CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

u all watch too much of those cooking shows liao ah... jamie oliver ah... pluck off leaves fr the plants to cook. hehe... but must make sure the plant can survive in singapore weather...

pink... i got a hob in my kitchen. we dun usually cook so we dun clean it often. but my mum used to clean it every weekend. she juz used detergent to clean away the layer of oil. hobs now r usually quite easy to take off for cleaning... so i think no worries la. or u can always ask the guy at the store for advice. or better if u can find a sales-auntie to ask...

i think someone in my block got invitie lion dance leh but i nv get to see it.. coz when i was going out, i saw the whole troupe at the lift...

pink, wat type of advice u need for hob?

Wahahaha... too much cooking shows liao.. whaha.. Jamie Oliver ah? true hor.. our weather very hot leh.. scared the plants die lor..

Ant..
me have the lion into my hse .. its a yearly affair lor.. but tis time round.. very funny coz my aunties were here then we all like maciam photographers ka cha ka cha tink the guy doing the lion dance also shy ah.. whahaha...

Pink..
hod shd be easy lah for mine.. usually see my ah bu take out then wash with hot water easier to get rid of the oil.. see wat u use lor.. mine is Bellari one.. the guy also very good.. wanna see my pix bor? whahha....

sky, show pics! ex bo? chope. the on top thing is called hob or hood ah? i mean that on top suck all the smoke one. i just want to know if it's hard to clean. does that answer your question, ant?

bellari good ah? i also heard of them before. where is the showroom ah? they are only sold at showroom is it? or places like best and courts also got?

wah. lion dance in home... happening!

wah.. lion dance at home.. cool...

errrr.. i thot that thing is called hood?? anyway, do invest in a good one, must check on the suction power. when i bought mine, never check on the suction power. i find tat it is not tat good in sucking the oil lor.. coz my floor gets quite oily after deep frying things.. mine is turbo brand, so i find it not v good.

Pink,
their showroom is somewhere near Little India there if i m not wrong.. the reason why I bot them is coz they are lifetime warranty lor.. not sure if courts or Best sell them.. but their salesmen also very good.. so I like lor..

I agree with Ant abt the suction power leh.. like when I bot mine ah.. the salesman demo for us to see ah.. the suction is sooo strong.. that it actually suck up a 5cm thick wood board leh.. whahaa.. then i kuku go ask the man, if i cook then will all my food be sucked into the hod bor? whahaha... then he tell me it will only suck in when u lift the wood like 2mm away from the hod, aiyoh.. very hard to explain but u go there the guy very helpful one..

my hood is made of glass one coz not rusty then when cook liao.. oily, just use a wet cloth can easily wipe off stains liao..

check out my multiply ltr when i upload the pix ok?

Pink,
since i now free free eng eng at home.. i go take show u..
458334.jpg

This is the super suction one i was telling u about.. comes with level of suction for oil and light for cooking too..

458335.jpg

I strongly recommend u to install this kinda stainless steel on ur backdrop if ur into cooking so that it is not oily or splash onto ur wall.. really very well worth the $$ for this as it is very easy to clean!

458339.jpg

This is the glass hob i was telling u about.. I choose the solid black one.. the glass is those very strong kinda glass so no worries about it cracking or breaking lor.. very good & easy to clean coz when u cooking its nv hot on the glass & easy to remove stain lor..

458340.jpg

Nah.. the entire pix.. i choose the 3 stoves one.. small, medium & big.. been using it extensively for like close to 3 yrs liao.. no complaints so far.. kekeke...

see i sooooo good to u....

Pink,
I think I add that pc of steel for like about $100 the last time..
u can visit... www.bellari.net
the guy very good one is call Thomas, I even got my washing sink from him too.. u want me to take show u? whahahaa..
sibeh eng ah..

458347.jpg

Ya.. my sink is Bellari one also.. kekeke...
like this coz its deep...

458348.jpg

Comes with a draining area, & a small bin area for rubbish while preparing dishes lor

458349.jpg

A tab & an extendable spray tap.. easy for me when i wanna fill my flask to boil water, dun hv to carry until so heavy... kekeke..

i second skylar's idea on the stainless steel as backing to protect your walls.. i have that too.. very good.. v easy to clean...

so skylar, is the 'si you yan ji' very powerful? your floor becomes oily after deep fry??? my floor can get super uncomfy after i panfry the curry paste to cook curry.. sibeh pek chek..

Ant..
ya ya the stainless steel really is a must get man! for mine, the suction power is very strong.. usually after cooking, my floor not that bad.. at times i can even do w/o mopping the floor but once a week when my ah bu clean the top part of the hod, coz my inside got like a little tub one.. inside sure got quite a lot of oil lor.. so i would believe that the suction is good.. not to mention my ah bu cook like to on like super duper high flames one.. coz she say low flame cook, food not nice... zzz....

skylar, my tap is also extendable leh!!!! so qiao... but my sink is not stainless steel type.. n i got 2 sinks.. heheh..

pink, if u very the ang moh pai, consider installing storage heater, den u can do like my kitchen. my kitchen taps can use hot water coz we use storage heater. so if u got super oily stuff, use hot water to wash is the best...

wahahah suddenly become domestic tok? stuck in a looonnngg mtg..

sky - u very wu eng ah! help me..my side here dyin from all the work liao. feel so tired.

er..think i must be one of the few weirdo tt do not use a hood hor? just think it is so difficult to clear the filter..don see much use for it too

sch..
u just out from mtg ah.. why soo tired? u wanna me to help u do wat man! whahaha.a. eat or sleep?

Ant..
urs also ah.. kekeke.. extendable one easy hor.. keeke..

458357.jpg

Glimpse of lion dance in my hse.. see my cousins the photographers on one side, not forgetting me & my relatives on the opp. side.. whahahaha....

sky - ur family clan all on leave ah?

the extendable tap last time i saw it too but my ID and salesman tell me must be v careful..very prone to leak..so far u all got problem or not?

sorry babes. was in meeting.

extendable tap is a good idea! but sky, HOW MUCH LA! aiyoh... lao niang ask so many time liao!

ant, no la i won't do hot water. i usually boil water for super oily stuff then soak in hot soapy water.

no la sch, not weirdo la. to each his own
i just want cos from experience from this house, gas stove will become very sticky and hard to clean if smoke is not sucked up. and yes, skylar, i know your hood the suction is very power :D

one more advice for ah pink, do a door for your kithcen. but don't choose too heavy glass panel hor. tat day i went to a fren's pl, he just moved in for a few mths n his kitchen glass door cannot make it alr. the stupid contractor use a super thick n heavy one n the metal hook holding on it gave way. then those 2 panel foldable type oso not very good. coz another fren's pl use tat n it keep making creaking sound whenever u push it open or close. best is still sliding door.

sch, my hse extendable tap has been tested and used for 7 years and no leakage. so no problem!

Pink..
basket.. me need to dig into my docs one leh.. kekee.. okok.. all in ah.. hood + hod + the stainless steel aka backsplash + sink + tap all in ard $1.1

thanks for the tips ant
i also don't like fold fold kind. i think sliding makes the most sense. but if slide next to fridge should be ok right? won't crack the glass hor? never mind, i check with mr contractor man

cool leh skylar, thanks. 1.1k buey pai leh! but hor, hood + hob + sink + tap is bellari dio bo? backsplash (now it sounds familiar!) also from them? or contractor?

harry potter coming out 21 july?? wah, cool!!!

hello babes! gong xi fa cai. so much yakking abt domestic stuff the last two days ah ... me still attacking cny goodies at home, talk 2 u babes again next week, tata!!

lina signing off ...

ohaiyooooooooo...

very tired. yest met up with some ex colls and they are super atas nowadays. 1 dinner with them cost me $70 already. and they were planning to club hop a few pubs. i siam and go home man. my pocket can't take their splurging ways. the food not exactly fantastic lor. aiiiii..

ikea sale again? btw, anyone use ikea's chopsticks? good? thinking of changing my hse chopsticks.

ikea no sell chopsticks? really? i always thot they have leh.. blur me lah..

i went to barfly at clarke quay. one main min is $40 already. den desserts leh.. wah.. i xim tiah my pocket. i think it is a place good for drinks on thur coz they have 1 for 1 martinis and cocktails the whole night for ladies. but 1 stupid thing is, they don't hold your drink. if u order 1 cocktail, they serve 2 at the same time, expecting you to down both drinks tog lor.

pink... then u all still can recognise one another?? so strange one ah... so long never meet, then suddenly got a gathering? sekali someone going to get married... then u know lor...

Good noon all!!
kekeke... just finish my late lunch man kekeke.

Ant..
wahh.. so atas ah? kkeke.. that is the reason for 1 for 1 lah.. they not dumb ok, of coz won't let u hold ur drinks lor, unless u know them very well lah then they will do that..

Wahh... Pink,
so long ah? whahhaa... levynn, whaha.. that is a good pt man! whahaha... watch out Pink!

hello. nice sunday everyone? i'm supposed to be working but dead tired. i'm really exhausted so i took an mc. so funny right, take an MC on a SUNDAY. and all the clinics are closed. except for one super far away one.

the gathering ok la. most married liao. they've met once before but i couldn't make it. ok lor. still the same people. most are nice but there's one who always have to act like she's better than all, and she's still the same :S

ah pink - u mean u needa work on sunday tts y u need an mc? or to show ur ah lao tt u r sick and means he must do the washing and cooking?

quite funny leh..having a gathering after 10 yrs. i got a sec sch gathering every dec..last dec we just had our 10th anniversary of class gathering. our monitress is really v dedicated ;p

anyway i finally got down to taking a pic of tt jing hua huo tui here it is:
459043.jpg

ya i actually need to work today one, that's why need to take mc. hehe ah lao is nice la. if i'm sleeping, he will sometimes quite zi dong do laundry. must see his mood one hehe.

so the ham is dry one is it? wah i really never see before leh. one day must go buy. from medicine shop is it?

the class gathering got la. like 1 year after we graduate kind. recently had one more but i couldn't attend. this one also about 12 people only. very hard to get everyone. alot overseas liao.

nah, as promised, this is what i cooked on tues:
459050.jpg

iceberg lettuce with chicken, steamed fish and chai por nng

and this is yesterday's dinner
459051.jpg

ha cheong gai, the same veg, and fish with soy sauce, chilli and onions

by the way our gathering was at makansutra, glutton's bay at esplanade there. i wouldn't recommend. the place was so crowded, food so-so only. and sibeh expensive. $20 for satay, $8 for hokkien mee, $8 for orh lua. wah...

and tonight's dinner:

459171.jpg

giam chai tng with fish balls (and some other veg), supposed to be tempura prawn and fish (cannot make it) (the black blob in the corner is actually thai sweet chilli. it's very red one so dunno why it came out black) and sausage with cream corn and onions

morning ladies!

eh ah pink - don know it is is called dried. its sold at shops that sell chinese sausage and wax duck kind..so not sure if med shop got sell..but think the si ma lu hawker centre upstairs those dry product store got sell..the seller tell me if its not CNY usually quite difficult to find jin hua huo tui one, it is normally added to create the superior stock used for cooking buddha jump over the wall, sharksfin soup etc

i notice tt u like to cook ha cheong gai alot. ur ah lao's fave?

the soya sauce fish is just add water, soy sauce, chilli and onion? shiok or not?

ohaiyooooooo...

so tired from all the entertaining over the weekend...

i cooked on sat to cater lunch for hubby n my colls.. n one super ks person came earlier than expected by 1 hour! make us panic man coz everything not ready..

sun was some frens over. some irritating frens of hubby were invited as well.. yes, those same irritating ones tat i told u guys abt.. one of my fren brought her son along n some b*tch was super envious and keep wana carry the boy which the mummy was not tat happy about coz they were gambling. bad influence on a 1 yr old boy. n we went dinner wif those irritating ppl coz my frens went off alr. it was quite unpleasant coz of the same b*tch again. make a big fuss over very small matter n another couple were quite pissed n it happened when the bf was not around.. aiyoh... i just switched off during the whole thing.

now the bf invited us to go to malacca with them n i'm super hesitant... don't wana spend my wkend with such ppl esp when the following mon i have to fly off for biz trip. but hubby quite keen.. aiiiiii...

ant - if u don like them i don think it is advisable to travel with them coz u will be unhappy for the whole duration.

wat did u cook for ur gathering?