CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Taaaa............taaaaaaaaaaaaaa
my tom yam whilst cooking....
397360.jpg

Final product, with seafood in.. see the crabstick? kekek...
397361.jpg

yes! had to answer all! wahbiang. sibeh busy.

another meeting at 2.30 then at 4 again. chao ren.

wah the tom yum soup looks good, man! and yes! crab stick! keke. ka gin post the recipe!!!

okies..
now my lunch time... my dinner taken over last few days but too busy to post..
397380.jpg

Fried egg + chilli brinjal + mixed vegg :carrots,cabbage, sotong.. etc...

397381.jpg

dark soya sauce egg + fried egg tofu + fried pork strips..

WAH BIANG SKYLAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is one meal ah??!!! eh what happened to your ah bu's signature hiam jio?

btw the egg tofu, coat with orh tiap hoon then fry, right? not deep fry? sorry ah, archive until very far back liao!!!!

no la not my ah bu birthday. last time when i was freelancing i always free then drop by her office and give her flowers then thought it's a nice thing to just do occasionally lor. i realised that sometimes my papa do it too. so sweet!!

no leh i never watch click. is it angmoh or tng nang show? still got?

Pink!!
that is 2 meals la..u toad!! whahaha.... as for my ah bu signature hiam jio.. finish liao.. then go mkt see the chilli padi.. not very fresh so she no buy lor..

the egg tofu is just pan fry lah.. not deep fry la..sooo oily........

Click is a nice show!!!! just out only lah.. Ang moh lu lian show lah!!

juz wanted to come in here n complain... so pissed after watching singapore idol!!!!! the most un-idol one is stil in there!!! those who voted for him must b DEAF!

haha who you voting for levynn? i don't really watch. only once or twice.

tonight's makan!:

397477.jpg

broc with scallop (fake one la.... rather like crab stick! keke)
gantang tng (or commonly known as ABC soup)
steamed pomfret (realised i had no more chilli - skylar, same situation! - so i used chilli powder. still can leh! but not as colourful la)

pink
the "huang gua" u mentioned could be "lao huang gua"= old cucumber. i remembered my mum used to cook too but i cannot remember how it looks liao..haha..

skylar...ur tom yam looks delicious...but hor..u got the pus thing..better stop taking seafood for a while..

/joniel

Hi gals...sory no posting today. Went out with Ah Lau cos he's still on leave so we went lunch in town, went to the gym than finally had dinner at BIL's place.

Sky - I like your Tom Yum soup! Recipe leh???? Btw, you can drink meh? Better mai gei kiang hor!

My all time fav breakfast in HK :

397522.jpg

Toasted bun with butter and condensed milk

397523.jpg

Macaroni with Ham and Ice Honey Lemon

good morning all!!! it's FRIDAY!!! yeah!!!

PB... me not really supporting anyone. but the one who can't sing, n it's already so obvious, is not even in bottom 3!!! i dun really watch Singapore Idol till the last 12 now.

joniel... "lao huang gua" is the one wif the brown skin, which is mostly used for soup, wif pork ribs. "huang gua" is the one wif the green skin lor.

btw, me grandma taught me to cook a dish wif huang gua. cut the huang gua, together wif the skin into strips, but not too thin, thicker than those u eat wif chicken rice. then fry some garlic, add some heh bee n stir-fry until the heh bee is fragrant.add in the huang gua to stir-fry until it becomes slightly soft. ta-dah... another healthy veg dish. (of coz must add in a bit of soy sauce to taste)

ohaiyoooooooo..

i'm back in SG but going to fly off again on Sun morning to HK then taipei.

everyone's dinner pics looks good!

talking about huang gua, there is a favourite dish in shanghai that is huang gua. they called it leng ban huang gua. very nice but i don't know the recipe. it taste like our lor chap with huang gua. very nice..

sch, got any place in HK to recommend which has very good sales bargain?

aiyoh... poor ant. keeps flying ard... ur hubby must miss u very much. btw, the airport security now very tight huh... but luckily u not going to western countries...

KA!!!!!!!!!!!! ur back!! kekek.. finally see ur pixs of makan liao..
my tomyam ah.. can drink!!! sour sour .. spicy spicy.. shiok ah!! very Ka-Wei lor.. whaha..

Joniel..
ya hor.. i shd cut down on the seafood.. keke.. i only eat the crabstick leh.. sob sob.. my ah lao wack everything lor..

Wahh.. so sumptuous ah all ur dinner.. keke.. now my dinner from last nite.. due to over-whelming response.. keke.. my ah lao & I ask my ah bu to cook her seafood tomyam soup again last nite.. kekee.. yummy!! So dinner is : Seafood Tom yam + bok cai w/ fishball & herbs Gao Ki + Mushroom & chicken.
397619.jpg

Tell u all something ah.. I really buay luanz lor.. u know hor.. my that reception is supposed to work at 10am but u know.. she came to work yesterday at 10:20am say wat her son sick la… blah blah.. but I know that she leave her son in the care of her mom one.. she only see her son on Sat only.. she purposely say loud to let my bosses hear.. then TODAY, she JUST came!! Can u imagine.. so my boss suan her saying.. U must have had a Very Good Night Sleep last nite? Then she say oh.. then keep quiet.. now the min she come in, she hook on the fone, keep toking to a guy in Chinese.. coz my boss dun understand mah.. but I DO lor.. I hear liao really ai tor leh..

she is tokking to her Ex-bf then say things like wahh… u got gf already still come find me?? But how was it last nite? Do u like it? U know I cannot wake up this morning leh?? U go also nv wake me up? Actually u just have ur gf now, u just know her for 1 mth, supposed to be your honeymoon period leh.. then u come running to me? How can?? Btw, u know I am aiming for a Nokia new fone leh.. how? So u tonite coming bor? Its fri leh.. we will hv more time to ourselves!!

PUKE!!!!!!!

yawn. zao an, da jia hao!

sch - i like that fish also! just fry and drizzle with jio cheng is very yum yum :D

KA - wah your breakfast looks so shiok.... HK tao can is the best!!!! also got maggie mee and luncheon meat kind... i miss! btw i told you about this place at marina right? it's called hong kong cafe. very very happening one. all the HK food!

levynn - is it huang gua, green skin, is longish shape also? and if cook lao huang gua soup, must tng sar or not? remove skin...

ant - welcome back! and ... bon voyage soon! keke

sing idol ... i don't understand why everyone thinks jonathan is hamshum leh.

skylar - you recept is damn irritating leh! walau i also bueh tahan.

eh bok cai w/ fishball & herbs Gao Ki RECIPE please! how come got like 2 bowls of tom yam ah? and your tom yum recipe leh? keke

Pink.. ya lor.. she very er xin leh. i feel.. yucks!!

the bok cai receipe easy!!

- fry garlic in oil
- then add fish ball, then add bok cai..
- by this time, bak cai will produce water out, add gao ki.. continue stiring, then cover lid..

VIOLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA..........

the tom yam one abit tough.. will post ltr ya..

Hi ladies!!!!

Sky - Tom Yum Recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We still waiting!!!!!!! kekekekeke

Pink - If i happen to miss HK food...will check out the one at Marina. Ive tried the other one at Taka called Wang Jiao...not bad too & also very happening!

Btw, juz checking....when's our next meet up again hah?

Eh Sky, your bok cai recipe no need to put any ingredients to taste wan ah?

Somemore hor...your tat recep really sibeh hiao lor! Like no man cannot survive like tat. Jiatlat! I peifu your boss for being so tolerant to her lor.

KA... waahah..

forgot.. to add a pinch of salt lah.. kns!! whahaha...

wei.. see when next time we go eat at Marina that stall ah.. how?

Pink.. no worries lah.. me also super busy today then got things cock up somemore... haiz.. everything in a rush lor.. next week lah.. no rush ya!

Pink - near the Taka food court. Juz at the main entrance.

Sky - Onz!! We go try the HK cafe at marina leh.

Pink - only go mum mum only mah....sure can lah!

KA... so anxious to meet us ah?? y leh?? got presents for us, is it?? hahahaa...

skylar... if i were u, i'll b a b*t*h... go tell everyone in office wat she saying. or if monday she comes in late again, juz ask her weekend "shiok" or not, if not, won't b so late... wahahahaha... or better still, say she walks funny....

PB... yup. huang gua is the green long one, we eat wif chicky rice. lao huang gua is the one for the soup... brownish skin. when i cook it, i usually remove the skin. oh ya, then must add red dates to the soup.

Mai siao siao....our levynn bian chiak man! Dun see her si wen si wen.....hahahaha

huang gua eat wif chicken rice mah call "cucumber" lor?????

Wahhh.. Levynn...
kan bu chu ah.. steady lah.. okok.. but i jiang bu chu leh.. kns!! keeke...

KA...
wahh.. got pressies for us ah? whaha.. okok.. kekeke..

Pink.. everyone also busy busy ah.. sob..sob..

haha levynn - indeed, kan bu chu, kan bu chu. hey. now i'm even more confused. ok i know what is the normal cucumber. but there's another long melon looking thing that's also green. what's that? oh no.... so many melons, i'm confused!

btw just curious - when you girls go grocery shopping/marketing, do you make up a list? i'm beginning to think my market is quite high priced and sometimes the supermarkets special offers are really better. what say you? (non aunties can also reply)

Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh....
I really wanna puke big time leh!! here i am working my socks off... then my recep is like toking to her that bf on the line, & not answering the calls!!

I just fark her off.. saying can u really DO WORK during ofc hrs time? The phones are ringing!!!

then I heard her telling him that she likes to be on top, she likes to rock & shake!! want some excitment, want to go East Coast? I know of a good place! OMG!!!!!!!!!! really buay tahan her leh!!

Farking Jian man!! A Total disgrace to the womanhood ah!!

Pink..
I used to do up list in the past but not anymore.. keke.. I will just see wat i wanna buy then buy lor... as for the special offers in supermkt, at times they are not that fresh leh... if ur toking about those fresh chicken etc lah.. but for canned stuff... that i totally agree..

Great find.. 1 pkt of sotong cheese crackers,sell

downstairs my hse - $1.20
NTUC / Cold Storage - $1.00 offer, normal $1.20
Carrefour - $0.59!!!
I was so stunned when I saw it!! kekeke.. needless to say, I bot like 5 pkts lor.. whahaha...

Pink - i also dun do any list...juz go there & look see than decide wat i will cook.

Sky - you better go tell your boss that she's not answering the calls at all coz wats the point of having a recep but she's not answering calls at all? And worse of all...she's having too many personal calls liao.....

tdy damn busy clearing mails and settling alot of issues.. aiiiiii... can;t even login here frequently to skive..

skylar, ur recep is really one of a kind.. older folks will describe her as orh u tang (black oil barrel).. i pity the son for having such a mum.. :p

according to my auntie colleagues, the cheapest place to get grocery (except baby stuff) is seng siong.. n do check out wkend papers, usually got alot of discount on grocery shopping..

ant - sheng siong indeed is cheap...but remember to see their expiry date...alot of cases that their stuffs some expire liao. i normally buy dry stuffs from there but not their meat or fish lor....

Gals - forgot to tell you gals that if next week onwards, you seldom see me online means either i busy with work or cant serve net in my new office. Coz me starting work on Mon liao...hiaz....

ant - actualli the whole of hk now is havin final sale very good leh...i bought alot of things at espirit!!

pink - wah u ah luff tt supermarket so much...tell u an insider trade secret...S**** S**** has one of the most complaints of selling expired food and other problems..quite unethical actualli...tell u guys more next time when we meet up..don wanna get sued here.

pink, depends on wat u wana buy from sheng siong lah.. can buy from provision shop oso mah.. or buy in 'bulk' whenever u go carrefour or giant???

here's my dinner:

deep fried shisamo, cucumber with chilli, ha cheong kai and peanut with chicken soup.

397795.jpg

then this is my last sun dinner.. took pic but forgot to upload...

pan fried fish with ng kiu powder, heng cai with dried scallops, assam prawns and sotong (skylar's ah bu recipe) and wintermelon with chicken soup

397796.jpg

sch, where can I find esprit? can i find it in causeway bay? do you know of any factory outlets of those branded goods in hk as well?

i only been to shopping in causeway bay and mongkok so wana explore other areas for shopping. any recommendations where else to go?

ta da! i think joniel was asking for salmon recipe:

baked salmon fillet with fresh dill and white wine sauce

ingredients

fish:
2 tbsp oil
1 large onion, sliced
1 large bell pepper, sliced
½ tsp salt
1 whole salmon fillet (middle part or tail end)
salt and pepper
2 sprigs fresh dill (from cold storage or carrefour)

sauce:
1 tsbp butter (cannot use margarine)
½ medium onion, chopped
½ tsp garlic
50 ml white wine (cheapest drinking wine, not cooking wine)
200ml whipping cream
2 tbsp chopped fresh dill
1 tsbp chopped parsley

preparation method
1. preheat oven to 200 degrees c. heat oil, sauté onions and bell peppers till fragrant, season with salt. transfer to foil lined baking tray
2. season salmon with salt and pepper and place the fresh dill on top of fish. bake for about 10 mins (8 mins if using tail end of fillet) until fish is just cooked
3. melt butter in pan, sauté onions and garlic till fragrant. add white wine and until liquid reduces by half. strain sauce and pour in cream
4. simmer till sauce slightly thickens and sprinkle in fresh dill and parsley.
5. pour over salmon and serve

ant, if i remember correctly, there's an adidas factory outlet quite near the esprit warehouse. my memory makes me think it's near star ferry but... i can't really be sure...

ok, PB... i managed to find a pic of some veg.

397899.jpg

contestant number 1 - it's "Si Gua"... Si as in silk. it's quite long n has like grooves. some veg stalls actually sell those with the skin already removed. if u wan to buy, choose the heavier ones the better. my mum will stir-fry it wif eggs and garlic.

contestant number 2 - huang gua... the recently most talked abt in here. also known as cucumber.

contestant number 3 - mao gua. the one wif short tiny hairs. i think it's called hairy marrow or sth like that in english. for this one, my mum has used to to stir-fry, as well as to cook in soup.

to stir-fry, remove the skin, cut into strips, n stir-fry wif heh bee. similar to the way the huang gua is cooked as i mentioned b4. but wif this mao gua, my mum usually would add in some dang hoon.

to cook as soup, cut into pieces, n then cook wif minced meat balls.

there is another way to cook mao gua. juz remove the skin, cut along it so each piece is like a short cylinder. then add some minced meat on top of each one n put them to steam.

skylar, PB... that was my evil twin talking... hahaha...

btw, there is also the hong kong restaurant at Kovan here... keke...

Ant - all your food so yummy!!!! Especially the sotong!!!! Esprit warehouse sales in HK, so far i know 2 places. 1 is at Tsim Sha Tsui & the other at Mongkok. TST wan is bigger cos got 2 levels. Adidas factory sales i think is near to one of their MTR station called Tsing Yi Station.( heard from a fren, ive never been there thou)
TST area also a shopping place you can go. Like their new Harbour City.

Went to try the Cha Chang Ting at Takashimaya today. Pink, pai sey hah...its not called "wang Jiao", its " Central cafe" instead.
I tried their Macau Pork burger...hmmm taste ok nia and portion also quite miserable...kekekekee

it seems that there is a trend of hong kong cha chan teng in sg.. i see them in orchard, bugis, opp great world city n even IMM.. i tried the one at taka too but find it quite disappointing.. IMM's branch not bad, at least for the wanton noodles..

ka, heehee, thanks for the compliments. actually, the assam sotong was too spicy coz i add too much chilli..

is tsim sha tsui like mongkong, once out of mrt, got alot of shops already?

now packing luggage again.. sianz.. flying off tomorrow..

hehe levynn, so funny la your GUA explanations!

ant, bon voyage
have a safe flight!

tonight's dinner: roast chicken!!! with potatoes (mistake, the potatoes were overcooked), and soup was chicken soup with celery and carrot. and garlic bread. yum yum yum!!!

398300.jpg

wah why so quiet?

forgot to add that leftover chicken we kept to shred, then use the bones to make stock, then another day will have marcaroni with the soup and shredded chicken! yum yum

have a nice day, everyone!