Chatters

doll, hope it's nothing serious .. i never had a cat myself but my uncle had two cats, one of which was quite sick for a time .. it was so sad to see it suffering that he ended up putting it down.

i told my boss i needed to leave early on friday cos i have my basic theory test - he started laughing but at least he said ok ..

green, is it $12 per session or for all?

no, my test is at 11.45am .. so i will leave at 11am and come back to office after i'm done. like a bit wasted to take leave la ..

Cuc, he did not eat for the past few days and ended up very weak by the time they sent him to the animal hospital. He is being checked upon now.....no news yet on what is bugging him. He is only 7.5 years old (still young) and hopefully it's nothing serious.....

poor thing .. really hope he gets better soon ..

green, looks like i can only attend the sunday one too .. my nephew's birthday is on saturday la ..

oops .. i meant for the marriage convention talks .. is it $12 per session (since there's 2 sessions per day) or is it for all sessions?

Doll,
Dun stay too late in office today leh.

Later you see lights start flashing, printer start rolling, a long-hair woman crawl out of your screen :X

I hate to OT in office cos aircon will be off at 5pm.

Is Heart joining Fri outing?

Green, I can't make it this fri....

Doll, thks for answering on my behalf.

Nowadays can't surf net during ofc hrs, can only do so at home

MEET Bob and Abigail, life-size dolls programmed to cry - loudly and often - for food and nappy changes. They also need to be burped, just like real babies.
These dolls have a job to do - prepare unwed teenagers for motherhood, and also to get them to think about their ability to raise a baby.

Sanctuary House, a charity that reaches out to women facing unwanted pregnancies, has bought 10 of them.

954668.jpg

Layoffs set to top 10,000 for first three months
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Forty per cent up from last quarter: Most losses in manufacturing sector

MORE than 10,000 workers are expected to be retrenched in the first three months of this year - a number equal to layoffs in an entire year when the economy is booming.
Labour chief Lim Swee Say gave this advance estimate yesterday, ahead of official figures from the Manpower Ministry which will come out only in late April.

The number is an increase from 7,000 layoffs in the previous quarter.

It is also double the 5,000 figure that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong gave in an interview with CNBC last Friday, which referred only to unionised workers.

Referring to the 5,000 figure, Mr Lim said: 'If you multiply that to include the non-unionised sector, the number would easily exceed 10,000 for the first quarter.'

The retrenchments in this quarter are expected to be mostly from the electronics and manufacturing sectors.

Speaking at a two-day civil service conference on organisational learning, Mr Lim said: 'We cannot stop retrenchments from going up. But we must try our best to help every one of these retrenched workers to go back to the job market, learn new skills, take on a new job.'

Analysts interviewed were not surprised by the 40 per cent increase in layoffs in this quarter compared to the previous quarter.

They expect even more layoffs in the months ahead as the full impact of the global recession becomes felt more deeply here.

DBS Bank economist Irvin Seah said job losses could be much higher than 10,000 if early termination of part-timers and contract workers is included in the calculation.

In the previous quarter, employers prematurely terminated the term contracts of 1,500 workers, on top of shedding another 7,000.

Mr Lim, a minister in the Prime Minister's Office, pointed out that there are still new jobs coming onstream despite the downturn.

'Jobs are still being created, demand is still there. What we have to do is to keep narrowing this gap in terms of skills, mindset and expectations between the jobs and job-seekers.'

He noted that the Employment and Employability Institute (e2i) has a list of nearly 12,700 job openings in many sectors, ranging from pharmaceuticals and services to the public sector.

About four in 10 of these jobs pay more than $2,000 a month, he added.

But among the 7,500 job seekers who have approached e2i for help are those who do not have the right skills and attitudes for a new career.

These people must be prepared to go for training, e2i's chief executive officer Ang Hin Kee told The Straits Times.

Rank-and-file workers could take two days to complete a course in personal effectiveness, or up to 1-1/2 months if they also have to brush up on English language and customer service skills.

Professionals taking part in conversion programmes for a new career may need six to 18 months of training, he said.

In his speech at the conference, Mr Lim also defended the Government's decision not to cut the employers' contribution to the Central Provident Fund (CPF), but to implement the $4.5 billion Jobs Credit scheme that pays bosses a sum for every resident worker on their CPF payrolls.

A CPF cut would hurt the trust among employers, unions and workers, he said, as workers have been told for two decades that such a cut would be a blunt instrument, and urged to move towards a flexible wage system.

Morning, peepz!

Green - I will let you know again about Friday.....If I can't make it there, I will pass you the neck cream another day ok. Hope you don't mind.

My friend recommended this:

954864.jpg

Product Description :
Lightweight cleansing balm quickly dissolves stubborn eye and face makeups, including those with sunscreen. Transforms from a solid balm to a silky, fluid oil upon application. Cleans thoroughly, rinses off completely. Non-greasy. Non-drying. For all skin types.

anyone tried it before?

green, argh .. don't you just hate that? i hate it when there's a problem with the aircon - feels all stuffy but i have the next best thing, my own personal fan .. hahahah ..

mayi, somehow i think it's kind of difficult to imagine teletubbies as 'real' babies la ..

dolly jie... i don buy cosmetics from the counter.. i ask my mum (who has discount at DFS) to hlp me buy..
cos the staffs always give me attitude problem.. nvr were they willing to serve me as a customer. Maybe cos i look like a student and cant afford it? So, i dun like going to the counter for sample or to buy anything..
Maybe i get sample from my friend who is using it... haha..

Doll,
How u know the speed cam is removed? U, the F1 driver personally test out it out haha?

Mayi,
Do u pop by cosmetic counters at peak hours, eg. 7-8pm? I always take the initiative to approach the staff if they don't notice me.

Cucl,
It will be very scary to hear the doll's crying in the middle of the nite. The neighbours will be terrified, "Next door ppl have no baby, why am I hearing baby crying? Is there ghost?"

Doll, nope... not aware. Has this removal worsen peak traffic conditions?

Green, if those dolls cry in the middle of the night, i bet i will stuff them into the wardrobe.... hahaha

green, hahahah .. yes that would be scary. my eldest has a toy, you know the kind that you wind up and there will be music .. even though she has not been playing with that toy, occasionally it will play music on-and-off .. i know that perhaps the mechanism might be spoiled already but still can give me goosebumps la .. especially since it'll go off in the middle of the night .. ahahahah ..

by the way, anything that interests you at the upcoming singapore arts fest? the performance by the shaolin monks seems good .. and i was thinking of watching the scandinavian ballets ..

vios, stuff into wardrobe under loads and loads of clothes but you will still hear their cries .. heheheh ..

I used the CTE a few times in the last two weeks and did not see the speed camera at Braddell. I thought I was driving too fast, till I read in Zaobao that the 20-year-old device had been taken down by LTA recently, which did not make a formal announcement. I belive they are going to find a "new home" for the speed camera soon hehe

Vios, the camera's removal was supposed to improve traffic condition at Braddell. Apparently, cars habitually slowed down approaching the camera and it didn't help that the ERP gantry was also nearby.

Don't tell anyone but I have a tendency to drive above the speed limit hehe

Never mind, to most people I am just a doll and I trust that you people won't betray me haha

To clarify, I don't speed when I have passengers.

keke.. this shows that i am not mentally-ready to be father... batteries for dolls can be removed, but real baby how? Smash their heads?

muahahahahahha

SEND! SEND! SEND!
--------------------------------------------------

Mr XXX
Chief Superintendent
Singapore Traffic Police

Dear Sir,

as good citizens of Republic of Singapore, we feel obliged to inform you that the female driver of a Toyota car make (vios 1.5E) - car plate no: SXX XXXX - has been travelling way above the speed limit (> est.130km/h!) at CTE Braddell for the last two weeks. She endangers the life of my fellow good citizens by tailgating us with her raging car horns and high beams.

Should be easy as she looks like one of those dolls....

With warm regards,
the people who surf Singaporebrides.com forum and can testify that she publicly confess to it.

Vios,
did u read the stomp's news? got a joker female driver drive against the traffic! she shocked another driver. imagine got a car dashing towards u on the road haha!

after get licence, can do as she please i suppose .. these kind of drivers are very scary .. how come she wasn't looking when the arrows were obvious ..?

I think she's not familar with the roads and accidentally turned into the wrong direction. :P

I better not criticise so much. Later my driving skill is worse than her, how??? haha