CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

good morning babes!!

made dinner last night wif pink's salmon recipe. but i added a little chopped garlic wif the onions to bake wif the salmon. but i think i baked the salmon for too long.. a bit tough. anyway, added some leftover pasta as well.

421925.jpg

yo babes... for mushroom lovers... found this on the net.

421930.jpg

Brown bunashimeji mushrooms, and their white cousins bunapishimeji, are small, perky mushrooms with buttonlike caps. (Both are often labelled 'honshimeji'.)

To prepare them, gently separate them into individual mushrooms and wipe off any dust with a damp paper towel.

Not really suited for eating raw, they need cooking to transmute their mineral-edged earthiness into a full, sweetly nutty mushroom flavour. As you know, they become tender and succulent when simmered in steamboat stock - but don't overcook them or they'll become too slippery.

Another excellent way to cook them is to stir-fry them over high heat with a little butter, chopped garlic, and a dash of light or Japanese soya sauce, until lightly browned. This makes a brilliant side dish, or topping for steamed tofu, rice or ramen noodles.

Substitute a splash each of sherry and cream for the soya sauce, add salt and pepper, and you have a tasty topping for pan-seared steak, roast chicken, or bruschetta: It goes equally well with robust seafood such as pan-fried halibut or scallops, or grilled crayfish or lobster.

You can wrap small clumps of bunashimeji in bacon - especially smoked or maple-cured bacon - and grill them until smoky and slightly charred at the edges.

Eat as is, or chop the bundles finely and stir into cream cheese to make a delicious sandwich spread, or into sour cream for a decadent dip.

ladies...
sorry if i dun reply to your emails soon enuf. sth wrong wif the server or network connection. seems that all access to any email accounts is impossible... gotta complain to the technician... hopefully can read my emails soon...

levv - u got the mushroom article from a blog right? think i got read the same blog too~

my dinner yesterdae: stir fry pork with preserved sichuan veg, stir fry baby dou miao, tomato omelette and used the leftover rice to fry nasi goreng with prawn.
421934.jpg

morn all..arr..does anyone know how to cook a much simpler nice soup? think sichuang abit tough for my stage right now. tot of trying out this weekend so that next week the food is edible when celebrating hubby's birthday

jhoo, y don u try Ant's Peanut soup recipe?

Ant's recipe for peanut soup:

ingredients:
peanuts
pork ribs/ chicken bones
red dates

optional:
dried scallops
wolberries

1. blanch the pork ribs with hot water.
2. boil the peanuts with water. once the water boils, off the fire. throw away the water. my dad say peanuts has alot of dirt so must boil once to clean the dirt.
3. transfer the pork ribs with peanuts into a pot or slow cooker. add water, red dates, and optional ingredients. if using normal gas stove to cook, once the water boils, use ultra small fire to boil for about 1 hour plus for the nuts to soften. if using slow cooker, then it is easier. just on the electricity and let it slowly cook.
4. Add some salt when the soup is almost done.

or if u don like herb u can try to cook ABC soup..think that shld be the simplest

schnauzie... i got the mushroom thingy fr STOMP site.

skylar.. sorry if i dun reply the email leh... i cannot even get into yahoo!!!!!!!

No worries Levynn...

I understand... rite now i guess its the best time for me to type than tok.. kekkee..

just had my dosage of painkillers, everything is fine so do not worrry ok, I will be out of action from work for 2 weeks till my stitches removed but then will be back here in action from home ya... kekeke..

wah lau! dunno wat the hell is wrong wif the yahoo. now i can read all your emails but cannot reply!!!!!

but anyway, skylar... u take good care, ya? i'm sure nothing will stop u fr yakking again in here soon... keke...

aiyah, pink... if pple miss u, will say one leh... where got like u force pple to say?? wahahahaha.... ok la, ok la... miss u la... miss your story wif the construction guy leh...

haiz pple...pretty stressed up now for my weddin preps. was quite close to break down yesterdae..did u all had a stressful time preparin for ur weddin or was everything fun, joy n merry?

schnauzie... wat happened? anyway, for my case, everything went pretty ok. maybe i'm not a kan cheong spider, so basically, if everything is fine, then it's fine. i dun need perfect. not much stress for me. so, wat r u stress abt, babe??

here's a joke for u... dun stress on a friday!

A cabbie picks up a Nun. She gets into the cab, and notices that the VERY handsome cab driver won't stop staring at her. She asks him why he is staring. He replies: "I have a question to ask you but I don't want to offend you"

She answers, "My son, you cannot offend me. When you're as old as I am and have been a nun as long as I have, you get a chance to see and hear just about everything. I'm sure that there's nothing you could say or ask that I would find offensive."

"Well, I've always had a fantasy to have a nun kiss me." She responds, "Well, let's see what we can do about that: number one, you have to be single and number two, you must be Catholic." The cab driver is very excited and says, "Yes, I'm single and Catholic!" "OK" the nun says. "Pull into the next alley."

The nun fulfils his fantasy with a kiss that would make a hooker blush. But when they get back on the road, the cab driver starts crying. "My dear child," says the nun, "why are you crying?" "Forgive me but I've sinned. I lied and I must confess, I'm married and I'm Jewish." The nun says, "That's OK. My name is Kevin and I'm going to a Halloween party."

Sch...
wat is wrong? close to breakdown preparing for your wedding plans? dun lah.. kekeke... shd enjoy every moment of it ya! For me, not too bad too.. just take it easy, everything will fall nicely into place ya!

Pink!!
Miss u ah.....

Leyvnn...
think ur yahoo is against u si bor? whahah...

hi guys. lao niang is still in office. tomorrow working again. sigh. this month is going to be SIBEH busy for me.

sch, don't worry babe, i also stress alot for my wedding cos ah lao more interested in playing his comp game all the time than helping me. but i learnt that it's cos we girls grew up with an idea of what our idea would be. for guys they don't. and we take to heart whatever other people say as well. then stress ourselves out.

my advice is to ask your parents for their list of people to invite FAST. cos mine took their time and only gave them to me like a week before the day. then plan like siao. but everything worked out beautifully and we all had a great time

also, you should each find a friend that you can trust and these two people (usually best man and bridesmaid) will make all decisions for you on your big day. like no more wine - order more? etc. so they should know what kind of decisions you'll make and make it on your behalf, so that you can just relak jack and enjoy your big day :D

Pink!!!
So late liao.. u still in opi ah? gosh.. no choice lor.. rushing for opening rite? all ur hard work & sweat inside..

Sch..
I 2nd wat Pink said.. stay happy ya!

my dinner on sun:

herbal chicken (skylar ah bu's recipe), stir fried cai xin and crab and corn soup (pink's receipe)

423111.jpg

dessert is wintermelon soup (skylar ah bu's recipe)
423112.jpg

Wahhh Ant..
steady man u!! That is good!! keke.. very ren zhen ah.. trying out all the recipes.. kekek...

how come now lately here so quiet ah? where all the babes gone? kekeke...

good morning babes!!

skylar...i dunno wat is wrong wif that stooooooopid yahoo!!! log in takes super duper long, then click on email also must wait long long. n worse thing.. cannot reply!!!! aaarrrrghh!!!
kao_angry.gif

ant... really pei fu u leh... tried almost all the recipes here. good girl!

morning ladies!

wahhh ant - how are the recipes u tried ah? shiok or not? u and ur ah lao can finish the whole chicken?

everyone - yup thanks for the kind words of advice..think will just go with the flow n see how everything goes. difficult to please everyone ;*(

ohaiyoooooo...

i give u all face, so try out those recipes that you painstakingly type out on the board mah! whahah..

i only use chicken leg, never use whole chicken.. so managed to finish lor. hubby loves the chicken n soup.. say it is very good n shiok...

for the wintermelon soup, i did not use the huge steamer that skylar ah bu use. coz i don't have such a pot. wat i did was to use the biggest pot i have and use the rack (used for steamed fish) and then add water. then put the melon on a steel bowl and steam. the dessert was very shiok. hubby say nxt time when his family come over for dinner, i should do this again. sure will impress his mum.

ant - then y u transfer the dessert onto the bowl and not eat straight from the melon? do u need to pour in more water into the pot during the 3 hrs?

sch, yup, i scoup the dessert and dig the walls of the wintermelon into the bowl and eat. i did add water to the pot once in a while coz worried too little water. but i use small fire to cook.

lev, thanks.

sch, i got uob a/c but was told their internet transfer not very safe leh. most reliable is posb.

ant - ok then will tfr u moolah soon..paisay takin so long!

eh btw u got pour the chicken essence inside ah? supermarket got sell just one bottle of ji jing or not?

sch, no prob. i won't hang pig's head at your front door! :p

yup, i pour the chicken essence inside. my house got 1 box of chicken essence, so i no need to buy. just buy 1 box and keep lor. can slowly use mah.

hi girls sorry been out of touch for so long. work is killing me

even no time to load up the pics of my SIA table and makan. soon, will have no time to cook liao boohoo!!

wah ant the chicken looks damn good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ah pink, the chicken is very shiok. u should try. yep, we miss seeing the retro sia table! quick post more pics to show us.

sch, i think it will taste weird with knorr lah. go and buy chicken essence lah. and add some salt before steaming hor. i add some salt and water so that got more 'soup' to drink.

ant... u still got the herbal chicken recipe?? i lazy to go back n search the archives leh... keke... thanks. if not, then never mind la. wait for u to cook for me... hahaa...

okie lah, lev, i can still remb the steps, so type it out for u. so u must try n share the pics k... :p

- wash the chicken and stuff the chicken with herbs. i used danggui, dangshen, huang qi, shan yao, yu zu, wolberries, red dates. skylar ah bu also add ginseng and dong cong xia cao which i lazy go n buy. i used those herbs tat i have at home. :p
- wrap chicken in plastic and then alum foil. put in steamer and steam for 2 hours.
- when chicken half done, pour chicken of essence into the chicken. being the lazy me, i pour that into chicken right from beginning before wrapping the chicken and put it to be steamed. and i only steamed for 1 hour coz i cooked only 1 chicken leg. i presume cook whole chicken will take much longer time.

haha levynn, i think we asked the same question the other time also, but i don't remember the answer

let me bitch a while can? ... my colleague said "pink, you want to write a joint press release for XXX (another company) to vet through?" i said "no, if it's joint press release then it should be joint effort". nabz. JOINT means 2 people doing the work hor. and i'm busy enough as it is. i don't need another company (that's not paying me money) to tell me to change what i write. if you're so picky about what i write then YOU write it

ok ending of bitching.

ant - how to u stuff a chicken leg ? so u just throw here n there lah? hahaha. where u get plastic from? normal one can liao? steal from supermarket? keke

levv - copy me lah, i blur blur go to a herb shop then tell the lady to help me pack everythin i need for chinese soup! now i got gou qi, y shan, yu zu, red date, ginseng, dangui, think ard there..then she will tell u each time add how much.

pink - ur collegaue realli know how to delegate hor? y ur colleague don write or don arrow xxx to send pple to write for u all to vet?

sch, yep, just buried the chicken with the herbs coz got no chicken ass to stuff the herbs.. :p

hmmm.. plastic bags, i got 1 big packet at home. coz when i buy food back from supermarket, will split into 2-3 bags eg like pork ribs. so these bags come in handy. so that when you de-frost your food, no need to de-frost everything. in that way, your food don't spoil easily. but yep, you can kah pok from supermarket. whahah..

as for herbs, MIL buys in bulk coz she get auntie discounts! n she prepare in boxes for me. so i don't know which herbs look like wat.

pink, your coll good ah, very good at taichi! ignore her/ him! siao manzz.. think u so free to do other people's job meh.

ant, the corn soup looked like sharks fin soup. WAH, ho liao leh =)

all so keen on trying the herbal chicken, hmmm, good good.

the art of taichi, heh. pink, next time u try on ur col also & c wat he/she say, kaoz

sigh. all i can say is i very ko lian la. i do my work but people think all i'm doing is making other people busy.

ant, you mean the supermarket plastic bag can use to steam the guay also?