Cheongsam

for my BS, CS is classified under tea-dress but they will lend me foc on my AD....
but den again, if i got d budget, i'll oso go to wilson's max coulture cos d pcs r relaly classic

hi meiling, yup... max culture tailor made CS realli nice.. but over my budget

yest i went to marina sq 2nd floor, i saw 1 shop which sell CS, not bad.. but price range about $300-$400 over.. so i guess the price quite similar as tailor made..

guinguin hm.. u can try calling kim or wilson to do check how much to do a simple knee length cs without beadings... They may be able to advise and may be within ur budget or slightly over, as in not more than 200.

mei mei, u have lah.. if u buy 1 less LV. ^^

hey hey, i jus called wilson! yup, he said if basic like half lace and some beads, knew length about 200 over nia! i will go down his work shop to chk out more!

thanks dear!!

no problem guin, just be firm of what you wan and the amount you are willing to pay. Let wilson know how much can afford, the time line and styles u would like. He then can work his designs for you... Oh.. best is to go there when he just open shop. I find that after that there will be too many pple in 1 small shop space liao....

ok ok, thanks claire! let me chk wif him again.. wont b in SG this weekend, probably next weekend!

gals, have a nice weekend ya!!! thanks for sharing, catch up again wif u gals next wed!

sotonglet n guinguin,
cannot lah....i havent even started my LV bag collection, only got a wallet n a coin purse only, dun deprive me, so far i targetted 3 bags dat im gona grab frm europe, hopefully can end up wif 4 :P

hello ladies, today i went to L2 at International Plaza.. the knee length CS costs abt 288 to 300+ off the rack.. tailormake costs a bit more..

wondering if it makes a lot of diff in costs if we do beading embroidery vs plain lace n lining? how much isit at wilson's? thanks a lot!

guinguin,
yah lor, i agree...guz im going to spend a lot during d honeymoon on LV bags n den scrimped on d food cos i dun wana put on excess weight when im there :P

hahaha....go go go! i plan to go honeymoon and eat as much as i can! and shop! ahahah..

hei peiwen, sorri forget to welcome u yest! hmm.. i found out actually off the rack more exp than tailor make leh..

hi sotonglet, if price everything goes smooth, will go for MTM frm wilson..hopefully still within my budget if nt will let go this chance

Hi ladies, so I need to pick my CS material etc then bring to Wilson? Looks like he can finish within 1 month? OK then that's great cos my AD is end Dec! Price is less than $500 right? Many thanks!!!

Hi chewiegranolabar,
you can also let wilson source for ur material as long as u have some idea of what u want.

Wow Meiling, you eyeing for so many bags??? hahaha... My friend bought 1 LV, 1 Gucci & 1 Prada from her honeymoon trip too... enjoy ur spree...

Thanks for your posts ladies! I have pictures of CS that I'm loving and I will let Wilson help me source (out of time...) Hope to go down to meet him this week!

guinguin, so how how how!!!!!

Eh.. angeljules, ur cs ready liao or not ah... dying to see ur cs leh.. ^^

chewie, Usually if you get Wilson to source the materials for you, as in using his recommended materials in his shop will be more expensive. When u are back in SG, u can go see him when he has just open for biz, and see if he has anything u like, else quickly go to arab street to royal fabrics (oh man... i should get commission from them) and get ur laces from them and pass them to Wilson before his shop closes.. All within 1 day.. ^^

hey sotonglet! hehe.. i may consider tailor made in taiwan, i found the price is cheaper compare SG. estimate the full length of CS wif nice fabric + lace probably about SGD400. for wilson, he charge about SGD500-SGD700 for full length, only short length wif normal design without more lace about SGD250 onwards.. i will go taiwan chk it out next mth, i'll be ter for 1 week.

their OTR look quite nice too, the most important is the material and design is more traditional yet nt bumpkin..

let's see how lor, as for wilson ter will hold till i back frm taiwan, still got time for me mah.. hehe..

Hi ladies, I met Wilson today and went down to Royal Fabrics to get my lace. Initially wanted a see thru chiffon that I saw on another bride, but could not find the same big, loud flowers. Hence, went for a dusty pink lace. 3.5 m for $168. Wilson also quoted me about $300 for my dree (can't remember exactly) cos I'm not doing the fishtail train. I just want a normal long CS so I can reuse in future.

Planning to go down tomorrow to pass him the fabric!

Hi sotonglet... Wilson din finish my gown on time so he told me to give him more time n he will make it "mei mei" for me... hahaha...

Oh I am sure some of you saw icicle's post to take PS together.... anyone interested? we can have the cheongsam clan... hahaha...

What is dang's designs in the first place.. ^^

Anyway after seeing so many CS designs, I find that CS designs are pretty standard,the differentation factor is, how the tailor design the CS to match your body shape and brings out the best effect. Also the type of materials used, will help to make or break the CS.

Even if the CS designs look super good on someone else it may look awful on another...

Hi girls! Am having a cheong sum done with Amor Meus (Louis). I just went down this afternoon to decide if i want a full netted back or otherwise. I am really happy that i signed up with him; can see the amount of details in his creations. I was introduced to him by my close friend (who did 3-4 cheong sums with him for her big day 5 years ago). His boutique is Talib center, #02-01, Purvis Street. Go and check out his work, he is not "hard-sell" sort of person.:-)

Hi Chewiegranolabar, i took quite a number of items from Louis (WG, CS, HTB's whole suit, 2 vests, shirt). I think 3-4 months should be enough for him to make a beaded CS. A beaded CS (with details at the collar, necklace) will cost more than 2k. A budget of 3-4k will be more comfortable. Good luck!:-)

hi PK, that sounds lovely, but out of my budget and wedding is this yr end
thanks for the information!

hi glamourous, i haven't seen my CS yet. my first fitting is mid Nov. excited!! there are a few ladies who have posted their pictures on multiply. i remember aatiyah's (very very gorgeous CS) and mssheryl's (modern halter fishtail cs). mine is a lot more simple... no fishtail and the top is similar to aatiyah's.

what is the difference between german lace and french lace?

i just went to royal fabrics and the guy showed me mainly french lace which is really expensive.. $170 per metre. i din get to see any german lace though.

wanna do a long laced CS but my budget is only $500 (fabrics + sewing). what kind of fabrics shud i look for? i prefer lace....

tks a lot~~

hi ginger, german lace is much cheaper than french lace, and most of the girls i know from the forum bought german lace. that will bring u to about 500 with materials n workmanship. or even less, if dun require much beading. hope that helps

hi msclaire,

tks for yr advice. hmm i think i will make a trip to royal fabric again to check out the german lace..

eh.. one stupid question.. the beading on the CS => do u need to buy yrself or the tailor will source for you?

my gown by wilson is ready.. my multiply ID is angeljules add me and request to see my gown if you are interested. Mine is the turquoise cheongsam and I can wear it long or short...

angeljules, very nice leh. I love the tail effect.. Too bad my body shape do not allow me to have a gown of this style.

Basically Arab street and china town(new market road.) has the most material shop you can buy ur materials from. French laces are really very expensive and pretty hard to tailor and cut. German laces and corded laces are the much cheaper and easier to maintain laces. If you going to royal fabrics, check out the marked down section too, as the laces can be as cheap as 20+ per meter.

I dunno if all tailors do the same but, for wilson he had his own collection of beads, laces, lining, crystals and etc... Just check with him first before buying.

Hey ladies, i'm trying to find this material my mum likes, to be made into cheongsam. Its chiffon with velvet print patterns. We saw it in a store in centrepoint, its from Italy and it costs like $380 per metre!
Anyone knows cheaper options??