CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Whahaaha...
Ant.. rush ah... dun nid lah.. let me bitch about something ah...

I was just complaining to Lina abt it..
u all know abt the story of the recep rite? hmm.. too long.. nvm..

tata

enjoy the long weekend girls!

not going anywhere la! cos all so quiet mah i thought all packing up to go home for long weekend liao hehe.

leg's much better. not taking painkillers liao :D

morning all! wahh pink ur xmas lunch spread looks super good! u must be real tian mimi now tt ur ah lao is back. he c u in clutches got heart break or not?

sky - wat happened to ur recep again? she bring paper cuttin to ofc to da xiao ren ah? better cover ur hair up with a big scarf skalli she steal ur hair to put black magic ah

good afternoon babes!

wah... super busy today. got lots of things to clear up b4 school starts next Wed. so, pardon me if i'm MIA today...

Sch..
ur wrong. whahaha.. she is on MC today.. think Ant & Lina will hv a better idea abt this.. whahaha...
cut xiao ren? u mean she cut herself ah? whaahaha...

Levynn,
Fri liao leh.. still so busy ah... poor thing..

Pink..
wahh.. no more taking pain killers liao ah.. so now ok lah?

ah pink, glad 2 noe tt u're off pain killers. & hey, ur chicken (fr last nite's dinner) looks like frogs, aha, think i nid 2 go check my eyesight liao. tt was a sumptous x'mas feast ur family had ... heh bee hiam fried rice, wow!

long weekend & new year coming. here's wishing u babes good health, a happy & prosperous new year. huat ah!!!

eh anybody got recommendation of nice restaurant at HV? we always go thai express and the viet place only. lao niang will venture the dangerous unknown path to HV with my pair of weapons tonight!

chip bee garden? the area with michaelangelo's? got more there ha, beside michaelangelo's? i only drove past last time, never eat there before

btw guys, afternoon TV is sooooo boring

Pink.. afternoon mah... boring then u will sleep lor.. whahaaha....

Sch...
no lah.. not yet lor.. but hopefully soon man

how did your housewarming go sch? got take photo to show show or not?

me super housewife the past few days cos cannot really go out. ta da!

chicken pie last saturday (look like there's a prata on top of my chicken pie!)
442113.jpg
442114.jpg

dinner last saturday. steamed pomfret, chai por nng, spinach soup and chicken drumstick
442115.jpg

yesterday's lunch. veg spaghetti with salmon and mushroom
442116.jpg

yesterday's dinner. cabbage and tofu soup, fried fish and sesame pork with ginger
442117.jpg

cheesecake today (3 pieces in my stomach liao haha)
442118.jpg

and finally... cute bo!
442119.jpg

happy new year!!!

sch, how's the hse warming? how did your bee hoon turn out?

here's the pic of unprocessed pork ribs and what sauces i used to marinate.

442268.jpg

442269.jpg

good morning babes!! happy new yr!! may all our wishes come true, everybody healthy, everybody happy, everybody earn big bucks, everybody always young n pretty... n world peace! keke...

wah... pink... power leh. can cook make so much food everyday. i must "bai shi xue yi" liao. is that a sauce dish wif the bunny??

morning everyone!!! Im here with pics!! updates on the session is actually written on my blog la..so the bitching is kept there but also minimal so just let the pic tok!
442311.jpg

Cooked chilli crab, thai fish cake, seaweed chicken, crispy chicken and spicy squid. Satay is bought.
442312.jpg

make-it-yourself popiah..
442313.jpg

pink - the fudge cake is really good!!! yummy!

pink - coz u cannot go on multiply..this is for ur pleasure. Other pple can read in full on my blog!
attended a fren's popiah party..his mum made it..not buy from a shop like my earlier post. so yummy. true blue hokkien popiah
442317.jpg

442318.jpg

morning everyone! the bunny dish is chopstick holder. so cute right? from daiso

today back to work liao. sian. ok talk to you girls later... now busy

hey... i wan to read blogs too!! all of u got one ah?

there was one CNY that my mum also had a popiah buffet for my frens. it was really good. hmmm... thinking of it made my mouth water liao... maybe will ask her to make it again...

Happy New Year to all!!

Wahh.. all the goodies goodies food make my mouth water man! kekeke...

How is everyone today?

Pink,
ur that little dish also bunny one.. cute leh.. kekeke... actually Daiso got alot of cute stuff hor..

hmm.. think 1 day we shd all have a potluck session again ah.. whahaha...

hi part 2 babes!

aiyah ant, i pai ka, not pai chew, so still can cook haha.

sch, you follow lao niang's chilli crab recipe?

wah biang eh. yesterday ah lao said 'you relax, i cook ok?'. so i happy happy relak jack one corner and he cook the fried rice quite got standard but then i see he cook one dish, but the pots and pans he use is equivalent to my 3 dishes. sigh... bo bian, got to wash...

chicken pie recipe:
you can use either pre-made pastry crust (which i did this time) or make your own crust (i don't have the exact measurements liao sorry). if you're buying the pre-made ones, then look for 'pastry crust'.

follow instructions on the package for how to bake the crust.

as for the fillings, i play cheat....

chicken breasts/thigh, cut into bite sized pieces, season with salt and pepper
frozen mixed veg
onions
1 can cream of chicken/mushroom
a few button mushrooms
garlic

fry garlic till fragrant, then throw in chicken, mixed veg and mushrooms then onion
when almost cooked, throw in the cream of chicken/mushroom and add a bit of water
stir and cook

can season with basil and italian if you want. then let it cool before putting into the baking tin (which is already lined with cooked pastry) then put one more layer of crust (raw) over and bake as per instructions

i very gam dong that you gers post the pics here for me since i cannot multiply!

Pink...
wahh.. ur ah lao soooo sweet... kekee.e. as for washing ah... really trust no men to do it well man! whahaha....

so how is ur leg so far now? got better bor?

see lah.. all of us here so "tia" u leh.. gam dong lao bak sai bor? hahahah....

pink... of coz u can "multiply"... but ur ah lao must "take part" also... wahahaha... bunnies multiply the fastest mah, rite?? keke...

sch... i used to have a multiply acct. but long time no go in, forgot liao. i go try out later. if can, will email u the details.

A letter of heartfelt appreciation...

As 2006 draws to a close .......

Dear friends,

With Christmas almost upon us, I'd like to extend my heartfelt appreciation to all of you who have taken the time and trouble to send me "forwards" over the past 12 months. Thank you for making me feel safe, secure, blessed and healthy.

* Extra thanks to whoever sent me the email about rat crap in the glue on envelopes - cause I now have to go get a wet towel every time I need to seal an envelope.

* Also, I scrub the top of every can I open for the same reason

* I never put my handbag on the kitchen table anymore for fear of toilet floor rubbish on the bottom of the bag

* Because of your genuine concern, I no longer drink Coca Cola because I know it can remove toilet stains, which is not exactly an appealing characteristic. Not to mention it eats-away a T-Bone steak in about 3 days!

* I no longer check the coin return on pay phones because I could be pricked with a needle infected with AIDS.

* I no longer use cancer-causing deodorants even though I smell like a water buffalo on a hot day.

* I no longer go to shopping centres because someone might drug me with a cologne sample and rob me.

* I no longer eat KFC because their "chickens" are actually horrible mutant freaks with no eyes or feathers.

* I no longer worry about my soul because at last count, I have 363,214 angels looking out for me.

* Thanks to you, I have learned that God only answers my prayers if I forward an e-mail to seven of my friends and make a wish within five minutes.

* I no longer have any savings because I gave it to a sick girl on the internet who is about to die in the hospital (for the 1,387,258th time).

* I no longer have any money at all in fact - but that will change once I receive the $15,000 that Microsoft and AOL are sending me for participating in their special on-line email program.

Yes, I want to thank you all so much for looking out for me that I will now return the favour!

If you don't send this e-mail to at least 144,000 people in the next 7 minutes, a large pigeon with a wicked case of diahorrea will land on your head at 5:00PM (EST) this afternoon. I know this will occur because it actually happened to a friend of my friend's next door neighbour's ex-mother-in-law's second husband's cousin's beautician.

i've been trying to get into multiply both at home and at work, always kena blank screen :S like hang forever kind.

skylar, my bak sai lao until my table top got one wet puddle liao! aiyah it's an agreement we have - if i cook, he wash. so similarly, if he cook, i wash. unfortunately when we drew up the agreement, we didn't include any disclaimers about sprained ankles

Just read Ant's blogs.... super ke lian man!!
glad that the whole day is finally over rite? kekeke..

Pink..
wah.. a puddle ah.. then better go drink it up man.. dun waste leh.. whahaha..... same to me & my hb but no disclaimers abt uncleaned dishes. wahahah...

pink - ya i follow ur recipe but i dunno y everyone still say it is salty i have already cut back the tao cheo amt by half..something else must be addin to the saltiness ;(

sky - onz ah we can have popiah party..levv can help u cook!! hoohoohoo.

pink - i also v scared whenever my ah lao volunteer to cook..keke

wah... popiah party... i like!!! can... i can help to lay out the popiah skins nice nice... hahahaha...

schnauzie... my ah lao cook still ok. except sometimes he'll leave the dishes in the sink for like 2-3 days then wash. i scared my mum cook ah... esp when i need to wash (me n my 2 sisters used to take turns to wash weekly). when she cooks ah... she uses plates n bowls like nobody's biz. haven't start eating only like got 6-7 used bowls n plates in the sink liao. i always tell her... we only got 6 pple in the family. but the amt of dishes we wash always like we entertain 10 over pple...

Leyvnn..
whahaah.. ur mom is like my mom man.. when she cooks ah.. wah.. my entire sink will be full with plates & bowls & etc man.... think i can wash while she is cooking & then the amt of plates tat I wash is maciam like we dunno eat how many rounds liao but the fact is that we all haven't even start dinner yet man! whahhaha..

lay popiah skin nice nice? win liao lor.. then i help to spread the sauce.. eh sai bor?

Pink..
me still clearing my emails ah.. chuan man!

haha i like to cook then when the thing is cooking, i wash a bit... but levynn, my ah lao also like yours. things can put in the sink for 2-3 days one. i can't stand leh!!!!

he best leh. after drinking water, just put the glass in the sink. use spoon to take out sugar, just put in the sink. walau just rinse straightaway la!

sky, i also still heh heh chuan clearing my emails.

poh piah i also can on :D who volunteer house!

PS down here still got gwee or not...

sch, ya, every time i do that dish it's very giam, no matter how much i cut down on. maybe the crab itself is giam? eh you ask the market uncle to chop the crab for you ah? or you brave brave chop yourself

i ask market pple to kill for me but still v big piece..so i bring back then chop into smaller piece my self and scrub lor.

crab is giam meh? my mil tell me is sweet

u all can come my house lor keke but popiah is does ready made right? no need to pluck tao gay and no need to slice vegetable

eh, pink... my ah lao EXACTLY the same as yours leh. he can make one small pot of green tea, then leave the pot there for days! wah biang! i thot dun wash up for him, let him see how all the used things pile up... but in the end, buay tahan ah! n hor, imagine got mould floating on the remaining tea in the pot liao... *pengz*

schnauzie... must pluck dao gay n cut vege leh. if not, where got the ingredients? i rem helping my mum to cut up the vege that time. the preparation process is tedious man!

sch, how's the review on your food? Your MIL impressed by your culinary skills? u got wash the crabs carefully or not? scarli includes those sea salt tat's y super giam!!!

pink, ask u 1 qn, the can of mushroom soup not need to mix with water? Won;t it be very saltish and very thick to smash and mix with other ingredients?

my fren did shepard pie at my place last weekend but her base was using mashed potatoes instead of pie crust.

popiah party sounds good.. since lev offer to lay the skin sui sui, and skylar offer to lay sauce sui sui, i offer to lay plates sui sui.. hehe.. i can offer offer my hse lah since someone has to pick up her kim tang tang vodka from my place.. :p

Wahahaha.. kim tang tang sia.. whaha.. huat ah!!!!!!!

so nice ah.... so many pple volunteer hse ah.. steady!!

me just back from my lunch.. the fastest I had taken in my work life man.. 20mins.. whahaha.. now rushing back to job again liao.. whahaha....

Wahhh Levynn..
that Stomp thingy.. is legal meh? kaoz.. sibeh xia suay man!!

ant! i said must add water what! err i think shepard's pie is supposed to be with potato and not pie crust. my ah lao's mum has a recipe with a layer of corn in the middle of the meat and potato. shiok

shepard's pie is very easy actually. mash the potatoes. then cook minced beef/pork/chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper and a bit of dark soy sauce). there are many variations but you can cook with onions and sausage/ham, maggee seasoning, cream of mushroom, button mushrooms etc etc (whatever you want). then put the meat in the pot, potato over, then dot with butter and bake.

about the christmas tree one, i think ikea spoil market. cos it gave away all the decor AND the trees at tampines mrt station in late nov. but my experience then was that people were quite shy to take. maybe tampines people and harbourfront people are different?