Cheongsam

i agreed with DS_gerl

personal view, ted is juz a 'designer' name, pricing wise - not only pay for the CS but for his 'name' too. thus pay more. same as Vera Wang.

while Wilson, is pay for the workmanship, experience and most important skill work.

guinguin> i like ur "juz a 'designer' name, pricing wise - not only pay for the CS but for his 'name' too." hahahhaa

actually, it's right in way that they r using the same material... duchess satin and german or french lace... the latter will be more expensive... unless u want 100% silk lah...

we r not promoting for wilson, but u still hv to go take a look then decide for urself... compare with both then decide...

the chemistry between u and the tailor muz be there too...

personally, i've recee a few places that sells or tailor make CS but still like wilson's CS

i kw of another tailor who can also make very nice CS but it's way too over my budget liao =P

ds_gerl.. haha, pardon me for my 'straight fwrd' words..

juz a realistic i guess every1 shud know, same as ppl buy LV, the cost of the bag only ten over bucks, believe it. my friend work in BLVG told me so.

ya, compare few shops and see whose u prefer.. wilson, chemistry confirm no pro! he so 'bubbly'! haha..

ds_gerl, u posted ur CS photo here b4 not? show me leh..

guinguin> nope... did not post any pics here... cos AD is not over yet

but i promised wilson that i will gv him some of my photos for his portfolio after my AD.... heehee

i wanna share what i have gone through...i was a clueless bride till i met wilson:

Wilson of Max Couture (#01-83C Katong Shopping Centre Tel:64408180) was suppose to do a CS for me for my ROM. But in the end, he did my mom's evening gown, day top and my WEDDING GOWN! He even "bao" the "mountain" when he realise that i don't have anyone doing the flowers for me. the car was beautiful and all the hand bouquets and corsages lovely...

Am happy to share my pictures etc... for BTBs, choose well and believe in their professionalism k.

he does EVERYTHING...the sua and the hai as well....hahaha guess what...he even did my husband's second march-in suit and using my evening gown's accompanying shawl(gown bought from Petite Pois at Paragon), turn it into a cravat for him...nice....

not sure if its polite to post prices here but what the heck...

Wilson: CS abt $400 (including materials)
Wilson: wedding gown $1,200
Wilson: suit with vest $800
Wilson: flowers $200 (with flower car etc etc, i think)
Wilson: mom's evening gown abt $400

told yer i was clueless...but I AM HENG ! ahahaha

happymrswong> u r really HAPPY with Wilson's works...

do u hv more pics to share? wanna see all of his works... din kw he can do so many things...

hi ds_gerl, do u have an email for me to flood ur mailbox with? i am happy becuase up to a week before my wedding, i was still flying around for work and i think my mom had to step in to become the wedding coordinator. wilson must have taken pity on us...did u know that he even suggested and helped to order nonya-kuehs so that when the guests comes to my house in the morning, there are pretty snacks for them.... cool eh? ultimately, he can do a lot of things so long as u communicate with him and listen to his advice. e.g. i told him that i wanted "a ball of roses" as my hand-bouquet and he delivered....when i wanted petals for throwing, he personally plucked it off the stems and gave me 2 boxes worth!! amazing fellow! thank god for him!

guinguin: do i know u? i heard someone told wilson that she knows me and my husband but i dunno who..... mmmmm

hi mrswong... hmm, dun tink i know u. but i saw ur CS hanging at wilson's place b4 when i went back look for him to give him my photos after AD, as promised.. as i remember ur CS color same as mine if im not wrong.

Hi happymrswong, you sound really satisfied with Wilson. I actually dropped by on a recent Sat but he was closed. Couldnt really see much in the dark shop. I'm still looking for a tailor for my cheongsam for late May wedding. Not sure if its too rush now. Can you send me your photos? My email is [email protected]

call him before going so that he can arrange to spend some time chatting with you... i have seen him pull off quite a bit of things so a CS by May is a small thing to him la... will try to send u a link...lemme know if it works....

Hi happymrswong, no I did not receive your email. Do you think you can try again? Maybe you can send it as a private msg here? Thanks!

I'm interested in making a CS too. How long does it take to make one?

happymrswong > can i see some pics of your CS too? andrina_dance(at)yahoo(.)com(.)sg

Anyone has pics of their CS to share? thanks!

i just confirmed my CS for tea dress with Wilson after reading so much about him!! He is really a very nice guy..
I leave all to him after choosing the main color theme.. mine was bit rush for him cos my photoshoot is coming up..

excited with the final piece!!

happymrswong > got the link, saw your pics...look quite nice...how did you pick the colors & design? did you already know what you wanted / did Wilson advise you?

Hi happymrswong,

Im interested to see your photos too.
Can you share with me? My email is [email protected] . Thanks a zillion!

Btw, how long does wilson take to finish a piece of CS? Is it very crowded at Max Couture? am thinking of going down to have a look. Do you get to try out some cuttings before deciding on the style of the CS?

i've got no idea how to pick the cheongsum and i did ask for blue with orange but the colour made me look yellowish so Wilson suggested bright blue with pink instead (i'm quite dark cos i love wakeboarding ;p)

it is not crowded at Max Couture because when i make an appointment, he usually makes sure that no one else is there so that he can speak to you openly... call first before going... he has a few to showcase his work and he'll be happy to let you try them on and he has books and pictures as well...

thing is, i do not have a nice body...i went to those bridal boutiques and they do not have anything that flatters me....Wilson's CS made me look slim and when i lost a teeny weeny bit of weight (stress!) before my wedding, he happily altered the CS for me for free.

I have another wedding banquet in China this March and he suggested that i try it on 3 days before the event and if its too loose, to bring it down to him again for "touch up" and alteration.

Surf the net a lot, check out Oscar De La Renta's blue/red and blue/orange CS.

i like those lacy type of cheongsams...want to get a short one so that I can wear on other occasions. Thing is I'm not tall + not very skinny.. dunno whether CS will suit me...haha..never wore 1 before.

Andrina .. my body figure also not tall and not skinny / not fat / perhaps chubby , must keep tummy flat when wearing , eat less... hahahha... similar to yours ... most of the peoples said me suitable wif Short CS...think same goes to you ,,,hope u can find a nice CS soon...

hi andrina and shiryu, dun worry, wilson will make u gals look like sexy babe in CS! haha.... me also e same.. super short, juz get a nice and tall shoes will do!

hi everyone.. new to this thread but have been viewing the post and i have decided to engaged in Wsilson for my CS!

I have made 1 red short CS with black french lace and 1 dark purple long mermaid CS with black base with other lighter prints french lace!!

WIll be gg for my first fitting in april 10.. can't wait to see the actual CS. hee hee

happymrswong--> My HTB is the one that told wilson that he know u... hahaha... saw ur pic over at wilson place and he ask wilson whether ur name is XXX and wilson say correct... my HTB is one of the marist boys..

rina--> I made mine for $850... Long CS, french lace with train. It depends where u intend to made ur CS and with wat type of lace (French is more ex than german)

Wah, Wilson biz has grown so big. Good thing he was not tat popular when i did mine with him.

MelLHY, ted collection's CS is more costly if u based on the same design and materials. Wilson's design is pretty good and over all it is a cheaper designer CS option. ^^"

Oh yeah, during my time we buy our own materials and get Wilson to do the rest to bring the cost down. No one does that anymore?

MelLHY> i agree with SotongLet, wud advice u to compare both designs and costs b4 deciding

beebee> i guess ur CS shld be full lace, short CS?
anyway, u will def be happy of his final product

SotongLet> for me, i'm lazy to get my own materials and so used his

beebee --> Wilson is very nice.. he also tell me what shoes and earings to match my CS.... and tell me what kind of hairdo will fit my cs too... very glad that i do my cs with him..

I going for my fitting this sat... very excitied to see my short and long cs.. hee hee

ya he is a nice guy..and he promised to deliver ur CS as the date he given..

but i put on abit of weight on the 1st tried..haha..so went back another wk to collect it..haiz..