Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

apuppy

thanks for the infomation. By the way, anyone got any experience with the new staff in cheveron. Any feeback or any changes...Its been long got any information from here...

pinky_girl

I'll just met up with the new banquet staff last week. She seem fine too me. But anyway, my stuffs were confirmed when kenny was still around so i didn't really negotitate much with her. but she told me that i'll need to confirm the date for my hotel stay with her. And she only give me 2 weeks from the date of my AD.

Any lastly, have u gal went for your food tasting? Can give me some feedback or what are the dishes worth recommending? Cos i'm not gg for my food tasting.

cima_yv

Anyone went for food tasting recently. i oso dun intent to go for food tasting. m looking at the 2005 menu, $498 & $528 table price

Hi Ms Blur,
Wat table price r u looking at?

pinky_girl

Hi Yvonne

I'm looking at the $428 one. Seem like no one had went for the food tasting recently. Btw, when is ur big day? And hv u chose the theme yet.

cima_yv

Hi Ms Blur,

my AD on 07 Oct 06. from what i know they dun really have any theme unlike hotels. but dun know abt now.

what is know is they will have flower stand n flower arch. Colours is either pink or orangie-yellow. n the stage with our names lor.

n since i like pink so i told them i wan the pink colour one lor.

apuppy

going for my food tasting this coming 24 sept..will tell u guys my comments when coming soon. so far they havent tell me anything regarding the arrangements for the decorations? Neither nor the color theme, can i ask you guys contact direct to pengtse or the restaurant staff? If extra decorations normally how much does it cost???

pinky_girl

Hi Apuppy

I just met up with Peng Tse yesterday to discuss about the deco. As mine is in the restaurant, i did not add any extra deco. But just to hv a look at the colour theme that he has. U might want to contact him directly cos afterall he's the one doing deco on the venue.

Do updated us on the food tasting hor? So when is ur big day?

apuppy

Hi ms blur,
for pengtse we have to contact him for the theme or they will automatically contact us? When we contact him, normally discuss about wat? If in the end, I dont wan to add any decorations can or not if i meet up specially with him... Kind of blur....

Sure will update the food tasting... Thinking my previous post i did comment on some food good or bad, u guys may wana refer to that too but then its been half a year since i attended my fren wedding so not sure now maybe chef have changed. Will update again when I do the food tasting.. My menu is the food between $498 (2005) and $528(2006) and final price is $518... My big day is at Nov 10.

How about yours??? Besides Miss Blur whose getting married soon in the forum???

pinky_girl

Hi Apuppy

We hv to contact Peng Tse for the theme. Cos if we don't contact him, he will deco the venue based on the available theme. And for my case, i arranged to meet him to look at the available colour theme and i also did not top up any other extra items. He's a friendly guy, so don worry..

And my AD is 7 Oct. Seem like this thread is not responding..

apuppy

Hi Miss Blur,
guess the thread is not so active liao...besides u, me and yvonne guess no one is getting married at cheveron recently...

cima_yv

hi Ms Blur,

you mention u meet up with peng tse to view the available theme. can advise how it looks like? what colour u view?

apuppy

Hi suishi,
long time no see u here.. getting very worried like not enuff time.. left oni 2 months... but try my best to quickly complete stuffs so i no need to worry about them...

My sis seems always busy to me... kicking and doing exercise non stop cause of her job.. Not sure about it..Maybe I help u ask her to contact u ...

Suishi,did u do any additional decorations? hw much did u spent for it?

suishi

Hi Apuppy,
I understand your feeling cos it the same things that i felt 8 mths ago.

Thank for helping, hope she will contact ASAP.

No additional decoration, just request Pentse to add a few decoration to the door handle, main entrance lamp. As for the rest, is what provided by Brillant.

suishi

Apuppy,
NO...cos nego with my co-ordinator, kenny who have left.

Try to ask it from yr co-ordinator if they refuse then approach pengtse. I dont think he will charge for a little decor. Remember to ask for 8 flower stands to let it look more grand cos i missed out this & the hall look a bit empty lor.

what colour are u using?

apuppy

Don think negotiable for my case cause the first thing I talk about the decorations my coordinator immediately say its better to contact Pengtse.. I also think 8 stands looks better but worry for additional charges...

haven meet up with pengtse but most likely pink. Normally how long before I have to meet him. Is one month ok? Cause my FH on reservist so cant meet him.

apuppy

Hey Suishi,

u there??? U know what! While I was digging for some photos for my photo montage. I dig out a photo when I was young where my sister and I and her friend with her siblings we took photo together. We went out together to Haw Par Villa. I ask my sister who is she cause looks familiar. And guess what! It was you! Wow! Talk about coincidence~! Haha~

apuppy

Getting really bad! So Many things to do and clean. Work is so busy. Cant even some extra time to do other stuff.Many things still not done and still considering whether to take more leave.
Sigh!

apuppy

Hey Suishi,
Will try to.Haha..Many things to do..Quickly finish before the worse ones creep in. Just receive my wedding card.The tying of strings are really tedious. Haha...

By the way had my food tasting, just a few feedback for you guys.

Service was fantastic for my table. The food overall was good.I chose the 2005 $498 with some changes on my dishes with 2006 dish which total to $518.

1) Lobster Combination- Presentation is beautiful. Taste is ok.Nice but not fantastic.
2) Braised Mini Superior Shark Fins with Crabmeat- Yummy with real shark fins. Too many bean sprout so we ask to put more crab meat instead.
3)Steamed Red Garoupa with Mushroom- Not good. Fish was not fresh and hard so we replaced with another kind of fish. Our only dissatisfaction.
4)Crispy Chicken with Sesame. Presentation looks strange but surprisely everyone like this dish cause it taste good. Said always eat normal crispy chicken, this is good for a change.
5)Stewed Slice Albalone & Mushroom with Vegetables- Good. Yummy.
6)Scallop with dono what Vege Goose- Dono the english name. The cooking method I don really like. But still it taste good.
7)Prawns with Superior Stock(Also cant remember the english name)- Taste is very good especially the soup! However presentation looks strange. They serve in a wok or something like that so I ask to serve in white kind of bowl for soup that kind.
8)Yi Mee- Just Nice.Right Taste.
9)Sweetened Yam Paste with Sweet Corn- The taste was superb. Not to sweet. Just Nice.

We came in 8 person. And during the 7th dish everyone cant eat liao. So food amount wise i think its more than enough. They still offer to taopao for me for my yi mee and yam. Ok.Thats all for my food tasting for you guys info

suishi

hi Apuppy,
yalor..tying is tedious, it took me a long to figure out how to tie it beautiful.

Who your co-ordinator?

apuppy

My coordinator is Bao Chin. All the coordinators last time seems to have left. Now seems to be a new team. Hope everything will go well.

suishi

hi doglover,
din really go into counting but very limited, it worse if there some events going there too.

Not to worry so much, there alternative car park lots that yr guest can park. It at TT Int'l, do inform you guests early on other available park place.

cima_yv

My wedding over liao.. Baozhen (my coordinator) was great, very helpful n easy to work with..

Guets comments that Food is not bad, sound system n video projection no problem. Glad that everything went smoothly.

Good luck to the rest.

cima_yv

Yah, for carpark still ok. cos i was actually given a 40 seater bus to charter from one pickup point to Chevron (to n back).

furthermore the wedding invitation printed did indicate the next nearest available carpark. n heard from my guest thats though the official carpark lots in Chevron r full, they are directed inside Chevron to park anywhere as long as it doesnt obstruct the traffic.

apuppy

Hey Yvonne,
What do u mean by u were given a 40 seater bus? u mean the restaurant provide u one?~?~?~

my wedding is 2 weeks away...meet up with pengtse liao.. anyone tried red theme..was it ok?~?

cima_yv

Hi Apuppy,

that's right. i only knew it abt 4days b4 my AD that they had arranged a bus for me. the Restaurant called me to inform n ask where i wan the pickup to be then i know abt the bus. u might wan to ask them.

For my deco, i wanted a Pink theme, but was given a Champagmn light peach colour instead, but it nice too so i m ok. n they gave me pink colour napkins.

Good luck 2 u too n hv a blissful wedding.

take care ah...

pinky_girl

Hi Auppy

My Wedding is also over liao. I've chosen the red theme for the deco. It look nice as my is in the restaurant.

But a few things to take note is that, I recived feedback from my guests that the server was abit blur as one og my guests actually ask for liquor but the waiter told him don't have but the another guests seated next to him was drinking.

And as they employ was maining temp staff, so they don;t really know about services. Can you imagine, they can used their leg to kick the door as they hand are full??? And when changing the plates, they were like throwing the plates..I'll nearly fainted when i heard all this feedback from my guests. But that was after my dinner then they tell me, now wondering shld i call them and tell them abt this.

apuppy

U might wana speak to Baochin... she's my coordinator.. A very good one...

In 4 hours will wake up and prepare for my wedding liao...

Cross my fingers everything goes well.

suishi

Hi Tweety,
Here the info;
http://www.chevrons.org.sg/

For wedding banquet, you can call
Brilliant Garden Restaurant Pte Ltd
48 Boon Lay Way (The Chevrons)
#03-06
Tel:67959339

My co-ordinator have left so not sure who taking over, just call & say you like to make some enquiry on wedding package

apuppy

Finally my wedding is over. Overall it was really a successful one and i think Brilliant Garden contribute a good part of it too.

Both side of my relatives all commented the food was great. Baochin also did whatever request that i want and it was really good. One good example is initailly i tot i had to spread the petals on the aisle on my own but she personally help me with it and ask me not to worry and go and rest. Not only that, she arrange whatever request perfectly as what we ask for and no one in my guest list complain of the event.2 thumbs up for her.

Hey Suishi,
thanks a lot. Before my wedding day, I had a few wedding hiccups problem(not from brilliant garden,don worry!) and really not looking forward to it at all but during the wedding day, my full bridal party was in full force helping me and my hubby all the way I was so glad everyone was happy during the wedding day. It was really a day I will not forget.

eowyn_1711

Hihi Apuppy, saw your AD photos. U and your husband look very happy! I noticed that u used polariod cameras at the reception area? May i know how u organise the photo-taking session? Is there enough time? I think that is a fantastic idea, coz otherwise, we won't know who's writing what in the guestbook.

apuppy

Hi eowyn,

Actually I organise 2 to help me with the polariod photos.. But in the end, many of my other bridal party help out cause it was pretty fun taking photos for people... pretty enuff time for everyone... 1 take their photos and lead them to the guestbook. While they write their greeting, the other will take a special quick double side tape that sticks pretty fast and paste on the book.

U can get the tape at a paper shop in citylink mall where they sells lots of paper. Save the dirty work for gluing or doble side tapes leftover lying around.

apuppy

I got 2 cameras as one of my fren also have 1 extra to lend me. Initially tot to be backup but both ended up going around taking photos..

eminozy

hi Apuppy. congrats and thanks for sharing your photos with us. its because of your photos i have signed with chevrons this morning! hehehe
just a question... where did u change your outfit and how do you coordinate with the designer for the deco?

apuppy

I change in the small ballroom(there's a small changing room inside) right beside it. But provided the ballroom is not booked then you can use otherwise will have go inside the restaurant, there's a small changing room near the kitchen but I really don like it. So what i did was I booked a chalet that time for backup changing and for everyone to rest and do their makeup and changing for my bridal party.

Try asking ur coordinator and she will provide u Peng Tse tel number. Then he will come and meet up with you. Nice guy who charges are pretty cheap if u want extra stuff.