Chatters

Morning!

Cuc's husband suggested Brewerkz... and seems like Mayi singlehandedly can down their 3.5 litres beer dispenser. Which means, i guess the venue's fixed?

Wait a min... is there live soccer match or not?!?! (yeah... waiting for someone to spoonfeed me with this crucial piece of information...hahaha)

I'm fine with both places. See wat the majority vote for

Brewerkz bah... we can go Paulaner other times. Plenty of opportunities.. haha!

but i think i will join abit later just for the drinks as i might have another dinner appointment. >.<

what's BTT?
like mayi, i also join for drinks (lazily but patiently waiting for cuc's input... hahaha)

hmmmm, i heard that Starhub's Football hosts will be hosting the game at Clarke Quay, but dunno which place. sekali, Brewerkz?

soooooo des ne.....

cuc, sorry to burden you with that bery,bery important task despite your preparations for BTT later... good luck!

Cuc, all the best too!!!!

wow.. i duno why but I am suddenly very happy after lunchtime... maybe cos i had an enjoyable lunch with my colleagues and am gonna mit up some chatters' babe later~ >.<

Mayi,
I am oso very happy today!!! Got nothing to do, waiting to knock off!! Haha.. But seems like still got a long way to go..

Cuc,
All the best to u too!

BTW, evilprincess is my frd..

thank everyone but aiyah .. i should have checked in first liao .. so i can get all the good luck .. just now lady luck not with me la .. so i failed! hahahahah .. never mind, will try again soon .. now i bring partner, maybe have better luck this way .. hahahaha .. and must remember to read book cos i only tried to read like 20mins before test .. hahahahah ..

vios, now i am free to find out that answer for you .. watch this space ah ..

janie, yah yah .. saw the front page of the new paper .. aiyoh, fancy themselves like hollywood stars arh .. for publicity????

proc, shld b reliable...its in the newspaper already...

cuc, its kinda messy huh...juz 3 weeks after separation...both have now found their partner...

janie, i agree la .. didn't they also said that jamie was the cause of glenn's 1st divorce (from kate reyes)?

well .. not sure if it was reported in the papers la but when it happened, didn't they denied it at first?

Hmm... Glenn Ong clarified over radio that though they announced the separation news recently, it does not mean that they have just separated recently. According to him, not long after the news was out, Glenn Ong got those kind of "dirty" look when he went out with his mum and people mistook his mum to be his new found gf and he clarified this during his morning show 1 wk after the announcement of the separation news. Sometimes you just have to take what they say with a pinch of salt.

Janie and Procrast,
The love rumours about Jamie sound so complicated lol. Only they themselves know the truth.

Cucl,
You will likely pass at the next attempt cos u are familar with the style of questions liao.
Me may fail too. My memory is terrible since a kid, I can't remember all the road signs.

green, i even went through the entire sequence of questions twice .. made some changes (don't know if i should have) but some of the questions .. aiyah, like trick questions la .. i had some problems with the mandatory and information signs .. both same arrow but one is within a circle and another is within a rectangular shape ..

i juz read the papers...actually jamie n glenn had been leading separate lives since last april...they oni filed for separation juz recently..so the feelings were not there long ago...

cuc, its realli so messy...im look at the 'chart' which the newpaper did on the djs n their partner...wow....i duno wat to say man...hahaha

I do pity the couple. They are under the spotlight and people gossip about them everywhere they appear. Celebrities basically lose their privacies when they enter into the media industry.

glenn used to b with kate, den with jamie, now with jean...

jamie used to b with the actor robin leong (hey i didnt noe tis!)...den with glenn, now with a CEO...

jean used to b with don richmond(mark richmond's bro)also a DJ...n now rumoured to be with soo wei oso a DJ...jean oso used to b with daniel ong..

daniel ong is now with jaime teo...

i nvr like Jamie Yeo and Teo...

i still remember jamie Teo was Criticized on her English when she was crowned as Miss Singapore.

green, i dun mind being called "evil" either...hahaha...

rinn, told me abt the outing later...so sori, im rushing off to attend a funeral wake...will definitely join nx round ya!

I like Glenn Ong for his outspoken nature and creativity, as well as for the fact that his success has been self-made.

Hello, Evil! Welcome!!!

My SIL's cat went to the rainbow bridge this morning. His kidney failed. He was five months short of eight years old.....

Green, Heart said my hair has more body now. All thanks to the clarifying shampoo you helped me buy! My scalp is under control now and hair looks great even at night (I wash my hair in the morning). I am waiting for your compliment when we meet tomorrow haha

Doll,
Don't need to thank me. Just bring me a sample of that shampoo tomorrow haha.

Actually I never go &amp; notice the difference with my hair at day &amp; night. I only know something went wrong when my students teased me :P

I have sent the photos taken at wedding dinner to your mailbox.

Doll &amp; Mark,
Luckily we took photo together before you left the dinner lol. Otherwise what a pity if no photo.

Lawsuit: Merlion Vs People
-------------------------------

Your Honour, my client, Mr Merlion (the plaintiff), does with much regret hereby bring about a suit of damages against the people of Singapore (the defendant).

The plaintiff requests compensation for personal injury, property damage and mental suffering as a direct result of the defendant's neglect, exploitation and scurrilous acts of defamation.

Mr Merlion states that on multiple occasions spanning nearly four decades, Singapore and its people did scandalise his good name, exploit his image for selfish personal gains while, at the same time, neglecting to take proper steps to care for his welfare.

And while Mr Merlion says he has suffered in silence for the greater good, the events of the past week have pushed him over the edge. It was the proverbial straw that broke the Merlion's head.

On Saturday, March 1, 2009, my client was subjected to a fierce, near-fatal attack that left him with a gaping hole at the rear of his head, as well as a severe concussion.

Since then, my client complains of frequent dizzy spells, making it difficult for him to perform optimally in his current employment. He rightly fears that in this harsh economic climate, his reduced capacity could lead to a loss of income.

Further to the serious injuries to his head, his home - a humble platform - has also suffered damage when pieces of his head fell onto it.

Now, while many have tried to write off the lightning strike as an unfortunate act of nature, Mr Merlion asserts that such an accident could have, indeed should have, been foreseen and prevented.

Your Honour, it is only through clear neglect on the part of the defendant that such an accident was even allowed to happen.

It is common knowledge that the right thing to do in a storm is to make yourself as small as possible so as not to present yourself as a target.

Yet my client was sited - against his will, might I add - in an open space where he is the tallest thing around, no doubt an accident waiting to happen.

There is no evidence of due diligence here. The buildings with lightning conductors are too far away to offer protection and my client was not fitted with a lightning rod of his own.

No study of lightning strikes in the area was conducted even with the knowledge that Singapore has one of the highest rates of lightning activity in the world.

Despite all this, a request by my client for an indoors location was dismissed out of hand.

Further, Mr Merlion was forced to vomit water in perpetuity, making him more conductive and therefore more vulnerable to a lightning strike. I will speak more on this later when I outline the case for defamation.

Your Honour, in the wake of the attack, the defendant has shown little remorse. In fact, on Internet chatboards and in the newspapers, they have made jokes about my client, completely disregarding his feelings. Some had the nerve to suggest that the broken pieces of my client's skull structure be sold as souvenirs.

No one bothered to so much as send a get-well card.

The situation has left Mr Merlion in depression. It is a little-known fact that he has often had to cry himself to sleep.

But as I had alluded to earlier, the lightning strike is but the breaking point, the culmination of years of abuse.

I am sure it is obvious to Your Honour that there is no creature, living, extinct or mythical, that could exist while constantly vomiting. How could it eat? Where is all the puke coming from?

Yet, this has been how the defendant has portrayed my client to the world. It is a gross (Hah!) misrepresentation of my client's upstanding reputation and clear injurious defamation.

To exacerbate the assault, the defendant has fabricated and distributed through gift shops a plastic toilet paper-holder in my client's likeness, where toilet paper is pulled out of the mouth. I submit to the Courts one such toilet paper-holder marked Exhibit A.

Your Honour, is there a more obvious insult?

Separately, in June of 2008, the defendant did allow one Muhammad Hafiz Tahir to use my client's likeness to design the ugliest dress in Miss Universe pageant history. This led to more mocking of my client, more depression and more tears.

Your Honour, this sort of abuse cannot continue. While I leave it to Your Honour to determine the just amount of compensation, I must remind the Court that you have before you an opportunity.

This is an opportunity to send a clear signal to national icons everywhere that they do not have to put up with abuse, to show them that they are equal under the law, that even half-fish, half-lions have rights, have needs, have feelings.

I trust Your Honour will do the right thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3tPA_Z_MT0&amp;feature=related

From unprintable curse word to cuddly children’s toy: that has been the voyage charted by an imaginary beast invented by Chinese internet users to poke fun at a new nationwide crackdown against online content deemed vulgar.

The saga of the “Grass Mud Horse” is in fact one of the many puns in which the Chinese language is so rich. It began at the start of the year when China’s cyberpolice launched a campaign to cleanse pornographic and other content regarded as unseemly from sites viewed by the world’s largest online population.

What began as an entertaining by-product of that internet clean-up has become a sensation. This is because “Grass Mud Horse” in Chinese is a homonym for an unprintable but widely used phrase. Both the phrase – “F*** your mother” – and the name of the mythical animal are pronounced as caonima, although using different tones.

The identity of the creator of the Grass Mud Horse remains a mystery, but he – or she – has sparked a mini-industry.

RELATED LINKS
Chinese paper fines staff for 'a**e' error
China's web censors are losing the battle
'Hide-and-seek' jail death claim sparks outrage
The tale now goes that in the desert of “Male Gebi” – a homonym for yet another unprintable curse that means “Mother’s C***” – lives a herd of special alpaca-like animals known as the Grass Mud Horse. The idyllic existence of the caonima is under threat from a migration of river crabs. The resilient and intelligent caonima fight back to defeat the river crabs – yet another play on words. The pronunciation of river crab resembles “harmony” – a favourite slogan of the current Communist Party leadership. It has become common practice among internet writers whose posts have been deleted to say they have been “harmonised” – or “eaten by the river crab”. Thus “river crab” has become a code name for internet censors.

By the end of February, the censors had closed nearly 3,000 websites and 270 blogs regarded as containing “vulgar or pornographic” content. However, many anti-establishment sites or blogs have also fallen foul of the “harmonisation”, including the well-known Bullog.com and many current affairs discussion groups hosted on Douban.com.

The craze for the caonima among Chinese internet users has spawned a video on Youtube that had received more than 1.3 million hits by today. Saccharine children’s voices sing along with astonishing vulgarity – or innocence – depending on the pronunciation of the words.

A translation of one verse of the song, by China Digital Times, goes:

“Oh lying down Grass Mud Horse

Oh running wild Grass Mud Horse

They defeated river crabs in order to protect their grassland

River crabs forever disappeared from Ma Le Desert”

Another video widely viewed online is a spoof of a state television nature documentary in which a presenter introduces the caonima in its natural habitat, complete with footage of furry alpacas on mountain slopes.

The use of homonyms to bypass the Great Firewall of China is hardly new, but this cute new animal, the caonima, has achieved unprecedented success. It even boasts its own entry on the Chinese equivalent of Wikipedia.

The animal has even made its way into the state-run media. The Southern Metropolis Daily, one of the few more daring newspapers in China, this week ran a story detailing – in print – how two caonima toys have become hot items. Called Ma Le and Ge Bi, the cuddly animals were designed by five young people in southern Guangdong province as members of the caonima family. The first 150 went on sale online this week at 39.9 yuan (£4) each and demand has been high.

Should not underestimate the Chinese people. Heard of their QQ IM service? It has more than half a billion registered users in Mainland China alone, making it the world's most popular IM service!