CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

actually i realised i also hardly make it a point to buy new clothes also. last time even teh kor also must be new one. now bochup liao. sigh. only make sure first day don't sweep floor only. sweep away luck mah. and i stay up late the night before for my parents' longevity

er ah pink - when is ur paris trip? tot its second half of this yr to celebrate u and ur mil bdae?

ya la abit OT but just suddenly tot of it but my ah lao wear glasses how ah?

ant - y suddenly mention siloso beach?

KA - i still don dare to attack the new NTUC yet leh.

ask a bo liao qn! 1st day of cny cannot sweep the floor hor. but if use vacuum cleaner, still consider sweeping the floor or not huh?? heheh..

ka, you will be surprised at who goes to supermarkets at early opening hours! the aunties go damn early to buy from ntuc too!!

woa! ah pink going to paris! have a made in paris bb!! haha

Wahh.. Pink! Lucky u!!! go enjoy ah!

Me love CNY!! whahaha.... went cold storage the other day.. whah.. hear all their CNY songs & all the abalone & sharkfins all out liao.. whahaha..

Wahh.. me totally drained liao.. didn't know that foreigners wanna get married here also so blur.. kns..
me organizing my boss sis wedding.. she british & hb american, moving to UK, wanna know if our wedding cert here recognized in UK bor the worst is must call wat ICA & MOM to get approval first before gg to ROM.. pengz...

Thot I settled booking their wedding thingy in Ritz Carlton Bali liao.. then come this shit!
*#&%%*$(%^)#$)$*&#$*@(^#$*#$&^%#*&^)%*&%%#&(

Ant..
try not to lor.. 1st day usually I dun so any sweeping one.. on 2nd day maybe.. but sweep also must have tactic one ok.. must sweep inwards from ur main door!
HUAT AH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whahaha.a....

skylar, u're becoming n expert in all these shitty stuff man, next time we noe who 2 go 2 4 advice. eh, i already started buying pineapple tarts 2 eat liao, p

PARIS, WAH!!! Shiok! When??

my MIL very modern leh, dun follow all the CNY no sweeping and no opening of rubbish bin rules
(my mum does though). in fact, MIL always the one who does all the no-no things, so we also bochup.

Ant.. as spoken.. ekekke..this is wat i have done for her.. at Ritz in Bali...
This is the place for early morning prayers.
444963.jpg

skylar! wow! looks damn posh and romantic lor..

lina, i never heard of cannot open rubbish bin leh.. if can't open rubbish bin and got people visit you on 1st day, den how? rubbish all throw on the floor is it? i don't know how 'open minded' my MIL is but my pl will be the bo chap type i think.

let's share all the taboos of 1st day cny. i heard of cannot wash hair on cny 1st day. don't know what's the logic!

kao, skylar, so nice! so many prayers and wishes. the sunset wishes one, is it flower petals in the middle? eh you can check ROM website, they got say things like if singaporen marrying foreigner, must do what, foreigner marrying foreigner, must do what etc

i also never heard of the opening rubbish dustbin one. err ant, i think vacuum cleaner is counted as sweeping la! i heard cannot wash hair and cannot cut nails also :S

paris 7-20 june tentatively
prob it won't be baby made in paris, but already made in singapore
hopefully june will be start of second trimester, which means now must very nu li liao. 2nd trimester supposedly is the safest to travel.

Me also nv heard of cannot open rubbish bin leh.. aiyoh.. then all throw outside window ah? whahaha...
Cannot wash hair i know lah.. black also better dun wear lor.. CANNOT BREAK GLASSES!!! whahaha..

Pink..wahhh..
u really onz leh.. know when is the 2nd trimseters etc man!! so u very nu li now ah? ya ya.. the middle is flower petals .. supposed to be white roses.. hmm....

Sky - wow! Very nice setup for the wedding! So grand somemore.

Gals - they said the 1st day of work after CNY must wear new shoe to prevent "xiao ren" for the whole year. Well, i do follow coz no harm rite...you still got excuses to buy new shoes too....hahahaa.....

Ant - true also...coz usually "aunties" wake up damn early wan

ya ya, cannot open rubbish bin. dunno wat logic also. my mum's place does tis: put big black plastic bag outside the flat 4 rubbish, when it's full, bring to 1st flr the big big rubbish collection ctr 2 throw (so no nid 2 do any "opening").

cannot wash hair also, cannot scold pple, cannot break things (bowls, plates, etc - from 1st to 15th day of CNY), cannot use nail clipper & scissors. best is dun use anything tt can cut. but if nid 2 cook, then can use knife, weird.
heng, now bochup liao, if not, last time CNY muz b v careful at home

hey, the 7th day of CNY muz buy something ... does anyone know? dunno whether is it new shoes or pants? & the 7th day also eat 7 types of different veg

ya ya, cannot scold. also on the stroke of midnight, try not to be doing any work (like housework) cos whatever you do then will be what you'll do the rest of the year. if the whole year of the pig, do housework, i don't want! haha.

eh if i have a baby this year, it will be a little piglet! ya, cannot wait for baby bunny la, so long more hehe.

err skylar pregnancy is divided into 3 trimesters lor. like school got semester, pregnancy got trimester. keke.

Lina.. ur talking about the yu sheng liao izzit?
wahh.. the rubbish bag theory good leh.. kekeek..

KA..
new shoes? izzit? tat i nv heard.. ekek.. but no harm.. got execuse for new shoes.. kekeke..

Pink..
Piglet good mah.. eat sleep eat sleep.. ekekek..

another one, 1st day back at work after cny must 'pai nian' to boss for good luck.. but i never did it..

piglet good leh.. this year is golden piglet, my china coll keep tellin me good year to pop bb..

must bai nian to boss? but my boss is ang moh leh. i think he won't invite :S but i'll invite my colleagues over during CNY one weekend for steamboat

golden piglet? haha ok. good to know. zai jie zai li!

it's true that Pig year is good to have BBs. Especially this year wan. Dun ask me why..coz me also dunno. I have 3 galfrens all gonna have piglets soon.

Pink & Lina - maybe can consider wearing the teh kor in red with a "fu" on it wan....sure lucky lucky man! wahahahaha....

KA, i saw before leh! got FU, and WANG, and dunno what other huat words. red teh kor with yellow words in yellow circle. at CK department store

ahem. how about a recipe so this thread remains faithful to its heading?:

mash yolk of giam neng's then mix with a bit of flour (either cornflour or plain flour). coat prawns in this mixture then fry. no need deep fry. my friend say nice, but i haven't try yet. the egg white is not involved in this recipe but quite sayang to throw away so maybe can also steam meat when you cook this dish, so you can use the egg white in the steam meat?

www.wotif.com was also recommended to me. wah.... i'm starting to cry liao. got to pay for the two of us, plus my parents, airfare for ah lao's mum. mr singapore pools, please give me some money!

dinner pics:

tonite's dinner: mee siam, shark's fins melon soup with chicken

445132.jpg

last nite's dinner: ha cheong kai, deep fried soft shell crab, raddish and carrot miso soup
445133.jpg

sun's lunch: potatoes with luncheon meat, old cucumber with chicken soup, pan fried fish with dark sauce
445134.jpg

wah ant - im v hungry this morning already see ur dinner lagi hungry

wats ur recipe for mee siam looks v yummy

pink - y u payin so so many things and y is so many pple goin paris?

ya pig is good yr for baby, rat yr is not good..best to avoid. after tt is cow or something right? alaso not bad. so all of u try hard! then can have alot of zhu zai already

sky - u r PA to ur boss how can ask u to plan his sister's wedding somemore? family business meh?

morning all!

ant, your lao huang gua soup, what other ingredients you include besides lao huang gua and chicken? looks very think and shiok!

hey i was also thinking of cooking potatoes and luncheon meat tonight! you only put ketchup and water?

dinner on sunday... forgot to post!

445194.jpg

black chicken soup (with red dates and gou qi zi and garlic. very shiok!)
yang cong ji dan
veg (bo cai, dunno what veg is that, supposed to be good for blood circulation) with fish slice (batang fish seasoned with soy sauce, pepper, sesame oil, hua diao jiu. then fry the fish, add garlic, add veg, pour some soy sauce and water. very simple)

sch,

pig
then rat
cow
tiger
bunny
dragon
snake
horse
goat
monkey
dog
chicken
pig

long story about paris. we're paying for his mum cos it's her 60th birthday (we pay for her hotel, his bro pay for her airfare). his bro and the gf also coming, then become a few more of his relatives too. then i thought eh would be nice to invite my parents so that they can meet his family (our wedding only his mum and bro came) and would be nice if i paid for them la. so i have to pay for their hotel and airfare lor

wahh paris so romantic place now become super family gathering keke.

eh btw, last fri i was at vivocity then walked to harbourfront got this v run down book shop and bought 2 books on...........chinese soup! its v good. got chance i post some cool recipes ah!

ohaiyooooooo...

pink, your veg with fish looks yummy.. my old cucumber soup only have chicken, old cucumber and dried scallops lor.. as for potatoes with luncheon meat, i add some cornstarch solution as well to make it a bit starchy, not so watery.

must recommend shark's fin melon to you gers. very nice to eat. after cooking, every bite of the melon is machiam eating tang hoon.. very yummy.. but the cutting process is damn yucky. it is quite sticky and after cutting, i washed my hands like 4 times to try to remove the stickyness. best to use gloves when cutting it and removing the seeds.

mee siam - the lazy style. use those mee siam paste and mix with water to boil. n use some of the paste to fry the beehoon and tau gey. fast and easy! heheh..

cow no good leh.. very stubborn and bad tempered. tiger very fierce. so it is either this yr pop or wait til bunny year then pop! whaha..

pink - super rich leh.. pay for so many people to go paris! can i tobang in your luggage to go??? *scram*

Sorry girls, I sidetrack abit...
Pink, I know you are trying for a baby so I want to remind you to start taking folic acid. Can buy from pharmacy or GNC. It will help to prevent baby defect and it is advisable to start 3 months before conceived.
And to increase your chance, try to calculate your fertile period. You can take your normal cycle days and deduct 12 to 16 days from it.

For example, if your cycle is usually 34 days, deduct 16days and it will be 18 and if deduct 12, it will be 22. So your fertile period should be between day 18 to day 22. You start counting from day 1 which is the 1st day of menses.

Good luck!!!

Pink..
I also want to topang to Paris leh.. ekekek...

Sch..
ya.. kinda a family regional biz lor.. so no choice but he did ask me lah.. then i also know the sis mah.. so just help out lor.. as she is currently flying to US very often to see the ILs ...

guess wat everyone.. my boss actually really got in a gal from another of our associates ofc to come help in replacing my that recep leh.. whaha.. think she can kiss her ass bye liao..
she is on leave today mah.. nabz..

Morning Babes!

Wah...Pink...like tat damn siong on $$$ leh ( i mean to your Paris ) Somemore Paris not cheap either.

Ant - I agree your mee siam looks good...i also hungry liao...kekekeke....

sch, then you try one made in Japan!! ahaha..

skylar, is tat ger to be in your ofc permanent or just to tong til ur recep back to work???

btw, sch, how's your cooking class or is it baking class coming along? got any cny cookies recipes to share???

btw, anyone has tried making fruit salad? i tried to do tat with yogurt but don't taste very nice leh. should use yogurt or mayonnise to do fruit salad huh?

today our organizer never come in and report ar!

Ant..
its to tong till she come back, she shd be back tmr I guess. then see how the bosses tok to her lor.. think my HR getting Warning ltr to begin with liao... not too sure..

I tried fruit salad.. I use mayo just abit but its advisable to only add the mayo to those fruits u wanna eat or else if u mix all up then the bal that u cannot finish hor put in the fridge very fast will spoil one..

LINAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

don mind me chipping in?

my fren did this fruit salad using
meiji yogurt+ honeydew+ apple+ nata de coco (all diced) then she top with cranberry (those packet form)
the taste of the yogurt gave a very light n refreshing taste n the apple + nata de coco the crunch to the salad
i feel mayonise a bit "heavy" on taste..
of cos depends on the taste too

jus my 3 cents hope not intruding

hi jen!! thanks for the contribution..not intruding lah

ant - now is CNY goodie class..last thur the teacher taught cashew nut cookie (nice but alot of work needed), sesame ball (don like, crunchy but v dry), chocolate chip cookie (ok..taste like those u buy from supermarket..but need to use better cocoa powder and choc chip for richer taste) this week she is teaching pineapple tart!!! but coz its baking class and alot of work everyone need to help out so its like a mass CNY goodie manufacturing class so quite fun!

cannot lah i marry in march..can barely make it for the piggy bus..somemore slated a few trips for 2007..skalli i carry a junior in me and trek all over the world?

where did lina go??