Chatters

"mutual respect should be enough for a couple to deal with even fundamental differences"

I disagree too. Some differences may even be impossible to iron out, e.g. those black & white beliefs imparted to u by parents since a kid, by religion and on...

Call me a cynic...

But for me, I share janie's POV...
My guard goes into high alert mode whenever someone says something that's simply too good to be true or trying too hard to be helpful (as is evidence in his recent spat of posts in threads with marriage problems)...

I'm a firm believer that there's no free lunch in this world...
There's ALWAYS a motive behind every action...be it money, religion...

Or in certain rare cases nowadays in our society; the need to do good...

as to "mutual respect & fundamental differences".. well it is too general to discuss.. unless we have specifics to talk about

Like religion for eg. Some people just cannot be with someone of a different religion.. nothing to talk about right.

ya.. there are no free lunch.. but sometimes you have free drinks & free ice-cream.. or even free donuts..

Don't tell me when you buy donuts for us you have ulterior motive?

sm, i believe u can help some1...by giving advices & sharing ppl ur experience like i said..but not in a way like him...teaching ppl wat to do.....u cant teach ppl how to handle their own marriage

& in his case...did u notice tat he goes into a few threads to 'promote'/'sell' his love dare challenge? IF he is serious abt sharing...fine..share it with everyone....y go into those threads...asking ppl to pm him? i juz felt tat there's hidden agenda...& IF he is realli so serious in helping ppl n not wanting to see more divorce cases..y dun he share it openly even with couples who do not have probs in their relationship so that they will not ever have to face tis kind of situation? he could have posted in the thread on v-day's present or something..those ppl there r ppl in a happy relationship now..he could have posted there to share his experience/give advices to 'xinfu' couples if he is realli so wei da tat he wanna do something for the society? rather than juz sharing it with couples with probs (if u notice the selection of topic tat he posted in)?

janie,

I agree lah.. most likely he is some crappy thingy with some hidden agenda... on the surface look of it..

but then if you never explore you never know..

"as to 'mutual respect & fundamental differences'.. well it is too general to discuss.. unless we have specifics to talk about"

SM, Green

My discussion with a particular guy on the fundamental differences between us was very specific. We looked at our major differences, chiefly in our outlook of life and some important values.

What I disagreed mainly was mutual respect is too simplistic an approach for two persons to treat fundamental differences. I told him that I am not keen to explore any possibilities with him, due to the incompatibility which is glaring to me. In the end, I got this "You have judged me without knowing me" reaction.

"Like religion for eg. Some people just cannot be with someone of a different religion.. nothing to talk about right."

sm, exactly! tats the same as...so wat if 1 party joins his love dare challenge? if the other party refused to join or feels tat theres realli nutting tat can b worked out...theres nutting more to talk abt rite? so y is he giving ppl(or rather me) the impression tat...no matter how bad ur situation is...there is a way to salvage...

"Don't tell me when you buy donuts for us you have ulterior motive?"

as for the above, i would stick to my pov. tat is...trust has to be gained/built. which in this case, i would tink tat powderful could have found some level of trust in u guys...& is comfortable wif u guys already...so he is ready to bring tis frenship to another level? no?

janie, the headline "no matter how bad ur situation is" is just a tag line lah.. otherwise how to attract people.. But surely we cannot be so gullible to believe that there is miracle for each and every of our problem..

As for "ulterior motive".. I still think that not everyone has a hidden agenda all the time. Maybe we are too guarded already.. I am more of the trusting kind.. I wouldn't hesitate to trust people to be truthful unless they prove otherwise..

I bought donuts in exchange for friendship mah! That was my motive (see, everything's got motive)...haha...to sucker you peeps into being my gang of frens...

And also...another saying that I strongly believe in...

If it's too good to be true; it usually is...

PS: Can't imagine that I'm on same frequency as janie...I feel dirty...

"Doll,
It's good that he gave that sort of reply. Then u know he's indeed not worth your time! Haha"

Green, on the contrary, I don't want him to waste time on me. There are certain things important to me that I won't compromise. And I don't expect people to compromise for me on things important to them.

Personally, I won't categorise the action of buying donuts under "too good to be true". Buying food for friends is a common guesture mah

Wah lau!!!
Lion starting to open the mouth big big!

What you want, you extorting friend!
In exchange I demand your total support when I'm flaming any idiot in this forum...

Agreed? Deal?

Actually I know I am in the minority .. of people willing to trust other people and give them the benefit of doubt .. unless proven otherwise.

i nv try donut factory but i definitely like j.co's donut..

powderful, KI SI LAH!! PLS LOR!! i feel lagi dirty lor...can u dun b on the same frequency as me?? u r the 1 who admit being on same frequency as me lor..I DIDNT!! u dirty pig! or dirty monkey!

I feel that Mr T's "advice" (if you can even call that an advice) sounds too much like a marketing/advertising message, which is fishy. I am still of the view that if you are sincere about giving out a piece of advice, there is hardly a need to dress it up to grab attention. Many good advices we have read in the forum help us to self reflect, assess and explore the situation for ourselves. They don't sound a bit like Mr T's miracle solution.

doll, exactly...tats wat i felt too....they arent even considered as advice...i tot its pretty obvious tat its his marketing tool....by 1st saying tat he has been thru tough times in his marriage as well...blah blah blah...den finally promoting his love dare challenge...isnt tat a veli salesman tactic? again tats wat i feel lah...mayb some1 wif trouble can PM him n see wat he says...n den see if there are any CHARGES for taking his love dare challenge...

Ah Hoi's rest-sto-ren, you all try before?
Tho-si-mas is their bao-ka-liao, i heard before.
my flen order their dishes more and more.
knn...bo Coke liao, anything else boh?
wu Diet Coke liao, will keep his job.

janie, don't luff at skylar-tello liao hor... it is bad enuff that she's forced to be separated from her four famous brothers although it was a no brainer....

*rain falling down on my head*
*tears rolling down on my cheeks*

AJ, that is the minimal hallucination liao....
extreme case, she has a nong-nong weapon sticking out from her ass.

muahahaha....

last updated: wtf? ah-tello's digging for something from her bottom...

last last updated: what? she's envisaging a five-sided 'fei biao'.... or was it three-sided? we couldn't really tell from her finger motions...

AJ, you dun kei kei hor.... wait the real thing kena shoved into your mouth, then there goes your Coke addiction liao...

hahahaha

Who the fark is AJ??

some imaginary frd of Vios??

Emperor! u good for nothing scumbag!
*Shhhooo*

That weapon from my ass is only meant for the unbeatable!! that is always my last resort thus it is kept in my arse..

Vios, with you, still dun need that weapon yet.. my fei biao is good enuf for u.. what my finger motions.. i moved like the wind rmb? u can't even see my properly!
*sssahhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa*

As far i'm concerned, there are....

AJ - Last seen: a beautiful babe in her gorgeous black dress at last night's Oscar... (god, Brad's a lucky chap). Angelina Jolie, who else?

AJ - Last seen: in sgbrides.com sharing her tips on $0.05 cost savings and the various know-how which anybody hardly picks up.... oh yes, it is the ONE and ONLY ....

*drums rolls*

*audience applauses*

*curtain reveals.......

AUNTIE JANIE!