CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

sch - near holland village. about 10 minute walk. you drop me a mail, i can give further instructions

i thought all supposed to reach my house with ready-to-eat food by 1pm? no meh?

kekeke... Pink i also think so.. coz Sch ask when is makan time mah... eekkekee

KA,
wat time u go buy ur veggie? very early ah... then u go park practice tai qi first then go buy ya.. kekeke

hey sorry been so quiet girls. went away for presentation. and got a very bitchy email from 'someone' who bully my very nice colleague, and dare to say that she was mean to him, so i wrote an equally bitchy reply. and now my face is still hot from anger. i told my boss as well cos it's really unfair to her. she very poor thing, kena from this )(*^$%^&(. my boss said 'that guy is a major bi*ch' haha. funny la my boss

tonight's dinner was supposed to be "CCCC". = chin chai char char. hahahahaha.

so fish fried with tamarind (i used the powder), steamed egg (i remember levynn saying her grandma saying the portion is 2:1. i put wrongly. instead of 2water:1egg, i put 2egg:1water. that's why it became quite dry. kinda like omelette that had kena soaked in water). and i thought aiyah so poor thing, no soup... everything so dry.... THEN i saw wah got one can of sharksfin from that time CNY, shop and save got promo on sharksfin, i haven't use yet. WHACK AH! (added cabbage and button mushrooms)

so CCCC dinner in the end got sharksfin

391049.jpg

and i owe you yesterday's fried tanghoon pic:

391050.jpg

Pink - I prefer your fried tanghoon more...kekekeke...is it easier or more difficult frying tanghoon or beehoon?

Sky - Got to buy the veggie tomoro morning then Sun dun have to wake so early...can sleep a little longer mah...TaiJi?? Siao boh??? Where got time? Unless you join me lah! Wahahahaha......

Guess I wont be online on Sat till I meet you gals on Sun...anything juz call my mobile ya! Cya gals this Sun!!!!!

frying tanghoon and beehoon not much diff to me la. except that beehoon tends to break more easily i guess

today i went to carrefour and guess what? bought 3 big crabs, and the nice hamshum carrefour uncles killed the crabs for me! .... but i hope my karma still not indirectly affected leh...

oh seems like everybody waiting till get back to office then post eh? ok lao niang post first: I HAD FUN TODAY!!!!

the food was great. for the benefit of those who didn't come, levynn was right on time. then ant then sch, then lina (who said ya ya will be there on time....and arrived late.... but brought me something special, so she's forgiven) and finally, the her royal highness, skylar. we finished eating at almost 5!!!!

and lina so you xin, bring me flowers

391381.jpg

ah lao and i ate the leftovers for dinner. plus his stomach wasn't so good so guess who's quite sian of crabs now? lao niang lor...

Hello gals...

First of all..I would like to apologise for not turning up today due to my stupid fever. Currently still not feeling very good.

Guess you gals must have enjoyed alot today much as i wish i was there to join the fun too.

Pink - Nice flowers from Lina indeed!

VERY VERY SORRY, GALS!!!!!!!!!!!!

good morning girls!!!

i had fun yesterday too...
many thanks to our dear lao niang for letting us mess up her place, n for the chilli crabs, ha jiong chicken, rice n drinks.

thanks to the others who brought other food. i had my dinner at 930 last nite... haha...

KA... no worries la. u concentrate on getting well then we can always meet up again. must drink more water ah!

hey babes, good morning.
yup yup, great gathering wif good food, esp the crabs =) + a teeny winy bit of bitching abt MILs and hubbies, shiok! oh ya, appreciate lao niang's effort 4 doing the dishes after we left, kam sia.

thx ant 4 the yummy cheesecake, ate it 4 dinner (+ home-cooked green bean sweet potato soup) at 8pm.

KA, no nid 2 apologise lah, already so poor thing fell sick already, aiyo. beta hv enuf rest & h2o, & if u're having fever still, pls visit the doc again.

basket, i juz remember forgot 2 ask skylar abt shorthand yesterday, old already, keep forgetting things, sigh

HI ladies,

had a great time dipping the jiam tao lor di with lao niang's chille crab..shiok ah...i wan RECIPE!

lina is right, all the bitching on MILs and hubbies realli help to increase the appettite..

pink - was ur ah lao scare when he kept hearing us luff like siao za bors?

btw hor, i reach home then realise i forgot the jap guide!!! arghh!! i esp want the info on the sumo show!!!!

Ant - luff the cheesecake!! not too jelak...yummy!! i wan recipe!! but i like a thicker crust!!

lev - u were the quietest of us all ah..must tok more next time. LUFF THE ECLAIRS!

ohaiyooooooo...

ka, a pity you can't join us.. hope you get well soon.. drink tons of liang teh!!

yest was great fun hanging out with you gals.. sorrie i had to leave early.. the food was great.. the crabs, ha cheong kai, prata, curry veg, choc eclairs and not forgetting our lina's sweet n sour pork...

lina, eat cheesecake as dinner, not jelat ar???

sch, cheesecake recipe i post b4 alr leh!!! when u wana bake, den ask me lah.. dun wana keep reposting it! :p btw, can give me the directions for tat prata shop? i really like tat very much..

morning all. wah yesterday was seriously 'heaty day' sia! i was already having a sore throat, and the flu came by on saturday night, so all the heaty and spicy food didn't help. today i woke up with a very painful pimple
but good food, so cannot complain

my ah lao wasn't scared but i think he shy. you notice or not, the whole time you guys were here, he never even come out to go toilet! keke. but he napped and watched DVD la.

sch - next time we meet then i pass to you the japan stuff k? sumo show i think must book way way way in advance. when i was there, it was almost end april, and the shows were getting booked for end may liao. and not cheap. like SGD100 per ticket
i suggest if you not watching, don't even need to go... cos the museum is nothing much - only pictures of the past wrestlers, and a few articles in japanese. and it's really out of the way

recipe tonight ok? super busy now

and KA - don't need to apologise. you just get plenty of beauty sleep and rest rest rest then next time pot luck will be at YOUR HOUSE! haha

hey after you girls left, i washed up, swept the floor, and then i realised i had engaged into housewife mode... cos i also did laundry after that. wah biang eh....

nt really lah ant. i took a small pc, hubby ate the most & the aunt also took a small portion, juz nice =)

eh i say something 2 let u gals scold, *then can let off steam on a blueeeeeeee sleepy mon morning* pot luck go anyone's hse also can, BUT LINA's aka the Pig's hse cannot, becoz hor, no way lim bu is going 2 cook, & still hv 2 wash up & mop floor aft u pple leave, nabz, hahaha *SCRAM*

oh btw, since we're on the topic of cheesecake, ah lao said 'eh why never leave any for me....'. i only realised when i was packing it for lina. now i feel so bad, so this evening must buy cheesecake back for him to bu chang

Good morning!!!!!!!

KA, how is ur fever ah.. must recover ok?? kekeke...

So Lina did u wipe out the cheesecake & eclairs when u got home? ta bao for ur dua pek gong ah? kekeke..

nice nice food ya!! where is levynn?? she took the pixs of the food rite? ekkee..
my ah bu was asking did u all find the curry too spicy bor? then i realized u all also neber eat,. so next time dun nid ask her cook liao.. whahahaha....

wait for me to upload the dessert pixs ya

eh skylar, we ate. but i think the quantity was really alot, next time tell ur ah bu no nid 2 cook so much, so....ooo, she still will hv 2 cook lor & basket, we wan 2 c the demo for the tau hu dish lah. i tried, nope, it wasn't too spicy.

oh ya, pink. tell ur ah lao sorlee huh. but, it was due to his shyness tt he didn't get 2 eat the cheesecake, so tell him next time dun b so shy lah, we're all so tame, obedient, & soft spoken lades, hor??

& u realise when u were packing 4 mi? aiyo, silly u, then say lah, i take one small slice bk 4 hubby 2 eat enuf already mah.

sky - i got eat the culi chai! i like it, it is spicy enuf but think it is abit sweet for me. my ah bu cook curry always is salty salty one.

pb - ur ah lao is too shy liao..he shld come and n much with us mah..like tt chees cake also taste sweeter keke.

ant - okie i go and dig the address for u..but in case u want to find it now. it is next to Thomson Post Office. U know where?

skylar - i also ate the veg leh! ah lao stomach not so good so for dinner when i said we'll re-heat lunch leftovers, he made a face like 'har? everything spicy again?'. i told him the veg not spicy la, cos i remembered it as sweet. when i was heating up i realised uh oh... it's cooked by skylar's mother, CONFIRM CHOP STAMP sure hiam hiam one! but he still ate la. hehe.

and i only ate bread and crabs.... i'm damn scared of crabs now.... we were watching king kong last night then got alot of weird creatures.... that made me think of crabs...

Whahaha. Pink.. ur ah lao poor thing ah.. no chance to try the chessecake & eclairs ah.. keke.. nvm.. ask ant to do another the next time ya.. kekeke...

Soft spoken Lina.. pls lor... wait u tok only, Pink ah lao hide behind the door ah.. whahaha..

eclairs he ate. cos we kept some mah. softspoken? walau eh. wah when i went to see him in the room, still can hear all your voices over his DVD playing lor.

okie, i own up, i din try the curry veg coz i was too full.. eat anymore n i will start throwing up from over stuffed.. paiseh skylar...

sch, think better give me the full address.. me not a 'north' person, so abit blur blur lah.. haahh...

lina soft spoken? really?? who are you trying to bluff, a deaf person perhaps? :p

me do cheesecake again? mai lah.. i wana try something different.. i saw strawberry tarts recipe on her world mag n looks quite interesting.. hoping to try it some time... but hor, baking really use alot of $$$$.. everything is so damn exp!!

Wahahaha... Ant..
I burst out lafting leh.. Lina trying to bluff a deaf person.. whahaa.. wait u see her throw forks & spoons at u ah..

its ok.. lah.. no probs abt the too full thingy.. think the biggest portion there is my curry & Pink's crab.. ekeke..

Pink,
that means ur hse DVD player sound system not tok gong enuf lor... i saw u bring in King Kong to him leh.. u mean even King Kong sound cannot hear ah.. whahahaaha....

skylar... i ate a bit of your ah bu's curry... i like dao pok. but hor... too spicy for me leh. maybe i dun really know how to eat spicy food la... but i find it much too spicy compared to pink's crabs.

schnauzie... me quiet?? no la... u dunno... me was silently thanking all the gods available that i dun have strange MILs, n strange habits of hubby... wahahahhaha...

lina... i think the eclairs can buy in that tray of 12. but if each tray like that, i not sure whether it's the same pricing or not. if u wan, i can ask fr my aunt.

eh... dun whack me hor... but i haven't upload that one n only pic we took yesterday. hahaha... later when i get home la, k??

who? me? a loud mouth!!
wah lan, my heart is shattered 2 the floor down by u gals, BOO!!

skylar, mai kay kay, go chk wif ur ah bu hw 2 fry the tau hu quick.

yup levynn, pls check wif ur aunt 4 mi, appreciate it!

Wahahaha.. Levynn,
liddat u mah thank gods for abit long liao hor? whahaaha...ohh u cannot take spicy food ah.. okok... actually hor.. i oredi told my ah bu dun make too spicy liao lor.. that is why Sch say its abit sweet lor.. or else if at home ah.. we make much more spicy one leh.. kekek.. paiseh..

Lina..
Y? u wanna buy how many trays? 10 ah? kekek...

the tau hu recipe i got check liao.. she say.. buy those egg tau hu lor.. then just coat them with "orh tiap hoon" <-- english i dunno leh.. then just fry it.. will be tasty liao..

skylar dear, do us a favour &amp; find out (from the packet at home or next time when u go shopping wif ur ah bu) the angmoh name for "orh tiap hoon" ho bo, wah piang, mmm zai simi hoon lai eh leh. kam sia

orh tiap hoon is simi...hoon is powder lah..orh tiap simi??

ant - ok wait i go n find address

lev - don bluff bluff...skalli ur hubby got lagi weird habit than ours haahahahah..or ur MIL still havent chu pattern..keke

Lina..
ya lor.. think tonite i go home see hse got bor.. kekeke.. when she say orh tiap hoon, I was like.. huh? simi hoon again? wahahaha.a....

Pink..
Especially for u... remember i told u abt the flowery kettle i had?
391517.jpg

check out the red string tie the yellow cover hor.. whahaha.. ku gao auntie bor?

skylar, the flowery kettle is not auntie, is fu ku, authentic now the in thing u noe, dun play play ...

KA so quiet, charbor, u ok or not?

Lina..
coz yesterday Pink show us her mini metal kettle with the blue cover so i tell her my hse one lagi old ah... kekeke..

KA..
think she sleeping si bor? maybe after med

haha it's funny for me to see someone else post up my familiar tablecloth.

skylar - simi si orh tiap hoon??! beehoon's brother si bo? wahahha sibeh steady your red string!!!!

levynn - is it you who took photo of all the dishes at the same time? faster go home and faster post!

btw you arrived at my house a bit early ah. so my ah lao was still showering. then i had to ask you to wait cos he had to faster finish then run to the room in his towel hahahahahha

lina - i remember you last time asking us if we will lao dua gua when we cook? yesterday i sure did. i think it was a mixture of being sickish and kitchen very hot and the stove there very "heep". so i really sweat like mad. can ask levynn - i bueh tahan so went to shower before meeting the rest of you gers hehe.

haha, juz realised sch's earlier post. wah so mean, curse levynn liddat, levynn choy her quick quick. i tell u all hor, last nite my green bean soup, i put in the sago too early and think didn't stir enuf, in the end, became gluey green bean soup, but taste good lah =) then the bottom of the pot alot of residue stuck there and orh orh one, my MIL very nice, washed the orh orh pot 4 me, hehe

Lina..
see lah.. ur MIL so nice to u... then u dun be so mean to her lah.. eng xiu her abit mah.. say she cook nice lah.. think she will teared man.. kekeek..

Pink..
yes, urs very cute.. mini mini one.. kekeke..
wahh.. ur ah lao showering ah.. Levynn... u nv take out ur camera anyhow snap ah? whahaah....

ok lah.. tonite i go back ask wat is orh tiap hoon lah ok ok? keke.. coz me also wanna know,.. kekee..

skylar, i'm try 2b civil towards her lah, dun worry wun b as mean as the way i treat u, hahaha
but, i really cannot bring myself 2 say the food she cook nice unless 4 some reason, is good 4 tt meal, then i'll fin up the food lor. action speaks louder than words, tiobo? i got eng xiu wat, 3-4 times a week dinner at home ok, then 1-2 times i also hv 2 pamper myself &amp; my poor stomach mah.

Ohh u mean u r very mean to me lah.. haiz.. this kinda pple also hv. tsk.. tsk....

ok lor.. at least u got eat her food then ok lor.. but at times i think dun hv to be so direct to her lah.. hahaha.. or u just tell her that u take over the cooking lor.. hahaah.a.

ok. the treasurer speaks:

sorry ah, yesterday forgot to collect $10 entrance fee. so now must do it online. let's all state how much we paid for what, then after that, all pay balance to me? cos i think mine seem like the most ex, hor?

so total of yesterday's food expenditure, divided by 7 people (i counted ah lao in as well cos he also eat la), then if that amount is MORE that what you paid for your food, you will have to pay to top up. if that amount is LESS than what you paid, then you will be reimbursed.

steady? i start, and you copy and paste the LATEST, then fill in the blanks ok?:

pink: $37 (breakdown: crabs $28, chicken wings $6, drinks $3. png i treat you all, water and electricity bill, ah lao treat you all hahaha)
lina:
levynn:
skylar:
ant:
sch:

wau... lina, your MIL so good, help u clean your orh orh pot.. she got nag as she wash??? :p

beware whenu intend to praise mum/ mil cooked well for certain dishes.. coz in future, she will always cook tat dish for u.. scarli become everyday she cook tat same dish.. whahaha..

skylar, me oso curious wat is that orh tiap hoon thingy too..

i left the bills of cheesecake at home, so will only post tonite..

btw, anyone has recipe for gravy for roast chicken?

hello gals....

Sorry tat Im late today...actually I woke up as early as 6am+ than took some med than went back to sleep again. Fever subside liao but dunno why whole body like numb numb wan? Think is bcoz i have not eaten any solid food since Sat oredi.

Didnt read thru the thread but saw the pics Sky posted....all the food looks good man! But hor....why no pic of the main dish "the crab" hah? kekekeke

Pink aka treasurer siao.. guess we all forgot also ya. kekeke.. whahaa.. ok ok..

Skylar : $21 (need to breakdown ah.. keke.. long list)
[Longbean $2.70, brinjal $1.60, Potato $1.60, WongBok veg $3, Beanstick aka tau ki $3.50, Tofu puff $1.80, Tau Kwa $1.50, Cabbage $3.60, Coconut milk $1.70]

The chilli paste stuff/oil/gas - I treat u all ah.. Keekeke....coz i really dunno how to count lor.. its my ah bu buy chilli padi to blend into paste kind..

sigh ... buey hiao tia instruction....

pink: $37 (breakdown: crabs $28, chicken wings $6, drinks $3. png i treat you all, water and electricity bill, ah lao treat you all hahaha)
lina:
levynn:
skylar: $21 (need to breakdown ah.. keke.. long list)
[Longbean $2.70, brinjal $1.60, Potato $1.60, WongBok veg $3, Beanstick aka tau ki $3.50, Tofu puff $1.80, Tau Kwa $1.50, Cabbage $3.60, Coconut milk $1.70]
ant:
sch:

KA - levynn took pics of the JIM but she will post later today. eh... i got no food processor/blender/grinder so i pounded everything for you girls hor. by hand hor! use the stone thing and pound pound pound. then the chilli juice piak piak piak around.

ant - u r right leh, last time i praise my mil pig leg (coz its the only things with visible saltiness that she cook) then after tt everytime i go, she everytime cook der ka...siao liao..

lina - don choy choy me lah, becoz i believe this kind of thing hor got kharma one leh..everytime i say my IL good then suddenly they will chu pattern, then if i complain abt him (behind their back) then they will end up being so nice to me. but for me it only work for MIL lah..my SIL is always no good to me hahahahahah..

pink: $37
lina:
levynn:
skylar: 21
ant:
sch: 4 (calories exhausted to walk to prata shop, Q, and saliva used to order prata - schnauzie absorb lah)

hey sidetrack abit..anyone join CC cooking class before or not huh? i know all of u are goin to blast me...but are their lessons good? my hubby is busy every weekend so tot of signin up a class to kill time ;p

i joined before. not bad leh. about $20+ per class, and most times you don't get to cook, just watch while the chef teach. usually teach 2 main course, and 1 dessert ba.

i join at ulu pandan cc. just behind my house only. so far learnt thai green curry (another one, easy to make but very tedious), baked salmon, couple of pasta dishes...

i feel it's quite nice to watch someone do it then learn, cos at least can ask questions.