Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

suishi

Hi Apuppy,
i bought those materials from "Golden Dragon" art & craft shop at People park centre.

2-4 will be enough. I have 6 reception helpers: 4 incharge of the guests attendance & the rest keep charge of the ang bao box.

apuppy

If lets say I have a polariod camera to take photos for my guest to stick on my guest album and I have about 350 guests coming. 6 enough? 4 in charge of guest attendance and angpow box, 2 do polariod.

i have 3 jeimei. can guys do reception? maybe not enouff ask my FH cousin to help(we quite close)

suishi

wat a good idea...captured yr guests with polariod camera.

of course, it not restricted to be girls. most of the reception helpers seem to be gals but it ok to have guy too.

please remember to allocate someone to look after the hard liquor & red wines.

jojo_18bride

hi, apuppy,

Im having polariod camera to take photo of the guest when they arrived too, and ask them penned dwn their "zhu fu" on the photo, but i dun think i will paste it on the guest book, cos i think my jiemei really got no time to paste them down, somemore can u image if alot of guest cme at the same time? Guests que for photo? So i drop the idea of pasting them into the black guest book. n Another question, hw many camera do u have? I have 1 only, im afraid 1 camera not enough if suddenly alot of guests cme at same time. When is ur AD? mine is on 18.06.06. If u or me got film left over, can sell to each other cheaper price loh, or else it a waste.

apuppy

Hi jojo,
I have only 1 polariod camera. My kind is the credit card size that kind so most likely cannot write anything on to it. Intending to get 4r size black paper and stickers. Stick the photo to the black paper at side and they pen their notes and striaghtaway slot it to a black photo album. So i have those with photos guest album and without ones. Actually I am also worried 1 not enough, but no choice don wana spent too much money. My AD is at 10.11.06. Of course no problem if u wana sell to me but i dono are we using the same kind of camera? Have u bought the camera film? How much u bought?

apuppy

Yesterday, I attended my frens' wedding at Chevron and manage to gain a lot of tips to improve furthur on everyone's wedding.Jus to share with u guys. Luckily I have a collegue who get married on the same place as mine and she invited me so I can know what wll happen exactly on that day and as a guest. These are some of the personal comments and what i notice from me and my collegues.

1)Standard deco is 6 stands so add another 2 will look grander.
2) Don use their emceee cause everyone including me agrees that their emcee is shouting all the way and she speak only chinese. All my non speaking chinese frens don have a clue what happen.
3)If possible more dry ice will look better.
4)My collegues commented how come chinese tea shd put on chinese cups instead of glasses
5)Champagne glass if put higher will look better as what the previous others have mention.
6) The plates was change once so ask them to change more frequently cause very dirty already.
7)When eating prawn,they didnt offer bowl to wash hands thus almost no one touch the prawns esp ladies.

Good points
1) Katherine was doing her best to make sure everything works right.
2) Food taste nice and very big amount so no need to fight. Apparantly at the end,my table start to stop eating and left a lot of food. I personally feel the yam paste,vege and fish not bad.
3) Service not bad they will keep on refilling for u
4) ambience is great

Thats all. By the way, i also notice a new guy manager dono who is he or maybe he was kenny also walking around. I notice shd be around 3 managers taking care the place. As it was a friday and violet room was not taken, my fren could change in the violet room thus very convenient for her. Pray heard my is not occupied.

pink_piglet

Hi Apuppy,
were you roseline's friend or her hubby's friend?
Me also there yday

For your comments:
1) Yes the deco is not grand, the ceiling is quite empty should have some ribbons for a more flowing effect.
2) Ya lor the emcee should be their own staff and reading from a script only.
6 & 7) No choice, after peeling have to use the wet tissue to clean hands. Plates wasn't change so we empty the bones into the small bowl provided.

yes food is much better compared to another wedding I attended also at chervon.

apuppy

Hi Piglet,
I am roseline's fren. Really!! u also there. u are whose fren?

I like roseline's hair. Maybe i will make something like her hair on that night.She look beautiful yesterday night.

pink_piglet

Hi Apuppy,
who is bernard? haha...
i'm roseline poly 3rd year fren

Didn't really notice her hair. But her gowns are quite nice. She got 2 albums, u know how much she spent?

Hi css80,
you are chuiwei ah? :p

jojo_18bride

Hi Apuppy,

I have two camera, 1 is the same as u (card size 1) fuji one, another is i just buy one, bigger than the card size cos i think bigger photo better, can write their note rite on the photo. If u dun mind i can lend u my card size photo's carmera if u think 1 camera is not enough. But i think not batt liao. Muz buy, cos long time neva use. Maybe u can put a deposit to me, then u take the camera loh. Aft use, then return deposit n camera to each other. If u wana see what kind of camera im using, can email me ur hp, i mms to u loh. [email protected]

Anyone got polariod camera (photo bigger than the card size one)? Care to borrow me? Im afraid 1 camera not enough.

My mum just come bck from my uncle wedding today, she say the food not very gd... =( duno what is wrong.

apuppy

hi piglet,
dono hw much she spent for her album cause didnt ask.

hi jojo06,
I think one camera for me is enough cause now i think i don even have enuff helpers for my reception to care 1 camera not to say 2..sigh.... Besides I dun wana trouble u for the camera ... scared wait spoil.. however since u have credit size cards, do u intend to use them? If yes, roughly hw many film would u prepare for the wedding. Mine I have around 350 guest , i am preparing around 200 pieces. Got look around the price and see where is the cheapest film around? Normal ones I saw is around $12, i ever approach if i buy more is $11. What about urs?

By the way, have any ask if they have suckling pig cold plate instead of the normal ones in chevrons?

Hi mikko,
mine is 10 nov 06.

jojo_18bride

Hu apuppy,
Im not using the credit size card, im using the bigger size so that guest can write on the broad white border below the pic. Im thinking of having a angbao draw too. Meaning every guest are to pose for a picture when they arrived n penned dwn their wishes n name. Every photo will put in a round glass (like fish tank). Aft the champgne pouring n wedding speech, there will be a angbao draw from us. Angbao about $100 loh, then we draw 1 of the guest n present it to them. I think this will encouage them to pose for the picture n penned dwn their thoughts. Act as entertainment too. =)

I think 200pcs is more than enough liao. Cos the guests u r inviting, normally come in a pair or whole family, wont need so much. I have aound 250++ guests, thinking of buying just 120pcs will do.

Yesterday just went for food tasting. Excellent! Big portion of food, except certain dish no taste. I did give them my feedback, hope they will improve on that. Just scare the AD dish not same as food tasting like that, cos heard people say normally food tasting they do very gd, but when actual day, they anyhw do. Sharks fin watery, fish not fresh, prawn very less all these. Yesterday the food tasting, we got 25prawn together.

apuppy

Wow thats a good idea. Your ang pow draw will make people excited. But then if every one wants to participate the ang pow draw then u got to prepare more film liao cause everyone will take individual photos for the draw. If group maybe must share the prize..

By the way, anyone preparin halal for ur muslim frens? Hw much for 1 person?

jojo_18bride

Hi Apuppy,

I will ask my jie mei to ask guests who knw each other (3-4person) to pose together, so that can save film. Those who get the angbao, can share among the no. of people in the picture.

Im preparing vegetarian food for one of my friend @ less than $40. By the way, chervon is serving halal food mah, i think ur malay friend can join in. U may call n ask loh.

apuppy

hihi jojo
Erm...I got some from the wedding songs forum. u can check it out over there.

Hi suishi,

saw in BC forum u also BC brides. Can share with me ur photos cox worried my make up doesnt turn good. Cause my last ROM i don kind of like my make up for that day and I heard from BC they will use back my MUA.

tanderric

Hi! Just want to check. How much roughly does it cost for a wedding banquet at the Chevrons? Any special promotion? How about parking space. will it be easy for guests? Thanks!

suishi

Hi derrick,
Everything is good except the parking lot, very limited. It will be worse if there 2 wedding going on or some special function on the day of your wedding.u got to inform your guest on the next parking lot at TT internation Bldg

Menu for 2006 frm $428, $498, $528 & $588Nett.
For ballroom: min 35tables at price $528 or $588

chuanze

Care to share your packages and perks? Any AD pics to share too?

My Email: chuanze18hotmail.com

song2006

I read the discussions. On the whole, how do you all fare about the place , the restaurant in Chervons? As the place do not charge any GST and service fee, will that give the impression that they will provide poor service?
Anyone try to approach the Boon lay Raja at Jurong East?

ceraine

anyone holding their wedding at the ballroom and yet booking chalet?
i was told we will onlyknow if changing room is available for our use on the AD morning.
if occupied, we ahve to share changing room with the bride at the restaurant changing room?

is it inconvient, is the chalet far away. i am considering to have 3costumes. so the distance matters.

i simply do not understand , since we have booked and paid for the ballrom(and if les than 35tbs), there is penalty imposed. So y are we not given the changing room.

suishi

Hi ceraine,

we are given a changing room but it inside the resturant which i found very small & a bit smelly cos next to kitchen. There another changing room next to ballroom which will be more convienance but if there someone occupied the fuction room that mean the changing room is out.

I had my wedding last year which i solved the pros by booking a chalet, it near to the swimming pool. It take abt 15min but depend on the speed of changing of gowns.

Hope it helpful to you.

ceraine

thanks suishi,
have intention to book a chalet as well,3D2N.
will solve all the problem i guess..and can safekeep albums and other wedding stuffs as well..rather than place at the shared changing room.

suishi

Hi ceranine,
it will be more safe to keep yr albums & wedding stuffs in yr chalet rather than changing room. Get someone to carry when u r going down to change into yr evening gown.

cima_yv

Was told by the restaurant that Katherine & Kenny are no longer with them.

Who do you contact for banquet discussion?

key_word07

hi may..i only have hard copies..maybe you give me your fax and i will fax to you?
The new coordinator is call Jack.Quite a nice and patient guy. We was told tat if we cannot meet the min 35 tables for the grand ballroom, we need to pay $30+5% GST for each table extra....quite turn off by this pt lor...haiz

jojo_18bride

Hi twinkle star,

We were worse, we were to pay $300 more if we did not exceed 35tables. U onli need to pay 30 per table, but we need to pay more than u. Hw cme not same one...?

key_word07

Hi Jojo..i think paying $300 more for the ballroom is cheaper for me lei....if we are talking abt 10 tables and more ..u see i only only need 30 tables instead of 35 and it will cost me more if i want the ball room of 30 tables lei(extra cost one table is $30 + 5%GST=$31.50, $31.5 x 30 tables = $945). So i must as well i get 35 tables?!! So now i need to invite extra 5 tables of guest lor if i really wanna take up the chervon's package... Someone mention tat for ball room only we only can take $528 n above menu...but we are not told of this last sat...thought as long as we fufill the 35 tables..any set menu can liao...anyone can further confirm on this??Now is getting very confusing here....if like tat i rather take hotel liao le......

l_v

Hi Twinkle and jojo,
I just called them recently, and they told me that you can either pay $30 +5% gst or $300 to rent the room(cos the ballroom consist of few rooms so maybe they will put partition on it). So its better to pay $300. as for the 35 tables we just can choose setmenu tat cost $528 and $588 only. If you wan to take hotel, i heard that HIPV not bad with $668 nett for weekend dinner and min 25 table you can get the crystal ballroom which i heard is breathtaking.

piglet81

I've paid a deposit for my banquet next Mar. I wasn't told of the alternative to pay 300 to rent the room! But only to top up $30 + 5% GST for each table as mine is less than 35 tables!
Anyone know how many 'rooms' are there in the ballroom?

ceraine

hi ,
i was quoted $350 if i could not hit the 35min tables, but i am open to all menus.
this was negotiated last year though.

They dun standardize the penalty?
any brides intending to engage peng tse for ballroom decoration?

apuppy

Hi Jojo or any brides who used polariod cameras during the banquet,

Is the response good and how do you organise them to take photos? I told my fren about it and many actually spilled cold water on how messy it is going to be to arrange this polaroid stuff makes me really worried. Can advice me hows ur wedding and the preparation you've make?

Thanks a million

apuppy

I havent select the menu yet but personally i tried my friend's wedding and I find the serving pretty big so no need to worry not enuff to eat.

ceraine

i had my food tasting.
Overall not bad..but gota take note on seafood. The scallops are not very fresh. Fish a bit tough and lobster abit hard as well...no original freshness/sweetness of lobster.

btw, even Ann had left.

any brides having around 35 tbls (@ ballroom) and high chevron in-house stage decor/flower stand pictures to show?
Appreciates.

apuppy

Hi guys
normally hw long before should i approach the restaurant for the preparations beore the wedding.

thanks in advance

cima_yv

Hi Apuppy,

u can call them 2to 2.5 mths b4 ur AD to discuss.

for my case, my AD in Beg Oct, Chevron called me in Beg Aug to ask me when i wanna print Wedding cards, just nice as i was abt to contact them already.

I m taking the pink colour flowerstand. Any ladies had any pics of how the pink flower stand looks like?? thanks in advance

apuppy

thanks for the info. Wow ur wedding coming soon. feedback to me the feedback u have for chevron.

I dont have the pictures. Sorry~

Now for me I am combining my names to consolidate the number of tables to give to them. Today went to chevron but just to book the chalet for that day. When then they start to discuss about the ballroom decor.Now trying to do ahead of things cause many stuff held back because of 7th month. Can imagine my final month will be super busy~ Any idea also if my table doesn't hit 50 tables, how much I need to pay for food tasting and is it for 10 pax?

cima_yv

Hi Apuppy,

food tasting is for 10pax, u gotta pay 50% if u dun hit their 50 tables limit lor.

As for ballroom deco, i dun intend to engage or use addtional stuff (due to budget constraint) so i just use their standard deco. u can probably talk to them at the same time (2mths b4 ur AD). that time when i tell them what i want, they basically jot the details down in my contract. But intend to re-confirm the deco with them mayb 1 mth b4 my AD to ensure that everything is correct lor.