CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Pink, I have a question for you. How do you fry the fish? I dunno why whenever I fry fish, it will not turn out to look like yours in the pic. Mine is usually abit soggy and somehow the outside is not crispy. Must put any flour on the fish before I fry? And, the fire must be on high or low? Must put alot of oil?

yoo hoo! busy weekend for lao niang!

saturday's lunch. curry cannot make it haha. the prawns were nice. if you want to fry prawns, i suggest getting slightly bigger ones. then more shiok. i fried with garlic, then added basil and corriander. shiok!
415913.jpg

sunday's lunch. soup is mushroom with tanghoon
415914.jpg

bear, your fish must be dry when you fry. oil moderate amount but must be hot. i usually rub salt on both sides of the fish (and in the 'cuts' if you slice a whole fish). if the fish is wet then there will be more splatter usually. nope. i don't put flour unless it's for deep fry. hope this helps!

ah pink - u r right...my recent attempt to fry pomfret was a failure coz the wok wasnt hot and the skin stuck to the wok and the fish was too wet and i kena the oil splattering on me =(

good morning babes

vivocity, very big and becos it's so big, it didn't look too crowded though i reckon there were thousands of pple there last fri evening.
it was reported 2 hv a million shoppers since it started operations *whistle*

note tt if u go into challenger (same flr as GV cineplex), the network 4 ur mobile will go haywire, ie. won't b able 2 receive signals (very strange). it'll b ok once u step out of challenger.

me had dinner at shin koshiya. food was good, but a bit expensive and servings very small. 4 me, the meal was more n appetiser, & due 2 budget reasons =) i had 2 go elsewhere 2 eat my main course & dessert.

good morning babes!!

for fish frying, usually i'll try to dab the fish dry dry wif the kitchen towels then fry. i'm very scared of the oil splattering on me. n yes, the wok must b hot. usually after i put in the fish, i'll immediately cover the wok wif the cover then let it fry for a while, when the it starts to smell nice, then i open up n turn the fish to the other side.

good morning ladies! sibeh sian....

sch your chicken rice is cook one ah? wah!

haha i often also put the cover on after putting the fish in. some tips that i have used:

- wear oven mittens
- slide the fish in the oil. don't throw it in. i've also tried putting the fish on the frying slice so that my arms are further away from the fire. it works

- as little water as possible should come in contact with the hot oil. hot oil and water not good friends
- your frying slice also has to be dry
- if you're not cooking fish as the first dish, and you rinse the wok before, use kitchen towel to dry the wok first before adding oil
- usually the steps are: 1. heat wok 2. add oil 3. add fish. if there is ALOT of smoke when cooking the fish, it means not enough oil. just add a bit more

if you have some kind of gravy for the fish, then usually it goes on after the fish is fried. once cooked, it won't be as evil

lina - i almost went to vivo also over the weekend! but thinking of the crowd, i decided mai la. in the end we went to jurong point. wah i never realised it was so big! somehow the pace at jurong is slower than town leh

jurong the mood if more slow and nuah..vivocity the place is so big i walk ard also must fast fast if not cannot walk finish ah..keke the gap here is realli exp..but still bought a pair of jeans ;p

lina - yup..me and ah laos effort..he cook rice i cook chicken

oi it's me who ask about the chicken rice la! quick, post recipe!!!

so, vivo worth going ah? next week then i go

the body shop warehouse sale
save up to 70% fr 19-22 oct, 10am - 7pm at suntec convention centre, hall 401

go, lina, go! hehe

haha u want the rice recipe only ah?
i used the recipe given by foodie blogger, chubbyhubby. His recipes are always quite cheem and atas..so i tried the more down to earth one:

Hainanese chicken rice
Serves 4

1 fresh whole chicken (about 1kg)
1 tsp salt
1 Tbs light soya sauce
1 tsp Chinese rice wine
2 pieces of ginger, each 1-inch thick, lightly bruised with the back of a knife
1 garlic clove, peeled and lightly bruised
1 spring onion
1 tsp sesame oil

For the rice
2 cups long grain jasmine rice
2 1/2 cups chicken stock (obtained from cooking the chicken; see recipe)
chicken fat (from preparing the whole chicken; see recipe)
1 Tbs finely minced ginger
5 garlic cloves, peeled and finely minced
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp salt
1 pandanus leaf, tied into a knot

Chilli and ginger sambal
10 fresh red chillies, seeds removed from half, chopped
10 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
2 Tbs peeled and chopped ginger
1 Tbs vegetable oil
1Tbs chicken stock (obtained from cooking the chicken; see recipe)
salt, to taste
sugar, to taste
calamansi juice, to taste

To serve
1 cucumber, halved length-wise and thinly sliced
sprigs of coriander
dark soy sauce
salt
ground white pepper
2 spring onions, finely sliced

Remove the fat from the cavity of the chicken and set aside for use in flavouring the rice later. Vigorously rub the cavity and exterior with salt. Then rub the chicken cavity with 1/2 tablespoon of the soy sauce and all of the rice wine. Stuff the cavity with ginger, garlic and spring onion. Set aside for 1 hour (not in the fridge).

Bring a deep stockpot, filled with enough water to cover the chicken, to the boil. Lower the chicken into the pot—it should be completely immersed. Immediately turn off the heat, cover, and leave to stand for 1 hour. At 15-minute intervals, lift the chicken and drain the water from the cavity to ensure that the chicken cooks inside as well. At the 30-minute mark, reheat the water almost to boiling point, then turn the heat off. Never having been allowed to boil, the chicken should be cooked to succulent and juicy perfection.

At the end of the hour, remove the chicken from the pot, and plunge into a large bowl of iced water to arrest further cooking. Once cool (about 15 to 20 minutes), drain the chicken thoroughly. Rub it down with the remaining 1/2 tablespoon of soy sauce and sesame oil. Snip off the chicken wing tips, neck, and legs. Toss these into the liquid left in the stockpot. Set the chicken aside, covered, until ready to serve.

To prepare the rice, rinse it in a sieve under cold running water until the water runs clear. Drain thoroughly. Bring the pot with the chicken stock to the boil, simmering until the liquid is reduced to about 5 cups, skimming off any scum that rises to the surface. Strain the stock. Measure out 2 1/2 cups for cooking the rice. Set the rest aside. Place the chicken fat set aside earlier in a medium saucepan. Cook on a low heat to render the fat (there should be about 3 tablespoons worth). Add the ginger and garlic, and fry gently until aromatic without browning. Add the drained rice and sesame oil, stirring well to coat each grain with fat. Add the 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock to the rice, and bring to the boil. Add the pandanus leaf and salt. Simmer briskly until there is no water left on the surface of the rice. Clamp the lid of the saucepan on tightly, and immediately reduce the heat to the lowest. Leave for about 10 minutes. Turn the heat off, and allow the rice to stand for another 10 minutes before uncovering. Alternatively, after frying the rice, place it in a rice cooker with the pandanus leaf and salt. Substitute chicken stock for the amount of water you would ordinarily add to cook the same amount of rice.

For the chilli and ginger sambal, process or blend the chillies, garlic and ginger to a fine paste, adding the oil and chicken stock (from what was reserved earlier) to facilitate the process. Scrape into a bowl. Stir in salt, sugar and lime juice to taste. Dish some into 4 individual saucers.

When ready to serve, chop the chicken Chinese-style into bite-sized pieces with skin and bone intact. Place on a serving platter over the sliced cucumber. Garnish with sprigs of coriander. Dish some dark soy sauce into 4 individual saucers. Bring the remaining chicken stock back to the boil. Season to taste with salt and ground white pepper. Ladle into 4 small soup bowls and garnish with the sliced spring onions. For each serving, pack a small bowl with rice, then invert rice onto a plate. Each person gets a plate of aromatic rice, a bowl of shimmering chicken broth, and 2 small dishes of dipping sauces—the chilli and ginger sambal, and the dark soy sauce. Everyone helps himself or herself to the platter of Hainanese chicken placed in the centre of the table.

warehse sale? alot of pple wan leh, mai la.
ah pink, u go, then help me buy things can? *scram* btw lao niang, did u manage 2 get KA yesterday?

anyway, during tt period limbu here got family chalet at sentosa, bk on 22 oct sure damn shack, nid 2 reserve the bal of the day 4 my beauty sleep p

WAH!! the stuff sch cooks getting more and more happening ...

sch, wah biang. i take my hat off you! i read until my eyes mong mong liao!!! very good partnership in the kitchen with your ah lao! hehe
looks really good. maybe next time we got gathering, you can bring? *scram!*

lina - me only follow half the recipe..me use ready mix to cook rice and supermarket chicken rice chilli which my dad says is YUCKs..so next time must make my own chilli.

body shop sale..will the items be near expiry or not? surely will be v crowded!

ah pink - u wan me to drag a chicken to ur place ah? fainted ah..but my ah lao say the chicken is juicy and succulent but like not enuf taste..maybe becoz we used spring chicken and nv marinate long enuf..also nv pour enuf soy sauce and sesame oil over the chicken.. must finetune to enuf std then can show face lah

to my place? basket. gathering is now fixed at my place meh? basket!!!!!!!!!!!

niao mine, keep doing and keep fine tuning... that's the fun in cooking, no?

yupyup u r right..the finetunin and finally gettin it right makes cooking a destressing experience.

wahahah i just assume its ur place..ur pl is official chinese soup lady gathering haunt!
if my house is decent liao u all can come over next time instead..KA stay near me

haha cooking can be a destressing experience or the very source of stress itself!!

oi basket. my place is not the official gathering hideout hor. just cos it's got the most auntie kitchen with pink retro tiles. hehe.

your house not decent meh? bo cheng sar is it, your house?

haha, hv never thot of cooking as a destressing experience, more like a "hot" experience 2 me, always perspire like crazy in the kitchen. 2 sweaty 2 destress.

yup pink, chye sim. u wanna try?? 4 the wanton skin, i applied some egg white to make it stick tog after putting in the liao. the remains of the egg, yolk & all, my mum told me can mix it inside the liao (minced pork & all). u can try.

yup lina, think i will try making wan tan for dinner tomorrow. one more ques: how to get water chestnut? is it the normal ma ti from market/supermarket? the kind still got soil kind? then must remove skin ah?

lina, must tng sar for the ma ti? wooo....

i lazy la. maybe i'll skip the ma ti step. even though the tng-ing sar does intruige me haha.

think i will just do minced meat + onions + prawns. some fry, some soup. tell you girls if pass or not on wed

eh, can have a more complete wan tan recipe?? there r some that have this salty salty thing in it that makes it more delicious... but i dunno wat it is leh...

pink, can add spring onions (chinese cong) too. me didn't add onions the last time, u try then let us noe okie. my col told me over lunch she also made wanton last sat, but hers ho liao. cos she also bgt roast duck & char siew fr market, woooooh & she's a very good cook so i'm sure her wantons were yummy!!! eh, add ma ti very very nice leh, esp 4 deep fried ones.

levynn, buy wanton skin from wet/super mart. liao is juz minced meat, prawn, water chestnut & spring onions (chop into small pcs & mix tog wif minced meat). i used egg white 2 stick the edges cos i didn't wan the wanton 2 open up when i put them into the soup, the bal egg yolk & all can put into the liao mixture

SKYLAR, u cum bk from KL y neber give us field report?? fun or not?

Lina..
wat report u want? whahahaa... me now nuaing at home lor.. keke.. got post some photos lah.. took the different bus coaches ah.. can do field report on the coach serbics lor.. whahaa

Sch.. KL not so hazy like SG leh.. it was hazy lah.. but still not so bad lor... I was shocked when I got back here!

All I can say about their wedding dinner was SHOCKED!! so noisy & rowdy man!! then the most funny thing is their guest will all go up the stage to Karaoke while the dinner is gg on.. can u IMAGINE?!?! some really sing like fark lor... end up my hb & I went back hotel with splitting headache!! whahaha..

skylar... then u never go up to sing "ji gee sio ho suah" wif your hubby... show them who is the KTV Queen!! haha. then those who sang like fark... all the glasses never break ah... keke...

lina... thanks... i'll try it during the school holidays. heh. planning for leave now.

SCh..
simi taichi ah? ok ok i go read..

Leyvnn.. pls lor..
got 1 auntie go up sing ah.. tell u ah.. i nearly burst out lafting man.. trying so hard to control ah..
somemore their 1st dish come out is techno song ok!! pengz...

who wanna see my KL pixs? ekekeke....

please welcome back miss construction site.... later i go jwee tiao bu, when i jump into the pool sure got one layer of dust around me wan

wan tan liao - must also add salt and pepper and mua yew! yum yum

welcome back skylar!!

i also wan 2 c, & skylar, let us noe wat u think of the coach serbic lah.

KNN, *&$$%%#@**XXXX, talk abt bad receps. our opic got a "Queen", snr recep, a MALAY!! a lady fren of my boss was nice enuf 2 cook him fish curry and deep fried trotters, then brgt 2 our opic. she called & told me tis lady left my boss something, & asked me to go collect (but she didn't say FOOD hor). so i didn't noe, happily fin my work & told my col 2 collect 4 me when she went 2 the recep counter 2 collect something like 1.5 hrs later (i was on the line wif a credit card officer & my boss has LEFT the opic by then) and I was like blur when I saw the food. Fark, now i feel so bad, for the cook (waste her effort if my boss didn't get 2 eat) & my boss (now waiting 4 him 2 reply if he wan 2 cum bk opic 2 take the food). DAMN, like say one more thing 2 me also so difficult meh!!!

Lina...
wahhh.. so mean that malay recep.. anyways.. call me bias lor.. i hate malays!!
kekeke... wat u wanna know abt the coach.. ask me lah... can tell u lor.. basically something like wat i told u on top lor...

not so much mean lah skylar, she juz bochup. somemore when i asked her y didn't u tell me it's food & tt boss has already left, she asked me back in a small, worried, kiddy voice, liddat then how?? sigh ..., now the food is peacefully on my table. yup, i also cannot stand malays. so far, sorry 2 say tt i hv no good experience wif malay co-workers.

basket, u juz say take diff coaches lor. pls tell us abt the msg chair, aircon strong or not, guide good or not, movies latest ones?? etc lah

Social Riots...w hahaha.. okok.. i take back my words lor.. kekeke..

Lina.. okok.. took Transtar the Premium coach SGD$47.. massage so so nia lor.. not that good lah.. LCD ok.. good speakers with ear pc, lotsa channels, very funny program. .. food tastelss lor.. serbic good lah.. their pple decked out in suit to serve u, then still got come ask u for tea break wat u wanna drink.. maciam onboard plane lor.. then when setting off, got maciam their driver like pilot tell u coach is gg to take off liao.. whahaha... very funny but the seats are abit jam i feel... although its good enuf for u to lay down liao lor..

Konsortium, their 18 seater Super Snoozer Seat cost RM$60, as u all can see from my pixs lor.. i like this chair a whole lot better, as they are deck in their individual backer so no one can kick u from behind one.. no suit dressed pple to serve u lor.. no food mah.. just a plastic bag of mineral water & chips for u when u board... TV channels.. got alot also, MP3 also..

both AC good... freaking cold lor.. whahaha...

good morning babes
poor pink. eh, everyday hv 2 go 2 construction site 4 a few hrs sure will accum tons of work in the opic. got ot pay bo??

ikan bilis & dried scallop. i put some pepper corns when i prepared the soup, but since u hv sore throat sch, u can skip the pepper corns.
drink luo han guo, it really helps.

morning all!

bo OT pay la. can claim OT hours lor. i claim so much that my honeymoon was all taken on OT time off.

sch, wa ma sore throat! started last night.

hey girls, tonight is wan tan soup for me! think i should skip the fried wan tan ... else my throat will die

sch, you must boil the stock for long long, then only when about to eat then you throw in the wan tans ok? if not then the wan tans will absorb all the taste then your soup will be tasteless.

Dear Babes....

Thank you gals for your condolences.....really appreciated.
Thank you Sch, Ant, Lina, Pink, Sky & Levynn....hope i got all the names in.

Im back to work today to rush some work but will be on leave tomorrrow for the cremation.

You're welcome KA, & please take care babe.
Aiyo, try 2 fin ur urgent work quick quick & go back lah, u must b tired ...