CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Hi Hi...so early oredi so many posts ah...

Pink - can i have the recipe for your veggie dish? the black fungus have to soak water 1st rite?

crabs : my dad taught me to kill them last time. my brothers don't know how. i tomboy mah. papa said use chopstick to shove up the crab's kachng then peel off the triangle part the chop
like very poor thing. so i put in freezer first. let them become seh seh first then kill.

leave the string that's tying their pincers until you're absolutely sure the crab is dead and in pieces!

our division of labour at home: i cook, he does the dishes. he does more laundry than me, cos i sweep and mop the floor more than him. his housework motto is "if your feet are niam niam, don't need to mop the floor, just wash your feet". best.

no nid pink 2 turn vegetarian lah, next time wan 2 eat crab, juz go outside restaurant/kopitiam 2 eat, then save the problem. muz also think of ur ah lao's karma lah, pink.

skylar, u can try Counterpain (pharmacies got sell). last time i hurt my back also used that, not bad.

wah good morning KA! so early today ah? quick, give four numbers, i go buy 4D!

this is the original veg recipe. i think it was originally posted by skylar:

NONYA CHAP CHYE

Main Ingredients
•50g lily bands (kim chiam)
•50g dried bean curd skin (tau kee)
•20g black fungus (bok jee)
•30g glass vermicelli (tang hoon)
•50g Chinese mushroom (hio koh)

Other Ingredients
•200g bamboo shoots
•220g cabbage
•120g small prawns (without shells)
•60g ground soya bean paste (tau cheo)
•50g ground garlic
•900ml water
•3 tbsp oil
•5g salt
•1/2 tbsp thick black soya sauce

METHOD
1.Soak all main ingredients.
2.Cut ingredients in slices.
3.Heat wok with oil.
4.Sautee garlic first, then add soya bean paste.
5.When garlic is fragrant, add prawns.
6.Add water, black thick soya sauce and salt.
7.Add in all the ingredients, stir well and simmer for 15 minutes.

first time i did it i found it a bit too giam. so don't add so much dao jio i guess. and skip the salt. second time i cooked (yesterday), i skipped the dao jio altogether, added chicken stock instead of water, and a dash of jio cheng. still nice
and of course, wrongly added beehoon instead of tanghoon

Pink! whaha... sexciting ah.. whahaa....
u got rec'd my sms abt the name of the veggie that u asked me the last time bor?

Nah.. see i take pix of the vegg when i see it at Cold Storage.. kekeke... See I so good!! kekeke...
387882.jpg

Ant..
no lah.. i only do mopping coz yesterday sibeh dusty lor.. buay lunz ah.. must be me trying to be kay kiang lor... mop the flr too hard liao.. hahaha..

KA..
Good morning babes bor liao ah? whahah...

back pain: counterpain or fastum, but i think fastum you must ask pharmacist. don't buy the tiger balm rub, no use one.

can also get the heat pad that sticks to your clothes, then put it on before you sleep. very shiok. BUT don't buy the kind that stick on your skin. damn pain when you peel off

Basket Pink! Suan me lor....

btw, you didnt mention when to add the tanghoon leh? And also when you said add all ingedients meaning add "main" & "other" ingredients together ah? Add dark soy sauce hor, like tat mah black black liao?

Sky - you wan also hah...ok lah...give you, mai say dun hav....
387888.gif

kekekeke

skylar - thank you for the pic! and for your sms
i like that veg alot leh. cook with salmon and miso and mirin. mm mmmm sedap!!!

KA - the tanghoon is classified under ALL INGREDIENTS i think! i never add the black sauce leh. up to you if you want to la.

hey girls, legit questions:

1. people always say must 'roast' belachan. how to do that la dey?

2. every time i want to cook beehoon or tanghoon, i have alot of problems getting the right amount out of the packet. it will be damn messy lor. anyone have any suggestions?

3. anyone tried doing stingray at home before? did it work? i tried doing it in toaster oven, but not so happening. maybe i used wrong chilli also

good morning babes!! wah... KA so early today! busy whole morning until now...

anyway, woke up sick today... most probably will go back early n see doc, see can wrangle an MC for tmr or not... keke...

Pink..
wat heated pad that stick to ur clothes? where to buy?? me blurr... i stick the plaster last nite liao.. slightly better but still pain lor.. counterpain i got!! Hot & Cold all i have! keke.. coz my Thailand frd always give me alot.. their side very cheap leh..

nabz.. got my sms no reply, i thot i sms all the way to God ah! kekeke...

answers...

1. not to sure about roast belachan.. but see my ah bu cook before.. she keep frying the belachan on the pan until dry lor.. maciam like cooking those kopi seeds liddat .. must keep stiring one...

2. also see from my ah bu.. she will break the beehoon or tanghoon into half with the plastic closed then shake for all the broken pieces to settle at the bottom then she will only take out the top half to cook..

3. stingray did before... see my ah bu coat the stingray with chilli paste then wrapped with banana leafs & use toothpick to secure then either she put in the oven or she will put over the heated pan, once the banana leaf abit Chao tak liao.. then she will turn then ok liao.. when eating that time, she will top up with more chilli paste & my lao will top up with his lime sauce.. Sadap!!!!!

Pink - hahahaa...wanted to ans your questions but our Sky ans liao except the 3rd wan coz i never try b4...hahaha...

Levynn, mai keng hor...take MC...kekekeeke ( juz kidding )

wah levynn, you take over KA with good morning babes at 11am ah? take care hor. next time sunday night don't party too much okie?

skylar - belachan 'frying', must add anything or not? water? oil? how to know when it's done? put in toaster oven can? sorry man, never do before. btw where to buy banana leaf?

the heated pad is about $1.50, i buy from watson's. the package is red colour one.

on saturday my first time to buy salted fish! then since i already embarrass myself by asking the uncle so many questions, i thought aiyah might as well as more so i ask him about dried chilli and belachan also keke.

anyone got GONG BAO JI DING recipe?

Levynn..
u sick ah.. aiyoh... why ah?

KA..
u so bad.. say Levynn keng .. whahaha... i also want.. keke..

Pink..
huh? that one not sure liao.. must ask.. if i m not wrong tink its add oil leh.. canot add water lah.. pengz..

$1.50 from Watsons ah? re-usable one izzit ah? wat brand?? kaoz.. how to find?

skylar - not sure leh the brand. it's thin thing one. individually wrapped. not reusable la. but can last about 12 hours lor. not bad ler.

wah i had yu pian + zha yu tang for lunch. damn shiok. eat until lao gua.

poor lev, sick still gana suan..

hmmm.. but i think use backache to keng mc quite tough.. sometimes doc dun give mc for such ailments leh...

pink, if u add water to your belachan, the whole piece is A GONER!

i used to see my neighbour (parents place) to roast their belachan. they will use those bbq thingy like beng kang otah/ satay type. using that how to make into belachan chilli i won't know liao.

skylar, u get ur ah lao to massage your back for you lor. or if you got those massager, use it on your back lor.. it will slowly ease the pain..

Pink..
ok i go see but will ltr itchy bor.. coz i got sensitive skin leh.. kekeke...

Ant..
my ah lao rub maciam those master one.. very hard & very pain ah.. kekeke... but last nite i stick the plaster liao. . then my ah lao rub abit.. today slightly better le...

very busy ah... tian ah...

pink bunny,

for "toasting" or "roasting" the belacan, dun need to add anything, just use a non-stick pan and "toast" or "roast" it till dry..

wiselyn

skylar - walau it's liam on your clothes lor so it won't be itchy one. that's why i chose it also, cos my skin also sensitive. unless you kun bo cheng sa, then i dunno how la.

wiselyn - huh? just move it around in non-stick pan? won't chaotar meh? then cut into small pieces or mash it or what? i don't remember seeing it being 'cooked'. i only rememebr seeing it defrosting on my grandma's kitchen counter then my brother thought it was chocolate then he went to eat it haha

Pink..
huh? liam on my clothings ah.. can see bor ah? kekeke... wait i turn here turn there then will drop bor ah?
kekeke..

as for the frying ah.. tell u no joke one leh.. gotta keep turning & tossing one.. kekeke... wait ur hands will have alot of muscles liao.. whahaha..

aiyah woman, it won't drop one la. it's like masking tape, liam on your shirt and it will stay there all night.

belachan: walau eh.... alot of effort sia

can anyone tell me the difference between sambal chilli and belachan chilli? i always confused.. got one is more orangy color and another is more dark red color right? which is which huh?

anyway, fry belachan for wat huh? cant just buy and store in fridge??

btw, wat is tamarind juice?

skylar... dunno y leh. Saturday woke up wif a super super sore throat, that kind makes u dun feel like swallowing even saliva. then took med, Sunday seems ok. this morning came back again, plus slight fever. sigh... i hate the feeling of being sick... throat so dry, water taste horrible... n worse still, so many things cannot eat!!

KA... i also wan to MC ah... but too many things to do in office leh. the HEAD on top is a gan jiong spider... everyday call to check the progress of things... xian...

hmm. i think sambal chilli is the more orange/reddish one. belachan is darker. BUT i do remember growing up hearing the term 'sambal belachan' rather often though

belachan is often used in many nonya dishes. i think some have been posted here. if not i wouldn't go and buy also haha.

tamarind is like a pulp like thingie, then you have to add water to it, and then squeeze the juice out (sieve)

Levynn..
wahh... that kinda of sorethroat ah.. i know.. & I hate it man! yucks!! think u must drink herbal tea liao lor...

haiz.. me wanna MC also cannot lah.. so many things to do.. i hate gan jiong spider pple!! kekeke.. call spiderman come catch them lah.. kekeke...

Pink..
now got those already processed belachan lah.. get those lor.. tell u ah.. not worth it to do ur own belachan ah.. not easy ok!!

hmmm... so must fry belachan in order to store it???? damn confused siahz..

there is a nonya restaurant near my office and is very nice.. so when i asked for belachan chili which i thot was the darker red one, it comes out to be different type, the orange color one. then i blurz alr...

hmmm.. where to get tamarind then? or can replace with lime juice?? heheh...

lev, sick is sick lor.. ur body telling u she needs a rest lor...

levynn - i've found strepsils to work for me. drink plenty of water ok? and take vitamin C

ant - i think i bought tamarind from the market. if you're around little india area, pay a visit to tekka market. they sell alot of things there.

what's the name of the nonya restaurant? i guess, as with everything, there are different variations of belachan as well?

pink, i dun stay near little india.. don't even pass by there... so if go market, just ask for assam or must say tamarind?

the nonya restaurant is at international biz park, atrium building.. on weekends, it is damn packed with people.. they serve buffet or ala carte menu.. but i can't remb the rest name alr.. i loved their fried rice coz it comes wif achar, chicken wings, egg... very good.. they used to have very good claypot curry fish head but they stopped serving this on their menu already..

hey ant, you work at IBP? i used to work there too. number 5. the restaurant is a penang nonya place? i heard it's good. is it ground floor, overseas a little pond thingie? there used to be a little cafe on 2nd floor too, serves sandwiches and curry chicken. you can check it out sometimes

i think if you go market, you ask for assam better la. if ask for tamarind, you sure will get funny looks one hehe. but i really don't remember where i bought from last time. i'm sure bigger supermarkets also got. i'm quite impressed with giant's array of herbs and spices!

pink, yup.. me working at strategy building.. the little cafe on 2nd floor has dropped standards, the stuff taste horrid now..

so can get assam from normal veg stalls?? how long can assam be kept in fridge?

y no one answer my qn on belachan? roast it is to keep it for later use huh???

want to come for chilli crab, can... but bring your own crabs hor. dead, please. one time killing squad is too traumatizing for me liao.

ant - i think roast is only for that one time usage. want to use then roast. assam if frozen can be kept for months. I THINK. i think buy from dried good stall. like ikan bilis seller kind

how long have you been at strategy? couple of years back they had a nice restaurant on ground floor. western food not bad. but that was many many years ago. 2002 i think!

ladies, belachan last time my ah bu used 2 do quite often, cos my grandma loved 2 eat tt wif plain rice. can keep in the fridge 4 a few days, no prob. but i tell u, like wat skylar said, 2 cook it urself is v v tough.

levynn, if cannot find starfruit, watermelon wif salt or coke wif salt also can. but best is still take mc & rest. work is liddat wan, nvr end. impt 2 take gd care of urself to run the marathon (life).

Levynn..

kekeke we all eat Pink's chilli crab first then u smell our fingers lor.. sure got the ba-wu nice nice smell one.. ..kekeke... then after ur throat recover liao... then ask Pink to cook for u again ya..

pink, i'm not so loyal to a company leh.. only joined in 2004 lah.. when i joined not long, the food court toh diao.. after many months, then got new operator.. food is not bad now..

lev, u can dream abt pink's chilli crab til u recover lor..

kill crabs for pink? no thanks.. i doubt i can do it... heheh.. i join in the eating can liao.. hiak hiak..

belachan sounds a very troublsome thingy.. tink wwhen i go back niang jia, den will ask my dad..

ya, true. my fingers were still smelling after dinner, even after washing up! keke.

wah basket. seems like i have invited you all to my house for chilli crab liao ah? actually i don't mind you gers coming over but i really don't want to kill crabs again leh. if someone kill, i will cook. steady bo?

eh cooking it is alot of work also ok. i cheng all the ingredients in my motar then the chilli juice splash everywhere... i scared i go blind sia.

Pink...
steady!!!!! we kill u cook ah!! kekeke.. actually hor.. can just throw the crabs in the fridge & let it frozen to death lah.. kekeke.. then take out die liao mah..

actually i see my ah bu kill is very easy one leh.. she just take a chopstick then stick it in the middle of the crab & hammered it hard.. then die liao..

skylar - my fridge very small leh. put a few crabs in the freezer then no space for anything liao haha. maciam like old fashioned show, the servant kena sent to ice palace for stealing from huang hou niang niang like that.

ya lor, use chopstick to poke in the middle then use knife to shove into the backside then will die la. but i cannot stand la, the eyes keep looking like very poorthing like that!!!!!!!!!!

KA - i ever see they sell only the pincers/claws but i don't remember where leh.