got our keys &amp; went to inspect, din find anything in there leh.. only saw cables in the mailbox.. but din check are those the extension cables or whatsoever.. but pretty sure we din find any cables in the riser.. i KS so even open the risers to check
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">btw, realise a lot of "A"s here...
</FONT>

hi angelia
hehe..:D
I'm still single now :P
"chao si ren" ...that's kampung spirit....

I din find any cables in the riser also..

Hi Milong,

Welcome Welcome... Guess Damnjian and BubbleBB’s Brother has found a new neighbor in the same block.

Hi Netsnob,

I will be using a mover call M2, Tel 90082222. It was advistise in our lift. Believed you will see it in your lift too. Can't judge the service as tomorrow than shift house. But the moment I call for them, they came immediately to my old house to provide official quote and also provided me with 15 big boxes lor... However I find that the prices a bit ex ($200). I got no choice because in a hurry...

They will help to throw old furnitures (many) at the cost of additional $100.

does that mean u staying at parents' hse at the moment?

single but still available or not?!

angelia
I will be stayin with my bro,
my parent seldom in local
single but not available

Cannot join the Open Sesame liao lah...

Closing date, my furniture not even in yet.

How to join? Hehehe...wait for Part 3 liao...

Or maybe TCS will have also....they now fight like siao...hehe

Hi Adam,

What a waste, with yours and Ann's good reno, should have take part and win... Hmmm close date hor...

I wonder if everyone in this thread take part, how will Open Sesame react lehh... "1st unit we are going is CCKC, 2nd unit we are going also CCKC, 3rd unit we are going still CCKC, Next Episode all are from CCKC, etc etc etc...." Heeee....

Sure got one unit be the winner...

Hi Milong,

Are you related to BubbleBB? because her brother also get 691B leh...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Alex</FONT>

thanks for the compliment...hehe

But u never see the hse before leh....:P

Will post photos when my place is done lor...

think this the closing date is for the 1st episode of part 2 izzit? remember for part 1, every week they also asking for participants for different themes... so prob still got chance lah..

erm... can ask if u male or female?? ur nickname is ur real name??? i kpo lah..

If not cables, then some SCV connection parts in the Riser. Cos mine were definitely stolen. (Riser supposed to be locked and no one has access to it). When the SCV chap opened it, the points were not there.

That's y my TV, though tuned, cldn't get any channels. Had to activate the SCV guy then. TV's okie now.

Nah, won't join the Open Sesame Show. Very Pai seh one :P If unit is featured in Magazine, not so pa seh. Anyway, I have not agreed to ot yet

Still thinking...pondering...

anyone using samsung aircond???
I heard korean air cond not good?
no durable, problematic etc...
plz comment

Wow Alex,

Exciting huh...so happening...

Shifting in tomorrow...

Great! Need help?

I shall go look after your stuff while you move

Don'tworry. Eye power is FOC!

Did give give the wrong information today that I'll be shifting todat 11 Oct. urr... Actually yesterday I took one day leave to shift house leh... Maybe I gave wrong infor... heee...

Wao lao ahhh…. Very siong. House mover came at 9am sharp and we reach there to shift in at 11.08 am Just in time for the timing I selected… yehhh…

TV came in and Dinning table came in too. Heng ah…No problem for TV tuning. I could get all the channels inclusive an unexpected channel… Curtain and Sofa will only be in 19 Oct and worst coffee/side table will be in next month…

Gave up cleaning the floor, each time after cleaning, it will get dirty in 1 to 2 hrs. Mainly due to the dust during unpacking and also dust from outside because reno still ongoing for my neighbors.

Because of the dust I keep on sneezing liao…

I found that it is very quiet there at night. However in the morning, if I open the window (without aircon), can hear buses (302) and school buses passing by. But not so disturbing lor…

After shifting in, I found out still many minor defects yet to complete. This means whole Sat will be in to supervise them…

Overall I still like the place very much.

I think plus the rest of my message below will be very very lor so… Will keep you more updates later… Got meeting liao.

Hi Ann,

Urrr... eye power no use liao, already shifted in. Maybe you can use your eye power to watch me unpack my things.

Actually driving from CCKC to Shenton not so bad. Not much traffic Jam, At least I could drive in from 70km/hr to 90km/hr. Driving within speed limit, it takes me from 7.45am to 8.26am to reach destination. My neighbour say it will be faster to take MRT. I wonder if it is true.
9819.gif

Hi Adam,

Pee on Kirin house only, but don’t pee on ours ok… heee….

Hi Netsnob,

M2 Enterprise, really not bad ah… So give them 95 points for shifting house… Total 6 people came plus his surpervisor is 7. They are very carefully with your stuff. They also wrap up your furniture before they move to the lorry. When they reach your place, they hand carry the big/small item to the location you tell them without dragging it. Unlike the last time I use the previous house mover, they drag here and there, and worst even use trolly in your house.

Hi Angelia,

First day there still going ok. But very dusty lor. Maybe I have a very sensitive nose. But still very dusty which I don’t like…. Maybe tomorrow will have another round of cleaning, than seal the whole place… heeee……

Tomorrow coming to CCK to inspect… Give me a call, I’ll try to come over to your unit to see see lor. Hope timing right this time.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">alex</FONT>

no problem...hehehe...anyway, kirin's place is nearer mah...hehe

tonight i will be at my place to take over all the remote controls for my aircons...

then tomorrow...siong...need to settle all the bathroom accessories and water heater...

but at least, everything is gaining "shape"

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alwx,</FONT>
might hv a change in plan for tmr.. my bro jio me go kusu island tmr morning, then i need to arrange to meet up my uncle to pass him the invitation cards for printing.. maybe will be at CCKC in the afternoon. if too tired, then will prob go only Sun cos my fren will be helping me with lights installation on Sun.

u mean 'buy' or 'install' the bathroom accessories &amp; heater?? if install not so siong lah, if buy... prob u already had some 'shortlisted' ones? we oso hvn't bought the bathroom accessories... need a mirror &amp; a rack only. dun wan to put too many stuff, too cluttered!

hi Alex,

Taking MRT is actually faster than driving. If u managed to catch the 7:30am train, it will bring u direct to Raffles w/o changing at Jurong East.

Regarding the dusty environment, i think is due to the nearby factories. My shelves, cupboard, coffee table easily cover with dust after 1 month.

Enjoy the quietness and repose of CCKC b4 more neighbours moving in. Do u exercise? If yes, maybe we can go gym together.

Hi Wandererevo,

Finally my meeting over can sit down and enjoy writing to you folks... hmmm maybe my colleagues or bosses also know about this thread...

I think I have long long time did not take MRT. You mean direct train from CCK to Town without stopping at Jurong East to change MRT?

If that is the case might think of selling my car. Heee.... Wao lao ahh... Buying more for petrol, ERP, season parking, and have to drive myself but take longer timing to reach destination... hee....

Yap I do exercise regularly. But the last time I visit a gym was during NS days... I "enjoy" jogging/running. Either Long or short distance. No choice got to keep fit each year for IPPT. $400 you noe...

Hi Angelia,

See... this is what i mean timing always not right lor...

but hor, bear in mind, u not only use car to travel to &amp; fro office leh.. wkends go out, or ferry wife/family for outings, etc...

hahaha... ya lor, both of us very "wu yuan" to meet... aiya, but dun need to worry, u moved in liao rite? then anytime i go there can juz give u a ring, then u can hop over liao.. beri easy lah..

i prob ask my fren to install the heaters as well.. he install my living rooms lights (got 3) &amp; complained took him an hour to install 1... then somemore install 1 at wrong location.. so will take out on Sun &amp; re-install.

CCKC got gym meh?? where??

Hi Angelia,

Aiya... Don't write it in black and white that car also can use for other purpose lehh... Now very "ciam" already... Have to be free driver and now situation change because distance more longer... Hope family will also get her own car like Ann lor... heeee....

I think it is Wandererevo who mentioned about Gym not Adam leh...

anyone like jogging. Thinking have organising a regular jogging session in the weekend. Use to go MacRitchie Reservoir, but jog alone very sian… now have to travel very far too… Anyone interested? Can also ask wife and hubby to join in…

hi Alex,

Yea. Is DIRECT to Raffles. It only take u 35min for train journey.

Good idea. mi like to jog. I usually jog at Mt Faber b4 moving to CCKC. When is yr first jogging session?

hi angelia,

CCKC got no gym but the stadium got gym. the swimming pool is also fantastic.

Hi Wanderereve,

Probably have to wait till 19 Oct Saturday. This coming Sat all contractors will come over for rectification work. Sun gotto do cleaning. Hmmmm.... very busy again...

hi Alex,

Thanks for your feedback.

I am glad that the mover works well to your satisfaction.

I am aware that some mover charge by per-items basis while others give a one time charges in this case M2 you have engaged. (Correct me if I am wrong)

Hi Netsnob,

Yap, you are right. It is one time off payment. Although it might be a bit ex. But service to my standard still not bad. However they will come and access roughly what are the items need to move lor…

$200 - for house moving (big items such as fridge, washing machine, tables/chairs, and small cabinet), plus about 20boxes of item. They do provide the boxes if you request from them, it is inclusive.
$100 – for throwing away old furniture, which I have many big items.

I did give $20 “coffee money” to the workers as I saw them work so hard and carefully with my things.

One important thing to take note is that no matter which house mover you use, it is better to take all important items with you. I have a friend who uses one of the house mover, lost his important documents. During the first few hours after shifting in, too chaos maybe, unable to check all the items she has packed. After which he found out something lost, he called them and they say they did not see it before…. Very troublesome.

Friday evening liao, yeeehhhh… but than hor…. Another weekend for cleaning lor…

hi Alex,

It sure really helps me as I intend to engage such services soon.

Btw, anyone got any house moving expereince to share?

Cheers and have a nice weekend to everyone here

It has been great to stay at CCK. It has been quiet and peaceful there. Have tried to jog but too time consuming lor because need time for house cleaning. Ended up climbing the stairs. Wah lao ah… by the time I finished 24 storey (one cycle only) I nearly die flat there heee……

Sunday finally unpack all the things, but still quite dusty. MIL said that it will take time to clean and thus gives me some excuse to “snake” around lor

Went to Giant (IMM) on Sunday to buy house hold things. Wallet already burned a big big big hole… I guess those who already shifted in will able to understand what this means…

This few evening I find it quite warm… Is other unit from other block the same too?

Hi Angelia,

Finally last Saturday, we saw our “Ren San Zhen Mien Mu” liao… Next time when you and Koay are there, I’ll go over to your unit and see see…

Hi Netsnob.

Remember to label all your carton box and list down what you put in it. This way you will be able to locate all the items and do a item check when all the things arrive in your new house. Do enjoy your “house moving” heeee…..

Hi Adam,

Is your house ready. Maybe still able to take part in Open Sesame II? Can send me some pics when ready?

hi Alex,

Thanks for your advice.

My renovation went so far so good.

water pipe changed to copper
tiles for whole unit layed
wiring is up
shower kerb being built

Just need some advice here, how to I check for quality/workmanship? I am really a green horn when it comes to renovation. How to check whether the quality of the reno? To my untrained eye, everything seems ok...

Hope everyone can share with me his or her prespective and experience.

Hi Netsnob,

I believed at this stage not much for you to check.

For piping and wiring can only see physically any damage lor. Can’t check much unless lighting, taps and heater already up. Than you will be able to check electrical work and also whether there is leakage for pipes.

For flooring, it has to depend on what kind of flooring you are doing. Marble flooring can’t check now because it need polishing. As for Ceramic, you can check the alignment and spacing of the tiles. See whether if there is any chip off or indend holes. Usually ceramic lay out will be flat and same level. As for Homo tiles, have to bear with it a slight unevenness of layout due to nature of the material during layout. For shower kerb, must see whether it is has even height, or else your shower screen will be slanted. Also check the tiles for shower screen lor…

If you need to be more “miao” about quality, you could use a “Tapping Rod” which is usually use in construction, or use a bigger metal spoon to check hollow tiles. Use them to knock on the tiles, you can hear different sound compare to the rest. As time goes by hollow tiles will pop out.

This information was provided by my girl girl.during our initial stage of reno. Hope this helps.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">netsnob,</FONT>
hope ur contractor/id does acid washing before they start to do the carpentry work.. dun be like mine, now whenever i think of all the dirt beneath our cabinets, i feel so angry!!

another issue to consider.. if u installing aircon, &amp; installing heater, try to determine where u wanna place ur heater, then run the wire down first.. for us, we did the aircon piping, then install the (instant) heater. the instant heater casing cannot run thru the aircon piping, gotta run over it (outside), so looks very ugly!!!

ya, finally met up! so ur defects all rectified?! we can't do the heater wiring like urs.. maybe ur ID got the electrician to do the casing first, then let the aircon man run the piping.. that's why urs can be "hidden" lor..