Chatters

They said it's a bad omen for Singapore that the Merlion kena struck by lightning.....

Green, the Merlion's head has chipped, not kena ba ru ku (bump).

Even in bad times, we can actually learn something from the people around us, if we want to.

Last Wednesday at Holland V, i happened to see this old lady (in 80s) who was selling malted candies on the pavement, and she seemed like she's happily in her own world. I vaguely rem seeing her before, and it could be that i didn't notice her presence when i was in my usual 'fast n furious' pace.

Hence it was my slow walk in which i managed to take a glimpse of the old lady and the self-created space for her little business.
'Hi Auntie', immediately i said. Followed by speaking mandarin, i told her that i would pay for the traditional candies first and will collect it on the very next trip.
She smiled beautifully, and thanked me.

Well, i intend to do just that everytime i'm in the vicinity cos' her positive demeanour stuck me in awe.

green .. for a while i was wondering what ba ru ku means but thanks to doll for explaining .. i thought it looked like bird droppings .. :P

vios, so that lady is still there .. that's nice of you ..

To share another experience from last week....

On late Thursday evening, i received an untimely email from my potential customer that the deal is off because they decided to retain their current supplier.

It was a very, very last-min decision on their part because the operations will begin on the following Monday (which is today).
Arrangements have been carried out and manpower have been deployed for this new project.

It was shocking to say the least, given that a decent deal was rarely concluded with confidence in such times. A certain part of me would have gotten the phone and slam her for 'being a pilot'.

But I lay seated in the chair, thought about her short email which was filled with embarrassment and guilt, and replied....
"It's OK! Don't feel bad about it. Anyway, I've tried my utmost best, but i guess it wasn't meant to be."

I felt good about my reply. And her lighting-quick response made me feel great because she feels good now.

there is a contractual notice for termination, but there lies a financial constraint that is unbeneficial in this situation...

anyway, the main thing in this isolated case, was that i didn't know that i could feel good tying up the loose threads that were left touched by others.... a rare occurance for me.

Ya lor.... like self-discovery. But it happens in a flash. So must be able to capture in that very instance, else lose it liao. haha....

I like your sharing about seeing the senior lady selling malted candies in HV.....from time to time we need to slow down and smell the roses or hear the sound of the waves.

doll, erm...it tink its quite different to prepare myself in medium rare...most of the times im well done....coz i got a hot temper...hahahaha

*slap vios
indeed they r veli tasty..i always like to bite my girl...hahahahaha

*A girl goes up to the stage*
*The lights shine directly on her*
*She begins to copycat William Hung's movements*

You burn!
You burn!
Oh mama
When you scream, you scream
I go crazy
'Cause you are my mama but you sibeh guai lan
Like every lian in history
You burn!
You burn!

the dance and song carries on for the next 2 hours....

si vios..hahahaha

doll, youthfulness?? *looks into mirror....
not a single part of me looks youthful leh....the hot temper juz runs in the family i guess....i cant imagine tat my dad still has the youthful sign...hahaha

for her pms, wifey would give a warning first... so that i could prep for the art of 'listen more, talk less'.

on other days, i would irritate her with my reasonings and theories....

hahahahahha.. women are interesting creatures.

gd morning....

my hub will always choose to ignore my warnings...most of the warnings r right in his face...but he still choose to irritate me!!

*little boy joins little girl on stage*

She scolds!
She frowns!
Oh mama
When she talks, she shouts
We go crazy
'Cause her dresses are nice but not her flying kicks
Like the AJ at present

She bites!
She bites!

*applauses from audience*
ENCORE ENCORE ENCORE......

*Voice over PA system*
Dear all, pls wear your helmets and bullet-proof vest. PMS is on the loose, i repeat, PMS is on the loose.

:P :P

"my hub will always choose to ignore my warnings...most of the warnings r right in his face...but he still choose to irritate me!!"

AJ ah... on a serious note, maybe you could re-adjust your 'warning signs'? Like your tone, the words you use, etc....

Something like, 'Sorry if i get peh chek nowadays because you know....' sounds better and works better on guys....

'ni bu yao fan wo' is more like a phrase for a pre-confrontation.

big difference leh......

you still can be your direct-speaking self, by re-structuring your words? Not so much about the fake-you, but the tactful-you... he can tell.

janie,

- Daily reminder about the Consequences if you aren't tactful with your words on hubby, parents, children, colleagues and the chicken/duck/fish sellers etc...

- Get rid of vocab that are used excessively and habitually.... eg."knn", "ccb", "fark you" or other words that are meant to incite quarrel/argument in a normal conversation or during the bargainings at the nearby wet market.

- Reflect on past miscommunications and the likely source(s). Meant for thoughts-processing, and not for plotting and seeking revenge on the fellow aunties who offend you unintentionally .

P/S: BUT with buddies, the vocab used are exclusive. *wink*

Hi everyone .. heard about the stabbing at NTU yesterday? didn't realise that life is getting more and more stressful here - wasn't it sometime last week that an american or australian guy died after complaining that he's been feeling really stressed about his work and not feeling well?

read in today's papers that apparently his grades were slipping and the prof wanted to help out before he submits his final year project .. wonder what made him snapped.

Yeah he was stressed about failing his final year project.

There are always students, even as young as pri school commiting suicides in Spore every year due to study stress.

How I wish these young people stop and think for a minute about their parents? The ones who suffer most isn't the one dead, it's the people alive who love them! Their families will be in depression for don't know how long.

Failing an exam isn't the end of the world; they can repeat the subject and retake the exam.

actually my guess is...perhaps the prof say things like he will not let him pass his FYP if he didnt buck up or he was trying to b difficult or he said something nasty abt his FYP...tats my guess...

very often...ppl will tink theres nutting wrong with the teacher/lecturer/prof...if u read the newpaper or today(i 4got which 1)...another lecturer in sch actually say something like tis..'it has to b the student...definitely not the teacher'...wah i read tis i abit hot leh...in the 1st place there muz b something to do wif the teacher wat...else...y is he the 1 who kena stab? even if the teacher did not provoke him...he muz have done something which led to tis....& Y couldnt it be the teacher's problem? juz becoz he is a teacher? kaoz....even a teacher can have sex wif her student liao...so wat is not possible??

n now tat the boy is dead...the prof can say watever he wans.....

tats juz how I felt.....becoz it makes no sense to me if the prof had been encouraging him or giving him pointers.....y would the student reciprocate with a stab?

i understand your point, janie .. quite often, the person in authority would probably say something like that .. but most times it's just to scare the students into bucking up .. like a tried and tested method la .. just that some kids are just very emotional about their grades and these are the kids that will take every single remark to heart ..

just that green is also right .. killing oneself is not the solution ..

im juz tinking tat the prof might not had said things lydat juz once...he could have repeatedly used tis method to 'scare' the boy...as it was oni recently tat the boy's grade slipped & the boy went 'prepared' to see him...or mayb he made even more nasty remarks? no 1 noes 4 sure....so im juz wondering to myself.....

actually i dont noe if u have met such teachers/lecturers b4...but i did...n so did my hub...its pretty common to have guai lan teachers as well who will look down on u n say nasty things or make things difficult 4 u...so realli...such teachers do exist.....u may also tink tat it has to be becoz we did something 1st which is y we deserve tis...but weird thing is...the 1st person to blame usually is always the student instead of the teachers...tats wat i noticed in our schools here....juz my POV...

juz in case some of u might b tinking tat i would b the typical parents who spoils her child n always complain abt teachers or complain to the teacher...u r wrong...unlike other parents who loves to hear abt the gd things of her child during the meet-the-parents session..i will always ask the teacher abt the bad of my child & give the teacher authority to discipline my child on my behalf in sch.

& ppl oni take 'action' when bad things happen..in tis case...a lost life....

& yes i agree tat the boy shldnt have jumped...wat a waste to end his life so easily..

oni the prof noes wat exactly is happening...n im sure he will be guilty abt it whether or not he has anything to do wif it....

frankly speaking, im always kena picked on by teachers in sec sch & poly....y? i swear i did nutting.......i juz had tis face tat ppl dislike...as simple as tat....so whose fault issit..realli...

ppl like me who had tis kind of face...n worse...doesnt noe how to get into gd books 1...sure get it...

i always acknowledge that it shld be a two-way communication between the teacher and the student. It gets rather difficult if either party finds fault on purpose.

for this issue, it indeed raises some eyebrows as the prof is judged by other students to be "approachable, friendly, helpful"... and yet, he is stabbed by the NTU student in the midst of their discussion.
It might be some remarks that were not reported, or might be simply the stress factor of not making the mark...... we will never know.

It's an unfortunate news for us, but the big question mark will forever linger in his family.

Janie,

if a teacher delibrately pick on students such as some of your sec sch & poly teachers, then it's def not your fault mah....

they are simply not professional enuff.

janie, i also kena 'targeted' by teachers when i was in school...

i rememeber once my science teacher threw my notebook out of the class.. her reason being i was talking when she was trying to teach...
but i remember vividly that i wasnt chatting, i was checking with my classmates on some school work...
i was so hurt and felt so humiliated hence i refused to go out to retrieve the book that she threw out.. in the end she called my mother and complained that i was being rebellious.. kena caned by my mother somemore.. Cbz... i sb angry lo.. but there was nothing i can do because my mother think that teacher is always right. LL loh...