CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

hmmm....if is Sat nite than I cant contribute much leh coz daytime is paktor day with ah lau....tot of buying jiam tao lo di since im in town but Lina kah chew sibeh fast....maybe i contribute ice cream? can boh?

1 Pink Bunny - chilli crab and ha cheong gai + png (.....)
2 Blue Bunny ??
3 KA - ice cream
4 Lina - drinks & jiam tao lo di
5 Antonia - desserts
6 Schnauzie
7 Skylar - some contribution from ah bu
8 Levynn ??
9 Any ah laos ??

btw, ah lau also not joining us...me alone nia

Sky - since its a contribution from your ah bu than i wan the orh orh squid....kekekekeke.....

me no play mahjhong.. duno how to play... count me out siahz...

ya, sch where u stay? wat cheese brownie???

anyway, here's my dinner.. pork ribs soup with herbs, fried fish egg (finally finish the pack), brocoli with loh han chye and gong bao chicken..

388355.jpg

recipe for gong bao chicken

marinating sauce:
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice wine
3/4 tsp grated fresh ginger root
1.5 tbsp cornstarch
1 chicken breast, tendons removed, cut in cubes

seasoning sauce:
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice wine
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sesame oil
2 tsp cornstarch

other ingredients

oil
raw peanuts, skinned (i used cashew nuts)
6-8 dried red peppers
red/ green bell peppers, chopped in cubes
2-3 green onions, chopped.

in a shallow dish, add marinating sauce with chicken and marinate for 30mins.

in a small bowl, stir together seasoning sauce.

heat wok with oil. stir fry peanuts until golden brown, stirring constantly so they wun burn. remove from wok.

add dried red peppers to the wok. beware they will turn black quickly. add chicken and stir fry. after a while remove from wok.

stir fry bell peppers for 1 min. add chicken back to the wok. add seasoning sauce. add some water so that it won't be so thick. add 2-3 chopped green onions. serve on plate with nuts as garnish.

say say say, girls, i'm no fortune teller but it looks like we're going to be quite a hungry batch with only chilli crabs and ha cheong gai confirm. and jiam tao lo di. haha KA, you ban che bor, lina very fast chope the jiam tao lo di liao

sch - you see me no up ah. i cook ha cheong gai then you want to bring KFC.

skylar - you ask your ah bu what she can cook for you to bring la ok?

KA - don't bring ice cream la. bring foodie and contribute to DURING lunch, not AFTER lunch ok?

sibeh sia sway leh we all. we are RECIPE thread ok.

nah ant, your tamarind:
388392.jpg

and since i was at the freezer, take photo to show you gers how overpopulated it is.

388393.jpg

thanks for the gong bao ji ding recipe!!!! YAY, use chicken neh neh! i like!

eh can't help laughing when see your pic la. so cute always got two pieces of something one!!

good morning girls!!

seems like missed quite a lot of "action" yesterday.

alamak... u all choose all the easy easy things to potluck hor... esp Lina, so clever... buy drinks. wat else u all still wan to eat?? i thot to get eclairs fr my auntie, but now, got dessert provider, no need liao...

btw, i'm ok wif 30th jul, sunday. but i can only make it after 12 noon. maybe we have lunch+dinner? ard 3 plus? chilli crab high tea... hehe...

ohaiyo...

damn sianz.. this morning came in ofc damn early to do work in peace.. den walk past boss cub n he called me.. i 'fa zhan' for more than 1/2 hour telling me stuff coz some stupid tokyo man called me in late hours in office n he answered, so he updated me on wat tat man tells him.. wau biang..

wau, ka and levynn, if you wana bring desserts, by all means do so.. then i don't need to bake cheesecake! whahaha..

i can bring my herbs to pink house to cook soups if you want! but soup will most prob be available after we are done with the crabs n ha cheong kai...

Good morning man!!!

Wahh very tired ah today.. nabz.. wake up late man... then take cab.. this is the very 1st time i can hail down a cab with NO probs ah! whaha.. must the the jack up of the fares man! nabz.. then take cab liao become super early.. KNS!!

keke.. Pink,
Saw ur tamarind liao.. but ur fridge over-populated ah.. keke...then i must show u mine liao.. same same lah.. ekke..

still is pink got a bit of lian xin.. ask wat my ah bu wanna cook & then cook & not EVERYTHING lor.. whaha.. but met Lina last nite.. she say cook curry chicken wor.. so pls.. make up ur mind ok? whaaa..hahaha..

you know hor, this morning i was thinking, my deep fryer is the simply her one, and it's sibeh small lor. so maybe if anyone is really stuck and don't know what to bring then can maybe come my house early and help to cook the ha cheong gai? alternatively i can make roast chicken also, that one just put in oven, don't need to bother about it.

seeeeeeeeeeebeh sian this morning. i just looked at my watch and went WHAT? only 10am nia. walau. only been in the office for 1.5 hours? long way to go sia.

KNN, lim bu here type a nice long post & dunno y it’s gone. now hv to re-type … WTF
Lina is always clever and leg hand sibeh fast. Basket leh u all, drinks heavy ok, hng.

Levynn, I’m quite sure our sun lunch will take place after 12 pm. Cos our hostess said she dun wan 2 wake up so early mah. A pink xiao jie, fix a time lah.

Ant's dinner always so happening. I peifu u gals hv the energy to cook dinner after work. Guess u all muz really enjoy & like cooking.

Calling for Skylar!! Charbor, today u late si bo? Hw? Ur ah bu like the KFC chicken chop bo? & the taste?

eh lina mai keh keh la. drinks heavy but just bring from my house provision shop, take lift, and go to my house only hor. basket.

so how? some people want lunch, some want dinner, some sibeh ma fan, want HIGH TEA some more. wait i set too early, got people kao peh live very far, cannot make it in time. wait too late other people kao peh say next day need to work.

OK lao niang jue ding. all reach my house at 1pm. with food that's ready to eat hor. can bo?

eh lina - the KFC chicken chop looks nice leh. is it nice bo?

pink, thanks for the pic of tamarind.. but hor, i already ask my dad to help me buy.. will see it tonight.. hehe..

got small qty very cute meh? we could barely finish our food last nite k... was so stuffed!!

yup, your fridge is over populated.. but mine too.. MIL bgt alot of pork n chicken for us, machiam sg gg to have war...

if ha cheong kai ma fan, den just do roast chicken lor..

skylar, how about assam prawns since we alr have ha cheong kau/ roast chicken??

i'm damn sleepy now..

can lao niang make a suggestion? maybe each of us chip in $10 then at end of the day we can all claim back for what we contributed? more fair bo? lao niang is very fair and square one

pink the treasurer has spoken. yup, $10 is fine by me. 1 pm on sun i'm ok. lao niang, remember 2 let us noe where is ur lovenest ok.

we didn't eat the chicken chop lah pink. skylar tp back 4 her ah bu, tt's y nw i ask her nice or not lor.

Wahh.. Lina...ya lor.. u nv see ah.. i wake up late man... but then end up take cab too early lor.. whaha..

the chicken chop ok lor.. not bad lah.... kekeke.. but coz they lum the sauce over the chop liao lor actually the wat mushroom sauces taste more like the topings of the whipped potato lor.. whahaha...

i told my ah lao abt the incident at the KFC there.. he also laft ah.. say they stupid.. whaha...
Pink.. reach ur hse at 1pm!?!? we gg for lunch or dinner ah?

so, if we chip in $10... we stil need to buy things? i can stil get the chocolate eclairs fr my aunt... they're very good!!!

Lina.. how i know u all!!!!

Thot u all say its DINNER mah... not LUNCH then set DINNER timing at 1pm????? Win liao lor..

So pls compile the list again...
see who is slacking!! quick! Lina.. ur job!!

whahaha.. skylar, u eat dinner at 1pm ar!!! or u in UK where they call lunch as dinner and dinner as supper!!

$10 is fine with me...

lev, den we just have your aunt's eclairs as dessert lor!!

ur wish is my command, madam

2 Blue Bunny ??
3 KA - pink said dun wan ice-cream wor, so pls think of something else
5 Antonia - desserts (tentatively NY cheese cake)
6 Schnauzie - Roti Prata/Cheese brownies (YES!)
7 Skylar - some contribution from ah bu
(suggestion: assam prawns cos we dun wan 2 end up eating an all chicken lunch)
8 Levynn - choc eclairs (pink, can bo? i like 2 eat leh)

i think like all the ah laos r not keen so i remove no. 9 liao. if any of ur ah laos can make it, then u all add onto the list again hor.

levynn - the idea of chipping in $10 is to pool money together then we can all claim back what we bought. liao gai bo?

skylar- about lunch / dinner, i just diam diam, and let the others scold you....

wah steady, lina. now our makan committee got treasurer and secretary hahaha

i told my ah lao about the gathering then he said 'err i go out la'
i think too many charbors, he scared tao tia

levynn - yes yes choc eclairs! I LIKE!!!!! but don't just bring the eclairs hor, bring recipe also hor.

KA - ya la, don't bring ice cream la. bring FOOOOOOOOD!

can i suggest someone bring veg? else we like sibeh sinful with high cholestrol, high fat, high sugar leh hahaha

PB... me liao gai liao. btw, the choc eclairs hor, is fr her company coz she working in catering line... so i think no recipe one la... u all wan how many?? each person eat 5 enuf bor??

hmmm ant, maybe you bring a food dish la. cheesecake could be a bit heavy ya?

levynn! FIVE?! you think we're sumo wrestlers or what!!!!

WAT!!! I very busy yesterday mah.. so i only registered wat i read which was Dinner lor.. then Pink say dun wanna wake up early mah.. how i know u all change again ah.. pengz..

Pink,
ur ah lao go out ah.. then he dunno wat he is missing man!! all our food... kekee...

Lina..
Assam prawn? dun want lah... maciam all seafood man!!
if no chicken curry then u bring jiam tao loh di u think Pink chilli crab gravy is the soup kind ah! whaha... or how any curry zap chai? how? wah.. then if i bring over to Pink hse mah very big pot!! pengz!!

2 Blue Bunny (who is this?)
3 KA - pink said dun wan ice-cream wor, so pls think of something else
5 Antonia - desserts (tentatively NY cheese cake)
6 Schnauzie - Roti Prata/Cheese brownies (YES!)
7 Skylar - Curry chye chai
8 Levynn - choc eclairs (pink, can bo? i like 2 eat leh)

btw the $10 contribution is for wat ah? crab fund or overall fund?

okie.. i change to something else.. u wan soup or nonya chap chai???? we machiam going to have a feast for ppl who have starved for days!!

found this in a website.. recipe for curry chap chye aka gravy for lontong...

SAYUR LODEH (Lontong Gravy)(serves 6)
Recipe
Ingredients:
1.Cocunut Milk of one coconut (or use 1 to 1.5 packet coconut cream)
2.1 cup Udang grago (or dried shrimps) (to be omitted if cooking a vegetarian dish)
4. 10 cloves Garlic
5. 10 shallots
5. 1 large root of Blue ginger (lengkuas) -(crushed)
6. 4-5 stalks of Lemon Grass (crushed)
7. Chillie Oil (from sambal tumis)
8. 10 pieces Lime Leaves (Optional)
9. 5-6 Long beans (cut into about 2.5cm lengths)
10 2 Brinjals (cut bite-size)
11 One quarter Cabage (cut bite-sixe)
12. 2=3 Fried Tahu squares (fried in oil and cut diagonally into two)
13. 2-3 Tempeh (Fermented Soya Bean Cake cut in two )
14. Glass noodles (optional)
15 Vegetable Cooking Oil
16 Salt to taste
Garnish

1.Serunding - for recipe see links below
2. Sambal Tumis - for recipe see links below
Method

1. Blend in an electric blender items 2,3,4 in a thick paste.
2. Fry the paste in some oil till fragrant.
3. Add coconut milk diluted in some water (consistency and thickness of milk depends on preference); add in the lime leaves (optional), blue ginger and lemon grass.
4. Bring to a slow boil and add in the vegetables, and cook till vegetables are tender.
5. Add in the glass noodles if this is used.
5. Add in the tempeh and the fried tahu pieces.
6. (Optional) Add some chillie oil to give some colour to the gravy. This may be left out if a mild gravy is preferred as the chillie oil may make the gravy too chillie hot for some people to take.
7. Serve hot in a large bowl as gravy for lontong (rice cakes- cut into rounds or squares). The sayur lodeh is laddled out into individual bowls or deep plates where the lontong pieces (rice cakes) are already arranged as a complete one-dish meal.
9. Garnish with serunding and chillie tumis. The serunding is sprinkled on top and a teaspoon of the chillie tumis is also added on top of the dish or served in a small dish separately.
Tips
1.The secret ingredient which makes the ayur lodeh very tasty is the udang grago which is blended in the paste.
2. The optional lime leaves gives the gravy that ethnic fragrance.
3. The blue ginger and the lemon grass is a must as otherwise the sayur lodeh will not have that distinctive flavour which distinguish it from other dishes known generically as "sayur lemak".
4. It is recommended that the tahu be fried before adding it to the gravy as this will enable the dish to keep better. The unfried tahy squares may be used but the gravy may turn sour much earlier and will not keep well if the gravy is to be kept overnight for another serving the day after. Generally sayur lodeh should be taken freshly cooked as the vegetable in the gravy does not keep well when frozen.
5. Simarly, when tempeh is added to the gravy, the dish will not keep well overnight. It is suggested that the tempeh be kept separately if the dish is to be frozen for use on another day.
7. When using the glass noodles be prepared for the gravy to be absorbed by the noodles - so do keep the gravy more watery than usual.
8. The addition of the chillie oil addes colour to the gravy as this will float on top when served. If a mild dish is required this chillie oil should not be added at all.
9. It is recommended that instead of cooking large quantities of the gravy for storage, the gravy paste may be prepared and frozen in a bottle for future use.
10. Lontong(rice cakes) are sold at the market in cynlindrical shape (about 8" in length) wrapped and ready cooked in banana leaves). Alternatively, uncooked lontong packets are available from the supermarkets prepacked in plastic bags. All that needs to be done is to boil the plastic bags containing the uncooked rice (without taking the rice out of the plastic bags) until the rice cakes are cooked. Cool the rice packs before tearing away the plastic bages then cut the rice cake into pieces before serving with the lontong gravy.

hello, blue bunny is pink's ah lao, blur skylar. but i dun think he's joining us, so my next consolidated list i'll take his name out. curry chap chai i like, good good. nabz skylar, the jiam tao loh di was 1st requested by pink (yesterday i think) even b4 chk curry was brought up leh. huh bo u think wat, got mantou like maciam restaurant, si bo, whahaha

hey, someone's very quiet! Mdm KA, u wake up already bo??

nabz skylar, blue bunny is my ah lao. but i update:

1 Pink Bunny - chilli crab and ha cheong gai + png
2 KA - TBA
3 Lina - drinks & jiam tao lo di
4 Antonia - TBA?
5 Schnauzie - Roti Prata/Cheese brownies (YES!)
6 Skylar - Curry CHAP chye si bo?
6 Levynn - choc eclairs

eh ya, chilli crab got gravy one, can OON with bread one.

$10 each is contribution to overall fund la. when reach my house, all contribute to treasurer, then i will use that money to reimburse everyone what they spent la, steady?

ant - soup's good! can, i got pot, can cook soup haha. but if you want slow cooker also can. also can come earlier if you want (but not too early cos lao niang need beauty sleep...)

eh btw, very funny leh your recipe. see below links .... where got links! anyhow copy and paste ah?

KA one day wake up early then now fall back into normal routine liao. rainy day la, she sleep until very shiok

Good Afternoon
388473.gif

kekekeke.......

Eh!!!! So is Sat nite or Sun afternoon hah???? Me blur liao leh....

Wah...all like oredi confirm wat to bring liao leh...than me how? somemore still dun wan ice cream....hiaz.....

pink.. the link not working lah.. that's y i never post k! copy and paste recipe still gana suan.. HUMPHHHHH

but got 1 step which is adding fermented soya bean? is it the same as the usual tao jio? if yes, sounds weird coz i dun remb my dad add that one leh.. but the coconut milk, lemon grass n blue ginger is standard procedure for all curry recipes i think..

okie.. i will cook dang gui soup.. pink, u provide big pot lor.. n chicken bones can??? then i bring herbs over and cook at ur place.. i presume everyone only wana drink the soup right n not wana eat the meat?? no need slow cooker lah.. use tat, dien orh orh oso not ready for drinking..

n hor, pink, ur house got those white cloth bags? that is to put the herbs to boil in pot but it wun be scattered everywhere n difficult to scoup the soup when done.

KA.. finally i see the blinking BABES!! kekeke...

ya lor.. Ant.. we all maciam yao tio ah.. whaha.. buay tahan man!! keke.. wahh.. ur recipe steady poon bi bi ah.. see until my eyes pak jiao liao..

as for my ah bu dish hor.. let me go home check with her again ok? kekek.. btw.. u all got no objections if i bring my ah bu along hor.. coz no way am i gg to carry all the shit lor!! sibeh heavy one ok!!

Pink ur hb is the blue bunny ah.. ai tor liao.. whahaa... why he scared? we eating nia mah.. u think wat? whahaha... won't eat him one lah.. kekeke....

gd afternoon KA. it's Sun afternoon lah, meet at pink's place at 1 pm.

pink, muz standby more ice-cubes 4 the drinks hor. if u nid plastic utensils, pls sms me on tt day, cos i'll go to toa payoh central 2 get the
jiam tao lo di. if nid anything there, juz let mi noe. i'll c if the fried geng jio stall's open on tt day, if it is, will buy some, very shiok wan.

Pink - your place there got 7-11 anot...coz Lina mentioned about ice cubes and I saw your fridge like tat hor...i doubt will be enuff lor....if not can get from 7-11 instead....

Lina - eh sai buy redbull & 100plus anot hah? kekekeke

LINA!!!
SIMI... older version of me!!! kns.. leh u...
me sibeh ke ai one ok!!! hng!! kekeke...
orhh u say she very siao.. i go tell her! whahaha..

KA,
ya hor.. her fridge so small.. wanna buy ice box bor? whahaa..

wait Pink scared liao ah.. 1 time go her hse so much to do.. wahahaa...

eh sai lah KA, anything u say madam.
pink mentioned her place got provision shop mah, can get ice cubes there if pink no hv enuf in her "small" fridge

eh skylar, do me a favour can. u tell her only after she cook the curry chap chai hor, whahaha

good afternoon ka..

i tink pink sweat with all of us going arh.. she must cook, make sure her house is spotless from dust.. whahahah...

wau, blue bunny scared of us ar.. whahahah.. we so nice, y so scared!!! :p

ration the ice lor.. not enough, then buy again lor.. ice box very kua zhang leh...

Ant..
whahaa... ice box.. for 7 of us.. think we gg to jwee tiao bu at Pink hse izzit? whaha.. Ghim Moh there.. Pink say got provision shops then no probs liao lah.. kekek...

Lina..
good idea hor.. then wait tio gan is me hor..
eh.. or u all wanna ask her cook the laksa? whaha.a... me longing for the si hum! whahaha...

Pink.. steady one.. we will wipe out the food we bring ok? keke...

skylar, if use ice box, is called sng tiao bu, no longer jwee tiao bu k.. ahahah.. anyway, ice box idea not from me lor!

if eat laksa, don't match well with chilli crabs leh... but i oso gian for laksa! wahahah..

pink, must provide us instructions how to go to your bunny hole k..