Cheongsam

add me at multiply to see my cheongsam ID: angeljules. got my cheongsam from Wilson. He is great, I went back to loosen my cheongsam... hahah he din charge anything... it's been 8 months since i took my cs back...cos I took my pictures last yr. Niway just to update mine is short cheongsam with extension added for both day and evening wear. He printed my photo of my cheongsam at the shop. cheers

Hi Angeljules,
can I see your cheongsum?
I think extension is a great idea . More mileage for your dress. How is the extension done? Thanks.

thanks for suggesting Wilson's cheongsam. I went down last wk to MTM for my ROM + sending off guest..Wilson was really pro and gave suggestions to the type of cheongsam i was looking for..he really got a full range of laces etc..i chose French lace over German lace..total cost $880..even my sis was tempted and on the spot did hers also..at $480..her was German lace..

Hi DS Gerl

sorry for my confusing post..my ROM and chinese dinner is on the same day..

so i MTM 1 cheongsam for the 7pm ROM..then later when dinner starts then change into my WG.

coz my sis said if u MTM cheongsam for ur ROM, like very waste, so wear it again for sending off guests after the dinner also..

coz ROM is for those close friends..only they will see my cheongsam..so if i wear it again to send off guests..they can see my cheongsam also..which means it's very rush 4 me to change 1/2 way also but nothing is impossible..hahah

Chris> ooo... ic ic...

i will also be doing the same... tea ceremony at my parents' place, ROM, sending off guests (if time allows me to change)... muz fully utilize the CS mah...

btw, ur CS cost is almost 2x ur sis' CS... is it becos u chose french lace and she chose german?

i hv seen wilson's works and really like them... most likely will get him to do my CS...

mind if u can describe both of ur designs??
u can also PM me... TIA...

Hi DS Gerl

my CS costs that much coz i chose French Lace..and Wilson said he will be using at least 3m of lace for me..coz i doing lace for the whole long dress...

the design i chose was those halter neck with collar..

all my designs are those cut out from magazines..take abit designs here and there..then Wilson consolidate for me..

my sis design is already on the display..(think is the black CS with golden treadings) it's with short sleeve..then the back is exposed..short CS is already $380..then my sis made it long..so is $480..

i'm ok with the price coz previously i went down a BS, they are also selling $880 for a ready made CS..

but my FB wana faint when he heard of the price..

but which bride dont want to look pretty..hehe..some $$ cant be spent..somemore Wilson work is really pro..

but he advised dont take the 'cut all the way in halter neck'..he said looked like those acient chinese bras..

agree with chris bobochacha...most importantly all attention's on the bride on actual day...spend some $$ on well-tailored & flattering cheongsam is definitely worthwhile! heehee
I've juz gone to Wilson last thurs to MTM cheongsam for my photo shoot cum wedding dinner...mine was long train, german lace for the whole dress...$750...
Wilson drew a "sort-of-halter" design for me...claimed to make me look more modern & youthful...I've my doubts initally...a bit scared...dun know whether it'll turn out nice on me...dun want something tardy...but after some persuasion from Wilson...plus read so many positive comments abt him from all of you here...I trust him lah...so tell him to go ahead...waiting for my fitting in august

oh yah...forget to add...I've gotten everything from him...so price inclusive of materials + workmanship...
hahaha...I remembered telling Wilson I'm confused & have a "headache" when he took out the laces and cloth for me to choose in his shop...and he jokingly told me I'll have a even bigger headache if I go to those fabric shops...even more choices & variety...yah, I think I'll faint on the spot...hahaha!

Chris & Puffymouse> thanks for sharing ur designs...

Chris, i think i kw which cs ur sis chose... i saw that when i was there

also saw a long hot pink cs with open slit in front...

when we went down to recee wilson's cs with some other BTBs from this forum, he quoted to us from $300 onwards for a short CS & $500 onwards for a long CS (incl. workmanship + material)... and also knowing that french lace is more ex than german lace...
it seems that after confirming the design, final amt will be ard $700 & above for a long cs...

did u gals opt for his versatile design?? can change between short & long... was quite impressed of this...

right nw, am actively looking for more cs designs... but not much designs can be found in those bridal mags leh... so far, oni saw some from other bridal shops in Style magazine... any idea where else can i find more cs designs??

hi ds_gerl,

aiya, i din know about the versatile design...so din opt for it...
yah, agree with u...not much designs from bridal mags...u can see see fashion magazines...though theirs are more trendy (not really suitable for wedding)...but can get ideas from here and there...
Wilson can also help u to design one that suits ur figure...

puffymouse> yah, most impt thing is to hide my tummy… hahahaa…
I juz wanna see wat other kind of designs can be done on cs…

right now, I’m thinking when to go down to Wilson to get my cs started… cos ps will be in jan next yr… and ad will be in oct…

hi ds-gerl,

ic, my tummy's my worst enemy too! (sighz)

personally find it's still a bit early if u go to MTM cs now...'cause u may lose weight/tone up over these months...though Wilson can help u amend the cs if u lose weight...it may be a hassle to keep going to & fro his shop...do u stay in the east area?

juz a suggestion: perhaps u may want to MTM in oct?
btw u might also want to note the kind of evening dresses u like to wear...the colours...the neckline...who knows...u might get some inspirations and design ur own cs

puffymouse> cos I heard from Wilson that his orders will increase after the lunar 7th month…. and he will take longer period to complete the order….

I think other than paying for the cs, I shld also invest on a gd corset… haahhaa….

alteration will most likely do oni once when ad is nearing lor… but cos I’m working at kallang, shldn’t be a major problem for me to travel up and down…

I do not hv any assets in front, so will focus mainly at the back & shoulder areas… =P
saw 1 of his designs with diamond shape bare back… nice and sexy…
but becos my wg will also be a low bare back design le… dun kw if I shld also opt for bare back for cs…

the most, I will leave the brainstorming to Wilson… heeeheee… I trust that my cs will be in his gd hands…

hi ds_gerl,

I asked Wilson whether I can wear a corset beneath my cs (to keep the troublesome tummy area flat), he told me "No need lah"...hmm...see how 1st when I go for my fitting...whether I need the corset...

i stay in the west...so a bit troublesome for me to keep going to & fro his shop...for u, not much a problem...kallang near katong sc...

ic...what's impt is Wilson's work load...u can call and check with him when's the time to MTM ur cs...he'll advise u

I'm having bare back for my WG, cs & EG...I don't mind...think looks more modern...I'm more worried abt keeping myself in shape & skin in top condition...hahaha!

puffymouse> sure anot?? is he trying to tell u that his cs cutting is real fantastic and can cover all flaws?? whahahaa

got to control ur diet… and use more masks… rest more and drink lots of water…

hi ds_gerl,

yah, that's what he told me 'cause i was worried and asked him...hmm...i din probe further...maybe that's what he meant...that's why we went for MTM rather than off-the-rack...more flattering for our figures, hide flaws...

hahaha...trying to exercise more...but sometimes a bit lazy esp after work...dinner look so tempting...hmm...

puffymouse> so perseverance is very impt now… control diet & exercise more… until our AD is over… omg… mine still 15mths to go….

think once 1st fitting shld be able to kw if u really need a corset or not…

hahaha....u're right...i read from somewhere...wedding's the biggest motivation for gals to lose weight...and i think it's very true!
~bye bye chocolate, cakes, egg tarts~

my photoshoot's in this coming aug (juz 2 mths away), wedding's in jan next year...hahaha...so gotta jia you...

Can anyone tell me where this location is?

The lady wearing a red Cheongsam with very nice chandelier lighting. It seems to me like a hotel or restaurant.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/684440.html?1208408889

I’m thinking of having my photo shoot there but I checked with my BS and they doesn’t know where it is.

I really like the photos taken by them but too bad I already book a bridal package come with photography.

If you happen to visit this place before, please let me know.

Thank you!!

Jeralim: It looks like forbidden city at clarke quay. They have a impressive chinese restaurant on the second floor and its very oriental with lots of red.

Maybe you can save the pic, then email forbidden city and ask them if its their restaurant.

I am interested in getting a cheongsam for my AD/tea ceremony...and my sister too (she is crazy abt cs and has been wanting to make 1 for the longest time :p). Was also thinking of making 1 for my mother.. Can someone share Wilson's contact/address with me pls? Heard so many rave reviews about him, I think I should check it out myself. Thanks!

sleepyskies> here u r... wilson's contact & address

Wilson Ng
Max Couture
Katong Shopping Ctr
#01-83C
Tel: 6440 8180
Closed on Sun & PH

Thanks DS Gerl!

Was showing my sister some of the earlier links with pics of cheongsam...they are really nice! Now my sis cant wait to visit Wilson. haha. Cheers again to forum and you gals for all the great advices and contacts!

sleepyskies> no problem...

so hv u & ur sis visited him yet??
now is ardy the 7th mth... so my wedding preps will be on hold... most likely will go to him next mth to discuss abt my CS design....
wooo... so excited....

DS_Gerl > need to put wedding preps on hold during 7th month?! I still doing all my research etc, but I looking at 2011 lah.

This Wilson sounds quite good. I wanna make a CS for tea ceremony too... saw some really nice designs which I like. Roughly how many days before AD should u start booking the CS tailor etc?

hi there kass,
these r juz some superstitious believes that older ppl hv that it is not gd to do wedding preps during the ghost month.... it's up to individual preferences though... doing research shld be alright cos not much into confirming something....

yup, wilson is gd... at least from my pt of view.... hv seen his works personally at his shop and really like them....
i hv chk with him b4 that he needs at least 2-3 mths (depending the no. of orders he needs to complete at the same time).... and if i rem correctly, he did also mentioned he will hv more orders after the 7th month....

it's advisable for u to go down to his shop and chk with him personally...

keep seeing u gals talking bout wilson.. where exactly is his shop? my wedding is 4 mths down the road.. now i'm tinkin of making CS for my tea ceremony... duno if i can mk it in time...

hi knotty,
the full address is juz a few posts above =)
think if u start doing it now, shld be in time for ur tea ceremony....

thks DS Gerl!
I'll drop by hopefully this wkend

does anyone have long CS design (front & back) picture to share with me? Couldn't seem to find wilson's design online...

knotty> I dun think Wilson has any website online…
if u hv the time, u can read thru the archives… I rem there r some posts with pictures of his designs…

but still think that it’s the best to go down to his shop…. u will be able to see his latest works on mannequin or hanging on the racks… he also kept pics of his previous works…

fleur> for photos, think u got to search thru the archives... i rem there were some pics posted in here b4...
as for the prices, it all depends on the design, length and material u chose...
it wud be better for u to go down personally to compare the works between Wilson & Ted...

below are some reviews when i went down to his shop in june to chk out his designs and prices...

Max Couture (Tailor: Wilson Ng)
Charges: from $300 onwards for a short CS & $500 onwards for a long CS (incl. workmanship + material)
Price will be higher depending on material used (he uses mostly satin for CS), types of lace (French lace is more ex than German lace), full lace also cost more, half lace is cheaper… according to him, laces alone is ardy very ex…
Alteration Fee: Free (u can go back to him to anytime to alter in case gain weight or lose weight b4 wedding, he can even cut off the long CS to a short one after ur wedding for free)
Time needed: abt 2 months (depending on the no. of orders he received & the dateline)

CS is more modern kind… he can make quite versatile CS… a long CS that can detach to become a short one… short can be worn during tea ceremony, then add on the tail for evening gown look…
There is also long type with small train, can place a ring at the end of the tail so that u can hook it up to become a normal long CS…

We saw 1 short black CS on display…. Very sexy, with diamond shape bare back… full german lace… another 1 was a hot pink long CS with tail & open slit in front… half French lace on the top portion

Can I find if there is a ready selection of cloth and lace for me to select if I go to Wilson?

Or do I have to go to Arab street to buy material and then bring it over to Wilson for him to tailor my cheongsam?

Hi Eelin..

Wilson already has his stocks there..unless u cant find anything u like or wat ba..

for me and my sis..all the materials are from Wilson..

got married on sept 20 and just back from HM!

i also had my CS done by Wilson and i must say it was one of the best choice i made!

love my cheongsam and everyone sang praises of it..

wilson's work is superb, he handsewed blings and 'scallops' immaculately on the CS..
and somehow the CS gives me a slimmer silhouette haha (i am quite fat :D)

So if u are still considering whether to get it done, worry not, you will be in his good hands.
and did i mention he is a really jovial and helpful person?

Also thanks to the earlier brides and their many advices and sharing of their CS pics. Cheers!

will try to upload pictures in the next post.

my wedding just over too, same day as ginger! lolz..

here is my photo of my CS.. well done and bravo on Wilson's skillful hand! my families and guests love my CS so much..

thanks Wilson!!
whoever wanted to be the real Chinese Cheongsum Star, remember - Wilson the master of Cheongsum!

1219720.jpg

1219721.jpg