CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

sorry skylar, think i was discussing something wif my boss when u called. the last time i told u 2 email her, cc the bosses, everytime u pass her things 2 do? did u do tt or not? if u did, juz relate the truth lor, put in firm (but not mean words lah). after all, it is a work issue & shall b dealt wif professionally & wif tact.

but if u didn't, then the email tt u sent the last time 2 ur boss or her (i can't remember) was good enuf, juz change the words here & there & send. dun bother 2 spend too much time thinking, afterall, i dun think ur bosses r gg 2 sack her ...

steady lah Lina!!

wahh.. ur ang moh also very cheem mah.. okok.. i shall send out that email to her & cc my boss.. whahha.. seems like ur scrabble is really working ya! kekeke... so when is the next boardgame?

wah... seems like all having a good time yakking away. 1st sept = teachers' day = holiday for me! haha...

anyway, PINK... to answer your qns abt black beans vs dao jio. actually the one u use for the fish is not really black beans la... black beans is the one use to cook wif peanuts n pork ribs for soup. yummy!

anyway, that black thingy u use for the fish is dao si... salty salty one. then dao jio is the brownish one. i dunno how it looks originally but NTUC sells them in a bottle. my mum buys the SinSin brand, i think. come to think of it, maybe they r the same, but r preserved using different methods.

btw, your that fish is it the skin is a bit silvery n white after u cook it, here n there, like patches?

eh mai ah ne kuan la levynn. the bottle say black beans leh. tao yan. now you say i cannot read

silvery and white before cooking yes, but patches i'm not sure cos the gravy kinda cover the fish liao hehe. i think no leh. and it's always sold without the head one. very nice the meat. firm firm one, and very little bones!

happy weekend everyone!

oh btw sch, my colleagues and i enjoyed devil wears prada
did you read the book? it's quite close but not as detailed la

pink... ok la, ok la... i juz thot black beans r those cook for soup mah. never say u cannot read la...

btw, i think i know wat fish u talking abt. my mum used to cook it with red chilli slices n giam chai. think got some more things, but forgot liao.

i have an announcement to make!!!! no, not pregnant, but when i went to market today, i got a free piece of ginger!!!! steady la, building rapport with market auntie liao!!!

hmm. black beans are err black and dao jio is brown. but whether or not they can be used for the same thing, that's the question. black beans cook soup.... i don't know leh.

the headless fish... i bought from market today, also headless. still don't know what it's called.

anyway, lunch today:

402524.jpg

veg - kai lan with oyster sauce (no, it's not raw even though it looks like!)
soup - pork ribs and jagong with wong bok (very nice! and light)
fish - black pomfret, fried with soy sauce

dinner!
sch's recipe. fish soup! tasted better than it looks. i put SOOOOOOOOOOOO much water. at one point it kinda overflowed! didn't add giam chye but was giam enough. i used ang go li

402525.jpg

good morning babes!!

pink... steady la. can see u slowly establishing your "name" in the market liao. haha. anyway, in my previous place market, when we buy quite a lot of vege, the auntie fr the stall will give us free spring onions or chillis. i think most vege stalls r like that now... competition.

anyway, for the black beans n dao jio... i dunno how to explain to u leh. u go NTUC n see the SinSin dao jio or not? but usually when i help my mum, she'll use the dao jio more to steam fish. n the black beans, she'll chop up wif garlic to cook ma po dou fu.

btw, your toaster oven hor, u used it to cook fish b4? i was wondering if can use it to bake salmon...

good morning babes

skylar my fren, limbu's eng always so cheem hor, dun nid help from scrabble, unlike some pple ..... boardgame i anytime on wan, but i think we do it in oct lah, since koye's bz tis mth, steady?

pink was so hardworking yesterday, cooked two meals ... but hor, ur fish soup looked like fish porridge leh??? li wu type sala bo? me also fried veg on sat, but it was not a willing attempt on my part, so i couldn't b bothered 2 take pix.

sch, how was the battlefield at comex? fun?

watched akeelah & the bee yesterday. good show, light & heart warming.

morning ladies!!

i also bought a bottle of dao jio..how to use ah? use pour over the fish when steaming or wat huh? act hero...buy liao dunno how to use =(

calling for ANT, u got mail ...
so now the topic is dao jio? steamed pork ribs wif dao jio very very nice. but me got no recipe hor. & for black beans, my mum use them 2 cook black bean chicken feet soup.

schnauzie...
the dao jio u bought is a bit brownish, rite? i use it to steam fish mostly. i'll put it together wif ginger n spring onion on the fish then steam it. no need to put a lot coz it can b quite salty.

lina...
my mum uses black beans to steam pork ribs leh... no dao jio. i also dunno the recipe. alamak, shit... i still owe u the sesame chicken recipe hor... wahahahahaha....

sch, there r 2 imperial treasure at ngee ann city. which one did u say the food was nice again? teochew cuisine at L4, or nanbei cuisine at L5?

lina - wah steady lah, i reach expo before 12 ..carpark almost full liao ah..then we go BK to makan first then yaya walk comex. then within 15mins bought a 32inch sharp lcd tv...think nowadays tv v cheap leh. mine one only 1399 somemore give me a free air purifier worth 699. then to save the $30 delivery, we CASH AND CARRY. Kaoz..lucky we came in a friend's car then managed to squeeze the big box into the back seat..and i was squashed up sitting behind!

good morning babes!

keke lina, yes it's fish porridge! like CHOK, not fish soup. sorry, typo! oh yes yes steam pork and black beans is happening. like dim sum kind right? i like! ok next time i try.

sch - i also always hero. buy buy buy then realise dont' know how to use. keke. like leatherback fish.... buy then dunno how to cook! keke.

levynn - i never use toaster oven for fish before leh sorry.

btw, last time we had the question of how to toast belachan right? i saw some book and it says there are 3 ways (for 1 tablespoon of belachan):

1. wrap in foil then bake till fragrant in oven/toaster
2. heat over fire in spoon
3. dry fry till fragrant

after either option, pound with chilli

lao niang, u noe ur scrap book aka foto album, u glued used paper/plastic corners on the book, then juz slot the fotos in, correct? the "corners" hor, where 2 buy them? or did u DIY? cos me thinking of doing the same thing 4 my BKK fotos, thx

Good morning!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lina.. its Lori lah.. not Koye lor.... think u also lao ren chi dai liao ah.. waahahhaa... btw.. Koye say she maybe cannot make it for lori birday leh..

how is everyone today!! so tired man!!

u all know ah... my that recep hor.. nabz.. today come to work.. her boss give her things to type then she say she very busy ah.. blahh.. then end up her boss ask me to help her leh.. CBCBCB.,...i also tell him i got alot of things to do lor.. CCBCBCBCBBBCBCBCB!!!

lina - the photo corner thingie i bought from the shop that sells nice wrapping paper at citylink. but it was damn ex. $9! my colleague said borders got sell also. $6. check it out, babe!

skylar - walau eh i think you better tell your boss about her la. when it affects you like that (i.e. your boss ask you to help her), then that's a bit jialat liao...

ohaiyoooooooo gers..

i'm back from aussie, weather very nice.. but my poor face suffer coz too dry..

ka, i helped you bought the rosewater already.. A$29 for 100ml bottle.. how to pass to you???

lina, u looking for me?

topic for the day is tao jio versus black beans?they taste different lor.. but i nv tried cooking anything wif black beans, so not sure. but black beans has alot of nutritional value lor..

as for baking in oven, if u wrap your chicken in alum foil, den very hard to get crispy skin.. but hor, why u roast chicken will get oil splattered all over the oven???? add too much oil is it??

sze chuan style pork ribs is very nice but i don't know the recipe. only ate it in shanghai which was very good..

bunny - my mother will blender the chilli first, or get chilli paste, add garlic, and watever u want. then her method of doin the belachan is to dry fry then hor when fry need to press the belachan until it become fine powder form then add chilli paste and mixed together. voila! belachan chilli~

tea tree - tt time i follow ant's recipe for roast chickenmy oven got no splatter leh...keke after using oven i din even need to clean oven =)

sky - ur recep realli power leh..she biz with wat? tokin on phone with her bf again ah?

Morning Babes!!!!!!!

Ant - thanks! Hmmm....pass me on Sept 15?

Pink - i like your chok...like very yummy!!!!

girls, what kind of fish is good for frying? slices kind. the recipe book says halibut, snapper, garoupa.... but what are they known as in chinese/hokkien? garoupa is ang go li is it?

hey skylar, it's KOYE who said she'll b bz tis mth lah, u blur. nabz, dun believe me, u call & ask her. dunno who lao ren chi dai, kaoz

ant, go check ur email & reply plssssssssss

sch, 32 inch and u hand carry?? wah lau, win liao lor u.

pink - you damn cartoon man! No need to wear goggles lah. you think you having shwee diao bu ah? hahahaahaha

hahahahaha pink so cute ah u, lup a plastic bag over ur head when u fry belachan, cut a hole big enuf 4 u 2 breathe can liao.... no nid 2 wear goggles lah. but yes, i think eyes will b siap siap

Hi can i check with u people... i love porridge. But my method of cooking porridge is to cook rice with lots water and put in fish slices and some soya sauce and pepper. However it taste bad. How can i improve on the taste... like what i had in the hawker centres?

Pinkbunny can advise me? I have been asking questions but no replies!

pink - haha KA is right..mai siao lah wear simi goggle, buey siap siap one.
My hubby love fried promfret...idiot lah...so expensive fish go n fry. tonight i am frying kuning fish (those kind u get when eating nasi lemak). garoupa is ang gor li..deep fry then add sweet sour sour..thai style is v yummy!

lina - ya lor...when carryin from the carpark i also feel abit malu..maciam like got monie to buy tv no monie for delivery haha..but the 30 i save can give me eat alot of things leh...tt evening hor i go to the sze char stall outside buy 1 black pepper crab only $16 only so yummy. i still got $24 left. waahahahah

tokin abt fish we shld do a mini project here, show picture of fish (raw) and put down the name, in chinese, ang moh, hokkien ,,watever

pink - u cook the fish chor hor, u use simi fish?

Sch - for fried wan...you have to get grey promfret instead of white wan. White one is more for steaming....

wah lau, lina... u LAZY to cook, dun use me as excuse hor... hahahaha....

schnauzie... when u buy the dao jio in the bottle, got some water in there liao, rite? i dun add water. i usually take some dao jio, then take the "sauce" fr the bottle n spread on the fish, then steam it.

pink... i also dunno the ang moh names for those fish. i like fried ba tang though... keke.

irene... u like those chok kind? or those wif the rice then u add in the soup? if it's the chok kind... me can't help u, heh... sorry...

lina, already replied to the mail.

pink bunny, i think u need oxygen tank rather than goggles lor. coz it get so spicy tat ur nose will feel 'sick' from breathing the contaminated air.

oh ya, i oso interested in the pork chop recipe. anyone, gers???

sch - KA is right. buy the black one for frying. the flesh is firmer and it's also cheaper. then just drizzle with soy sauce. yummy!!!

haha about the fish project. i think levynn is the best candidate ... since she did the melons one. hor, levynn?
*SIAM!*

i used ang go li. i asked the fish stall uncle which is fish is suitable for porridge and he recommended ang go li.

irene - i took sch's recipe. she posted it a long time ago. from what i remember:

- season fish slices with fish sauce and hua diao jiu
- use 3 times as much water as usual for the rice. use rice cooker
- soak dried scallops in hot water. after a while, press the scallops and throw everything into the rice cooker, including the water
- keep checking to make sure there's enough water
- stir occasionally
- after 2 hours, add in fish slices, pork loin, ginger
- half an hour before eating, add in ikan bilis (the small kind with no bone)
- before eating, add a dash of sesame oil and pepper, and fried shallots. if got spring onion, also can add. shiok!

err about you asking many questions but no replies... maybe we don't know the answers? we not experts you know.... keke

note to all future porridge cookers: tell your ah lao to prepare for nightmare when washing the pot!!!!

about goggles.... i think it's breathing in the belachan that makes the eyes siap siap. so maybe should wear nose clip instead. like synchro swimming kind haha. btw i cut onion also will cry one. tried once putting in fridge before cutting, ok la, a bit better

sibeh funny, oxygen tank!!!

pork chop recipe ... the hainanese kind ah? i think simply her got before. or are you talking about angmoh kind? that kind i buy 'butterfly' pork, then season with salt pepper, olive oil and majoram then just put in oven. my ah lao likes seasoning with worchestshire sauce and black pepper

levynn - i also like fried batang!!! but i dunno why every time i'm slicing the fish that time then it will become nua nua like that. maybe my knife not sharp enough. hmm

a recipe i'm not sure if i've posted. JIANG CONG YU PIAN!!!!

- season fish (i usually use batang) with sesame oil, hua diao jiu, pepper
- fry garlic and onions
- add fish
- just before serving, throw in spring onions

SIMPLE BO??!!

pink, no prob 4 me when washing the pot the last time i cooked chok. when u stir, stir a bit harder and down to the bottom of the pot, then shld b ok. if it really sticks, boil some hot water into the pot, it'll b real easy then.

Type of fish cooking method:

1. Cantonese Steamed
Steamed with soy sauce.

2. Teochew Steamed
Steamed with tomato, plum and salted vegetable.

3. Steamed with Ginger
Steamed with chopped ginger. Popular for freshwater fish eg Grass Carp and Tilapia.

4. Steamed with Sauce
Steamed with chopped fermented bean and chilli sauce. Popular for Tilapia fish.

5. Tomyam Steamed
Steamed with tomyam sauce, a la hot and spicy.

6. Nyonya Steamed
Steamed with mild curry.

7. Sichuan Steamed
Steamed with chopped dried chilli.

8. Pan Fried
Only available at home or western restaurant as it take too long for Chinese restaurant.

9. Deep Fried
Needless to introduce.

10. Fried with bean sauce
Only available in teochew fishing village style restaurant.

11. Fried with Belacan (shrimps paste)

12. Fried with Ginger and Spring Onion
A popular way to cook Aroan fish.

13. Curry
Cooked in coconut based curry.

14. Baked
In either tin foil or banana leaf.

15. Sweet and Sour
Only popular for mass cooking of fish (e.g. for banquet).

16. Braised
eg braised kong puo style (onion and dried chilli), normally for fish that has muddy taste e.g. walking catfish.

Thanks bunny.... i will try it. Some people told me instead of using water with rice, can also use fish stock...not sure like that ok anot... but anyway will experiment.

hi irene, if you season the fish with fish sauce and hua jiao, it will already add flavour to the porridge. i'm sure fish stock will give a wonderful flavour too but remember that cooking porridge is a 3hour process. do you really want to add another 2 hours to make the stock? ...

pink... u see schnauzie's post... fish recipe number 4 use fermented beans? i think that is dao jio leh... but not really sure...

wah lau... ask me to do the fish one ah. can only differentiate sharks n fish... haha... ok la. i'll try la. but even if got ang moh names, also dunno the dialect...

for nua nua ba tang, i think it's becoz it's not fresh enuf.

Me just back from doc.. my throat still inflammed ah.. so sad.. as for the thyroid thingy me gotta go for blood test & the ultra scan to really determine it lor..

the doc say hopefully its the virus that cause the swelling & not the thyroid lor..

my recep fark lah she.. last fri on MC rite? then my boss ask for her MC.. she say she forgot to bring.. whahahaa... sibeh lame lor...

me did Black Pepper chicken toritos last Sat for my ah lao & he loves it.. very simple recipe..

Toritos + Black pepper chicken + the bowl is black pepper sauce & melted cheddar cheese
402687.jpg

1. Buy toritos from Cold Storage.
2. Marinate chicken with black pepper sauce & paprika powder.
3. Pan fry chicken, dish out..
4. Use the leftover black pepper sauce on pan, add water, add more black pepper sauce & cheddar cheese till it melts..
V.I.O.L.A

buey pai ah skylar? cooking more and more eh? you like cheese alot eh?
so 3 pieces, for you, ah lao, and ah bu? hehe don't worry about the throat la... now virus going around so it must be it

ok regarding the beans, i think i'll just use black beans for steaming pork ribs (ala dim sum style) and brown dao jio beans for other stuff.

levynn, maybe we can play a 'guess the fish' game? hahahaha

simi buaya hunter? i wan to watch PRADA!!

lev - i just bought a pack of penne and a bottle of bake pasta sauce ;p goin to try it soon~

SKYLAR, CAN U PLS SKIP SPICY & DEEP FRIED FOOD 4 THE TIME BEING??!!!!! NABZ, u dun wan 2 get well, is it?
regarding the thyroid hor, the sec in my hubby's opic also has thyroid, yup, juz eat med can already, no nid 2 go 4 op.

ghost whisperer every fri, chn 5, 10 pm. go watch, it's quite good.