Cheongsam

Hi DL and Carlyn (and the rest of the ladies),

My cs is peach on cream... with bronze kind of beading. Thanks for the compliments ladies, yup I posted this pic up before coz I was totally sold when i saw it the first time. I rmb hvg a hard time convincing my husband to tailor this cs coz i had a botched one done by someone else! But everytime I look back at this cs im just so glad.

I'm enjoying looking at the cs pix posted here too. Keep it going! :D

Beebee: I have a similar one! Bought from clothier when they were at taka.. Mine's a black halter neck one though..

Aatiyah: Wilson suggested the gold thread lace to me oso.. I'm steering towards cream, buy oso scared it'll get dirty easily.. So still thinking..
hahah.. Suddenly I rem wad Wilson said.. Do CS with him.. There'll be no regrets!

beebee... this is mine..

nope, i didnt. as the CS already sew inner bra liao, so no need to. if add on nubra, will look like 'chun li' liao :P

1464290.jpg
1464291.jpg
1464292.jpg

Dear all brides-to-be/wilson's clients/fans,

I had came across news of katong mall being renovated recently, and was curious whether max couture had shifted...thus was browsing through this website again to get an update of address...hahaha...realised that I had mistaken katong mall(km) with katong shopping centre (ksc)...so max couture was still at ksc.

Held my wedding in jan 2010, had a long, blue cheongsam custom made by wilson...received a lot of compliments especially from my foreign guests during my dinner banquet...the intricate blue lace cheongsam had made me stand out from the red chinois interiors of my banquet venue.

And I must say his workmanship and design is gooood! definitely worth the wait and $$!
Wilson, thank you once again for making me a beautiful, modern yet classic bride.

Sharing a photo of myself in wilson's cheongsam

1469873.jpg

carlyn, post ur pictures here leh!! nope...wilson did not tell me...i met the whole bunch of Marist and they told me ur name...haha... tell jian shun i said hi!

Your CSs all looked very nice! I'm also thinking of making a CS so after reading the post, I figured that the price range from Max is about cheapest is short one which is $480 and if for long one, the cheapest that i saw is $1k?

I am new here. Can someone share Wilson's website please? I can't seem to find it. I can tell most of you got great service from him, am interested to make a long CS form him too. Thanks!

hey ladies ! I have went to find Wilson on Sat and I must say I am impressed with the cheongsam he made. Saw a few cheongsams and I love his works.

I am wondering normally how long does he take to do a cheongsam ? 3 months ? Cos he is asking me to come down in nov , I need my cheongsam only in May 2011 for PS, is it too early to go down ?

Does he have any peak period surcharges? i was thinking it will be better to do it in late Jan or Feb 2o11. Hw long in advance did u all do your CS ?

julia> yup, wilson does not hv any website...
u can juz pop by his shop... so far i din make any appt when i go down... but juz to chk with him his opening hours.... he's closed on sundays...

cherry> i did mine end oct last yr and collected it in mid jan this yr... estimated time will be at least 3mths.. but there's no harm doing it early... u can juz tell wilson when u need it and he will plan from there...
from my understanding, he doesn't hv any peak period surcharges

i jus collected my CS yesterday and i muz say that im very happy n pleased with the CS!!!

mine is baby pink satin with candy pink lace...some of u might have seen it when u pop by wilson's shop last few weeks...hehe!

Hi girls! I'm new here and I've just made up my mind to make a CS from Wilson after seeing all the beautiful pictures! I went through the archives to gather the below details from all:
1. Wilson's shop is Max Couture @ Katong Shopping Centre #01-83C. Tel:64408180.
2. Price of short CS: $480
3. Price of long CS: $1000

Any other details that might be useful for me? Appreciate if you could share with me
There was also an earlier discusion making short CS for mums and jie-meis (should be less elaborate). Can I now the price for these?

joyce> i dropped by wilson's shop couple of weeks ago when i was ard the corner and chk out his charges for jie mei dresses... he charge abt $100+ onwards for simple design... which i think it's not worth it...

for mum's dress, got to depend on the design... but at least i think it's more worth than doing JM dresses cos u wun be doing only 1 JM dress rite...

I am making a cheongsam and the designer commented that a girdle or corset will give a better shape.

Is there a difference? Can anyone give advise on the better type to wear? or any brand to recommend?

hi whyy, not sure how much u need to tuck in to get the shape.
for me, i wore the wacoal cross walker and it was good enough to give me the hourglass shape.
hehe

Hi beebee,

I am the meaty type so got tummy fats and thunder thighs hee. Need good support to make the body look more slimline.

will check out the wacoal cross walker. thanks. Are there any obvious lines seen like the hooks or patterns cos I am afraid the cheongsam material may be quite thin and clingy type.

I have tried a corset, looks the best in giving the waistline but creases and folds horribly for me when I try sitting. The 'bones' bend into folds.

As for a gridle, i tried one that is past the tummy but this will create bulges inbetween the bra and the girdle! sigh so need to find a girdle that starts just under the bra.

whyy, the cross walker is very thin so u won't get the lines.
corset is too thick so won't look nice with cheongsum.
if there's still time, u can still lose some weight! hehe

Ahgargar--> for bride, no colour is too bright! Seldom heard ppl want to make yellow for tea dress.. Have asked Wilson before whether he will suggest yellow for cs but he dun really recommend that colour for cs.. Not sure is it a general recommendation or applies to me only..

However I think yellow is nice as a short cs.. Something different. I had mine in red for tea dress to replace the kua..

my mother went to discuss her cs for wear in banquet and Wilson suggested orange! Something very different and I believe will turn out nice!

I agreed with beebee, corset will look obvious as CS is very tight fitting... maybe can try to do more exercise to tone up? ganbatte whyy!

ahgargar, i agreed with carlyn too!
if you dare to go for sharp color, i think short cs will look more stunning and sexy. i had my short cs in sharp blue color..

Carlyn: Wilson suggested yellow for my CS tea dress! but its long.. not short cs wor.. duno how it will turn out.. worried if its TOO BRIGHT & TOO LOUD for teadress wor?
btw do you think tight fitting CS with spilt (did i sp correctly) is nicer? and more sexy?cause he suggested me doing the long one.. with no spilt leh...

guinguin: its really sweet of u to share details w us even ur wedding is over! real nice of u!!! =)

btw i saw ur CS in earlier posts and i saw u on magazine! haha

ur CS is nice! i love ur sharp colours combination! for mine wilson suggested me doing yellow w black lace!

guinguin: same qns for u too
do u think cheongsam like the those in 2046 Tony Leung and Maggies cheung nicer? more retro, with spilt and tight fitting..more sexy? mine is long w no spilt...wilson said those cs w spilt are for mothers? is that so?.....

ahgargar... no worries! im wilson supporter, haha.. love to see all his skillwork for all e beautiful brides to be!

oh really? haha, u can recognize me huh...thank u thank u!

my personal view, i will vote for tis color. the combination of yellow + black is SHARP!

yes, it can bring out the retro feel. long cs with split will look nice and sexy if u r tall and slim leg (sorry, dun mean to offend). as this will bring out the 'sexiness' of ur thigh.. if yes, go ahead! haha...

else u can try short cs with bare back.. split in short cs may look a bit weird though.. like those mamasan, haha...

Guinguin:

I can recognise you! very pretty bride =) i wish i can be as pretty like u in my ps and AD! i wish lah haha

Thank you for ur advice! then i will go dwn wilson tmr again to tell him i want long cs w split .. when i told him just now.. he is kinda unwilling to do for me leh.. he said long cs w split are for mothers! is wilson open to suggestions huh? and will he be irritated cause i keep having new ideas leh??? i think i am a very mafan BTB

ahgargar: I think just to clarify, is your CS gonna be one with or without train? Cos I kept having the mental picture of train and split.. Then I will understand why Wilson said spilts are for mothers.. but den again if u are spending $$ on it alr.. U hv to make it to your liking!

If yours dun hv train.. Den I guess having split is ok.. As long as u like it.. I can't wait for my first fitting in nov... When's yours?

happlilone: my CS is long and without train....
cause its for teadress, so wilson said do it without train! hmm u gers seriously think long CS with split w no train ok???those tight fitting kind.. can visualise? haha

when is ur big day? mine is next march 2011, my first fitting is in early Dec! =)

& whats ur CS like? long/train/colours? =)

ahgargar: yup... Den it's ok to do split.. Since u like split den it's your say! I get wad you're trying to describe and it looks absolutely fine!

I'm doing my CS for ROM for next Jan.. Mine's a silverish blue one.. With silver thread lace and full mermaid train.. Love the lace that Wilson suggested and found the same (or abt the same lace) in the latest issue of Blissful Brides..

happlione: haha glad that u can visualise +) good good
hope my cs will turn out nice...*worried*

remem to share pics w me yah =)

ahgargar, *blush blush* all brides are the most beautiful on their big day lor.. esp when wearing white gown
u too~

wilson wont feel offended, he can share anything. but sometimes he can b insists on his decision.. where he has his gd reason

I think w/o train will look younger and modern..can imagine, woo... sexy sexy :P

remember to share ur photo hor~