CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

cant get tics for dec? why ah? still can la if book now. but yeah, better check with skylar too
who else is on?!

bkk i'm on too!! but ya, beta chk wif skylar.
pink, the dress is beri nice

i think the ABC market now food standard drop leh. the taiwan porridge and fried hokkien mee (think the stall's name is yi sheng or something) used 2b very good. but one sat evening i went 2 eat, so-so nia. & the dessert sucks. dunno whether it is bcoz it was very crowded tt nite?? anyway, yes, the claypot rice is beri nice. ant, where exactly is tt mee sua stall? next time i wan 2 go try also.

abc market used to have 2 very nice claypot chicken rice stalls.. yest, i only managed to find one.. then, i can't find my usual fav malay stalls too...

pink, i forgot the name of the stall but it is in the middle section. actually, i recognize the stall by the owners and helpers..

i think hsbc now got promo. sign up for their credit card and can get 1 for 1 free air tic via jetstar asia to BKK. but one of the mktg companies that hsbc used tat promote the card to me got me very pissed. they keep asking me to fax them my payslip which i have already done twice and still they say they never rec' and nonsense. i got so angry and scold them n told them i'm not interested anymore. they got quite a number of freebies including voucher for sakae. best part is, hubby n i applied at the same time, n he already got his card months ago lor. TL rite!!

fack fack fack fack. let me release a bit....

all communication has to go through me. and the departments don't communicate with each other, then come to me one by one, asking for help. and i find that sometimes the same thing can come to me a few times, meaning it always results in double, triple and quadruple work for me.

fack.

i'm red in the face cos i told one of them off. i said 'i did this months ago! my boss also knows it' and he said 'it's been revised. check with your boss'. fack lor. my boss would have told me.

but i just do it, reply to him very curtly and keep my boss in copy. dammit.

sch, the mee sua is those cooked with egg, minced pork and small bits of prawns. cooked til lan lan n use soup to eat type. different from taiwan mee sua.

the next time i go to tat stall, i will snap pics of the zhao bai and pic of mee sua gor k and show to u gers k.. but tat will be end nov when the photo frame tat i wan from ikea will arrive..

i must preserve my leave to go for interviews next yr so better count me out for BKK.

poor pink, bie sheng qi leh.. sayang sayang..

okie, anyone got any contact for florist or something? i got absolutely no idea how to send flowers...

fack. it's kinda part of my job. i don't HAVE to do it but if i don't then all sorts of weird signages will be popping up, no standardisation kind you know?

that time i did at xpress florist, but sorry today i'm too busy today to arrange

PS i do the communication already hor, got no THANK YOU some more lor

give PINK a THANK U. nah. keke...

pink... actually i wanted to buy a straightener last time. but then i thot it might not b good for the hair. so in the end, never buy. coz got some things i bought liao, sit at home for show only... then ah lao will make a lot of noise...

thanks lina.. just used noelgifts. bloomingdale has nice stuff but already missed the timeline for delivery for today.

i got hair straightener by vidal sassoon donkey years ago. so so only. now using philips hair dryer.. not sure abt hair curlers thou. my impression is braun is better than philips lah.

hi all, my hubby's birthday coming and i intend to cook for him at our new home (ermm, my first time cooking too). anyone know how to cook Si Chuan Dou Fu Tang?

morning guys! ant, your soup looks very gao gao and shiok!

jhoo, i'm not sure but maybe it's the same as giam chye dao hoo soup, but substitute giam chye with si chuan chye? if so, i think we've posted the giam chye soup recipe many moons ago, can check this thread's archives

ok, jhoo... juz for u, though i think this might not b wat u wan... heh. actually if u go key in "sichuan soup" to search... most likely will find some recipes.

Sichuan Hot & Sour Soup
Originally from: Jane Butel's Hotter Than Hell
4-6 servings

6 dried cloud ear mushrooms
6 dried Chinese black mushrooms (shiitake)
6 dried tiger lily buds
4.5 cups double-strength chicken broth
1 tablespoon peanut oil
1 tablespoon sesame (or peanut) oil
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
1/3 pound boneless pork or chicken, cut in long thin strips
1 tofu cake, cut in thin strips or 1/2 inch chunks
1/4 cup bamboo shoots, cut in thin strips
2 eggs, slightly beaten
2 tablespoons Chinese red rice vinegar
2 teaspoons thinly sliced green onion
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 teaspoon white pepper or Chile Oil
Sugar to taste

Pour boiling water over cloud ears, mushrooms and tigerlily buds. Let soak 15 minutes. Drain; cut off woody stems of mushrooms and hard tips of buds, then slice mushrooms and buds very thinly. Set aside.
Heat broth in a large saucepan. Meanwhile, heat peanut & sesame oil in a work or large skillet; when oil is hot, sprinkle on soy sauce. Add meat and stir-fry until crisp on edges (~ 3 minutes). Add sliced mushrooms and tigerlily buds and stir to brown lightly. Then add meat-mushroom mixture to broth and stir well; stir in tofu and bamboo shoots. When soup comes to a gentle simmer, pour in beaten eggs, stirring soup with a swirling motion. As soon as eggs start to cook, remove soup from heat.

Rinse 1 large serving bowl with boiling water. Then mix vinegar, green onion, 2 teaspoons sesame oil and chile oil in bowl. Taste soup & adjust seasonings. Add sugar if less sour taste is desired. Stir to mix the cloudlike shreds of egg evenly, then pour into serving bowl.

ohaiyoooooo...

lev, ginger looks huge coz i lazy to slice it nicely... whahah...

pink, the soup was doubled boiled coz i cooked it the night b4 n then yest boiled again.. whahah.. very shiok coz i add alot dried scallops!

jhoo, never tried cooking si chuan dou fu soup, so can't help u.

Morning Babes!

Ant - your fish looks damn good man! Making me hungry liao coz havnt had breakfast....kekekeke....

eh how to double boil ah? any kind of soup can double boil one ah?

no cooking for me tonight... ah lao and i going out to celebrate anniversary :D

recipe for Ma Po Tou fu

Ingredients:

tofu
minced pork
1 tsp salted black beans
1 Tbsp chili paste
3 Tbsp stock (chicken broth)
1 leek or 3 green onions
Freshly ground Szechuan pepper

Marinade:
1 1/2 Tbsp tapioca starch
2 tablespoon soy sauce

Mixture:
1 Tbsp cornstarch
2 Tbsp water
2 Tbsp soy sauce

Directions:

Mix marinade ingredients. Marinate pork for about 20 minutes.

Cut the bean curd into 1/2 inch (1 cm) square cubes, and blanch (drop into boiling water) for 2 - 3 minutes. Remove from boiling water and drain.

Chop leeks or green onions into short lengths.

Heat wok and add oil. When oil is ready, add the marinated pork. Stir-fry pork until the color darkens. Add salt and stir. Add the salted black beans. Mash the beans with a cooking ladle until they blend in well with the meat. Add the chili
paste, then the stock, bean curd, and leek or green onions.

Turn down the heat. Cook for 3 - 4 minutes.

While cooking, mix cornstarch, water, and soy sauce together. Add to wok and stir gently. Serve with freshly ground Szechuan pepper.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
this recipe i got it from some other website lah. but hor, i made some modifications to it. i did not use sze chuan pepper (too ma fan to find) n i did not use black beans, i use tao jion instead. but must use less coz it turn out to be quite salty. and I add some mushrooms and sliced chilli as well.

another modification u can consider is doing it the crystal jade style. crystal jade deep fry the tofu instead and cooked the gravy separately. and then only pour over the tofu when eating.

when my mum cooks Ma Po Dou Fu, she will chop up the salted black beans together wif garlic. then she will fry this first until fragrant, then add in the minced meat, stir-fry till almost cooked, then add in the beancurd. after that, add in the mixed cornstarch n water. wait for it to boil, then ok liao. (hopefully i remember correctly)

pink... my mum uses those silken tofu. usually when she cooks ma po dou fu, will be broken into pieces liao...

pink, i use those silken tofu. like wat lev say, add tofu last together with the cornstarch with water, n stir gently.. it won't break tat bad lah.

sch, i use slow cooker. so won't dry up. that's the beauty of slow cooker. on mon nite, i use slow cooker to cook the soup for 2 hours plus. then yest, when i reach home, i turn on the slow cooker again to boil for another 1 hour plus. tat's double boil lor.

one thing about slow cooker is, when u pour 1 big bowl of water to cook, after cooking for 3 hours, when you scoup out the soup, it still remains as 1 big bowl. it won't dry up or the soup level drop. that's why i always use slow cooker, takes longer time but at least soup will not dry up.

hey? i thought double boil means put one porecelain pot in another pot of water then boil. what you describe is like boil 2 times leh.

ok next cooking session will include ma po to fu!

thanks for updates, lina

i found the definition of double boil soup from website. turns out my method not correct.

Double-boil soup
The Cantonese (people from Hong Kong and provine of Guangzhou) like to double-boil their soups. They believe this will seal the nutrients and flavor of the ingredients in the soup.

A special ceramic soup pot known as the double-boiler is needed.

Basically, all the ingredients are placed in the double-boiler together with just enough water or soup stock to cover the ingredients. There is minimum evaporation so don't use too much water.

The double-boiler is then placed inside a big pot filled halfway with water. The double-boiler should only be half-submerged in the water. Cover the pot and heat the water in the pot on medium heat or just sufficient heat so that the water does not boil over.

The average cooking time for double boil soup is about 4 hours. Refrain from opening the double-boiler to check on the soup as this will bring down the temperature of the soup and affect the cooking.

This method is usually used to make tonic soups.

my dinner:

sesame chicken (lev's recipe), stir fried caixin with crab stick, miso soup with raddish and carrots.
421897.jpg

my sesame chicken don't really taste like sesame chicken thou.. don't know which step is wrong.