CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Sch....
ur classes sounds like fun.. no take pixs of the cookies ah.. so when u gg to start doing it ah.. kekeke... let us be ur tester lah.. whahaha..

if u got planned for trips then put the Bplan on hold for a while lor.. whahah..

me gg to start doing up my handicraft CNY plants liao.. wahhaha.... my hobby!!

skylar, your bossess still got patience to talk to her nicely and give warning letter ar.. zhen pei fu their patience.

sch, post those pics and recipes of your baking class leh.. i wana eat cashew nut cookies and pineapple tarts.. my fren used to bake every year based on her mum's recipe but this year, seems like they are not keen to bake. i always go her hse and attack the pineapple tarts and cornflake cookies..

hi jen, no lah, not intruding.. hmmm.. i will try meiji yogurt next time bah.

skylar, mayo with fruits not jet lat ar?? if yogurt still fails, i will try mayo the next next time..

sch, then u aim for a rat or cow bb lor.. heheh.. after wedding, should tian mi mi with ah lao before jumping on the mummy wagon lah..

Ant..
tell u use a bit liao lor... not wack the whole jar la... whahaha.. of coz jerlat lah..

Sch..
I wanna eat... alsoo.. all.. keekek..

since we are on the topic of bb, today's lunchtime topic is about bb expenses (as usual coz my colls are super engrossed with theirs).

coll A - bought lexus 3 mths ago and is now thinking of changing to 7 seater coz just got new BB
coll B - has changed her small car to honda civic to accomodate baby seat

Coll A's confinement lady cum nanny for 2 weeks cost $1k+++.
Coll B's every month's nanny's cost is $600.

coll B told coll A tat on average, a bb needs about 8 pieces of diapers per day. coll B's bb has outgrown his new clothes within 1 month and now coll B must buy more new clothes.

i hear about all these expenses, even more motivated to KIV bb plan! whaha..

got this from email.

Recipe for Beggar's Chicken

Ingredients:

1 fresh chicken, about 3 pounds (1.5 kg) cleaned
2 - 3 lotus leaves, soaked in hot water to soften and dried*

Marinade for Chicken
3 TB dark soy sauce
1 tsp salt
1 TB sugar
1 TB water
1/2 tsp five-spice powder
few drops of sesame oil

Stuffing
5 ounces (150 grams) pork, finely shredded
3 1/2 ounces (100 grams) preserved mustard greens, finely chopped
5 Chinese dried black mushrooms, soaked in hot water to soften, stems
removed
and diced
3 pieces ginger, finely shredded
2 green onions, minced
2 tsp sugar
2 TB light soy sauce
3 TB Shao sing wine or dry sherry

Dough wrapping
5 cups plain flour
2 1/2 lbs salt
2 cups water

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Clean the chicken thoroughly, removing excess fat. Mix together the marinade ingredients and rub inside and outside the chicken. Set the chicken aside to allow the marinade to dry.

To prepare the dough: Mix the flour and salt together. (Don't sift the flour). Slowly
add the water, stirring. Knead to make a firm dough. (You don't want the dough to be too soft, as this will make it difficult to handle). Add more water if required.

To prepare the stuffing: Mix together the stuffing ingredients. Stuff the chicken
loosely, and close the two ends with skewers or strong toothpicks. Wrap the stuffed chicken in the lotus leaves. Make sure that the chicken is
completely enclosed.

Roll out the dough into a rectangle that will be large enough to wrap around the chicken (it should be about 1/2-inch thick). Fold the dough over the chicken and press the edges together, sealing well so that there are no holes.

Bake the chicken at 450 degrees F. for one hour, then reduce the heat to 300 degrees F. and bake for approximately three more hours. Use a hammer to break open the dough pastry.

*Instead of lotus leaves, you can wrap the chicken in aluminum foil. Secure like a
parcel.

ladies - did u all get some unsolicited email from someone in the forum, she claim to be a U grad with passion for make up,..then she go abt to promote her service.

the thing is,...wat does being a U grad gotta do with makeup????#&*($&)$(

irrelevant.

so much food talk today. ant, the mee siam looks good, so is ah pink's sliced fish on veg (think bo cai is spinach correct, popeye the sailor man's fav, =)

ah pink, the paris trip is gg 2 burn a big whole in ur ah lao & ur pockets, wah, bring the whole village of pple, eh, bring us as well lah, hehe

CNY goodies, pineapple tarts best!!

skylar, no nid 2 waste time 2 draft the warning letter, shld juz sack her when she comes back to work tmr.

bbs r expensive alright, diapers, milk powder, insurance, see doc also more exp than adults + grow so fast u hv 2 keep buying new clothes & shoes. tt being said, it is a challenge 4 the couple 2 learn how 2 manage their finance wif the little one around & of course, bbs bring much joy to the hsehold.

ant, see when u cook the beggar's chicken, i go ur hse & eat *scram*

sch, nope, i didn't get such mail. Probably becoz my wedding over and dun need makeup artist? ya, U grad and makeup no connection at all..

lina, u can wait long long for the beggar's chicken lor.. I see so much work to do up 1 chicken tat I'm too lazy to do lor. rather buy from outside and eat man!! heheh..

I also wanna go ur hse eat ah.. Ant!!! ekekek...good idea ah Lina..

Lina..
aiyah. .. i dun care abt her liao lah.. my boss they got in temp so long as dun jeopardize my work ok liao...

KA..
long time no see u man.. still soooo busy ah.. so how u also got any BB news for us bor? kekekeke....

thanks ant re the lao huang gua

sch walau we're not going to spend ALL our time together la. some me with my parents, him and his family, very few with EVERYONE, and most of the time just the two of us

eh girls, no choice la. i feel i owe it to my parents lor since i never bring them anywhere before. as for his mum, 60th birthday lor. if in SG, i would throw a big party for my dad i guess, so money wise, it should be agar agar the same ba. just that it's all together, that's why a bit siong

basket you all ah. ok la, all meet me in paris then i blanjah croissant for everyone ok? keke

hey bear, nice to see you here too. thanks for your advice, have already been starting to take for a while liao ;) i very lazy to count how many days how many days. also stop taking my temperature every morning liao. my friend's advice best: "just keep f**king la. sure will kena one" haha.

btw gim meh's makan :

445370.jpg

the giam nng prawn recipe (like cannot taste the giam nng leh), veg, carrot soup (pork ribs, carrots, onion, garlic)

btw lina, how's your kickboxing class? update! i'm back to kickboxing liao after 2 weeks of resting my ankle. wah very tired. past week have been going for slow mo classes like pilates. wah biang, still can feel the ba tor very tia leh

ohaiyooooo..

pink, the giam neng prawns looks very yummy.. make me feel super hungry today!! was it tough to mix the giam neng yolk with flour and prawns since giam neng yolk quite hard to mash rite?? nice bor??

hmmm.. i think it is best you start with some yoga first to strengthen your leg before you do so xiong exercise lor.. so now no more chwee tiao bu??

ya, lina, did you keep up with your exercise regime?

today my turn to keep watch of house coz hubby away on biz trip from today til weekend..

good morning babes

ah pink, the colour of the giam nng prawns look very nice on the pix leh. i juz had carrot soup on tue, very shiok 2.

aiyo ah pink, talk abt kickboxing, i didn't go the last two weeks. one week got my cousin's hse warming party, then last week i couldn't wake up! anyway, tis sat starting new classes & i've signed up, so hope i won't b lazy lah. btw, do u hv any knee problems after kickboxing huh? there were a couple of days tt my left knee hurt like siao when i tried 2 bent it, then i applied counter pain and put the dunno wat med plastic then ok liao. damn, i hope is not feng shi.

went 4 cardiobox class last evening, shiong!

sch, the classes r the Spore Sports Council ones

oh ya, & the sad thing is, i hope 2 lose some weight thru exercise, end up, put on some =( & i can feel my skirts & pants getting tighter ...

good morning ladies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Im also thinking of taking Belly Dancing near my house sports council or CC...but wondering they have it.

lina - u v hardworking..my old bones r rotting..i better start exercising

sky - OT abit..i was readin some old threads abt phuket..did u go aleenta last yr? is it good ah? i am thinkin of stayin one night there but there v ulu dunno will feel wuliao or not..somemore got no tv

Lina - coz I heard that belly dancing is more effective than doing sit-ups & crunches ( which i hate most )

morning ladies!

sch, my class is with amore. got alot of classes to choose from. i like kickboxing best. 2 weeks since my fall.

the 1st week, i totally didn't go for any class. towards the end of the 2nd week then i went for pilates and belly dancing. BD quite fun
yesterday was my first re-entry to kickboxing. i love it :D now ankle seems ok liao.

the giam nng prawn ok la, quite nice. but like i said, i cannot really taste the giam nng!

ant, ya, quite hard to mash. i use fork. then keep mashing until as small piece as possible then mix with cornflour. then mix with the prawns

i stopped going for aqua since the doc said the chlorine might affect my eye, remember?

lina, what time is your class? how come can oversleep one? you must eat at least 1 hour before for energy or else after the class you'll eat more than usual. maybe that's why put on weight? keke.

your knee pain, could it be you lock your knee when you kick? should be soft knee so you won't over strain it. kick and retract fast fast. same with punches, should not lock your elbow.

KA, belly dancing is very fun!!! but also very siong. whole body will ache. 10 mins into the class my stomach already pain haha. can search the singapore sports council website for more details on classes and where they offer

KA, i also sibeh hate sit ups and crunches. plus i got back prob so can't really do. belly dancing is supposed to tone up the whole body too. plus quite seksi also :D

Pink - yah lor...i also got back prob so tats why sit-ups & crunches cant do long. Does Amore have belly dancing classes? I heard True Yoga have it. How much you pay for your Amore membership?

Lina - if your knee feel painful...next time you work-up...but those elastic knee pad on...it will help.

ah pink, orr i get it now, retract fast fast
thx 4 the tip =)
u so hardworking ah, seems like u're gg 4 many classes in a week. & on top of that, u cook! peifu peifu.
my KB classes on sat, 9.30 am to 10.30 am. last sat i woke up at almost 11.00 am!
i'm not sure why but i'm really getting more lethargic these days, sian & tired of everything, hai ....

Gooood Morninggggggggggggggggggggg...

Wahhh... KA... belly dancing ah!! very sexy leh.. mai siao siao ah... hhwhwhahaha... think if I go ah.. sure stomach cramp one! whahah.. Me thinking of attending dance classes leh.. but not those line dance hor.. tolong lor..

Sch...
its really very ulu lor.. but if ur there for 1 nite only then no probs lah.. can lomantic lomantic mah... but if ur staying there for 2 nites & above hor.. then start thinking lor.. wait u grow spiderweb ah...

KA, yup, amore has belly blitz and belly dancing class. dunno the difference cos i've only been for belly blitz. you can check out the website www.amorefitness.com

i just started so i only signed up for a 3 month package. $300 for 3 months, twice weekly. so i must finish all my sessions by the end of the 3 months. after this is up, i think will sign up for 1 year. then can get one month free :D call them up to check for their promos la

(not sure if there's a sign up/application fee. cos i'm an old member from long time ago so mine could have been waived, not sure)

disclaimer: please lor, i don't get commision from amore *pengz*

lina, no la, i only go for 2 classes a week. only when ah lao wasn't around then i went for 3.

i think exercise makes me sleep better leh. like the next morning wake up more refreshed.

KA...
Hip Hop!?!?!?! I also wish I can man! dun wait hop until my hip cramp ah!! whhahahaha...
wahhh u really sooo onzz ah.. go sign up for 3 mths!!! Steady ah!!

Pink..
I know why Lina will overslept for her class coz her classes start in the early morning like 8 or 9ish one ok!!

pink - amore near ur home? i quite lazy to go unless accessible.

sky - so for ur trip u onlt stay aleenta? got stay other resort or not? i hint ah lao but he told me he HATE seasport..means no parasailing, no canoeing, no snorkellin, no jetski! kaoz then go phuket zaobo leh..he say he don mind zobo. ..keke he still thinkin tt im bring him to bintan

sky! ka! join amore leh then we can go for class together :D they also got hip hop and mtv jazz and cardio latino or whatever. sounds fun but i never go cos i got no sense of rhythm haha

lina, you are not the only one who is sian and lethargic. me too! especially from mon to fri. i'm really sian at work.. or rather, i'm starting to hate going to work.

can belly dancing really give flat tummy? i watched some tv program b4 and it said belly dancing, must have some belly to look good when dancing.

skylar, go for lion dancing then! whaha.. can consider salsa. my fren is very hooked to salsa now and it really give her 'xiao man yao'..

i opt for the exercise tat i will not sweat and feel sticky and dirty... swimming! apparently, swimming strengthen stomach muscles and when preggie, stomach will not 'upsize' so fast and easier to regain figure. tat's wat happen to a coll coz she swims regularly. by the time she is 8th mth preggie, her figure and stomach still look good and small. in comparison, another coll who is preggie at same month, upsize to super huge within 1st trimester!

pink, if you are suspecting you may be preggie, it is best to stop your kick boxing exercise leh.. dangerous..

wah now suddenly everyone is keen keke.

amore's branches:
civic plaza (woodlands)
east point (simei)
kovan (hougang?)
park mall
jurong point (boon lay)
amara (tanjong pagar)
bugis

i usually go JP, amara, bugis, PM.

3 months is minimum i think

belly dancing - i think it's to tone up, not to lose weight. i remember seeing some belly dancing performance last time and all the dancers still got jiggly tummy kind. but it's fun lor

thanks ant, i don't suspect i'm preggie and yes of course i will stop kickboxing if i am. will go for slow mo things like pilates and yoga. yawn. haha.

sch, yup, still dreaming but dunno got alot or not. since i've read on the net tt it's quite normal, i've stopped thinking abt those dreams liao.

ant, oh oh, tt really is a sign 4 u 2 start looking 4 another job liao, babe
i think u're gg 2 laugh seeing this but ur fren here can only swim 3 quarter of ONE lap, then will get breathless liao, hehe. next time u jio skylar 2 swim, tt charbor is one good swimmer

on lah skylar, me & my big head go lion dancing tog wif u, whahahaha

wah ah pink, amore supporter leh. eh, how r the class sizes? big or not? & i heard damn tough 2 book those popular classes, tiobo babe?

babes, wat's tt name 4 the bone problem tt is common among women when age catches up? sharks, i can't remember. anyway, last time my gym instructress fren told me pilates is very good 2 prevent tt.

lina, good that you stopped thinking about your dreams. as the saying goes, ri you suo shi, ye you suo meng.

okie.. no laughing! how do you define one lap? some people say it is swim to and back to starting point is considering one lap. some people say from one end to the other end of swimming pool is classified as one lap.

lina, u swim more often and then will improve breathing then can complete 1 lap lor!! skylar, ya, let's go swim tog!! heheh..

i also hear about amore is always packed leh.. uob ladies card used to give free pass to amore. now think no more already. but the classes at california fitness is quite terok. i went a few times and totally glad i din sign their membership.

wah u all v on leh

but think sport council classes shld be cheaper right? amore location all seem quite sala.

ant - i always keen to join salsa but my ah lao the lazy bum always say he is busy

ant, my hubby said one lap is from one end to the other end (the longer side) leh & tt was what i cannot complete lor. swim more often? the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak, hehe

today damn sian, feel like taking leave tmr but cannot cos boss leaving town on mon afternoon. SO BORING!!!!!

sch, for u only:

SSC Sports Hall Locations:

Bedok - Tel: 6443 1787
Bishan - Tel: 6352 6631
Bukit Gombak - Tel: 6569 5670
Clementi - Tel: 6776 2560
Choa Chu Kang - Tel: 6767 4576
Delta - Tel: 6474 7472
Hougang - Tel: 6386 0449
Jurong East Sports & Cultural Ctr - Tel: 6563 5052
Jurong West - Tel: 6515 5259
School of Physical Edn - Tel: 6468 8393
Tampines - Tel: 6783 5885
Toa Payoh - Tel: 6259 2916
Woodlands - Tel: 365 2707
Yio Chu Kang - Tel: 6482 4980
Yishun - Tel: 6756 7416

eh basket, u drive correct? still complain abt distance?

lina, amore classes the biggest one i've gone for is about 30. they usually ask you to book for the more popular classes (stated in the class schedule) but not every outlet is stringent la. but you do have to drop your card before the class, and if they see it's getting too full, they'll say sorry cannot.

but it's not like california fitness where you often don't have space to kick without having to worry you'll hit someone.

the bone problem: oestoperosis? drink milk. calcium helps.

lina, i also cannot swim, don't worry
if i find myself in a pool, i will go along the breadth of the pool instead

btw, in case we're preggie and cannot fly for phuket, ah lao said might as well we go somewhere that doesnt' require us to fly. so we're thinking of cameron now. downgrade haha. anywhere else that's exciting that can go by coach? or boat? not so keen on bintan, think it's too expensive

sch, sports council one quite cheap. i think mostly $65 for 12 lessons. but it's not flexi lor.

wah lina, how come you so eng to go and type out all the phone number!

last time i join california and i couldn't stand it. all the guys very gek say. walk also must gek the muscle.

ah pink, not eng. juz tt i can type very fast, whahahaha. eh babe, if preggie i think go by coach or boat is juz as dangerous ya, cos the waters can get chompy. or, r u talking abt the 2nd trimester?

Sorry to interrupt.. I wonder if it's okay for me to ask this in this thread.

Okay, I just got married recently and is finally ready and willing to learn cooking for my hb..
Planning to cook some ba gut teh for my hb and his family this wkend.

I realised that the pork sold in NTUC and cold storage are all chilled and frozen pork from australian or new zealand.. However, the pork sold in wet market are from indonesian.. Question is, which one taste better? Where did you gals usually buy poultry from? supermarket? or wet markets.